Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Willowfly Anglers, CO

Willowfly Anglers is located at Three Rivers Resort where the East and Taylor Rivers come together to form the Gunnison. We have been in operation since 1983 and employ the most experienced guides in our area. The resort offers a variety of lodging options, including cabins on the Taylor River with private fishing rights. Our summertime restaurant offers superb meals and a bar in a casual patio setting. The fly shop offers friendly advice and a full line of Orvis products.
Average Customer Rating:
4.991 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
112
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
113 of 113(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Review 1 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guide,
September 12, 2014
By: LasCrucesHelen
"A group of 8 women fly anglers fished with guides from Willowfly Anglers Sept 7-10. All of us had a wonderful time. Guides all knowledgable and helpful. I fished with Dave Pinkerton on the Taylor for 2 days. He was delightful company and so very skilled and helpful to me. We all can't wait to get back to Almont, Colo. I will request Dave again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is a Great Guide,
September 11, 2014
By: HIja
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished the Taylor River with Dave Pinkerton and hope to fish with him again. He is a skillful and attentive guide and a gifted teacher. He knows the river very well and he helped me fish some technical and challenging water with confidence. Service at the shop was also good. I'll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dylan is terrific.,
September 1, 2014
By: Doald
from Littleton, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent August 25th with Dylan. Worked his tail off to get us into many fish. He has an uncanny ability to untangle snarls, of which there were many, and to tie on flies quickly. Would use him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day with Dave Pinkerton,
August 11, 2014
By: bassman225
from Willowfly Anglers Almont Colo
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Along time friend and fly fisherman of mine gave me a float fly fishing trip.He set it up and said Dave Pinkerton was awesome and wanted me and my girlfriend to fish with him.My girlfriend had never been fly fishing.We caught fish lost some big fish and Dave was GREAT,a real gentleman,the day could not have been better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip with Dave Pinkerton,
August 10, 2014
By: RonJr
from Warrenton, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My son (17) and I floated the Gunnison with Dave Pinkerton. Great Trip! Dave was very knowledgeable and was quite patient with us, especially the teenager! After teaching high school, Dave knows just how to handle a teenager. Caught some nice fish too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Streamer Fishing with Dylan!,
August 9, 2014
By: Ricgua
from Highland Park, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went fishing with Dylan on July 3 and had an amazing trip! He had 3 rods ready to rock and put me on fish right away. I was even more enthused when he expressed a sincere interest in streamer fishing and immediately challenged me with a double streamer rig. I learned a lot and he had the where with all to tell me "settle down" as my excitement got the best of me sometimes. Quality over quantity he would say about my casts. I feared for him sometimes as my backcast sometime got away from me. His boat management was on point as it allowed me to hit as many spots as possible. I will return and hope Dylan is there to take me out again. It was an absolute joy moving some fish. Well done Dylan! I forgot the guys name from the shop but I do know he spent some time in NJ and was great as well. Willowfly is a solid operation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son-in-law's first!,
August 7, 2014
By: Hubbahubba
from Almont, CO 81230, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We were totally impressed and have recommended to one and all.
"We went with Bradley Crosby on my son-in--law's first ever fly fishing on the lower Gunnison booked out of Three Rivers in Almont Colorado and it was a total success!!!!!!! Bradley was incredibly informative and supportive, and I (the 70 year old "experienced" hand got as much put of it as the newbie!!!!!!). We'll be back.
P.S. Dennis Milller, the shop manager is great and I have used the shop many times. He was able to roll with the punches and alter our plans to conform with existing conditions.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fishing,
August 7, 2014
By: KirkfromTexas
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:First rate guide, great person, great teacher
"My Father in Law took my on my first fly fishing trip. I had very high expectations and they were more than met by Dennis Miller and our guide, Bradley Crosby.
They were patient, instructive, encouraging, and most importantly made it a memory that I will share with my father-in-Law for years to come.....plus, I am now hooked! Where do I get the gear? :)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SO FUN!,
August 7, 2014
By: Mason312
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Guide and great trip! No complaints, keep it up. Very fun and smooth trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent fishing guide,
July 31, 2014
By: marjiii
from Almont Colorado
"Had a fantastic day of fishing the Gunnision with Dylan Rome from the Willowfly Outfitters at Three Rivers, Almont, CO. Dylan was very knowledgeable of the River and was able to put me into many fish!! Dylan was great fun to fish with and although I've been a fly fisher for many years, I still learned new "tricks do the trade" & caught lots of nice fish in just a morning float. I highly recommend this guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Floating Fly Fishing Fun,
July 22, 2014
By: HammerHead2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:As I said before Dylan was very personable, knowledgable, and patient!
"After having a tough time fishing by ourselves, my wife and I decided to take a fly fishing float trip. We had a great time! Our guide was Dylan and he was knowledgable, patient, and fun! My wife had never fly fished before and I was very rusty, but he took the time to teach us in a very clear and simple way. Even though the river was flowing high and fast, we were still able to catch several fish. Dylan worked his butt off getting us to the best spots and helping us with tangles and catching those fish! Dylan was also full of local information and was extremely knowledgeable about fishing! Our only regret was that we didn't book it for the whole day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fun trip,
July 17, 2014
By: jeffkatie1734tx
from almont colorado
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"took my 13 year old daughter with crosby and would recommend you do the same !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Fishing at its Best,
June 22, 2014
By: ChrisVTME
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Master teacher
"I chose Willowfly because I wanted to be able to fish with my two teenagers. But what I didn't realize is what a fine outfit they were and what a fabulous guide I would get in Dave Pinkerton. Dave's guidance may have turned my kids into life-long fly fishermen. Couldn't have had a better day!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
May 28, 2014
By: Rsumruld
from Aurora, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:full of usefull knowledge and help
"We took off 5-25-14 in the rain, Erik was a great guide and full on knowledge and help. Within 90 minutes I had landed my first brown and taken a bath in the river. Erik took me to a lot of spots to fish different types of water. If possible will be back as soon as I can. The 3 rivers resort was just a friendly the whole weekend was a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing for monsters!,
May 13, 2014
By: Rich60
from Monument, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great guide!
"Dewey took me to the upper Taylor where I learned a new nymph rig that I can now use anywhere. Sight fished for the biggest fish I have ever seen in a river. Hooked, landed, and released some beauties. The picture below wasn't the biggest, but it was gorgeous!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Little Piece of Heaven,
April 29, 2014
By: Momjm
from Gunnison, CO 81230, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went fishing with my 2 sons and a friend for the day with guide Dave Pinkerton on the Taylor River. He is an avid fly fisherman who knows the holes and can make your day an experience to remember. Highly recommend him for all ability levels. Will visit this special place again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sept 27 Cold Day, Hot Fishing,
October 6, 2013
By: Coupleonthefly
from Taylor River, CO
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Enthusiastic, positive teacher
"My wife and I fished the Taylor River, CO with our Orvis guide, Dave Pinkerton, on a cold (average temp 36F), wet (it rained all day until we were leaving the river) day. Between the two of us, we caught approximately 30 fish (browns, cutthroats and rainbows), including a magnificent 19 inch rainbow. Dave taught us a lot about the Taylor River and we'll do it again in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the river,
September 23, 2013
By: txflyfishers76028
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We really enjoyed fishing with him
"My son and I fished the East River near Almont Colorado on Sept 18 with guide John Bochinno. John works very hard to make your trip special regardless of your skill level. He's very knowledgeable of the river and is a good teacher with clear instructions, tips and information about the fish. Caught Browns, Rainbow and Kokanee. Had a great day on the river and definitely want to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Satisfying Experience,
September 22, 2013
By: Jimjtm
from Mountain View, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After many years of flyfishing, I finally made it to the Taylor River, and I wasn't disappointed: the lodge provided decent & reasonable room & board, as well as a friendly & helpful staff. The fly shop was accommodating in arranging an outing to meet my needs, and especially by providing me with the best guide in the many years that I've fished: Dave Pinkerton. First of all, of course, he got me into plenty of good- sized trout, but more importantly, despite my quarter century of river side experience, I learned new things. And he did the teaching in an easy-going modest way. Moreover, he was considerate of my 80-year-old body and saw to my safety in what is certainly not a placid river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Fishing,
September 11, 2013
By: TxFlyer
from Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a solo guide trip with Sam Gigliotti, and not only did we have incredible fishing but an incredible time. Sam was extremely knowledgeable of the River and very helpful with my fly selection. We happened to find a blue drake hatch and spent the better part of 4 hours catching brown after brown after brown! I have never had such a great time fishing the Taylor River as I had that day. We fished multiple locations on the upper Taylor and had success everywhere we went. Sam went above and beyond to teach me which flies work where and why. It was an overall great learning experience, as well as unforgettable fishing. I have had fished with Willowfly on multiple occasions and can say I have had a great time every single time. I would reccomend their guide service to everyone, regardless of their skill level. On my first ever fly fishing trip I went with a guide from Willowfly, and since that time I have improved greatly, maianly due to the help of the guide shop and guides!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes