Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Swan Point Outfitters, TX

Offering top-notch fly-fishing guides and local information for the middle Texas coast from Galveston to South Padre Island. Stationed in Rockport, we offer skinny water grass flats and sightcasting to redfish and speckled trout, with mid-summer access to tarpon, jack crevalle, and mackerel in adjacent channels and jetties.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Review 1 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great day on the middle coast,
July 21, 2014
By: suescher
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Last Saturday I fished with Capt. Drew Donaghue out of Swan Point Landing in Rockport, Texas. The trip was arranged by Dave Hayward, manager of the fly shop who is a great individual and gracious host.
Although the odd mid-summer cool front created unfavorable conditions, Capt. Drew put me on lots of fish. He is knowledgeable, patient and skilled. I highly recommend Capt. Drew.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of my best days on the bow,
October 25, 2013
By: TWC4
from Somewhere on the texas coast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great day! Our guide met us at the dock and after a fun boat ride we were all alone in some back water.
Eric Kinipling (guide) was great, he kept it fun all day. I learned a couple tricks and we put a lot of fish to the boat. I really appreciated his knowledge of the fishery and his light heartedness when I completely blew a couple opportunities at some big fish.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unprofessional, shaming guide,
October 16, 2013
By: riverwoman
from Aransas, TX, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dave Hayward and Chance are wonderful!!
"My good friend and I were thrilled to get an Orvis guide for the day before our fly fishing group met for a weekend outing in Port Aransas. Our guide was Eric Knipling. Unfortunately, he didn’t come close to what we’ve come to expect in a professional guide and it was a most disappointing, even discouraging trip. He lacked people skills, and was not service-oriented nor professional. He talked inappropriately about some of his clients, saying things that if I repeated them here, those clients would easily recognize themselves. His yelled directions about a fish were often unclear (“there, now, get him.” rather than “10 o’clock, 12 o’clock”) even after that was pointed out to him. He was critical to the point of shaming (on my first cast: “Is that the way you cast?”). On my third cast, I missed catching a red. He yelled critical things for a bit, then said, “Well, you put your fly right in front of him....at least you did one thing right.” It got to the point I didn’t even want to fish anymore.
The only positive thing he said to me was that I did well to keep my balance on the bow when he backed the skiff into a mangrove, and he did take responsibility for doing that. When I asked if we were fishing in the area referred to as the “flats,” he said he didn’t know. And the only thing I learned from him was to be way more careful about choosing a guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 4 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesomeness on the flats!,
September 19, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Aransas Pass, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Swan Point Landing does a great job of making the experience easy and fun
"Fished with Capt. Billy Trimble and learned so many things about saltwater fishing. We found lots of tailing reds and stalked them with great success. Just a fantastic day putting holes in Rockport fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Day of Fishing,
August 13, 2013
By: Matt1540
from Frisco, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Wow! What a great day of fishing. Can't say enough about the experience we had with Captain Drew & Swan Point Landing. First, Dave at SPL went the extra mile for us. He was a pleasure to talk to and really took care of two first time flats fly-fisherman. Then, Captain Drew. What a guy! He put us on fish immediately and kept us on fish all day. He was an awesome guide with knowledge flowing out of him all day. Could not have asked for a better experience. Both Dave & Drew have hooked a repeat customer here & I would refer anyone one of my fishing buddies to them."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fly-Fishing Guided Trip,
August 8, 2013
By: D1Cuddy
from Grapevine, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Shout out to Chance Yarbrough in the fly shop for his helpful knowledge and amazing paintings!
"I was taking my dad on his first fly-fishing trip and wanted to make sure he had a good time. I had met Dave Hayward at Swan Point Landing - Rockport the previous couple years and gave him a call to get everything set up. He was very helpful in setting up the guide and did an excellent job teaching us how to cast during a one hour lesson. We went out with Captain Drew Donaghue on the first Friday in August and he immediately put us on tailing redfish. The day continued with Drew constantly putting us in great positions to cast at redfish all day. We were able to get in 6 inches of water with his boat away from others fishing which also made it easy to see the redfish. Drew was also helpful with casting advice and what to look for when site fishing. By the end of the day, my dad and I had a great experience and can not wait to get out again next year. I highly recommend setting up your guide through Dave at Swan Point Landing - Rockport and request Captain Drew Donaghue!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing w/ Captain Drew Donaghue,
July 30, 2013
By: Talltales
from Temple, TX, USA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Myself and a buddy from San Antonio, a beginner fly fisherman, went out with Captain Drew Donaghue at the end of July. We booked a trip on a very hot- crowded Saturday, but Drew was able to get us on flats where we rarely, if ever, saw another boat or kayak. Typically we had the flats all to ourselves. Drew's skiff is ideal for chasing Redfish. I've been fishing flats in the Port A area, via kayak for several years now and within the first few hours, Drew had put us on more reds, with the ability to make accurate casts, than I ever have had before. We fished three flats that day, all perfectly timed and planned to have the right sun and wind for each flat (or at least as best as one could hope for). Needless to say, Drew knows exactly what he's doing and had done his homework. The fish were finicky all day, but by late afternoon we finally found our first hungry fish - a 24" Red. Besides just putting you on fish, Drew is also excellent at teaching and providing advice. With Drew's help, my buddy, who has probably only picked up a fly rod twice, was casting like someone who's done it for years by the end of the day. Overall, it was a great day on the water. We probably had the opportunity to make accurate casts at over 30 individual fish (each) and even found a pod of 20+. I will book another trip with Drew and highly recommend anyone else doing the same if you get the chance."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing Trip,
June 25, 2013
By: CRAyres
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently went on a flats fly fishing trip with Capt. Billy Trimble arranged through Swan Point Landing. It was a great experience! The night before, Swan Point called my hotel to make sure I made it safely and found everything I needed in my room. They made special accommodations for my younger brother who'd never fished before. Capt. Trimble was an awesome guide! He immediately put us on fish, even when the weather conditions were less than pleasant. He was also an excellent guide, who made me a much better fisherman by the ned of the day. I definitely will use them again for any fly fishing needs in South Texas!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time,
May 13, 2013
By: kerrfish
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our first time salt water flyfishing chartered with Eric Knipling through Swan Point. Eric was a great guide and tried hard to put us on catchable fish, but the record May cold front spoiled that chance. Dave Hayward made us feel right at home, and he gave us some great tips for fishing and things to do in Rockport. Dave's care for us is a great example of why I am a loyal Orvis fan/customer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
couldn't ask for better,
May 8, 2013
By: jyates
from Schertz, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had an excellent day on the water with Capt. Eric Knipling. We got on the fish right away and had many opportunities at good fish. Couldn't ask for a better first time redfish on the fly trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing but tough catching,
April 28, 2013
By: redfish25
from Arlington, VT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a chance to fish last week with Capt. Erin Knipling through Swan Point Landing. We had a great day out on the flats. We had high tides and marginal sun, so the fish were spread out and hard to see. Eric is a hardworking and knowledgeable guide, his HB Glades Skiff is immaculate. He is a pleasant guy, with a great sense of humor. I'd love to get back down with him to fish with better conditions, as it's a great and uncrowded fishery that's easy to get to from Houston."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional,
November 27, 2012
By: ben3
from Port Aransas, Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Hayward and Swan Point set me up with Drew Donaghue to fly fish for Redfish--- great outong in all aspects---Drew was enjoyable to be with ---worked hard and we caught fish---knows flyfishing and the area---great boat---Hayward, who I've known ever since he started with Orvis in Houston is first class, as his Swan Point---Mac"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
August 28, 2012
By: Fishindoc
from Dallas, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:outstanding
"I recently spent two days fishing the Rockport area. Dave Hayward was incredibly helpful and a very gracious host. He set me up with two guides that were able to put me on good fish. It was a very positive experience and I look forward to returning."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent redfishing,
August 22, 2012
By: KenFish
from Houston TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I had a great day out with Captain Drew. He expertly guided us to all the hot redfish spots and taught us the basics of saltwater flyfishing (we have only river fished). A great venue, great guide, and Swan Point is an excellent outfitter. They even lent us a rod for the next day to try without a guide! I huighly recommend them."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Personal Service,
August 21, 2012
By: FortWorthFatherSon
from Fort Worth, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I recently booked a saltwater fly fishing trip through Swan Point Landing Outfitters. A good friend referred me to Dave Hayward, who was a pleasure to work with. Dave set us up with an outstanding guide in advance of the trip. Dave provided thorough communication in advance including many recommendations for lodging and restaurants. He met us at his fly shop the evening before our fishing outing and provided us with a fly rod for my son, some fine Orvis and Patagonia gear and great hospitality. He was sure to spend the time needed with us to guarantee that we were well prepared. The guide was terrific. We are relative novices at saltwater fly fishing, which can be a challenge for any guide. Billy was patient with us and provided a full day of instruction to get us the best opportunities to land a big red. Billy had us on fish all day long. we shared a lot of stories, identified some mutual friends, and had a great day on the water. It was a great weekend for my son and I. I thank Dave and Swan Point Landing Outfitters for making it very easy for us. We will definitely be back"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Swan Point Outfitters, TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swan Point Outfitters, Rockport, Texas,
June 9, 2012
By: rhpdds
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:none
"Was referred to SP by a fishing guide/friend for advice on salt water fishing needs. Dave is so knowledgeable and decisive he made it simple to figure out what I needed for a future trip to Casa Blanca (this will be my first salt water trip). This was a shopping experience by deluxe. Thanks Dave for all your help, you made it easy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes