Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH

The headwaters of the Connecticut River offer some of the finest fly fishing in New England and the East! Whether this is your first time fly fishing or fly fishing has been your passion for years, the Upper Connecticut River offers good accessibility and a variety of fishing opportunities. The trophy stretch of the Upper Connecticut River, a short distance from our shop, is a 2-mile stretch of the river that is fly fishing only. In this stretch of river you'll find native landlocked salmon, brook trout, rainbow trout, and brown trout.
Average Customer Rating:
4.915 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 of 47(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Review 1 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 2 days FF,
August 25, 2014
By: TPff
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I didn't make the reservations
"Bill took us floating the Conn. River for 2 days and it was a GREAT FF experience . Bill was very knowledgeable about every part of the river and fishing it.
Everything from getting in the drift boat, to fishing, to having lunch(which was awesome), to fishing the rest of the day was absolutely perfect!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Good Day,
August 7, 2014
By: womanofacertainage
from Pittsburg, NH
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent a day with Greg on the Trophy Stretch of the Ct River. The water was pretty warm, and the fishing slow but I caught some decent fish and lost even more(my fault, not his!). Greg was a perfect guide, thoughtful, helpful, and extremely knowledgeable. He also served an amazing lunch. I look forward to another day next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not your everyday outfitter.,
June 24, 2014
By: RichardSCollins
from Greenland nh
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:There isn't enough traffic to man the fly shop full time.
"I really like Bill and Greg and the Lopstick experience and have been coming to Lopstick for many years. I often am hesitant of Guided trips because many are cookie cutter 'adventures' that are essentially scripted (same routine over and over) but not with these guys. They are laid back but know their waters and the insects/fish activity quite well, and customize their trips to what you want - which in my case is more wild, native, remote, and unique fishing experiences. Pittsburg is known for their trophy stretch which is chock full of big stocked fish, and I've been guided there by Bill and taught some terrific nymphing techniques that I use on my own to this day. It's a great piece of water for fly fisherman to have a field day exploring. But there is SO much more diverse water in Pittsburg. I went on three trips with these gentleman this last trip (2014) and here is a run down of my experiences - drifted the CT through rolling farmland, was the only boat/human on the water, and cast dry flies and emerges to rising fish on dead calm waters, spooky fish where presentation really matters, and I humble myself when I realize I am not as good of a fisherman as I think when a 40 yard cast needs to be drifter perfectly. Caught (and missed) a slew of rainbows and my only Brown of the trip here with bill. Greg got me out on my feet and hiked me up to a remote pond that is only stocked with fingerling trout, landing a decent sized 12+ inch brookie that had grown and flourished in the wild - darn near native and a trophy in itself. He also taught me how to 'bow and arrow cast' through tight vegetation to stalk wild fish. He introduced me to the Hex hatch on Back Lake, and even though it wasn't in full swing I had an awesome time fooling bass, rainbows, and brookies into thinking my gigantic hex pattern was the real deal. He showed me the prolific fishing opportunity for wild brookies at beaver dams and tributaries that hold an amazing amount of fish you'd never expect, how to wade fish the CT with Buggers and streamers downstream, and we stalked spooky rising fish in a blowout caddis hatch where technical casting was required. Looks easier than it is so the challenge was exciting (I got the skunk - this can be a good thing when being guided, you can lead a fisherman to water but you can't make his presentation any better than it is). Unlike many fishermen - they aren't stingy with their information on where to fish, without giving out secrets, and provide a lot of tips and techniques on how and where to fish for those who are interested. They are prompt, punctual, and efficient, you fish the whole time unless there is a drive to the fishing site. So remembering that we all have different expectations on the water, especially on a guided trip, I would highly recommend using their services and taking advantage of their open, collaborative style - make a list of experiences or water bodies of interest, then seek their advice on where to target your trip based on conditions and let them show you 'how it's done' - both guys are very unpretentious, easy to talk to, and very passionate about their jobs. In all fairness the only cons I can think of is the poor guys are working everyday through June so as the season rolls on they get a little tired and what I would call 'punch drunk' which actually can be quite amusing. They burn the candle at both ends when the fish are lively and it's just the nature of the beast so don't take it personally if they tell the same story twice!
All in all I would highly recommend the Guide services at Lopstick and there is a reason they Won the Orvis 2013 Guide if the Year. An amazing feat for New Hampshire with its sketch weather, fishing season, and finicky fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent experience,
June 23, 2014
By: decoy1carver
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Greg is an excellent instructor
"My grandson and I had 2 excellent days fishing with Greg. Hayden had never fly fished before and with Greg's patients and skills Hayden caught several trout on the first afternoon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 17, 2014
By: Jerseyflyguy
from Marlton, NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Thoroughly enjoyed our Lopstick Lodge trip. The cabin was had plenty of room for the three of us with a decent kitchen and a grill! Our guide Greg had us hit several gorgeous spots and gave us a lot of useful tips. Catching over 20 fish in one day was a first! Overall it will trigger a return trip!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A nice visit,
June 16, 2014
By: skills
from Weston, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Mixed weather and a cold front seemed to shut down the fish a bit, but Greg Inglis was terrific as our guide and was enthusiastic and helpful as he could be. A great 3 day trip with half days of guiding with him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lopstick Lodge Fishing,
June 16, 2014
By: pyrotom
from At large in America
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was one the best fishing trips I have taken, Greg Inglis was great to down the river with. His knowledge of the river was perfect. I caught and released a lot of fish and had a great time doing it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
June 10, 2014
By: saa44mag
from Pittsburg, NH
"Spent a day the last weekend in May with Greg. Greg worked very hard on finding trout, provided a great lunch, and taught us new techniques. Definitely going back and will book a trip with him. The staff in the office were friendly and helpful. The cabin at Lopstick was clean and roomy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lopstick Experience,
May 30, 2014
By: Fischmeister
from Etna, NH
"Spent a day in early May with Bill Bernhardt looking for salmon. Bill was knowledgeable, patient, and helpful in guiding us to the right spots. Would definitely book a trip with him again. Also, the cabin at Lopstick plus the staff met our expectations in every way. Great trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May 2014 trip,
May 27, 2014
By: Stanz
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As usual a great trip up north. Bill B. provided me with an opportunity for some great fishing. plenty of decent size salmon. Looking forward to my July trip and more great fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
October 21, 2013
By: steeliekid
"What a fantastic experience! Greg Inglis guided a friend (relatively inexperienced fly fisherman) and me on the Trophy Stretch. He is very enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable and was able to effectively guide fisherman of different skill levels. I'd wholeheartedly recommend Greg!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic day,
October 12, 2013
By: SteveWA
from Maple Valley, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My in-laws live in Pittsburg, and I have been visiting this area for over ten years, but generally in off season times like the Holidays. This year I told myself I would learn about the river and add fly fishing to our annual visit... with a priority on landlocked salmon and brookies. I had hiked all over the area, but with limited time to fish I needed to cut the learning curve. I contacted local guide, Greg Inglis, out of Orvis' Lopstick Lodge. I had never hired a guide and was pretty apprehensive. As soon as I walked into the shop in the morning I knew I had made the right decision. Greg said if I wanted to hike in, we had a great chance at finding some landlocked salmon moving into the rivers from the lakes to spawn.It was an incredible day, and I had a very hard time picking out photos to post. I insisted that Greg fish a run towards the end of the day, and 5 minutes later he was battling a fish that jumped all the way down the river. I had a great day fishing with Greg and learning about landlocked salmon and the wild brookies we found. I did find a small rainbow at the end of the day, but no brown trout to wrap up the Great North Woods Grand Slam. He was very knowledgeable and a blast to fish with. I would recommend fishing with Greg any day of the year. Even if you don't find fish, you'll have a great day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful New England experience,
October 11, 2013
By: Adelio
from Arizona, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first time fishing in New England and I have to say the experience was beyond my expectations. The fishing was productive, but with some technical challenges that improved the overall experience. The area is truly beautiful, especially in the Autumn. The guides were pros that would improve anyone's experience, regardless of level of fishing expertise. I can't wait for my next trip and would advise all of my friends to join me next time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cabins at Lopstick,
October 7, 2013
By: mike19861999
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time on our trip with Bill. This was her first time fly fishing and she caught a salmon, several brookies and a few rainbows. Bill has a great personality and kept us laughing the whole trip. We can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vacation at The Cabins at Lopstick,
October 4, 2013
By: BrianandJean
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This has been out 6th year for vacation to The Cabins at Lopstick. We are always warmly welcomed and treated by the staff as though we were long time friends. Our guide, Bill Bernhardt, has once again exceeded our expectations on our float trip. He is extremely knowledgeable with regard to fishing and the CT and Andro Scoggin rivers. Bill has become a friend to us. We will be back in 2014 and look forward to our stay and float trip with Bill."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience!,
October 1, 2013
By: Bob05677
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I hadn't fished this area before and Bill Bernhardt, my guide, did an excellent job of getting me to access points that gave me familiarity with the Connecticut River Trophy section. He is a great and patient instructor. He reviewed my complete fly selection and we used several which successfully caught fish. Often guides use their own flies and when you return in the future, you have no idea what might work. I wouldn't hesitate ot go out with Bill again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect day to fish!,
September 29, 2013
By: FlyCats2
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We had an awesome day on our drift trip with Greg down the upper Connecticut River! Husband and wife trip....wife not so lucky on the line...but husband caught a few! Wife is just learning and appreciated Greg's teaching and patience! It was a beautiful day...sunrise to sunset. Thanks Greg and Lopstick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day!,
September 26, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Bradford, VT, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm a little late writing this as we floated with Greg the first week of August. We stayed at the lopstick Cabins and it was a great place for the evening..will definitely stay there again and again. We drifted for a full day and it was way more than expected. We are experienced fly fisher guys from out west that have drifted many times. Our day with Greg was awesome, even though we knew what to try, Greg dialed us in to the right flies at the right time and showed us the water to fish. We lost count of how many fish we landed... it was such a great day! Browns, brookies, rainbows, we caught them all. Greg is a true pro. For us that day, Greg was like fishing with a long time fishing buddy, just one of the boys and having fun in God's country.
If you want to have the best of the best for guiding on the Connecticut, go fish with Greg. Will definitely go again when I get a pass from my sweetie.
ps Shore lunch was awesome!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The secret is out,
September 24, 2013
By: NEDoc
from Massachusetts, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guides were key in selecting flies.
"At risk of spilling the beans and having every avid angler flock to Lopstick, I have to say "GREAT!" The staff are kind and helpful, the cabins comfortable and quaint, but the real draw here is the guided fishing, which is flat out magnificent. Despite some uncooperative weather, our guides (we had two boats) found good weather, good fishing, and good fun, all in the spirit of patience, support, and good humor. If there were six stars, Bill and Greg would rate them all. Plan for two days of floating, one will not be enough!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Guide,
September 22, 2013
By: FishVT
from Shelburne, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Knowledge is provided by guides
"Greg Inglis of Lopstick Lodge Outfitters was an outstanding guide. He put me on several fish, including landlocked salmon and rainbow trout. He is extremely personable, very hardworking, and knows his stuff. I would hire Greg again in a heartbeat."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes