Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM

Experience the San Juan River fly fishing trip of your life on the San Juan River in New Mexico! Fisheads guides know the river and how to fish it. No matter what your age or level of experience, we'll show you a great time! Float and wade trips available. Newly remolded rooms equipped with Wi-Fi, Fly-Tying Tables, Flat-Screen TV's, Direct TV programming and the cafe has the best food in the county.
Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
55 of 56(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Review 1 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge on the San Juan,
October 14, 2012
By: Booger
"Chris has established a long over-due quality lodge, restaurant, fly shop, and guide service at a reasonable price. Our room had a private patio that opened directly onto the San Juan River. The room was large and clean and comfortable. The food is excellent and is prepared by a talented chef. Chris knows the river too. Check out Fisheads San Juan River Lodge before you book anywhere else. You won't regret it! By the way, it is located on the river in the middle of the community of Navajo Dam."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
April 22, 2014
By: Geddy
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Both guides, Marcus and Chris, were friendly, funny, and very knowlegable of the river and equipment. They were very helpful in the method and when to set the hook to catch as many fish as possible. Never caught so many fish in my life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout-a-plenty,
April 21, 2014
By: Dorado222
from Surprise, AZ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fisheads is an excellent guide service and we always have an excellent time with Chris. We tried some new techniques on our recent trip and it resulted in many big trout!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best Kept Secret,
April 21, 2014
By: braaap
from Hobbs, NM, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This place is awesome! We stayed in our toy hauler up the street and did not stay in the cabins. My husband stayed in the cabins last year and said they were decent. Not a place my mother would like to stay (she's a bit high maintenance). The food at the shop is delicious! The smoked trout is to die for!! I also had a glass of the wine they serve from the winery down the street and ended up going to the gas station and buying them out it was so good! Our fishing guide Robbie was really good too. We caught tons of big fish and enjoyed his company. I would like to bring my dad and brother up here next year. We fish in Gunnison, CO every year and this place blew their fishing out of the water. The average size fish you catch here is the biggest fish in the Tyler. I bet we end up making this an annual trip! Thanks!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GREAT RIVER/EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATIONS,
April 19, 2014
By: Wally1756
from Dallas, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:When there for two or more days, would like to stick with the same guide
"The San Juan is a great river to fish. Each trout you catch will be bigger and fatter than any previous fly fishing experience you've had before!
Fisheads is a good place to stay...they have clean rooms, that are very convenient to the fly shop and restaurant. They feature the best guides in the area...we'll be back!
Try to stay there on a Friday night...Prime Rib night...outstanding!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing, Great guide,
April 14, 2014
By: HFvine
from Los Olivos, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Ben made the trip perfect!
"Fished 3 days with Ben Hahn the last week of March. I have fished with many different guides over the year and I felt Ben was one the best guides I have ever fished with. Why? He is very creative and employs methods that are not the norm but get incredible results! Bottom line, Ben is fun to fish with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A fantastic introduction....,
April 6, 2014
By: Chuttie
from Navajo Dam, NM 87419, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time fishing with Fisheads, first time on the San Juan, and it was a great day!
Ben was a great guide, teacher, and sportsman. I am pretty much a rookie with a fly rod; but between the river, guide Ben, and lots of luck...managed to catch fish all day long. It was a fantastic introduction to the river and fly-fishing. When my shoulder recovers, I am anxious to get anther day on the river!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juan River on April fools day,
April 6, 2014
By: algar01
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very knowledgeable. Totally focused on there clients..
"Excellent outfitters. Have everything you would need for some awesome trout fishing. Guides, fly shop,great restaurant,and friendly knowledgeable people.Had a great time.caught lots of fish.
I have one complaint and it is about the rooms at the lodge. There is no place to sit in the rooms. There were 4 on our trip and I saw other groups of the same number. People have a tendency to congregate in one room,to talk about there day,plan the next day,talk flies etc. and there is no place to sit. Everyone ends up on the beds. And the beds end up not so comfortable for sleeping. I almost hate to include this because everything else there is so good. But it was something I noticed the very first day.
Great place,hope to visit again someday.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't look elsewhere,
April 1, 2014
By: Stan14
from Schwenksville, Pa.
"My friend and I just returned from fishing with Chris again (3rd time) for 2 days after an absence of 8 years. We were blown away by the total package that Fisheads has become. Clean, comfortable lodging, excellent comfort food that has no local equal, and a bevy of savy guides who can put anyone on fish and correct their techniques for catching them as well. Fisheads is the only option for doing this unique, world-class fishery right. Accept no substitutes because there aren't any."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishhead experience,
March 25, 2014
By: Tonyc60
from Buckeye, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guide was great, put us onto fish all day!
"Great fishing and first class guide!
Orvis always does a great job!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Day at the San Juan,
March 24, 2014
By: ChrisofMemphis
from San Juan River, New Mexico, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Promptly at 8:00 on Monday morning, I met Marcus, our guide for the day. Despite windy conditions and very murky water, my son and I had a great day on the San Juan. We caught several fish in deep water and learned a great deal."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time,
March 21, 2014
By: Bfish
from San Juan River, New Mexico, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
March 17, 2014
By: RustyS69
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Focused on improving my skill set!
"Rustic setting with world class fishing, knowledgeable guides and outstanding food/service. I will definitely sign up for the next Orvis trip to Fisheads!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
March 16, 2014
By: KenTN
from Scottsdale, AZ
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Cool relaxed guide. He brought out his Spey rod to do a demo & let me try it. Fantastic!
"Great guide (Mike S.). Learned a lot about fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
January 12, 2014
By: DrArchie
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I fish w/ Chris Taylor and Fisheads almost every year shortly after New Years. It is always fabulous. Not only is the fishing great, but i always come home a better fisherman because of Chris' considerable technical and teaching skills. I heartily encourage anyone thinking about fishing the San Juan to do so w/ the folks at Fisheads!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishheads on the San Juan,
January 8, 2014
By: mfoley51
from Cotter, AR, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Best I have fished with
"The best place to stay on the San Juan River New Mexico.
Great Food with the best guides
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
San Juan trip,
January 7, 2014
By: mpatebowyer
from Sewanee, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Extremely knowledgable; humorously sarcastic
"Great experience. Very nice room. Very savvy guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Hosts; Perfect Guide!,
December 30, 2013
By: AmericanfromAustralia
from Perth WA, Australia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent
"Fishead
The San Juan River, NM
We arrived onto Rte. 511 a mere 8 miles from our Fishead destination, in Texas Hole, New Mexico, late on a snowy night in December, after a 9 hour treacherous drive from Phoenix, Arizona. All the road signs were covered with icy sleet, blocking any resemblance of direction. One half hour later, with clear On-Star guidance from our wonderful hosts, we landed, cold, hungry and tired. They had waited long after their closing time to greet us. But nevertheless, Lake Captain Nicole asked the chef to grill us a couple of burgers and before long we were well into our ‘fishing adventure.’ The generous welcome and warm regard of our hosts, including Chris and Peggy, set the tone for a wonderful couple days of fishing on the beautiful San Juan River in New Mexico.
Now, I am writing as a complete novice to fly fishing, having experience with my father only off a boat with a reel rod on the Lakes of Michigan some thirty years ago. Fortunately for me, my colleague and longtime friend, an Orvis enthusiast, fully equipped me with ‘top of the line’ Orvis gear—to die for—including their new Korker boots with their fantastic Boa Lacing System and an exquisite rod, the Clearwater 10 foot. I was in the awkward position of having the perfect ‘outfit’ with absolutely no knowledge about what to do in it: fly fishing!
Nevertheless, always game for adventure, we engaged Bubba, guide par excellence, to teach me. Now Bubba’s been known to bring grown men and women to tears and on the face of it, I understand. He towers 6’4” or more, 250lbs (give or take), a former professional ball player who wears his cap pulled nearly over his wary eyes---he suffers no fools.
Fearless myself, I begged him for patience! He did not disappoint. He broke down the ‘rules’ of fly fishing in easy to grasp phrases, including, “I’m fishing,” to signify my casting pause; and, “rip their faces off,” to emphasize the strength required to lock in the reel prior to landing a brown trout. He repeatedly unhooked my fly hook from every conceivable place it stuck when I was wildly swinging it about, telling me gently, “That happens.” I can’t imagine! Again and again and again, he calmly coached me. I felt as if I was in the hands of a big hearted giant who was dedicated to my success. And success I had! Those fish simply couldn’t resist Bubba’s flies! (I understand he sells many of these flies through Orvis).
At Fishead on the San Juan River in New Mexico what we encountered was a river full of fish. The fishing days seemed so short and the excitement so great. Unlike hours on rivers with nary a bite, here the fish are game to play: catch and release. As Bubba told me, “we intend to inflict as little harm as possible;” gently we netted fish after fish, rainbow and brown trout, and with barely a touch, we released them to happily swim away again. Given the beauty of the river, the wide open sky and unique rock formations surrounding that stretch of river, and all the wild life about, I would have been happy myself just to have a rod in the water.
So there you have it, an account of my first fly fishing adventure: great place; great guide; wonderful hosts; fabulous river; exquisite fishing; a dream come true. And now that I have all my ‘best in class’ Orvis gear, (See Lee in the Orvis Phoenix store) I can’t wait to go again! We are already booked for March…
Signed,
Marsha
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
November 14, 2013
By: 1Whitey
from Tucson AZ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Fishing was outstanding.
Guides were outstanding.
Food was outstanding.
Who could ask for anything more?
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Fisheads of the San Juan River, NM
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Road Trip,
November 7, 2013
By: Eagle3
from Boise, Id
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brother who lives in your area booked a trip with Fisheads. Our guide, Chris, was an excellent guide and showed us some great techniques to hook and land fish.
Chris spent some extra time with my brother on his casting technique because he certainly needed it. I, on the other hand needed little to no help because I'm probably one of the best fly fisherman EVER.
I all seriousness, the San Juan produced more fish in the boat than any river I've fished, which includes Colorado, Montana and Idaho and the northwest. This probably wouldn't have happened without the help of Chris, he was great!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes