Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Telluride Fly Fishers, CO

Telluride Flyfishers is a fly-fishing guide service offering half-day and full-day walk/wade trips in the Telluride, CO area. Having been in operation for 22, years the guides have full knowledge and understanding of the surrounding region.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 28(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Review 1 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Time--,
June 21, 2014
By: Madi14
from Dayton, OH, USA
"My mother and I decided to try out fly fishing for our very first time and boy, we couldn't have had a better day!! It was so much fun, and we learned a lot about the mountains, waters, fishing, and Colorado history. We loved our guide, Midnight, too. He was great with us beginners and we even caught two fish at the end of the day. We got way more than we signed up for and I can't wait to come back and do it again! Thanks Midnight and Telluride Flyfishers!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legendary Guide,
December 19, 2013
By: thog
from Cambridge, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Most of my greatest Telluride memories over the past 10 years or so were made while fishing with Midnite. Year after year he takes us to new, exciting fisheries, and it's always an adventure. Midnite excels as a guide to fishers of all levels. He is an excellent casting instructor for beginners, and can help improve the skills of veteran fishers. Midnite has taken us to many different types of fisheries: creeks for native cuts on dries, crystal clear alpine lakes in the summers, and bigger waters for large browns and rainbows. Midnite is frequently scouting fisheries around Telluride to ensure that you are heading to the best possible location.
Beyond guiding Midnite is an amazing guy to hang out with. He knows that fly fishing trips are about much more than catching nice fish, they are about adventure, and creating memories that last a lifetime. Each trip I take with Midnite turns out to be an experience that I will remember forever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midnite,
December 18, 2013
By: JTH575757
from Telluride Colorado
"Midnite continues to be the best fly fishing guide we have ever worked with. Over the last 10 years he taught us how to fly fish in almost any conditions in lakes, large and small streams. He represents Orvis and your products very well"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience!,
October 14, 2013
By: LLM1029
from Telluride, CO, USA
"With 3 novice fly fisher women, Midnite took on the task of teaching us with incredible patience and skill! He was just awesome. We learned the basics and then headed to a gorgeous spot to get the feel of the real deal on a stream! It was one of the most amazing and incredible adventures of my life. I can't wait to come back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Magical Day!,
October 12, 2013
By: Eunie
from Telluride, CO, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""Midnight" was our fly- fishing guide from Telluride FlyFishers. This was our first time and we did not know anything about fly-fishing. Midnight outfitted us in Orvis waders and rods. We went to a large pond first where he gave us a masters in fly-fishing in about an hour and a half. We were all able to catch a couple of fish. After we felt fairly confident Midnight took us to an absolutely beautiful river to fish. He was patient, kind and listened to our needs and was able to teach us the fly-fishing basics. He is a true treasure to the fly fishing community! Many Thanks, Midnight, we will remember our day with you forever. We will also see you on our next trip to Telluride!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip!!!,
September 6, 2013
By: Soupy44
from Boston, MA, USA
"This was the best guided experience I have ever had! The guide, Midnite, took my dad and I on a full day guided trip to the Dolores river. My dad is more of a novice and Midnite gave him some good advice on casting and he was catching fish throughout the day. I am a little more experienced and Midnite also gave me some pointers on different presentations that I can now use in my everyday fishing. The trip was on a section of private water that was well worth the extra money. We landed too many fish to count and had plenty of action throughout the day catching some nice rainbows. I also mentioned to Midnite that I wanted a chance to catch a cutthroat and he went out of his way to make a stop and give me this chance. The trip ended when I landed a nice 14" cutthroat. The effort Midnite put into the trip was greatly appreciated and I would highly recommend this guide service to anyone looking for a good trip in the Telluride area.
Overall it was a wonderful experience that I am glad I got to take with my dad.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time Fly Fishing,
August 31, 2013
By: Inderella
from Telluride, CO, USA
"This was my first time fly fishing and I couldn't imagine a better experience with any other guide. Midnight began the day by allowing my friend and I an opportunity to learn how to cast in a pond. His techniques were easy to follow, remember, and build upon. Midnight has an expansive understanding of the fish found in each area and had tips about the behavior of each species. He had a large knowledge base on the history of the town and was very familiar with the most scenic and best places to fish in Telluride. Although these qualities alone make him an admirable guide, they are not the main reason I feel he would be an indispensable addition to one's fly fishing adventure. He has both an encouraging and patient nature that makes him suitable to adapt to a wide range of personalities. As soon as Midnight meets you, he inquires about the experience you wish to gain and tailors the day to meet those goals. My friend and I had different experience levels and he was able to adjust his approach to meet our needs. Midnight's passion for fly fishing is contagious and considering my lack of experience, I was left with a deep appreciation for the details involved in fishing techniques and the solitude of being surrounding by nature."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Day in Telluride,
August 29, 2013
By: JuiceJuice
"We had a wonderful day with Midnite. As novices, Midnite started the day with a casting lesson on a private pond where we caught brook trout. Then we fished two great stretches of the San Miguel and caught rainbows and brooks. Midnite is a great guide and person to spend a day with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing with Midnite,
August 12, 2013
By: Camblin
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently had my first experience on the Delores near Telluride. Our guide Midnite took us to a spectacular part of the river. Caught lots of fish and he was great in teaching one of our first timers on the art of fly fishing. Great time for all of us I highly recommend Midnite as your guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High sticking with Midnite,
July 22, 2013
By: PArookie
from Wyomissing, PA
"Midnite hiked us into a beautiful creek where I learned the practical and patient (for Midnite) practice of high sticking. I landed 12-15 wild brown, rainbow and brook trout within a few hours. It was an extremely rewarding day. Midnite did an extraordinary job of speaking and instructing to my level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing with Midnite,
July 11, 2013
By: FtWorthTX
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were late signing up and didn't think our two boys were going to get to experience fly fishing... It actually worked out great because they ended up with one of the best nicest experienced. Fly fishermen around. Midnite ......wow you couldn't imagine the day they had.. And all the knowledge they recieved.. They are forever changed..we have already been to the fly fishing store to buy rods etc.. They love it and I owe that for the experience Midnite gave them.
Thank you Midnite. See u this fall..
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing with Midnite,
June 25, 2013
By: HHGF
from Telluride, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our guide's Midnite & Nick made our fly fishing experience one to never forget. Wished we would have signed up for a full day. Midnite's experience and knowledge of the sport is priceless. Cant wait to go back next week!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midnite,
June 25, 2013
By: goodtimeinrockies
from Telluride, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have done several trips with Midnite including family and friends. Not just fishing, but also other adventures like hiking and skiing. Aside from taking us to the most unbelievable sites on the planet, Midnite makes a point to instruct our kids about the importance of our impact on the local environment. He has the patience to instruct those who are first timers, and the enthusiasm to push those who want to take it to the edge. He is one of the best features of the Telluride area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midnite,
June 24, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Near Telluride
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I enjoyed our day with Midnite. The early summer run-off made the rivers challenging, but we caught some beautiful trout and saw some beautiful country. Since I'm relatively new to fly fishing, Midnite's coaching helped me a lot. He is also very knowledgeable about the Telluride area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent Educational and Enjoyable Experience,
June 16, 2013
By: Spike1234
from Telluride, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First and foremost, Midnite has a respect for nature. His understanding of fish and their habitat makes the experience educational and rewarding. His direction is patient and straight forward resulting in an enjoyable outing. In the past many years, I always look forward to my fishing trips with Midnite. Don't miss an opportunity to fish with the best in Telluride."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyfishing with Midnite,
January 8, 2013
By: Scotty3238
from New York, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been fishing with Midnite since 2007. It has always been an incredibly memorable and fantastic experience. Midnite knows the terrain as good as any guide. He has become a friend and our annual trips are something I look forward to as much as anything when I head out to Telluride every year with my family. He is a skilled fly fisherman, but more importantly, a great person."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always an Excellent Adventure,
October 3, 2012
By: TightLines4JD
from La Canada, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished in Telluride with Midnite since 2006. He always puts in the extra effort to insure we have a memorable day. I would reccomend Midnite to the novice as well as the experienced flyfisherman."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Telluride with Midnite,
October 3, 2012
By: Latty
from Telluride, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished some excellent pocket water on the san Miguel. Midite is the man....I was really surprised at the size of te fish ( large ) that were holding in some of the smallest pocket water I have ever fished. Midite was very knowledgable about the water, the fishing, and the history of the area. I will be back with him again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong,
September 8, 2012
By: Danman
from Dallas, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fishing with Midnite since 1997 at least twice a year. He literally thought me to fly fish. I also love to golf and always do so with a caddie. If you follow this tortured analogy, Midnite is better than the best caddie I've ever had. He is sensitive, highly skilled, enthusiastic, knowledgable and just a pleasant, enjoyable guy to be around. When you go fishing with someone, you're going to spend a lot of time together. Try to make it with someone you will enjoy. No guide can guarantee you will catch fish, but if you can follow a little instruction and if you can hike a bit you will. I've caught easily over a thousand with Midnite and relished every one from the fingerlings to the "slobs"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always surprising, always amazing,
August 29, 2012
By: Nich
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I basically learned everything I know about fishing from Midnite, be it from him directly or second hand. I grew up learning the techniques he taught and to this day have yet to meet someone who knows their trade like him. Out fishing just this past month together, he had me sight fishing enormous cutthroats and wrestling rainbows and had a new trick for each location. His respect for the rivers and kindness are unmatched, and he's got a winning smile to top it off. I know two things for certain in life, I am a pretty good fisherman and that is mostly thanks to Midnite."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes