Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Primland, VA

Primland is a 12,000 acre resort located in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, approximately 30 minutes east of Interstate 77. Primland has been an Orvis endorsed wingshooting lodge since 1990. Guided hunts are available 7 days a week from September through April and can be experienced with your own gun and dog or ours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.855 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
59 of 62(95%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primland, VA
Review 1 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic trip,
May 26, 2015
By: BigR
from GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide and an all around good guy.
"Earlier this month I had the pleasure of going to Primland to turkey hunt as well as enjoy many of the other activities the lodge offers. Everything was first class from the staff to the lodging to the food. We had the perfect weekend and I killed two great birds, each with around 1.5" Spurs. This is the 2nd year I've gone to turkey hunt as well as do a couples weekend and I think it may become an annual trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turkey and Rain,
April 21, 2015
By: TimDale22
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Overall a great experience although it rained quite a bit. Guides were great and got us shots even with tough conditions.Area is just beautiful and perfect for wild turkey."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Turkey Hunt at Primland,
April 20, 2015
By: GrantGColeman
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All 3 guides were really nice and worked hard for us.
"My friends and I came up to turkey hunt on the 2nd weekend of the season (opening day was the previous Saturday). Overall the hunts were fun, but in 2 days of hunting and 6 hunts between the three of us, we never fired a shot. Our guides were really nice, but they even admitted that the Primland property was over-hunted and the birds were really cautious. Very difficult to get the birds to come out, and one guide commented that hunting birds in the wild and not on a frequently-hunted preserve is easier.
Communication prior to the hunt could have been better--we had to call ourselves to get info on where to go, license requirements, when/where to meet our guides, etc. It would have been nice to have gotten a courtesy call a week ahead of time or so to confirm details, go over the plan, etc.
Overall a fun hunt with really nice guides, but could have been better organized. If I do go back, I'll go on opening day to have a better chance at bagging a bird.
The food at the Inn was fantastic. Might have been the best part of the whole trip!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Response from Orvis:By Orvis-Endorsed Wingshooting OperationsApril 29, 2015
The Orvis Company does not endorse turkey hunts even at those destinations that hold a Wingshooting Lodge Endorsement. We therefore are not in a position to comment on the quality of the turkey hunt or the turkey hunting resource at Primland. Orvis can, however, speak to the quality of dining, lodging, and hospitality at Primland, and we are glad that these facets of your experience were positive. Shortcomings regarding pre-trip communication have been attended to, and we have complete confidence that future communications with Primland will be thorough and prompt.

Carl McDaniel, Hunting and Outdoor Activities Supervisor at Primland, Ltd., has provided the following response to this review:

"I regret the organizational issues and lack of success on your Spring Gobbler Hunt April 17-18 of this season. Hunting a wild resource like the eastern wild turkey, even with an excellent guide staff, does not always offer assured opportunity. Weather plays an important part in spring gobbler hunting, regarding the overall experience and behavior of the birds. While conditions like temperature and precipitation are beyond our control, the lack of organization that your party experienced is not. We apologize for the issues that you experienced this trip and we promise to ensure more informed staff and better communication of schedule and itinerary for future visits. Licensing can be inconvenient for folks arriving late in the evening prior to their hunt, so for future visits we plan to offer advance forms to collect information so that less will be required from guests upon check-in. We thank you for your feedback and hope to serve you better upon subsequent visits."
Review 4 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hunting trip,
April 15, 2015
By: BenIIIGrayson
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I took my two boys who are 10 and 8 for a morning pheasant hunt. Carlton, our guide, was exceptional. The dogs were working well and we had a great hunt. I could have not asked for a better experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PHEASANT SLAUGHTER,
March 13, 2015
By: FUNNYBUNNY25
from Meadows of Dan, Blue Ridge, VA 24120, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Great time hunting at Primland. Every one is very knowledgeable and enjoyable to be around. They have great areas to hunt and will take you around to different areas to shoot. We got our limit in just a couple hours and wanted more. The birds flew well and drop from the sky just as well, when they felt the sting of my Browning and my customers Benelli. They treat you like their own family, as long as you and your family members are on speaking terms. Been there 3 times already and looking forward to more hunts in the near future. Five Stars!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bird hunting experience ever ;),
March 2, 2015
By: osvolant
from Oak Ridge, TN, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Also our first time ever hunting birds- in this case pheasant and chukkar. While I have hunted 4-footed game, I am new to wingshooting. My son and I did this to celebrate his 21st birthday. Our guide Marcus was excellent and we shot our limit with his and his dogs' help. We also shot a round of sporting clays the day before."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hunting with Jimmy,
March 2, 2015
By: Swink
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is our second hunt at Primland with Jimmy and the experience and the guide never fail to disappoint.
We saw/hunted mostly wild bird which proved a challenge and tested dogs and hunters alike.
We will be back again soon to hunt Primland with Jimmy"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First European Hunt,
January 26, 2015
By: aclcml
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"After extensive research on driven hunts, we decided to experiment with a European hunt because the way Carl McDaniel runs his European hunts seems very similar to a true driven hunt. This proved to be accurate. The pheasants were very tall and the venues exceptional. This experience would rival anything you might see on a fine UK hunting estate. We were very impressed that Carl McDaniel and his senior staff had spent six months on Primland's five thousand acre sister estate in the UK to study the intracacies of both fine driven and European hunts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Primland Experience,
January 26, 2015
By: JStro
from Moneta, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Rusty and his dogs made our hunt enjoyable and successful beyond our wildest expectations
"This was our first family visit to Primland. Primland is truly a world class resort. The facilities and service are entirely first class. We stayed in a mountain cabin which provided a comfortable and casual atmosphere in which my family could relax and entertain ourselves. The women got pampered in the spa while the men enjoyed a guided, half-day pheasant hunt. We were all novice hunters, but our knowledgable guide and well trained dogs ensured that we bagged our limit of pheasant which was filleted and packed in individual coolers for our transport home. We dined on pheasant our first night home and it was delicious. Our weekend was an unforgettable experience which we plan to repeat on at least an annual basis."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pheasant Hunting in the South,
January 17, 2015
By: JADBirdHunter
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Hunting at Primland in Virginia is a great unpland hunting location. The terrain is hilly and beautiful and the birds, being early released fly much like wild birds. I can't think of a better place in the South to hunt pheasants! It should be mentioned that the lodge accomodations, the service of the staff, and the food are all 5-star!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Operation,
December 31, 2014
By: AVirginian
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"The hunting operation at Primland was nicely run. The property is beautiful and the staff professional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW!,
December 20, 2014
By: Brassgrill
from Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Hunting behind dogs with a guide was great, birds flew well, a couple a little well and it was overall a great hunt. I was a guest on a driven hunt last month which was a truly unbelievable experience and made me want to return, glad I did !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven on Earth,
December 11, 2014
By: RBSLICKDOG
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Great dogs!
"This is the 4th time our "group" has been to Primland and it is hard to say in words without being overly descriptive how wonderful this place truly is. In fact, writing this review makes me a little nervous because for selfish reasons I want this place to remain a well kept secret. However, if in writing this review I can encourage others to enjoy a slice of Heaven on earth then please continue reading. As you approach the gated entrance to the property you immediately get the feeling that you are "not in Kansas" anymore, but some place maybe a little bit better than home. Heck - a lot better than home!! The drive from the gate to the main lodge is long and winding, but it gives you just enough time to release all the stress you may have from voice mail, e-mail, customers, spreadsheets, reports and anything else that you may have on your mind that needs erasing for a few days. You will encounter a variety of wildlife on your way up the mountain; deer, wild turkey, pheasant, chucker and maybe even a bear. Upon arrival you will be greeted and checked in by your name just like at Grandma's house. I am not going to go into details about the lobby, grounds or the rooms because there is no need to (if you're disappointed then you've been a spoiled brat all your life). Just know that you are in for the most fun and relaxing time (if your and outdoor person)that any resort can make possible to you. Our group had 2 planned activities which included and upland pheasant hunt and an ATV tour of the property. The ladies enjoyed the spa services and came out glowing like they had just been given an engagement ring from Frank Sinatra. Our hunting guides for the pheasant shoot, Michael, Sammy and Jimmy were positively excellent! Their dogs worked very hard in the field stirring up the birds and never missed a beat on point, and that is no bull. Needless to say we had our limit in a relatively short time thanks to them. The ATV ride is really a lot of fun and I recommend it to anyone who wants to hit the gas and go! In 2-1/2 hours I believe we covered all 12,000 acres of the property. The scenery from the stopping points along the trails was NATGEO worthy. This is a must do for a good break between hunts! The restaurants offer everything from fine dining (excellent wine selection) to kick-butt bar food. I guarantee everything will be served with a friendly smile too! I could go on writing about this place all day but I will leave all who are reading this review with this: "when I die and go to heaven I hope it's just like this place." Those are the words I spoke to my father when we stopped on top of the mountain on our ATV with the early morning fog lifting up from the valleys with the sun just above the tops of the mountains. YOU HAVE TO GO TO THIS PLACE - we are regulars for life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Pheasant Hunt Ever,
December 2, 2014
By: PeterECBtowns
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"My Husband is an Avid hunter in Louisiana and has hunted around the world. This was my first hunt with him and it was not only his favorite hunt , but it was an eye opener for me. I loved every second of it and half way through we decided that we can't wait to return ASAP."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First hunting trip,
November 30, 2014
By: Michele28
from McLean, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:He was patient and good teacher for first time hunters. Dogs were awesome!!
"This was my 11 year old's first shooting and hunting trip. It was a wonderful experience. We will be back (and hopefully practice our shooting in the meantime). Everyone was professional, enthusiastic and supportive (of the beginners). We loved out ATV, shooting and hunt experiences. My 11 year old is hooked on hunting. Thank you!!."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
November 23, 2014
By: JWJEasternshore
from Parksley, VA 23421, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Marcus was a knowledgable guide. He explained what the plan was in great detail. We knew exactly what to expect.
"Took friends hunting and it exceeded every expectation.
Great guide, great dogs, plenty of birds, wonderful facility on five stand and other games.
Looking forward to returning."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazing clay course,
November 23, 2014
By: RSR1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We went to Primland for our honeymoon and did the beginners package for clay shooting. It was incredibly fun. Carl took us out for over 2 hours and let us try all different courses. We loved every second!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sporting clays and hunting trip,
November 18, 2014
By: tily
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"We were at primland for a pheasant hunt on Saturday and sporting clays on Friday
as usual staff was very prompt when we got there and getting us going.
sporting clays course one of the best I have ever been on and I am in the hunting and shooting industry.
the pheasant hunt was great with hundreds of birds seen and limits reached.two of my friends are veterans of many trips to s.dakota and they stated they would be making more trips to primland.
staff is the best I have ever had the priviledge of hunting and shooting with
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Upland Experience,
November 13, 2014
By: jsdkms
from PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Recently spent 3 days at Primland and hunted birds all 3 days! It was about as close to wild bird shooting as you will see anywhere. Great quantity of birds and they flushed great. Great dogs and guides! Would recommend !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Primland, VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hunt, dogs were great and guide was friendly,
November 10, 2014
By: Jacklyn
from NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Below average
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Jimmy is great
"Hunt was great, even with the rain. Jimmy our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly and he took concern that we were seeing the amount of birds we needed to see. Food plots were really high and hindered visibility a little but we were early in the year and it will be lower after the first frost."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes