Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO

Since 1992, Fly Fishing Outfitters has been serving the Vail Valley. We are a locally owned and operated, year-round, Orvis-Endorsed Guide service and retail location in Avon, at the base of Beaver Creek Resort and just down the road from Vail. We are the only Orvis-Endorsed Guide service in the Vail Valley and a two-time winner of the Orvis-Endorsed Outfitter of the Year award. Our passion is connecting people with nature through fly fishing. We provide every client with a top-notch experience. Whether they are a first-time angler or have been fishing for years, we will match them with a professional guide and guarantee a safe and fun day on the river. Our guides have over 250 years combined experience on local waters. We are also home to the Orvis two-day Fly-Fishing School at the lodge and spa at Cordillera.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Review 1 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fantastic outfitter,
March 13, 2014
By: GarryF
from Mechanicsburg, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Very Professional and friendly
"I had a fantastic 2 day fly fishing experience with Fly Fishing Outfitters and their guide Jeff. From the moment I called John to ask many questions (I'm an east coast guy who had never fished in Colorado before), I felt very comfortable and confident I had made the right choice. They handled everything perfectly! Jeff knew the streams and conditions in March and my son and I had two amazing days on the water. I can not wait to return again and without a doubt I will call my new friends at FFO to set it all up. When my son returned to college after our trip he called me to say this was a fly fishing experience he will never forget, Thanks FFO for making it happen!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Day!!!!!,
February 25, 2014
By: Onion6676
from Avon, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you want to fly fish anywhere between Vail and Aspen, you have to book a trip with John at the Fly Fishing Outfitters in Avon, Co. John has the patience to handle the first-time fly fishers and the in-depth knowledge and experience to guide the most seasoned anglers. He takes pride in putting you on big and numerous trout, so be ready for an exciting day on the water!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding guide,
August 17, 2013
By: Chicks
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I took the two day Orvis class in Eagle Co which was fabulous! All of our instructor were informative and very good at working one to one with us in teaching all the different skills. The third day we took a half day float trip with Outfitters with Kelly Bobye as our guide. He was great! Not only was he a good guide , he was a good instructor, fun to be with and probably the most patient man in the world, as I continually got wrapped up in my line! While he still helped my son catch numerous fish! It was a great day because Kelly was a great guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great introduction,
August 7, 2013
By: REGMSG0713
from Avon, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Attended 2 day school with Jeff and others from Flyfishing Outfitters. Great way to get introduced to fly fishing. Unusually large class but they over-stocked with additional insturctors so there was plenty of personal instruction. Instructors are really passionate about fly fishing. When they are not teaching or 'guiding' they are out fly fishing. Great job guys. We're 'hooked'!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great instruction and instructor,
August 5, 2013
By: WAfisherman
from Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I really enjoyed the 2-day Orvis course in Edwards, CO. The instructor (Jeff Lyons) was extremely patient, friendly, and knowledgable. The course is tailored to accommodate all experience levels and learning the proper technique makes me want to get out there and cast more often! Big thanks to Jeff and Drew."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time, Great guides,
July 29, 2013
By: ChadT
from Castle Rock, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our group's first time fly fishing and Drew & Andy took the time to show us some basics, then they turned us loose to fish. During the day as we got more comfortable at what we were doing, they showed us more techniques and provided as much information as we wanted to know. The guides were extremely knowledgeable and fun to be around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Darned Guide for the Seasoned Angler,
June 20, 2013
By: AshL
from Maryland and Beaver Creek
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"For a guide seasoned fly fishermen are the hardest to guide, and for a seasoned angler a good guide is hard to find. Most guides treat guding as a job, and they should. So it's an 8 hour day, from a respectable starting hour to a respectable end, and a quick slog through the water in the intervening time. But the best fishing is normally spread out over different parts of the day, depending on seasons and hatches and the weather, and the seasoned angler knows that.
Also, under most water conditions there is normally a way to find the feeding fish and catch them and the seasoned angler knows this as does a good guide, but it can often be hard on the guide.
And sometimes, particularly when drifting, you get one shot at a spot, and the guide must get you to the right spot, at the right time for that one shot. That fish, that comes from the tough spot where you know there has to be one, is always the icing on the cake, but it takes a special guide who can gauge the angler and the water and get it all just right, every time.
And often the seasoned angler knows as much or more about fish behavior and bugs and flies and patterns, and the good guide knows his water, and the combination is just the thing. So a really good guide and a seasoned angler make a great team, as long as the two are willing to listen to each other. Too many guides don't.
And a great guide is more than just a guide, he's you companion for the day.
And that guide, the one who can handle a seasoned angler is a rare find.
I have been fly fishing for over 50 years. I have fished with guides on 3 continents. I have done my own share of guiding. And the best darned fly fishing guide I have ever come across, anywhere, is Kevin Wildgen at Fly Fishing Outfitters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd yr in a row,
November 8, 2012
By: drjayk
from Virginia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second early summer trip in 2 yrs.. I had a great time and learned a lot. I am a relative beginner and found the staff thoroughly professional and accommodating to my needs"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slow day but good,
October 29, 2012
By: TITO1
from Avon, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Beatiful day but we did not catch many fish. 3 different species"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time on the Yampa,
October 24, 2012
By: DaveLFlyfishing
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a great time fishing the Yampa for the first time. Lew is a very knowledgeable guide with a lot of patience to put up with a PA fisherman learning about Colorado trout fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great family experience,
October 24, 2012
By: JohnBC
from Beaver Creek, CO 81620, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The reservation website crashed on me.
"We were a party of 6 - mom and dad, 2 sons and a daughter in their 20's and a boyfriend. Our skill levels were from "never-ever before" to ready and able. Our 2 guides handled the situation perfectly - balancing their attention to the target. The whole experience was great from first arrival to the end. We highly recommend it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip!,
October 24, 2012
By: Roger76
from Saint Louis, MO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished a full day on the Roaring Fork river with one of the guides from the shop. It was a wonderful trip, and we landed lots of magnificent trout. My guide was very knowledgeable and professional, and I definitely learned some new tricks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day,
October 24, 2012
By: DaDoc
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished with Jeff on the Roaring Fork on a bright, warm day and hit it big on dry flies! Even with the sunny skies, Jeff was able to get me on the fish and had the browms busting the surface. Jeff was great. He has a zeal for fishing and life. He is a great teacher, knows fishing and the water, and nothing is ever a problem with him.I am a long time customer of FFO and they always come through with a great day in any season. I have tried all of them and have never been disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm Hooked,
October 23, 2012
By: Windsong
from Shreveport, LA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:It was fun just talking with them- thye were as excited about me learning to fish as I was.
"Fly fishing was my father's love and I wanted to find out why. He attended an Orvis School many years ago and loved it. Now retired, I signed up for the school in Colorado to learn right- from the beginning. The school was awesome- beautiful facility and weather, outstanding gear, and the best instructor I have ever had for any such adventure. Jeff Lyon was unbelievably knowledgeable and patient. His coaching manner was relaxed, encouraging and fun! I never felt like a student but a co-enthusiast who he wanted to teach as much as I wanted to learn... and to love the sport as much as he loved it. I had such a good time, I hired Jeff as a guide for a day following the school and we fished the Eagle River. It was worth its weight in gold. I am quickly growing to love this new sport, and to understand why my dad did. I could not recommend this experience more highly to anyone!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great trip with FFO,
October 23, 2012
By: DrewSTLFLYFISHER
from St Louis, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:They need to update their website more often.
"Another good trip with a great outfitter. Lou and the shop staff work really hard to keep their clients happy both in fish numbers and the overall experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Service and Very Knowledgeable,
October 23, 2012
By: NewGuyToTown
from Boulder, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently moved to Colorado and wanted to get back into fly fishing and break some nasty casting habits while getting a better understanding of the hatch. Norm was excellent, patient and willing to answer any questions I had over the two days. Norm not only helped me correct my cast, but spent specific time discussing the hatch and showing me examples. Great service and will continue to use moving forward."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quick trip to Colorado,
October 23, 2012
By: h1025
from Wichita, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great day on the water. Guides worked hard to find fishable water due to the rain that kept coming. Had lots of hits , number of fish landed was not due to the guides. Great day on the water with my daughter and plan on coming back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Novice Experience,
October 23, 2012
By: BruceSchi
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"They were very good at teaching two inexperienced people about fly fishing. My son and I signed up for a half day wade trip and had a wonderful time. I would strongly reccomend it to anyone who has a desire to try fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very Average Guide Trip,
October 23, 2012
By: Paul51
Billing / Reservation: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"My Trip with Fish Outfitters of the Vail Valley was was fair at best. I know that I booked the trip very late in the season and most guides and businesses in Vail are gearing up for the skiing season in October, but this should not mean customer service should slow down as well. When I looked into booking a guided trip I decided to go with an Orvis endorsed shop evan though there are many outfitters in the area. My first contact was with Fish Outfitters was with a guy that I thought was tired of answering inquisitive perspective clients questions. I still booked with them due to the Orvis name. From that time forward the only contact I had with them before the trip were emails stating they had charged my credit card. Most Orvis endorsed shops have the guide contact you well before your trip to introduce themselves and to get an understanding of what your fishing desires are for the trip. I never heard a word from them accept the previous mentioned emails. I called the day before my trip to make sure I was not forgotten,and the person I talked with could not find my reservation at first and had no clue who my guide was going to be and stated that they would not know that until later that day due to it being the end of the season. Not a good start! The guide was nice, he was somewhat of a bragger but nice. His vehicle was filthy dirty like had not washed it or cleaned it out all season. His knowledge of the water was good."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 20 for Fly Fishing Outfitters, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistent Excellence,
October 23, 2012
By: Trout23
from Edwards, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Always willing to share where the fish are biting and what flies are working.
"Fly Fishing Outfitters is my fly shop of choice among the six fly shops in the Vail Valley. They have extremely knowledgable staff and guides who know the local conditions. They are friendly and always willing to share tips about where and what bugs to fish. They know their merchandise and offer honest and useful advice. I highly recommend Fly Fishing Outfitters for guide trips and gear."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes