Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Highland Hills Ranch, OR

Highland Hills Ranch was the recipient of the prestigious 2012-2013 Orvis Wingshooting Lodge of the Year. We are one of only two Orvis-Endorsed wingshooting lodges in North America that has received this award twice, demonstrating our continued commitment to providing our guests with exceptional wingshooting, service and hospitality. Four species of upland birds. 5-star lodging. 1 spectacular ranch. Add it all up and you have the Highland Hills Ranch "Grand Slam of Wingshooting."
Average Customer Rating:
4.962 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
5 stars
103
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
105 of 106(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Review 1 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great hunt,
October 11, 2012
By: RickM
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Fabulous dogs.
"This year marked my 10 visit to HHR. It has become my favorite hunt of the year and has been excellent in every dimension. Great facilities and fields, guides, dogs, cuisine and accommodations enhance the experience. Orvis and Beretta both think so as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top shelf lodge!,
March 15, 2012
By: Dmp2012
from Sacramento, CA
"Just returned from a 2 day hunt at this stunning lodge. The setting in the hills of northern Oregon near the Columbia gorge is drop dead gorgeous. The land was planted with Milo, wheat, and cherry orchards which are aesthetically pleasing and are a perfect habitate for the birds. Pheasant, chukker, quail and partridge were more plentiful then I have ever seen. Lots of good hunting. Our guide, Tyla, was remarkable in her handling of the dogs which were perfectly trained. Each meal each day was 5 star as was the service and hospitality of the mcnabs. We had the most relaxed and congenial dinner conversations. Truly a great American experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a Lifetime,
November 14, 2014
By: bigbadamx
from Alamo, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Excellent All Around Guide
"I am an experienced wing shooter and take regular annual trips to SoDak pheasant ranches, Georgia quail plantations, once in a while Canada goose hunting in Texas, and bi-annual trips to Argentina for massive dove hunting near Cordoba. In short, I've been around and not new to the rodeo.
Highland Hills Ranch gets my vote as the best commercially-run wing shooting ranch in North America. Worth every Beretta Trident it has been awarded.
Unlimited quota of 5 different species of upland fowl (pheasant, chukar, valley quail, Hungarian partridge, red-legged partridge, and when in season, mourning dove); 5-star accommodations, great guides and dogs, and friendly and helpful owners and staff. Enjoyment and safe shooting is the goal. HHR is able to sustain unlimited shooting of game because it is located in a mild winter climate and seasonal bird mortality is not a factor. Birds are wild, abundant, and well-fed; grain and grass crops are not harvested; grown only to feed the birds).
It is expensive, compared to other top end shooting resorts. Worth every dollar you spend, though. Can't wait to return. A "bucket list" adventure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Fun,
November 12, 2014
By: JasonE
from Texas
"Three brothers and dad had a fabulous experience at Highland Hills Ranch. When researching places to hunt, we were looking for easy travel, lots of shooting and 5 star accommodations. BAM! Nailed it! Enjoyed Portland for a day then took scenic Columbia River drive to the ranch. Hunted morning and evenings for 3 days straight and never hunted the same area twice. The ranch was spectacular, the staff/chef/guide were off the chart, the house was gorgeous, birds were plentiful and the meals were divine. Yes, I will go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hunting trip you always dreamed about.,
November 6, 2014
By: philhanson
from Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I had the opportunity to go to Highland Hills Ranch near The Dalles in Oregon a week ago for a three-night stay. I had heard about this place, but wasn’t sure what to expect. I have hunted in South Dakota several times, but mostly have fond memories of growing up in Eastern Washington and going hunting with my cousins on weekends and after school. If there was ever a place that could take you back to the simple joys of hiking through the hills with a dog or two as a boy, this is it. Pristine countryside, dogs that take your breath away they are so good and great camaraderie was the essence of the trip. Guide Travis handles all the details with expertise and humor. The folks at the Lodge are as skilled professionals as you would find anywhere. The ambiance of the lodge could conjure up stories about big game hunters of long ago. Big wooden beams, trophies on the walls, a scotch before dinner, then a great meal served to guests in the dining room. Chef Keith is a talented and creative cook who enjoys his job and the people he gets to meet. Everyone is friendly and attentive. It’s sort of like Cheers where “everyone knows your name’. Although it is not inexpensive, I can attest that this is a place where you get absolute value for your dollar. Whether it is a once in a lifetime trip, or annual event, I would encourage anyone to consider Highland Hills Ranch. In this world, there aren’t many ways to go back in time, but this is one way for certain."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional overall wing shooting experience!,
November 6, 2014
By: RonMiller
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"An amazing property, run by customer focused owners, staff, and guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highland Hills,
November 3, 2014
By: Brianking
from Idaho
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic
"Beautiful lodge in beautiful country"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awsome Trip-Hunt,
November 2, 2014
By: dixtr
from Seaside,CA
"Dennis and Mindy are the greatest hosts one could ask for and Keith is a Blue Ribbon Chef also all around nice guy. Shelly and April were Johnny on the spot for all things needed.
Can't wait for our next trip.
Thanks again,
Dick
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just had my second hunt at Highland Hills,
October 30, 2014
By: Skeeter65
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Tim's dogs are superb. Any true bird hunter would really enjoy working with Tim and his dogs.
"My buddy and I just had our second 3 day hunt at Highland Hills Ranch. This has to be one of the only places in the country where one can hunt bobwhite quail, valley quail, pheasant, chukker, and Hungarian partridge. We found all species and had a great hunt. Everything about Highland Hills is first rate....the staff, accommodations, food, and the guides and their dogs. The entire experience is really excellent. We have already booked our third 3 day hunt for next October."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Hunting Experience,
October 29, 2014
By: FloridaHunterFisher1984
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Joe Parce was first class, tailoring the hunts to the needs of our party (61 yr-old dad, two sons in their 20s). Friendly, helpful, and
"Highland Hills provided the best hunting experience anybody in our party had ever had. At first pass, the staff is friendly, helpful, prompt, and gracious. At arrival, the ranch itself is beautiful, nestled in a valley, surrounded by game birds and deer. The in-house chef is fantastic, serving three-course meals morning, noon, and night. The lodging is rustic and elegant. The owner creates such a family atmosphere, dining with his guests, that almost everybody at the lodge that week rebooked for the same time next year, in order to hunt together again, and I stay in touch with several of the staff members throughout the year. Finally, the birds, guides, and dogs are first class. Plenty of shooting action, well-trained dogs, and our guide went beyond the extra mile to provide a good experience. I cannot recommend HHR enough."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgettable,
October 23, 2014
By: PDial
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Amazing guy, great dogs, loves his job
"Highland Hills provided a hunting experience I will never forget. Great bird hunting in some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever experienced, world class team, great food. Thanks guys."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Hunting Experience,
October 22, 2014
By: southpawshooter
from Northern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Enthusiastic, hard working young man!
"I had been having the itch to hunt upland birds like pheasant and chukar like I used to do years ago with the same quality of shooting you only get from wild birds. I had seen Highland Hills Ranch ads in the various sportsmen's magazines over the past few years and took note of the double endorsement from both Beretta and Orvis, a feat not too many lodges in the US can lay claim to. So I called and talked to Mindi, who owns the ranch with her husband Dennis Macnab, I told her I would be bringing my non-hunting wife, non hunting only because she would be looking after our then nine month old baby boy. Mindi was more then welcoming and was actually excited as this would be the first baby as a guest since they have been in operation. Well when we finally arrived we were met by a very warm and courteous staff that was more than welcoming - you immediately feel at home and comfortable, which is not hard to do when your surroundings are as beautiful as the main lodge and surrounding grounds are at the HHR. We were then driven down (baby as well)to their excellent sporting clays course which threw some very challenging and quality targets, Dennis, the HHR owner, was with us and could not believe our baby could nap (with ear muffs on) during all the high volume clays shooting we did. We then were brought back to our ultra cozy and tastefully appointed lodge cabin, which we wanted as to not impact any of the other guests, it worked out perfect. All of the meals were delicious and well prepared, we even had a dinner and appetizers with our quarry, I even duplicated the "chucker picata" when I got home - it was that good at the HHR, and my hunting buddies at my duck club gobbled it up! The hunting was also high quality as these birds were all wild, as in they flew hard, low, and fast, held tight, and you had to make a good shot to drop them. Our guide and his dogs were also excellent. It was our guide's first season with the HHR and you would not have known it if he had not said anything. Another plus, the HHR hires top quality people to run the operation. We hope to return next year, this was money well spent, lifetime memories and friends were made at the Highland Hills Ranch!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Exceptional!,
March 31, 2014
By: Reads
from Arlington, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:GREAT guides and dogs! Very professional.
"From start to finish a truly world class experience. Spectacular location and accommodations at the lodge were first class. Warm welcome from Dennis, Mindi, Keith & Christina. Fine food, wine and fellowship surpassed only by the superb wingshooting!
Great guides and dogs and LOTS of birds.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Experience,
March 24, 2014
By: Mountainrover
from Bend, Oregon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Great guides - great dogs
"I have had at the pleasure of hunting at Highland Hills Ranch for the past five years and each trip has been an extraordinary experience. Plenty of birds, experienced and personable guides, great dogs, fabulous food and a staff - led by Dennis and Mindy - that make you feel like part of the family. If you are looking for an incredible hunting experience - go to Highland Hills Ranch. You will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Wing Shooting,
February 25, 2014
By: cleghorn3
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I've been wing shooting since I was four years old and this was one of the highlights of my life. Exceptional hunting, great food, amazing accommodations all done with genuinely, warm service in every way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
February 17, 2014
By: AllenWJan2014
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Just got back from my first driven style pheasant hunt at Highland Hills. It was one the best hunting experiences I have had. Every thing was absolutely first class from the accommodations to the food (great chef)to the shooting. Every need was anticipated and answered with "yes we can"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfectly Presented Pheasants,
January 27, 2014
By: Stanton
"By now everyone knows HHR is among the very best shooting venues in the world. What was great this year was our second visit for a driven shoot. The attention to, customer comfort, sportsmanship and excellence in wingshooting was, once again, unmatched. No need to fly to England for " tall pheasants", shooting tips or five star food and accomodations, they are all at HHR in Oregon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bird Hunt,
December 3, 2013
By: UBill
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Overall accommodations were excellent, good food and hospitality.
Dinner process is well done allowing quests to get to know one another, and staff does very good job in facilitating that dinner table engagement.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
world class+,
November 25, 2013
By: montanaron
from northern nj
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"40 plus years of birds all over this planet and HHR surpased all but one trip and that was 38 years ago. world class all the way"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
November 23, 2013
By: Vnpm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Highland Hills Ranch offers an amazing hunting experience as well as an exceptionally relaxing vacation. The owners, Mindy and Dennis were attentive to every detail of our stay. It is evident that this is not only their business but their passion. The guides were professional, experienced and knowledgeable. Well seasoned hunters and novices were accommodated making for an unforgettable hunt. While Highland Hills Ranch is a beautiful place the people here are what make it a remarkable stay. The accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. Last but most importantly you will not leave hungry. Every meal is carefully planned and served comfortably in the dining room. We are looking forward to returning again next year with our family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes