Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Unicoi Outfitters, GA

Unicoi Outfitters has been North Georgia's number one fly shop and guide service since we opened up on the banks of the Chattahoochee River in 1994. We are a long-time Orvis dealer and proud to now be an Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Outfitter. In addition to a full range of fly fishing tackle and supplies, we offer extensive guided fishing opportunities that aren't available anywhere else.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Review 1 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful & Exciting Experience,
April 8, 2014
By: Aquarius
from Bluffton, SC
"I took up FF 4 yrs ago and have a couple of guide trips under my belt. This was my first Unicoi experience with guide Ron Thomas. I had a blast. I caught some great fish and even hooked, but also lost,a couple of lunker rainbows (Ron said one was a 5 or 6 pounder). What a thrill. Ron is a superb guide- very patient, friendly and knowledgable. The staff at Uncoi Outfitters were also very friendly and helpful. What a great team.
My FF buddies and I will surely be back for some more excitement on Uncoi's trophy water.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Experience worth the money!,
November 4, 2013
By: CoachCole
from Helen, GA
"This was the 3rd trip (or lesson) I've purchased as a gift. Unicoi Outfitters, up to their usual 5 star standards, made it a great day for my fly-fishing novice friend. The guide was patient and professional. I'll continue to make this my go-to gift for that hard to buy for person on my gift list!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our guide, Jake Darling,
November 2, 2013
By: StanBishop
from Bradenton, FL
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three of us (one from Florida, one from Texas, and one from Colorado) booked an all day fly fishing trip with Jake during October 2013. I had used him in the past and was excited for the other two men to meet him and have him show them a rewarding day of fishing. Jake did not disappoint. Each of us caught several large trophy trout, and Jake accommodated our every need. He is very patient, as we all three had snarled lines at some point during the day. Additionally, when the fish decided not to bite, Jake changed tactics and almost immediately we were catching trout once again. For the Texan and Coloradan, both expressed only the highest praise for Jake and admitted at days end that they had never had such a rewarding and productive trout fishing experience. And the man from Colorado admitted his state does not have trout the size he caught that day. A day well spent. I can recommend Jake Darling to anyone, from novice through world-class fishermen."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome guide!,
October 21, 2013
By: RLS77
from Helen, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great day of fishing on Chestatee with Unicoi Outfitter guide Jake Darling. Brute trout and a great guide makes for an awesome day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Intro to flyfishing at its best,
September 16, 2013
By: Ridgwayk
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The team at Unicoi Outfitters have consistently gotten high marks for customer service for many years.
It was with this in mind that my wife gave me the Intro to Flyfishing lessons as a gift. She knew I had expressed interest for some time and there was no question as to where we would take the lesson.
Jake was our instructor and our guide for the day. Jake was patient, answered all my many questions throughout the day, about how, why, when, etc. At the end of the class, Jake did a great job of putting together a great fly fishing set up with Orvis rod and reel and line.
I took a friend of mine with me and I can tell you we both had a great time.
The staff at Unicoi has a passion about trout. They know about the local streams and rivers and are eager to share their knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome time!,
August 2, 2013
By: Giantrider
from Clayton, Ga
"I've been a fisherman my whole life but limited knowledge of fly fishing. My dad and I bought the Gilligan package and I learned so much in the time on the water. Our guide, George, was very patient and beyond helpful. I cant remember ever having such a great time fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great Gift and Experience,
May 11, 2013
By: JacketFan
from Milton, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife gave my son and me the Gilligan package for Christmas. I waited nearly 18 months to make a reservation and the folks at Unicoi Outfitters were great taking care of everything. The equipment we used was first rate and George our guide was awesome. A good instructor and very patient he made it a very memorable experience. I recommend everyone give fly fishing a try with a three hour tour."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good day fishing!,
April 26, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Gray, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"George was an excellent guide, he was exactly what I was looking for. Not only did we catch a good many fish we also caught some very large ones. He was an excellent teacher and a lot of help with improving my fly fishing techniques and my knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two days of perfection,
April 23, 2013
By: CRB3
from Lakeland, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Our two days of fishing in Helen will go down as one of the most memorable. What a spectacular place. The fish were plenty and large. Thanks George for being so patient and helpful and for putting us on fish like never seen. We will be back soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Guide and outfitter,
April 22, 2013
By: Bendback
from Unicoli Outfitters, Helen Georgia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Had the opportunity to fish with Unicoi Outfitters and guide George MacMillan for 2 days. I can't say enough about wat a fantastic time I had fishing with George. Great guy and extremely knowledge. Caught plenty of fish with some real beauties. The shop was well stocked and was a joy to book and complete this great trip. I will be back in November and would recommend these guys wholeheartedly ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Super Spring Day on the River,
March 31, 2013
By: CantonDi
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"George was a wonderful guide giving us maximum exposure to so many fish. Flies chosen were very effective. I caught the largest fish I have ever caught. George also was a great teacher and helped me improve my techniques. It was such a pleasurable day. Thanks for your help, George!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Day,
March 31, 2013
By: SouthernAccent
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Of all the days I have spent fishing, and of all the fish I have caught in my lifetime - yesterday's trip with Chuck Head of Unicoi Outfitters was the most fun and memorable trip I have ever had! We lost count by around 10:30am, but we estimated landing 25+ fish, the largest being a 13-lb rainbow (my personal best) and two others around 10-lbs each. I have traveled far and wide in search of fishing adventures, and have never found another that can match the service and expertise provided by the guys at Unicoi Outfitters and Chuck himself. Thanks again and I'll see you again in a few weeks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than anticipated,
March 25, 2013
By: FlyingGa
from Appling Ga
"A very big Thank You for the great fishing trip. It was better than anticipated and Jake made it easy and enjoyable.
When you catch so many, you lose count, that’s a good day! Estimated between 25-30, with a 6 lb tops, does not count the 10 or so early releases, including a couple at 4-6 lbs.
I will recommend to friends.
Thanks again to Jake!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!!!,
March 23, 2013
By: BrEllis
from Cleveland, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Genuinely friendly people
"After 10 years of threatening to go I finally booked a trip. After 3 weeks of Spring weather, the morning of the trip was 42 degrees and pouring rain...typical for my luck.
We got to the shop, met our guide George McMillan, and hit the water. Fishing with George is like fishing with an old friend. He knows his stuff and isn't afraid to show you where the fish are!
All of the staff are welcoming and friendly and the fishing is incredible!
I'll definitely be back in the Fall and can't wait!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
February 20, 2013
By: TMorillo
from Buford, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The afternoon I had fishing with Unicoi Outfitters was great! It was my first time there, and my fist time fly fishing. Our guide, Chuck, was fantastic. Very patient and informative. He put us on some great trout in no time. I hauled in some great fish and had the best time. I would highly recommend this to any freshwater enthusiast!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mixed Reviews,
February 16, 2013
By: PAW45
from Athens,GA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I have been a longtime customer of Unicoi Outfitters and agree with previous reviews regarding the quality of their guides and guided trips. They are top notch and worth the expense. However, the fly shop is not up to the level of other fly shops in the N GA area. The selection is somewhat sparse and the store help, with the exception of the store manager is not good. I have driven to this store many times to make substantial purchases and have been unable to find the item or received no help in selecting."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 17 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First class,
December 20, 2012
By: galaxy1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been a customer of Unicoi Outfitters and I can say that they are a great resource for fly fisherman all over the south. The shop is well stocked with everything you need for a trip and the staff is knowledgeable and willing to help. I highly recommend taking one of their guided trips, as I have learned more in a few hours with one of their guides that I have picked up on several trips by myself. Everyone at Unicoi Outfitters fishes and it shows, they always know the best places to fish and what flies are hot. We are truly fortunate to have them in Georgia."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trout fishing,
December 19, 2012
By: Troutdog1
from Blue Ridge, GA 30513, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When you start out on a new adventure,you allways have certain expectations for the day. Sometimes they fall short but my guide trout fishing tirp in Blue Ridge GA. with Hunter from Unicoi Outfitters went way above my expectations. He is excellant guide and I had a great time. I WILL BE BACK."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 6, 2012
By: Cabinflyboy
from Lilburn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Unicoi Outfitters is the best. Not only did we catch fish but the guides are truly professional in every way. The main focus was to teach and to show us a good time while catching trout. Ron Thomas is a superior guide that I will call on again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Unicoi Outfitters, GA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gilligan Trip,
November 5, 2012
By: tperry
from Orlando, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great Staff
"My girlfriend and I visited Helen, GA for a week of relaxing. I had only one request and that was to learn how to fly fish. We met John Cross at Unicoi Outfitters for the purpose of renting waders to fly fish at one of the local state parks. Luckily John educated us on the fly fishing in the area and saved me from a long day of frustration. He did recommend the Gilligan guided service. Being new to this sort of thing we waited until the last minute to book the service and were told guides were booked for a week out. This was a problem considering we were leaving in a day.
Chuck worked with us and called us back late in the day to inform us that he had set us up for the next morning. His customer service was excellent.
We were lucky enough to have George as our guide. He took us to a beautiful location, Frog Hollow on the Chestatee River.
George quickly taught us how to cast, not an easy task for two people who have never held a fly fishing rod. He then took us down to the river and proceed to wait on us as we lost flies on logs, in trees and tangled line for the next couple of hours. He was incredibly patient as I lost several fish only because I listened to only part of his instructions (bad spin fishing habits). I eventually landed a very nice 3 lb rainbow trout, my first ever. I had several other fish on and nearly landed but my inexperience allowed the fish to get off just before landing.
I highly recommend the guided services of Unicoi Outfitters, specifically George. He is a credit to Unicoi Outfitters and will be remembered fondly by us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes