Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bay Street Outfitters, SC

Year-round low country fly fishing at its finest, convenient to Hilton Head, Charleston, and Savannah. Old historic Beaufort is in the center of it all with literally hundreds of square miles of tidewaters and grassy marshes to fish. The fishing possibilities are endless. Enjoy sight casting to redfish, cobia, sea trout, and crevalle jacks with fly or light tackle. Come spend a half or full day on the bow of a flats boat with one of our seasoned captains. We are home of "The Redfish School" for advanced sight casting to redfish and other saltwater species.
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Review 1 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water,
August 21, 2013
By: TarzanmetJane
from PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Brandon spent the AM with his friend Josh on the calm water with Cpt. Tuck Scott while Cpt. Chris put his dad and I on the Redfish right away. We lost count of the number of Lady fish, jacks and sea trout we caught. Very friendly, and they know the water well. First class."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide, Great Day,
July 24, 2013
By: TideRoller
from Charlottesville, VA, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Have been on more then a few guided trips and our time with Tuck Scott was simply the best trip that I have ever been on. My daughter and I had a blast. I think it was because with other guides they will put you on some fish (or not) and head hastily back to the dock. With Tuck you got the impression that he never thought about the dock and that he just wanted us to have a great experience and we did. Many thanks to Tuck for doing such a fine job and Tony for finding such a top notch guide for BSO."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice day on the flats,
July 24, 2013
By: Gentleman
from Lower Gwynedd, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:He said hello but wife was only buying a dress.
"Cpt. Tuck Scott spent the AM with my son and I on a windy summer day. The Redfish were keeping to themselves but the action on the boat with fishing tales and hope lasted just fine. Cpt. Scott knows the area well and we stopped by BSO in Beaufort later to find a well stocked store and friendly staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seeing RED,
June 7, 2013
By: PatrickatFOMOutfitters
from Medina, OH 44256, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've fished inshore around the Beaufort, SC area several times with Capt. Tuck Scott several times now. Every experience is fantastic. He really is a pro's pro. He knows the water and the fish like the back of his hand. He is fantastic in helping with any aspect of your casting. And, he is a pleasure to fish with. He is helpful, but always keeps things light. Get down to Beaufort and fish with these guys!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Experience,
February 11, 2013
By: Onmura
from Greenwich, CT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great time doing a new kind of fly fishing for me. Our guide, Tuck Scott was extremely helpful and intent on making sure we had a good day. He gave good advice without being patronizing and worked hard to find fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket list item accomplished,
January 31, 2013
By: Hoofly
from Berlin, MD 21811, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Pleasant, friendly, knowledgeable
"Fished 1/21 and 1/22 with Capt.Tuck Scott of BayStreet Outfitters. Cold 2 days but had a blast.Tuck skillfully put me on fish and I was able to bring 6 fish to boat. Looking forward to doing it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a way to end 2012!,
January 24, 2013
By: Bowslayer
from Summersville, WV, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:No
"I fished with Captain Tuck Scott, of Bay Street Outfitters, for a half day on the last day of 2012. We were sight casting to Red Fish for most of the morning with limited interest from the fish—very cold temperatures the night before.
Not being a seasoned saltwater angler I'm sure the speed of my delivery left much to be desired but Scott was extremely patient yet tenacious in putting me into fish. If we weren't having luck in one spot we would immediately move to more promising waters.
Towards the end of our outing the line went tight with what Scott dubbed as a tournament Red (I'm estimating every bit of two feet long). I landed the fish and Scott took quality photos with his DSLR which he emailed to me the next day.
Great guide, quality outfitter and very happy customer.
Can't wait for Cobia season with the same guide!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Bay Street Outfitters, SC
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Time in Beaufort,
November 21, 2012
By: NautiDog
from Nashua, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent 2-days fishing for Reds with Owen Plair of Bay Street Outfitters. It was my first saltwater experience and my first time casting for Reds.
The trip is something I will never forget and the guiding was solid. Conditions over the two days were not ideal but Owen got me on fish and I am happy to report I landed my first Red, and not a small one either!
Bay Street is a solid choice if you want to fish for South Carolina Reds."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes