Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC

We are what a total quality fly-fishing experience once was and should be. We are a combination of world-class solitude dry-fly fishing and great old-world hospitality, with an emphasis on comfort and culinary delights. We are very easy to get to and an outstanding value. In addition, we can honestly say that we are truly unique and exceptional in fly-fishing destinations: simply exceptional fishing, endless opportunities, and solitude the way it once was. We did this. This is a place where the waters are extremely well managed, the wild fish stocks are incredible, and access is, in one fashion or another, very limited. The best part is that you can still fish without the crowds so common to most destinations we have visited. In fact, you can still spend a day catching huge numbers of fish on a dry fly and likely never see another angler. The fly-fishing experience we are able to provide is truly amazing, like a time gone by, like a time most of us can only remember fondly. It still amazes us and we do not take this for granted. We did not want a large lodge nor did we want to be a small shop outfitter. After experiencing just about everything possible, a medium-sized customer oriented environment is what we wanted to create. We did this with The Guest House. This is a place where the numbers of guests are limited to only a few (4 to 6) at any given time. The atmosphere is simple, relaxed, and very much home away from home. We enjoy comfort, so we have created very comfortable accommodations for our guests. We enjoy great food so we have created menus that are wholesome and delicious. We are within minutes of everything we could ever require, but far enough removed to enjoy our solitude. We keep it extremely simple. We do not tell you when to come and go; in effect, this is your home while you are with us. When you go out for a day of fishing, you return on your time, there is no diner bell but when you return a great meal will be waiting for you and a great relaxing atmosphere will be the perfect end to a perfect day.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Review 1 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World class,
July 17, 2014
By: Harvey1949
from Nitro, West Virginia
"I have fished the Chilean Andes, central Alaska, Labrador, Assinica Preserve Quebec and the fishing here ranks on the same level. Excellent Rocky Mountain cutthroat fishing and excellent guides and host. This spot is a SUPER bargain. Fishing this good generally reserved for high end private waters. Highly recommend this experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ultimate Fly Fishing Trip,
October 7, 2013
By: Snoot
from Ultimate West Flyfishing Cranbrook BC Canada
"My best fishing trip ever.Third time with Lou.As always his hospitality and home cooking impossible to beat.Guides very skilled and very accommodating.Highly recommend to all regardless of your skill level. Les"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time once again,
October 7, 2013
By: DocBatt
from LaGrange, Illinois
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently returned from my second trip to Ultimate West and once again it was just an amazing experience. The fishing is world class, the food just excellent, the guides knowledgeable and friendly, and Lou and his family make you feel like part of the extended family. I can't imagine a better place to be."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite place to vacation,
October 1, 2013
By: RenRut
from nc
"The flyfishing is a 10. The beautiful rivers are a 10. The golf is a 10. The beautiful place is a 10. The food is a 10. The hospitality is a 10. There is no where I would rather go to enjoy and spend time. Sometimes, the casino is kind to me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifetime memories,
October 1, 2013
By: JGP1
from Goldsboro, NC, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Lou & Sheri provide a great home away from home. The fishing is the best. The weather and scenery are unmatched. Can't wait till my next trip. Many Thanks!!
jp
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
St. Mary/Bull River Adventure (Cranbrook, BC),
October 1, 2013
By: BrotherofWildWillie2
from Wayne, IL
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Louie and Sherri are fabulous. The fishing, food, company, and stories are always memorable (as this is my second trip to UWFF).
UWFF cares for the guest and goes above and beyond with the quality of guides and dry fishing expertise.
Louie - thanks for getting us out of that tight spot on the upper St. Mary and working with Orvis to replace a broken rod."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five Stars,
September 30, 2013
By: RCWV
from Moorefield WV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Once again, weather was perfect, fishing was wonderful, guide was superb & hospitality was outstanding. This was the 5th year I've been there & already booked for 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beginners,
September 23, 2013
By: PutsNAround
from Michigan, USA
"My wife and I are novice fly fishermen, after 2 days on the water with Louie I think we could go anywhere with confidence. We caught lots of fish and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality. Too much good food!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
September 23, 2013
By: Anonymous
"The accomadations, guides, and fishing were great."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best trip ever,
September 23, 2013
By: WildWillie2
from La Grange Park, IL
"I have been lucky enough to fly fish in many different lakes and streams in North American. This is one of the best trips, great fishing in numbers and size, great food/lodge, and best of all great guides.
I have done this trip twice and will book another trip in the future.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
West Slope Cut's,
September 23, 2013
By: acd5
from Cranbroob, British Columbia
"Absolute fabulous week of dry fly fishing. This was my second trip and it did not disappoint. The choice of fishing four different rivers, to float of wade each day adds variety to the trip. Lou and his wife treat you as you are part of their family. Great fishing, great food and becoming great friends. I will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Week,
September 23, 2013
By: POPS7
from Raleigh NC
"This was the second year my son and I visited this wonderful lodge and I can assure you we will return next year. Cannot get any better. Great fishing, great people and great food makes for a wonderful week."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A super destination,
September 22, 2013
By: PhishinPhil
from Alamo, CA
"Second trip to Ultimate West, and both have been fantastic.
Louie & Sheri run an operation for fly fishermen the way it should be run! Excellent hosts, great fishing, with lots of diversity, and a lodge with a "your part of the family" atmosphere.
The fishing for West Slope Cutthroats is second to none."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great group trip,
September 22, 2013
By: FlyFishingFool1
from Connecticut
"This was the second time our group of six fishermen booked the entire lodge. Between the six of us we have been to many of the best fly fishing venues in the world. Ultimate West Flyfishing has become one of our groups favorites. Louie and Sherri are wonderful hosts, they have good guides and great Cutthroat fishing... at a reasonable price. We will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Amazing Year,
December 14, 2012
By: Freethetrout
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Finally getting to the review of my 4th trip to Ultimate West. Louie and Sherri are amazing hosts and the experience is second to none. I go fly fishing once per year and this place is the bomb. If you want to catch a lot of fish, enjoy the privacy of a family run lodge, eat great food and have fun don't go to Ultimate West. Ha! Please leave it all for us..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
got it all,
October 9, 2012
By: Shiloh1
from San Francisco, Calif.
"Most important to me, the fishing is excellent. Very few others fishing and catch and release makes for high levels of activity.
Scenery is fantastic with lots of wildlife.
Family atmosphere with good food and plenty of it. First time and place fly fishing for me. I have been back 5 times in the last 4 years.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of the Best!,
October 9, 2012
By: RCWV
from Moorefield WV
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"4 years in a row & booked for next year. Lou, Sherri & guides are top of the line. Have been to other places & it doesn't get any better than this. Outstanding scenery, hospitality & fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing trip.,
October 9, 2012
By: JCAnders
from Cranbrook, British Columbia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a fantastic trip! All my worries were kept at bay for 4 nights and three days thanks to the amazing fishing, hospitality, food, drink, and quality time with my father. The trip was easy. Louie enhanced my fly fishing knowledge. Can't wait for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cranbrook, BC,
October 8, 2012
By: Leachmo
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great time fishing the St. Mary's and Bull Rivers. All fish were caught on dry flies, primarily cuttthroats. Lou and Sheri provided great meals and accomadations. The country around Cranbrook is just beautiful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Ultimate West Flyfishing, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solitude in BC,
October 6, 2012
By: LargeR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our wade/walk experience was special. never saw another fisherman. Plenty of Cutts and they were feisty."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes