Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Unicoi Outfitters, GA

Unicoi Outfitters has been North Georgia's number one fly shop and guide service since we opened up on the banks of the Chattahoochee River in 1994. We are a long-time Orvis dealer and proud to now be an Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Outfitter. In addition to a full range of fly fishing tackle and supplies, we offer extensive guided fishing opportunities that aren't available anywhere else.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 36(97%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Review 1 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
June 19, 2015
By: SheriU
from Big Canoe, GA 30143, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We experienced the 3 hour Gilligan Special with our guide, Phil Culver. We had a wonderful fly fishing experience. Phil was very thorough & knowledgeable. My first fly fishing experience and I can't wait to return in cooler weather!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fishing,
June 7, 2015
By: 96Bart
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Gilligan Special was just what I was looking for to see if I would enjoy fly fishing. Our guide Kenneth was great. Easy to work with and patient. I will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great days fishing,
April 21, 2015
By: SimonH
from Peachtree Corners, GA 30092, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had an excellent afternoon being guided through several different fishing areas on the river.
Our excellent guide Ken gave us all the encouragement and help that we needed, and everyone caught something.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two Fantastic Guides,
April 20, 2015
By: LFRTN
from Lebanon, Tennessee
"Fished with Jake at the Nacoochee Bend and Chuck on the Soque the very next day in April 2015.
Jake is a top notch guide with a great personality. He knows the river and how to fish it. His friendly demeanor and calm even temperament allowed me to relax and catch those great fish he put me on. Most were in the 14 to 20 inch range and were beautifully cared for fish. I will shortly be using Jake again on the Tuck. Thanks for a great day Jake!
Not to take anything away from Jake, but I must tell you about Chuck and the Soque. I hesitate here to even spread the word. I had been told of the fish in the Soque until I felt that with all the build up I would probably be disappointed.
Did not happen!... these fish are "freight trains". Chuck is the ultimate in guides. Friendly, and eager to guide you to a real adventure, he is also extremely focused on calmly yet intently guiding you to bring your fish to his net. He is on top of every detail yet stays calm and cool during the fight. At one point, with a high 20"s fish on, he wanted me to continue following the fish upstream. I was looking through "Fish Eyes" sunglasses and the river bed before me was out of focus. He directed me to continue even though I thought the next step was five feet deep. His calm demeanor and cool temperament got me to think "Well, I believe in my God... maybe its time to believe in my Guide". I took that next step completely on faith and found myself in 12 inches of water. The fight continued and culminated with a great fish in a great guides net. Chuck... see you next year!
Thank you to both Jake and Chuck for the best two days of fishing in my life!
Tight lines.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oh! What a fishing trip,
April 19, 2015
By: JDTN
from Nashville, TN
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished with Jake and Chuck from Unicoi Outfitters this past week. These guys are without a doubt among the best guides I have ever used. The fly shop if top notch and John is great to talk with. Between Nacoochee Bend and the Soque I caight fish from the upper teens to middle twenty inch range. These were all healthy fish and the fish managment by Unicoi Outfitters is top of the line. Thanks for the memories of a life time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
April 8, 2015
By: JohnHansen
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a lot of fun, I learned a lot, and caught some great fish. I highly recommend Unicoi Outfitters!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great times!,
April 7, 2015
By: GArecordTroutHolder
from Helen, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My Brother n Law and myself went out for a 4 hour tour with Ken. Neither of us had ever FF, but were lucky to have Ken with us. He put us on the fish and we each caught close to 10 trout each ranging in size, but some big ones up the creek. Great guy, Great company, Highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality time spent,
February 17, 2015
By: Puddlefinder
from Helen, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great afternoon on the river with my son and our guide Phil. It was cold windy and overcast, not usually good for catching fish in my experience, but we managed to pull in six or seven very nice rainbows, all over 16 inches, in our four hours on the river that day. Phil gave us pointers on how to cast in those conditions and led us to some great spots. My son and I are looking forward to coming back and doing it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Shop,
January 31, 2015
By: PLarkin
from Manchester, VT 05255, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I spent a 3 hour tour with our guide Ken. We had a terrific day. I really appreciated how patient Ken was with my young son teaching him how to roll cast and handle the river, Ken went out of his way to ensure my son and I both had a great day. Highly recommend this shop"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super guide, Super company !!,
January 6, 2015
By: Paul1019
from Ocala FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On 12/28/14 I visited Unicoi Outfitters. What a great experience. I asked, but not expecting a positive answer, if a guide would be available the next day. To my surprise a call was made to a guide. Bam, Phil Culver agreed to meet up the next day!! We had a very rewarding afternoon catching a couple nice Rainbows. He turned out to be extremely knowledgeable about the stream. the fish and proper techniques. I even learned several roll cast methods. I highly recommend this company and Phil Culver, guide. Thanks for a wonderful experience !!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!!,
July 3, 2014
By: Seb22
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Couldn't have asked for a better experience
"My sister and I purchased this for our mother's Christmas gift - a girl's weekend in the mountains, plus something off the bucket list. For three city girls with absolutely no idea what we were doing, George was amazingly patient - and a great teacher!! We had a blast, and managed to all catch at least one. Everyone at the shop was super nice, and the value for the experience was more than fair. If we ever make the trip back, I will be sure to request George again, although I'm sure all of their guides are great. He explained everything we needed to know, was helpful beyond belief, and has a great sense of humor on top of everything!! Two thumbs up!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lost Count,
June 5, 2014
By: Justiflyed
"I’ve been on 3 guided trips with UO and all have been great experiences. The guides that I’ve worked with so far (Jake, Chuck, and Phil) have been knowledgeable, professional and most importantly patient. These guys know their water and each time they’ve put me on some awesome rainbows. They also set my wife up with waders and let her tag along to take pics (you’ll want pics of what you catch here). In the shop, they were helpful and more than happy to answer any questions I had regarding gear. Will certainly be back to fish with them again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Literally, I am now hooked.,
May 29, 2014
By: Ritebike
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I learned far more than I expected.
"My brother and I bought our Father a fly fishing kit for Christmas. It was given to him, to give him a new hobby, so our Mother could get some piece and quiet from time to time. I agreed to go fishing with him in Helen, GA. We decided to get a guide for our first outing. That was the best decision that we both have ever made, and agreed upon together. I am drawing a blank on our guides name, I want to say it was Chuck, but I do remember that he was leaving for Colorado for the Summer. He was awesome, and he taught both of us a lot. Seeing the HUGE smile on my Fathers face was worth it. I have bought a rod and reel since, I had that good of a time. Talked to the owner of the shop for a good deal of time. My only suggestion is this. Go ahead and put your waders on before you walk into the shop, because it gets deep from all of the talk going on inside."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phenominal Experience!,
May 22, 2014
By: RGCFLA
from Delray Beach, FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"4 of us came up from the Rod and Gun Club of Florida to experience Ga. fly fishing. We had heard great things about the area and Unicoi Outfitters specifically. They exceeded our already lofty expectations! The staff was knowledgeable, patient and very helpful. They made our 3 days of fishing easy! Our guides George, Chuck, Jake and Ryan were all terrific. They know their stuff, worked really hard to make sure we had the right fly's to catch the fish they put us on and were patient and fun! We are already planning a return trip in the Fall. Thanks again guys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful & Exciting Experience,
April 8, 2014
By: Aquarius
from Bluffton, SC
"I took up FF 4 yrs ago and have a couple of guide trips under my belt. This was my first Unicoi experience with guide Ron Thomas. I had a blast. I caught some great fish and even hooked, but also lost,a couple of lunker rainbows (Ron said one was a 5 or 6 pounder). What a thrill. Ron is a superb guide- very patient, friendly and knowledgable. The staff at Uncoi Outfitters were also very friendly and helpful. What a great team.
My FF buddies and I will surely be back for some more excitement on Uncoi's trophy water.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience worth the money!,
November 4, 2013
By: CoachCole
from Helen, GA
"This was the 3rd trip (or lesson) I've purchased as a gift. Unicoi Outfitters, up to their usual 5 star standards, made it a great day for my fly-fishing novice friend. The guide was patient and professional. I'll continue to make this my go-to gift for that hard to buy for person on my gift list!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide, Jake Darling,
November 2, 2013
By: StanBishop
from Bradenton, FL
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three of us (one from Florida, one from Texas, and one from Colorado) booked an all day fly fishing trip with Jake during October 2013. I had used him in the past and was excited for the other two men to meet him and have him show them a rewarding day of fishing. Jake did not disappoint. Each of us caught several large trophy trout, and Jake accommodated our every need. He is very patient, as we all three had snarled lines at some point during the day. Additionally, when the fish decided not to bite, Jake changed tactics and almost immediately we were catching trout once again. For the Texan and Coloradan, both expressed only the highest praise for Jake and admitted at days end that they had never had such a rewarding and productive trout fishing experience. And the man from Colorado admitted his state does not have trout the size he caught that day. A day well spent. I can recommend Jake Darling to anyone, from novice through world-class fishermen."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome guide!,
October 21, 2013
By: RLS77
from Helen, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great day of fishing on Chestatee with Unicoi Outfitter guide Jake Darling. Brute trout and a great guide makes for an awesome day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Intro to flyfishing at its best,
September 16, 2013
By: Ridgwayk
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The team at Unicoi Outfitters have consistently gotten high marks for customer service for many years.
It was with this in mind that my wife gave me the Intro to Flyfishing lessons as a gift. She knew I had expressed interest for some time and there was no question as to where we would take the lesson.
Jake was our instructor and our guide for the day. Jake was patient, answered all my many questions throughout the day, about how, why, when, etc. At the end of the class, Jake did a great job of putting together a great fly fishing set up with Orvis rod and reel and line.
I took a friend of mine with me and I can tell you we both had a great time.
The staff at Unicoi has a passion about trout. They know about the local streams and rivers and are eager to share their knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time!,
August 2, 2013
By: Giantrider
from Clayton, Ga
"I've been a fisherman my whole life but limited knowledge of fly fishing. My dad and I bought the Gilligan package and I learned so much in the time on the water. Our guide, George, was very patient and beyond helpful. I cant remember ever having such a great time fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes