Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI

As a platinum-level Orvis Fly Shop we are a one-stop shop and can help with all your needs. We have 9 full-time guides out of the shop and are also able to get more if you want to plan a big gathering. There are many different ways to fish up here, along with many different species of fish as well. Come encounter the hex hatch while in search of big browns that go slurp in the night. Or you might try your hand at some of the best anadromous fishing this side of Alaska. The lodge provides fly-casting schools, entomology courses, guide trips, tying forums, and much more. The staff of the Pere Marquette River Lodge wants to ensure you have the best destination fly-fishing experience possible.
Average Customer Rating:
4.905 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Review 1 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fall Salmon Trip,
September 16, 2014
By: BradW
from New Boston, Huron Charter Township, MI 48164, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have fished since I could walk and had never tried salmon fishing with a fly rod. So, when the opportunity arose to go with a couple of friends, who have all gone through the lodge prior, I jumped at the chance.
We met with Brad Turner and he quickly let us know that he had a game plan for a couple of spots as the biggest push of fish had yet to happen. With his explanation that it would take hard fishing at one hole rather than spending time looking for other spots, that could be potentially worse, we set out to do so. Two casts in I hooked up and we were convinced that we could do as well as conditions allowed. This along with Brad's teaching personality allowed my to not only catch a great fish, it has become my personal best in the state for weight and length. To say that I am now hooked on this fishing and river would be an understatement. I am already planning a trip up for steelhead in a few weeks. For anyone unsure as to whether to book a trip to the PM, I would highly reccomend it for the fishing education alone not to mention the close to 30lb fish that I know count as one of my outdoor trophies."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great time on the PM,
May 31, 2014
By: Indyscotch
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished with Brad and Frank last Thursday Friday. Had a great time with both guides despite the lack of fish to the boat. Must have been all the naturals on the water during the spinner fall… Certainly not the skills of the angers! Thanks guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the River!,
April 17, 2014
By: PatrickO
from Grand Rapids, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I booked a trip with Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters for a birthday present to my dad. We went out with Frank who is one of the owners of the lodge and a very experienced guide. We had a great day on the river, shared some laughs, caught a lot of big fish and my dad had one of his best birthdays ever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip Under Adverse Conditions,
April 8, 2014
By: TimHennessy
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took my 16 year old daughter on a steelhead trip for spring break(not such a bright idea). We hit the longest, coldest spring in decades. Add to that murky water up to the banks.
Our first day proved difficult because of an unexpected downturn in the weather. Although we were well fed and catching fish, we had to pull the plug early because my daughter was really cold. Our guide, Uber Raines, pushed hard and drove us down river quickly. After working all day, He had finally put us onto multiple , large steelhead in high, cloudy water. He pulled the plug at just the right time and we were back at the lodge and cozy.
Frank Willetts, the owner and our guide for the following day, came over to the lodge and had a long conversation with us. He guaranteed my daughter would be comfortable the next day.
He was right. The following day we set off in sunny weather and warmer temps. We managed to hook eight fish and land six, despite the high, cold water.
These guys go the extra mile. They turned a potential disaster into a great family memory.
Highest recommendation!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended!,
March 14, 2014
By: Durkalec
from Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a very experienced steelheader who's fished all over the Great Lakes to BC, I can spot another good steelheader very easily. Frank and Uber, who both of whom I've had as guides know their stuff and their river. We caught plenty of fish, had great conversation and outstanding lunches. We even had to reschedule due to an unexpected health issue with a guy in our party and they worked us into some prime dates. I recommend these guys without reservation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frank the Fly Fisherman,
November 7, 2013
By: willjer123
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Even though I didn't fish, I did come away with some great tips & some other cool places to visit.
"This is not so much about fly fishing as it is about the hospitality I received when staying at the Pere Marquette River Lodge.
What a beautiful setting. I came in during off-season to visit my mother. The lodge reminded us of grand old days at a vacation lodge we used to stay at many, many years ago.
We built a fire and had a wonderful time catching up on old times in the lodge by a nice warm fire.
I can't say enough about the friendly atmosphere, serenity, and warmth of Frank's lodge.
I will definitely stay here again (even though I don't fish), just for the atmosphere.
Thanks Frank!
Sincerely,
William & JoAnn Jericho
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Host,
June 10, 2013
By: 8881
from Chicago, IL. USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group of 19 Kayakers had the opportunity to base our trip out of the Pere Marquette River Lodge and it was a great experience. Our host had a vast knowledge of river conditions and some of the better stretches to paddle. The rooms were clean, comfortable and had excellent water pressure and an endless flow of hot water to sooth the muscles at the end of the day before dining on Franks' fine cooking. I know when we book next years event we will be sure to return to this gem."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a day!,
June 1, 2013
By: Gator54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I took a guided float trip with "Uber". What a great guy and excellent guide! He really loves what he does and really knows his stuff. We caught several browns during the day trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time,
May 1, 2013
By: Sackett
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My buddy and I spent last Saturday on the river with Devon. His supreme knowledge of the river, top notch Orvis gear, and killer cooking skills made for an awesome trip. If you are looking to catch Michigan's finest, PMRL can help you out. These guys rock."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Day,
May 1, 2013
By: thegunrunner123
from Pinckney, MI 48169, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Stripped streamers for Steelhead & Brown Trout on a lovely spring day on the Pere Marquette-- highlight of the day was 20" Brown-- for a total of 4, went 3 for 7 on Steelies- loosing a big male who gave 3 "in yo face" jumps on 6 lb --
come fish w/Devon Carr you'll have a terrific trip
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Fishing,
April 18, 2013
By: GEO920
from Saginaw, MI, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""Spend the night at the Lodge then full day with Frank fishing, this is a great place to stay and a better place to fish. Lot's of laughs and fish. Even got to join the Pere Marquette Swim Club. I can't wait to come back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
March 29, 2013
By: SMD6375
from Muskegon, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Did a full day float with Frank... plenty of fish, great lunch on the river, easy conversation, lots of good laughs. Fished with several guides and can't remember a more enjoyable day on the river. Will be booking another trip with Frank SOON!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
March 19, 2013
By: Fredrico
from Baldwin, MI 49304, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was a wonderful trip. Two days on the river with Devon were filled with fish, info on fishing & lots of laughs. Talk about good for the soul, you couldn't ask for more. The total experience was fantastic."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Steelhead,
March 11, 2013
By: JDfly
from Northville, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"One of the best trips I've ever taken on a drift boat. Casey Hefferan was our guide though he is a young guy (20 yr) has forgotten more information about fly fishing that I can ever hope to learn in a lifetime. He was able to put me in perfect positions to catch these massive fish. Coached me through what I was doing wrong, how to correct, and proper procedures to fighting and landing. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. I will be back for more trips in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time,
December 19, 2012
By: Afly
from Michigan, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great day fishing with Devon. We swung flies, drifted nymphs, and stripped streamers.He is a great guide that I would recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Float,
November 11, 2012
By: 2Dice
"What an enjoyable day on the PM. Devon was top of class in taking care of us for the day. Awesome lunch, great coaching, great patience, and some nice fish at the end of the season. Looking forward to doing this again with him, in the prime season!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Day on the PM w/Devon,
October 24, 2012
By: TMIJK10
from Flint, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What a great Saturday on the river with Devon. I had a couple customers in from Oregon hoping we could deliver on a great fishing trip and Devon and the guys did not disappoint. A full day's worth of great salmon and trout fishing. Knowledge of the river made it easy for us "new guys". Then surprised us with a great lunch on the side of the river. I would recommend Devon and the guys at the Lodge to anyone. I dropped my customer at the airport and he said this was a trip he'd remember forever. Thanks Devon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October king salmon,
October 14, 2012
By: fishman1968
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent a day on the pere marquette river fly fishing for kings with Devon. He was an excellent guide, very professional,and alot of fun to fish with. He was also very good at teaching how to fly fish. His shore lunch was fantastic.I hope to fish again with Devon in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ON THE PM WITH DEVON,
October 14, 2012
By: SNAG
from Griffith, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The PM river lodge is great. Devon had us on fish all day. This was the best guided experience i have ever had. Super friendly people and knowledgeable staff made my stay one i will never forget."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Pere Marquette River Lodge Outfitters, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Throwing Thundersticks for Kings,
September 14, 2012
By: Tanglefoot
from Spring Lake, MI 49456, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is a first class guide service
Everything you need is provided so all you need to do is book a trip. Our guide Decen knows the PM and can put you on the fish. We spent two days on the river and had a great time. He suprised us with some great shore lunches along the river.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes