Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY

The Ugly Bug Fly Shop is a full-service fly shop established in 1983. We offer our clients a one-stop shop for their outdoor needs in the central Rockies. Our experienced guides have great knowledge of the local waters. We can tailor your trip to any level of fly fisher.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
69 of 69(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Review 1 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quantiy and Quality Can't be Beat,
October 10, 2014
By: RichieRainbow
from Middletown, CT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been going to Casper Wyoming with family members and friends for 10 consecutive years to fish the North Platte River. I have also fished many rivers (Ruby, Beaverhead, Missouri, Madison, Big Hole, etc.) in Montana during those 10 years and have enjoyed every trip to Big Sky Country. But for quality and quantity, there is no river that is more productive than the Grey Reef section of the North Platte River.
When in Casper, I always stay at the Crazy Rainbow Ranch which is owned and operated by the Ugly Bug fly shop in downtown Casper. We have stayed at both the main lodge and at the River Cabin over the years and have found them to be ideal - clean and spacious (for a party of 4), and very reasonably priced. They are also located right on the banks of the North Platte River and provide excellent evening fishing if you are not too exhausted to cast some dries after a very productive day on the river.
Our group has always tried to book Blake Jackson (our favorite guide) but no matter who we have used, I have found every guide to have extensive knowledge of the river, and be personable and extremely patient. I would never consider using a guide service other than those from the Ugly Bug! They are the best, and Blake is the best of the best!!
If you haven't fished the Grey Reef section of the North Platte River, you need to put it on your "bucket list." Whether you are a first-time fly fisherman/fisherwoman,a rookie, or a seasoned veteran, you are in for a treat. And if and when you do, I strongly recommend that you stay at the Crazy Rainbow Ranch and, if possible, book Blake Jackson as your guide.
Whether wade fishing or floating with Blake or one of their other very competent guides, they will lead you to the fish.
Average daily catch for me on the Reef with guides from the Ugly Bud over the last 10 years has been around 12 to 20 fish (mostly rainbows and cutbows in the 15" to 20" range) while wade fishing and between 20 to 30 in the same length range on a float. As I said earlier, for quality and quantity, those are hard number to beat!!
Rich Feitel
Middletown, CT
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There are guides... and then there is Blake!,
October 7, 2014
By: SalmonidWhisperer
from Haddam, CT
"Ugly Bug has assembled an amazing team of guides who know every inch of the North Platte and how to make you feel comfortable from the novice to the legends-in-their-own-minds. I've been fortunate to float many times on the S.S. Blake Jackson watching him handle the boat like it was a toy. Time is focused on the good water and the dead water is passed over quickly. Private access below Grey Reef is a HUGE advantage to booking with Ugly Bug over other outfitters. If you like to catch 30-40 trout per day in the 16-22" range - and have a legitimate shot at big brown immortality this is the place for you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing heaven!,
June 6, 2014
By: fishermandr297
from Charleston, WV, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We've booked with Crazy Rainbow for 9 years straight and it gets better every year! We normally have groups of 8 and up to 12 some years. We just finished a June trip and it was the best one yet. They offer an all inclusive service with terrific fishing, accomodations, and meals. We were catching 60 to 75 trout per boat with various levels of experience among our fishermen. The guides were extremely helpful with sharing their knowledge. These guys are a lot of fun and very professional at the same time. They treat the trout like babies and will net, take them off, and tie on flies when needed to get you in the water so all you have to do is pull them in! Great experience overall and anyone who books with them will not be disappointed. It's easy to see why they won the Orvis Outfitter of the Year for 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sippie Tie on the Lamb Dammie,
May 27, 2014
By: Wolfpack6
from Alcova, WY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Jake and Tyler lit it up for our group over three days. Just in our boat alone we caught close to 60 fish. These guides made our trip a sucess!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ninja monk and crew,
May 26, 2014
By: ninjamonk6
from Pueblo, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"the group from pueblo,led by father chris gama,experienced a great time fishing and as always,the guides led by ty and his group were top notch..our line were tight for 3 days..We caught fish all day long...great organization and very knowledable crew.....looking forward to the next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blown river and still caught fish,
May 26, 2014
By: Jeff21
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As mother nature would have she blew out the grey reef. Blake and Sarah were both disappointed but made sure that we caught fish at a couple of other places they know of. Best customer service around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fishing Trip!,
May 23, 2014
By: ryanfisher
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently went on a 3 day fishing trip with the Ugly Bug fly shop, and was amazed at how great everything was. Our guide, Jake, was the best, I've never seen so many fish, or caught so many, and the meals/accommodations were perfect. I can't wait to go back. Keep up the great work!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome day on the Reef!,
April 29, 2014
By: Etfish730
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad who was visiting from Indiana and I fished with Sarah. We floated the upper section and had a blast. Sarah was awesome in all ways - good on the sticks, great knowledge of the water and bugs, and great personality. I genuinely felt like she was having almost as much fun as us. We caught a silly amount of fish, but it would have been a great with a fraction of what we caught. Would recommend her in a second."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
People will never believe...,
April 7, 2014
By: smyldoc
from Logan, UT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished April 5th and 6th with Bo. 2nd time with Ugly Bug, great tip, fantastic fishing with a personalble, competent and friendly guide. Fishing was beyond compare. Excellant orgainization, lunches and would recommend to anyone looking for a fantastic experience at any level of fishing skill."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fishing despite warm water,
April 2, 2014
By: BobK1347
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My friends and I spent a weekend on the North Platte guided by Jameson Frank. The hot summer had left the water still warm, but we had great fishing, thanks to Jameson's expert knowledge of the river and calm, competent guidance. I would recommend him to anyone who loves to catch fish. In fact, we are going back in the Spring."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold weather, smoking hot fishing....,
April 1, 2014
By: Blunior
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Did not visit the shop
"My brother and I fished with Ty Hallock on the 22nd and 23rd of March. The river was in the midst of the annual 10-day flush, which had begun 5 days prior. The weather was cold on the 22nd with snow, clouds, and temperatures that stayed in the low-to-mid 20s. The fish did not care. Ty had us on them from the time we shoved off the bank to the time we took out. The temperature was 22 degrees when we took out, incidentally. Day two found the weather much better as the sun came out and temperatures rose to the mid-40s. Saturday was good, Sunday was nuts. We caught fish non-stop and the fish were hot. I think the sunshine perked them up a bit versus 22 and snow. Ty's knowledge of the river led to our having a great experience under poor conditions on Saturday. Sunday was nothing short of silly. Thanks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Day,
March 28, 2014
By: MikefromDenver
from denver
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Crazy Rainbow fly fishing is one of the best outfitters in the country in my opinion. Superb service, reasonable prices coupled with expert guides. Jameson, Ty and others make each and every yearly trip memorable.
This year was no exception. You really gotta try these guys and see what you're missing. Professionals, courteous and always willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have fun and a good day on the river. thanks guys what a great day!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pick The Girl,
February 4, 2014
By: AvidUplander
from Casper, WY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When I booked a 2-day float trip through the Ugly Bug Fly Shop in Casper, WY I was given a choice of guides. I picked Sarah Hurzeler, the only female among the choices. I knew she would bust her rear to get us fish and I was dead on. She rowed as many miles upstream as we floated downstream to put us into the good spots and big fish. My friend from Toronto and I had a fantastic trip even though it was in the slow season for the North Platte. Lots of fish and BIG Fish. So book a trip and Pick the Girl!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st float trip,
January 19, 2014
By: troutfisher25
from Cheyenne, WY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Ty Hallock first took myself and my wife on a float trip. He was amazingly patient with my wife who had never fly fished before and of course she caught the biggest fish of the day! I lost count of the number of fish caught that day.
My second trip with Ty was a spring day and the temps never got above 15 degrees and the river was just flushed. Four of us had planned this trip for months and didn't want to reschedule. Again Ty did not disappoint... We caught fish all day which helped us stay warm!
I would recommend a trip with Ty any day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
N.Platte Bonaza,
January 10, 2014
By: rx4fishing
from Albany, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great shop
"I had the pleasure of fishing with Ty Hallock and the Ugly Bug Fly Shop this past August. Ty is a great guide, very knowledegable and very easy going. It was my best fshing out west ever in over 20 yrs. My arm was screaming at days end. Hopefully I will fish with him again this coming summer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Most Helpful and a Great Time,
January 6, 2014
By: PappyFitz
from Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife Diana and I fished with Ty Hallock and Ugly Bug this summer. She is less experienced than I, and as Colorado small stream enthusiasts, neither of us was used to the whales in the N. Platte.
Ty was fantastic, patient, and helped us catch a lot of fish, even during the so-called slower part of summer. Numerous over 18, several over 22, and one that got away.....
He also was free with great recommendations on places to stream fish the next day, restaurants, and great conversation.
We will be back, and are sure to call Ty and Ugly Bug again. You should do the same with confidence."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
outstanding experience,
January 3, 2014
By: snohodoc
from Snohomish, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ugly Bug shop was great
"Blake guided us for four days and we were placed on fish all day, every day. He was courteous, professional, fast and a great companion. I would recommend him without hesitation to anyone interested in a "once in a lifetime experience". It was so good we are going to test the theory and come back Spring, 2014 with new fishermen"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blake,
January 1, 2014
By: raftpuncturebill
from Manhattan Beach, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've had 3-4 trips to the North Platte, used Blake and other guides- never disappointed. Always in fish, low key, lots of laughs. Smart enough to keep us from going out in the blizzard last year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing experiences,
December 29, 2013
By: AnthonyVecc
from Arvada, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have made several trips to Crazy Rainbow and have enjoyed each and every one. The lodging and food has always been great. The knowledge of the guides and their love of fishing makes each experience a memory. Can't wait to return in 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Day Ever,
December 24, 2013
By: seltenrich
from Casper
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The guided trip that we took with Ty Hallock in July 2013 was the most consistent day of fishing that I have ever experienced. There was no slow time during the day. The fish were striking flies the entire day. No monster fish to brag about, but we caught a lot of fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes