Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pine Hill Plantation, GA

Vintage Georgia Quail Hunting...Timeless Southern StyleIf you are a discerning upland bird hunter who wants a truly authentic plantation-style quail hunt and who enjoys the finer things in life...then we are confident that Pine Hill Plantation is the hunting lodge for you.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 of 17(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Review 1 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinehill palntation trip,
April 4, 2014
By: hrtfixer
from oak ridge tn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"my wife and i visited pinehill in february and were treated to an exceptional wing shooting experience.Spectacular quail habitat,gracious hosts,fine accomodations and staff. we are already planning a return trip.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great respect for tradition,
April 1, 2014
By: smithjeff53
from Castalia, Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"My wife and I visited Pine Hill Plantation over Valentine's Day weekend, 2014. The Coe's were perfect hosts and the staff in our lodge attended to our every wish. A "traditional" quail hunt was on my bucket list and I couldn't have found a better place for checking it off. This is not a put and take operation; it so obvious that they manage the habitat and the hunting pressure to ensure a great hunting experience. The mules, dogs and horses were top notch and the hunting staff were friendly, professional and very safety conscious. The food was fabulous and the accommodations luxurious. My wife did not shoot but enjoyed riding the hunt wagon one day and exploring south Georgia on the other days. Probably one of my favorite features: no internal combustion engines were involved."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
March 26, 2014
By: ckelliott
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"My husband and I visited Pine Hill in late February. We had such a great trip and would definitely do it again and again! The staff goes above and beyond - my husband enjoyed the hunt and I enjoyed riding horseback and watching the dogs work. Doug and Jackie are gracious hosts and their staff is amazing! Thank you so much for everything!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A trip back in time,
February 22, 2014
By: Ken0315
from Talladega, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"To the whole crew, but especially Steven, JR, Sharlene and Marci, thank you. I cannot express in words how much fun we had. Even though I shot like a rookie, it was a trip back in time for me. So many memories of so many great people, dogs, horses, land and covey rises flooded back inside my mind.
I began Quail hunting with my father before I was big enough to carry a gun. I have a picture of my father and me on a horse at a field trial at Sedgefield Plantation when I was less than a year old. I am fairly certain I did not ride the brace but it is a constant reminder of my father and my heritage. I lost him when I was 13, but he rides with me every day.
There are stories in my family of quail hunting dating back to the turn of the century and I'm not referring to the one we lived through. My grandfather and his sons hunted Quail in the winter and would ship them by train to the Elite Cafe in Montgomery, which at the time and even into my early life was the premier restaurant in Montgomery. They tell a story of my Uncle Joe's return from World War I. No one knew when he was to arrive, but "his" bird dog jumped up off the porch and ran down the road to meet him as he walked the 3 miles from the train station home. When the Great Depression hit, my grandmother left home, moved to Auburn and ran a boarding house so one of my other uncles and my father could stay in school. My grandfather stayed on the farm and shipped food, including Quail in the winter, to Auburn to feed the boys. So the link to Auburn is long and strong with me. A big War Eagle to Steven!
Again, thank you for a wonderful time. Keep doing what y'all are doing. You are keeping alive a part of the South that is at the heart of our culture and what makes us unique and strong."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting,
February 9, 2014
By: Aiken
from Memphis, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Jackie and Doug,
Everything was excellent. If I had scripted every minute, it could not have been any better. Having my son's in laws and their fathers together was priceless and we thoroughly enjoyed everything from the trap shooting, the food, the accommodations the meals, and the excellent hunting. We will definitely be coming back. It was beyond perfect."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceptional,
January 17, 2014
By: rput
from Georgia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Jackie, Doug, and the staff at PH are unparalleled at first class service. The customer always comes first. Food and bird hunting have brought us back 3 years in a row, and next year will be 4!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Southern hospitality, quail hunting at it's best,
November 21, 2013
By: wdsmn
from Spring, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"This was an excellent hunt. The accommodations, service, meals, and beverages were all first class. The rooms and the main house were very comfortable, and the staff made you feel right at home. The guides were no nonsense, safety conscious, knowledgeable, and enjoyable to hunt with. All the animals were well trained, the dogs were excellent. Enjoyed the whole experience. Would not hesitate to recommend this hunt or to go back for more southern hospitality
.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second time, just as outstanding as the first,
November 15, 2013
By: MrJoe
from Garden City, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I visited PHP last year with business associates and was so impressed that before I left I booked the trip for this year to share with my sons. Visited Veterans weekend and once again PHP exceeded all my expectations. I could go on and on about the hunting, accommodations lodging and food, all of which were excellent, but that would take away from what really makes PHP special--its the people. Bravo PHP, can't wait till next year. My 12 and 21 year old sons can't stop talking about the trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
south georgia shooting- 5 star,
November 6, 2013
By: qualityquail
from Nashville, TN, USA
"as you approach this beautiful planatation home, you know you are about to be in for a wonderful experience. the staff greet you, your rooms are very nice and immediately you begin the tranformation. Georgia's FInest Quail Hunting experience. Horses meet you in the morning with the mule drawn carriage. the dogs are sounding their excitment, the professional guides led you through the woods. soon a point, slowly walk up then BANG ! you will cover over 200 acres a day and it will seem like nothing. enjoy a fabulous lunch in the woods, lay in a hammock and back out there for the afternoon march. I cannot explain how awesome it is. the evening meals and beverages are delighful. these folks know how to do it, what you want, and glad you are here. I will be back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super good time,
February 2, 2013
By: Harry1234
from Springfield, GA 31329, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Great accomadations, super service coupled with an exciting hunt. All advid hunters need to try this experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hunting la,
February 2, 2013
By: Golf123
from Clyo, Ga
"Been a number of times but has been the best. Looking forward to a good many more trips."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of the Best,
December 9, 2012
By: MrJoe
from Garden City, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I just got back from a two day hunt at PHP and it surpassed my every expectation. I learned that the reason this hunting vacation is so hard to duplicate is because everything Doug, Jackie and the staff do is from the heart. I have always been impressed by southern hospitality and the staff at PHP has reset the bar. I can not wait to go back next year with my son."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even Better,
March 31, 2012
By: RickP
from South Georgia
"Even better than I hoped, the night's stay and all-day hunt was a special treat for my 3 sons and me in March. Simple food very well prepared and gracious hosts, Jackie and Doug went above and beyond. The boys loved hunting on horseback, while I enjoyed the wagon and the conversation with the driver. We'll be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ingredients for the Perfect Quail Hunt,
February 14, 2012
By: RattlesnakeMan
from Hartland, WI
"I've been blessed to have made well over 100 upland bird hunts in many places in North America. The common denominators for me are like the ingredients of a fine wine. In Quail Hunting these are:
1) It starts with the Ownerships philosophy, at the top, and carries through every facet of your experience.
2) Tradition - quail hunting is a Lady and Gentlemen sport - style.
3) Respect for the Species - not over hunting the covey, enjoying how the dogs work, and the constant habitat improvement process.
4) Finally, it's the People - words like service, camaraderie, respect, helpfulness, willingness, caring, careful and finally, Genuine Southern Charm.
If this is what you want and don't go to Pine Hill Plantation, there will be a void in your life.
Thank you Pine Hill Plantation
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A whole new level of quail hunting,
February 11, 2012
By: Pilgy
from Hartland Wisconsin
"I wrote this review in the early am of the final morning of our three day hunt here at the Orvis endorsed Pine Hill Plantation. I am here with six clients and business associates that have all come to be awesome friends thanks in part to our experience here at Pine Hill Plantation. For most of us, it is out fifth consecutive annual trip and all of us look forward to this outing above all others. The traditional horseback wing shooting experience at Pine Hill Plantation simply cannot be beat. From the moment you arrive, the accommodations in either the "Covey" or "Manor" (I have stayed at both), will welcome you and slip you into a comfort zone like no other lodge. From the owners, Doug and Jackie Coe, to Hilton the wagon driver and everyone in between, guests immediately feel at home and experience a level of service some would think is a once in a lifetime experience. When I depart each year, I wonder how you can top this place and somehow the following year, they find a way to improve upon the things that keep us coming back. The quail have been plentiful and covey's explosive, thanks in large part to Todd (Hunt Master) and his crew who have obviously done a lot to manage the game and cover.
I give Pine Hill 5 starts because I am limited to only 5 stars and recommend this place above all others."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Outstanding Experience,
February 9, 2012
By: Johnny6992
from Pasadena, CA
"It was my second trip to Pine Hill, but it will not be my last! This is a perfect place for good friends, especially those who don't see each other often, to gather for wonderful hospitality and exceptional hunting. Our party (4) had its own lodge, and the outstanding staff cooked, served, and cleaned up after three delicious meals a day...and then left us alone to drink Scotch and tell lies.
The birds were plentiful and hard-flying. I think some of them may have worn Kevlar, however. You may follow the dogs on horseback or mule-wagon. I've done each and recommend both.
Altogether, Pine Hill Plantation is a destination that I would recommend without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Pine Hill Plantation, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great place,
January 30, 2012
By: auburn1990
from Fairhope, Al.
"I recently went to pine hill plantation with my family for three days of quail hunting. My main love is deer hunting, but I do love shooting birds. This place was top notch from the time we pulled into the driveway and were greeted by the staff, and our bags were taken and put in our rooms. The staff treated us like family and with all trips there you have your own private lodge, where you are fed and enjoy some evening cocktails. The bird hunting was fantastic, we bumped a couple of coveys that were not less than 40 birds and on avaerage we shot over 17-20 coveys a day. They are a mix of early release and wild birds so tighten your chin strap when they fly, they are fast. This place is over the top great, we have already booked for next year and can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes