Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thomas E. Baltz, PA

Guiding and fly-fishing instruction for individuals and small groups on the famous limestone trout streams of south-central Pennsylvania's Cumberland Valley, near Carlisle. Come and learn fly-fishing techniques developed along 30 miles of the user-friendly Yellow Breeches Creek or try post-graduate level fishing offered by the Letort or Big Spring. Stalk mountain freestone streams around the Valley for wild brook and brown trout. Summer fishing for smallmouth bass in area warmwater streams is a pleasant break from technical trout fishing. I have guided these waters since 1974.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Review 1 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom, Us & the Yellow Breeches,
October 19, 2013
By: PCooper
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 16 yr old son and I had the good fortune to be introduced to Pennsylvania's fine trout waters through our guide,Tom Baltz. Tom is a true gentleman and was the perfect answer for a father trying to get his son to fall in love with his favor sport, fly fishing. Tom is patient, knowledgeable, posses a great sense of humor and is a great host for anyone looking to catch fish and have a great experience on the water. Thank you Tom for helping my son fall in love with trout fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time Fly fishing,
October 7, 2013
By: Antono
from MD
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My Dad & I went fly fishing first time. Tom's instruction were great, and in a short time we were able to cast and even catch. His knowledges of the river and all nature around were amazing. Will definitely use his service and expertise again.
Thanks a lot Tom!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time at Yellow Breeches,
October 3, 2013
By: buck1dog
from Eastern PA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent a half day fishing the Yellow Breeches Creek with Tom on Sunday, September 29.
I'd never fished the Breeches before, but have always wanted to. Tom put me in position to catch fish and, boy, did I ever!
He also showed me a few tricks that helped me to get better and longer drag-free drifts.
I would highly recommend Tom, not only for his knowledge of the stream and its hatches, but also for his great personality."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandfather's Day,
September 23, 2013
By: NDGear
from Chadds Ford, PA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tom Baltz, our Orvis Guide, delivered a very good instructions experience for three of my grandsons the Yellow Breeches Creek in Boiling Springs, PA on a Saturday morning. On water instruction was very effective and led to trout bedding caught by the kids!
I would recommend Tom Baltz as an expert guide and instructor."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't get any better...,
August 23, 2013
By: FirstTimeFisher50
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:A "legend"!
"I left Orvis Guide Alex Quick and Blackberry Farm, TN in May after learning how to fly fish. Alex connected me with Tom, and what can I say? The outstanding Orvis learning experience continues. Tom has taken me out several times to different streams, refining and improving my skills, teaching me about our local waters, and always ALWAYS putting me on fish. In 3 short months after beginning my fly-fishing adventure, I am fishing in some of Central PA's toughest waters -- by myself at times! -- and always pulling out fish. Tom is enjoyable, amiable, a terrific story-teller and an ace at his craft. People tell me that he is a "legend" in these waters. Indeed he is, and happy to share that legendary knowledge with those that fish with him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tour de Breeches,
June 7, 2013
By: PSUTrout
from Gaithersburg, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This is the third time with Tom as a guide. The first two trips were with my son and then my daughter. Both were to basically learn to fish. My objective for this occasion was far different. I wanted to understand the Yellow Breeches and where to fish it. So the major effort was on touring the stream, not the usual task of a fishing guide. It went very well. I learned exactly what I wanted to know. But in addition we spent some time catching fish and in the process Tom noted some glaring deficiencies in my fishing approach. To my surprise I had an excellent learning experience. Basics that I had either forgotten or disregarded were brought to my attention and we started a correction process. This was a bonus of the trip. I learned what I wanted to learn and also improved my fishing approach. Oh yea, we caught some really nice browns."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Day,
June 7, 2013
By: PAHawki
from Yellow Breeches Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I wanted to prepare my son for a Colorado Rockies fishing trip later in the year - he has never fly fished before. Also wanted to brush up my skills and learn a little about the Yellow Breeches. Tom was recommended by a mutual friend. What a fantastic day! Tom spent much of the day with my son, teaching him the basics. Also pointed out some helpful tips for me. Tom knows his craft very well, and has the right disposition and patience to successfully pass that knowledge on to others, even novices like us. He always had a good story to tell, and put us on fish! He also really knows the Yellow Breeches well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice day on the water...,
October 3, 2012
By: gforce
from Yellow Breeches Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have known Tom for many years, always talking at fishing shows and such but had never spent a full day fishing before. Finally our schedules meshed and we got to fish.
Tom always said "come here in the Fall, it is our best fishing". And I guess that was true because we had a great day on the "Breeches". The weather, water, and trout all cooperated.
We spent the afternoon at another spot that I will not name and finished the day out chasing some really spectacular fish.
But the best part of the day was hanging out with Tom. He has a great fishing story for every situation, and was also able to provide some tips to make me a better fly fisher."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
September 7, 2012
By: lhart
from Yellow Breeches Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Tom since 2001, this was the best trip to date - I caught 8 fish in 4 hours. Tom is very professional & knows this area like the back of his hand. He clearly loves teaching this sport. Thanks again Tom - will see you in April."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the stream,
July 6, 2012
By: alatt
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were expertly guided by Tom Baltz on the yellow breeches, and big springs in mid June. Tom worked with my wife on her dry fly casting, and me on my nymphing. In no time at all we were both into plenty of fish, including a 16" rainbow for my wife, the largest trout in her flyfishing career. Tom provided us a very successful, and fun day. Toms extensive knowledge, and passion for flyfishing was very evident. If you want to learn the waters of the Cumberland Valley We highly recommend Tom Baltz"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Thomas E. Baltz, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good guide,
May 9, 2012
By: DBflytier
from Williamsport, PA
"Tom Baltz occasionally worked for me as an Assistant Guide when I conducted group Nymph Fishing Clinics in Central Pennsylvania. I often had as many as five guides and a dozen anglers. Tom was an asset to my staff, he is an excellent angler, very knowledgeable, a good teacher and knows how to get clients into fish. I highly recommend Tom as a guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes