Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Willowfly Anglers, CO

Willowfly Anglers is located at Three Rivers Resort where the East and Taylor Rivers come together to form the Gunnison. We have been in operation since 1983 and employ the most experienced guides in our area. The resort offers a variety of lodging options, including cabins on the Taylor River with private fishing rights. Our summertime restaurant offers superb meals and a bar in a casual patio setting. The fly shop offers friendly advice and a full line of Orvis products.
Average Customer Rating:
4.992 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (124 reviews)
5 stars
123
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
124 of 124(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Review 1 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Spring Creek, Almont,CO,
June 21, 2015
By: Jeff58
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:GREAT GUIDE, HIGHLY RECOMMEND
"Three friends went in a 1/2day fishing trip in Almont, ℅ with guide Dave Pinkerton out of Three Rivers Resort. Before I get to Dave, I want to recognize the fly shop at 3Rivers Resort, Dennis called us the night before and was straight forward and honest about the river conditions (very high). Good to see a guide being straight with you, not looking to just cash a check. This shop gets my recommendation. Dave, was our guide, he was top notch, and I've fished with a lot of guides, I put him at the top of the list. He was a "teacher" first' he wanted us to understand what we were fishing and why, the conditions' what flies to throw (wet flies and streamers). We landed fish in some very tough conditions, and we have Dave Pinkerton to thanked for a great morning trip. His equipment was in good shape, had no problems using the gear. I will use Dave on my next trip up here and I would recommend Dave to all my friends without reservations. Thanks Dave for a fun day, hope to see you again soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing on Spring creek,
June 20, 2015
By: Satxflyfish
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went fly fishing for the first time with two friends. Had a great time, caught some fish, learned a lot from our guide. Our guide Dave Pinkerton was patient given our inexperience and provided guidance so that we enjoyed ourselves. He was fantastic. Would go again and request him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring Creek with Dave Pinkerton,
June 15, 2015
By: rhschulz
from Almont, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great teacher and very patient guide
"Through Willowfly Anglers we had done a walk/wade on the Taylor river the previous day and wanted to try sometime off the beaten path. Dave Pinkerton was our guide for myself and 2 adult children. A teacher by profession, Dave is an awesome guide. Very personable and, of course, a great educator on all aspects of fly fishing. I would highly recommend Dave as someone you would love to spend your day on the water with, whether you caught fish or not, which we definitely did catch plenty of fish, but the pleasure was in the journey."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is Great!,
June 7, 2015
By: ChrisLauraBigRainbow
from Campton Hills, IL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Pinkerton guided my wife and I on a great all day trip on the Taylor River. Very experienced with the local waters and excellent in figuring out proper flies and rig to catch. Interested in what we wanted to accomplish and delivered a great day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Guide,
June 6, 2015
By: mwagner
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The best
"Early June trip with Dave Pinkerton. Water was high and fast, but we caught 26 trout between two of us. Dave was very patient and made the experience simply great. Everyone we dealt with was very nice and helpful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks,
May 8, 2015
By: Redraider
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Eric Kiklevich - Just a quick note to say thanks for a good fishing trip. I appreciated your patience and your efforts to show Brad and me a good time. I especially wanted to thank you for all your instructions and willingness to help me be a better fly fisherman. Catching some nice trout was pretty cool as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Gunnison,
December 13, 2014
By: billbdenverco
from Denver, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A friend and I met with our guide, Dylan Rome, at the shop at Three Rivers Resort and got an early start on what turned out to be an outstanding day. Dylan knew the water and what bugs were working throughout the day. He consistently was able to select the best water to work and to put us in the right position with the right fly. When he believed that drys would be coming off below our original take out, he called the shop to have us shuttled from further down river. I thought he was an outstanding guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great teacher! Great time!,
October 16, 2014
By: JordAnne
from Crested Butte, CO 81224, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fun time
"This was my wife and eyes first ever experience flyfishing. We came in with zero knowledge barely knowing how to hold the pole. Patrick Black-Dale was our guide and did a phenomenal job coaching us through the flyfishing experience without making us feel dumb. He was very interactive with both of us ensuring that we were giving ourselves the best opportunity to catch fish while having a great time. Several times I tangled my line, got it stuck in a tree, buried it on a branch in the river, and the list goes on! Patrick was incredibly patient with us and very informative the entire trip. As first timers and much thanks to Patrick's expertise, we even caught four brown trout… we can't wait to go back again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing with outstanding guides,
September 27, 2014
By: Cazador45
from Columbus, TX
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Amongst the if not the very best guides I have fishwd with
"Four of us "seniors" of varied agility and fly fishing experience and expertise arrived at Three Rivers on 08/23/14. We asked for a nearby place to fish that afternoon and Dennis, the fly shop manager, took us across the road to the boat launch ramp where using the "mole flies" he recommended we caught a very good number of beautiful browns.
Then on 08/25/14, we were guided by Roark and his son Eric on a stretch of private water on the East river. Their professionalism, knowledge of the river, attention to detail, ability to teach and to adjust to the different needs of their customers resulted in a "we must repeat" experience for the 4 of us, so we have already booked at Three Rivers for August 2015 and will fish again with Roark and Eric"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Colorado Fishing,
September 23, 2014
By: Tooth123
from Alpine, Utah
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Highly recommended
"My wife and I spent a week lodging and fishing with Willowfly. It was our first trip to CO. We loved every minute. The cabins were very quiet and clean. The outfitter was knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, organized--didn't miss a beat. Our guide was Eric Kiklevich, a local expert who knew the river and its fish well. We caught fish all day. You can't beat local wisdom when it comes to fishing a new place. The scenery is outstanding (this is the Rocky Mountains, after all). We'll be heading back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
taylor creek tailwater,
September 21, 2014
By: bomersooner
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had planned to float Gunnison but silted up so Brad suggested Taylor tailwater.Fish are tuff there in Sept. they've son a lot of flies.but Brad got my wife and I on some fish and made the Taylor exciting and enjoyable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guide,
September 12, 2014
By: LasCrucesHelen
"A group of 8 women fly anglers fished with guides from Willowfly Anglers Sept 7-10. All of us had a wonderful time. Guides all knowledgable and helpful. I fished with Dave Pinkerton on the Taylor for 2 days. He was delightful company and so very skilled and helpful to me. We all can't wait to get back to Almont, Colo. I will request Dave again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is a Great Guide,
September 11, 2014
By: HIja
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished the Taylor River with Dave Pinkerton and hope to fish with him again. He is a skillful and attentive guide and a gifted teacher. He knows the river very well and he helped me fish some technical and challenging water with confidence. Service at the shop was also good. I'll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dylan is terrific.,
September 1, 2014
By: Doald
from Littleton, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent August 25th with Dylan. Worked his tail off to get us into many fish. He has an uncanny ability to untangle snarls, of which there were many, and to tie on flies quickly. Would use him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day with Dave Pinkerton,
August 11, 2014
By: bassman225
from Willowfly Anglers Almont Colo
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Along time friend and fly fisherman of mine gave me a float fly fishing trip.He set it up and said Dave Pinkerton was awesome and wanted me and my girlfriend to fish with him.My girlfriend had never been fly fishing.We caught fish lost some big fish and Dave was GREAT,a real gentleman,the day could not have been better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip with Dave Pinkerton,
August 10, 2014
By: RonJr
from Warrenton, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"My son (17) and I floated the Gunnison with Dave Pinkerton. Great Trip! Dave was very knowledgeable and was quite patient with us, especially the teenager! After teaching high school, Dave knows just how to handle a teenager. Caught some nice fish too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Killer Streamer Fishing with Dylan!,
August 9, 2014
By: Ricgua
from Highland Park, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went fishing with Dylan on July 3 and had an amazing trip! He had 3 rods ready to rock and put me on fish right away. I was even more enthused when he expressed a sincere interest in streamer fishing and immediately challenged me with a double streamer rig. I learned a lot and he had the where with all to tell me "settle down" as my excitement got the best of me sometimes. Quality over quantity he would say about my casts. I feared for him sometimes as my backcast sometime got away from me. His boat management was on point as it allowed me to hit as many spots as possible. I will return and hope Dylan is there to take me out again. It was an absolute joy moving some fish. Well done Dylan! I forgot the guys name from the shop but I do know he spent some time in NJ and was great as well. Willowfly is a solid operation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son-in-law's first!,
August 7, 2014
By: Hubbahubba
from Almont, CO 81230, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We were totally impressed and have recommended to one and all.
"We went with Bradley Crosby on my son-in--law's first ever fly fishing on the lower Gunnison booked out of Three Rivers in Almont Colorado and it was a total success!!!!!!! Bradley was incredibly informative and supportive, and I (the 70 year old "experienced" hand got as much put of it as the newbie!!!!!!). We'll be back.
P.S. Dennis Milller, the shop manager is great and I have used the shop many times. He was able to roll with the punches and alter our plans to conform with existing conditions.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fishing,
August 7, 2014
By: KirkfromTexas
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:First rate guide, great person, great teacher
"My Father in Law took my on my first fly fishing trip. I had very high expectations and they were more than met by Dennis Miller and our guide, Bradley Crosby.
They were patient, instructive, encouraging, and most importantly made it a memory that I will share with my father-in-Law for years to come.....plus, I am now hooked! Where do I get the gear? :)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Willowfly Anglers, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SO FUN!,
August 7, 2014
By: Mason312
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Guide and great trip! No complaints, keep it up. Very fun and smooth trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes