Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Linehan Outfitting Company, MT

In 1992 we incorporated Linehan Outfitting Company with the full realization that this business is ultimately about customer service. Sure we're nuts for fly fishing, but we also know that flannel sheets are extraordinarily comfortable and that fresh, locally grown foods inherently taste better. We also know that impatient, cranky guides are intolerable and that you should never, ever have to deal with one on your vacation. Period. After all these years we're confident with our day-to-day operations, always appreciate suggestions, and promise to give you 100%. So, welcome. Have a look around our company, contact us anytime, and thanks for the opportunity to earn your business.
Average Customer Rating:
4.992 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (131 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
131 of 131(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Review 1 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fly Fishing Experience!,
October 7, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Island Park, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a traveling outdoor photographer and adventure fly-fisherman I've had the pleasure of visiting many fly-fishing outfitters around the globe. I was very impressed with every step of my experience with the Linhan crew. Our guide Sean was efficient, well-seasoned and he presented the fishery to us spot on, top notch guide.
The food was excellent! Fresh seasonal gourmet home cooked food is a great touch! The lodging is secluded and comfortable and added to the overall ease of the fun fishing experience.
Great fishing, great service, beautiful scenery, doesn't get much better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Worth the drive,
October 7, 2012
By: Burt2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good guides in a pristine part of the country. Lots of small Rainbows and a great opportunity to land a rare Bull Trout. Very nice cabins, and super hosts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
October 25, 2014
By: DMTack
from Manistee, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A truly great experience. Beautiful part of the country and very knowledgeable guides (Tim and his crew are experts). Being new to fly fishing, this trip provided a wealth of knowledge. Everyday a different part of the Kootenai River, with one day at an Alpine Lake using a float tube. Eight of us stayed at the Kootenai River Lodge which was very comfortable. I appreciated the coordination provided by Dave Leonhard, owner of the Orvis Streamside store in Traverse City, Michigan. Dave is the person that got me interested in the trip. This was my first trip to Montana, it will not be my last."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two great trips,
October 24, 2014
By: beerman
from Columbus, OH, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In June and July of this year I returned to Montana to fish the Mizzu and later the Kootnia with the Lineham outfitters. This was my first time on the Mizzu but it will not be my last. Big fish and big wind, warm one day and wintery cold the next. The Kootnia and I are old friends, my forth trip. There is nothing like a Kootnia bread and butter 14 iincher on the line. It will fight like the 20 Incher in the Mizzu. Tim, Sean, Travis and the entire Lineham crew are experts on the river, regardless of the water. I have learned from these people every trip and look forward to my next lesson in June and July of this coming year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Net Runneth Over,
October 23, 2014
By: Xenia
from Shelton, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The Guides shared the latest and greatest Orvis H2 rods and Mirage reels with us and I think half of the group ended up ordering an Orvis package after our trip. They are just THE best.
"I take groups of customers, pros and rookies, on an annual fly fishing trip and we always go to see Tim Linehan and his Team of AWESOME Guides. They're funny, great Guides, workhorses, go the extra mile to make sure we are on the fish, share with us stories of the river, the area, the history and always make sure that WE have a great time each and every day. Their positive attitudes and knowledge of the river never ceases to amaze me. They know the hatch, they know where the fish are and they always take the time to ask us "what would you like to fish for today?" and then make sure all of our requests are not just met, but ALWAYS exceeded. My guests walk away from the river each day just amazed at the action, the lessons they've learned and will have a lifetime of stories to tell about the ones they caught - and the ones that got away. It wasn't an uncommon thing to have "doubles" on and we had more fish in the net than I think the nets were designed to hold. Our nets were literally running over with massive Rainbows, Cuts, Browns and even Bulls. I can't wait to go back and bring more of my friends to enjoy a few days on the river laughing, smiling and staring in awe at the beautiful Kootenai River and The Linehan Outfitting Company Family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
October 23, 2014
By: RodSamples
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First trip to Montana. Linehan Outfitting was tremendous. Guides were knowledge and friendly, Tim & Joanne were very gracious and accomdating hosts. Would recommend Linehan to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trip could not have been better,
October 22, 2014
By: docdavid
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:nothing more to say - should be a 6 star
"Spent 5 days in NW Montana with Tim Linehan and his staff. One hears a lot about fishing in Montana but Tim and his staff made the experience exceptional. The River Lodge accomodations were most comfortable, provided with all the necessities. Now to the fishing - the guides, any and all of those on Mr Linehan's team are beyond reproach: knowledgable, friendly, helpful and patient (I'm new in the fly fishing world). The whole operation is top drawer bar none. I would not hesitate to use Tim and his staff or any outdoor adventure, and plan to explore his world in the future. Thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The amazing five days,
October 22, 2014
By: davem17
from Baraboo, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time fishing out west, let alone in a drift boat. the first day was a learning experience with Steve. Patient, knowledgeable and a great teacher. The rest of the 5 day trip I was stuck with Shawn, which I count my lucky stars to have lucked out with such a fantastic guide and person. I had the time of my life fishing with Shawn. We laughed, traded hunting stories and caught a LOT of fish! He was a great guide and instructor. It is such a pleasure to establish a repore to the point he would just point to a spot and I knew what to do. You won't go wrong with Linehan Outfitters. Great operations and fantastic guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hunting & Fishing Experience,
October 22, 2014
By: TexasPLC
from Allen, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two of us spent 2 days fly fishing and 3 days grouse hunting. The fishing was excellent on the beautiful Kootenai River. Guides were very helpful and patient and they put us on fish! In three days of hunting we were only 2 birds short of our limits. Plenty of birds and Tim knows where they are. Also got to see some spectacular country as we hiked through the national forest and saw plenty of other wildlife. The cabin was very comfortable. Tim and Joanne know how to treat their guests."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT time,
October 22, 2014
By: afried69
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two of us fished with Tim for three days. It was truly a memorable experience. Tim is an excellent guide and knows the river and the location of fish. The lodging and food was great. It was my first visit to Montana and will surely visit Tim again"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks Linehan!,
October 22, 2014
By: BODell
from Savannah, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would recommend Linehan outfitters to anyone from the newest fly fisherman to the seasoned angler. These are some fishy guides in a fishy place! But the fishing is only a second to the wonderful cooking at their river house by Joanne Linehan. Have been back x2 and plan to go back for many years to come. Thanks Linehan Outfitters for the best Montana fishing experience! Bryan O'Dell - Savannah, GA"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another trip with Tim and Joanne,
September 17, 2014
By: Bottles
from Bozrah, CT
"Three of us spent our fifth visit with Linehan Oufitters Company(LOC). The fishing was excellent and on our first day we put in below the Libby Dam. Our newest member caught a small Kokanee salmon on his first cast and on his second cast hooked a 23 inch five pound rainbow. A great way to start the day!!
All our guides were friendly and provided a wealth of information for all levels of fishing experience.
Will return next year.
Bottles"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket list trip,
September 13, 2014
By: JimKukral
from Cleveland, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I would have like to be able to hold the fish. Our guide wouldn't let us hold them to take a picture.
"First-class experience all the way. Our cabin was beautiful and comfortable. The fishing and guide were excellent. We were novice fly fisherman and by the end of the first day we learned what to do and by the end of the third day we were doing pretty well. I can't recommend this highly enough. Go now. The entire experience was amazing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linehan's do it best,
September 11, 2014
By: bill75
from Anacortes, Washington
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Sean Mc Afey should be an Orvis guide of the year.
"y wife, carol and I have been fishing with the Linehans 2 to 3 times a year for the last 10 years.
Tim and Joanne operate their company with the utmost of professionalism and are and have some of the best qualified guides in the business. As a guide and an outfitter, no one does it better than Tim Linehan. He was the Orvis guide of the year in 2013 and we strongly urge his selection as guide of the year in the current year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with Travis,
September 11, 2014
By: MTBillH97KHRB
from San Jose, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished with Travis for two days. He did a great job on the oars - managing the boat. Working hard to get us on the fish. The first day was slow but it was better the next day. Travis did a excellent job in all aspects of the trip. I would definitely fish with him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience!,
September 11, 2014
By: Bigskyrich33
from Missoula, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took my wife and three kids to fish on the kootenai river with Linehan outfitting and this was truly one of the greatest experiences of our lives. We stayed at the river house near Libby which was amazing. If you love fishing with great guides and spectacular food made by Joanne, you must experience this place once in your life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attention to detail,
September 11, 2014
By: SumthinFishy
from Lebanon, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tim Linehan always pays attention to every detail and knows the Kootenai like the back of his hand. He expects the same level of service from his guides as well. They always aim to please and work hard to make sure that anglers have the best experience possible. Couple that with great scenery and you have a winning package for a great fishing vacation.
This last trip we stayed at the beautiful cabins in Yaak and experienced the beauty and solitude of the Yaak valley.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality float trip,
September 11, 2014
By: mpatebowyer
from Libby, MT 59923, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Very good experience for both myself and my lesser-experienced wife. Caught a good and satisfying number of high-flying rainbows up to 16", mostly on dries. Very solid performance by guide and exemplary hospitality by host, Iim Linehan"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome experience,
August 21, 2014
By: WickyNEPA
from Northeastern, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All the staff at LOC were knowledgable, dedicated, and very customer focused in there approach to show us the rivers and streams around the Kootenai .
"We were instantly made to feel welcome when we arrived with an outstanding meal, as they all were, from Joanne. She really is an outstanding cook and her use of local ingredients just added to great experience. Tim, Travis, and Shawn were extremely knowledgable about their waters and where the fish should be and what to use. They made me feel very welcome and provided a great experience in Western fishing and fishing methods, so of which I'm now using on my home waters in the Northeast, Pa. Everyone did an outstanding job, but it seemed to come naturally to them."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Linehan Outfitting Company, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
August 20, 2014
By: Gfalli
from Lexington, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had fished with Tim and his team on the Missouri a couple of years ago so were eager to be with them again for five days on their home water. Our expectations were exceeded! The fishing on the Kootenai varied from day to day, but I had one of my best days ever. One day, instead of the river, two of us were taken to an Alpine lake very near the Canadian border where we fished this pristine setting in float tubes for lively cutthroats. Add to this the wonderful gourmet dinners Joanne prepared every evening and you have an unbeatable experience. I definitely intend to return!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes