Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT

Rocky Mountain Outfitters is a four season fly-fishing outfitter providing float and wade fly-fishing trips. RMO is the only outfitter with a fly shop on the Provo River. Blue-ribbon trout fishing is within walking distance of our shop. RMO is located next to the Provo River, which contains over 3,000 fish per mile, with large BWO, PMD, green drake, caddis, and stonefly hatches. We are also located close to many small streams that contain wild trophy brook, rainbow, and brown trout. We cater to all levels of anglers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
137 of 137(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Review 1 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guides,
April 8, 2014
By: Stuman
from Loudonville, NY 12211, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've been fly fishing for only three years. Took the Orvis 2 day course in Manchester. Fished with only Orvis guides since. These guys at Rocky Mountian Outfitters are the best. We fished with Ryan Stokes and Andrew Seegmiller. The first day on the mid Provo River we caught more fish in 4 hours than the previous 3 years (30+)! My wife didn't even seem to mind the occasional snow or rain shower. I fished the next three day alternating with Andrew and Ryan and caught another 70 trout. Can't say enough about these guys, they know their stuff. You will not be disappointed,"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Record Day!,
March 26, 2014
By: winesipper
"I have fished the Provo river with various guides for about 10 years, and testify that Ryan is one of the best. He has excellent teaching skills for the beginner, and can rig the more experienced person with just the right flies. We had both fishermen on the river that day and caught so many Brown trout we lost count!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Trip!,
March 21, 2014
By: SteveM14
from Heeber Utah
"I spent a half day with Andrew from Rocky Mt. Outfitters on the Middle Provo recently and had a great. Andrew was prompt, had great equipment, and was all about finding the fish! It was a great afternoon and I landed many beautiful browns. The outfitter was very easy to work with. I would highly recommend Andrew and Rocky Mt. Outfitters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Ever,
March 17, 2014
By: Vallinski
"I just went fly fishing for my first time and I simply loved it. Our awesome guides, Ryan and Andrew, helped us and taught us everything we needed. They made sure we were in the best place and that we had the right fly. We got about 15 fish in total and we were quite busy because some fish gave a good fight but Ryan still helped me to keep fighting back. It was a wonderful day and we did great for our first time, I wonder if it was the guides or it was just a good day! I look forward to do this again and I really recommend it, we had lots of fun!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fly fishing, now we're hooked,
March 14, 2014
By: HB31962
from Provo, UT, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Ryan Newman was our guide on this trip. He was personable and knowledgeable and very attentive to every need. We caught rainbow and brown trout as well as a single whitefish. He was an excellent instructor and we look forward to coming back next year for a full day on the river. We highly recommend RMO and Ryan!"
Video Review:
Fly fishing with RMO
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sundance is for Flyfishing Too,
February 19, 2014
By: bcgrayjr
from Washington DC
"Last month i was in Park City for the Sundance Film Festival and one day while my family was skiing i took the advice of a local friend and called RMO to see if i might be able to fish... Ryan Newman got back to me and two hours later i was perfectly outfitted and waist deep in the Provo catching Brown after Brown! Ryan was textbook professional in every way - not only did he gear us up with exactly what the fish were eating, he found a great stretch that was empty when we started, and he has an innate ability to guess (or know) where there will be a lot a lot of fish activity. I cannot recommend Ryan and RMO strongly enough! The BEST!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smashing Spawing Browns,
February 12, 2014
By: TDurf
"The middle of November, snow falling lightly, everything was like a dream and the fish just added to make the trip absolutely incredible. Ryan knew what to do, where to do it, and why to do it. He was a great help in helping me to understand his techniques by explaining it. The trip was an absolute delight."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
January Greatness,
February 8, 2014
By: freshcolleague
from Provo, UT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Sporting matching coats, mid January, head guide Ryan Newman and I took to the Lower Provo. As an amateur angler, Ryan really made me feel like a pro! Rocky Mountain Outfitters not only provides top of the line Orvis gear but a top of the line experience as well. Ryan's river knowledge, casting tips and tricks, fly selecting ability and charismatic personality set the tone for our adventure and had me landing trophy rainbows and browns in the dead of winter. I highly recommend Rocky Mountain Outfitters, but more so, befriending Ryan, this dude really knows his stuff. Privileged to have learned from the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience (late Sept),
January 31, 2014
By: NHFlyfishJGF
from Provo, UT, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Was going to be in SLC so brought my gear along and contacted Rocky Mountain.
I was set up with Mark Stevenson and had a great time.
The fish were cooperating and I even landed a 17" on my first drift! Got 5 or 6 in the 17-18 range.
Mark is an excellent guide and knows the pockets in the Provo. I will repeat the next time I am in SLC
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Times,
December 2, 2013
By: mpg0101
from Utah
"Spent a half day on the Lower Provo with Guide Ryan Newman. Ryan is an easy going and interesting person. He got me on fish within the first five minutes! Both Browns and Rainbows kept us busy. Ryan was very helpful in both his actions and providing some pointers. I have been fly fishing for just a few years and his technical advice was welcomed and done in such a way that it just flowed into what we were doing. It was like fishing with an old friend. Thanks for a great and really enjoyable day on the water. Best way to spend Black Friday!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
November Fishing,
November 18, 2013
By: StitchBear
from Texas, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had an awesome morning of fishing with Ryan the second Saturday of November. It was a beautiful day.. cold and crisp. I caught 51 fish. It was amazing.. as soon as I would cast out I would catch a fish. No down time or waiting. Ryan is a wonderful guide and definitely knows how to catch fish. I've already signed up to come back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fun Ever,
October 31, 2013
By: JOliver
"I would like to say. I am nearly 44 years old. Fly fishing in Utah was the best expirience ever. Our guide Alex Wray was second to none. He personally made our expireience one that was second to none."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October Provo Trip,
October 14, 2013
By: biter72
from Newport Beach, CA, USA
"This was our second outing with RMO and as before it was great. We did a full day trip on the Provo with our guide Andrew who showed us a great time despite the inclement weather. He is simply a great fisherman and a fun guy to be around. Also thanks to head guide Ryan Newman who took the time to give advice on what flies were working on the Provo so that we could tie some for our trip. I can not say enough nice things about RMO. Thank you for a wonderful trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have been better,
September 26, 2013
By: Crayelk
"Having been doing all other kinds of fishing for several years, upon moving to Utah I decided to try my hand at fly fishing. My decision to call Rocky Mountain Outfitters proved to be a great choice.
Only a few minutes after leaving my message, Ryan returned my call and the trip was planned. On the day of the trip, having my first Brown in the net was even quicker. Not only was I catching fish, I was learning the whole time.
I will be back and recommend RMO and especially Ryan, to anyone wanting to give fly fishing a try.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Professional and Personable,
September 24, 2013
By: ACanuckAbroad
from Ontario, Canada
"I have always wanted to try fly fishing and had an awesome first outing with Rocky Mountain.
I went out with 8 business associates who were mostly newbies. The guides were extremely experienced at coaching and explaining the "art and science" of fly fishing and got us started. They also knew the area like the back of their hands.
They also made sure we were all seeing and sharing in the action by cycling us through hot spots.
Their passion and enthusiasm for the sport was infectious and they were very pleasant and fun to hang out with for the day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AMAZING EXPERIENCE W/RYAN!,
September 23, 2013
By: Flyfishnewbie
from Provo River, UT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My husband and I booked a fly fishing trip (via our hotel @ St Regis) with pro guide Ryan Newman for our first time out, and we became so addicted to this sport that we were sad to see the sun fall on the horizon and the afternoon to come to an end! Ryan couldn't have been more of a great guy! He taught us everything we needed to know within the first 20 minutes, and as soon as I cast my rod I hooked an 18" brown trout! Hubby & I had a full afternoon of catching trout and Ryan made it fun & taught us a lot. He's patient, extremely knowledgable and such a true PRO!! I still can't get over how quickly he could change our flies and made it all seem so effortless! Ryan is THE guide too book and I can only imagine how fun it would be with him on a corporate outing or a large group on the river. Just can't say enough great things about our experience...Thanks Ryan!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rd Annual Corporate Trip,
September 12, 2013
By: EngineeringFishman
from Northeast USA
"This is my 3rd annual hosting of 25+ engineering colleagues on a half day fishing trip with Rocky Mountain Outfitters using Orvis gear and the second time I was lucky enough to team up with our guide Alex Wray. He discussed our goals for the day and found a great location that provided us the opportunity to try different fishing locations and techniques - and the fish kept biting. Alex was able to answer our questions with informed answers and put us in a position to have a relaxing and fun day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ryan is the BEST,
September 5, 2013
By: Winterwood
from Florida, USA
"My wife and I had done just about every kind of fishing except fly fishing. We did not know what to expect or if it would be difficult or not. Ryan Newman put us immediately at ease with his patience and excellent teaching ability. We thoroughly enjoyed fishing with him and would recommend him highly to anyone thinking of trying this great sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket List check mark!,
September 2, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Wow! I arranged an afternoon fly fishing trip with Ryan Newman in Salt Lake City, UT. He kindly answered my email and called me to arrange our trip. What a guide! He answered all of my questions throughout the day. We were on the brown trout within 15 minutes. The setting on the Provo River was gorgeous. It was a great learning experience that I've dreampt about forever. Ryan's techniques and gear are top notch. Time flew! The fish are everywhere! My first catch was a mature 20" Brown Trout. Somehow I caught it in the first 15 minutes. Amazing. Trout are unlike what I'm used to catching in our lakes in Va. They are beautiful fish. I couldn't keep up with Ryans fly changes. It was effortless and quick. He carefully explained his changes & why. Now, I understand the interest that so many have in this sport. Ryan kept the tempo moving & fun. I could not have asked for a finer guide. I only wish my wife & my best friend could have joined me! It was a trip of a lifetime & a dream come true. The pictures will be framed and the memories are priceless! I will certainly fish with Ryan again and look forward to inviting him to Virginia to fishmat our cabin. My heartfelt thanks to Ryan Newman & the Orvis guides in Salt Lake City. A 10 out of 10 rating....... Hands down! Thanks Ryan! Cheers! Keith"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Day on the Provo River,
September 2, 2013
By: Annualflyfisherman
from Dallas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We visit Park City every Summer and I look forward to my annual fly fishing trip. This year's fish day was July 11. We always fish with Ryan Newman and we always catch fish. This year was no different. In fact, we probably had one of our best years yet! Usually, my son comes, be he was in summer school at Ole Miss this year. My daughter fished and my wife read a book on the bank. It was my daughter's first time fly fishing and she caught at least a dozen - we stopped counting. Same for me. In addition to lots of trout, I caught a giant white fish. Ryan is our guide of choice. He is kind, patient and has become a dear friend of our family over the years. Looking forward to next summer's trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes