Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Rob Woodruff, TX / OK

Rob Woodruff is a full-time fly-fishing guide, fly designer and fly fishing instructor. He specializes in guiding anglers on some of the most famous and productive east Texas lakes, as well as Oklahoma's Mountain Fork River, all located within 200 miles of Dallas.Woodruff has been fly fishing for over 30 years and guiding since 1992. He has a degree in Entomology and teaches seminars on entomology for fly fishers as well as a variety of other fly-fishing and fly-tying subjects.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 of 43(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Review 1 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas in July!,
July 29, 2015
By: evasews4u
from Prairieville, LA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great experience!
"WOW! Where do you start with Rob Woodfuff?
This was my first experience with trout fishing and I'm very new to fly fishing. Rob was so very patient and kind with me! My husband and I caught some very nice fish!!!
Rob is knowledgable and passionate about his work and it shows. Always picking up litter. Always helping others along the way. Always teaching those very important tidbits to help you find, land and return the fish safely to the stream.
I truly had a blast! I will highly recommend Rob to everyone. If you are new to fly fishing, a seasoned angler, or anywhere in between, Rob is the guide for you!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Flight Guide,
July 27, 2015
By: dstreet
from Monroe, Louisiana
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I brought my 13 year old son fly fishing for trout for the first time. We went fly fishing with Rob Woodruff in Broken Bow, OK. I fished with Rob for several years now. I fished and hunted with guides all over North and South America and can tell you Rob is the best fly fishing guide I ever encountered.
My son hooked roughly 7-8 trout each day and brought several to hand. His first rainbow was about 18 inches. The next was slightly smaller. I caught a few more fish than my son each day. And we did this while most angler on the river were catching little or nothing.
Rob knows the water, the fish and how to catch them. He is very patient with beginners and has an easy way about himself that really shortens the learning curve. I fly fished for 15 years now and I learn something every time I go with Rob.
Please take a trip with Rob. Take your son, daughter or spouse. After fishing with Rob, they will be asking about the next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip w/ Rob,
July 25, 2015
By: augaflyguy
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rob is a great guide. He put us on fish, and was a great instructor.I would definitely fish w/ Rob again"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day. Great Guide,
July 14, 2015
By: TLuce
from TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A friend and I spent a great day fly fishing the Broken Bow area with Rob Woodruff on July 10th. It is a terrific fishery, and we netted lots of really nice fish.
More importantly, it was a pleasure to fish with Rob. He knows every rock and riffle, he knows where the fish hold, how to reach them, and when. I fly fished Northern Nevada and Western Montana for years, but Rob taught me a ton, and I am certainly a better fisherman for having spent the day with him.
His knowledge of the area, the water, and its entomology is unrivaled. He is safe, ethical, supremely skilled, and truly a pleasure to spend the day with.
Anyone that appreciates excellence, expertise, and the pursuit of all the reasons one hires a guide in the first place, I absolutely recommend you run, don't walk, run, to the nearest phone or email and reserve your day with Rob Woodruff as soon as possible. You and your fishing buddy will congratulate you the entire day on such a fine choice.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever fishing experience,
May 25, 2015
By: learningfast
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:well organized and great communication
"Rob delivered a once-in-a-lifetime trout fishing experience. The day was a comfortably paced, pleasant, guided tutorial on entomology, fish behavior, fishing technique and...we caught plenty of fish. A walking encyclopedia on the subject, Rob beat every expectation we had for this trip and I'll go back to fish bass with him as well. A true 5 star day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip in East Texas,
May 19, 2015
By: EFrankD
from McKinney TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All around great guide
"Great Trip in East Texas! I really felt like I went fly fishing on this trip. Catching a bass on the fly is awesome. Rob is a cool, knowledgeable, fun guide. He knows the fish, the flys, the water, and a lot of other interesting facts about the industry, the state, and the locals. I learned a lot on the trip. He offers a lot of diversity close to home for me, and I look forward to my next trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OK Trout Trip,
May 11, 2015
By: JerryL1
from Texas, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rob was an excellent guide. Friendly, patient, on time, and very knowledgeable of the waters. We caught 20+ trout with 50% of those exceeding 14 inches. I would highly recommend him to fly fishermen of all levels."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rob is the man!,
December 23, 2014
By: sjordan
from Broken Bow, OK, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I don't know where to start. I have fished twice with Rob the past 2 months. Both times I brought a friend along for there first fly fishing trip. The experience has always been a great one with Rob.
Rob does an excellent job of teaching as he gets you to where the fish are. Rob is also a very personable guy. I feel almost as though Rob is a good friend of mine. We had many good conversations. This may not be important to other people, but I personally value this.
If you are looking to book a guide and he is available in the area I highly recommend him. I have fished with well over 20 different guides and Rob is by far the best I have ever fished with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great outing!,
December 9, 2014
By: TYoungDFW
from Euless, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I always look forward to my "next" booking with Rob. Every trip has been memorable for me, as I cannot remember NOT catching trout! He truly loves his occupation, and it comes through in his knowledge, patience and expertise."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Best Fishing Day,
December 9, 2014
By: flintflyfisher
from Flint, TX 75762, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great communication about what to expect and delivered exactly as expected. Actually better than expected!
"I can't say enough about Rob Woodruff as a guide and genuinely quality individual. We fished the Lower Mountain Fork River in Oklahoma below Beavers Bend Lake. Rob was promptly on time, prepared and organized. He made my son and I feel comfortable and welcome right from the start. This was a birthday trip for my son who just graduated college. I have been fly fishing for 30 years but have never had any formal teaching and my son has just started fly fishing. I had my gear, and Rob provided top quality Orvis equipment for my son. I can't begin to explain how helpful Rob's knowledge of entomology is to a fly fisher! It is one thing to have his kind of knowledge of bugs, rivers and trout. It is another thing to be willing and capable of sharing that knowledge, and Rob is both willing and capable. If I was fishing ANY water that Rob guides on there is no way I would consider another guide, no reason to! Oh and by the way we caught fish, and some good ones, all day long. Rob had my son casting very competently in 30 minutes which made the day much more enjoyable for him. If we had not caught any fish I would have considered this a wonderful fishing experience! You have a good one here Orvis!!! We WILL be back hopefully many times. Thank you Rob for making mine and my sons day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect November Fly Fishing Trip on LMFR,
November 14, 2014
By: jeep1944
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As an entry level fly fisherman I really don't where to start to explain what an outstanding trip I had with Rob Woodruff! He had so much knowledge to share and I had so much to learn, that it was hard to absorb it all in one day. I started basically on my own learning to fly fish, but had no formal actual hands on coaching, so Rob's unending patience made me feel relaxed while gaining confidence. Without his guidance, I seriously doubt if I would have caught as many fish as I did! All the credit goes to him. I learned so much and I'll forget some of it, but without a doubt, I'll definitely be fishing with Rob again! Hopefully, with much upcoming practice, I'll have improved by casting technique by then, but I know I still have so much to learn from Mr. Woodruff!!
Thanks Rob, it was an awesome experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly fishing experience ever,
July 30, 2014
By: JimParry
from Frisco TX
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Rob is the best fly fishing guide we have ever used!
"Beautiful location
All types of water & presentations. And Rob's knowledge of the geography, entomology & (most important) the fish, made it a great experience for my wife & I
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the Top Fly fishing guides around.,
July 29, 2014
By: Sctbridge
from Broken Bow, OK, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rob woodruff has got to be one of the top guides in the Orvis stable. Not only did he put us on a world class size rainbow trout (in Oklahoma!) but we learned everything imaginable about the Mountain Fork eco sytem below and above the water line.His self tied flys are so trust worthy that making a "good presentation" is slightly less important or stressful.
He came highly recomended by both Dallas fly fishing shops, and i am glad
I took their advice.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
May 1, 2014
By: TonyLupo
from Broken Bow
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rob was our guide for a recent trip a friend and I took to fish the tailwaters of Broken Bow lake and the experience was top shelf. My friend is a seasoned fly fisherman and I am a rank novice and in spite of the wide disparity of skill he was able to effectively guide both of us and get us into some seriously good fishing holes. Great experience. Thanks, Rob!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
April 28, 2014
By: stan5
from Dallas, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished with Rob two times now. Both trips have been enjoyable and have caught fish. He is very knowledgeable and helpful. Had answers to all my questions."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing, great learning,
April 1, 2014
By: royzboy
from Los Angeles, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rob Woodruff recently guided us on the Lower Mountain Fork in Oklahoma. His knowledge of the river is superb. And as a small bonus, he is an entomologist. He brought all his vast knowledge to bear to produce an outstanding learning experience and some excellent fishing. Rob is an outstanding guide and a fine gentleman. We are already planning our trip for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide, Great Fishing!,
April 1, 2014
By: SandyFromDallas
from Dallas, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On March 28 and 29, 2014, I fished the Lower Mountain Fork River near Broken Bow, OK with our guide Rob Woodruff. Rob is BY FAR the best guide I have ever used (and I have used many). He knows the river and has great techical skills, wonderful people skills, and is very patient. And the fishing was terrific."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Experience,
February 10, 2014
By: Brinkman
from Plano, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The past weekend my wife and I had the pleasure of using one of the best guides we have been out with before. Not only did he put us one of the biggest rainbows I have ever caught but he really took the time to teach us something new. Rob goes above and beyond for his customers and really wants them to learn about the fishery, proper techniques, and having fun while on the water.
I would highly recommend him and to any of my closest friends and family!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience,
February 3, 2014
By: RobC460
from Spillway Creek/Lower Mountain Fork
"I can't recommend Rob enough. Fantastic guide and really enjoyed his company. I had fly fished quite a bit before but not in years, he was very helpful. Caught numerous rainbows, a few pretty big ones. He knows exactly where the fish are and what is hatching. A+ experience and I will be working with him again for sure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rob Woodruff, TX / OK
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Fly Fishing in OK,
February 1, 2014
By: Jjsweeney
from Lexington, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Some of the BEST water in the most unsuspecting area. Excellent fishing for all ranges skill levels. Rob had superb knowledge of the water. He was extremely friendly and treated us with the utmost respect. If you want some excellent trout fishing in a picturesque setting, with water ranging from mountain stream pocket water to big tailwater expanses. All types of water for all levels of experience. Top Notch Guide, whom I would definitely use again, and highly recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes