Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sunrise Anglers, CO

Sunrise Anglers offers classic Colorado guide trips. From "get to the stream in 5 minute trips" on our local fisheries to full-blown weeklong adventures, Sunrise will put a smile on your face. Sunrise Anglers, LLC holds more permits to coveted public water than any other service in the state. Float trips on the Colorado and Roaring Fork, walk/wades on the Blue, Colorado, and Williams Fork Rivers, and overnights in the Rocky Mountain National Park allow you to be on the water at the right time.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Review 1 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upper Colorado River Float trip,
October 6, 2014
By: Flyfish56
from Burlington, VT, USA
"I floated the "pump house" portion of the upper Colorado River with Thomas Schneider, owner of Denver based Sunrise Anglers,for 3 days, 9-17-9-19. In a nutshell, it was an outstanding experience. Beautiful scenery, incredible wildlife, great fishing, browns and cutts. Thomas is an excellent teacher and guide and he knows every seam and hole in the river. We nymphed during the day and switched to a dry fly set up in late pm. Caught some beautiful fish. While I'm not a very accomplished nymph fisherman, with Thomas's consistent teaching, I got much better and progressively caught more and bigger fish each day. Thomas is the type of guide you hope for when you go on a trip. He has a good sense of humor, make a delicious lunch and is extremely knowledable about fishing techniques and reading the water. Simple put, he is excellent guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
thomas,
September 2, 2014
By: jkrotu
from colorado
"I have fished with Thomas all over Colorado. Every trip has been a pleasure. He has taught my daughter, son in-law and granddaughter to flyfish. We have always caught fish. Without belaboring the point, I have fished fresh and salt water many places with many guides. Thomas is one of the best guides I have had the priviledge to fish with anywhere in the world."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shoulder season,
April 16, 2014
By: MWStorer
from San Francisco, CA, USA
"Thomas may have ruined many an upcoming, relaxing April for me. Previously I was more than happy to wait for the weather to warm up to get out on the river. With a single day on the Colorado, Thomas showed me some of the techniques and tricks to tempting lethargic fish onto a fly. Had a great day on the Colorado, and Thomas provided everything I needed. Can't think of an easier way to tack on a day of fishing to a business trip. I'll definitely be a repeat customer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Intro to Fly Fishing,
March 21, 2014
By: scdavis50
from Houston, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I took my daughter to Colorado and wanted to expose her to fly fishing. Neither of us have fly fished and when I fish, it's usually for saltwater with spinning tackle/live bait.
Tom did a great job - we had booked a different day originally but he encouraged us to switch days because the weather was really bad.
He took us out the next day and put us on a ton of fish. Tom did a great job with my daughter and she came out of the experience with a pretty good looking cast - and she had a blast.
We both feel ready to try more fly fishing here at home and would both recommend and plan on using Tom again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic fishing experience!,
January 24, 2014
By: Angler75
from West Linn, OR, USA
"Knowledge, assistance, friendliness, and fish! Tom, the proprietor of Sunrise Anglers, delivered all of these features on an unseasonably cold early fall day. He provides high quality fishing equipment and exerts maximum effort to keep the action going for everyone involved. Our group had seasoned anglers and first-timers and Tom handled everyone’s needs, ensuring a good time for all. Finally, our hot cooked lunch featuring garden fresh grilled veggies took the experience off the charts, in my opinion. If you want to have a great fishing outing, Sunrise Anglers is the way to go."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Float/Great Guide,
October 20, 2013
By: GrizzlyBaffler
from Upper Colorado River
"Floated two days with Tom on the front end of an elk hunt. Had some excellent fishing and picked up a few new tricks. Tom is a rock solid guide and knows the water well. He was good at getting us honed in to what was working on those days and then putting us in a position to catch fish. We streamer fished both days and each turned over 50 fish per day (Didn't land even half those mind you but what fun). It was awesome. All you can ask for in a guide. Be sure to request his river side guacamole; it's excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly Fishing Lessons,
October 20, 2013
By: LEML
from Boulder, CO, USA
"My husband arranged for fly fishing lessons as a surprise gift. Neither of us had ever done it and really knew little about it. We came as prepared as we could be appropriate dress and a fishing license. We met Tom at the site and immediately knew this would be a fun experience. Tom took the time to explain the fine art of fly fishing, gave each of us individualized guidance, answered many questions and made us laugh. He truly has great passion and knowledge for the sport, is a very patient teacher and wants you to enjoy and understand it so that once you are on your own; you will be able to do what you have learned. Tom and Sunrise Anglers is the only way to go for a first class experience! Thanks Tom!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional trip,
October 15, 2013
By: PigDog1963
from Portland, OR, USA
"I am a novice and our group decided to add a fly fishing component to a weekend trip to Denver. I must say that anyone who ventures into the State of Colorado should look up and hire Sunrise Anglers.
The gear was easy, the lunch was terrific and the guide was the best. Do yourself a favor and book a trip with these guys. My wife is now concerned that I have a new goal - to get out fly fishing whenever I can. That is due to our new friends at Sunrise Anglers"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Fork Extravaganza,
October 7, 2013
By: DeschutesAngler
from Bend, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The day started with snow flying in Denver and on the way up to our private water experience on the North Fork of the South Platte. Moods were dim and all were suffering the effects of the prior night out. After a short 1-hour drive from Denver, we met Tom up in the canyon and immediately his hearty laugh, quick wit, and immediate likability began to breathe some life into our crew.
Shortly after that, as the sun began to shine down on us, we pulled into a beautiful ranch property, where Sunrise holds the rights to some great private water. After donning the top-quality gear that Tom provided our group and rigging our rods (also provided by Sunrise), we headed over to the river. Our group had a huge range of experience, and Tom made sure everyone had the knowledge, training, and support to have a great day on the water. He is extremely patient and does a great job of adding a good dose of humor to his instructions about how to find and catch fish. Whether it was the jokes or the instruction, it worked, because everyone in our group hooked some nice sized (18-25 inch) rainbows. Nets were obligatory equipment, because these fish were hogs!
For lunch Tom pulled out the grill and threw down an awesome meal of brats, grilled vegetables, french bread, and cheese. All was topped off with tall tales of trips past and lots of infectious laughter.
What started as a two-hour trip of cold-weather fishing turned into a full day in the high-country sun. Tom rolled with our enthusiasm and success and encouraged everyone to have a great time. Mission accomplished.
This is a first-class experience with a guy who takes pride in his craft. Tom has been guiding since the late '80s and you can tell. He's that perfect mix of fish whisperer, teacher, and storyteller that you want in a professional guide.
There is no question that we'll be back out with Sunrise next time we're in Colorado."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
October 7, 2013
By: ORFCD
from Oregon, America
"We had a great trip with Sunrise. Thomas dialed in a perfect trip under what should have been tough conditions. Awesome shore lunch, big fish, zero drownings."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September 10, 2013
By: fly303
from Denver
"Took a trip with Thomas from sunrise anglers and would highly recommend them for a fishing guide. His experience of fly fishing and teaching people his craft is very evident. Not only caught a lot of fish but learned techniques and tips to catch more fish on my own. Will definitely be hiring them again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Corporate Event,
August 2, 2013
By: JEAG
from Parker, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the first year that we added fly fishing as an activity to a recent corporate event. Four customers signed up to fly fish. Tom and his guides, split the group into pairs and spread them along the beautiful Clear creek. My biggest fear when planning this activity is that no one would catch a fish, boy was my fear unfounded. Everyone caught multiple fish and as one person said "my guide made me feel like a real fisherman". Before we left the stream, pictures were flying back to their corporate headquarters. This is a great corporate activity and we will call Tom at Sunrise Anglers to be our guide the next time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Experience with Sunrise,
July 1, 2013
By: CaBobF
from Menlo Park, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a phenomenal time with Tom and his team fishing the mountains of Colorado this summer. All our guides were knowledgeable and patient. They provided all the great Orvis equipment we could possibly need (including extra clothes and jackets after an unexpected storm). And the lunches Tom whipped up were top notch. Will definitely fish with them again in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide and Fishing you Could Ask For!,
January 22, 2013
By: Docson
from Denver, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have hired Thomas Schneider at Sunrise Anglers twice now -- and the magic that I thought could only have occurred once in a lifetime -- repeated itself. The second time, in addition to my 11 year old son (who caught the fly-fishing bug from Thomas when he went on an adventure at age 9), I invited my brother-in-law and his 8 year old son. After a day of wonderment in the mountains, with blue skies, clear running streams, and featuring a terrific grilled lunch -- the tales from each one of us about the numerous fish we hooked that day were punctuated with Thomas' hardy laughter and wise guidance on the ins-and-outs of the fly fishing religion - of which he is a bishop. If you want to experinece something that will go down on your list of things that you would love to relive again and again in this all too short life -- then hire Thomas to be your guide. He is a kind, gentle, funny and knowledgeable master."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He's The Man,
January 4, 2013
By: troutmobile
from Colorado, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I wanted to re-create a family fishing adventure from over a decade ago for my dad, brother, niece & nephew this summer. After coordinating everyone's schedules, I booked a day with Thomas Schneider of Sunrise Anglers. To say the day was everything I had hoped for would be an understatement. Thomas got my niece (who's only other fly fishing experience was on the aforementioned adventure a decade ago)back "in the groove", on the water & catching fish right out of the gate! For my more experienced brother & nephew, Thomas got them set up with a "grocery list" of several holes within sight on the river and they were soon into fish of their own! At that point Thomas saw to it that my dad had personal attention & guidance as he made a rare forray in pursuit of trout. As my dad has aged it has become a bit more challenging for him to get around but Thomas saw to it that he was constantly "under wing" which took a load off of my mind & allowed me to relax and enjoy the day. Throughout the day the constant presence of Thomas & his never ending wit & wisdom were enjoyed by all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Sunrise Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great day on the water,
August 10, 2012
By: SKBRI
from Maryland, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently had the privilege of getting on the water with Tom Schneider from Sunrise Anglers. What a blast! Not only did he put me on fish, he is really made the experience memorable. Tom is quite a nice person and really patient, knowledgeable and hilarious! He had me laughing the whole time. If you want to have fun with a skilled, yet relaxed guide, he's your man."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes