Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Highland Hills Ranch, OR

Highland Hills Ranch was the recipient of the prestigious 2012-2013 Orvis Wingshooting Lodge of the Year. We are one of only two Orvis-Endorsed wingshooting lodges in North America that has received this award twice, demonstrating our continued commitment to providing our guests with exceptional wingshooting, service and hospitality. Four species of upland birds. 5-star lodging. 1 spectacular ranch. Add it all up and you have the Highland Hills Ranch "Grand Slam of Wingshooting."
Average Customer Rating:
4.959 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
95
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
97 of 98(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Review 1 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great hunt,
October 11, 2012
By: RickM
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Fabulous dogs.
"This year marked my 10 visit to HHR. It has become my favorite hunt of the year and has been excellent in every dimension. Great facilities and fields, guides, dogs, cuisine and accommodations enhance the experience. Orvis and Beretta both think so as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top shelf lodge!,
March 15, 2012
By: Dmp2012
from Sacramento, CA
"Just returned from a 2 day hunt at this stunning lodge. The setting in the hills of northern Oregon near the Columbia gorge is drop dead gorgeous. The land was planted with Milo, wheat, and cherry orchards which are aesthetically pleasing and are a perfect habitate for the birds. Pheasant, chukker, quail and partridge were more plentiful then I have ever seen. Lots of good hunting. Our guide, Tyla, was remarkable in her handling of the dogs which were perfectly trained. Each meal each day was 5 star as was the service and hospitality of the mcnabs. We had the most relaxed and congenial dinner conversations. Truly a great American experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgettable,
October 23, 2014
By: PDial
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Amazing guy, great dogs, loves his job
"Highland Hills provided a hunting experience I will never forget. Great bird hunting in some of the most beautiful scenery I've ever experienced, world class team, great food. Thanks guys."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Hunting Experience,
October 22, 2014
By: southpawshooter
from Northern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Enthusiastic, hard working young man!
"I had been having the itch to hunt upland birds like pheasant and chukar like I used to do years ago with the same quality of shooting you only get from wild birds. I had seen Highland Hills Ranch ads in the various sportsmen's magazines over the past few years and took note of the double endorsement from both Beretta and Orvis, a feat not too many lodges in the US can lay claim to. So I called and talked to Mindi, who owns the ranch with her husband Dennis Macnab, I told her I would be bringing my non-hunting wife, non hunting only because she would be looking after our then nine month old baby boy. Mindi was more then welcoming and was actually excited as this would be the first baby as a guest since they have been in operation. Well when we finally arrived we were met by a very warm and courteous staff that was more than welcoming - you immediately feel at home and comfortable, which is not hard to do when your surroundings are as beautiful as the main lodge and surrounding grounds are at the HHR. We were then driven down (baby as well)to their excellent sporting clays course which threw some very challenging and quality targets, Dennis, the HHR owner, was with us and could not believe our baby could nap (with ear muffs on) during all the high volume clays shooting we did. We then were brought back to our ultra cozy and tastefully appointed lodge cabin, which we wanted as to not impact any of the other guests, it worked out perfect. All of the meals were delicious and well prepared, we even had a dinner and appetizers with our quarry, I even duplicated the "chucker picata" when I got home - it was that good at the HHR, and my hunting buddies at my duck club gobbled it up! The hunting was also high quality as these birds were all wild, as in they flew hard, low, and fast, held tight, and you had to make a good shot to drop them. Our guide and his dogs were also excellent. It was our guide's first season with the HHR and you would not have known it if he had not said anything. Another plus, the HHR hires top quality people to run the operation. We hope to return next year, this was money well spent, lifetime memories and friends were made at the Highland Hills Ranch!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Exceptional!,
March 31, 2014
By: Reads
from Arlington, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:GREAT guides and dogs! Very professional.
"From start to finish a truly world class experience. Spectacular location and accommodations at the lodge were first class. Warm welcome from Dennis, Mindi, Keith & Christina. Fine food, wine and fellowship surpassed only by the superb wingshooting!
Great guides and dogs and LOTS of birds.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Experience,
March 24, 2014
By: Mountainrover
from Bend, Oregon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Great guides - great dogs
"I have had at the pleasure of hunting at Highland Hills Ranch for the past five years and each trip has been an extraordinary experience. Plenty of birds, experienced and personable guides, great dogs, fabulous food and a staff - led by Dennis and Mindy - that make you feel like part of the family. If you are looking for an incredible hunting experience - go to Highland Hills Ranch. You will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Wing Shooting,
February 25, 2014
By: cleghorn3
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I've been wing shooting since I was four years old and this was one of the highlights of my life. Exceptional hunting, great food, amazing accommodations all done with genuinely, warm service in every way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
February 17, 2014
By: AllenWJan2014
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Just got back from my first driven style pheasant hunt at Highland Hills. It was one the best hunting experiences I have had. Every thing was absolutely first class from the accommodations to the food (great chef)to the shooting. Every need was anticipated and answered with "yes we can"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfectly Presented Pheasants,
January 27, 2014
By: Stanton
"By now everyone knows HHR is among the very best shooting venues in the world. What was great this year was our second visit for a driven shoot. The attention to, customer comfort, sportsmanship and excellence in wingshooting was, once again, unmatched. No need to fly to England for " tall pheasants", shooting tips or five star food and accomodations, they are all at HHR in Oregon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bird Hunt,
December 3, 2013
By: UBill
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Overall accommodations were excellent, good food and hospitality.
Dinner process is well done allowing quests to get to know one another, and staff does very good job in facilitating that dinner table engagement.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
world class+,
November 25, 2013
By: montanaron
from northern nj
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"40 plus years of birds all over this planet and HHR surpased all but one trip and that was 38 years ago. world class all the way"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
November 23, 2013
By: Vnpm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Highland Hills Ranch offers an amazing hunting experience as well as an exceptionally relaxing vacation. The owners, Mindy and Dennis were attentive to every detail of our stay. It is evident that this is not only their business but their passion. The guides were professional, experienced and knowledgeable. Well seasoned hunters and novices were accommodated making for an unforgettable hunt. While Highland Hills Ranch is a beautiful place the people here are what make it a remarkable stay. The accommodations are comfortable and relaxing. Last but most importantly you will not leave hungry. Every meal is carefully planned and served comfortably in the dining room. We are looking forward to returning again next year with our family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable Hunting Experience,
November 19, 2013
By: ElliottT
from Orinda, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"From the moment I arrived to the moment of my departure all around world class 5 star experience without a doubt. The owners, the guides, the lodging, the chef*, the dogs, the guns, the birds, the landscape... absolutely incredible.
If you are wanting an experience that will be remembered forever... GO HERE...
I have spent TWO of my birthdays with the HHR Family and I hope to spend many more with them as well..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great hunt at Highland Hills,
November 18, 2013
By: Skeeter65
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"I am going home from a three day hunt at Highlands hills Ranch in Oregon. Without doubt it was one of the best hunts I have experienced anywhere. The terrain is spectacular, the bird habitat perfectly maintained to provide good cover for a large number of birds, and the lodge comfortable and excellent. The guide we had, Tim, had a group of the best trained dogs I have ever worked with. They responded to every situation, pointing and retrieving beautifully. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful, and each meal was memorable. Highland Hills presents an excellent hunt in every way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great hunt,
November 18, 2013
By: grandslamX2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:John knew his business and had great dogs.
"A friend and I had the opportunity to participate in a 2 day " walk-up" hunt for pheasants, quail, chukars, and Huns in Nov 2013. This was without reservation the best upland game shooting I have experienced. The birds were plentiful and flew wild. The terrain is varied with grassy areas, milo and corn fields for food and good cover. The higher elevation areas above the valley make for great chukar and Hun shooting with beautiful views of the surrounding hills.
The lodge is a spectacular building with every amenity. Very comfortable. Meals were served at a large table and the quality of the food was that of a five star hotel.(Thanks, Keith) The staff are very helpful and attentive to every need. Appetizers and drinks in the lower level allow a time for everyone to get to know one another and re-live the day's shooting.
It should be noted that the safety aspect of gun handling is a high priority and was stressed by Dennis in Safety Session prior to shooting.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newby,
November 14, 2013
By: Pulverizer
from Eugene, OR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Excellent operation and venue all the way around from the warm hospitality, food, lodging, guides/dogs, comaraderie,and last but not least the abundance of birds. Am I a repeat customer? You bet I am!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an Experience,
November 12, 2013
By: HawaiianIslander
from Honolulu, Hawaii
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Additional Thoughts:Dogs were something to see!
"This was a group trip and my first hunt although have been shooting for over 20 years. Mindi/Dennis, the lodge, staff, guides and dogs were WONDERFUL. I can't wait to do it again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
24 kt Outing Experience,
November 11, 2013
By: Winglet
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
"Owners and Staff provided the ultimate in attention to details...Safety briefings guest assessments, lodging, cuisines, guides, dogs, birds, field preparations and a sincere make yourself at home environment .
Extremely professional in every respect.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of the Best,
November 11, 2013
By: reddog46
from The Woodlands, TX
"It was a treasure to spend some quality time with my son who is active duty in the military. Great staff from the great bird dogs and guide to the top dog Dennis. The hunting was spectacular the food was truly gourmet, thanks to Keith’s culinary expertise to the exquisite service delivered by Shelly. My son and I each got a grand slam and took back more birds then we could have dreamed of. We look forward to coming back next year and bring several of our best friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Highland Hills Ranch, OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great few days!,
November 11, 2013
By: RobertFord
from Far Hills, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dog performance based on breed
Poor
Very good
Excellent
Satisfaction level on cover to hold birds (appearance of the hunting grounds)
Poor
Very good
Excellent
"Excellent place - great hunting - wonderful hospitality / awesome meals and stunning scenery - It doesn't get much better!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes