Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Linehan Outfitting Company, MT

In 1992 we incorporated Linehan Outfitting Company with the full realization that this business is ultimately about customer service. Sure we're nuts for fly fishing, but we also know that flannel sheets are extraordinarily comfortable and that fresh, locally grown foods inherently taste better. We also know that impatient, cranky guides are intolerable and that you should never, ever have to deal with one on your vacation. Period. After all these years we're confident with our day-to-day operations, always appreciate suggestions, and promise to give you 100%. So, welcome. Have a look around our company, contact us anytime, and thanks for the opportunity to earn your business.
Average Customer Rating:
4.993 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
5 stars
137
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
138 of 138(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Review 1 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing Experience!,
October 7, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Island Park, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a traveling outdoor photographer and adventure fly-fisherman I've had the pleasure of visiting many fly-fishing outfitters around the globe. I was very impressed with every step of my experience with the Linhan crew. Our guide Sean was efficient, well-seasoned and he presented the fishery to us spot on, top notch guide.
The food was excellent! Fresh seasonal gourmet home cooked food is a great touch! The lodging is secluded and comfortable and added to the overall ease of the fun fishing experience.
Great fishing, great service, beautiful scenery, doesn't get much better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth the drive,
October 7, 2012
By: Burt2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good guides in a pristine part of the country. Lots of small Rainbows and a great opportunity to land a rare Bull Trout. Very nice cabins, and super hosts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Interesting Outfitter,
November 18, 2014
By: MostInterestin
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would assume that the Most Interesting Man in the world does not always use an outfitter to fly fish, but if he did, he would prefer Linehan Outfitting Company. These guys are a class act through and through. My first experience fly fishing with Tim was in 2013, which brought me back in 2014 ... I have been "hooked" ever since. Linehan teaches one everything one could want to know about fly fishing ... and more. Best vacation ever ... he truly provided a wonderful escape from reality. A++"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Montana,
November 12, 2014
By: Actonflyfisher
from Acton, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Kootenai and the Yaak rivers are spectacular, and Tim & his guides know the waters. This was the most dry-fly fishing I've ever done. Memories and photos of the trip I made in July will sustain me through the long NE winter! Overall, the fishing, food (home-cooked by Joanne!), lodging and location made the trip a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another wonderful trip!,
November 9, 2014
By: troutdvm
from north carolina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I enjoyed my second trip to the Kootenai River Lodge and fishing with the Linehan Outfitting crew in September of this year. Once again, all expectations were exceeded. The guides (Tim, Sean, Travis and Steve) were outstanding. All extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Steve Shaw was especially helpful with his demonstrations and effective teaching of new and better techniques. I already consider all of them as friends. Joanne makes the end of the day a goal in itself with her amazing meals and wonderful company. I feel as if I am among old friends each time I visit and am already planning my next trip out."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic trip,
November 6, 2014
By: Billy1528
from Cashiers, NC, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great location, wonderful fishing, hard working guides with winning personalities, food exceptional and we even enjoyed the 3 hour trip from airport.
My second time here and will return next year.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing fun in NW Montana,
November 2, 2014
By: NThielmann
from Somerset, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:No fly shop
"My husband & I returned to the Yaak valley to spend a couple of days fishing with the great guides at Linehan Outfitting Company. We were able to spend a day fishing with Tim Linehan on a mid-section of the Kootenai, and were able to explore the lower Kootenai with Sean McAfee. Fishing with Tim is always such a pleasure - he is so knowledgeable and patient, and I always end the day with a smile on my face! Sean was able to take us to a remote area of the lower Kootenai, which was filled with fabulous birdlife. We caught some beautiful rainbows in the coves and around the rock formations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kootenai Two,
October 28, 2014
By: DBlair
from Birmingham, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The guides rowed back up river numerous times to put us over productive water. They really made every effort to accommodate our wishes.
"My second trip to the Kootenai & Clark Fork was better then the first. The Linehan guides are among the best in the business. They take you where the fish are. If you have a chance to look up from the fishing, the scenery isn't hard to look at either. I would highly recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linehan Outfitters - A Plus,
October 27, 2014
By: 4Chrome
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent 5 days with Tim the first of September 2014. The guides are A Plus and match the A Plus customer service that Tim provides. If you go, speak up and go to the glacier lake for cutt fishing. Once in a life time experience. No river traffic makes this an exception experience too!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
October 25, 2014
By: DMTack
from Manistee, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A truly great experience. Beautiful part of the country and very knowledgeable guides (Tim and his crew are experts). Being new to fly fishing, this trip provided a wealth of knowledge. Everyday a different part of the Kootenai River, with one day at an Alpine Lake using a float tube. Eight of us stayed at the Kootenai River Lodge which was very comfortable. I appreciated the coordination provided by Dave Leonhard, owner of the Orvis Streamside store in Traverse City, Michigan. Dave is the person that got me interested in the trip. This was my first trip to Montana, it will not be my last."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two great trips,
October 24, 2014
By: beerman
from Columbus, OH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In June and July of this year I returned to Montana to fish the Mizzu and later the Kootnia with the Lineham outfitters. This was my first time on the Mizzu but it will not be my last. Big fish and big wind, warm one day and wintery cold the next. The Kootnia and I are old friends, my forth trip. There is nothing like a Kootnia bread and butter 14 iincher on the line. It will fight like the 20 Incher in the Mizzu. Tim, Sean, Travis and the entire Lineham crew are experts on the river, regardless of the water. I have learned from these people every trip and look forward to my next lesson in June and July of this coming year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Net Runneth Over,
October 23, 2014
By: Xenia
from Shelton, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The Guides shared the latest and greatest Orvis H2 rods and Mirage reels with us and I think half of the group ended up ordering an Orvis package after our trip. They are just THE best.
"I take groups of customers, pros and rookies, on an annual fly fishing trip and we always go to see Tim Linehan and his Team of AWESOME Guides. They're funny, great Guides, workhorses, go the extra mile to make sure we are on the fish, share with us stories of the river, the area, the history and always make sure that WE have a great time each and every day. Their positive attitudes and knowledge of the river never ceases to amaze me. They know the hatch, they know where the fish are and they always take the time to ask us "what would you like to fish for today?" and then make sure all of our requests are not just met, but ALWAYS exceeded. My guests walk away from the river each day just amazed at the action, the lessons they've learned and will have a lifetime of stories to tell about the ones they caught - and the ones that got away. It wasn't an uncommon thing to have "doubles" on and we had more fish in the net than I think the nets were designed to hold. Our nets were literally running over with massive Rainbows, Cuts, Browns and even Bulls. I can't wait to go back and bring more of my friends to enjoy a few days on the river laughing, smiling and staring in awe at the beautiful Kootenai River and The Linehan Outfitting Company Family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
October 23, 2014
By: RodSamples
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First trip to Montana. Linehan Outfitting was tremendous. Guides were knowledge and friendly, Tim & Joanne were very gracious and accomdating hosts. Would recommend Linehan to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trip could not have been better,
October 22, 2014
By: docdavid
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:nothing more to say - should be a 6 star
"Spent 5 days in NW Montana with Tim Linehan and his staff. One hears a lot about fishing in Montana but Tim and his staff made the experience exceptional. The River Lodge accomodations were most comfortable, provided with all the necessities. Now to the fishing - the guides, any and all of those on Mr Linehan's team are beyond reproach: knowledgable, friendly, helpful and patient (I'm new in the fly fishing world). The whole operation is top drawer bar none. I would not hesitate to use Tim and his staff or any outdoor adventure, and plan to explore his world in the future. Thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The amazing five days,
October 22, 2014
By: davem17
from Baraboo, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time fishing out west, let alone in a drift boat. the first day was a learning experience with Steve. Patient, knowledgeable and a great teacher. The rest of the 5 day trip I was stuck with Shawn, which I count my lucky stars to have lucked out with such a fantastic guide and person. I had the time of my life fishing with Shawn. We laughed, traded hunting stories and caught a LOT of fish! He was a great guide and instructor. It is such a pleasure to establish a repore to the point he would just point to a spot and I knew what to do. You won't go wrong with Linehan Outfitters. Great operations and fantastic guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting & Fishing Experience,
October 22, 2014
By: TexasPLC
from Allen, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two of us spent 2 days fly fishing and 3 days grouse hunting. The fishing was excellent on the beautiful Kootenai River. Guides were very helpful and patient and they put us on fish! In three days of hunting we were only 2 birds short of our limits. Plenty of birds and Tim knows where they are. Also got to see some spectacular country as we hiked through the national forest and saw plenty of other wildlife. The cabin was very comfortable. Tim and Joanne know how to treat their guests."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT time,
October 22, 2014
By: afried69
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two of us fished with Tim for three days. It was truly a memorable experience. Tim is an excellent guide and knows the river and the location of fish. The lodging and food was great. It was my first visit to Montana and will surely visit Tim again"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks Linehan!,
October 22, 2014
By: BODell
from Savannah, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would recommend Linehan outfitters to anyone from the newest fly fisherman to the seasoned angler. These are some fishy guides in a fishy place! But the fishing is only a second to the wonderful cooking at their river house by Joanne Linehan. Have been back x2 and plan to go back for many years to come. Thanks Linehan Outfitters for the best Montana fishing experience! Bryan O'Dell - Savannah, GA"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another trip with Tim and Joanne,
September 17, 2014
By: Bottles
from Bozrah, CT
"Three of us spent our fifth visit with Linehan Oufitters Company(LOC). The fishing was excellent and on our first day we put in below the Libby Dam. Our newest member caught a small Kokanee salmon on his first cast and on his second cast hooked a 23 inch five pound rainbow. A great way to start the day!!
All our guides were friendly and provided a wealth of information for all levels of fishing experience.
Will return next year.
Bottles"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket list trip,
September 13, 2014
By: JimKukral
from Cleveland, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I would have like to be able to hold the fish. Our guide wouldn't let us hold them to take a picture.
"First-class experience all the way. Our cabin was beautiful and comfortable. The fishing and guide were excellent. We were novice fly fisherman and by the end of the first day we learned what to do and by the end of the third day we were doing pretty well. I can't recommend this highly enough. Go now. The entire experience was amazing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes