Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Linehan Outfitting Company, MT

In 1992 we incorporated Linehan Outfitting Company with the full realization that this business is ultimately about customer service. Sure we're nuts for fly fishing, but we also know that flannel sheets are extraordinarily comfortable and that fresh, locally grown foods inherently taste better. We also know that impatient, cranky guides are intolerable and that you should never, ever have to deal with one on your vacation. Period. After all these years we're confident with our day-to-day operations, always appreciate suggestions, and promise to give you 100%. So, welcome. Have a look around our company, contact us anytime, and thanks for the opportunity to earn your business.
Average Customer Rating:
4.991 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
108
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
109 of 109(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Review 1 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing Experience!,
October 7, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Island Park, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a traveling outdoor photographer and adventure fly-fisherman I've had the pleasure of visiting many fly-fishing outfitters around the globe. I was very impressed with every step of my experience with the Linhan crew. Our guide Sean was efficient, well-seasoned and he presented the fishery to us spot on, top notch guide.
The food was excellent! Fresh seasonal gourmet home cooked food is a great touch! The lodging is secluded and comfortable and added to the overall ease of the fun fishing experience.
Great fishing, great service, beautiful scenery, doesn't get much better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth the drive,
October 7, 2012
By: Burt2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good guides in a pristine part of the country. Lots of small Rainbows and a great opportunity to land a rare Bull Trout. Very nice cabins, and super hosts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Next Orvis Guide of the Year,
March 11, 2014
By: troutinman
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have fished with guides all over the country. Most are good; a few stand out and there are a few special guides that are darn close to perfect. One such guide is Sean Mcafee who works for Linehan Outfitting Company. Sean has everything one hopes for in a guide: encyclopedic knowledge of the waters, flies, equipment and technique. He's also a heck of a good guy to spend a long day in a drift boat with. I'd like to mention a couple of stories to illustrate what makes Sean a great guide:
1. Last year I hooked into a 31 inch bull trout with a 5 weight rod and 4x tippet. There was no way I could do anything but keep the line tight and pray. Sean chased the fish down the Blackfoot for half an hour. He eventually maneuvered the fish into shallow water, jumped out and got the fish in the net. A few minutes later, after pics, the fish swam away and I hope he's waiting for me next month. That was a 2 martini night for sure.
2. A friend of mine brought her 10 and 12 year old sons out to fish the Kootenai last July. Basically zero experience. As the drift boat approached "Moonshine Island", Sean noticed a fish rising. He grabbed the rod from the boy, threw a perfect cast and handed back the rod. A 15" trout was soon landed. The look on the boys face was priceless. A trout fisherman for life!
Sean exemplifies everything that one could want in a guide. I hope people reading this review have a chance to fish with him soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unique superlative experience,
March 8, 2014
By: Flycaster312
from Evanston, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you consistently fish with 4-6 people, you owe it to yourself to try the following with Tim & JoAnne.
Through a Wisconsin guide (Dave Barron), we arranged a trip for 6 angler's where each day we rotated angler's and guides so that everybody got to fish at least one day with each angler and each guide.
The weather cooperated and was perfect. Each of the guides, including Tim, has a unique approach and everyone was quick to judge the skill of the anglers he had for the day and adjust so that everybody caught fish and had a terrific time. One guy in our group is 85 and has fairly severe macular degeneration. The guides still were able to put him on fish. One in particular got so in tune with what he could do that he had a positively fabulous day.
I preferred the guides who fished the bars in slightly deeper for fewer but bigger trout but have to admit that when a guide had us in spots with lots of trout a bit smaller that was a ball as well.
I had a really nice bull trout attack my fly at the very end of my drift as the fly drifted over the edge of a riffle into a deep pool and he broke me off due to insufficient slack on my part. I have every intention of getting him this year ... yes; I am definitely going back.
The lodge is clean, comfortable, well equipped, and right on the bank of the Kootenai. In the evening the deer just walked into the yard to eat apples and barely paid us any attention.
I have fished in France, Alaska, and many of the western states as well in my "home waters" of Wisconsin and Michigan.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana's Secret Paradise,
February 11, 2014
By: GeBert
from Eagle, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Fishing in Northwest Montana is a little known secret that few take advantage of. Linehan Outfitting Company offers a unique opportunity to experience this consistently outstanding fishery. The guiding skills of Sean McAfee (of LOC) makes traveling to Montana to fish that much more enjoyable! His oarsmanship and "stream knowledge" guarantees an exciting day on the water. I have yet to be disappointed regardless of the many streams or rivers we have fished.
Looking forward to next season!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guides!,
November 5, 2013
By: NPDTampa
from Tampa, FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had a great guides helping us fish that were very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor - we had fun and fished.
This was my second time fly fishing in Montana and I would do it over again! Thank you for a wonderful experience.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hammertime on the Kootenai,
November 5, 2013
By: CRWAT
from Bloomington, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We floated the Kootenai in mid september with Tim and it was a great experience.Tim seemed to know exactly where all of the fish would be and gave me a couple of casting lessons along
the way.The lessons helped and we caught a lot of fish including
a couple of very large Rainbows.
-Many Thanks Tim--It was the best day fishing of my life--
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent experience!,
November 2, 2013
By: texnorth48
from Kalispell, MT 59901, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a blast fishing the Kootenai with my 11 year old son. Great guide service!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
October 26, 2013
By: Billy1528
from Cashiers, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Did not have a fly shop as such. Not needed.
"Fantastic fishing. Guides very hard working, knowledgeable and great companions.
I have fished in Montana many ,many times and have never had better food which was prepared by Joane Linehan.
Will be back.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class trip,
October 25, 2013
By: BODell
from Savannah, GA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Thanks to everyone at Linehan Outfitting for making our trout fishing trip one of the best on record! You can go fishing all over the world but you will not find a better overall experience if you want to float for trout all day and then come home to some of the finest cuisine in Montana. The guides were friendly and eager to put you on the fish - they were a lot of fun! But not more could be said for Mrs. Linehan's meals at their lodge. See you next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Out west fishing,
October 24, 2013
By: Travelingfish
from Harbor Springs, MI 49740, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fly fishing a little over ten years ,I have traveled all over North and South America and look forward to the New Zealand experience some day.but as we all know our lives sometimes complicate our plans,that is why I write this review. I never have as much time to fish as I want so for the past four years I have visited Tim lineman in Libby Montana and fished the Kontney river , it's a wonderful big water adventure and the fish ,every year have been eager to preform. The guides ,equipment and organization are all first class. I will always have fond memories of this river with friends"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
October 24, 2013
By: CaptTom777
from Chicago
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time fishing in he NW , walked into the "River House" (our accommodations) and knew it would be a great experience! Fishing was great on four of the five days and good on the other. The guides were superlative! Great overall experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a great trip,
October 24, 2013
By: Flyphishr
from Glen Mills, PA 19342, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Over ten years of repeat trips and not a bad one in the bunch. All the staff, especially Tim, are knowledgeable and eager to please.
They know the river well and will jump through hoops to make sure you have an enjoyable trip.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
World Class Blue Grouse Hunt,
October 23, 2013
By: DZboston
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Remarkable. I've hunted around the country and world and this was both excellent and unique in many ways. Hunting blade grouse in the open mountains was unforgettable. Tim is an outstanding guide and a great guy. I look forward to my next adventure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
once again a great trip,
October 22, 2013
By: CaptHH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent accommodations and superb food. Fishing guides not only know their river and their business but are also very friendly and personable. Can't go wrong with Linehan"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Professional & Then Some,
October 22, 2013
By: GoFish2
from White Salmon, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It would be hard to say which aspect of our Montana fishing experience with Linehan Outfitting was the most outstanding but the professionalism, skill and friendly adaptability of the guides surely comes to the front. Beautiful setting, hospitality, Joanne's cooking - there just isn't an appropriate response except "Wow" and gratitude. Anyone looking for a peaceful, remote retreat with top of line accommodations and excellent fishing, couldn't choose more wisely"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll be back!,
October 21, 2013
By: TroutTeaser
from Kootenai River, Montana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife, Louise and I had a chance to fish the Kootenai River last September. We spent a day on the water with Steve from Linehan Outfitting CO. It was a fabulous time. Tim and his entire staff were very helpful to us, offering great advice for our do-it-yourself days. We will definitely be back and look forward to fishing with the Linehan team again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great year with LOC,
October 21, 2013
By: troutinman
from Boston, MA, USA
"This year we fished with Tim and Sean around Missoula, on the Missouri and twice in their home waters in Northwest MT. This is fly fishing as it was meant to be and it seems better every year. Tim and Sean know everything there is to know about the waters they fish and work every minute of the day to make sure we "get it done". This year Sean found me a 31" bull trout and his expert handling of the boat allowed me to actually land it with 5x tippet. We love the cabins and lunches from Joanne. We have already signed up for the same four trips next year.....need I say more??"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
magnificent fishing and lodge,
October 20, 2013
By: troutdvm
from north carolina
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing for 5 days with terrific guides and hosted by JoAnne and her magnificent meals......a wonderful experience! Will be going again as soon as possible. Our group of 5 men were thoroughly impressed and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Jeff, Sean, and Travis were outstanding guides and companions and JoAnne was the ultimate host. We had excellent fishing each day and world class dining each night. Could not have been better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent excellent service and customer care,
October 20, 2013
By: DeninCorvallis
from Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tim and company always come through. No one works harder or adjusts to conditions to make the experience as memorable as possible."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes