Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT

Blackfoot River Outfitters is a family-run business located in the heart of trout fishing paradise. Owners John Herzer and Terri Raugland are experienced guides and outfitters who have worked the waters of western Montana for more than 20 years and guided around the world. Our guides know the water, the fish, the hatches, the wildlife, and the landscape. With over 400 river miles within an hour's drive of Missoula, we're able to choose among the dozens of floating and wading options to ensure that, regardless of season, you have a great time and a great opportunity to catch fish. Blackfoot River Outfitters is keenly aware that their livelihood depends on clean water and healthy fisheries. Blackfoot River Outfitters actively supports catch-and-release fishing and habitat preservation.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Review 1 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating the Bitterroot,
April 10, 2014
By: JoeGoodspeed
from Central NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent a couple days floating different stretches of the Bitterroot River in late March -- caught plenty and found John's intimate knowledge of the fish, techniques, and navigating the river to be top-notch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Missoula Fly Fishing,
January 14, 2014
By: 100Rivers
from California, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Book now!!!
"My wife and I stayed at the Blue Damsel Lodge on Rock Creek and were guided by guides Jamie and Adam of Blackfoot River Outfitters. Our experience with the lodge and the guides was outstanding. Our guides were exceptional and so were our FISH!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently Excellent,
September 25, 2013
By: CH20man
from San Diego, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Shop gave good advice on flies and water to fish on days we weren't floating.
"This is the 4th year in a row we have fished with John & Terri and their crew at Blackfoot River Outfitters. We fish a minimum of 3 guided days with them each year; this year we brought my Dad and his buddy and fished a total of 8 guide days. We've fished with 4 of their guides so far - each of them has been professional, friendly, and excelled at putting us on fish. We always learn something new when we fish with the folks from BRO, and they've never let us down when we refer our friends to fish with them as well. Even though there are several good guiding options in the Missoula area, I simply can't fathom working with anyone else."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Blackfoot River,
September 24, 2013
By: FredSch
from Alabama, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Caught fish, had a great time, will definitely fish with Blackfoot River Outfitters again and again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly-Fishing Trip Ever!,
September 23, 2013
By: MJTinSF
from San Francisco, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been on many a fishing trip, but this father/son trip to MT was undoubtedly one of the best trips any one could ever ask for. The fishing was amazingly successful. But I want to give major credit to our guide, James Johnsey. You couldn't ask for a better guide, he helped us yank out monster trout all day. But most importantly, James was an all-around pleasure to spend 3 long days with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip down the blackfoot,
September 5, 2013
By: BobLJR
from Boston, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had 2 great full day trips down the river. Adam Spenner was a great guide.
While my dad has spent a good amount of time fishing in Montana, this was my first trip to the Blackfoot and I consider myself a novice. As such, Adam was a great coach and guide, helping me figure out all there is to know about fishing from a float boat and catching cut throat trout.
A very professional operation which is committed to fishing and guests having a great outing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Fever,
September 5, 2013
By: Coronado
from Jackson, Wyoming
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Words fail to express how fantastic our five days were on the Clark and Blackfoot. But there are no words to adequately describe the experience of flyfishing ( more accurately learning to flyfish ) with our guide Mark Elliott. Even in the last hour of the fifth day you continue to experience an unrestrained enthusiasm and love of this sport that is contagious that you experienced in the first hour on the first day. He is unbelievably patient with recent converts to the sport but enables you to learn and enjoy what you are doing all day. Beyond the technical aspects of fishing he is a delightful and well rounded individual which makes chatting with him between strikes truly enjoyable. He clearly enabled me to "fish above my level" with his knowledgeable advice and guidance. He takes real care in making every aspect of the day work, including his creative lunches. You are truly blessed to have Mark as one of your guides and friends. He represents Blackfoot River Outfitters in a way that encourages patrons to come back and refer. I have now experienced a number of guides and he is beyond the best. The best way to say it is that he makes Louis Coleman look like a piker."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+++,
September 1, 2013
By: seaport
from Chapel Hill, NC
"John Herzer and Terri Raugland are superb outfitters. Their operation is seamless, highly professional, and ever friendly (I count them as friends, having fished with them annually since 2007 as the guest of a close friend and keen angler in Nashville,TN.) John and fellow guide Mark Elliott are two of the best guides on the planet. They know the rivers chapter and verse, nook and cranny. They keep smiling when I present them with world-class tangles and hang-ups. They put me and my pals on fish steadily, consistently, and they continue to instruct in ways that help me become a better angler. I admire also their respect for the rivers, the waters, the fish.
Additional Thoughts: Matthew, Fred, and KynsLee have got it covered in the fly shop. They are pros.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another excellent trip!,
August 27, 2013
By: Steam67
from Holly Springs, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been going to see the guys at Blackfoot River Outfitters for over 10 years now with various groups of friends and family, and I had yet another superlative experience this year. Fished with John and Kurt Herzer for 3 days in mid-June. Nobody works harder to put you onto fish than these guys. They're patient teachers and really cool and personable guys. The rafts are great, the food delicious, and they've thoughtfully considered our needs ahead of time. No need to ever look elsewhere. BRO is the real deal."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great experience with BRO,
August 19, 2013
By: FlyFishMt
"Over the last 10 years or so, we have fished many times with BRO. They got my wife interested in fly fishing on a wonderful Smith River trip, and my son, daughter and son in law have all fished with them now too. They're great folks and fantastic guides, always eager to provide helpful advice. Had a great two days in July with Kurt, who I think is half fish!Can't wait to take the grandkids out with them!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great choice..,
August 13, 2013
By: 25besttowns2ff
from ketchum
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Needed someone to get me on bfoot, cfork and broot for book I am writing (25 best towns to fly fish for trout).. knew of bro from prior trip plus recommendations.. smart move on my part... they delivered in spades.. look no further when you need a guide in Missoula.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Years of Excellence,
August 12, 2013
By: Cheify
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Expert advice, not hard sell. The General manager, Matthew, is responsive and efficent.
"I have been fishing with John Herzer and the guides at Blackfoot River Outfitters two or three multiple-day trips a year since the mid-1990s. John has taught me, my wife and my two children the joys of being on the rivers of Western Montana in pursuit of wild trout. I consider him much more than a "paid friend." It is an honor to share a river with John. I hope and expect that my grandchildren will learn the sport through John, Terri and their colleagues. Top flight, professional expertise and enthusiastic service - whether on the water or in the Shops, none better. Period."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great instruction, congenial companion,
August 10, 2013
By: Edgemere
from Salt Spring Island BC
"Kurt introduced my wife to fly fishing over two days on two rivers and it was a great success. He was a patient, clear communicator, had a great sense of humour, and the ability to ensure that a novice caught fish.
He picked up on a small glitch in my technique [there were likely many more but he was kind enough to only work on one at a time :) ] which added distance and better presentation. The rivers are gorgeous and the fish friendly and the guide an excellent companion.
It just couldn't have been better!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10 out of 10 across the board,
August 8, 2013
By: BizySignal
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"John and the entire team at BRO were the best. 4 of my friends and I did a father/son trip on the Smith River for 4 nights and 5 days. From the evening before in White Sulphur Springs to the take out, this was a fantastic experience/adventure. BRO is top notch. PS. the fishing was good too! lol"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks, John!,
August 8, 2013
By: CapeAnn
from Wenham, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We just finished our third float on the Blackfoot with John, and have two more on the books for this week. John is a patient teacher, and always fun. We've fished with a few different outfitters, but will stick with BRO if we have a chance.
John's enthusiasm is infectious."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quiet Time On The River,
August 7, 2013
By: PapaChief
from Monterey, CA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Wife and I had a wonderful time in the Missoula area, especially after we found Blackfoot River Outfitters and arranged for a half-day guided fishing trip on the Bitterroot River with guide Ted Susen. We had a great day, and even caught some beautiful rainbows. After returning to the shop I asked John about fishing areas we might fish ourselves, he directed us to a beautiful stream about 20 miles east of Missoula. The experience at Blackfoot River Outfitters was friendly, professional and extremely helpful. Thanks John, Terri and Ted for a wonderful time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Guide Service,
July 25, 2013
By: DopplerDebbie
from Richmond, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I recently fished 3 days with Mark Elliott and had an outstanding experience. Only one other time have I seen a guide work as hard to put us on fish. Mark was patient and gave positive reinforcement. He was keen to improve our skills in all aspects of fishing and was delightful company as well. We highly recommend BRO for a great "catching" experience in MT."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Group,
July 24, 2013
By: Noble
from The Woodlands, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just finished my fourth trip with Blackfoot Outfitters. This time I had the pleasure of fishing with my 16 year old grandson. Everyone at Blackfoot went out of their way to make our trip a success. Terry, John and folks in office do an outstanding job in helping organize trip with suggestions as where to stay, eat, etc.
Fished with Peter Bring and "Jazzie" - again this was my fourth year to fish with them. Fishing with these two is always a treat.
Great Outfitter -"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing with Mark,
July 17, 2013
By: kentonr
from Portland, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Mark was a great experience. He had excellent knowledge of the area, water and overall fishery. I've fished with many, many guides on many waters throughout the world and Mark's professionalism ranks up at the top of that list. The conditions we fished were tough (hot and sunny) but we successfully found/caught nice fish. I'd recommend Mark to my most selective fishing partners with no reservation. Everything from reservation process to collateral's (lunch, equipment condition, promptness of pick-up, shop inventory, etc.) was top shelf!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply The Best,
July 15, 2013
By: MackB
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We booked a 1/2 day fishing trip with Blackfoot based on one Yelp review and the fact that they were an Orvis Endorsed outfitter. After spending the day with guide Adam Spenner it is easy to see why they're the only Orvis endorsed outfitter in Missoula. To start with the office staff was very polite, and when booking the trip with Matthew, he was very up front with us about the current river conditions (marginal), and wanted to be sure we understood that the fishing might not be great. For us this wasn't an issue, we just wanted to get out and enjoy the river, but the honesty was refreshing.
Guide Adam was right on time the next morning, and we headed about 30 miles out of Missoula to put in. Can't say enough good things about Adam. He was professional but fun, patient with our novice experience level, and very knowledgable about all things fly fishing and river related (he's a native Missoulan). Despite the river conditions, with high runoff and sometimes brackish water, Adam had obviously planned our route carefully and found us probably the only clear water in the entire river. You could just tell that he wanted his clients to catch fish, even though we were just happy to be out on the river enjoying my GF's Bday, fishing, and having a few beers.
Long story short, we did succeed and managed to catch a beautiful rainbow trout, we had a great 4 hours on the river, the scenery was amazing, and the guide was top notch. I can only imagine what sort of success we would have had under more optimal conditions. I highly recommend Blackfoot, with a special recommendation for Adam Spenner."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes