Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI

As a platinum-level Orvis Fly Shop we are a one-stop shop and can help with all your needs. We have 9 full-time guides out of the shop and are also able to get more if you want to plan a big gathering. There are many different ways to fish up here, along with many different species of fish as well. Come encounter the hex hatch while in search of big browns that go slurp in the night. Or you might try your hand at some of the best anadromous fishing this side of Alaska. The lodge provides fly-casting schools, entomology courses, guide trips, tying forums, and much more. The staff of the Pere Marquette River Lodge wants to ensure you have the best destination fly-fishing experience possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
60 of 60(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Review 1 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't Get Any Better,
April 17, 2015
By: WoodyNC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an amazing trip earlier in the year thanks to Frank and Uber catering to every need of our group. Their knowledge of the river and patience even with the rookies in the group ensured everyone had a memorable fishing trip. Can't wait to go back for more in a few months!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frank and Co Rock!,
April 17, 2015
By: BillTrailsEnd
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have a cabin around the bend from the Orvis Lodge on the PM River in Baldwin, Mi. When we bought the cabin, I have to admit, I had little experience fly fishing. I had done some and was hungry to learn more. Frank, Uber, and the guides at the PM River Lodge took me under their wing and taught me how to go after trout, salmon, and steelhead, including how to streamer fish.
The really cool thing is this, we have had such a good time, including on corporate outings, I am very fortunate to call my Friend!
Tight lines,
Bill @ Trails End
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best weekend ever!,
April 17, 2015
By: Ham639
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Even with threatening skies, my first trip down the river was awesome! My guide was spot on with his knowledge of the river and the area. Regardless if you are a novice like me or a wells seasoned fisherman like my friend that was with us, it was well worth it! See ya next year:)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to get back,
April 14, 2015
By: dnwolfe
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great shop with everything you could need. A couple members in our group borrowed waders that were in great shape.
"We stayed at the River House at the PMRL, which had everything we needed, is right on the river, and is a short walk to the lodge for early starts. Our group went out over two days with Frank Willetts, Devon, Vinny, and Drew; all were professional, put us where the fish were, fed us well, and made sure we had fun. I caught a steelhead, a brown, a rainbow, and hooked several more. I can't say enough about Frank; I can't wait to get back on the water with him, on the Pere Marquette, in the UP, in Alaska...wherever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Angling with Devon,
April 14, 2015
By: toadangler
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent a delightful day on the PM with Devon Carr...he is great to fish with! Put us on plenty of steelhead, and proved to be great company for the day. I genuinely hope to get on the river with him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spring Fishing,
April 13, 2015
By: nhwilly
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Staff disinterested during the wader rental
"Never fished on the PM in the spring before. Have to say the steelhead weren't biting much that day, but Devon did a great job as our guide. One of the guests was new to roll casting and other techniques and Devon was a very patient guide. Always positive and did a great job managing the boat and the day. Would definitely recommend him and will request him when we return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The boys are king!,
April 13, 2015
By: thud1970
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Frank, Uber and Casey had their hands full with my group. High water made their jobs even more difficult. They still put us on fish and fed us great shore lunches. Great lodge, shop personnel were first class too. Booked next year already and looking forward to it. Thank you for a great two days!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uber fishing the Pere Marquette,
April 12, 2015
By: amesfly
from Dayton, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steelheading is not always predictable but is always fun.
Although the weather conditions didn't cooperate with the temp being single digits, we had a good time chasing steelhead with Chris "Uber" Raines as our guide. Uber does it all when guiding. He is a good instructor and always fun to be with. He will put you on fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Great River Guide,
April 8, 2015
By: BillfromRochester
from Pere Marquette River, Michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We floated the upper fly waters of the Pere Marquette River on April 7th with guide Devon Carr; we had an absolute blast in difficult conditions with few visible fish. Devon put us in the right spot and guided us into a number of steelhead, not to mention 3 awesome brown trout 14 to 20". He changed fly's often working to get the correct presentation. And the shore lunch of smoked port chops was out of sight. I will fish with Devon again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guides,
April 5, 2015
By: DJflyguy
from Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:the best
"The lodge and guides are top notch ! Went out recently with Uber, the best guide on the river. Has a lot of passion for releasing wild fish as should all steelhead fishers. Had a blast!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very professional and Knowledgable,
April 4, 2015
By: Mbutler137
from Flat Rock MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently my Dad and I booked a trip with Devon. He was extremely knowledgable on all aspects of fishing and drifting. With myself being newer to the fly fishing world, every bit of information helped. Not only was he taking us on a great drift ride in his awesome new ride and giving us a great fishing experience, but he also made one great smoked pork chop meal ! Thanks for the great trip Devon, and hope to see you again when the salmon are running!
Mike Butler"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun day of fishing,
April 2, 2015
By: Gnickell
from Elkhart, IN, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a fun day with Uber catching a lot if Steelheads. I'm always trying to learn and Uber has been more than patient to work with me. For about a minute I had two 10 pounders hooked at the same time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
April 2, 2015
By: rzbeginner
from colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Beautiful river and great fishing with a savvy and entertaining guide. Chris "Uber" Raines made the trip a fun learning experience for a novice fly fisherman. Would highly recommend both the Pere Marquette River and Uber."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Uber" = Super in German and in Guiding,
March 31, 2015
By: MarkBruckman
from Northville, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Another great trip with Chris "Uber" Raines...if I could give 6 out of 5 stars I would. Uber has been my "go to" guide for the past 5 years - he has tremendous River knowledge - Entomology, Fish Habitat, Birds, etc. I try to book well in advance to ensure that my trip is with Uber. He is a very skilled guide and teacher - I have booked Uber for my brothers - who do not fish and with my best friends - who are very experienced with Steelhead...either way - Uber is the best choice."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not just a great guy but a great teacher,
March 30, 2015
By: Jeremyballard
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Have had the opportunity to fish with uber on numerous occasions. He's fly fishing knowledge is second only to his knowledge of the river. He takes the time to teach you the techniques so you can catch fish on your own. Hard to get steelhead trips with Uber because he's so popular. I look forward to our summer night mousing trips were I've caught some of my biggest browns. I would highly recommend Uber for any fishing adventure !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun on the River,
March 29, 2015
By: MDB1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had an exception time on the river with Devon. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. He put us on the fish in several locations. Had a great day fishing . Thanks"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Uber knows Fish !,
March 26, 2015
By: FrankHarshaw
from Baldwin Mich.
"A group of us having been fishing the PM for a few years now, staying at the PM Lodge and it's been great each time. It has a fantastic Fly shop too. My brother and I are pretty good bug slingers, but Chris (Uber) Raines has made us both better. He has a vast knowledge of everything fly to increase your chance of landing a big Steelie or a Brown. We used top of the line Orvis equipment and landed a pile of big fish. He also went all Gordon Ramsey on us and put together a great barbequed steak shore lunch. I highly recommend the PM Lodge and Chris puttin ya on the fish. A winning combination !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the water with Chris " UBER" Raines,
March 24, 2015
By: DaveBozsvai
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Love the Pere Marquette river
"I have have been fishing out of the PM lodge for several years now during the spring and Fall seasons and have been fortunate enough to fish with Chris Raines on many of those trips. I am a particularly hard client as not only am asking Uber to put me on fish but I have over the years asked him to guide my 16 year old (Dane) and my 12 year old (clay) through salmon season. Chris does a awesome job and is clearly a favorite with our family. Chris does a great job engaging my kids with the proper techniques and we have become so much better fishermen because of our time on the water with Uber. He makes the trip both Fun and exciting as Chris manages to always put us on great fishing. I look forward to many more years fishing the PM with Chris Raines. Its always fun making memories with Uber."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris Raines (review - recommendation),
March 24, 2015
By: Swany
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Don’t hesitate!
The saying could not be truer in describing Chris. I have had the pleasure of fishing with Chris for seven years and each outing has been memorable. With fishing comes opportunity to reflect on the aspects of your life and enjoy fellowship with a person who shares the same core values. Fishing with Chris allows you to experience the core three’s as I call them…
Fishing… if a person loves their job they exude it from the moment you meet them… Chris is such an individual. Chris is about finding the fish and getting them on your fly… first and foremost.
Fellowship… for me, fellowship is important. Chris is an individual who has great balance; respecting one’s time of peace and a time of talking and laughter. Not commonly found in many guides.
Float… the pace of the float can affect your entire day. Gun and run all day is not my ideal outing. Chris has a distinct level of professionalism that has him developing the trip as it unfolds in the style you would prefer for the day.
Enjoy your day, smile and admire God’s gift Chris refers to as his office and allow Chris to help you create your next memorable moments on the PM…
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris (Uber) Raines,
March 23, 2015
By: DEJONGHE
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been bringing customers up to the Pere Marquette Lodge for more than five years and they never disappoint. In 2013 I lost my father to a sudden heart attack... On the trip that year I thought a lot about my dad and the special times we had and that my son and I have not had a chance to build some of those special memories... It was then I decided to book a trip with my son on his 18th birthday. Knowing my son I knew I'd need someone very knowledgeable and patient. Uber was fantastic! The weather was bad and by lunch we were ready to pack it in... My son had not landed one salmon and was feeling quite discouraged... Uber cooked us a great lunch and convinced us to stick it out... My son finally hooked and landed and monster... The joy and look on my sons face will be a memory I cherish forever. Our luck changed and we got a bunch more... Thanks Chris Raines for creating a special memory for us!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes