Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH

The headwaters of the Connecticut River offer some of the finest fly fishing in New England and the East! Whether this is your first time fly fishing or fly fishing has been your passion for years, the Upper Connecticut River offers good accessibility and a variety of fishing opportunities. The trophy stretch of the Upper Connecticut River, a short distance from our shop, is a 2-mile stretch of the river that is fly fishing only. In this stretch of river you'll find native landlocked salmon, brook trout, rainbow trout, and brown trout.
Average Customer Rating:
4.949 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 of 79(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Review 1 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great expertise - extra effort,
July 3, 2015
By: GerryVT
from Williston, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Good variety of equipment and supplies
"Bill Bernhardt, the Orvis-endosed head guide at Lopstick, provided a high level of expertise and lots of extra effort as we enjoyed a half-day on a small backwoods catching brookies and a full-day float on te Connecticut River. Despite record high water, we found fish and caught many. The famous Lopstick "Shore Lunch" was outstanding. I look forward to doing it all over again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE Lopstick,
July 3, 2015
By: fishinadesert
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Greg was fantastic.
"This fishing vaction could not have been better! Every member of the staff was so friendly and courteous. The cabin was the best - clean, warm, fresh, beautiful, comfortable ... and hearing the river riffling outside our bedroom window, wow, that was the best.
My guide, Greg, provided me with a very memorable experince. I have been flyfishing all my life and Greg is a first rate fisherman - fish hunter, entomoligist, coach, and companion. Greg made my fishing so easy and enjoyable. I have already booked future trips with him.
Jamie and I cannot say enough good things about our vacation at Lopstick.
We LOVE Lopstick."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 22, 2015
By: Bfl1
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were plagued with high muddy water conditions , but Greg pulled it off by bringing us into some ponds and leading us along the trophy section of the river . He successfully put us onto fish and displayed a good working knowledge of the river . I managed to catch a huge brookie and many other smaller fish . Greg saved what could have been a disasterous trip ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing-Education,
June 21, 2015
By: larry1119
from pittsburg, NH
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:great Patience
"Booked lopstick from the internet and had no clue as to what it would be other then what the site said. All was true and had a great time. Have not fly fished in over 60 years and things have change in terms of technical expertise. Fortunately I had Greg Inglis as my guide for the first two days. He was very patient and very knowledgable, taught multiple proper casts, different techniques, etc, etc. If you go ask for Greg. You will not be disappointed and will learn a great deal."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 20, 2015
By: spkldtrout
from Easton, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I didn't ask any questions since I knew what I needed.
"First trip to northern NH. Very nice accommodations. The guide was excellent (Greg for a half day) and recognizing I have been fly fishing for 40 years (and my friends half that), he focused on local patterns, specific spots below second CT and additional areas we should explore (first CT and Perry).
We caught multiple fish on each of the 3 days although the fishing was not as easy as I expected. The CT is nutrient poor and does not, IMHO, support a large native fish population because of the surprising lack of insect life. We did not witness any major hatches and infrequently we would see mayflies and caddis typical for this time of the year but never any takes. NH does stock adequately to make the fishing interesting (a NH DEP truck pulled into the parking lot below first CT and we had the opportunity to witness the stocking and discuss the river/fish with the fisheries personnel).
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing at Lopstick,
June 20, 2015
By: DaveS2156
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went fishing will Bill from Lopstick guide service. Had a fantastic morning on the trophy section. Caught salmon, brook, and rainbows. Some were really nice.
While I have been fly fishing for a few years with moderate success. Bill taught me more in four hours of fishing than what I have learned going at it myself.
I would certainly you Lopstick again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing, lodging, and guide service,
June 20, 2015
By: 2teds
from NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Advance advice by phone and email about when to come and what to bring was very helpful.
"Took a few days vacation to fish the north country. Hired Greg as our guide, he did a stellar job. Despite high water conditions and challenging weather, he showed us some awesome remote ponds where we caught native and very colorful brook trout. After that we explored a few stream areas for wading and he prepared a fantastic lunch overlooking the water. He also taught us some new things that we will use every time we fish. The fly shop was well stocked and convenient and Greg had Orvis gear on hand in case we needed it. I highly recommend Lopstick and their guide services."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fly fishing and i'm hooked,
June 9, 2015
By: ryan618
from Boston, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Greg was awesome, he made the trip.
"This was my first fly fishing experience. I have been saltwater fishing since I was a kid back home in Maine. Wanted to try fly fishing for years. Finally went up with a few buddies and loved it. Best experience for a beginner. Greg was our guide for both days and he was awesome. Couldn't ask for anything different. We hiked all over the place to fish and explore. It was perfect. I would highly recommend Greg as a guide. Trip was amazing! Definitely want to come back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Trip,
June 7, 2015
By: Joe207
from Portland, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Extremely knowledgable guide
"Had a terrific 2 days of guided fishing by Greg Inglis. This was my first fly fishing experience and it was a great one. Greg had me catching fish within the first hour of picking up a rod. I would highly recommend Lopstick Lodge and Greg to anyone looking for a memorable experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome flyfishing trip,
June 7, 2015
By: Michael22
from Orono, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:awesome guide and great at knowledge of fly fishing
"i had an awesome time this past weekend with my father on 2 days of drift boat fishing with Bill. we had such a great time fishing and caught some many good sized fish and had alot of laughs. it was so nice to come back to lopstick like my dad and i do every year and we will definetly be back. also the cabins at lopstick were great and lopstick does an awesome job at making me and my dad feel comfortable. see you all next year. The lopstick crew does an A+ job"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing at Lopstick Outfitters,
June 7, 2015
By: beagleboy
from West Hartford, CT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been going to Lopstick Outfitters for about 10 years now. Every fly fishing trip seems better than the last. The fly guides are the best and the cabins are comfortable. I look forward to going back every year. What a gem this place is."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Experience,
June 6, 2015
By: JoshBennett
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an excellent day fly fishing on huge Connecticut River with Greg. Caught more fish in one trip than I had in the past few years fishing in Vermont. Greg is a great guide and really knows his stuff. Would recommend this trip for anyone, even someone with no fly fishing experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Upper Conneticut Experience,
June 6, 2015
By: Mahky
from Burlington, Ma
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Greg was an excellent guide with a professional attitude and we hooked into many fish.
Will go back again and ask for him.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Land lock Success,
June 1, 2015
By: EmmausBill
from Emmaus, PA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son Mike and I were guided by Bill Bernhardt. Bill did an outstanding job with casting instruction to Mike who fishes but has limited fly fishing experience. Bill had Mike doing a nice job with the forward and roll casts. We were a little early for the big smelt run, water a little cold but Bill got us into land locks that were a ball to catch, jumping and fighting hard. We nymph fished with success on rainbows. Bill laughed at dumb jokes, fed a very nice lunch and did everything he could to ensure a fun, safe fishing day. Bill went the extra mile to show us the area and be sure we had a good time. Thanks, Bill"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
May 31, 2015
By: MDziokonski
from Pittsburg NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Bill Bernhardt served as my guide on a recent trip to the Connecticut Lakes region in Pittsburg, NH. I found his services to be excellent. I am 68 years of age; my father first handed me a fly rod when I was 12 and I have been fly-fishing ever since. Bill was able to guide and instruct in a manner that acknowledged my experience, but at the same time improved my fly-fishing skills. He is knowledgeable in local entomology, fly selection, fishing tactics and in the geography of the area both above and below the water line. He is a skilled, efficient and affable guide and he positively contributed to my trip to Pittsburg, and has improved my fishing in general."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Three-day Father/Son trip,
May 27, 2015
By: AJandCAF
from Pittsburg, NH
"My son and I have been fly fishing for over 15 years. His graduation present was a fly fishing trip and we chose Lipstick. Very easy process throughout. Fished with both Greg and Bill. Both highly accomplished guides. Both have their expertise and we had a great time with both. Learned a great deal, new experiences, great instruction and wonderful variety. Pittsburg and it's surroundings have a fly fisherman's variety that you would not get tired of fishing: Float (pond, river), wade, off the road or hike in; brown, brook, rainbows, salmon, pike and if you want, small mouth; dry, emerged, nymph, streamers. You will have the opportunity to do it all. Accomodations were great, no complaints. Highly recommend. A hidden jewel."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mission Accomplished,
May 26, 2015
By: HazelR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Greg Inglis is a very good, hardworking guide. Both days he was determined we'd find fish and he found them. With his help I caught and released my first ever land locked salmon (I came on this trip specifically to do that.)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fishing pittsburg,
May 25, 2015
By: rosey57
from pittsburg, n.h.
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"fished with bill bernhardt of lopstick lodge.pittsburg n.h. the trip was great having learned so much in our time together . great guide . recommend highly, very knowledgeable guide . the best show in town."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a guide is supposed to be.,
May 25, 2015
By: Stewart55
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend who isn't very experienced, and I fished with Bill very early in the season. We had a great day on the water, both caught fish despite being so early in the season, and we both learned some things. Bill is a terrific guide and the crew at the lodge was terrific. Couldn't be more complimentery. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great day of fishing,
December 4, 2014
By: Naplesfly
from Lopstick
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a day. A cold start in mid September, cloudy, a couple of rain drops, but still a great day of fly fishing. Greg, our guide took my son Andrew and I to the Androscoggin River in the town of Errol, NH. About an hours ride from our cabin at Lopstick but turned out to be a good ride with lots of wild turkeys to see along the way.
Upon reaching the river Gregg gave us a real look at how a real guide launches a river boat over a steep bank into the water. He then fixed our fly rods with some flies that he had picked out for us to use that day before leaving the lodge.
After rowing a lengthy distance in a cold morning we reached our destination to begin fishing. The rest of the day was nothing but great fishing, hardly a cast without getting a hit.
Needless to say, Gregg is a great fishing guide. He knows his river very well, he knows the right flies to use and instructs you where to cast at a given time. I could not ask for a better guide.. Gregg was great in every way including the hot meal he provided for us at around mid day.
I am now in my 80'th year and I do not know how many more years I will get to experience another fishing trip that I had on this day. I certainly hope that I get to do another trip with Gregg next year in September."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes