Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX

Fly Fish the nation's premier freshwater striper fishery, Lake Texoma. Located on the border of Texas and Oklahoma, it is a beautiful lake of bluffs and blue water and is host to a healthy, self-sustaining population of wild striped bass. Cast to topwater feeding blitzes measured in acres that will excite any angler.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
56 of 56(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Review 1 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lake Texoma Stripers!!!,
June 12, 2014
By: Drew1947
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"If this trip is not on your bucket list it should be! Never knew such good fishing in both numbers and size was available this close to home. Steve is a terrific guide and host and I ditto all the other people testimonials of him, you can say enough good things..you just have to go experience it for yourself."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome guide and incredible fly-casting instuctor,
June 11, 2014
By: marlo123
from Lake Texoma, United States
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding guide and incredible fly-casting instuctor - a combination that I have never experienced!!
"Steve runs a first class operation!! He is very punctual, organized, and detail oriented. He has a great boat and all of the fly-fishing equipment for all of the different fishing scenarios on Lake Texoma. He is a delight to be around and he is extremely dedicated to the sport of fly-fishing. I have NEVER fished with a guide that has his unique combination: incredible fishing guide AND incredible fly-casting instructor. Steve is 1 of only 2 Master fly-casting instructors in the state of Texas and 1 of approximately 200 in the world! My wife and I fished with Steve 2 1/2 days and the fishing was awesome - caught my first striped bass, smallmouth bass, spotted bass, black croppie and catfish on the fly!! In between catching fish the homemade brownies made by his wife Lisa each day were a special treat. I will be fishing with Steve again in August on Lake Texoma and in the future on trips he hosts to Montana, Belize and the Bahamas. Overall, I recommend Steve for the Orvis endorsed fly-fishing guide of the year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day On The Water,
May 21, 2014
By: Nolan74
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had a great day on the water. From start to finish, Steve never stopped working hard. We were on fish most of the day and when we weren't, he was just plain fun to be around. I would highly recommend this trip and guide to both beginners and experts. His instruction in casting and knowledge about stripers, Lake Texoma and fishing in general is very impressive. This was a great trip and experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide!,
May 10, 2014
By: bstovall
from Oklahoma City
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The best guide I have had! Not only does he put you on the fish, you improve your casting 100%."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stripping for Stripers!!,
November 13, 2013
By: morgangler
from Abilene, TX
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Being a recent convert, I had fully anticipated that to access a quality flyfishing guide I'd have to spend more time travelling (from our home in West Texas) than actually fishing. To have found Steve Hollensed on the Orvis website was literally a dream come true! He is as passionate about teaching as he is about flyfishing, and a day on the water with him is an investment in the craft that you will never regret. And stripers on fly gear?!? Are you kidding me? An absolutely perfect day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Striper,
November 8, 2013
By: paultibet
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our Texoma trip was exactly what I hoped for plus! Steve put on us so many Striper that we lost count. He also treated us to lunch at a top notch restaurant on the lake. After all of that Steve treated us to much needed casting lessons as well as teaching us whole lot about different types of fly fishing techniques & knowledge! Cant wait to bring my wife out with Steve real soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A tired arm,
October 25, 2013
By: TexomaFishery
from Austin, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"You should only go fishing with Steve if you're willing to have a sore arm and bruises on your stomach from fighting all the fish. Steve put just the right amount of coaching and joking into the trip. Appreciate his love of a special fishery. I have a seasonal place on the lake but it's worth hiring Steve just to learn more about the lake. You should book him but I'm hoping it doesn't interfere with my next trip. LDE"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great Texoma trip,
September 19, 2013
By: rvdewayne
from colleyville texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Always a quality trip with a great person.He has a customer for life!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day!,
August 17, 2013
By: Centerback95
from Keller, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great guide!
"My son and I had the best day ever with Steve. He is a great instructor/guide. Neither my son or I had ever fly fished, Steve was able to get us up to speed quickly and made learning how to cast a great. Steve is a true ambassador of the sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
August 11, 2013
By: Bassistross
from Austin, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the best day fishing that I ever have. I lost count of how many fish I caught and have a really sore arm from fighting them. I would highly recommend Steve not only because he is an exceptional guide, but also because he really helped me improve my cast. This was the best guided trip I ever had."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day with Steve!,
July 31, 2013
By: UrbanAnglers
from Lake Texoma, United States
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had another great day fly fishing with Steve Hollensend. This was our third trip and we will be back again and again. Steve is such an enjoyable and knowledgeable guide. He put us on some nice striped bass today, my son's smile won't wear-off for a long time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Positive therapy,
July 31, 2013
By: WoollyB
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guide
"Steve has the personality of a positive teacher. We caught around 40 stripers each, all on top water poppers! I have used many guides in the past, and Steve is one of the better ones... Thanks Steve!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to go back!,
July 30, 2013
By: ClaireDallas
from Dallas, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My fiance and I just got back from a half day trip with Steve. The trip far exceeded our expectations! Steve's an increidble guide who tailored the trip to accomodate our (very) different skill levels. The day was action packed and did not disappoint! We are already planning our next trip back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a fantastic experience!,
July 26, 2013
By: PHILlezar
from Dallas, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steve is an amazing guide. I have been on several trips with him and they are always fantastic. Most recently, a friend of mine came along and had the most rewarding fly fishing trip he's ever had. I will continue to use Steve whenever I can and recommend him to anybody I know."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing day on Texoma!,
July 18, 2013
By: Tie2on
from Kansas
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the 5th year I've fished with Steve if that is any indication of the quality of fishing trip he provides. He had us in the action all day long, fishing topwater as well as catching nice stripers in 25 foot of water on sinking line. With Steve's vast knowledge of Texoma he is quick to change locations, methods, flies, and presentations to keep the action hot! I tell friends that a flyfishing striper trip with Steve is something they have to experience. Already booked a date for another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stripers on Lake Texoma!,
June 3, 2013
By: AustinFlyGirl
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We fished Lake Texoma with Steve Hollensed on June 1 and had a BLAST. Steve took us out at 5am to get the big stripers early and the topwater action was adrenalin packed and so much fun. Later in the day we hit pods of smaller stripers and were pulling them in like crazy - 2 at a time on several occasions. We also caught smallmouth and sand bass and it was just a great day. When bad weather kicked up, we waited it out in the boathouse and Steve gave us really helpful instruction on casting sinking line. Steve knows where the fish are and he'll put you on them - he's also a helluva nice guy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Experience!,
June 3, 2013
By: flyfishrgirl
from Lake Texoma, United States
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Phenomenal guide
"From the moment I stepped on the boat til the day was done, I found Steve Hollensed to be an excellent host and phenomenal guide! He was entertaining, smart, and perceptive to the changes in the fish, keeping us on top of them all day. We caught really big stripers, white bass, smallmouth bass and catfish. He also threw in time for a casting lesson! I can't wait to book another trip with him. I highly recommend his guide service, its definitely worth it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strippers on Top,
May 25, 2013
By: RTC1029
from McKinney
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Early April I was invited by my friend Scott to a Fly Fishing Trip on Lake Texoma. When he told me That Steve Hollensed was our guide I knew we were fishing with the Best of the Best. ( my Son and I had taken casting lesson from him) Date was set for the 16th of May. The night before North Texas was hit with Tornatic Storms and lots of rain. We got to the meeting place and Steve said get ready for though day of fishing due to all the storms and high wind. We headed out and was expecting the worse. Now this is where being the Best of the Best matters. Steve work hard and due to his experience and knowledge he put us on fish. Caught Strippers, Sand Bass and even a Cat Fish.
Steve could have taken it easy and blamed the weather, instead he use all of the elements working against us and found fish and conditions within the lake to make the Fly Fishing experience exiting and successful.
Can Wait to go back.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding trip,
May 23, 2013
By: Trouter222
from Collegeville, PA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steve,
What a great trip.Your knowledge of the lake as well as your 6th sense of finding the fish, made the whole experience a pleasure. thanks again !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Flywater Angling Adventures (Steve Hollensed), TX
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great texoma trip!!!,
January 11, 2013
By: rvdewayne
from colleyville texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great dude!
"Great trip as usual."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes