Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI

As a platinum-level Orvis Fly Shop we are a one-stop shop and can help with all your needs. We have 9 full-time guides out of the shop and are also able to get more if you want to plan a big gathering. There are many different ways to fish up here, along with many different species of fish as well. Come encounter the hex hatch while in search of big browns that go slurp in the night. Or you might try your hand at some of the best anadromous fishing this side of Alaska. The lodge provides fly-casting schools, entomology courses, guide trips, tying forums, and much more. The staff of the Pere Marquette River Lodge wants to ensure you have the best destination fly-fishing experience possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.912 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Review 1 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day with Frank,
November 13, 2014
By: radkyle
from TC, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time with a fly rod, had a great time with Frank hooking into many, and landing a few, kings. Definitely recommended to anyone, and has me thinking about fly fishing myself! I plan on being back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 11, 2014
By: Biglon
from Lake Leelanau, MI 49653, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a great time on the river with my two sons. The outfitters combined with the river makes it a fishing trip I will always remember. We learned so many things in a short time about fly fishing and the culture of the river. Combine that with prime october foliage you've got a first class experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10/24/14 Guide Trip- Devon Carr,
November 3, 2014
By: Tglynn23
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We went out with Devon Carr for a fall steelhead trip. He was very informative and helped further our knowledge of flyfishing on the PM. Lunch was great riverside as well. I would recommend Devon to anyone. Thanks for a great day on the stream"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day with Devon,
November 2, 2014
By: talguire
from Grand Haven, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My brother Jim and I floated down the Pere Marquette with Devon and had a wonderful experience. He was patient with us and a good teacher. Cloudy day with lots of wildlife to observe on shore and the river was low and clear so we had fun spotting fish in addition to casting to them. A great day for my brother and me, made exceptional by Devon. One for the memory banks and I am sure the fish will get bigger with each telling of the story."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Salmon and trout and steelhead, oh my!,
October 27, 2014
By: Rugbymike
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had two excellent days on the PM with Devon and Frank. First time fishing for salmon with a fly rod and caught a few and landed a few less. Major challenge landing them on such skinny water, but a real blast! Also go into browns, a rainbow and a steelie. Excellent fishing in mid-October. Lots of fish of all species in the river. Stayed at one of their rustic cabins and enjoyed that, too. Definitely rustic, but warm and comfortable and right next to the fly shop and river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great day on the River,
October 27, 2014
By: ChuckanDuck
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Devon showed us the fish and how to land them. We had a great time and enjoyed our time with him. Very accommodating and helpful!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Trip!,
October 6, 2014
By: BeboS
from Canton, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time chasing Kings. Devon Carr did a wonderful job explaining the basics and put us on some great water! I've still got perma-grin, and am already planning my trip for next year. Beautiful scenery, big powerful fish and pleasant company, doesn't get much better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent as Always!,
October 5, 2014
By: DEJONGHE
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent the day on the river with Devon and although the fish were not cooperative it's not that he couldn't find them for us. It was just a little too early in the season so they were a little sparse. Even with that said Devon made it a great day with the great weather and amazing lunch he cooked up. He was easy to talk too and had some great "river stories". We always enjoy the Pere Marquette River Lodge and this year was no exception. That's why we keep coming back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well done!,
October 3, 2014
By: StageCoach26
from Columbia, SC
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Always a smile and helpfull attitude
"Frank and Uber took this first time Fly fisherman and made a success out him. Landed a nice big King, and fought with several others. The river alone is worth the price of Admission. Not to mention the freshly cooked steak and grilled chicken lunches."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Great Days,
October 3, 2014
By: JuniorOhio
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad, friend and I had two great days with Devon fly fishing! Total we landed 29 kings and a couple browns. Devon was great to be with and kept us on the fish. He starts early which our group liked."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super People-Super expirience,
October 3, 2014
By: VHP2
from Crystal , MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The last 4 years at this Lodge with the best guides have been awesome. Always have a fun time and catch a variety of fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fall King Salmon,
September 24, 2014
By: Pjohnson
from Pere Marquete River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Beautiful day on the river and good fishing too. Devon was a great guide and a pleasure to spend the day with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
September 22, 2014
By: Puffdaddy
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son Nick and I have been coming to the PM for years and have never had a bad trip and this year was no exception . The fishing was good but memories we better. Devon was our guide and he really knows the river and the fish. I highly recommend a father son outing on the PM for a lifetime of good memories."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fall Salmon Trip,
September 16, 2014
By: BradW
from New Boston, Huron Charter Township, MI 48164, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have fished since I could walk and had never tried salmon fishing with a fly rod. So, when the opportunity arose to go with a couple of friends, who have all gone through the lodge prior, I jumped at the chance.
We met with Brad Turner and he quickly let us know that he had a game plan for a couple of spots as the biggest push of fish had yet to happen. With his explanation that it would take hard fishing at one hole rather than spending time looking for other spots, that could be potentially worse, we set out to do so. Two casts in I hooked up and we were convinced that we could do as well as conditions allowed. This along with Brad's teaching personality allowed my to not only catch a great fish, it has become my personal best in the state for weight and length. To say that I am now hooked on this fishing and river would be an understatement. I am already planning a trip up for steelhead in a few weeks. For anyone unsure as to whether to book a trip to the PM, I would highly reccomend it for the fishing education alone not to mention the close to 30lb fish that I know count as one of my outdoor trophies."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great time on the PM,
May 31, 2014
By: Indyscotch
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished with Brad and Frank last Thursday Friday. Had a great time with both guides despite the lack of fish to the boat. Must have been all the naturals on the water during the spinner fall… Certainly not the skills of the angers! Thanks guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the River!,
April 17, 2014
By: PatrickO
from Grand Rapids, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I booked a trip with Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters for a birthday present to my dad. We went out with Frank who is one of the owners of the lodge and a very experienced guide. We had a great day on the river, shared some laughs, caught a lot of big fish and my dad had one of his best birthdays ever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip Under Adverse Conditions,
April 8, 2014
By: TimHennessy
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took my 16 year old daughter on a steelhead trip for spring break(not such a bright idea). We hit the longest, coldest spring in decades. Add to that murky water up to the banks.
Our first day proved difficult because of an unexpected downturn in the weather. Although we were well fed and catching fish, we had to pull the plug early because my daughter was really cold. Our guide, Uber Raines, pushed hard and drove us down river quickly. After working all day, He had finally put us onto multiple , large steelhead in high, cloudy water. He pulled the plug at just the right time and we were back at the lodge and cozy.
Frank Willetts, the owner and our guide for the following day, came over to the lodge and had a long conversation with us. He guaranteed my daughter would be comfortable the next day.
He was right. The following day we set off in sunny weather and warmer temps. We managed to hook eight fish and land six, despite the high, cold water.
These guys go the extra mile. They turned a potential disaster into a great family memory.
Highest recommendation!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended!,
March 14, 2014
By: Durkalec
from Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a very experienced steelheader who's fished all over the Great Lakes to BC, I can spot another good steelheader very easily. Frank and Uber, who both of whom I've had as guides know their stuff and their river. We caught plenty of fish, had great conversation and outstanding lunches. We even had to reschedule due to an unexpected health issue with a guy in our party and they worked us into some prime dates. I recommend these guys without reservation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frank the Fly Fisherman,
November 7, 2013
By: willjer123
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Even though I didn't fish, I did come away with some great tips & some other cool places to visit.
"This is not so much about fly fishing as it is about the hospitality I received when staying at the Pere Marquette River Lodge.
What a beautiful setting. I came in during off-season to visit my mother. The lodge reminded us of grand old days at a vacation lodge we used to stay at many, many years ago.
We built a fire and had a wonderful time catching up on old times in the lodge by a nice warm fire.
I can't say enough about the friendly atmosphere, serenity, and warmth of Frank's lodge.
I will definitely stay here again (even though I don't fish), just for the atmosphere.
Thanks Frank!
Sincerely,
William & JoAnn Jericho
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Host,
June 10, 2013
By: 8881
from Chicago, IL. USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group of 19 Kayakers had the opportunity to base our trip out of the Pere Marquette River Lodge and it was a great experience. Our host had a vast knowledge of river conditions and some of the better stretches to paddle. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had excellent water pressure and an endless flow of hot water to sooth the muscles at the end of the day before dining on Franks' fine cooking. I know when we book next years event we will be sure to return to this gem."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes