Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Highland Hills Ranch, OR

Highland Hills Ranch was the recipient of the prestigious 2012-2013 Orvis Wingshooting Lodge of the Year. We are one of only two Orvis-Endorsed wingshooting lodges in North America that has received this award twice, demonstrating our continued commitment to providing our guests with exceptional wingshooting, service and hospitality. Four species of upland birds. 5-star lodging. 1 spectacular ranch. Add it all up and you have the Highland Hills Ranch "Grand Slam of Wingshooting."
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
120 of 121(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Review 1 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great hunt,
October 11, 2012
By: RickM
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Fabulous dogs.
"This year marked my 10 visit to HHR. It has become my favorite hunt of the year and has been excellent in every dimension. Great facilities and fields, guides, dogs, cuisine and accommodations enhance the experience. Orvis and Beretta both think so as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top shelf lodge!,
March 15, 2012
By: Dmp2012
from Sacramento, CA
"Just returned from a 2 day hunt at this stunning lodge. The setting in the hills of northern Oregon near the Columbia gorge is drop dead gorgeous. The land was planted with Milo, wheat, and cherry orchards which are aesthetically pleasing and are a perfect habitate for the birds. Pheasant, chukker, quail and partridge were more plentiful then I have ever seen. Lots of good hunting. Our guide, Tyla, was remarkable in her handling of the dogs which were perfectly trained. Each meal each day was 5 star as was the service and hospitality of the mcnabs. We had the most relaxed and congenial dinner conversations. Truly a great American experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience,
December 12, 2014
By: FGDR
from Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A group of us just finished our first time at Highland Hills Ranch. The ranch is exceptional. The staff are excellent and provide wonderful customer service. oriented, and the food was fantastic. I cannot wait to come back again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A True Five Star,
December 11, 2014
By: MWSmith
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Traveled, hunted and fished all over world. I grade on four factors: hunting/fishing results, food, facilities & overall service.
HHR hit a home run on all four. Never seen a better run operation.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Great Experience,
December 9, 2014
By: larryalexander3
from McKinney, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guide
"Everything about HHR is truly amazing. The Lodge is welcoming and comfortable. The food is hard to describe - but lets just say it is amazing. The guides and dogs are at the top of their game and makes the hunt a pure pleasure. And there is a lot of birds!! Staff is superb - you can not go wrong with a visit to HHR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth every penny and then some,
December 9, 2014
By: takedown
from Rescue, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Our guide was young but had great knowkedge and great respect for his dogs
"I had not been bird hunting in many years and what a great surprise to find this GEM. The experience was first class in all areas. Birds galore, wonderful hosts , Five star meals, great guides and dogs and a gorgeous lodge. Make sure you put this on your hunting bucket list."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat Performance,
December 9, 2014
By: streets
from Alabama, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"A group of us just finished our second trip to Highland Hills Ranch. This second trip was scheduled before we even left from our first trip and now we have already set the dates for our third consecutive year! Yes, this place is that good. The owners are there everyday and involved to insure all goes well, the staff is friendly and customer oriented, and the food is truly superb. A Highland Hills slam was accomplished by several in the group which is made up of a pheasant, quail, hungarian partridge, and chukar. Beautiful setting and guides that put you on the many birds makes for a memorable experience every year. This is the best operation available for those looking for a first class hunt."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Hunting Experience,
December 8, 2014
By: Zcech
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Our group all had a fabulous experience at Highland Hills! The hunting, accommodations and meals were all first class. Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to go back,
December 6, 2014
By: chrisco
from Denver, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Tim is the best guide I have had on any trip and I look forward to hunting with him again.
"I’ve had the pleasure of hunting at HHR 3 times and every time my expectations are exceed (just booked two more trips back). There’s nothing better than having great hosts, out of this world food, and fantastic hunting with the best guides and dogs in the industry. Dennis and Mindi's team go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful lodge experience while their guides make sure your hunts are ones to brag about at the lodge and when you get home. I have been guided by Tim and Melissa, both of which I would ask for in the future. Other friends on my trips have been with Jason and other guides, and I have never heard a negative thing about a guide or their dogs. Keith cooks such great food that I have requested recipes for most of his items. Outside of the hunting and the food, the quite time in the morning enjoying the amazing views with a cup of coffee and the time around the fire pit after dinner are some of my favorites. It’s truly a break from work and both have allowed me to dream about bringing my son here once he’s old enough. I look forward to my future trips and if you go you will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely the Best,
December 5, 2014
By: Gorillahunter
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Don and his dogs were great. I would love to hunt with them anytime. They have an open invite to hunt in Kansas.
"I have been to many hunting lodges and Highland Hills Ranch was absolutely the best. Everything about it was first class, no world class and I would highly recommend a visit. I intend to go back any time I can. Thanks Highland Hills Ranch for an unbelievable time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
December 5, 2014
By: Quickdraw1
"A great experience 5 star all the way food hunt lodge everything. Going back next year it was so great."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winning Combination,
December 5, 2014
By: Winglet
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Affable and knowledgable owners, combined with impeccable facilities, game variety, staff, guides and dogs,
make for the best bird shooting getaway in the lower 48 !
Lots of choices in Orvis upland field attire to choose from as well in their shop...all around a First Class experience fir couples or Solo.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing Finer,
December 4, 2014
By: wingnutMB
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"We recently returned from our second annual 3 day hunt at HHR. We certain the quality of our inaugural visit could not be exceeded, but the bar was again raised. Every aspect of the HHR experience, the lodge, the food, the grounds, the guides, the dogs and of course the birds is five star. Proprietors Dennis and Mindi are wonderful hosts and we have truly enjoyed forging new friendships with our guests. We will look no further for a destination for our annual trek west for wingshooting."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Place to Behold,
December 4, 2014
By: RSchaffer
from Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"What an enjoyable experience!
Most of us fish and hunt to be outdoors with friends. Dennis Mindy and the staff are immediately your friends - helpful and gracious from our first contact. This idyllic setting is one not to be missed.
But then there are the bird!
Four species! Prevalent and wild!
The guides and their dogs are excellent. The dogs are a treat to watch work. Max the lodge dog is the hardest worker of all - meets each guest with a lick and promise tomorrow will be great. The breakfast, lunch and dinner are delicious and unique. Did I mention the birds - wild and plentiful. Max will help you bring them home.
You must see this beautiful rolling country and the paradise the Macnab's have created."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another incredible experience,
December 3, 2014
By: JayGrin
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Tim is the best guide I've ever hunted with and his dogs were fabulous.
"Our group's recent trip to HHR exceeded our already lofty expectations. Everything was first rate: the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and guides; the amazing food; the comfort of the lodge; and, of course, the fantastic wing-shooting over some of the finest hunting dogs anywhere!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Wingshooting trip,
December 3, 2014
By: BiBi719
from Eagle, Idaho
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Nice lady that knows what she is doing.
"This was my second opportunity to stay at HHR. It was wonderful. Great guides, great dogs, great hosts and an overall excellent experience. The lodge is gorgeous and the food was outstanding. I was with a very good group of people and had a wonderful time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HHR is the Best!,
December 3, 2014
By: JJBird
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding guide!!
"None finer than HHR in every respect: staff, guides, dogs, birds, lodge, gourmet food, safety. We come back every year and don't even look elsewhere. Five stars!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a Lifetime,
November 14, 2014
By: bigbadamx
from Alamo, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Excellent All Around Guide
"I am an experienced wing shooter and take regular annual trips to SoDak pheasant ranches, Georgia quail plantations, once in a while Canada goose hunting in Texas, and bi-annual trips to Argentina for massive dove hunting near Cordoba. In short, I've been around and not new to the rodeo.
Highland Hills Ranch gets my vote as the best commercially-run wing shooting ranch in North America. Worth every Beretta Trident it has been awarded.
Unlimited quota of 5 different species of upland fowl (pheasant, chukar, valley quail, Hungarian partridge, red-legged partridge, and when in season, mourning dove); 5-star accommodations, great guides and dogs, and friendly and helpful owners and staff. Enjoyment and safe shooting is the goal. HHR is able to sustain unlimited shooting of game because it is located in a mild winter climate and seasonal bird mortality is not a factor. Birds are wild, abundant, and well-fed; grain and grass crops are not harvested; grown only to feed the birds).
It is expensive, compared to other top end shooting resorts. Worth every dollar you spend, though. Can't wait to return. A "bucket list" adventure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Fun,
November 12, 2014
By: JasonE
from Texas
"Three brothers and dad had a fabulous experience at Highland Hills Ranch. When researching places to hunt, we were looking for easy travel, lots of shooting and 5 star accommodations. BAM! Nailed it! Enjoyed Portland for a day then took scenic Columbia River drive to the ranch. Hunted morning and evenings for 3 days straight and never hunted the same area twice. The ranch was spectacular, the staff/chef/guide were off the chart, the house was gorgeous, birds were plentiful and the meals were divine. Yes, I will go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hunting trip you always dreamed about.,
November 6, 2014
By: philhanson
from Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I had the opportunity to go to Highland Hills Ranch near The Dalles in Oregon a week ago for a three-night stay. I had heard about this place, but wasn’t sure what to expect. I have hunted in South Dakota several times, but mostly have fond memories of growing up in Eastern Washington and going hunting with my cousins on weekends and after school. If there was ever a place that could take you back to the simple joys of hiking through the hills with a dog or two as a boy, this is it. Pristine countryside, dogs that take your breath away they are so good and great camaraderie was the essence of the trip. Guide Travis handles all the details with expertise and humor. The folks at the Lodge are as skilled professionals as you would find anywhere. The ambiance of the lodge could conjure up stories about big game hunters of long ago. Big wooden beams, trophies on the walls, a scotch before dinner, then a great meal served to guests in the dining room. Chef Keith is a talented and creative cook who enjoys his job and the people he gets to meet. Everyone is friendly and attentive. It’s sort of like Cheers where “everyone knows your name’. Although it is not inexpensive, I can attest that this is a place where you get absolute value for your dollar. Whether it is a once in a lifetime trip, or annual event, I would encourage anyone to consider Highland Hills Ranch. In this world, there aren’t many ways to go back in time, but this is one way for certain."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes