Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Willowfly Anglers, CO

Willowfly Anglers is located at Three Rivers Resort where the East and Taylor Rivers come together to form the Gunnison. We have been in operation since 1983 and employ the most experienced guides in our area. The resort offers a variety of lodging options, including cabins on the Taylor River with private fishing rights. Our summertime restaurant offers superb meals and a bar in a casual patio setting. The fly shop offers friendly advice and a full line of Orvis products.
Average Customer Rating:
4.99 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
97 of 97(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Review 1 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sept 27 Cold Day, Hot Fishing,
October 6, 2013
By: Coupleonthefly
from Taylor River, CO
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Enthusiastic, positive teacher
"My wife and I fished the Taylor River, CO with our Orvis guide, Dave Pinkerton, on a cold (average temp 36F), wet (it rained all day until we were leaving the river) day. Between the two of us, we caught approximately 30 fish (browns, cutthroats and rainbows), including a magnificent 19 inch rainbow. Dave taught us a lot about the Taylor River and we'll do it again in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the river,
September 23, 2013
By: txflyfishers76028
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We really enjoyed fishing with him
"My son and I fished the East River near Almont Colorado on Sept 18 with guide John Bochinno. John works very hard to make your trip special regardless of your skill level. He's very knowledgeable of the river and is a good teacher with clear instructions, tips and information about the fish. Caught Browns, Rainbow and Kokanee. Had a great day on the river and definitely want to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Satisfying Experience,
September 22, 2013
By: Jimjtm
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After many years of flyfishing, I finally made it to the Taylor River, and I wasn't disappointed: the lodge provided decent & reasonable room & board, as well as a friendly & helpful staff. The fly shop was accommodating in arranging an outing to meet my needs, and especially by providing me with the best guide in the many years that I've fished: Dave Pinkerton. First of all, of course, he got me into plenty of good- sized trout, but more importantly, despite my quarter century of river side experience, I learned new things. And he did the teaching in an easy-going modest way. Moreover, he was considerate of my 80-year-old body and saw to my safety in what is certainly not a placid river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Fishing,
September 11, 2013
By: TxFlyer
from Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a solo guide trip with Sam Gigliotti, and not only did we have incredible fishing but an incredible time. Sam was extremely knowledgeable of the River and very helpful with my fly selection. We happened to find a blue drake hatch and spent the better part of 4 hours catching brown after brown after brown! I have never had such a great time fishing the Taylor River as I had that day. We fished multiple locations on the upper Taylor and had success everywhere we went. Sam went above and beyond to teach me which flies work where and why. It was an overall great learning experience, as well as unforgettable fishing. I have had fished with Willowfly on multiple occasions and can say I have had a great time every single time. I would reccomend their guide service to everyone, regardless of their skill level. On my first ever fly fishing trip I went with a guide from Willowfly, and since that time I have improved greatly, maianly due to the help of the guide shop and guides!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Day on the River,
September 8, 2013
By: LorenzoAngler
from Bailey, CO 80421, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My girlfriend and I enjoyed an excellent day on the Gunnison River, thanks to Mark Mohney. Dee is a great angler with limited experience fly fishing. Mark Spent the entire day helping her improve her cast and technique. Dee had a good day on the river. We both caught several fish. Thanks again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day In Gunnison,
September 8, 2013
By: MrFish
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dennis Miller made booking the trip easy.
"A buddy and I fished with John Bocchino the first week of September. Spent the morning catching large trout on dry flies and the afternoon landing large salmon, what a combination!!! John is the hardest working guide on the river. A great day on the river!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Day of Float Fishing,
August 27, 2013
By: ghopper
from Texas
"The two of us with limited to no prior experience had a great first outing. Mr. Dennis Miller gave professional booking and outfitting assistance, while Eric Grand gave us a truly remarkable and educational day on the Gunnison.
Fishing tips, casting pointers, and very interesting information of the Gunnison's eco-system in general.
Caught fish, took in the remarkable scenery, and enjoyed all.
We certainly plan to return, for another time out with Eric ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bocchino,
August 17, 2013
By: crouse
from cincinnati and denver colorado
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:None
"My son and I have fished with John Bocchino for several years. He is the best"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 1/2 great days,
August 11, 2013
By: milwaukee
from ERA, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great time with John Bocchino again this year. Full day on the ERA and half day on the Gunnison. Caught some nice fish even though we ran into a few slow times and needed to work hard for the trout. I'll get that roll cast perfected one of these days."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Float trip,
August 10, 2013
By: Biggun
from Almont, CO 81230, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"August 6 my brother and I took a day-long float trip, fly fishing the Gunnison River in Colorado with our guide Steve Gigliotti. The fishing was a little weak, we only caught 2 fish each. The guide was great and so was his boat. He was very upbeat, personable and knowledgeable. I learned a lot about different fly fishing techniques."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A True Fishing Story,
August 3, 2013
By: acornbelle
from Gunnison River, Colorado, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family has a great day with John Bochino from Willow Fly Anglers at Three Rivers Outfitters.
We caught several brown and rainbow trout but mostly learned more about various fly casting techniques and how to read the waters to be successful. John is enthusiastic, knowledgeable and patient. We had an unforgettable experience
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun, relaxing day on the gunnison,
August 2, 2013
By: Oschroe
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:nice guy
"Want to thank Willow Fly Anglers/Three Rivers Outfitters and Steve Gigliotti for a great day on the river. We booked a full day trip and had a very laid back enjoyable day. The fishing was a little slow but caught a few nice Browns all on cadis drys. Steve was very friendly and knowledgeable. We will be back...!
Thanks
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mother/ Daughter Day,
August 1, 2013
By: GreenFish
from Gunnison, CO 81230, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Knowledgeable
"What a great day with Sophie! Our guide, John, showed her a special time on the East River. I think she is hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20" Rainbow,
August 1, 2013
By: GreenFish
from Gunnison, CO 81230, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Professional!
"Thank you John for another great day of fishing! You are the best. You always make me feel so comfortable as a newcomer to fly fishing. I can't wait to go back out!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Service,
July 30, 2013
By: kruzinblondie
"I just wanted to make sure Orvis as well as Willowfly Anglers knows how valuable of an employee they have with Anna! She was my guide along with another gal Cyndi this past Saturday (July 27th). She is professional, personable and very knowledgably about the sport of fly fishing! I learned SO much from her in a short amount of time and hope to do so again the next time I’m in town. She is amazing! She spoiled us rotten with carrying our rods, driving all over, using all of her own flies, holding on to me so I didn’t fall into the river with my clumsy footing etc., etc. Maybe you could give her a raise!?  Anyway, I just wanted the powers to be to know what a great experience we had and I look forward to hiring her again next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Day on the Water,
July 29, 2013
By: ehm17
from Houston, TX
"Had Eric as a guide and floated the Taylor in July. Great day on the water, and Eric was a terrific teacher. Will definitely do it again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a beautiful day,
July 29, 2013
By: Tulsa3
from tulsa
"My two young sons (11 and 13) wanted to try flyfishing while on vacation at Three Rivers. I booked a half day walk and wade for the three of us and we were fortunate to get hooked up with guide Dave Pinkerton.
He was not only a fantastic instructor, but great company for three fly fishing novices. He made our last day of vacation our favorite memory.
Next time we will start our fishing at the beginning of the trip and keep it going all week long!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing, Great Guides,
July 29, 2013
By: Swede2608
from Almont, CO 81230, USA
"I fished with Willowfly Anglers June 24 through June 28, 2013. My Guides, Dewey and Sam, were both excellent. I fished the East River with Dewey who gave me a running lesson in the the technical aspects of reading water and proper use of the fly rod. This was great since I hadn't used a fly rod in a few years and needed the instruction. Next I fished with Sam with whom I floated 15 miles of the Gunnison River. Sam and I had a great time on the water and I lost count of all the fish I caught. I had brought my camera to take a few pictures however, I was too busy fishing to remember my camera. The only regret I had was that I left my 7.5', 5 wt bamboo rod at home. It would have been the perfect rod for the size of the river. I'm going to practice more with my fly rod and go back again next year. Both of my guides knew the water very well and exactly where to put the fly for successful hook-ups. Everyone in the fly shop was friendly and knowledgeable and most willing to make my trip a memorable one. Special thanks to the fly shop manager, Dennis who arranged my trip from guides down to taking my order for lunch on the river. They all made me feel as if I was the only one to whom they catered."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the Gunnison,
July 27, 2013
By: bscapt
from Willowfly Anglers
"An outstanding trout fishing trip. Three Rivers Resort. Guide Dave Pinkerton was fantastic to fish with and a great teacher on the tech.of fly fishing. I will definitely go back and ask for Dave as my guide.""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing, Awesome Guides,
July 24, 2013
By: JimmyJames82
from Gunnison
""My family and me were in Crested Butte for a wedding and took the opportunity to fly fish through Willowfly Anglers. Steve and Dylan were our guides and exceeded our expectations in every way. Took us to a great location, were extremely knowledgeable, friendly, great teachers, and helped us catch a few very nice trout. All in all a fantastic day. Thank you Steve, Dylan and Willowfly!""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes