Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT

Rocky Mountain Outfitters is a four season fly-fishing outfitter providing float and wade fly-fishing trips. RMO is the only outfitter with a fly shop on the Provo River. Blue-ribbon trout fishing is within walking distance of our shop. RMO is located next to the Provo River, which contains over 3,000 fish per mile, with large BWO, PMD, green drake, caddis, and stonefly hatches. We are also located close to many small streams that contain wild trophy brook, rainbow, and brown trout. We cater to all levels of anglers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
152 of 152(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Review 1 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best day ever,
July 29, 2014
By: Miswice
"Fly fishing with Ryan Newman was awesome. We are from South Carolina and our 13 year old son wanted to try fly fishing in the Utah. We contacted Ryan Newman after finding a brochure. I cannot say enough about how much fun our son had fishing. As he said " Ryan put us right on the fish." They stopped counting they caught so many. It is something my son will remember for life. He was very patient with him, had all the equipment (fly rods, flies, waders) that he needed. If we were in the area again I will call Ryan again. Thank you Ryan for the wonderful memories and pictures!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Guide,
July 28, 2014
By: RobObrien
from Park City Utah
"We recently went fly fishing with Ryan Newman as a Guide. He was tremendous and the experience as a whole was better than expected! Ryan took the time to teach us the basics, he was continually looking for ways to improve the experience including trying new locations or new hooks and was genuinely interested in making sure that our experience was as good as it could be. I highly recommend Ryan as a guide for fly fishing in the Park City, Utah area. The experience could not have been better!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Summer Afternoon,
July 16, 2014
By: StitchBear
from Texas, USA
"I had a great time fishing with Ryan. It truly makes a difference to go with someone who knows how to catch fish. I enjoyed an afternoon of being outside in the cool stream and laughing as I caught fish after fish. I have some great pictures of fly fishing and I smile every time I look at them. I highly recommend fishing with Ryan."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most fun ever,
July 15, 2014
By: birdcatcher5
"We were with Ryan Newman for a full day on the Provo over the Fourth of July weekend. Inspite of hundreds of inter tubers/rafters floating by constantly, we managed to catch 20+ trout and had a blast. Ryan is very instructive, knows the river extremely well and where to fish.
Casting between floaters was challenging but Ryan handled it with patience and good humor. We had a terrific day and hope to do it again over Labor Day weekend.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
July 14, 2014
By: Winship
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
"Our guide Ryan was excellent. He took us to 3 locations on the Provo River with each stop increasing the size and number of fish we caught. He was very helpful and knowledgable as a guide, and we would recommend him to friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Day on the Provo,
July 8, 2014
By: Mark1234
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Ryan Newman and Ryan Stokes put us onto the fish in a big way on the Lower Provo. We had fabulous time hauling in 17-20 inch rainbows and browns! Even my beginner fisherman sister caught some nice ones with Ryan's expert coaching. I've had only great days on the river with the Ryan's -- highly recommended!!!
Mark from Houston, June 27, 2014"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fly Fishing,
July 6, 2014
By: bledsoect3
"We went on our first Fly Fishing trip with Rocky Mountain Outfitters and it was excellent. The guides (Doug Gibb and Chad Logan) were fantastic. They had a great temperment, made sure we used the right equipment for the conditions and educated us well. We had a beautiful day fishing in a great location. We highly recommend them and we will use them again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Provo,
July 4, 2014
By: AlexK7
from Houston, TX, USA
"My dad and I recently did a full day on the lower Provo with Ryan Newman. The fishing was fantastic. Lots of nice trout all day long. But fishing with Ryan made the trip even better. Ryan is not only knowledgeable, his energy and enthusiasm are contagious. I have not been with a better guide. We will go out of our way to return to Utah and the Provo and we will definitely call Ryan."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Provo Fishing,
July 2, 2014
By: spinemetz
from Chagrin Falls, Ohio
"My wife and I fished with Ryan Newman from Rocky Mountain Outfitters on the lower Provo river in late June. Ryan was an excellent guide; he was personable and provided the appropriate attention required. He put us on fish...plenty of fish, big fish! The first fish of the day was a 20 in rainbow! We have been on a number of guided trips, but this ranks at the top."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great fishing trip!,
June 20, 2014
By: muckdart
from Salt Lake City
"This is our second year going fly fishing (both times with Ryan Newman) and we are hoping to make it an annual tradition. These guys know what they are doing, are great teachers, and really know the best spots. Most importantly, we caught A LOT of fish. The only downer was when we discovered the day was already over!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Fishing,
June 17, 2014
By: HappyFishg
from Woodstock, GA, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was 2nd year in a row that I had the pleasure of spending a day on the Provo River (middle section) with RMO guide Ryan Newman. He again was helpful in a non intrusive manner offering suggestions and tips in a professional manner. Beautiful weather, scenery and abundant fish made the day most memorable. One of the best guides I have had the pleasure of spending time. Thanks Ryan!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing - Great Guide,
June 10, 2014
By: Vinc
from Nebraska, USA
"I spent 1 day on the Provo River with a client and RMO fishing guide Ryan Stokes before a sales meeting scheduled for 6 PM that night in Park City. We started at about 9 AM and still barely made it to the meeting, which was only about 35 minutes away! We had to peel ourselves away from the river because we kept catching trout, nice trout! The sun was out, the wind was calm and the fishing were jumping out of the water. I highly recommend Ryan Stokes as your guide. He would be great for a group of guys or for a family. Sincerely, Andy Vinckier"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect day on the Provo,
June 5, 2014
By: fly1956
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
"Day started early as our guide (Mark Stevenson) picked us up at 6:30 AM. He asked us if we wanted to catch a lot of fish, or go for the bigger ones. We chose option 2 and were not dissapointed!
Mark did a great job getting us into the fish time after time. At the same time he was always concerned about our safety as we did the river crossings and "walked with the horses".
We landed about 12-14 fish, no one smaller than 15" and missed another 25-30. He really knew the river and placed us where we had the best chance to catch fish. Best day flyfishing yet!!
Thanks Mark!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW - Exceeded All Expectations,
May 31, 2014
By: stevesfishing26
from Middle Prove River
"I went with Mark for a full day of fishing. The equipment provided was high quality and worked well. Mark was exceptionally knowledgeable and very patient with my lack of fly fishing experience. Most of the 20+ fish we landed were 12"-15".
Thank you Mark for a great experience and fueling my desire to want to learn more about fly fishing.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
provo-early spring,
April 21, 2014
By: robwhite
from Sugar Land, TX, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had two great half-days with Andrew and Ryan as guides. Fishing was fun and we scored many good sized rainbows and browns on both days.
Fun times in a beautiful setting with great, knowledgeable guides - can't really ask for a better trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guides,
April 8, 2014
By: Stuman
from Loudonville, NY 12211, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've been fly fishing for only three years. Took the Orvis 2 day course in Manchester. Fished with only Orvis guides since. These guys at Rocky Mountian Outfitters are the best. We fished with Ryan Stokes and Andrew Seegmiller. The first day on the mid Provo River we caught more fish in 4 hours than the previous 3 years (30+)! My wife didn't even seem to mind the occasional snow or rain shower. I fished the next three day alternating with Andrew and Ryan and caught another 70 trout. Can't say enough about these guys, they know their stuff. You will not be disappointed,"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Record Day!,
March 26, 2014
By: winesipper
"I have fished the Provo river with various guides for about 10 years, and testify that Ryan is one of the best. He has excellent teaching skills for the beginner, and can rig the more experienced person with just the right flies. We had both fishermen on the river that day and caught so many Brown trout we lost count!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Trip!,
March 21, 2014
By: SteveM14
from Heeber Utah
"I spent a half day with Andrew from Rocky Mt. Outfitters on the Middle Provo recently and had a great. Andrew was prompt, had great equipment, and was all about finding the fish! It was a great afternoon and I landed many beautiful browns. The outfitter was very easy to work with. I would highly recommend Andrew and Rocky Mt. Outfitters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Ever,
March 17, 2014
By: Vallinski
"I just went fly fishing for my first time and I simply loved it. Our awesome guides, Ryan and Andrew, helped us and taught us everything we needed. They made sure we were in the best place and that we had the right fly. We got about 15 fish in total and we were quite busy because some fish gave a good fight but Ryan still helped me to keep fighting back. It was a wonderful day and we did great for our first time, I wonder if it was the guides or it was just a good day! I look forward to do this again and I really recommend it, we had lots of fun!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fly fishing, now we're hooked,
March 14, 2014
By: HB31962
from Provo, UT, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Ryan Newman was our guide on this trip. He was personable and knowledgeable and very attentive to every need. We caught rainbow and brown trout as well as a single whitefish. He was an excellent instructor and we look forward to coming back next year for a full day on the river. We highly recommend RMO and Ryan!"
Video Review:
Fly fishing with RMO
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes