Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Linehan Outfitting Company, MT

In 1992 we incorporated Linehan Outfitting Company with the full realization that this business is ultimately about customer service. Sure we're nuts for fly fishing, but we also know that flannel sheets are extraordinarily comfortable and that fresh, locally grown foods inherently taste better. We also know that impatient, cranky guides are intolerable and that you should never, ever have to deal with one on your vacation. Period. After all these years we're confident with our day-to-day operations, always appreciate suggestions, and promise to give you 100%. So, welcome. Have a look around our company, contact us anytime, and thanks for the opportunity to earn your business.
Average Customer Rating:
4.993 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
150
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
151 of 151(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Review 1 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing Experience!,
October 7, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Island Park, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a traveling outdoor photographer and adventure fly-fisherman I've had the pleasure of visiting many fly-fishing outfitters around the globe. I was very impressed with every step of my experience with the Linhan crew. Our guide Sean was efficient, well-seasoned and he presented the fishery to us spot on, top notch guide.
The food was excellent! Fresh seasonal gourmet home cooked food is a great touch! The lodging is secluded and comfortable and added to the overall ease of the fun fishing experience.
Great fishing, great service, beautiful scenery, doesn't get much better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth the drive,
October 7, 2012
By: Burt2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good guides in a pristine part of the country. Lots of small Rainbows and a great opportunity to land a rare Bull Trout. Very nice cabins, and super hosts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best flyfishing to date.,
June 29, 2015
By: BobH91362
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Buy your flies when you get there.
"I fished with the Linehan Outfitting Company on the Missouri River in early May 2015. Five fantastic days with five different guides, Travis, Curt, Jeff, Tim and Sean. All very experienced, personable and excellent instructors. Each of them taught me something new and the trip was an incredible fly-fishing experience. There is a reason Tim gets voted Guide of the Year, give him a call."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the Bitterroot,
June 28, 2015
By: Rummy
from Libby, MT
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time on the Bitterroot and what a great experience. Guide Shawn McAfee worked hard putting us on fish and Boy were we successful. Will do it again next year, unless LOC has a better idea!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent guides, Great teachers,
June 26, 2015
By: BillandPatty
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our trip was tremendous, thanks to Tim, Sean and the wonderful team at Linehan Outfitting. Not only are they world class guides, but they are fun and wonderful people to spend a week with. They are always enthusiastic and patient. My wife couldn't have had a better experience to learn the sport on her first fly fishing trip-- She is hooked now. And we both caught a lot of big fish. Great fishing, good learning and relaxed fun! The week sets a new standard that will be hard to match on future trips!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing ever,
June 26, 2015
By: Bottles
from Bozrah, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Have fished with Linehan Outfitters for at least seven years. This is the first time we fished with them on the Missouri River. Four days of amazing fishing with fish from seventeen to twenty one inches all day long. Smallest fish during our trip was fifteen inches so I do not know where the small fish were hiding. Best fishing I have had in fifty years of fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
June 25, 2015
By: Noviceflyfisher137
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am new to the sport and with a few pointers from the Tim and Jeff, was I catching trout like a pro!
Beautiful location on the Missouri.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learning to Fly Fish on the Missouri,
June 25, 2015
By: FlyFisherNewbie
from Montana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome staff and amazing shop.
"I am new to fly fishing while my wife is more experienced. I agreed to join her on this trip to share the experience of Lineman Outfitters on the Missouri River in Montana, and I am ever so thankful that I made this decision. This was one of my most memorable trips and has left a lifetime of memories. First, the trip was well organized and perfectly outfitted. Second, on each of our five days on the river we had a different guide who provided his own unique advice on fly fishing as well as nature in general. Each guide was patient, easy to understand, and successful in reaching my and his goals. All of the guides made it fun and educational. Third, each day was a different section of the river with different experiences of fishing as well as natural beauty. Fourth, being with a group of fellow fly fishermen was supportive and enjoyable. Fifth, the float boats were perfect for the river, easy to fish from, and great to cast and land fish. Sixth, lunches every day were simple and delicious. I could go on, but rather let me conclude and say that, as a newbie to fly fishing, all of my fears of shortcomings and lack of talent and experience went away quickly as the guides, the structure and substance of the trip, and the fishing began and rolled along. I especially thank my guide on the first day for his patience and instruction. It set the stage for a week of improvement and fun. We are now planning our next trip to the Yak. Thanks to Lineman Outfitters for all that they did and how they did it, and to all the fish who were so kind in taking my fly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
June 25, 2015
By: flyfishboston
from Boston, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first trip with Lineman Outfitters and it was really very special. Tim has to be one of the nicest and most talented anglers! Each of the guides that work with Tim reflect his values. Each day was fun and fishing the Missouri with such great guides, who were able to educate new anglers, made it a great experience. Our next trip will be with Tim and his merry band of men!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What are you waiting for?,
June 19, 2015
By: troutinman
from Boston, MA, USA
"There are 143 reviews here for Linehan Outfitting Company. 142 are 5 star and 1 is 4 star. Treat yourself to a few days on the river with the best guides in the USA."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Clark Fork Rocks,
April 30, 2015
By: Ipaddulique
from Ephrata, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friend Keith and I fished with Tim in early April. Two days - 14 miles each day. The first day was tough (weather: hard upstream wind, snow) but Tim got us into fish. The second day the weather was much better and the fishing improved. Tim Linehan worked very hard both days, long days. He was attentive, great eyes and a lot of fun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
April 30, 2015
By: Westkootie
from Stevensville, MT 59870, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My Son and I have fished with Tim the past two years in early spring on the Bitterroot river. Tim is hard working, knowledgeable, patient, and above all has unbelievable unending enthusiasm. Absolute highest recommendation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day Fishing,
January 22, 2015
By: charlieflyfish
from Lenoir City, T
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a great day of fishing and conversation. He is a very experienced guide who worked hard to put me on many fish. We shared enthusiasm for conservation and the work of Trout Unlimited and had a very interesting and productive day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing and brownies,
December 7, 2014
By: Tooth123
from Alpine, Utah
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I spent 3 days fishing with Tim and crew last August. We had a wonderful time, caught many fish (20 to 30 daily), met some very knowledgeable and kind people, and saw some beautiful scenery. Most fish are in the 13 to 15 inch range, but some were much larger. We also had shots at bull trout, but were a little early in the season. Be sure to ask for JoAnn's brownies for lunch at least once--they are fabulous!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing, Great People,
December 1, 2014
By: OldDesertRat
from Nevada City, CA 95959, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:High quality staff, excellent assistance
"Miles of the crystal-clear Kootenai River running wide and swift with only mild rapids made this a great challenge. Excellent guides provide excellent instruction and drift-boat skills help the angler carefully present the flies to wary fish in 200, 300 and even longer drifts. I even spent two hours being educated by fish and guides in the art of midge fishing with fine results. This operation is quality and so are its people -- and Joanne's food and smile is right out of Julia Child!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Interesting Outfitter,
November 18, 2014
By: MostInterestin
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would assume that the Most Interesting Man in the world does not always use an outfitter to fly fish, but if he did, he would prefer Linehan Outfitting Company. These guys are a class act through and through. My first experience fly fishing with Tim was in 2013, which brought me back in 2014 ... I have been "hooked" ever since. Linehan teaches one everything one could want to know about fly fishing ... and more. Best vacation ever ... he truly provided a wonderful escape from reality. A++"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Montana,
November 12, 2014
By: Actonflyfisher
from Acton, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Kootenai and the Yaak rivers are spectacular, and Tim & his guides know the waters. This was the most dry-fly fishing I've ever done. Memories and photos of the trip I made in July will sustain me through the long NE winter! Overall, the fishing, food (home-cooked by Joanne!), lodging and location made the trip a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another wonderful trip!,
November 9, 2014
By: troutdvm
from north carolina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I enjoyed my second trip to the Kootenai River Lodge and fishing with the Linehan Outfitting crew in September of this year. Once again, all expectations were exceeded. The guides (Tim, Sean, Travis and Steve) were outstanding. All extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Steve Shaw was especially helpful with his demonstrations and effective teaching of new and better techniques. I already consider all of them as friends. Joanne makes the end of the day a goal in itself with her amazing meals and wonderful company. I feel as if I am among old friends each time I visit and am already planning my next trip out."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic trip,
November 6, 2014
By: Billy1528
from Cashiers, NC, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great location, wonderful fishing, hard working guides with winning personalities, food exceptional and we even enjoyed the 3 hour trip from airport.
My second time here and will return next year.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing fun in NW Montana,
November 2, 2014
By: NThielmann
from Somerset, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:No fly shop
"My husband & I returned to the Yaak valley to spend a couple of days fishing with the great guides at Linehan Outfitting Company. We were able to spend a day fishing with Tim Linehan on a mid-section of the Kootenai, and were able to explore the lower Kootenai with Sean McAfee. Fishing with Tim is always such a pleasure - he is so knowledgeable and patient, and I always end the day with a smile on my face! Sean was able to take us to a remote area of the lower Kootenai, which was filled with fabulous birdlife. We caught some beautiful rainbows in the coves and around the rock formations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes