Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR

Jamie Rouse Fly Fishing Adventures is Arkansas' premier year-round fly-fishing guide service based on the Little Red River, home to the former world-record brown trout. We also offer trips to the White and Norfork Rivers, and area lakes and streams chasing beautiful trout, hybrids, smallmouth, and for the advanced angler, pursuing big browns with streamers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
113
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
113 of 113(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Review 1 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 STARS!,
June 11, 2012
By: Wolfeman
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Having attempted to throw a fly only a few times, my rookie status was not in doubt. Within half a day, I was double-hauling and tying my own knots, thanks to Tony Simons. (Jamie Rouse Fly Fishing Adventures) Tony has the knack for teaching and is a pleasure to be around. We hammered fish all day, and this "rookie" aquired the skills and knowledge to go it alone with confidence. If you want to FLY give these guys a TRY! If there were another star to give, they'd get 6."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Fantastic Days,
June 8, 2014
By: LarrBear
from Nashville, TN, USA
"My wife and I just got back from two fantastic days on the Little Red with Jamie. Great fun, plenty of fish caught. Jamie was great to fish with share stories and he truly is a pro!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guides, big fish, good times,
June 3, 2014
By: Afterburnerturner
from Austin, TX, USA
"If you are fly-fishing in Arkansas and you're not in a boat with Jamie Rouse and/or Matt Millner, you're doing it wrong."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing on Little Red River,
April 23, 2014
By: dglass
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This past week I had the trip of a lifetime fishing with my son Mitchell and guide Jamie Rouse. The trip couldn't have been better, except for the giant rainbow trout I let get away. Jamie was outstanding in his knowledge of the river, expertise in fly fishing, and his ability to teach me how to properly cast a fly rod. Jamie was great to fish with and his boat made the all day trip very comfortable. If you have a chance to book a trip with Jamie Rouse Fly Fishing Adventures, do it! You'll have a great trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
April 5, 2014
By: Bill24
from Germantown, TN, USA
"I fished with Jamie last week and had one of the best guide trips you could have. Nothing better than fishing with the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
March 19, 2014
By: colbywarren3
"I've been fishing with several highly recommended guides over the past few years, but Jamie was by far the best guide I've ever used. He has an incredible knowledge of both the Little Red River and the White River in Arkansas. When fishing the Little Red with Jamie we saw only one other boat catch a fish within a four hour span. Our boat ended up catching just under fifty. I could not have been more pleased nor more impressed with our trip. Jamie is very down to earth and personable. If you are going to fish the Little Red, Jamie and his staff are undoubtedly the best way to do it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Guide Ever,
March 10, 2014
By: KHalls
from Heber Springs, AR
"One exceptional fishing guide. Jamie knows his craft. And he's pretty entertaining too. Great fishing, great stories and an overall GREAT TIME."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 star guiding!,
February 23, 2014
By: JMLIII
"Just spent 2 days on the Little Red with Tony and Matt. Our first experience in Arkansas, We've fished Montana, Colorado, Argentina and salt water destinations over the past couple of decades with many different guides. Matt and Tony rank w the best of them! They were enthusiastic, congenial, good humored, very knowledgable and helpful--and just plain fun to fish with. I look forward to the next opportunity to fish with them and would recommend them without any hesitation. Excellent!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ice on guides, fish on the flies,
February 15, 2014
By: Barefootj
from PA
"Awesome overall experience.
Even though the day started out at a balmy 6 degrees above zero, Jamie had us into shad crazed browns and bows all day long. He put a lot of thought into which fishery in his arsenal and what flies and presentation techniques to better our chances in that day’s particular conditions and circumstances. The result was great fishing, lots of friendly banter, a tasty shore lunch, and a seed planted for a return trip. Heck, he even gave me a chance to man the oars for a spell.
If you have put any thought to someday booking with these guys then you think too much.
Just do it.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Day on the Little Red,
January 13, 2014
By: Kenaharr
from St. Louis, MO, USA
"What a day. My son Lucas and I spent the day floating with Matt and I can't imagine having a better time. We had at least 10 to 15 times when we both had fish on. At the end of the day it got cloudy and we picked up some browns to compliment the rainbows. Matt gave us some great floats. My arms were sore from catching so many trout. THANKS MATT"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome trip!,
December 11, 2013
By: TRobinsonJr
from Memphis, TN
"Jamie Rouse took two rookies out on the boat on the Little Red in 30 degree weather in December. Within 30 minutes, the fishing was hot, and we were both pulling in nice rainbow trout.
Jamie provided great, easy instruction to get us started, put us in spots to succeed and catch some fish, and made the trip a blast with his great demeanor and fun attitude.
I'll recommend him and his crew to anyone, rookie or experienced. I'll be back for sure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Trip Ever,
December 10, 2013
By: BanannaBoatYankee
from Middletown, NJ, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Many thanks to Jamie and Matt for an incredible 3 Days on the Red River. 2nd Year in a row we used them and they always seem to find the fish and show us a good time. I would reccomend to anyone, and will be back with friends in the spring!Great trip to bring clients out for!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing 3 days,
November 19, 2013
By: Packergord
from San Antonio, TX, USA
"My friend and i did a 3 day guided trip on the little red and the norfolk. Fishing was amazing. Best 3 days i have ever had outside of montana. Our guides were great. Went with toni for 2 days on the little red and his knowledge of the river was impressive. Went 1 day with Herb on the Norfolk and he is equally amazing. We will be back"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
November 17, 2013
By: Airwayangler
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
"Despite hard conditions on little red, Matt, Jeff, and Tony put us on fish. Jeff spent extra time to teach one of our less experienced fishermen how to cast better and he did a great job of it. Matt and tony are hilarious and awesome. Every one was great about teaching when needed and knowing when to let us just be when needed. Great overall experience, always suggest Jamie Rouse fly fishing to anyone looking to fly fish in northern Arkansas."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great year.,
November 12, 2013
By: Jamiefan
from Memphis, TN, USA
"I once again had a fantastic trip with Jamie last week. Caught 40-50 rainbows and browns, many up to 19 inches. Jamie as always was a perfect guide, knowing exactly what fly and where to go. Always a pleasure!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Red River,
November 2, 2013
By: ACG45
from Memphis, TN, USA
"We had two solid days of fishing with too many fish to count. Besides Jamie's vast knowledge and expertise, he knows how to keep the boat laughing. Jamie put us in the best position to catch fish and improve our abilities throughout the trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lost Count,
October 23, 2013
By: JoeTex
from Spring, TX, USA
"Outstanding day on the Little Red w/ Jaimie. Knowledgeable, engaging, enthusiastic, and a very patient instructor for novices like myself. Got us into loads of great rainbow and have never been on a fishing trip where I lost count of how many fish we caught, there were so many. Would recommend Jaimie to anyone, expert or novice."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony Simmons,
October 7, 2013
By: TarHeelWes
from TX
"Skilled Fisherman and Teacher
Gave excellent instruction to a fellow fisherman who had never touched a fly rod. Consistent trout for two days.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third Trip - All World Class,
September 17, 2013
By: VaBeemer
from Heber Springs, AR, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I recently had the pleasure of spending three guided days on the Little Red River with Jamie Rouse (2 days) and Matt Milner (1 day). This was my third trip over the past year with the Jamie Rouse team. In every case, Jamie and his team made each outing exceptional. They know the water, share their years of wisdom, and are exceptionally fine people to spend the day with. On this recent trip, we spent each day on a different part of the river, caught lots of nice rainbows, and had a fantastic time. Perhaps most importantly, Jamie and Matt worked throughout each day to patiently coach and teach my wife and I on casting and drift techniques. By the end of the three days we were both notably better casters and fly fishers. Jamie carefully selects his guide team and it shows. I've had the good fortune to spend days on the water with Jamie and each of the other Rouse team members: Herb, Matt, and Tony. Each brings a unique set of skills to the trip. I cannot say enough good things about Jamie's operation. These guys are terrific in every respect."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Jamie Rouse Fly-Fishing Adventures, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delightful Trip,
August 24, 2013
By: Bodhispal
from Fayetteville, AR
"No matter your level of flyfishing expertise, Jamie is a gifted teacher and guide. He's also an entirely enjoyable guy. His knowledge of the river, it's trout, and how to catch them seems endless, and my wife and I are planning to revisit Jamie as soon as possible. We commend him highly and without reservation, and believe that Orvis is wise to honor him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes