Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT

Rocky Mountain Outfitters is a four season fly-fishing outfitter providing float and wade fly-fishing trips. RMO is the only outfitter with a fly shop on the Provo River. Blue-ribbon trout fishing is within walking distance of our shop. RMO is located next to the Provo River, which contains over 3,000 fish per mile, with large BWO, PMD, green drake, caddis, and stonefly hatches. We are also located close to many small streams that contain wild trophy brook, rainbow, and brown trout. We cater to all levels of anglers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.994 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (180 reviews)
5 stars
179
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
180 of 180(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Review 1 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best day ever,
July 19, 2015
By: Kari123
"My son and I wanted to try something new and we happened upon RMO...and thank goodness we did! From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiles and felt comfortable and cared about. Ryan was amazing! He was so attentive and was a phenomenal teacher. Ryan was patient with us first-timers and made us feel like "pros" during our time together. My son and I both agree...it really was the "best day ever!" I really can't say enough positive things about our experience and especially our guide, Ryan. Thank you so much! We will definitely be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Tales,
July 16, 2015
By: kris10p
from California
"Our guide was Ryan Newman. I have never been fly fishing before and he made it so fun and enjoyable. We were catching fish within about 10 minutes on the river and they kept coming all morning. Ryan moved our location and bait when things would slow down and then we'd start catching them again. There were several fishing groups around us and we were catching the most by far. Ryan seemed genuinely excited every time we'd catch one, and his energy was contagious. I would highly recommend him and RMO."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest fishing guides on the Provo River,
July 15, 2015
By: Fishers
from Park City, UT
"Ryan Newman is the best fishing guide I have ever had- highly knowledgable about fishing techniques, and a super friendly guy. He is so good at explaining the art of fishing and always makes everyone feel like they are experts. Fishing with Ryan and his fellow guides at RMO is always the highlight of our trips to Utah!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Professionalism at its BEST,
July 13, 2015
By: BradBessett
from Dallas, TX
"For my first time back to the Lower Provo in years, I decided to book with RMO one November. I was paired up with Ryan Newman and we immediately hit it off, and were immediately into a bunch of fish! We ended up fishing in several spots between the Middle and Lower Provo and in a half day and not only did I catch a ton of fish, he gave me the knowledge I needed to finish the weekend successfully on my own. My experience was so great that nearly two years later I booked with Ryan again for some Summer fishing. Within minutes we were back in the groove, chatting it up, swapping fishing stories, and catching loads of fish. He remembered where we fished last time and ended up taking me to even more different places, all of which proved to be excellent spots.
When I go back I don't even need a guide, but will still book with Ryan and RMO solely because of the excellent memories and experiences he has given me.
Thanks so much for being the best!
-Brad B"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These guys are as good as the reviews,
June 28, 2015
By: Sensibleguyinhisearly50s
from Bay Area, CA
"Solely on the basis of the many positive reviews here (and the Orvis affiliation), I booked three (mid-June) days with RMO via Ryan Newman, who was responsive to all communications from start to finish. Besides just getting away for a week to have some fun, one point of the trip was to introduce my wife and boy to fly fishing. I had taken it up three years ago with the passion of a newbie, and the Provo sounded like forgiving and promising enough waters to get more skeptical family members interested. We had a blast. My boy and I fished two days with Andrew, the first being a 20+ fish day for each of us, many of them in the 15-20 inch range. The second day was slower, but far better than a typical day on the Truckee in CA where I often go. Both days Andrew was all business. This guy lives to fish, and his enthusiasm (and relative youth) worked wonders on my 15 year old. Andrew was waiting for us the first day at 7:30 (we had arrived a bit early) at RMO headquarters just outside of Midway. And he genuinely didn't seem to care that we stayed on the river until after 5 that day (at my son's request; the fishing was that good). He kept us on the fish both days, moving to the next promising spot when things got slow, and (at my request) he increasingly put the onus on my son to rig his own line, etc. Best of all, his passion for fishing was contagious. By the end of the week, my son was talking about how much fun it would be for his cousin's to converge on Park City next year for a fishing adventure. A third day of fishing included my wife, and on that day we were double-teamed by the two Ryans (Newman and Stokes). Both are super friendly and knowledgeable guides with many, many hours on the river (and an uncanny ability to visually spot fish where the untrained eye sees only rocks and riffles). They got us on the fish as well (perhaps 15 each?) and saw to it that my wife landed the biggest rainbow of the day! When I unfortunately stumbled and fell trying to land one, I dented the rim of the spool of my (new Access) reel badly. Ryan S. not only picked me up and made sure I was ok, but quickly and patiently went to work on my reel with his forceps and a file. Minor aesthetics aside, it's as good as new. All in all, this is an excellent bunch of guides, who, best of all, seem to really enjoy what they do."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Teacher, Great Trip - MUST GO,
June 21, 2015
By: JustintheRookie
from Lower Provo River
"I was referred to guide Ryan Newman by a friend. I had never been fly fishing before, so I was a total rookie. We met up and drove to the fishing site. He had all the gear I needed and had everything set. For the entire time, I was his only focus. We must have caught more than 20 fish, I think we averaged one every 15 minutes. We caught both Brown and Rainbow Trout (all too big to keep). Ryan has an easy teaching method, with little things to help you remember (probably due to his also being a professional teacher at a local HS). He made it easy and I felt like he was all about helping me to have the most positive and fish rich experience possible. Yes, I'm a new beginner, but in talking with Ryan, I learned that he had been fishing the Provo for many years. If you are in town, and looking for an awesome trip, but you are an experienced angler you will be happy with RMO and Ryan. His experience was obvious and he surely knows all the spots on the river. He seemed to know all the people in the parking lot and he also was interested in the success of the fishermen around us. I thoroughly enjoyed my trip and would go again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended!,
June 13, 2015
By: Colbywan
from Provo, UT, USA
"This is my second time having Ryan Newman as a guide in the Lower Provo and it just keeps getting better. The experience was incredible and we started catching fish immediately! I can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky Mountain Outfitters Guide saves the day,
June 12, 2015
By: provoriver
from Heber City, UT
"I was fishing the LP today just below the bridge where the rafts unload and I believe I bumped into one of your guides with a client(His name was Ryan). I was fishing across the river from them and while they were MURDERING it I couldnt get so much as a hit. Your guide made his way across the river, cut his entire rig off and let me have it. Upon tying everything on (my first time fishing a bounce rig) I hooked into a 20"+ inch brown 30 seconds into my first cast. I was way to excited and horsed the fish...breaking off my top fly and losing him but I learned more in 10 minutes than I have in the last month. I was there from around 2PM to 5PM. I believe your guy and client took off when the rain hit around 4. Whoever he was....please tell him thank you. He's a great fisherman and a cool guy. I told him I'd give him a beer next time I ran into him on the river. Keep him gainfully employed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous!!,
June 11, 2015
By: MarkG2015
from houston
"On June 6th four of us fished the Provo with Ryan Stokes and Andrew Seegmiller. Even though it was a crowded day our trusty guides put us onto a BUNCH of fish and all four of us had an incredible day! Thanks Ryan and Andrew!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have found a new love!!,
May 11, 2015
By: GgirlGreta
from Ocala, FL, USA
"I just returned home to FL from Midway, Utah. I took the trip with friends for hiking and decided to book Rocky Mountain Outfitters to try fly fishing for the first time. Who knew???? I LOVE THIS art! Andrew S took me and a friend out to the river after helping us gear up. Orvis waders - hot look ;). Andrew was charming and patient while teaching us. Once I caught on to the basics, I quickly began bringing in the trout. 11 for me! Mostly browns, a couple of rainbows in our haul. I learned about the river, the fish, the equipment and the art. I am hooked. I will be working on equipping myself, learning more and will be back, that is a promise!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time!,
April 27, 2015
By: Buckworth
from Provo River, UT
"We had a great time with Ryan as our guide. We appreciated his knowledge, expertise and confidence of the area and fly-fishing. We would absolutely do this again! What a great way to spend a day-off."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome trip,
April 23, 2015
By: AZSowBug
"My brothers and I met up to do some fishing on the Provo with RMO guides Ryan Newman and Andrew Seegmiller. What an awesome time! The fishing was great, and the scenery superb. It made some great memories that will definitely bring us back. Highlight of the day was a great brown on a dry."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
April 18, 2015
By: Dleggat
from Grosse Pointe, MI, USA
"Went to Utah for skiing, but there was little snow. Found an ad for Rocky Mountain Outfitters and decided to give it a whirl. Diana was great, in that she worked hard to find us a guide at the last minute. The guide was friendly, knowledgeable and an all around great guy. We caught loads of browns and rainbows - and it was our first time fly fishing. Great experience and well worth the money. I'll definitely go again the next time I'm in Utah."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turned on to Flyfishing,
April 17, 2015
By: JonnyDarter
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
"I am new to flyfishing and did not know much more than the basics. Our guides (Ryan and Andrew) were outstanding in patiently teaching us how to fish in order to successfully connect with fish. They knew exactly what flies to use and how to present them to hungry trout. We caught (and released) so many fish I lost track of the exact number. It was a great time, and the setting on the Provo is absolutely stunning. Nice job guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent guide,
April 14, 2015
By: JCostello
from Tacoma, WA, USA
"Ryan Newman took me fishing on the Provo River April 10, 2015. I have fished with guides in WA, AK, FL, BC Canada and Costa Rica. Without hesitation I say Ryan is one of the best. Knowledgeable, courteous, prepared, diligent, top equipment and a great sense of humor. What more could you ask for? Catching a lot of fish, I suppose, and we did that too. Big browns and rainbows, despite a lot of anglers on the water. I attribute it to his expertise. A great day on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
April 5, 2015
By: Bassem
from Manchester, NH, USA
"We took a break from the hockey tournament to do some fly-fishing and horseback riding. There were 18 of us fly fishing. Everyone loved the experience and had a great time. We all caught fish, the least was 3 fish and maximum was 12. The guides were very hospitable, professional and helpful. My guide Ryan made sure that I did not have any idle time and always had the next fly ready to try."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing on the Provo,
March 6, 2015
By: Jbrinkworth
"Great time with Ryan from RMO guiding us on the lower Provo. I am horribly uncoordinated so his patience was as valued as his expertise. Brought in my fair share during an atmospheric snowy day in the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the river,
February 26, 2015
By: Mfandml
from Park City, UT, USA
"Doug took us out to the Middle Provo River. He was great. Everybody else was saying they were having a lousy day and Doug got us our limit. He was awesome and the scenery was fantastic."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snow Fishing,
February 26, 2015
By: TomKeith4
from Midway, UT, USA
"We had a wonderful time with our guides Reid and Reid. We were trout fishing on the Provo River in the snow. I was a first timer and caught seven fish. My brother and nephew had similar success. We will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rocky Mountain Outfitters, UT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Woohoo - Lower Provo in Winter,
February 20, 2015
By: HighStickMick
from Denver, CO
"My buddy and I visited the lower provo in winter with our Rocky Mountain Outfitters guide Ryan S. The quality of service was top notch and the fish were happy. I don't think we would have had nearly as much success without Ryan's expert local knowledge. My buddy landed a 20inch bow, I landed a couple chunky 16 inchers! In total we had ~15 fish and a memorable overall experience, even with a lot of pressure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes