Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rouse Fly Fishing, AR

Rouse Fly Fishing is Arkansas' premier year-round fly-fishing guide service based on the Little Red River, home to the former world-record brown trout. We also offer trips to the White and Norfork Rivers, and area lakes and streams chasing beautiful trout, hybrids, smallmouth, and for the advanced angler, pursuing big browns with streamers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.992 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
131
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
132 of 132(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Review 1 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 STARS!,
June 11, 2012
By: Wolfeman
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Having attempted to throw a fly only a few times, my rookie status was not in doubt. Within half a day, I was double-hauling and tying my own knots, thanks to Tony Simons. (Jamie Rouse Fly Fishing Adventures) Tony has the knack for teaching and is a pleasure to be around. We hammered fish all day, and this "rookie" aquired the skills and knowledge to go it alone with confidence. If you want to FLY give these guys a TRY! If there were another star to give, they'd get 6."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
None Better,
August 31, 2015
By: DA05
from Memphis, TN, USA
"I have been fishing with Jamie for 10 years. I have watched as his business continues to grow. This is because of his knowledge of the river, of fly fishing and without a doubt his attention to detail all while focusing on his customers experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience in Arkansas,
August 29, 2015
By: SteveTerrill
from Overland Park, KS, USA
"Me and 3 of my fishing buddies from Colorado went down to Mountain Home to fish here in late April based upon the recommendation of Nathan Diesel form the Orvis Shop in Overland Park, KS. Although the water was really high, the guides from Rouse got us "on the fish" both days we were there! We were impressed enough to book another trip at the end of this year in the first of Dec. Their jet boats were top of the line, the lunches were great and the guides were very friendly and fun to talk to. Have Tony tell you how poor people are down there! You won't be prepared for his answer. I have already recommended Rouse's to several other people here in the KC area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
August 28, 2015
By: Oldflyman
from Shreveport, Louisiana
"I have fly fished in Montana, Colorado and Wyoming with guides...and Rouse Guide Service tops them all. I have been fishing with Matt for several years and he deserves my highest praise. He never stops trying to locate the biggest trout in the river, and we always catch more trout than anyone else around us on the river,"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guides in Arkansas,
August 28, 2015
By: soflytn
from Tennessee
"These are the best guides in Arkansas and we have used many times. Jamie, Matt, Tony, and Jordan are first class! They are great guides who will put you on fish, but they are great guys too. They are very knowledgeable of all the rivers, fly fishing techniques, generation waters and are willing to share that with you. I highly recommend and will use again and again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Terrific Day With The Rouse Team,
August 28, 2015
By: amaiorano
from Madison, AL, USA
"I travel to the Little Red in Arkansas a few times a year and each time I fish with one of Jamie Rouse's team. Most recently Matt was our guide. He's knowledgeable, patient, friendly, and knows the area rivers. Throughout the day, Matt kept us "in the fish." He a wonderful teacher as well, sharing his expertise and experience with us novices very effectively. There is no better endorsement than to say we are booked with Matt in two months for a bit of fall fishing in Arkansas."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great guide service,
August 28, 2015
By: drla
from Memphis, TN
"This Outfitter knows the water and the fish.
They are easy to book with and work with you to have the fishing experience you want.
They are the one to call for North Central Arkansas fishing"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt does it again!,
August 28, 2015
By: IRISH96
from Memphis, TN, USA
"Annual trip in May and Matt continued to put us on the fish all day long. Catching fish is fun, but we also get to enjoy Matt's personality and stories. We will see you again next year for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These Guys Know the River,
August 24, 2015
By: jtylermcclendon
"60 fish day on 8/22 including a couple of 5 pound browns. Streamers in the morning, nymphs in the PM.
I fish the Little Red more than any other river and go with with a guide about once a year to learn something new. Every time I fish with these guys I am blown away by how much I learn!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip on the Little Red,
August 24, 2015
By: BrayandJoe
from Natchitoches, LA, USA
"My wife and I were guided by Jordan Case with Rouse Fly Fishing over two days. We are both novice fly fishermen and Jordan was great at giving instruction and very knowledgeable about fishing techniques. We caught lots of fish both days. Jordan's work ethic is second to none. Jordan is genuinely excited about guests catching fish and worked hard to make sure we had a great time which we did. We will be back to fish with Jordan again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Day,
August 23, 2015
By: AustinEasley
from Forrest City, AR 72335, USA
"I've fished the Little Red my entire life. I've wanted to take a trip with Jaime and Matt for a while now, and finally pulled the trigger. Absolutely phenomenal trip. I learned a ton and we caught a bunch of fish. My buddy and I hooked into some really nice browns. Matt worked hard to make sure we stayed into fish and didn't have a dull moment. What was probably most astonishing was Matt's knowledge of the river. These guys know what they're doing, they work hard, they put you on fish, and they make sure you have fun. Couldn't give them a higher recommendation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
August 18, 2015
By: GeneDouglass
"August 14 and 15, my family took our second annual fishing trip to Arkansas - this time to the Little Red - and it couldn't have been better. The seven of us split up among four guides: Jamie Rouse, Matt Millner, Lowell, and Jordan (whose last names escape me). My dad and I fished with Matt on both half-days and we caught a slew of fish; in fact, we hat-tricked it, catching rainbows, brookies, and browns. We had a blast. The weather was perfect, the scenery was beautiful, and our guides were knowledgeable, experienced, friendly and chill. Be sure to book your next trip with Jamie Rouse."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best way to end summer vacation,
August 17, 2015
By: jamesherrod
from little rock
"Matt Millner guided my trip on the Little Red. We met in Heber Springs, and he drove to the boat ramp. We got on the river just before daylight, and Matt immediately put me on fish. Literally within seconds of casting I had a fish on, and continued to have fish on all day. His knowledge of the river was baffling (but it's his job so i guess he should know the river). Still, I've been fishing walk-ins at the red and I feel like fishing aside, the knowledge of fishing features, the landscape, vegitation, and entomology would have been well worth the money. Catching too many fish to count was nice though. To boot, Matt is a nice guy and good conversationalist."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A First Class Outfit,
August 12, 2015
By: TNmuddog
from Memphis, TN
"I have had the pleasure of fishing with Jamie, as well as with Matt Milner and Tony Simmons. All three are outstanding fishing guides who will put you on to many fish and help improve your skills. Most importantly, they are a pleasure to be with. Great choice for introducing kids or other beginners to fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
June 5, 2015
By: vernonb09
"Jamie is a joy to fish with. Knows where the fish are and how to coach his guests to catch them. Hugely enjoyable day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Fantastic!!,
April 16, 2015
By: Craiglatc
from Litchfield, CT, USA
"I brought a small group of inexperienced high school students fly fishing on the Little Red River during the second week of March, with Tony Simmons guiding us for 4 days. While the conditions were somewhat challenging, Tony went out of his way to get the kids hooked up. He was amazingly patient and very flexible, often changing plans at the last possible minute depending on the conditions. Over the 4 days we went home catching over 120 trout, including several solid rainbow and brown trout! But more importantly, he gave the kids confidence in their skills and fostered a love of fly fishing for these kids. Fantastic experience! Thanks, Tony!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt Millner is an excellent guide.,
December 29, 2014
By: ARNovice
from Little Rock, AR
"Went fishing with Matt on December 23, 2014. As a novice fly-fisherman, Matt was great. He is a very good teacher and was very patient with my rookie mistakes."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 amazing days,
November 9, 2014
By: Packergord
from San Antonio, TX, USA
"My friend and I fished 3 days on the White, the Norfork and the Little Red. Our guide was Tony Simmons and the 3 days were almost perfect. We got 40 + fish per day between the 2 of us and we both got 20+ inch bows and browns including the biggest brown I have ever caught. Tony worked hard and is the perfect guide. Gives the right amount of advice and puts you on fish. This is a must for a flyfisherman"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Little Red Trip,
August 22, 2014
By: nomunnnofun
from BR, LA
"Had a great time fishing with Matt. My first cast was a solid bow. I would definitely recommend these guys."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rouse Fly Fishing, AR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Fantastic Days,
June 8, 2014
By: LarrBear
from Nashville, TN, USA
"My wife and I just got back from two fantastic days on the Little Red with Jamie. Great fun, plenty of fish caught. Jamie was great to fish with share stories and he truly is a pro!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes