Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawkins Outfitters, MI

Hawkins Outfitters is a catch-and-release fly-fishing guide service based near Traverse City, Michigan. We have been in business 19 years, fishing our local lakes and streams. We are fully permitted by both the State of Michigan and the United States Forest Service to use all of the area's lakes, rivers, and streams.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
58 of 58(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Review 1 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A game,
January 8, 2014
By: Pete708
from Chicago, IL, USA
"My wife and I were introduced to Chuck Hawkins when Ed McCoy joined his guide service years ago. We have both fished with Chuck in Canada and Argentina and have had many great experiences as a couple. Chuck, Jon and Ed have always put my wife, family, and guests first.
Ed is a great coach and friend and has helped me to find my A game. These guys are definitely within my circle of trust. Tight lines.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Making Memories,
January 8, 2014
By: Iusebothhands
from South Bend, IN, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have been fishing with Ed McCoy and Hawkins for the last 4 years. I keep adding fishermen and we added Jon Stefanciw 2 years ago. I have brought clients, friends, employees and my 13 year old son up to fish with Ed over that time period. Whether we are fishing for Salmon on the Pere Marquette or Steelhead on the swing in the Manistee. Ed and Jon are always on the fish. The fact that my son said that his trip and his 20lb salmon that he took on the PM was the highlight of his year is reason enough to go back and fish with Ed every year. I have told Ed before that they are not just fishing guides, they guide regular folks like me to memories that will last a life time. If you are looking to fish the waters around Travers City you will not find a better group of guidies than at Hawkins."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard Worker/Good Teacher,
January 7, 2014
By: DVarden
from Grosse Pointe, MI
"I've been a Hawkins customer for about 7 years now. I've fished mainly with Ed McCoy and found him to be a first rate, knowledgeable and hard working guide who just won't quit. Ed's priority is your fishing experience. What's more, he is an excellent and patient instructor who is more than willing to employ (and teach) a variety of different fly fishing techniques. Ed spends as much or more time on his home waters than anybody out there and he knows what's going on with the river and the fish. I've spent a lot of days on the river with Ed and not one of them has been high stress!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perpetual Customer,
January 7, 2014
By: NattJaeger
from Michigan
"Why did I title my review “Perpetual Customer”?
Because that is what I am at Hawkins Outfitters.
I travel for work and get a chance to fish throughout the continental USA. I would say I have used over 10 different guide services over the years. All of these have been highly recommended by friends. Most have been Orvis Endorsed Outfitters and Guides.
IMHO, Hawkins is, “The Best of The Best!”
Whenever I need to unplug and get a break away from the 24/7/365 hustle and bustle, I call Ed McCoy and make plans. “Any River……………Any Time?” that is a way of life for the Hawkins Crew. I have never been disappointed in the knowledge, professionalism and strive for excellence that Hawkins Outfitters provides. I have fished all seasons, all times of day and every type of technique Ed McCoy and I could come up with. In all the years, I have yet to be disappointed.
Just the other day I took someone along who never fished for Steelhead in his life, let alone in the winter on a single digit day! The service and patience paid off for my friend as he brought his first Steelhead to hand. He is hooked for life.
If I am asked who I recommend, I say Hawkins Outfitters!, with no hesitation and with full confidence.
If you are ever in the area, make a reservation and enjoy what Michigan rivers have to offer. You will receive knowledge and memories of a life time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed McCoy - Hawkins Outfitters, MI,
January 7, 2014
By: SamD
from Big Manistee River, Pere Marquette River
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Mr. Ed McCoy is an excellent fishing guide. I have taken guided trips with Ed for the past 11 years. He is an incredibly gifted fisherman and a very professional guide. He is highly regarded by his peers in Northern Michigan.
Ed has always made the days on the river extremely enjoyable with great fishing, and really good lunches. We have caught Steelhead between 7 and 15 pounds on various trips over the years. He does an excellent job netting fish and retying flies and leaders as required. I would give Ed my highest recommendation as a guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No finer service anywhere,
January 7, 2014
By: Oarr
from Traverse City, MI
"As a relatively new flyfisher, the experience I have received from Ed
McCoy has been second to none. His respect for the river, the fish, and my learning curve is as good as there is. His devotion to my fishing
is the best. Also fished for steelhead
w/ Chuck and the time was well spent. Booked 9 dates with Hawkins for 2014. Need I say more....
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior Instructors,
January 7, 2014
By: BobHinds
from Kalkaska, MI 49646, USA
"I have been a client of Capt. Ed McCoy's for 4 years now. Ed is the first person I call when I need to advance my fly fishing tactics. Ed is a phenomenal instructor and is incredibly patient. Recently he introduced me to swinging for steelhead. He taught me the techniques for making the proper cast needed, gear to be used and proper fly selection. I spent two days with McCoy and learned as fast as possible and within 3 weeks later I was off swinging up steelhead on my own from what I learned from Ed. Ed also excels on the trout streams. In my opinion he is at the top of the list of Michigan dry fly guides. His night time mousing game is also incredible and should not be overlooked. Even if your a novice he will instruct you how to catch fish when the lights go out.
I found a interest 2 yrs ago in warm water species and asked Ed if he could help.... He send me to fellow Hawkins Guide Jon Ray. Jon Ray showed me the ins and outs of how to catch smallmouth bass and carp on the fly. JR's knowledge of the local warm water fisheries was astounding. He too was very informative and made my success possible. Jon Ray also has a terrific steelhead program and I have had the pleasure of swinging with him. He truly is a artist on the big river chasing steel. Never ending tactics keep JR on the cutting edge of the Great Lakes Steelhead fishery.
Hawkins Outfitters guides are top notch in my book. They strive for professionalism!!! Hawkins will help you learn and have success on the fly guaranteed!!
Thanks for the amazing last 4 years Hawkins Outfitters and lets get another big one in 2014 Eddy"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Steelhead Experience,
November 27, 2013
By: JBAudi
from Manistee, Mi, USA
"I just completed a great two-day experience on the Manistee with Chuck Hawkins and my Father. Despite some very challenging weather, we caught over a 100 lbs of trout in a day and a half! Even greater than that was the experience gained from Chuck's knowledge of the river, steelheads and the environment. He is an easy person to spend time with and adjusts his advice well according to experience level of the anglers in his boat. I have fished with many guides over the past 12 years in different areas of the country and he ranks at the top of my list."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chuck Hawkins, the guide,
November 27, 2013
By: Odiwan
from Dearborn, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Chuck Hawkins has been guiding me and a friend for about 8 years. I have learned more from him than all the other guides I have used over the last 25 years. Not only is he a great guide, but he is a great host. There is never a dull moment in his boat. You are either catching a fish, or laughing. And he loves teaching. Especially to youngsters. Let's face it. Eight hours in a boat with someone can be a tough day. Not with Chuck. It is delightful to spend the day with him. He just put me into more steelhead than I have ever caught in 2 of the worst weather days I have ever fished in. He truly is the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique experience,
November 27, 2013
By: JulieT
"For a southerner many years now, I did not know what to think when I started my trip in November to fish for steelhead. What I found was a great guide and fishing buddies who prepared me well and kept me in the game always. I fished with Chuck for four days from the mid 40's to the single numbers wind chill factor and blowing lake-effect snow. We had a heater in the boat, warm, wonderful soup for lunch, excellent equipment, and the great knowledge of our guide to keep us fishing. There is no question but what Chuck Hawkins knows what he is doing and passes it along to his clients who catch fish. My top fish was 13 lbs and a gem of a steelhead hen. Great fun to fish with such experienced people."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't recommend Hawkins Outfitters enough,
October 11, 2013
By: HazenPingree
from Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have had the chance to fish with a number of guides in a number of states, and I can confidently say that Chuck is the best I have used. Why? Well for one, his professionalism . . . he follows up quickly, he sends you reminders, etc. Second, there's Chuck's demeanor (and that of his other guides). You get someone that you actually enjoy hanging out in a boat with all day, and someone that I wouldn't hesitate to use for corporate trips. Third, nobody knows the river like Chuck and his guides - if there are fish, you will get into them, period full-stop.
My last reason for recommending Hawkins Outfitters is for the dads out there. I didn't grow up fly-fishing, but I've been trying to provide an education in fly-fishing for my son, while at the same time, making sure that he actually has fun. Chuck has the same goals when he fishes with me and my son, and helps us both along in that regard. He is always cognizant of whether or not my son is having fun. Additionally, he tries to push him along each time we fish with him - we go from fooling around with small fish to getting a big fish in the boat, to getting a big fish in the boat the right way, and why ethical fishing is important.
Our most recent steelhead trip was a watershed moment for my son, as he landed a 12 pound beauty about an hour into the trip (on a pretty miserable day weather wise).
And I almost forgot, the nice new Orvis equipment is a plus."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Garden River,
October 2, 2013
By: TallTed
"Fished the Garden River for three days with Hawkins Outfitters.
Great overall experience which was further enhanced by virtue of very seasoned guides...knowledgeable, courteous and helpful.
Caught steelhead plus multiple species of salmon in a remote setting with magnificent Fall color and wildlife.
Integrity is doing what you say you are going to do and Hawkins delivered.
We have already booked our next trip with Hawkins.
Kudos to Hawkins and thanks for a job well done."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
October 1, 2013
By: JL2013
from Manistee, MI, USA
"Fished the Manistee with Jon Stefanciw this past weekend. He was a great guide. We caught several large fish and hooked up with a bunch more. We were on the right holes and if we weren't he would get us there (and worked hard at rowing against the current!). Jon was very helpful and patient teaching the fishing methods. Lunch tasted great as well. All around, it was a great experience and look forward to getting back out there at some point in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tremendous Experience,
September 28, 2013
By: WingsFan
from Stafford, VA
"My wife and I spent a beautiful fall day on the Manistee. Jon Stefanciw had us on fish all day; always made the pressure on the fish and not on us as beginners. His knowledge of the rivers, the gear, and how to fly fish was top notch. On our second excursion with Jon on the Betsie, it proved to be more challenging but just as exciting. We are signed up for next year and would recommend Hawkins Outfitters and their local guides - totally the best! Go Red Wings!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the Upper Manistee for Troutr,
September 12, 2013
By: Jhoffm
"Yesterday I had a great day on the river with my guide Jon Stefanciw. He was very well organized, knew the river and the fish, and put me on good fish in the right loacations with the right fly. On top of the that he was a great guy to be around for several hours as we floated the Manistee. I would highly recommend Jon to anyone as a great guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great First Fly Fishing Outing,
September 4, 2013
By: Trev7
from Traverse City, MI
"Jonny Ray made my first dry fly fishing trip very rewarding. I learned the basics and was able to land more fish than I would have ever guessed. Plus it was easier than I thought it would be. Thanks again, Jonny!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
August 9, 2013
By: HKguy
from Traverse City, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a grat day fishing with Chuck. Very patient with instructions, quick with a tip and an overall extremely great day. Will be back next year without a doubt."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT TRIP!,
July 24, 2013
By: JFO1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I attended a streamside class with Hawkins and Orvis in 2012 & couldn't wait to return to the Manistee! We fished with Chuck on 7/23 and had a great time...Chuck is an outstanding teacher and coach...he took lots of time to fine-tune our skills and was very patient with us...we had an outstanding day on the river getting into several fish and cannot wait to return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly fishing ever!!,
June 28, 2013
By: Recruiter
from Traverse City, MI, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had the chance to fish with Chuck Hawkins. Best Guide & fishing trip ever. He's totally organized, top-notch equipment & an excellent coach on the refinements of fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Hawkins Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04/20/2013 Streamer School,
April 21, 2013
By: Passion4BigBrownTrout
from Ludington, MI, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I attended the 04/20/2013 Streamer School hosted by Chuck Hawkins and Jon Ray. What a great learning experience. A very comfortable atmosphere where students were encouraged to ask questions and contribute to the conversations. Valuable tips on fly tying, presentation of flies and casting instruction. The discussion of trout behavior was very interesting. An emphasis was placed on river etiquette. Afternoon on the river applying the mornings lessons was very well done. Those who own boats can learn about boat handling also.
I expected an informative class but my expectations were exceeded.
My Thanks to Chuck,Jon and Staff for an outstanding experience.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes