Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Dave Brown Outfitters, BC

Since 1992, Dave Brown Outfitters has been guiding fly fishers on the Elk River and other rivers in southeastern British Columbia and southern Alberta. Based out of Fernie, British Columbia, Dave and his team of guides are keen to show visiting anglers some outstanding Rocky Mountain trout fishing without any crowds. Anglers have the opportunity to fly fish a variety of rivers for a number of species including brown, bull, cutthroat, and rainbow trout.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Review 1 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B.C.'s Mangroves,
July 18, 2014
By: DrewFickel
from Chandler, AZ
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Dave Brown outfitters is a professional and capable outfitter! Our guide Chris was a great facilitator of fun, education and (of course) fishing. We spent a majority of the day casting to hard fighting rising red stripes in the flooded willows (aka BC Mangroves). I think this was the first time I have ever had to tell a guide that it's getting late and we need to get back to the hotel. I'm pretty sure Chris would have let us fish till midnight if we were up for it. Thanks again for the memories and the great shore lunch!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing in Fernie with D.Brown&Co.,
October 8, 2013
By: LeftGuard
from Chicago,IL, USA
"On Sept 17 my wife & I drifted the Elk R.
with D.Brown guide, Greg Leech. The most gorgeous of settings. We boated more than 20 cutts' on drys.Greg was extremely competent & companionable.Both my wife & I were still complementing Greg last night during dinner with friends.
On Sept 18, I sight fished a mountain lake for monster rainbows with guide Andres Gonzalez, again,from D.Brown&Co. And, again,the high professionalism and fine companionship of Andres led this time to the hooking and boating of a 25" rainbow on a 4x tippet & 5 wt. rod.
Wonderful fight & wonderful day.
Thanx D.Brown&Co. for a memorable visit to Fernie BC."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Fishing,
September 11, 2013
By: FredWNC
"I have fished Alaska, Patagonia, many Western US trout rivers as well as salt water fly ron fishing. I can honistly say that the three days with Dave's guides were the most productive I have experienced His guides know the rivers as well as any I have ever fished with"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip with Dave Brown Outfitters,
August 29, 2013
By: Lbrdr90
"August, 2013: just returned from a great trip with Dave Brown Outfitters out of Fernie, BC. Fished the Elk (2 days) and St Mary's (1 day) Rivers. 3 days of excellent dry fly fishing to beautiful, strong cutthroats. Our guide, Andres, was superb ... knowledgeable on the water, great teacher, and excellent sense of humor! Beautiful scenery, beautiful trout, and highly professional guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful time...,
July 24, 2013
By: Summerview
from Pincher Creek, AB T0K, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Have taken colleagues on a number of trips with Dave Brown Outfitters. Always the best of times.
This July, two of us floated the Waterton River. Had floated it in prior years with another group - way better with Dave Brown. Scenery excellent, as was technical assistance, and professionalism. Highly recommend Dave Brown Outfitters...
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wife had fun,
September 19, 2012
By: Meeker
from Weatherford, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished and my wife road for two wonderful days on the Elk River with Dave and Andres from Dave Brown Outfitters. We stayed above the fly shop and had a great time. I went to dry fly fish and was treated to two of the best days I have ever experienced. I caught a lot of beautiful Cuts and netted one Bull Trout that went 20 inches. My wife had a great time riding and they treated her like a quenn. I came away from the experience with a lot of helpful hints on techniques. Some of the prettiest water I have ever seen. Thanks Dave and Andres."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elk River Cutties,
September 10, 2012
By: Skibo
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My partner and I fished the Elk River with Chris Dawson of Dave Brown Outfitters for 3 days during the first week of September. Our experience with Chris was excellent and we found him extremely knowledgably of the fishery the river’s entomology. He was also very accommodating with our requested time and location changes and still kept us on fish all day long. We were especially pleased with the wading and fishing to rising trout portion of our trips where we stayed hooked with fat cutties for more than an hour. All in all, and excellent experience from a super guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 Great Days on the Elk,
August 18, 2012
By: BigFishnfool
from Liberty Lake, WA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I spent 2 days fishing with Dave and Quinn on the Elk River August 12-13. The first day Quinn entertained us with his irrepressible humor while we caught numerous Cutties on both dries and nymphs. One highlight was my generally non-fishing 19 year old catching the biggest fish of the day, a big fat 19" cutthroat. Another was when Quinn spotted a big fish hiding under a bank and we went ashore and stalked after him. I caught 2 other small ones and got snagged in the overhead brush and trees 3 times but we stuck with it and eventually pegged a beautiful fish.
The next day I went out with Dave and had an equally enjoyable day catching countless fish while getting a wonderful all-day lesson in casting both dries and streamers. Wanting to master the sport, things really came together with my game as Dave expertly positioned me for numerous opportunities while helping me perfect my sometimes insanely errant casting. Truly a great day fishing with lessons to boot.
Ondine does a great job of getting things straight and I encountered no snafus. Stayed across the street at the Park Place which had nice rooms and dining.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing on the Bow!,
August 15, 2012
By: Tillnbe
from Hermitage, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My husband & I fished with one of Dave Brown's guides, Mike Turnbull the 1st day we got to Calgary and had such a great time catching big browns in the city section of the Bow River, that we asked to have Mike guide us again at the end of our trip 3wks later. The Bow did not disappoint & neither did our guide. The water level dropped at least 5ft & we had a very successful day & caught a bunch of big rainbows on the middle section of the Bow on a hopper and a huge brown which was a treat. Our guide was very knowledgeable, professional, handled the boat well, and was a lot of fun. We would recommend anyone fishing the Bow River to call Dave Brown & request Mike Turnbull as their guide. Thanks Mike we had a blast."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave Brown Outfitters,
August 12, 2012
By: AzHoover
from Elk River, British Columbia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Dave and his other excellent guides since 1995. I have fished all of the tributaries of the Elk and all of the rivers they fish in Alberta with them and have always had a great time and caught a lot of fish. In my opinion, the Elk is the ideal river to introduce beginner flyfishermen to. The experience of fishing dry flies in clear water to "cutties" is outstanding. You will also have an opportunity to catch large bull trout. The area has a lot of varying lodging choices. The restaurants are good for a small town."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing under difficult conditions,
August 6, 2012
By: LWTheSage
from Brighton, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My longtime fishing pardner and I, with a combined 100-plus years of fishing experience, spent four days with guides from Dave Brown Outfitters in late July, three days on the Elk River in British Columbia, and one on the Oldman River in Alberta. Although mid-summer, the Elk, especially, looked like it was still in early spring runoff. Despite the heavy water conditions, Dave Brown's excellent guides, John and Chris, continually had us on fine, strong Cutthroats. We had three days of fishing the equal or better of any we have had in my pardner's home state of Montana or in my home state, Colorado. Our fourth day was guided by Dave himself on the Oldman River in Alberta. That day was perfect, a mixture of sun and shade, ideal water levels, and scores of fine fish. Dave Brown and his guides know their stuff, and we recommend his guide service without reservation. For excellent wade fishing on our final day in B.C., Dave and his staff pointed us toward a superb local creek that produced as well as the larger rivers."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
August 2, 2012
By: Dunbow
from Calgary Ab.
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently a friend and I had the fortunate opportunity to be guided on the Elk River in Southern British Columbia by Andres Gonzales of Dave Brown Outfitters. What a great day. Andres is personable, progessional and extremely knowledgable. His numerous "tips" on how to catch fish made our day very successful and enjoyable. I have used numerous fishing guides over the years. Dave Brown Outfitters is number one on my list."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great float trip on the Bow,
August 2, 2012
By: NHAB2012
from Nahua, NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We fished the Bow in Calgary in late July, 2012 just a few days after the 'infamous' mud slide on the Trans-Canada Highway. Fishing was difficult due to silt and high water, but our guide was able to put us on some nice rainbows and a very nice brown. The guide, a fine young man, knew the river, handled the boat well in the high water, and had excellent knowledge and a fine selection of flies. We would definitely recommend this outfitter, and plan to return to fish with them on other rivers in the area,and surely return to the Bow for more huge browns. Last word: when they say the fish are big on the Bow, the fish are definitely BIG !!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing in British Columbia,
July 31, 2012
By: Amilisci
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband, 15 year old son and I just returned from a fantastic fishing trip with Dave Brown Outfitters. we fished three rivers in three days and all were a joy. The Elk, Olman and Michel all provide different fishing experiences and are exceptional with Dave and his expert crew. We were fortunate enough to fish with Dave, Greg, Andres and Derrick and all are world class guides. We cannot wait to get back. Simply fantastic. Get your rods and your passports and go fish with Dave Brown!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sore arms, great time,
July 27, 2012
By: BigD1
from Saratoga, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My wife, Sue, and I just got back from an awesome 5 day trip with Dave Brown's team on the Elk, Michel, Oldman and Bow Rivers. It was a blast. Four different rivers, four different experiences ranging from beautiful, native Cutthroats on the Elk and Michel, Bull Trout on the Oldman and monstrous Rainbows on the Bow. Ondine was very helpful making the arrangements. Our guides JD, Andreas and Quinn knew exactly where to go, what to do and patiently provided tips and advice when we needed it. Our arms are still sore but we would do it again in a heart beat. (PS: take a day trip to the nearby Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, a World Heritage Site and museum of the Blackfoot Indian culture.)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class outfitter,
July 27, 2012
By: Jake44
from British Columbia, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are looking for a first class outfitter on the Elk or Eastern British Columbia rivers, then look no further than Dave Brown Outfitters. Our group of six fly-fished with him in BC and Alberta inJuly 2011. Dave arranged for us to fish 5 different rivers during our 10 day trip ,including the Elk, Bow, Waterton & St Mary's rivers which involved a total of 8 guides. Each of these guides had an intimate knowledge of the rivers we fished, and put in long days to give memorable days of dry fly fishing. Their drift boats were in very good condition, and the packed lunches were excellent.
Dave provides frequent feed-back during the planning phase of trips. He will work hard to put together your preferred schedule, but has the ability & flexibility to change a schedule at short notice in response to changing river conditions. In our own case, an upstream dam-burst rendered the Bow river unfishable on the first day of our trip, and within 3 hours Dave had rearranged not only alternative fishing on St Mary's and the Elk, but also switched our accommodation for Calgary to Fernie.
His guides are very knowledgable of most of the target rivers inBC, Alberta &Northern Montana areas.
Dave himself is extremely professional, focuses on the detail, and has a great extrovert character which makes for both successful & enjoyable days on the river.Our group has fished together from Alaska to Chile and would recommend Dave Brown Outfitters without hesitation.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Octogenarians Survive,
July 22, 2012
By: Oldtimers
from Fernie,B.C.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"With the Elk River over it's banks we fished the fast running Michel in B.C. and the Oldman River in Alberta. Andes Gonzolas guided us with care and expertise. We had a marvelous time. Derrik Crawshaw delivered better weather and some good sized fish over the divide. We enjoyed two very different experiences. Next year we hope to return to fish dry flies on the Elk River."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip with D.B.O.,
July 21, 2012
By: excalibur
from Brooks, AB, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Dave Brown Outfitters on The Elk ,Bow and other rivers in S.E. B.C. and S.W. Alberta for the last 15 years and as usual Dave and his crew of awesome guides pulled off another great 5 days on 3 different rivers in Alberta and B.C. with my Party of 10 Fly-Fishers ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Dave Brown Outfitters, BC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenomenal Fishing Trip,
July 15, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Langley, BC, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 2 brothers and I had the unique chance to fish with the best guides in the business. Dave Brown took us to the Waterton River to fish for brown trout and the experience will not be forgotten! From the spectacular scenery to the expertise of our guides Dave Brown, Andres Gonzales and Adam Ruchard, it was a fantastic day. The next two days were spent fishing with nymphs and dry flies on the Elk River in Fernie. It was an incredible experience! Dave Brown and his guides were incredibly knowledgable and patient with those new to the sport o fly fishing. We had a great time and will definitely be back to fish with Dave Brown outfitters for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes