Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Royal Gorge Anglers, CO

Royal Gorge Anglers have serviced anglers on the Arkansas River for over 25 years. Offering guided fly fishing on over 13 watersheds, this guide service provides fish-catching expertise on a serious amount of area; however, its bread and butter is the mighty Arkansas. The true stars within this operation are its guides. With an average of 13 years of experience on the waters of Colorado, this guide crew can offer some serious on-the-water instruction to even the most seasoned of anglers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Review 1 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good day on the Arkie,
April 11, 2014
By: StreamTredder
from Woodland Park, CO 80863, USA
"Though I have bought tackle from Royal gorge for years, this was the first guide trip I had booked. Taylor was very helpful in scheduling and then rescheduling this trip. Abe was our guide and he did a great job of taking care of his clients. He taught us about the areas we fished, about knots and tackle, and gave us friendly tips to help us be more successful in creating good drifts. I have recommended Royal Gorge for years, but I would definitely book with Abe again. He worked hard for his clients and went out his way to share insights and knowledge about the Arkie. Thanks, Guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BWO's in the spring,
April 4, 2014
By: coloradobear
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Took my first guide trip ever and had Abe as my guide. I'd asked for a learning experience and RGA delivered big time. Abe was patient and a wealth of knowledge. He improved my casting and we fished a variety of techniques - nymphs with an indicator, nymphs with no indicator and two hours of dries during an amazing bwo hatch. While learning was the focus, I also caught plenty of fish. I would recommend this service to anyone who wants to have an awesome time fishing a Colorado freestone treasure. RGA is a class outfit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Arkansas River Pueblo, CO,
February 26, 2014
By: SAWebster
from Louisville, KY, USA
"Fished with Abe on Tuesday 02/18. Had a great time. Landed a few over 20". Fishing # 24 & 26 WD40's and the like. Long leaders to 8X. Had to deal with 50 MPH wind gusts to make things interesting. Abe did good work as I returned on my own on the 19th and was highly successful. Great operation and great guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisified Client,
October 25, 2013
By: mightymouse66
"Larry Kingsey was an excellent and experienced guide/instructor.
My fishing trip was an educational and learning event.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Years of Excellence,
October 7, 2013
By: akflyandfish
from Arkansas River, United States
"This is the best fly fishing guide service in the Rocky Mountains if not North America. I have taken numerous trips with the Royal Gorge Anglers staff, and am continually impressed with not only the fishing, but their professionalism and knowledge! I have fished with 4 different guides, all of which have worked for the company over 15 year; a true testament to their commitment to excellence. We have mostly focused on the Arkansas River, but I have also experienced the largest trout of my life on the South Platte with Royal Gorge Anglers. I can't say enough good things about this operation!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Education,
September 2, 2013
By: sniperd
from colorado
"Had a great time getting "educated" by Larry re: the many nuances of fly fishing. His knowledge of all aspects was phenomenal and we had a great day. Thanks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Royal Gorge w/Abe,
April 27, 2013
By: palvarez
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great day with my 14 year old son and Abe. Great teacher and showed us a ton of great water to return back and fish on our own."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Stop Smiling,
April 16, 2013
By: VictoriaG
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time fly fishing - interviewed several area guides and all roads kept leading back to Taylor/Royal Gorge Anglers. Taylor took the time to listen and answer my questions and then matched me up with Jerry. I couldn't have asked for a better instructor and guide! Jerry has a wealth of knowledge, loads of patience, great sense of humor and is also a pretty darn good cook! I spent 9 hours learning, laughing and was so stoked that I didn't want to go home!
I highly recommend Taylor, Bill and Jerry - its great to do business with nice guys that have a passion for sharing what they love to do!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Day,
April 16, 2013
By: Shred2Liv
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Taylor is one of the best I've ever fished with and I highly recommend anyone to contact him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Stream,
November 7, 2012
By: GolferJeff
from DFW, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Late season trip to the S. PLatte with Clint. Caught 2 of the 3 biggest brown trout of my life (pic). Clint worked his butt off finding fish and teaching me to sight fish to these Browns. As always, a great gig with SoCo. I am now a regular at the Royal Gorge Shop....."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIRST CLASS,
November 2, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Littleton, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went out with Taylor from SOCO guides and I couldn't have been more impressed! I have been on some less than "par" guide trips before, but you need not worry. My money is on Captain T (Taylor) that he has to be one of the best guides in the industry. Consider yourself very fortunate if you book a trip with him. Thank you Taylor!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My teachers,
August 30, 2012
By: GolferJeff
from DFW, TX
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have been out with SoCo guides three times this year. Each time has been well worth every penny. Clint set my wife and I on some browns near Cotopaxi (her first trip!). Abe took me to the Pueblo tailwater for rainbows. Now headed to the S. PLatte for the big boys. The guides are all fantastic and Taylor and Bill run a good shop. I bought all my gear thru them and could not be happier. Highly recommended for anyone interested in learning to fly-fish or fish new areas."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome experience,
August 21, 2012
By: TAGFU
from DELACROIX, LOUISIANA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great 2 day experience fly fishing
out of Canon City. Our
guide Clint was extremely interested in us catching fish. His knowledge and patience was much appreciated. Taylor was great to deal with and I would highly recommend that you try their services.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb!,
August 20, 2012
By: UnicornHunters
from California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've fished with SoCo in Southern Colorado several times and have joined Taylor on an overseas adventure. Always professional, always fun, always get into some fish. Great shop, great knowledge, great guides. What else is there?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing was terrific,
August 12, 2012
By: kjed
from Olathe, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great experience for a novice fly fisherman on the Arkansas River. My guide, Abe, was manificent. Really knows his stuff - where the fish were and what they wanted - had me in the middle of action catching (when I didn't miss the strike) trout in no time. My half day guided trip was worth every penny. Next time we're visiting family in the area, I'll definitely be stopping by Royal Gorge Anglers. If you want to catch fish, check out Royal Goge Anglers."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These Guys Rock!,
August 11, 2012
By: akflyandfish
from South Platte River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family and I know Taylor from his work in Alaska. The first trip we took with these guys was in Alaska, and we have since fished with them in Argentina and beyond. This past 2 years we have fished with these guys on the Dream Stream and other sections of the South Platte River during both the Spring and Fall for lake run fish. All I can say is, WOW! These guys make it look easy. Taylor and his guides can spot and get clients hooked into big fish like nothing I have seen before......
These guys strive to make experience an extremely special one, and do all the small things right to make every trip the trip of a lifetime.
Highly suggest these dudes!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Royal Gorge Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides/ Tremendous Experience,
August 11, 2012
By: girlsfishtoo
from Arkansas River-Bighorn Sheep Canyon
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These guys do every little thing right. This is the 6th trip we have been on with SoCO Guides, in various locations in Southern Colorado, and they have failed to disappoint!
I have brought novice anglers with me on several occasions, and let me tell you..... these guides have not only hooked them on the sport but turned them into proficient anglers. We have always caught nice fish and quantities, but the overall experience and attention to detail is what these guys excel at!
Great Operation!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes