Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT

Unquestionably one of the greatest trout rivers in the world, the Bighorn River is a fly angler's dream come true! The Bighorn River's cool, clear flows emerge from the base of Yellowtail Dam in Fort Smith, Montana. Its trout-filled waters and abundant insect hatches produce exceptional rainbow and brown trout fishing year-round for both novice and expert anglers alike. Consisting of the most hardworking and courteous guides in Montana, our expert guide staff is second to none. Our Orvis-authorized fly shop is fully stocked with everything an angler could need. Lodging is also available.
Average Customer Rating:
4.942 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
81
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
86 of 86(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Review 1 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent first one fly fishing experience,
July 10, 2014
By: Cworden
from Ft. Smith, MT
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first time fly fishing experience was at the Bighorn River with the Bighorn Angler guides. I was starting from scratch, in tough conditions (moss, high water). They taught me from the ground up. I killed it the first day and followed up with a second amazing day.
I would recommend these guys to my friends and family it any one at any level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time!,
July 1, 2014
By: DroolingMoose
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The moss was really bad this June compared to other years (so they tell me). Had David Palmer and he put us on a lot of fish away from the crowds. We caught as many fish as we have when the moss wasn't nearly as bad thanks to David. Great guide!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moss or No Mas,
June 29, 2014
By: COFlyGuy
from Colorado, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Just finished up our second trip to the Bighorn with Bighorn Anglers. As always, have to commend Pete and Steve on their operation. We had another very good stay with them. Here are the details:
- Lodging: a remodeled "motel type" room that was very small. Nothing outstanding about rooms, just the basic place to rest. Linens were very minimalistic. This is what it is, and probably contributes to the overall affordability of the package deals with the BH Angler.
- Meals: Excellent, all but the last night we dined at the restaurant about 10 miles downriver (the RV park). They provided excellent meals and excellent service (to include wine glasses for our group). This was all part of the package through the Bighorn Anglers.
Fishing: All the guides / anglers were struggling. The water was VERY mossy and it was creating havoc with the fishing. Obviously this certainly wasn't the BH Angler's fault!
Guides: The guides this year ranged from above average to excellent. As noted above, the guides were struggling with the fishing conditions as much as anyone. What really separated the "men" from the "boys" was their ability to adapt. Many of the guides just wanted to keep doing the same thing they always do. They were using the same methods (nymphing) that they always use this time of year, and picking up some fish, but the moss was really tough to deal with for both them and their anglers. Other guides were much quicker to adapt and try different methods that were much more successful. It was this ability to change their methods to obtain success, and at the same time teach the angler new tricks that pushes some of the BH Angler guides into the Excellent category.
Overall, a very good experience for the price. Would probably have rated a 4.5 star if I could."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
it's called fishing not catching,
June 27, 2014
By: docPcolorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tough day on the river due to weather and grass made excellent. Guide Bryant Mettler took impossible conditions and turned them into a superb day of fishing. No idea how he did it but my wife and I still caught a boat load of fish. Great day will be back again to Big Horn Angler"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Big horn,
June 16, 2014
By: Choocher
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great guides
Decent food
Improved lodge but very plain. Same lodge since the '80s though remodeled
Very good price package
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bighorn Angler Fish On,
June 16, 2014
By: duckhornsweet
from Denver Colorado
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Bighorn Angler, on the gorgeous Bighorn River is a mighty fine fly fishing resort. Highly Recommend.
The fishing is A+++++, the river is extraordinary for veiws and for fishing.
Beds at the lodge are very comfortable, breakfasts are relaxed and delicious. The Tailwater restuarant is very friendly, hospitable and delicious food.
We will come back as often as possible.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing in Montana,
June 16, 2014
By: Tjerker
from Fort Smith, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I go to the BigHorn river every year and always fish with the professional guides at the BigHorn ANGLER. I have fished with guide Eric Wilcox every year. Best guide I've ever had. He will help as much or as little as you request. I need all the help I can get and he has helped me improve every year.
The fly shop at BibHorn Angler is well stocked with flies and equipment. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating.
I'll be back again next June!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great river,
June 16, 2014
By: showboat1
from ft smith Montana
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The bighorn is a great river and the bighorn angler is much improved with the new owners doing improvements to the lodge etc."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable!!!,
June 16, 2014
By: Riff
from Bighorn, MT 59010, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You want to catch fish?
Wow- 3 days of unbelievable fishing!
Thanks again Seth for putting us on the fish everyday rain or shine.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Top Notch Guide- Eric R,
June 3, 2014
By: KSMHanna2014
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Lucky and I fished with Eric May 25, 26th, 27th and 28th. The fishing was fantastic, no doubt due to Eric's intimate knowledge of the Big Horn River. Lucky was a raw rookie who fished in the front of the boat for almost the entire four days. Eric continually had him hooked-up, and his "fish to net" rate was surprisingly high, too. Eric's temprament was perfect for Lucky, and believe me, that's saying a lot !
But, the highlight of the trip was probably our day on Big Horn Resevoir. I had never fished for carp, let alone with top water cicada flies. Again, Eric was dialed-in, and within the first hour, had us on carp for most of the day. I have to believe that a carp "double" on the Lake is not nearly as common as a double on the B.H., but courtesy of Eric, it happened. Smallies and trout were just an added bonus up on the Lake.
Thanks again to you and Eric for a great time.
Mark H."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Experience,
May 24, 2014
By: BrklynFlyFisherman
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I stayed and fished with Bighorn Anglers for four days. The four guides I fished with were excellent. They were great teachers, very patient, experienced boat handlers and knew where and how to catch fish. The package we purchased included lodging and three meals a day was a very good value. The staff in the fly shop was very helpful before and during the trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't be better,
May 17, 2014
By: George44
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"All that we'd heard it would be, and more. Had an amazing guide--Seth Byler--who knew the river bank to bank and top to bottom, and who worked hard for us for two days. And the Bighorn is extraordinary--great river rolling through a beautiful landscape. Will be back--and soon, I hope."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout fly fishing at its finest,
October 22, 2013
By: jksmd
from San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from a 3 1/2 day fly fishing trip on the Bighorn River in Montana. One of the most incredible fly fishing experiences I have had. We were guided by Owner and guide Pete Shanafelt from the Bighorn angler fly shop. In the 3 and 1/2 days of fishing each of us caught nearly 120 trout ranging from 14 to 21 inches. On two of the days I caught fish on dries, streamers, and nymphs. Our guide knew the river well and he made sure our experience was top notch. I plan to return next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST,
October 21, 2013
By: Jeeper62
from Southern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fished 3 days with expert guide David Palmer. The fishing was off the charts. Enjoyed David's love of fishing and the outdoors. Helps you to realize the beautiful scenery, not just looking down at the water. Lodging is good. Food is excellent. Staff is more than helpful. This was the 2nd trip to Bighorn Angler. Will definitely go again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great fall day on the river!,
October 1, 2013
By: Katman
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I want to thank guide Pete Shanafelt and the staff at Bighorn Angler for making my trip to the Bighorn in September 2013 one I will never forget. Having lived in Montana most of my life I had never fished the river before but had heard so much about it. Being a novice flyfisherman, I decided a guided trip was the way to go. Pete showed ultimate patience in my inexperience and taught me much during the day. There is nothing better than getting a all day lesson while catching trout! My expectations were more than met and I plan to do this again on my next trip to my homestate. Thanks again Pete!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Getaway on the Big Horn,
September 16, 2013
By: AtlantaTraveler
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Brien was an excellent host and a great guy
"The best fly fishing experience I have ever had. Brought 6 guys out to fish the Big Horn and was astonished by the beautiful rainbows and browns the river had to offer.
Brien far exceeded his promise on the wonderful time we would have. 3 out of the six had never fly fished before and all lost count after the second day.
Best part was day two with our guide Tim who spent time surveying the river for the hatch. We dry fly fished on the river bank and I brought in a beautiful 20" rainbow after about a ten minute battle. It was one of the most magical days ever.
I can't wait to head back out with the guys next year, spend time at the cabin, on the Big Horn and enjoying one of the most beautiful places in the United States.
Thank you to all at Big Horn Angler. Can't wait to see you next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
September 13, 2013
By: CasualRwdmond
from Redmond, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished two days in September with guides from Bighorn Angler. Of the many places we have fished, this is certainly one of the best! A great river with big Browns and Rainbows, healthy and strong. We lost count early in the float. The last day of guided floats, we fished with Ray McCarn andhad one of our best days ever. Ray knows the river like the back of his hand. Will be going back for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fishing and great guides,
September 13, 2013
By: RJE001
from Woodinville, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent four days fishing, two with guides and two where we rented boats. Brian was very helpful in the fly shop and both guides were fantastic. Jim Wilkins was one of our guides and then we had Ray McCarn on the other guided float. The day we fished with Ray was a memory of fishing that will stay with me for the rest of my life. We caught some many fish that we lost count and a number of them were 18+ inches. The fish are all healthy and exciting to catch. We are already looking forward to a return trip to fish the Bighorn."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Angling,
September 5, 2013
By: beavercountyboys
from West Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Pete Shanafelt and Eric of Big Horn Anglers did a awesome job guiding, teaching and customer serivce. They truly made the Bighorn river fishing experince a dream come true. We caught a ton of fish and we had a lot of fun doing it. They made us feel like family. The lunches on the river were great and very good."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic guide, excellent fishing,
August 31, 2013
By: Jim321
from Upstate, NY
"A former guide suggested Bighorn Angler. Had a fantastic day with co-owner Peter Shanafelt in mid-August. Pete was very friendly, fun, easy going and knows the river like the back of his hand. He knew every little depression and slot that held fish and was a pleasure to spend the day with. And Pete worked hard.....rowed back through several especially hot spots and kept us out for a very full day. My buddy and I caught over 80 that day......80+! Simply amazing.....one you remember a long time. Thanks Pete and Bighorn Angler!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes