Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY

The Ugly Bug Fly Shop is a full-service fly shop established in 1983. We offer our clients a one-stop shop for their outdoor needs in the central Rockies. Our experienced guides have great knowledge of the local waters. We can tailor your trip to any level of fly fisher.
Average Customer Rating:
4.971 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (104 reviews)
5 stars
103
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
102 of 104(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Review 1 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Platte Float,
April 7, 2015
By: JohnnyHaas
from Denver, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had the opportunity to float Grey Reef in early March. The fishing was better than expected. It was clear that without the knowledge of our guides as to what flies would work each day, our luck would have been very different. The guides were experienced and knew the river well. We'll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't get better than that,
April 3, 2015
By: Darron
from Casper, WY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:My son and I went to the fly shop and they were very helpful. They even helped me send in my Reel to get it fixed.
"Jesse was everything that we could hope for in a guide. I took my 13 year old son on this float trip for his Birthday. Jesse was a awesome with my son. My son and I had the time of our lift catching beautiful fish all day. Thanks for making my son and I's day one to remember."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Guides,
April 2, 2015
By: Coop63
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:True Pro's
"Fished with Jamison and Jesse. Had a 16 and 20 year old and my wife, ALL "total beginners" those guys did a AWESOME job coaching and teaching while I just watched and fished. Wife and kids had a blast and caught fish on a slow fishing day based on many trips to the Reef.
I'll fish with them again and recommend all my friends to them, "TRUE Pro's" love guys like that that have the patience to introduce more folks to a great sport!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Team Building Event Ever,
March 27, 2015
By: ScottSmith
from Casper, WY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guides. Very personable
"Last Fall our company booked a 3-day fishing trip with the Ugly Bug and we brought 12 guys in from California to Texas. We stayed at the Ugly Bug Lodge and had great meals and great accommodations. We had guys with all levels of fishing experience along. We booked 6 boats and the Ugly Bug guides just did a great job at making everyone feel welcomed and "at home". We all caught skads of fish everyday and then enjoyed the lodge in the eveinings to laugh and tell stories. This was such a great team building event that guys were asking to re-book for next year. The Ugly Bug guides and equipment were excellent and we all just had an amazing time. We'll defininetly be back, thanks Ugly Bug!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crazy Is Understated,
March 26, 2015
By: dadandson
from Riverton, WY 82501, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son was kind enough to buy me a birthday gift (hint to other children who have a hard time shopping for their dad) - my second trip on the North Platte with a Crazy Rainbow Guide. The name Crazy Rainbow is an understatement if you want to catch fish. It was OUTRAGEOUS how many fish we caught on our trip. I recommend that everyone should experience the outstanding service of these guides. Last year was my daughter's first experience fly fishing and she was catching fish within five casts. The guide was very patient and helpful, which made it enjoyable for me and her. We caught a ridiculous amount last year too! I hope to make this an annual trip because of my overall satisfaction. Thanks to Jake (guide) for a great day. Your hard work and humor make the trip even more rewarding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 6 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
March 24, 2015
By: Russ2
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:N/A
"I have fished a great deal, but rarely have I had as much fun as I did with Luke Booth of the Ugly Bug Fly Shop. He taught me a lot about fishing with small nymphs and then worked extremely hard to keep us over the most productive areas on the river. He is also a terrific young man. I am looking forward to fishing with him again whenever I can."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
March on Reef,
March 18, 2015
By: Etfish730
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished with Sarah from Ugly Bug / Crazy Rainbow last Saturday. I fish the N. Platte every chance I get and Saturday may have been one of the windiest days I've ever been in a boat. Sarah did a great job on the oars keeping us on the right line and making adjustments as needed. I floated with Sarah last year as well with my dad, and Sarah does a great job of working with people of different skill levels and intensity levels. She's a great guide to spend a day on the water with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cowboy (+ one cowgirl) Tough,
March 9, 2015
By: Gator265
from Windsor, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The wind blows and blows and blows in Wyoming and no one knows why. My group of 10 fishermen who have several years of experience on the Platte with the Crazy Rainbow guides know why. It's to test the mettle and dedication of the Crazy Rainbow guides to try and insure that their clients might catch that once in a lifetime trophy trout. When you are on the river on a windy day other outfitters only make one float through a hole or won't buck the wind to cross the river to a known hole, let alone row back upstream to re-float a hole in which they just got a strike. Not the Crazy Rainbow guides (one of whom is a woman). They will buck that wind by rowing back upstream several times in order to insure they didn't miss the hole holding big one. They continue, without complaint, to untangle wind induced loops in their client's line. On other occasions they have extended the trip beyond the original take out point in order to get into calm enough air to insure a full day of quality fishing for which their clients paid. Now that is Cowboy Tough and that is just one windy why Orvis continues to endorse the Ugly Bug Fly Shop and the Crazy Rainbow fishing guides as the top outfitters in
the Casper WY area.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't Get Any Better!!,
March 6, 2015
By: MBE350
from Denver, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing the Platte for almost 20 years now and I have learned that without exception, the only way to truly have the best experience and overall success is by using the guided services through the Crazy Rainbow. They are by far the best and most knowledgeable on the river. Furthermore, if you want the best guide available, ask for Ty Hallock. And BTW, if you can book the lodge, you'll have first class accommodations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bad float,
March 5, 2015
By: Fredlombardi
from casper wyo
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"well its not like me to give a bad review but in this case I am. I had the worst experience ever on a float I took last summer. I am an experienced fly guy and I was on a co. float with newbys so the whole float was rookie in front of boat thet never let me take the front the whole trip I was so sad... never was able to get out of boat to fish,my guild new that I was advanced but failed to give a hoot and treated me like a rookie ,I did not appreciate that and will never float with this co. agian"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Response from Orvis:By Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing OperationsMarch 9, 2015
Ugly Bug Fly Shop provided the following response to this review:

“We are sorry that you had a poor experience while fishing with us. At the Ugly Bug Fly Shop, customer service is our number one goal. We strive to produce a very memorable trip for everyone who fishes with us. A guide’s job can be challenging, trying to teach a beginner the fundamentals of fly fishing while at the same time meeting the expectations of an experienced angler such as yourself. We can certainly see your frustrations with the trip and hope you can understand that this was not our intention. We would love the opportunity to earn your business back and make the situation right. Feel free to contact us at any time.”
Review 11 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Trip,
March 4, 2015
By: daveny
from Elma, NY 14059, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:One of the best fly shops i have ever been in.
"I was extremely lucky that I had decided to Book a Float Fly fishing trip with Crazy Rainbow Outfitters . Ryan Hall was our guide. The Ugly Bug Fly Shop made all the arrangements. I have been on dozens of outfiited trips over the years and this one Ranks at the top. Ryan delivered the goods. We had fish on all day and the only thing that slowed us down was landing one Big Rainbow after another.Ryan is a pure pro when it comes to knowing the water and where to be and what to use. Thanks for a great memorable expierience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best In The West,
March 3, 2015
By: kyflyfisher
from Lexington, KY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I have been fishing with Ryan for 10 yrs.
"Great fly fishing and great guides. ( Ryan, you are the best guide anywhere). Always catch nice fish and have a perfect day on the water. Will be back next year.
Thank you all!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only place to go!,
March 3, 2015
By: jmarvel22
from Denver, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Keep getting the awesome gear, we are suckers for buying anything cool you have!
"Over the past 4 years we have been visiting Crazy Rainbow and have never been disappointed. The fishing is always a blast, the boats and gear are tremendous! I can't say enough about the expertise and quality of their guides. It definitely makes the entire fishing experience even more enjoyable. We will continue to make our yearly (if not more) trips to enjoy the best fishing we have ever done!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on Grey Reef!,
March 3, 2015
By: DJMeyer
from Littleton, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I floated with Tyler in Spring of 2014 and had a fantastic day on the river. This was my son's first time fly fishing and Tyler was very patient and helped him boat 20 fish. We both really had a great experience! Thanks Tyler!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Platte,
March 1, 2015
By: MRJones
from Lakewood, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Spent a day fishing the Platte with Dario as our guide. IT was a great experience made better by a great guide. Dario is very knowledgeable, patient and easy to spend the day with. I would highly recommend Crazy Rainbow and Dario"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time with Ugly Bug,
March 1, 2015
By: Mtaylor
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Last year, my girlfriend and I took a full day float trip with Ugly Bug. We were both beginners at fly fishing. Our guide Beau was great! He explained everything well and had plenty of patience. We caught a ton of fish and had an overall great experience. I would fish with them again, I suggest you ask for Beau as a guide!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and fun!,
February 27, 2015
By: razorbackfromColorado
from Greeley, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished with guides and outfitters all over the country. By far, the Crazy Rainbow Outfitter is the best. Their guides are professional. . .their water is excellent. . .and the overall experience is quality. Fishing with Ryan and Luke even makes me look good! You can't do better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crazy good,
February 20, 2015
By: Redbirdsjdb
from Omaha, NE, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"great fishery, Blake,Ty and gang top notch guides and guys. One of favorite places to fish. High integrity operation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Trip!,
February 18, 2015
By: CENTXflyfisher
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow, what a great experience! Ty Hallock was our guide. We put in at 'top of the ranch', and Ty pulled up into an eddy to give us a bit of needed instruction. He dropped the line into the water while he was talking, and bam! the first fish of the day was on. That pretty much set the tone for the whole day. Ty was very patient with us and very good at coaching without seeming to. My wife and I were both worn out from catching supercharged rainbows all day long. We stayed at the Crazy Rainbow lodge; very nice facility right on the riverbank. Definitely a trip I will take again. And btw, Ty is a great artist. I had him paint a rainbow and a brown on top of my Yeti. Every time I see the Yeti, I remember the trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Ugly Bug Fly Shop, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time,
February 18, 2015
By: ChMarvel
from Denver, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had Ty, Jameson, Blake, and Jake as guides and our group had the best time. We have been four times now and will go back a couple of times every year. Literally, not one complaint. What a great time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes