Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Angler's Covey, CO

At Angler's Covey, we design a quality fly fishing experience with your needs in mind, whether you're a beginner or advanced fly fisher. Join us on the South Platte River, the epitome of the beauty and adventure of our Colorado mountains, 60 minutes from Denver or Colorado Springs. We offer full-day, half-day, private water, corporate, and custom guide trips to suit your needs. We have been serving fly fishing enthusiasts for over 30 years and were recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the year in 2012. We look forward to getting you out on the water - let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
148
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
153 of 153(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angler's Covey, CO
Review 1 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience!!,
July 26, 2015
By: Frantztx
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family booked a trip with Jon and Anthony in May and it was an amazing experience! We had a mixed group of fishermen with experience, some with sporadic experience and myself who had never gone fly fishing before. Jon and Anthony were able to expertly attend to all of us. Jon was particularly adept at helping along the newbie while ensuring that those with experience were also getting attention and enjoying themselves. His skills at providing instruction, interjecting humor, and adapting to situations as required (e.g., waiting out some falling hail) were impressive and made the entire trip run smoothly and enjoyably. And the incredibly delicious lunch and beautiful photos were an exceptional bonus to the trip! Everyone had such fun and we are looking forward to booking our next trip with Jon & Anthony!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guided Fishing Trip,
July 22, 2015
By: AMLMHL
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Earl did a great job teaching us the basics of fly fishing in a low-stress and humorous manner that was in tune with the gorgeous surroundings and awesome trout."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zach Tovach,
July 20, 2015
By: EHarbin
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Me and a friend booked a trip with Anglers covey and went out with Zach. Exceptional guide. I would recommend booking a trip with this gentlemen to anyone. Never fly fished before. Zach was extremely patient. Zach took us to a spot where we spent the entire day catching fish. We caught somewhere in the neighborhood of 80 fish. We also just enjoyed visiting with him. I cannot express enough of how good of an experience it was. I look forward to book him again and taking my daughter fishing. Just an overall good experience. Thanks Zach."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHOCKINGLY WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!,
July 20, 2015
By: Judymooreiwata
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Julie was extremely knowledgeable and an absolute delight to be with
"My husband has been a avid fly fisherman for years, and I always resisted joining him because it sounded way too boring. I like to be on the move! But a good friend of mine suggested we do a lesson together, and I absolutely LOVED my first experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with Earl and A.C. !,
July 12, 2015
By: PLFTX
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My pregnant wife and I recently went up to the North Catamount with Early Hecker. Earl is a gentleman and a great instructor who took two folks with fishing experience, but zero fly fishing experience and gave us an understanding of the fundamentals and an appreciation for fly fishing. We caught a few fish under less than ideal wind conditions when no one else was catching a thing! Earl was patient personable and professional and we can't wait to go out with him again and catch some big trout when they run in the fall.
Also have to say that Angler's Covey is one of the finest fishing outfitters I have ever seen with a great staff and selection. I will be buying my fly fishing gear my next visit.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch of the Day,
June 26, 2015
By: KrisMasaracchio
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anthony and I had communication for weeks prior to the trip involving details about getting to know each other, what to expect, and information on what we needed to bring along on the trip. Anthony went above and beyond to make sure that the trip was in best interest for my family and I. We had the pleasure of also working with Gary. Gary was very good with instructing my family and very friendly overall. My kids and I had an amazing time and shared amazing memories. The experience was outstanding and the scenery was beautiful. Anthony and Gary were determined in helping each one of us catch our own fish. We were all successful in learning to fly fish and had a great time doing it. We would highly recommend not only Anglers Covey but also Anthony and Gary if your trip includes a guided tour."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travis,
June 25, 2015
By: Rich49
from Palmer, Alaska
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I spoke to several staff members while gathering information on my trip. While in Colorado Springs I stopped into the shop 3 days before my trip, and the day after my trip. I spoke to 8 different people during all my conversations. The knowledge of the staff was amazing. Knowing that each staff member told me the same thing about the area and fishing was very refreshing and reassuring.
"I fished Rosemont Reservoir. I was looking for the Colorado experience. Travis took me on a expedition that included an unbelievable view up the mountain to 12,000 feet, that included a hike to the Reservoir. This truly was a bucket list item for me. Travis did an awesome job and very knowledgable of the area and what was fishing and what was not. He kept me updated on the conditions as we got close to our fishing date. I will be back with my son do this trip again. Amazing, just amazing!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Who knew?,
June 24, 2015
By: Dakotamaya
from Muskegon michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Welcomed to Colorado Springs by a record torrent of spring rain, we were chased away from the gold medal waters touted by the area. Our guide John Kleis, none the less, took us as newbies to the sport for an experience of still water fishing on the north slope of Pikes peak. With John's incredible patience we got into fish having multiple takes and over ten fish to the net in our half day excursion. Would look forward to the river experience with this company and with John another season!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Trip,
June 17, 2015
By: StillwaterBear
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went with Kenny Romero to Spinney for a half day of great fishing. This was the first time I have fished with a guide. Kenny was very patient and his knowledge of the lake, its various and changing conditions, and insects was amazing. I learned a lot in a short time and had a lot of fun doing it. Caught the biggest fish I have ever caught. I will recommend Kenny to my fishing friends. I would definitely go out with him again when I have a chance. Thanks Kenny!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
June 15, 2015
By: Kerberus13
from 11 Mile Canyon, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had the opportunity to go on an all-day, guided fly fishing trip through Angler's Covey. Excellent people, great and knowledgeable guide made the day fun and enjoyable and good fishing for adults and kids."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Confidance Builder,
June 11, 2015
By: Hank80
from Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took a half day nymphing trip with Anthony Surage. He was an excellent guide and teacher. He used many teachable moments to sharpen my skills in a very constructive manner. After the trip, I felt extremely confident with my newly acquired. skills. I intend to do several more guide trips with Anthony."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turbo initiation into fly fishing,
June 11, 2015
By: Chrisdewet
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went on my first fly fishing trip this past Wednesday. All I can say is….legendary! Jon Easdon of Anglers Covey in Colorado Springs, led the full-day trip to Elevenmile Canyon. He is very personable and a great trainer that not only taught us the practical know-how's, but also effectively demystified fly fishing. I enjoyed every second and can highly recommend Jon and Anglers Covey!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream Stream,
June 4, 2015
By: ChuckMeisel
from Castle Rock CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We went this past Tuesday (June 2nd) with Zach on the Dream Stream. The conditions were very tough (full moon the night prior, bright sun, high flows and of course wind). Zach was absolutely committed to getting us fish in the net and worked tirelessly. In the end we both had beautiful Rainbows to show for our combined efforts. Zach, thank you for keeping us going. We'll be back in the fall."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Money well spent,
May 30, 2015
By: Stewscrew
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I would like to thank Mr. Gossage for his compassion! I had a health issue that kept us from being able to book the trip. He was very considerate in making the trip happen!
"Kenny was excellent! Full of energy, enthusiasm, and knowledge. We have fished the area for 4 years and wanted to learn how to fish the water in this area. The patient's Kenny had was exceptional! He was persistent to help with technique and presentation. Myself, my son, and son-in-law caught fish that we have not caught before fishing the same area! It was a day the three of us will always remember! We are ready now,because of Kenny's teaching to have confidence and success in the fisheries of the area. I would definitely book a trip again with Kenny! Without a doubt he would come highly recommended by these three fish hounds! Again, an unbelievable outing! Thanks Kenny!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific trip,
May 26, 2015
By: SWK1
from Leawood, KS, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I spent three days fishing with head guide John Easdon. This is our second trip with John and both have beed superb experiences. Our trip fell right in the middle of tremendous rains in the front range. We fished flows uo to 1000 CFS. Needless to say this was quite challenging. John's guidance was technically excellent and also patient and encouraging. We caught many great fish and improved in our fly fishing abilities. More importantly we had great fun and made great memories for a life time, in large part thanks to John."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have asked for more,
May 19, 2015
By: Eric131313
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went out with guide Jon Kleis in May. I'm a novice, my friend had never been fly fishing before. He was super knowledgeable and a great teacher. Both of use caught double digit fish, and had many more on the line. Was very accommodating to what we were looking for, put us on beautiful water that was easy for us to fish. Lunch was great too!! I learned so much, definitely a much better fly fisherman after this great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Day,
May 19, 2015
By: tspaulding
from Grand Rapids, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished Eleven Mile Canyon with Earl. Great weather and awesome day even though the fish were a little stubborn. Got fish to the net and learned a lot. Earl was extremely helpful both prior to the trip(getting to know my Dad and I) and during the trip. Was not overwhelming but put us on fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Trout Were Calling,
May 18, 2015
By: GigEm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Jon Kleis is an excellent guide.
My son and I started using Anglers Covey guide services in the summer of 2013. We used a couple of their guides before being hooked up with Jon Kleis in May of 2014. My son, my brother, and I have enjoyed several guided trips with Jon. We have learned much about Colorado fly fishing from him. He is an excellent teacher. I am also impressed by his clean language, calm demeanor, no yelling, superb family values, and lack of pets on fishing trips.
It has been my privilege to have him instruct my wife early in her fly fishing career - she picked up her first fly rod in late June of last year. This May he introduced my daughter to the sport. Now we are a fly fishing family of 7 (me and my wife, our daughter and her husband, our son and his wife, and my brother). Waiting in the wings for Jon to teach him fly fishing is our 6 year old grandson.
Caught lots of fish during our three day trip. Experienced weather extreme from sleeting/hailing to rain to sunshine - all in the same day.
As our fly fishing family has grown, Jon has enlisted guide Anthony Surage to join us on our fly fishing adventures. He is a welcomed addition to our group.
We look forward to many more trips with Jon in the future"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zack is awesome,
May 18, 2015
By: Steve6649
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Had limited contact with staff at fly shop.
"Zack is an awesome guide. He knows the rivers he guides on. He picked the best river to fish for my trip. River conditions were less then idea on other rivers in the area. We started our trip at an ideal location as I was quickly into good size fish. He is a patient teacher as he tries to correct bad habits. We moved about several times to find bigger and more challenging fish. Which we did. He carefully explained things, such as why we were using tiny nymphs, how to hook, play and land big wild trout. I caught quite a few big trout; Brown's,Cutbows, and Rainbows. Overall I had a very memorable experience with Zack.
www.orvis.com/anglerscovey"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earl Hecker was awesome!,
May 11, 2015
By: dandbmclean
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Earl Hecker provided stellar service as our fly fishing guide. My husband and I chose a half-day fly fishing experience. Earl confirmed a few times prior to our arrival. He asked questions to be sure he understood what our preferences were and what we might like to experience. He was also very adept at managing our expectations as well. AS a novice, I particularly appreciated Earl's thorough and easy to understand instructions. He was also able to give my husband some more challenging instruction to improve his fishing skills.
Earl was positive and patient and always encouraging. We would return again and will recommend Earl to our friends!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes