Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Telluride Fly Fishers, CO

Telluride Flyfishers is a fly-fishing guide service offering half-day and full-day walk/wade trips in the Telluride, CO area. Having been in operation for 22, years the guides have full knowledge and understanding of the surrounding region.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 43(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Review 1 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 31, 2015
By: drochelle5158
from Texas
"My guide catered our fishing trip to be exactly what I wanted. We hiked down to a secret little stream and -- after he helped me work out some of the kinks in my technique -- he had me catching a fish on every cast. Not an exaggeration. He was really helpful, knowledgable, and a fun guy to be around. Sign me up for a full day next time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water,
August 16, 2015
By: Cologirl
from Evergreen, CO
"My sister and I have had our best fishing days ever with Telluride Flyfisher's guide Midnite Scholtes. Mary has fished with him over the years but this was my first time out. She promised a great day and I was not disappointed. His warm sense of humor put me immediately at ease. I landed a dozen fish with Midnite's gentle guidance and came home with several new skills and tricks for thinking like a fish. His reverence for the river and the sport are both inspiring and contagious. Mary and I look forward to another great day in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midnite is the man,
August 10, 2015
By: Richbennett
from Indiana
"My father and I always find our selfs wanting to explore the amazing mountains in telluride and we find that there is nothing better than fishing with midnite. As a long time clients of midnite (about 10 years) we always find to learn something when we fish with him, as well as we always have a good time with him. Midnite will always find a good spot depending on the conditions and will always allow you to have a great time, whether you catch one fish or 100."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Guide,
July 19, 2015
By: AnglerofToadHall
from Boston, MA, USA
"Midnite knows his fishing and provided my two sons and I an outstanding day of fishing in the San Juan Mountains. Midnite is low key but extremely knowledgeable. He guides without getting in the way and lets you experience the amazing beauty and fishing of the Rocky Mountains. I've spent time with lots of guides--lots of Orvis-endorsed guides--and Midnite is one of the best I've ever seen. If you want a true fly-fishing adventure in Telluride, Midnite is the man."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time,
June 10, 2015
By: JBflyfishing
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
"We had a wonderful day with Midnite. He gave great instruction and had extreme patience with us! It was nice to have someone there to bait the hook, untangle the line, net the fish and with a smile on his face. Will plan another time soon"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best day off from skiing ever!,
May 17, 2015
By: zfranchot
from MN
"When I was in Telluride skiing at the end of March, I spent one day fishing with Midnite. I love to ski and hate to miss a day in Telluride. This was the best day off from skiing ever. I can't wait to fish with Midnite again!!
-Campbell, MN, age 13
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb total experience,
October 23, 2014
By: StriperGuy
"A group of six including four fly fishing rookies asked that I arrange a day on the San Miguel in Telluride. I could not have been more pleased with my selection of Telluride Flyfishers. Midnite, Nic and Marty were outstanding in tailoring their guiding to the individual needs of each person in the group- instruction, support, technical advice and more. Their style made it seem like a day out with three good friends. Our catch rate was somewhat low but at the end of the day the enthusiasm for flyfishing for every participant could not have been higher! Plus Midnite gave us terrific advice for fishing on the other days of the trip. He even joined us in our condo for a beer when dropping us off. Great work guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful time in Telluride,
October 19, 2014
By: Farbmanlaw
from Hollywood, FL, USA
"Thoroughly enjoyed learning fly fishing in one of the most beautiful places in the world---Telluride. Our guides Midnite and Mike could not have been more helpful and patient in providing training and some great places to fish. The Orvis waders kept us completely dry and the fish certainly liked their fishing hooks. It was a great day for all of us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day of Autumn Fulfilled,
October 19, 2014
By: Georgexyxp2
from Dolores, CO 81323, USA
"Every summer I look forward to my favorite autumn activity, fishing with Telluride's premier fly fishing guide, Midnite. This year I had an added bonus as we were accompanied by Lindsay. It was a beautiful, easily accessible, stretch of the Dolores River. As usual, Midnite and Lindsay brought along extra equipment. Because my boots and waders no longer fit this "thinking ahead" saved my day. Midnite pointed out the best holes while making sure my dry fly was "the right one". Thirty minutes into what turned out to be a glorious afternoon, I hooked into the largest rainbow that I ever caught on the Dolores. A few more fish were landed, good conversation continued as we combed this beautiful stretch of the river,enjoying every moment. A day on the river with Telluride Fly Fishers is always a day to remember. And this day was no exception."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good day on the water,
October 6, 2014
By: Cologirl
from Evergreen, CO
"Last week I spent a ½ day with Marty on the water. A major goal on this trip was to improve my casting skills and fishing knowledge. Marty gently but consistently worked on my cast and taught me several new tricks. He was an excellent teacher providing lots of encouragement and patiently worked on a skill until I got it. Marty is a charming, friendly gentleman with many entertaining stories. The time flew by. On the way home I couldn't wait to make notes on my day. Most importantly, I feel like I can go out on my own and apply the lessons I learned that day improving my skill and enhancing my enjoyment of the sport. Thanks Marty, I will see you again next summer!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Fishing & Guide,
September 22, 2014
By: Lance36
from Telluride, CO, USA
"What can I say but I had the best guided fishing experience with my guide Marty. He was able to put me on some rather large fish for the rivers in Colorado. Plus he is about the greatest guy you will ever meet. So the only thing better than the fishing and scenery was the company. Thanks for everything Marty, I had an awesome time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JD,
September 22, 2014
By: JoshuaCaleb
from Orange County, CA
"We had a great time fly fishing the San Miguel with JD of Telluride Fly Fishers. He was personable, good natured, very experienced, patient, and helpful to name a few qualities. He went above and beyond to ensure we all caught fish and enabled us to enjoy the unique experience of fly fishing in Colorado. Sure beats a day in the office. Thank you, JD!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome Trip,
August 31, 2014
By: JamesRuth
from Chester Springs, PA 19425, USA
"On a recent trip to Telluride (our first visit to Southwest Colorado),we felt it was best to book a guide in order to get acclimated to the area. Of course, we booked an Orvis endorsed guide.
From the initial point of contact, before, during and after the trip, we were more than delighted with our service and experience. Lindsey and Marty were terrific to work with. Marty was not only a great guide, but one of the best local story tellers we could have hoped for, which only added to the wonderful time we had on the water and during our drive to and from the locations we fished. We had a blast!! From the time he picked us up in the morning, until he dropped us off we could have not asked for better service. By the end of the day, it felt like we were saying good bye to an old friend, not our fishing guide. The private waters we fished were spectacular and pristine. Marty checked and double checked with us all day to ensure he was meeting all of our needs. Our objective was not only to fish with Marty, but to also learn about the area and fishing we could do on our own the rest of the time we were there.
Marty and Lindsey - thanks again for your time and expertise and for the memories. We will look you up the next time we are in Telluride and the surrounding S.W. Colorado area. We can't stop talking about our visit and the great time we had fishing. Sorry we missed you Saturday night at the Angler Inn. We did stop for lunch that day after fishing - and had a great meal. Thanks for letting us "live in the moment" with you, even if for just the short time we were together.
All the best until we meet again.....
Ruth and Jim
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delores River,
August 12, 2014
By: SDFlyfisher
from San Diego, CA, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Midnite took us to a great private spot where we caught a lot of fish and had a great time.
His work with my wife was great, she ended up catching the largest most beautiful fish of our vacation.
Thanks for a terrific time.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful fishing trip,
August 5, 2014
By: Fulton125
"I would highly recommend Midnite as a guide in Telluride. He went above and beyond to create a memorable experience for my Dad and me. And even followed up with emailing photos! Thanks again, Midnite!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Time--,
June 21, 2014
By: Madi14
from Dayton, OH, USA
"My mother and I decided to try out fly fishing for our very first time and boy, we couldn't have had a better day!! It was so much fun, and we learned a lot about the mountains, waters, fishing, and Colorado history. We loved our guide, Midnight, too. He was great with us beginners and we even caught two fish at the end of the day. We got way more than we signed up for and I can't wait to come back and do it again! Thanks Midnight and Telluride Flyfishers!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Legendary Guide,
December 19, 2013
By: thog
from Cambridge, MA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Most of my greatest Telluride memories over the past 10 years or so were made while fishing with Midnite. Year after year he takes us to new, exciting fisheries, and it's always an adventure. Midnite excels as a guide to fishers of all levels. He is an excellent casting instructor for beginners, and can help improve the skills of veteran fishers. Midnite has taken us to many different types of fisheries: creeks for native cuts on dries, crystal clear alpine lakes in the summers, and bigger waters for large browns and rainbows. Midnite is frequently scouting fisheries around Telluride to ensure that you are heading to the best possible location.
Beyond guiding Midnite is an amazing guy to hang out with. He knows that fly fishing trips are about much more than catching nice fish, they are about adventure, and creating memories that last a lifetime. Each trip I take with Midnite turns out to be an experience that I will remember forever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Midnite,
December 18, 2013
By: JTH575757
from Telluride Colorado
"Midnite continues to be the best fly fishing guide we have ever worked with. Over the last 10 years he taught us how to fly fish in almost any conditions in lakes, large and small streams. He represents Orvis and your products very well"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience!,
October 14, 2013
By: LLM1029
from Telluride, CO, USA
"With 3 novice fly fisher women, Midnite took on the task of teaching us with incredible patience and skill! He was just awesome. We learned the basics and then headed to a gorgeous spot to get the feel of the real deal on a stream! It was one of the most amazing and incredible adventures of my life. I can't wait to come back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Telluride Fly Fishers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Magical Day!,
October 12, 2013
By: Eunie
from Telluride, CO, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""Midnight" was our fly- fishing guide from Telluride FlyFishers. This was our first time and we did not know anything about fly-fishing. Midnight outfitted us in Orvis waders and rods. We went to a large pond first where he gave us a masters in fly-fishing in about an hour and a half. We were all able to catch a couple of fish. After we felt fairly confident Midnight took us to an absolutely beautiful river to fish. He was patient, kind and listened to our needs and was able to teach us the fly-fishing basics. He is a true treasure to the fly fishing community! Many Thanks, Midnight, we will remember our day with you forever. We will also see you on our next trip to Telluride!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes