Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT

Blackfoot River Outfitters is a family-run business located in the heart of trout fishing paradise. Owners John Herzer and Terri Raugland are experienced guides and outfitters who have worked the waters of western Montana for more than 20 years and guided around the world. Our guides know the water, the fish, the hatches, the wildlife, and the landscape. With over 400 river miles within an hour's drive of Missoula, we're able to choose among the dozens of floating and wading options to ensure that, regardless of season, you have a great time and a great opportunity to catch fish. Blackfoot River Outfitters is keenly aware that their livelihood depends on clean water and healthy fisheries. Blackfoot River Outfitters actively supports catch-and-release fishing and habitat preservation.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Review 1 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous,
July 26, 2014
By: bigdave4
from Chester Springs, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished four days with four different guides from BRO. All were great, worked hard to find fish, and fun to be with. Could not have asked for anything more. BRO and their guides made this trip more than we ever imagined. Thanks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best experience ever,
July 15, 2014
By: Tybulltrout
from Strathmore, AB, Canada
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Greatest fly fishing trip ever"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Experience!,
July 11, 2014
By: Mtfishingtrip2014
from Missoula, mt
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Awesome! Our guide Brian was great! Led us to all the great spots. Very knowledgable and nice. Would recommend to anyone. Neither of us had fished before and we both caught a lot!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Superb Experience,
July 9, 2014
By: Coronado
from Jackson, Wyoming
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We spent five days this last week with Blackfoot's Mark Elliot on the Blackfoot River and were even more impressed than our prior two trips. Mark is not only constantly enthusiastic, but a great teacher for someone who has only been flyfishing for a few year. We always learn so much while being guided by him and have a great day regardless of the weather. He is constantly putting us on fish despite weather challenges or high water. The lunches he prepares would even impress the famed angler Lewis Coleman."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
July 9, 2014
By: FlyFishMt
from Philipsburg, MT 59858, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son in law and I have fished with BRO for years. This year was another great experience with our guide, Kurt Herzer. The guy is certainly fishy and lots of fun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of the Best,
June 18, 2014
By: fishordie
from Calabasas, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""Just back from another incredible Missoula, Montana adventure with Blackfoot River Outfitters as our hosts. The term Guide just does not do the BRO family of staff justice as everyone of BRO's highly trained and experienced guides goes way above and beyond what is considered the normal guide policy found elsewhere.
Though BRO is intimate with what I am looking for as far as the experience goes, based on years of history together, I had some new comers to Montana and the world of fly-fishing joining me. Though my friends are and were experienced fishermen,they were newbies to the great sport of fly-fishing.
In advance of the trip, Terri, one of the owners, called to verify what the my friends were hoping to achieve in regards to the experience with BRO. This included finding out their level of abilities and gear they owned so BRO could provide the correct fly-fishing rigs, what kind of personalities these guys had so BRO could match them up with the correct guides, what my friend's were looking for as far as their expectations and of course any and all food restrictions or favorites. BRO really goes the extra 10 miles to make sure all of their clients feel they are getting the best bang for their dollars. Though the big thing is guiding it is the myriad of little things BRO takes care of which really makes them stand out.
Though mother nature controls the environment and the willingness of fish to bite, BRO seems to have figured out how to control most everything else. My friends were catching fish within minutes of being taught the first basic stages of fly-fishing and casting.
By the end of the 4 guided days the guides had my friends fishing and casting Nymphs, Dries, Dry droppers and even streamers. Just as importantly my friends caught fish using each technique. Without BRO this could and undoubtedly would have taken years to accomplish.
The only drawback is the guys raved so much about their experience and sent pictures to our friends back home to the point where I now have to arrange a ton of hosts for next years trip as now everyone wants to go. The good news is Matthew and Terri are handling most everything for us so I just have to make sure we show up in Missoula on time.
In short using Blackfoot River Outfitters for your Guide service is the closest thing you can get to an insurance policy for having an amazing experience in and around many of the rivers and lakes of Southwest Montana. Regardless if you are a beginner or the most experienced angler, Blackfoot river outfitters is "Best of the Best""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome repeat,
June 17, 2014
By: Jabo12
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have been using Blackfoot river outfitters since we first fished in Montana 18 years ago. No better group of people or guides probably exist. We have fished flooded days, 28 degrees in blizzard and always laugh and catch fish. They are remarkable group that fish as you like to fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bitterroot float,
June 11, 2014
By: Cuba1
from Chicago IL
"Father and son trip on the Bitterroot was top notch. John never stopped rowing the whole day, put us on fish, paddled like heck to put us back on fish that we missed the first time, and was a pleasure to be around the whole day. He loves what he does and it shows."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Missouri River Experience,
April 28, 2014
By: Trout2014
from Missoula, MT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went on a float trip for the first time on the beautiful Missouri River with guide Kynlee of Blackfoot River Outfitters. I can't say enough about how great this trip was. Guide Kynlee was fantastic. Her knowledge and love of on the rivers are notable. She is an Orvis-Endorsed Guide. So I felt totally safe and learned so much about the river and other fly-fishing techniques that by the end of the day, I was a better a fisherman/women. She is knowledgeable, courteous and most of all fun to be with. I caught big Rainbows to boot. She’s the guide you want to be with. Blackfoot River Outfitters is an excellent place to go to. They have the most genuinely nicest owners and staff members that work above and beyond your expectations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating the Bitterroot,
April 10, 2014
By: JoeGoodspeed
from Central NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent a couple days floating different stretches of the Bitterroot River in late March -- caught plenty and found John's intimate knowledge of the fish, techniques, and navigating the river to be top-notch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Missoula Fly Fishing,
January 14, 2014
By: 100Rivers
from California, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Book now!!!
"My wife and I stayed at the Blue Damsel Lodge on Rock Creek and were guided by guides Jamie and Adam of Blackfoot River Outfitters. Our experience with the lodge and the guides was outstanding. Our guides were exceptional and so were our FISH!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently Excellent,
September 25, 2013
By: CH20man
from San Diego, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Shop gave good advice on flies and water to fish on days we weren't floating.
"This is the 4th year in a row we have fished with John & Terri and their crew at Blackfoot River Outfitters. We fish a minimum of 3 guided days with them each year; this year we brought my Dad and his buddy and fished a total of 8 guide days. We've fished with 4 of their guides so far - each of them has been professional, friendly, and excelled at putting us on fish. We always learn something new when we fish with the folks from BRO, and they've never let us down when we refer our friends to fish with them as well. Even though there are several good guiding options in the Missoula area, I simply can't fathom working with anyone else."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Blackfoot River,
September 24, 2013
By: FredSch
from Alabama, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Caught fish, had a great time, will definitely fish with Blackfoot River Outfitters again and again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly-Fishing Trip Ever!,
September 23, 2013
By: MJTinSF
from San Francisco, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been on many a fishing trip, but this father/son trip to MT was undoubtedly one of the best trips any one could ever ask for. The fishing was amazingly successful. But I want to give major credit to our guide, James Johnsey. You couldn't ask for a better guide, he helped us yank out monster trout all day. But most importantly, James was an all-around pleasure to spend 3 long days with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip down the blackfoot,
September 5, 2013
By: BobLJR
from Boston, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had 2 great full day trips down the river. Adam Spenner was a great guide.
While my dad has spent a good amount of time fishing in Montana, this was my first trip to the Blackfoot and I consider myself a novice. As such, Adam was a great coach and guide, helping me figure out all there is to know about fishing from a float boat and catching cut throat trout.
A very professional operation which is committed to fishing and guests having a great outing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Fever,
September 5, 2013
By: Coronado
from Jackson, Wyoming
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Words fail to express how fantastic our five days were on the Clark and Blackfoot. But there are no words to adequately describe the experience of flyfishing ( more accurately learning to flyfish ) with our guide Mark Elliott. Even in the last hour of the fifth day you continue to experience an unrestrained enthusiasm and love of this sport that is contagious that you experienced in the first hour on the first day. He is unbelievably patient with recent converts to the sport but enables you to learn and enjoy what you are doing all day. Beyond the technical aspects of fishing he is a delightful and well rounded individual which makes chatting with him between strikes truly enjoyable. He clearly enabled me to "fish above my level" with his knowledgeable advice and guidance. He takes real care in making every aspect of the day work, including his creative lunches. You are truly blessed to have Mark as one of your guides and friends. He represents Blackfoot River Outfitters in a way that encourages patrons to come back and refer. I have now experienced a number of guides and he is beyond the best. The best way to say it is that he makes Louis Coleman look like a piker."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+++,
September 1, 2013
By: seaport
from Chapel Hill, NC
"John Herzer and Terri Raugland are superb outfitters. Their operation is seamless, highly professional, and ever friendly (I count them as friends, having fished with them annually since 2007 as the guest of a close friend and keen angler in Nashville,TN.) John and fellow guide Mark Elliott are two of the best guides on the planet. They know the rivers chapter and verse, nook and cranny. They keep smiling when I present them with world-class tangles and hang-ups. They put me and my pals on fish steadily, consistently, and they continue to instruct in ways that help me become a better angler. I admire also their respect for the rivers, the waters, the fish.
Additional Thoughts: Matthew, Fred, and KynsLee have got it covered in the fly shop. They are pros.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another excellent trip!,
August 27, 2013
By: Steam67
from Holly Springs, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've been going to see the guys at Blackfoot River Outfitters for over 10 years now with various groups of friends and family, and I had yet another superlative experience this year. Fished with John and Kurt Herzer for 3 days in mid-June. Nobody works harder to put you onto fish than these guys. They're patient teachers and really cool and personable guys. The rafts are great, the food delicious, and they've thoughtfully considered our needs ahead of time. No need to ever look elsewhere. BRO is the real deal."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great experience with BRO,
August 19, 2013
By: FlyFishMt
"Over the last 10 years or so, we have fished many times with BRO. They got my wife interested in fly fishing on a wonderful Smith River trip, and my son, daughter and son in law have all fished with them now too. They're great folks and fantastic guides, always eager to provide helpful advice. Had a great two days in July with Kurt, who I think is half fish!Can't wait to take the grandkids out with them!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Blackfoot River Outfitters, Inc., MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great choice..,
August 13, 2013
By: 25besttowns2ff
from ketchum
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Needed someone to get me on bfoot, cfork and broot for book I am writing (25 best towns to fly fish for trout).. knew of bro from prior trip plus recommendations.. smart move on my part... they delivered in spades.. look no further when you need a guide in Missoula.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes