Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT

Unquestionably one of the greatest trout rivers in the world, the Bighorn River is a fly angler's dream come true! The Bighorn River's cool, clear flows emerge from the base of Yellowtail Dam in Fort Smith, Montana. Its trout-filled waters and abundant insect hatches produce exceptional rainbow and brown trout fishing year-round for both novice and expert anglers alike. Consisting of the most hardworking and courteous guides in Montana, our expert guide staff is second to none. Our Orvis-authorized fly shop is fully stocked with everything an angler could need. Lodging is also available.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
74
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
74 of 74(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Review 1 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout fly fishing at its finest,
October 22, 2013
By: jksmd
from San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from a 3 1/2 day fly fishing trip on the Bighorn River in Montana. One of the most incredible fly fishing experiences I have had. We were guided by Owner and guide Pete Shanafelt from the Bighorn angler fly shop. In the 3 and 1/2 days of fishing each of us caught nearly 120 trout ranging from 14 to 21 inches. On two of the days I caught fish on dries, streamers, and nymphs. Our guide knew the river well and he made sure our experience was top notch. I plan to return next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST,
October 21, 2013
By: Jeeper62
from Southern California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Fished 3 days with expert guide David Palmer. The fishing was off the charts. Enjoyed David's love of fishing and the outdoors. Helps you to realize the beautiful scenery, not just looking down at the water. Lodging is good. Food is excellent. Staff is more than helpful. This was the 2nd trip to Bighorn Angler. Will definitely go again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great fall day on the river!,
October 1, 2013
By: Katman
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I want to thank guide Pete Shanafelt and the staff at Bighorn Angler for making my trip to the Bighorn in September 2013 one I will never forget. Having lived in Montana most of my life I had never fished the river before but had heard so much about it. Being a novice flyfisherman, I decided a guided trip was the way to go. Pete showed ultimate patience in my inexperience and taught me much during the day. There is nothing better than getting a all day lesson while catching trout! My expectations were more than met and I plan to do this again on my next trip to my homestate. Thanks again Pete!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Getaway on the Big Horn,
September 16, 2013
By: AtlantaTraveler
from Kennesaw, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Brien was an excellent host and a great guy
"The best fly fishing experience I have ever had. Brought 6 guys out to fish the Big Horn and was astonished by the beautiful rainbows and browns the river had to offer.
Brien far exceeded his promise on the wonderful time we would have. 3 out of the six had never fly fished before and all lost count after the second day.
Best part was day two with our guide Tim who spent time surveying the river for the hatch. We dry fly fished on the river bank and I brought in a beautiful 20" rainbow after about a ten minute battle. It was one of the most magical days ever.
I can't wait to head back out with the guys next year, spend time at the cabin, on the Big Horn and enjoying one of the most beautiful places in the United States.
Thank you to all at Big Horn Angler. Can't wait to see you next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
September 13, 2013
By: CasualRwdmond
from Redmond, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished two days in September with guides from Bighorn Angler. Of the many places we have fished, this is certainly one of the best! A great river with big Browns and Rainbows, healthy and strong. We lost count early in the float. The last day of guided floats, we fished with Ray McCarn andhad one of our best days ever. Ray knows the river like the back of his hand. Will be going back for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fishing and great guides,
September 13, 2013
By: RJE001
from Woodinville, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent four days fishing, two with guides and two where we rented boats. Brian was very helpful in the fly shop and both guides were fantastic. Jim Wilkins was one of our guides and then we had Ray McCarn on the other guided float. The day we fished with Ray was a memory of fishing that will stay with me for the rest of my life. We caught some many fish that we lost count and a number of them were 18+ inches. The fish are all healthy and exciting to catch. We are already looking forward to a return trip to fish the Bighorn."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Angling,
September 5, 2013
By: beavercountyboys
from West Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Pete Shanafelt and Eric of Big Horn Anglers did a awesome job guiding, teaching and customer serivce. They truly made the Bighorn river fishing experince a dream come true. We caught a ton of fish and we had a lot of fun doing it. They made us feel like family. The lunches on the river were great and very good."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic guide, excellent fishing,
August 31, 2013
By: Jim321
from Upstate, NY
"A former guide suggested Bighorn Angler. Had a fantastic day with co-owner Peter Shanafelt in mid-August. Pete was very friendly, fun, easy going and knows the river like the back of his hand. He knew every little depression and slot that held fish and was a pleasure to spend the day with. And Pete worked hard.....rowed back through several especially hot spots and kept us out for a very full day. My buddy and I caught over 80 that day......80+! Simply amazing.....one you remember a long time. Thanks Pete and Bighorn Angler!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time!,
August 30, 2013
By: FlyFisher43ver
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Found Bighorn Angler through the Orvis website and booked a trip with Pete. He set us up with guide David Palmer for two days. David was very professional and knowledgeable and put us into fish within minutes and had us catching fish all day. He even put us on some very picky rising fish and we managed to catch a few with his help. The Bighorn Angler was a great experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide on a great river!,
August 29, 2013
By: WyoKathy
from Wyoming, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The first time I went fly fishing, I went with guide, David Palmer. He taught me a lot and got me into a lot of fish all day. I have gone with him every year since. Always lots of fish, patient and a great teacher for people who are just learning fly fishing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better then Expected,
August 29, 2013
By: TomVG
"Spend 5 days . 50 plus fish days for the two of us each day. Quality of fish outstanding. Dave and Jamie our guides were outstanding. Worked hard and accommodated our fishing abilities .Accommodations and food were perfect for our needs. Steve and his staff could not be more helpful. Now understand why the Big Horn is the best in the US"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent outfitter and guide,
August 27, 2013
By: TonyB77
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The Bighorn Angler is an excellent outfitter. They were very friendly and well organized. Thanks Brian for all your help. The most awesome part of the trip was fishing with our guide Jeff Jennings. My friend Mark had never fished. First day he was catching fish thanks to Jeff. The next three days was fantastic fishing. Jeff continuously placed us on great drifts thanks to his 17 years of fishing the Bighorn.I highly recommend Jeff Jennings to be your guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
August 26, 2013
By: Carlisle
from Birmingham, AL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished 2 days on the Bighorn with my son and guide Eric Riethmiller. Lots of fish, Eric was a great guide. The trip exceeded my expectations for fishing this river for the first time. I highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
August 24, 2013
By: TomCic
from Wilmington, DE
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just spent 5 day at the Big Horn angler. We used two guides over the 5 days, Dave Palmer and Jamie. They were both terrific. The overall experience was off the charts. Fish galore. The accommodations were perfect for our purposes but wouldn't bring the wife along unless she fishes"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a guide among guides,
August 24, 2013
By: ccsteelhead
from Oregon, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"last week we had the opportunity to be guided by Dan Stein through the Bighorn Angler. Dan has has been fishing the Bighorn his entire life and guiding for 30. It was amazing to float with him as we caught fish and he explained the workings of the Bighorn. Dan's vast knowledge and a lifetime on the river make him a rare commodity among guides these days. You would be hard pressed to find another guide that understands the river better. Dan is an amazing guide and floating with him is an experience to remember. I highly reccommend it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fishing Trip,
August 23, 2013
By: Cityboy1
from Cincinnati Ohio
"This was my first ever fishing trip. The Big Horn Angler and guide Jeff had me catching trout within minutes of hitting the water. I would highly recommend both for beginners or experienced."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Horn/ Great Experience/Great Fishing,
August 22, 2013
By: LynnG
from Longmont, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Early the week, we spent two days on the Big Horn with Eric Reithmiller taking us to the right runs, with the best float thru, and with the flys that the fish eating for amazing fishing. The shop had been updated since my last trip to Ft. Smith. This was a superb experience. Every fly fisher should get this experience in their lift time !!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome trip!,
August 21, 2013
By: AFISHN
from West Chester, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just spent 5 days on the Big Horn with them.I have been ff with guides for 50 years all over the world.this experience ranks as the top!Guides+super;fishing qualty and #s=outstanding.While I am a low maintenace person,the rooms and food were much more than I expected.In fact,very good.This is a must take trip for any ff!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bighorn angler bighorn slobs,
August 14, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I just spent 4 days guided on the bighorn by the guys at the bighorn angler and what can I say other than wow. All the staff is great. All knowledgable, friendly, smart, hardworking guides. They all have just great people skills, and considering many of them are on the river almost everyday for 8 months, that says a lot. These guys love the river and what they do. I would highly recommend booking here for any angler, either seasoned or novice. You'll be put on not only some great fish, but many many fish. The accommodations are great, the food tasty, and just an overall relaxing laid back place."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Bighorn Angler Fly Shop & Outfitters, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I Loved It!,
August 12, 2013
By: FlyfishingNewbieMom
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Pete and the staff made us feel welcome, simple and nice accommodations. They treated us great, always helpful and positive - even though I was learning how to fly fish! Friendly people all around! AND THE FISH! Wow!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes