Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH

The headwaters of the Connecticut River offer some of the finest fly fishing in New England and the East! Whether this is your first time fly fishing or fly fishing has been your passion for years, the Upper Connecticut River offers good accessibility and a variety of fishing opportunities. The trophy stretch of the Upper Connecticut River, a short distance from our shop, is a 2-mile stretch of the river that is fly fishing only. In this stretch of river you'll find native landlocked salmon, brook trout, rainbow trout, and brown trout.
Average Customer Rating:
4.958 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
95 of 96(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Review 1 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip 8/14/15,
August 24, 2015
By: BearpondNH
from Revere, MA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a trip of a lifetime for my father and I. The trip we chose was doing the Conn. River with Greg Inglis as our guide. I chose a drift boat because my 84 year old father can't quite get in and out of the rivers and do the wading thing like he used to do , so the drift boat was perfect.
We met Greg the night before because we had questions... of course and he did a great job with his knowledge and info.
He also helped us by checking out our gear etc. and he even took my reel home for me and set up the leader as I hadn't done this for years!
We got going the next morning after Greg set us up in the fly shop with flies and tippet material. He also explained that ants were abundant and he carefully chose a number of matching patterns for us.
And then the fun began early the next morning. we got our cast back and with a few pointers, we were both improving our casts and delivery.
We each caught a couple of Rainbows and a Brown.
we couldn't have been happier!
The patience and even keeled manner that Greg had plus some laughs we had really made the trip ! We asked what was for lunch and he said "Hot Dogs" and my dad and I laughed a bit... but once we stopped we were impressed by the steak and salad !!
After lunch we stopped at a "hot spot" and Greg worked with dad with the ants for quite some time until he got a nice fish ! Again patience, helping us untangle lines, tying on new flies and just putting us on fish... probably a dozen in all.
I can't say enough about the stay, the people and Greg. I will be back next year for sure !!
PS thanks to the ladies at the front desk for tirelessly working with me the night before to secure my lost fishing lisense !!!
Keith
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Life-Changing Experience,
August 24, 2015
By: GinandRol
from Massachusetts, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The best.
"Our first casting lesson and guided trip with Greg far exceeded our expectations. The clear, intelligent instruction was a first-class gift. Our wading on the Trophy Stretch of the Upper Connecticut approached the realm of magic. Greg's superb, skillful guidance and keen-eyed sight-fishing landed us both beautiful Rainbows, a nice Brookie and a Fallfish as if with the wave of a wand. The fly-by of a blue heron at eye level above our casts, the double-rainbow we saw outside our cabin, and shooting stars of the perseid meteor shower that followed seemed to be be heavenly confirmation that our experience was life-changing. We look forward to our next fly fishing trip but will always look back on our first as a new beginning.
We also greatly appreciate top-shelf advice on tackle from Bill and first-rate hospitality of the friendly Lopstick staff. Rare and well-done.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day flyfishing,
August 21, 2015
By: saa44mag
from Pittsburg, NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a full day float with Greg and had a great day of fishing. I caught lots of trout all day. Greg was very knowledgeable to where the trout were and how to catch them. Greg provided a fantastic lunch of steak, sweet potatoes, and grilled vegetables at a scenic location on the Connecticut River. Root beer Wooly Bugger accounted fooled a lot trout as well as Ants and pupaes. I will definitely be back for another float trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They do it right!,
August 21, 2015
By: fishinadesert
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our third trip to Lopstick this summer. We could not be more pleased with the service. The folks in the office, Jodi, Cheryl, and Courtney are fantastic! - very kind, helpful, and courtesy.
With the hot summer weather fishing can be slow, but my guide, Greg, led me to good hungry fish. I am so impressed with Greg Inglis. He is friendly, positive, a good companion, and has a deep knowledge of the river and how to catch fish. He obviously does his homework. At one point I caught four excellent trout on five casts.
My wife and I have had a tremendous experience each time we have visited Lopstick. This time we shopped daily at the "fresh food" farm stand right near our cabin. What a treat to have home grown produce at our fingertips.
Thanks to all of you who make Lopstick a FIRST CLASS organization!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best guided trips my wife and I have ta,
August 21, 2015
By: Jolinbasschasers
from Dover,nh
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have been on guided fishing trips in N.Y.,Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Alaska, Canada , And Bahamas and now NH our home state. This trip with Greg Ingles is by far the best not for size or numbers of fish but for the enjoyment of the trip due to GREG and his handling of every aspect of our 2 days in a drift boat fly fishing with him. He w as the ultimate in competence and professionalism as a guide and a person. He has a great passion for providing the ultimate in fly fishing . And we can not forget Maggie our canine escort throughout the trip. Linda and I highly recommend Lopstick outfitters and Greg Inglis for a fantastic fly fishing adventure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish On!,
August 19, 2015
By: GoRedSox
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have just returned from a 5-night stay at Lopstick Lodge. My buddy and I booked a guide for four days: two days of floating and two days wading. Our Orvis-endorsed guide Greg was over-the-top in terms of providing a fantastic fishing experience for each of the four days. He is a passionate fisherman who spends his spare time fishing and exploring The Great North Woods, and Greg readily shared his extensive experience to put us on the fish immediately and to suggest locations for non-guided fishing. When the fish were less cooperative, Greg worked hard to experiment with different fishing strategies and flies, and his determined efforts were typically rewarded with a fish on the line. When Greg learned that we particularly enjoy catching brook trout, he brought us to Boundary Pond, which is aerial-stocked and accessible by logging roads. As the rain rolled in, Greg fought the wind and rowed us along the shoreline, and we caught beautiful brook trout on a 3wt rod. For the float trips, Greg treated us to riverbank banquetsm with crackers and cheese, salad, grilled vegetables, and grilled beef or chicken. Throughout our many hours together, Greg was personable, a patient teacher, and a font of information on the Pittsburg-area and fishing for pike, steelhead, and other targets. I recommend Greg to anyone, novice to expert, and plan to return next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Win-Win, expertise and effort = Awesome Trip,
August 17, 2015
By: Tworivers
from Crabapple Cove, Maine
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two wonderful days fly fishing the upper Conn. River with guides Bill Bernhardt and Greag Ingles.
Both days were filled with great fishing and some much needed tips and pointers to improve FF my skills.
It was a pleasure spending time with Bill and Greg who seasoned our trip with awesome shore lunches, great humor, and camaraderie.
They are undoubtedly the hardest working guides I've ever encounter; always striving to make the trip more enjoyable for their clients.
Many Thanks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family adventure,
August 15, 2015
By: Stanz
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just spent another fantastic time at Lopstick. This trip up my daughter and son-in-law joined me to spend a day each on a drift on the Conn. My daughter was fairly new to fly fishing and Bill B. provided guidance and encouragement to make her trip successful and memorable. Thanks Bill.
I would like to add that even though Greg did not guide us he is always willing to give you some tips and share some experiences with you at the lodge.
Bill and Greg make a great guiding team.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time,
August 13, 2015
By: Johnboat
from Kennebunk, ME, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:There was a good supply of equipment
"I spent two days fly fishing the upper Conn. river.Bill Bernhardt and Greag
Ingles were our guides.I fished with
Bill both day and both guides were very professional.Bill and Greg showed me many things about fly fishing, because I
Was as experienced as the others.
I will never forget this trip,every one at
Lipstick were so nice.Neil Townsend
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Classic Float,
August 11, 2015
By: Greg46
from Pittsburg NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time in Connecticut Lakes area fly fishing. Usually go out West to Montana and Idaho but due to personal reasons decided to explore NH and Maine.
Went out with Bill from Cabins at Lopstick for afternoon float.
Despite the rainy weather when we met up at the Lopstick cabins, day turned out sunny and warm.
Having fly fished for over 20 years I know what I am doing and was hoping for a guide who is my match and with whom I could learn a thing or two from. Bill is that guide.
He was great not only putting me over fish but analyzing the right flies to use to match the ”flying ant” hatch. We worked pods of fish just where he expected them and I connected with 20+ fish. All about 12-14 inches with two around 16 inches and couple of dinks thrown in- all rainbows. A very enjoyable day!!
We also talked about the Orvis relationship and I related my experience of breaking the tip of my Orvis fly rod on a trip out West in Idaho and then going into a local Orvis shop and instead on sending it back to repair it, I traded it in for new rod more to my experience level at that time for just a few more dollars.
I always find Orvis endorsed fly shops set the standard for help and friendliness.
I like the idea of Orvis vetting the guides and setting a standard of excellence. I had not used an Orvis endorsed guide before.
Good job Bill and Orvis! Will be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit!,
August 11, 2015
By: fishinadesert
from New Hampshire
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:excellent
"This trip was planned, as I brought with me a student of mine who had never fly fished before. Our guide, Bill, was perfect! He was very thorough and patient in his teaching and guidance and had Spencer catching trout in no time. Bill was also sensitive to my needs, as a fly fisherman of 50 yeas, and did not overdo his help. Bill was so very pleasant and took us straight to the fish. We could not have been happier.
Our cabin was spotlessly clean and fresh, which is always important. Everyone at Lopstick was tremendously courteous and helpful.
Thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Connecticut River Bonanza,
August 10, 2015
By: Dick43
from Colbrook, NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great trip. Greg did a super job of putting into fish with the right flies resulting in a 60 fish day (of more)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drift Boat Dream,
August 3, 2015
By: PaulAndKeith
from Pittsburg NH
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Well stocked fly shop. Has everything you need. Well organized.
"On a recent fly fishing trip to Lopstick in Pittsburg, NH with my oldest son, we were surprised with a guided Drift Boat Trip on the Connecticut River courtesy of Lopstick. Greg Inglis was our Orvis endorsed Guide. He is a very fishy man. He knew all of the who, what, when, where, why, and hows on the river. He always knew what was working, and knew the best way to get you into a fish. If your looking to go catch some trout on the Connecticut River, then Greg is your man."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lopstick NH vacation,
July 19, 2015
By: CDeSocio
from New Hampshire, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Greg has the right "stuff" to teach fly fishing and guide the fly fishing adventures. He loves the sport and it shows!
"I vacationed the 2nd week of July 2015 with my 2 son's in New Hampshire and stayed in the Lopstick Loon's Nest cabin on Back Lake. The cabin was fantastic and the lake fishing was great! We learned to fly fish on this trip too, something I have been wanting to do for years. Our instructor and guide was Greg Inglis. He was very professional, patient, and thorough with his instruction / lessons. After the lessons he took us out on 1st Connecticut River to fish and practice out newly found skills. His years of experience in navigating the various river fishing spots and instruction on the various fly fishing techniques, insured that we all caught fish. It was an amazing experience my sons and I will remember for a life time! There are many “adventures” that Lopstick Cabins can help arrange for you. We rented All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV’s), from Bear Rock Adventures and drove the many scenic miles of trails with these ATV’s. On Friday we arranged T times and golfed at Colebrook Country Club. All in all, it was a great vacation, and if these are things you enjoy too, I would highly recommend that you consider a vacation with Lopstick cabins in New Hampshire. It was GREAT!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible first time!,
July 19, 2015
By: DaveBrady
from Upper Connecticut River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I were going to stay at Lopstick so we decided to take a fly fishing casting lesson. We were then offered a 1/2 day with a guide wading.
We arrived at the lodge on Monday 7/13 and met Greg. He started by showing us different lines and flies as he prepped our rods. We went down to the lawn were we were taught how to cast and retrieve, went to the pond and learned roll casting the off to the wading.
Greg took us to the river just below the 1st Conn Dam. Before we waded out he showed us the different insects that attach to the rocks and how to find a healthy river.
My wife and I then taken to a stretch of the river were Greg taught us how to dead drift nymphs and the use of the dry fly as well. After a while I caught a nice rainbow trout as well a juvenile salmon. My wife Annette hooked 3 or 4 got them close but no landing.
He then took us downstream a bit and showed us how to use streamers as well buggers and how to wade in faster waters.
After 4 1/2 hours Annette and I were tired and we returned to the shore with a lot of first time knowledge that we could use.
Greg's knowledge and teaching style was amazing and his patience was incredible.
We would recommend Greg to everyone wanting a first time experience in fly fishing. We only wished we could have stayed out longer.
We will see you next year Greg!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Fine Fishing Experience,
July 4, 2015
By: DHar
from East Hampton, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were scheduled for a half-day float trip, but when we arrived, Greg said that the rivers were high and the fishing was not good, so he recommended a float on Back Lake for the famed Hexagenia Hatch. We had a great time and caught some nice fish. My son, a beginning fly-fisherman, got some great coaching and was laying out some fine casts by the end of the night! Finally, Greg recommended another pond for us to fish on our own, and my son and I caught 13 fish between the two of us. Overall, we had a fine time and look forward to coming back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience of a Lifetime!,
July 3, 2015
By: RandyR
from Sandown, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Being a first year novice fly fisherman, I was reluctant to signup for the drift boat adventure. But, I soon found out that it was the best thing I could have done. Greg, my guide was great! He explained everything that I needed or wanted to know about river fly fishing. He made suggestions on how to improve things like my casting technique and fly retrieval. I am thoroughly pleased with my experience and plan to go again with Greg."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great expertise - extra effort,
July 3, 2015
By: GerryVT
from Williston, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Good variety of equipment and supplies
"Bill Bernhardt, the Orvis-endosed head guide at Lopstick, provided a high level of expertise and lots of extra effort as we enjoyed a half-day on a small backwoods catching brookies and a full-day float on te Connecticut River. Despite record high water, we found fish and caught many. The famous Lopstick "Shore Lunch" was outstanding. I look forward to doing it all over again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE Lopstick,
July 3, 2015
By: fishinadesert
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Greg was fantastic.
"This fishing vaction could not have been better! Every member of the staff was so friendly and courteous. The cabin was the best - clean, warm, fresh, beautiful, comfortable ... and hearing the river riffling outside our bedroom window, wow, that was the best.
My guide, Greg, provided me with a very memorable experince. I have been flyfishing all my life and Greg is a first rate fisherman - fish hunter, entomoligist, coach, and companion. Greg made my fishing so easy and enjoyable. I have already booked future trips with him.
Jamie and I cannot say enough good things about our vacation at Lopstick.
We LOVE Lopstick."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Lopstick Lodge Outfitters, NH
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 22, 2015
By: Bfl1
from Pittsburg, NH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were plagued with high muddy water conditions , but Greg pulled it off by bringing us into some ponds and leading us along the trophy section of the river . He successfully put us onto fish and displayed a good working knowledge of the river . I managed to catch a huge brookie and many other smaller fish . Greg saved what could have been a disasterous trip ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes