Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

North Park Anglers, CO

Adjacent to the Continental Divide in scenic northern Colorado, North Park (Jackson County) offers a unique diversity of angling opportunities unlike anywhere else. Entirely surrounded by snowcapped peaks, the headwaters of the famed North Platte River are born, feeding this fertile high mountain valley with trout-rich waters. High alpine lakes and creeks, small streams, meadow streams, freestone rivers, rugged canyons, and trophy stillwaters are all within close proximity. With less than one resident per square mile, North Park boasts over 1 million acres of un-crowded beauty assuring visitors an experience where solitude is the cornerstone of your adventure. Find yourself at tree line sight casting to a big cutthroat, or on a meadow stream belly crawling for position on a huge wild brown trout. Here, the fishing opportunities are as endless as the seclusion. The adventure awaits - just get here!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for North Park Anglers, CO
Review 1 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Waters,
October 2, 2014
By: Arkflyfisher
from Little Rock,Ark
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This year's Western loop included Walden,Co. as our new area to explore. That was a good choice. North Park Anglers either guided or directed us to a number of different streams that always produced hungry trout. Our guide, Drew, had excellent knowledge of the rivers and creeks,and his enthusiasm was contagious. Scenery was breathtaking with the onset of changing colors. The nicest thing,however,was the warmth of the shop and being able to hang out and pick up other information.North Park Anglers employees were eager to serve and pass on their knowledge of finding trout in their waters.Look forward to a return trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing lodge!,
September 26, 2014
By: Jack77002
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"North Park Anglers is the best, most professional fishing lodge. The staff is honest and friendly. The fishing is outstanding! We will be back soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wow!,
September 13, 2014
By: Murphy66
from Lyons, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"North Park Anglers is a dynamite fly shop. They have all the gear you can possibly need, and their guides are fantastic. Their knowledge of the local waters is unbelievable, and their teaching skills are first rate. I have fished with three guides, and can vouch for each of them as a superb instructor and personable companion. Oh...the fishing is outstanding, too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Class Act" Fly Fishing Pro Shop,
September 13, 2014
By: nosr
"Excellent guides, friendly service, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun. These folks love fly fishing and make it simple for anyone to learn. I'll be back, again and again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic,
September 12, 2014
By: MagyarEmber
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fantastic day on private water with Joey. Exceptional guide who got me into exceptional fish. Will definitely return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket List Material.,
September 12, 2014
By: LAPhipps
from Sterling, CO 80751, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Brown Lee works the customers harder than the guides
"Whenever I’m fishing the Walden Colorado area a favorite stop I always make is North Park Anglers. In my opinion they have the most complete fly selection in the state; even more than that they now what to sell you specific to your adventure. I have fished public waters for 40 plus years and never felt the need for a guide on private waters, but apparently out of divine influence this time I asked; do you need a reservation for a guided trip? Tim Drummond spoke up, yes that would be the best advice. I must have grimaced and just as Tim knows the right structure to cast to he also had the right answer; we have a cancellation today would you like to fill it? The price was acceptable and by the end of the day the price was worth every penny. I will be looking forward to my next outing with NPA. The highlight of the day was the estimated 20 inch monster I tricked onto my fly (to bad I panicked and lost him), none-the-less we lost count that day of the fish we caught. Tim helped me with casting technique and in just a short time I was placing the fly right where he suggested. Let me sum it up; very accommodating, reasonably priced, extremely knowledgeable, very patient and an incredible array of waters to fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing experience,
September 11, 2014
By: ttinca
from Bay Area, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I highly recommend North Park Anglers. Very professional operation, all the guides know their stuff and are very friendly. They have access to some great rivers in the surrounding area that contain great fish (quality and quantity)."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT fishing trip,
September 11, 2014
By: TMKelly
from Walden, CO 80480, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group of 14 Fly Fishers came to Walden in early September 2014 This is our 12th year of fishing together all over the US and Canada, so we came with high expectations. North Park Anglers met and exceeded all our hopes. The guides were knowledgeable, helpful, and professional. The variety of big and small streams gave us lots of different opportunities to catch a variety of trout. Some were very technical, some easier and so was the walking (some easy some a little more challenging). I would and have recommended this location and shop to friends. Scott (the manager) and his team were great to work with and even better to fish with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Novice Fly Fishing Experience,
September 10, 2014
By: Doubleshot
from Grand Ledge, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On August 31, 2014 I tried my hand at fly fishing with our NPA Orvis guide Joey being the teacher. I must admit that I really enjoyed the experience. Joey was a great teacher with a lot of patience. I was very surprised when a large brown trout grabbed my nymph and broke my tippet gaining him freedom."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing experience,
August 26, 2014
By: tunahuntermark
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"North Park Anglers is my favorite fly fishing shop in Colorado-the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable; the store is well stocked with quality merchandise that is well displayed and a smorgasbord of services are available to fit any budget. Our guide Joey Solano was well prepared, very professional, had a great attitude, was fun to be around and in general a pleasure to work with-I would definitely ask for him again. The scenery was exceptional, the fishing was more than awesome-it just doesn't get any better than this. We will definitely be back, only next time we will stay longer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fishing Trip,
August 21, 2014
By: Toadman
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This was my first trip to the North Park area and was not familiar with most of the rivers and streams. My group of 3 booked a guide for the last day of our trip. We had little luck for the first 3 days of our trip we were on our own fishing Manville, Routt Canyon, and Big Creek Lake. On the last day, Royce our guide took us out early and showed us what we needed. We hit 4 private waters. By the end of the day, all 3 of us caught several fish, some being over 18" long Rainbows. Plus we spotted Elk, Antelope, & Moose cow with her baby. It was the perfect end to our trip.
My dad has been going to this shop for the past 2 years and the staff at the fly shop has always been very knowledgeable of the area and on what flies the fish were hitting on. Great shop and great guide service. Flies are good quality and prices are very reasonable for flies and gear."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shop!,
July 28, 2014
By: chrisekx
from Boulder, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My dad and I had a great day on the river with Tim Drummond from North Park Anglers. Tim was beyond helpful and put us onto 2 "North Park trophies". Tim and the entire NPA staff are consummate professionals and always willing to share their extensive knowledge. My family and I will definitely be repeat customers!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
July 25, 2014
By: vince123
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I fished with Royce as our guide for the second consecutive year. We had a great time and also caught fish. My wife especially enjoyed Royce's tutoring."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding float trip,
July 17, 2014
By: JDRtrout
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Yesterday, July 16, 2014 a friend and I were taken on a float trip on the North Platte River in the North Park area of Colorado by Scott Graham, manager and guide at the North Park Anglers Fly Shop. I have been on many such float trips on other waters with other guides and the trip with Scott was one of the very best. Scott's knowledge of the river and it's fish as well as his guidance and assistance in technique were outstanding. We caught very nice rainbows and browns all day, with my personal best being a 25 inch rainbow. I hope to fish with Scott again soon. I enjoyed his company greatly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on small water,
July 9, 2014
By: Etfish730
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished a small stream with Joey from NPA. It was a great experience in every way. Even if the fish hadn't cooperated as eagerly as they did, the scenery and solitude would have made for a great day. Joey knew the water well and was a fantastic guide to spend time on the stream with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Park Anglers Guided Trip 7/3/14,
July 8, 2014
By: AndyJudyD
from Littleton,CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent service in all aspects of the trip
"My wife and I had the pleasure of fishing North Park on her birthday, and what a special day it was. Scott Graham set up the trip and selected excellent water and a great guide in Drew Rodden. The whole experience was fantastic, consistent with other trips I've taken with NPA in previous years. I highly recommend if you're looking for quality water to fish and excellent guide services to check out Scott and his staff at North Park Anglers."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Float,
June 29, 2014
By: rockriverj
from Windsor, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have done a couple of trips with NPA over the last couple of summers. All have been great. All the guides at the shop are blast to hang out with. This trip we floated the N. Platte. We caught some great fish and Royce treated us really well. I highly recommend a trip with NPA."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guides,
April 29, 2014
By: tjhannan
from Walden, CO 80480, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just finished a trip with the guys at North Park Anglers. We had planned this trip so we could get some early spring fishing in and miss the crowds (although there are not what we "frontrangers" would call crowds up here). The accomidations were great! Tim and Royce were great guides! The weather did not cooperate. Fishing was put off by the crazy temperature differentials. It snowed sideways for two days.
The trip was still great. The guys treated us well and we had a great time.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
September 15, 2012
By: GWHall
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:These guys actually fish the waters and have great advice to share!
"I've been using the North Park Anglers for many years and every year these guys are getting better. They have plenty of private and public water to offer anyone from beginner to experienced. Thanks to all of the crew for another great trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for North Park Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better and Better,
September 2, 2012
By: ColoradoStreamer
from Louisville
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Looking forward to next time.
"My wife and I have taken several guided fishing trips with Scott Graham (manger & head guide at North Park Anglers over the last 4 years. Each time we wonder if it could get any better and it does. Weather you do a walk –wade ,drift boat trip , fish the sagebrush and alpine lakes, or the small streams, Scott and his people will make the experience enjoyable ,and keep you on fish all day. Big trout swim here and the fish of a lifetime are always possible in this million acre playground.
The well-stocked fly shop in Walden has everything you need for a successful trip in north park. Stop in for advice on where the fishing is good, what you might need, maps of the park, or pour yourself some coffee sit down and talk flyfishing. The staff at the shop (all Colorado locals) is friendly, and will set you up with anything you need.
This is a wonderful area to spend some time fly fishing, beautiful scenery, and big fish, something different every day, good people to work with. I would recommend Scott Graham and North Park Anglers to anyone that wants to experience Colorado fly fishing at its best.
ColoStreamer
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes