Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI

As a platinum-level Orvis Fly Shop we are a one-stop shop and can help with all your needs. We have 9 full-time guides out of the shop and are also able to get more if you want to plan a big gathering. There are many different ways to fish up here, along with many different species of fish as well. Come encounter the hex hatch while in search of big browns that go slurp in the night. Or you might try your hand at some of the best anadromous fishing this side of Alaska. The lodge provides fly-casting schools, entomology courses, guide trips, tying forums, and much more. The staff of the Pere Marquette River Lodge wants to ensure you have the best destination fly-fishing experience possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.956 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (90 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
90 of 90(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Review 1 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Float Back In Time,
July 29, 2015
By: Ffisher
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Pere Marquette is where I proposed to my wife and made the best catch of my life. We decided after just celebrating 25 years of marriage to revisit the Sand Hole on the PM since it was the place I asked the "BIG" question. Chris "Uber" was our guide for the day and he floated us down the PM. He was great, we both enjoyed his company and his understanding of our request. I liked him so much I booked a future Trout Trip with him through the shop.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun with Frank,
July 9, 2015
By: adafly
from Ada, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A late entry...Girls away Mother's day weekend so my 16 year old son and I spent an afternoon and evening with Frank. We are both relative beginners and appreciated Frank's excellent instruction on various fly fishing techniques. He was beyond patient with our frequent mistakes and errant casts. We tried for a few straggler steelhead, some big browns, and went mousing after dark. We were amazed by Frank's skill in negotiating the river both in daylight and after dark. My son managed to hook a few big fish but as this was not our day, we didn't land any. With or without landing a fish, this was a great day filled with good company, fascinating stories, and a wealth of learning. We had a great time and plan to return this fall to bring one in!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome,
June 23, 2015
By: cincyflyfishing31
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Awesome float trip with Frank. Son and I floated Pere Marquette with Frank on June evening and again one day later in the morning. We tried our hand at night time mouse fishing and streamer fishing. My son caught beautiful steelhead on morning float trip. Great meals, great instruction, and great Fathers Day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST GUIDE EVER!,
May 12, 2015
By: slassen32
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Best guide ever!
"Had the pleasure of being guided down the Pere Marquette River fly-fishing by Chris "Uber" Raines. Hands down best guide ever! I would rate my experience with him 6 stars out of 5 if it were possible. Great guy, very personable with extreme knowledge and expertise with all things fishing. I would highly encourage anyone interested in fly-fishing to do it with the Pere Marquette River Lodge with "Uber" as your guide he's awesome!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So you want to learn about steelhead......,
May 5, 2015
By: fflyfish2
from dupage county, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:They had everything there.....
"First off, a big shout out to Frank, Chris, and Devon, I had a great time and a great experience for my first time on the Pere Marquette.
The instructional classes over the weekend held by Devon Carr were fun and informative learning how to rig our rods and reviewing knot tying that gets a bit rusty without a lot of practice, helped out greatly. Later, the class was held on the water for more instruction on where to cast, how to cast and how to mend properly for proper presentation. Great coaching, and patience made all improve our new found skills to try out on a section of the river.
The next day we had a chance to take a 1/2 day float trip and be guided by Chris "Uber" Raines. Informative and with a good sense of humor, he guided us down the river, he put us on fish, and patiently coached us into hooking up and landing some nice late spring steel head. I brought my camera and I was glad I did, hoping to capture a photo that you see in the magazines and web sites.
The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and relaxing. You can "unplug" and decompress enjoying the quiet solitude of the area. That takes a team effort and Frank has a great team.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day,
May 2, 2015
By: eaustin
from Delaware, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a confirmed dry fly guy for as long as I remember it was with great trepidation that I agreed to spend a day steelheading with Devon Carr. I had never used an 8 weight rod, never done any sort of chuck and duck fishing, and honestly never thought I'd stand a chance of landing one of these hot fish. Even though most of the fish were gone, Devon found us fish, and the next thing I knew I was fighting the biggest fish I'd ever caught. Devon's expertise and patience ( I could barely cast the rig ) were just what I needed to get over the hump! And Devon's boat handling was amazing. Thanks for a great and memorable day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day with Devon Carr,
May 2, 2015
By: ChickenLittle
from Pere Marquette River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All of the guides out of this lodge have been great
"We fished the entire Flies Only Water with Devon Carr on April 28th. We knew that most of the steelhead were already on their way back to Lake Michigan, but wanted to give it a shot. While I've fished out of the PM Lodge for steelhead and salmon for more than 20 years, my buddy had never caught a steelhead. Much to our delight, Devon put us on fish and we both scored. We'll be back for sure in the fall."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salmon fishing with Uber,
April 28, 2015
By: SRHonthefly
from Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In early September 2014, my neighbor and I had the pleasure to have Chris 'Uber' Raines from the Pere Marquette River Lodge as our guide for the first time. It was quickly obvious he knew the river and put us on the fish. Not only is he a good fisherman, he is a great guy to float down the river with and a good cook (try his smoked bluegill dip!!) You won't be disappointed with Uber."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Experience,
April 27, 2015
By: mkernen
from Walled Lake, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just want to give Frank and the entire staff at the Pere Marquette River Lodge huge Props. Great Fly Shop, Great Lodging and World Class guides and experience. Located on an amazing Fishery! Tight Lines!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fishing,
April 27, 2015
By: PatrickO
from Grand Rapids, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second annual guided trip on the Pere Marquette for the steelhead run. I had just as much fun this year as I did last year. Our guide Casey was the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Home Waters,
April 23, 2015
By: Samardich
from Big Sky, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Whenever my brother Tim and I return home to visit family and friends in Michigan we always make a plan to visit my cousin Frank and Uber at the Pere Marquette River Lodge to fish the PM. While we both have lived in Big Sky Montana for over 20 years and guide on and fish the Gallatin, Madison and Yellowstone rivers on a weekly basis we love returning to our home waters of northern Michigan. We take a peaceful, relaxing float down the PM to fish for steelhead and browns. It is a welcome respite from boulder dodging the Madison all day.and dealing with the "crowds" in Montana. We fish and re connect to our roots, the place where we grew up. I cherish these times. Cousin Frank we love you. Mike and Tim Samardich"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommend,
April 21, 2015
By: Elkslayer
from Leonard, MI 48367, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I Have flyfished all over the U.S. and Canada, and have been guided by some very good outfitters along the way. The Staff and accomodations at the PM Lodge are second too none. I can honestly say that Frank Willet has taken two of my "newbie" best friends and turned them both into great fishing companions, in very short order. His tutelage is just phenomenal to say the least. When it comes to putting clients onto fish, Chris "Uber" Raines is a < 1% er. I have such a great time, I am a client year after year. Do yourself a favor and visit THE premier midwest fishery, Pere Marquette river, and visit the PM Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
April 21, 2015
By: JimFriedrich
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:just the best
"2nd time I have fished with Devin Carr out of PML. Both times just wonderful. Prompt, well prepared, Fun, put us on lots of fish, exciting and relaxing. All you could ask for and then some"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamers for Browns & Steelhead,
April 21, 2015
By: thegunrunner123
from Pinckney, MI 48169, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was terrific day on the PM w/Devon Carr--stripped big streamers all day for Browns & Steelhead as a bonus--all those egging gravel for steelhead R missing one of the most enjoyable ways to fly-fish. Pounding dark water, undercut banks w/streamer is so rewarding --the take is electric --it's all day active. Devon puts on a first rate day on the river ---give him a shot---you'll be well rewarded
Jim Hagar
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very enjoyable day,
April 21, 2015
By: PapaRoger
from Pere Marquette River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Casey was our guide for the day. He was knowledgeable, polite, and upbeat. Although the river was flooded and without visibility, Casey still put us on fish and we even landed one! The boat was comfortable and he was fully prepared for everything. Lunch was great too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
long drift big fish,
April 21, 2015
By: edog
from pierre marquette river lodge baldwin michigan
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All the guys were great
"The guides I had casey and Devon were great.Everything I expected and then some.The memories I have of all the big fish and awesome lunches will never be forgotten.Before this I never had caught a steelhead.So my goal before the trip was to catch one. Well guess what I caught 9 and battled with 30 of these chrome giants.The pictures don't lie. Go to H2O Charters and youll see what I mean.Not only did I catch beautiful big fish. The guides Devon and Casey taught me a lot of neat casting tricks.Ill be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome place to fish!,
April 21, 2015
By: LarryJohnson
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished at Pere Marquette river lodge for the past five years, and what an exceptional place! Frank Willetts (owner) and his lab Uber are awesome hosts. The lodge is clean, low key and well stocked. A big part of fishing is the experience..and this lodge is a great experience! Knowledgeable guides (many who have been with Frank for years and years) and a picturesque setting...hooking a steelie on a fly rod is one of the best fishing experiences I have ever had! I've had friends go there and they loved it as well... So while fishing is something that can be done just about anywhere there is water...a true fishing experience with a guide who understands the water is a rare experience indeed! That's what you get at the Pere Marquette River Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome experience,
April 20, 2015
By: triplejs40
from Michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great time at the lodge, it was very inviting. Frank and Uber were great guides and their shore lunches were awesome."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Teacher Ever!,
April 20, 2015
By: DandKMazzie
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband has fished with Frank for many years and always has a memorable, challenging, and "Uber" fun time on the beautiful Pere Marquette. Frank is an inexhaustible guide and patient teacher. Your experience will be wonderful, no matter the time of year, weather, or any variables that beset the fisherman. However, as a fisherman's wife who was introduced to fly fishing relatively late in life, I've been so impressed by, and grateful for, the patient teaching and welcome to the sport that Frank has afforded me. Thank you!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premier Spot,
April 20, 2015
By: Sper
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been to a lot of lodges, resorts and camps. This place is a true gem for avid fishermen. Awesome river access on the property on the "flies only" stretch. Friendly staff and knowledgeable guides. I will definitely be back to try my hand at another species and season"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes