Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Unicoi Outfitters, GA

Unicoi Outfitters has been North Georgia's number one fly shop and guide service since we opened up on the banks of the Chattahoochee River in 1994. We are a long-time Orvis dealer and proud to now be an Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Outfitter. In addition to a full range of fly fishing tackle and supplies, we offer extensive guided fishing opportunities that aren't available anywhere else.
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 of 29(97%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Review 1 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality time spent,
February 17, 2015
By: Puddlefinder
from Helen, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great afternoon on the river with my son and our guide Phil. It was cold windy and overcast, not usually good for catching fish in my experience, but we managed to pull in six or seven very nice rainbows, all over 16 inches, in our four hours on the river that day. Phil gave us pointers on how to cast in those conditions and led us to some great spots. My son and I are looking forward to coming back and doing it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Shop,
January 31, 2015
By: PLarkin
from Manchester, VT 05255, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I spent a 3 hour tour with our guide Ken. We had a terrific day. I really appreciated how patient Ken was with my young son teaching him how to roll cast and handle the river, Ken went out of his way to ensure my son and I both had a great day. Highly recommend this shop"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super guide, Super company !!,
January 6, 2015
By: Paul1019
from Ocala FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On 12/28/14 I visited Unicoi Outfitters. What a great experience. I asked, but not expecting a positive answer, if a guide would be available the next day. To my surprise a call was made to a guide. Bam, Phil Culver agreed to meet up the next day!! We had a very rewarding afternoon catching a couple nice Rainbows. He turned out to be extremely knowledgeable about the stream. the fish and proper techniques. I even learned several roll cast methods. I highly recommend this company and Phil Culver, guide. Thanks for a wonderful experience !!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!!,
July 3, 2014
By: Seb22
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Couldn't have asked for a better experience
"My sister and I purchased this for our mother's Christmas gift - a girl's weekend in the mountains, plus something off the bucket list. For three city girls with absolutely no idea what we were doing, George was amazingly patient - and a great teacher!! We had a blast, and managed to all catch at least one. Everyone at the shop was super nice, and the value for the experience was more than fair. If we ever make the trip back, I will be sure to request George again, although I'm sure all of their guides are great. He explained everything we needed to know, was helpful beyond belief, and has a great sense of humor on top of everything!! Two thumbs up!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lost Count,
June 5, 2014
By: Justiflyed
"I’ve been on 3 guided trips with UO and all have been great experiences. The guides that I’ve worked with so far (Jake, Chuck, and Phil) have been knowledgeable, professional and most importantly patient. These guys know their water and each time they’ve put me on some awesome rainbows. They also set my wife up with waders and let her tag along to take pics (you’ll want pics of what you catch here). In the shop, they were helpful and more than happy to answer any questions I had regarding gear. Will certainly be back to fish with them again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Literally, I am now hooked.,
May 29, 2014
By: Ritebike
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I learned far more than I expected.
"My brother and I bought our Father a fly fishing kit for Christmas. It was given to him, to give him a new hobby, so our Mother could get some piece and quiet from time to time. I agreed to go fishing with him in Helen, GA. We decided to get a guide for our first outing. That was the best decision that we both have ever made, and agreed upon together. I am drawing a blank on our guides name, I want to say it was Chuck, but I do remember that he was leaving for Colorado for the Summer. He was awesome, and he taught both of us a lot. Seeing the HUGE smile on my Fathers face was worth it. I have bought a rod and reel since, I had that good of a time. Talked to the owner of the shop for a good deal of time. My only suggestion is this. Go ahead and put your waders on before you walk into the shop, because it gets deep from all of the talk going on inside."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenominal Experience!,
May 22, 2014
By: RGCFLA
from Delray Beach, FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"4 of us came up from the Rod and Gun Club of Florida to experience Ga. fly fishing. We had heard great things about the area and Unicoi Outfitters specifically. They exceeded our already lofty expectations! The staff was knowledgeable, patient and very helpful. They made our 3 days of fishing easy! Our guides George, Chuck, Jake and Ryan were all terrific. They know their stuff, worked really hard to make sure we had the right fly's to catch the fish they put us on and were patient and fun! We are already planning a return trip in the Fall. Thanks again guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful & Exciting Experience,
April 8, 2014
By: Aquarius
from Bluffton, SC
"I took up FF 4 yrs ago and have a couple of guide trips under my belt. This was my first Unicoi experience with guide Ron Thomas. I had a blast. I caught some great fish and even hooked, but also lost,a couple of lunker rainbows (Ron said one was a 5 or 6 pounder). What a thrill. Ron is a superb guide- very patient, friendly and knowledgable. The staff at Uncoi Outfitters were also very friendly and helpful. What a great team.
My FF buddies and I will surely be back for some more excitement on Uncoi's trophy water.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience worth the money!,
November 4, 2013
By: CoachCole
from Helen, GA
"This was the 3rd trip (or lesson) I've purchased as a gift. Unicoi Outfitters, up to their usual 5 star standards, made it a great day for my fly-fishing novice friend. The guide was patient and professional. I'll continue to make this my go-to gift for that hard to buy for person on my gift list!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide, Jake Darling,
November 2, 2013
By: StanBishop
from Bradenton, FL
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three of us (one from Florida, one from Texas, and one from Colorado) booked an all day fly fishing trip with Jake during October 2013. I had used him in the past and was excited for the other two men to meet him and have him show them a rewarding day of fishing. Jake did not disappoint. Each of us caught several large trophy trout, and Jake accommodated our every need. He is very patient, as we all three had snarled lines at some point during the day. Additionally, when the fish decided not to bite, Jake changed tactics and almost immediately we were catching trout once again. For the Texan and Coloradan, both expressed only the highest praise for Jake and admitted at days end that they had never had such a rewarding and productive trout fishing experience. And the man from Colorado admitted his state does not have trout the size he caught that day. A day well spent. I can recommend Jake Darling to anyone, from novice through world-class fishermen."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome guide!,
October 21, 2013
By: RLS77
from Helen, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great day of fishing on Chestatee with Unicoi Outfitter guide Jake Darling. Brute trout and a great guide makes for an awesome day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Intro to flyfishing at its best,
September 16, 2013
By: Ridgwayk
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The team at Unicoi Outfitters have consistently gotten high marks for customer service for many years.
It was with this in mind that my wife gave me the Intro to Flyfishing lessons as a gift. She knew I had expressed interest for some time and there was no question as to where we would take the lesson.
Jake was our instructor and our guide for the day. Jake was patient, answered all my many questions throughout the day, about how, why, when, etc. At the end of the class, Jake did a great job of putting together a great fly fishing set up with Orvis rod and reel and line.
I took a friend of mine with me and I can tell you we both had a great time.
The staff at Unicoi has a passion about trout. They know about the local streams and rivers and are eager to share their knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time!,
August 2, 2013
By: Giantrider
from Clayton, Ga
"I've been a fisherman my whole life but limited knowledge of fly fishing. My dad and I bought the Gilligan package and I learned so much in the time on the water. Our guide, George, was very patient and beyond helpful. I cant remember ever having such a great time fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great Gift and Experience,
May 11, 2013
By: JacketFan
from Milton, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife gave my son and me the Gilligan package for Christmas. I waited nearly 18 months to make a reservation and the folks at Unicoi Outfitters were great taking care of everything. The equipment we used was first rate and George our guide was awesome. A good instructor and very patient he made it a very memorable experience. I recommend everyone give fly fishing a try with a three hour tour."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good day fishing!,
April 26, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Gray, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"George was an excellent guide, he was exactly what I was looking for. Not only did we catch a good many fish we also caught some very large ones. He was an excellent teacher and a lot of help with improving my fly fishing techniques and my knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two days of perfection,
April 23, 2013
By: CRB3
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our two days of fishing in Helen will go down as one of the most memorable. What a spectacular place. The fish were plenty and large. Thanks George for being so patient and helpful and for putting us on fish like never seen. We will be back soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Guide and outfitter,
April 22, 2013
By: Bendback
from Unicoli Outfitters, Helen Georgia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Had the opportunity to fish with Unicoi Outfitters and guide George MacMillan for 2 days. I can't say enough about wat a fantastic time I had fishing with George. Great guy and extremely knowledge. Caught plenty of fish with some real beauties. The shop was well stocked and was a joy to book and complete this great trip. I will be back in November and would recommend these guys wholeheartedly ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Super Spring Day on the River,
March 31, 2013
By: CantonDi
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"George was a wonderful guide giving us maximum exposure to so many fish. Flies chosen were very effective. I caught the largest fish I have ever caught. George also was a great teacher and helped me improve my techniques. It was such a pleasurable day. Thanks for your help, George!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Day,
March 31, 2013
By: SouthernAccent
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Of all the days I have spent fishing, and of all the fish I have caught in my lifetime - yesterday's trip with Chuck Head of Unicoi Outfitters was the most fun and memorable trip I have ever had! We lost count by around 10:30am, but we estimated landing 25+ fish, the largest being a 13-lb rainbow (my personal best) and two others around 10-lbs each. I have traveled far and wide in search of fishing adventures, and have never found another that can match the service and expertise provided by the guys at Unicoi Outfitters and Chuck himself. Thanks again and I'll see you again in a few weeks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than anticipated,
March 25, 2013
By: FlyingGa
from Appling Ga
"A very big Thank You for the great fishing trip. It was better than anticipated and Jake made it easy and enjoyable.
When you catch so many, you lose count, that’s a good day! Estimated between 25-30, with a 6 lb tops, does not count the 10 or so early releases, including a couple at 4-6 lbs.
I will recommend to friends.
Thanks again to Jake!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes