Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Angler's Covey, CO

At Angler's Covey, we design a quality fly fishing experience with your needs in mind, whether you're a beginner or advanced fly fisher. Join us on the South Platte River, the epitome of the beauty and adventure of our Colorado mountains, 60 minutes from Denver or Colorado Springs. We offer full-day, half-day, private water, corporate, and custom guide trips to suit your needs. We have been serving fly fishing enthusiasts for over 30 years and were recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the year in 2012. We look forward to getting you out on the water - let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.968 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (123 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
123 of 123(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angler's Covey, CO
Review 1 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Ever!,
July 28, 2014
By: cbullar
from Fort Smith, AR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Thank You Angler Covey for partnering with such professional guides like Jon Easdon. Jon & I met early at the shop and headed off to fish the Cheesman canyon. This is a beautiful piece of water that I recommend to any fly fisherman that love technical, challenging, adventures. It is a bit of a hike in and out, but OH SO Worth the burn!
Jon admits himself to be a little OCD about checking and changing flies, till you get action. Because of his experience, his patients, and his tenacity, He will put you on the fish. I had several hook ups brought to hand, and several more very large fish that I wasn't as successful to land.
I will be remembering this trip for a very long time thanks to my great guide.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout fishing,
July 26, 2014
By: OpieTheFlyFisher
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent! I'm quite impressed with the staff. We were treated very well. The guide was very patient with us as well as demonstrating the best knowledge of fishing potential. Lunch was fantastic."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guided fishing trip,
July 25, 2014
By: GGH2
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a day's fishing with guide Greg Blessing through Angler's
Covey. This is the 2nd year my buddy and I have gone with Greg, and he is great. Very knowledgeable and extremely patient with a couple of guys who are not the best fly fishermen (and that is putting it mildly). I cannot recommend this guide enough.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Drift,
July 24, 2014
By: TCTS
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:good advice
"My son and I had an excellent time on private water on the South Plate. The fishing was with double nymph rigs. We caught plenty of large fish in 400+ csf and landed about 60% of them. Our guide was excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Royal Treatment,
July 23, 2014
By: photopro2000
from Colorado Springs, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently my son, Jerod, and I booked a full day guided fishing trip on Spinney Mountain Reservoir with Kenny Romero as our guide. The guide and the trip far exceeded our expectations. Kenny was not only intimately knowledgeable about the lake and its fish but he worked exceedingly hard to make it so that we didn't have to work so hard. Kenny put us on to some very big fish. This was a wonderful experience that I hope to repeat again sometime soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Techniques,
July 14, 2014
By: sinneyfly
from Spinney Mountain Reservoir
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kenny Romero is a tremendous guide. Patient..great instructor. Went on a challenging day where bite was low. Showed me many techniques to try when hatch of off and fish are picky."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing With Kenny Was Blast,
July 14, 2014
By: FredaMoss
from Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kenny was so much fun to fish with. His desire to put you on fish was intense. His passion and knowledge for fishing is admired by many and I now understand why. His patience and intensity and generosity were more than I expected. His love for fishing makes me love it even more. No one else around us was catching, but we managed a good 6 fish for only a half a day in some very tough conditions. If you want to have fun and want a passionate guide with fish knowledge....Better Hire Kenny."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brothers Reunion,
June 29, 2014
By: SanDiegofisherman
from San Diego, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My Brother and I met in Colorado and had a ball! Our guide,Jon Kleis, was very knowledgeable and patient with us. We caught a lot of fish and truly enjoyed the experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memory will last forever,
June 28, 2014
By: CKOldham
from Mansfield, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Everyone at Angler's Covey is friendly, knowledgeable and awesome!
"We booked a half day with Angler's Covey out of Colorado Springs. Travis was our guide. He was the perfect guide for us. My husband fly fished and I used a conventional lure on the North Platte River in the Pike National Park. Travis was able to split his time between us easily. He was very patient with me as I was a beginner. He tutored me steadily and by the end of the tour I had caught two rainbow trout. I was thrilled. The stops we made were breath taking, the scenery magnificent. I will not soon forget this day and how wonderful it was."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
June 22, 2014
By: FishingforWalkers
from 11 8 Mile Canyon Road, Soda Springs, ID 83276, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wife surprised me with a half day guided trip with Earl Hecker. Earl was extremely knowledgeable, professional, and easy to get along with. We got to the river and the fish flocked to us and we had bites all morning! We would recommend Earl to anyone interested in learning about the river, insects, hatches, or getting great pointers on improving your skills. Thanks Earl we had a blast!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fun time had fly fishing,
June 20, 2014
By: Brent44
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very impressed with our guides.
"Overall a very good experience was had by our group of 6. We all had a chance at more than a few fish and the guides were very patient with us "newbies". The setting was ideal for our first Colorado fishing trip. The only downside we had was they didn't take a spare pole and we had one break early into the trip leaving us to share 5 poles between 6 people fishing. We were told at the river we would only be charged for 5 fishers but so far that has not shown up as a credit on our card. But to be fair that was only yesterday at the time I type this. Making the reservation was not easy as the phone number on the website got me to a person who wanted me to sign up online but the signup online was next to impossible to use so I ended up calling back at which time he found a number I could use to sign up over the phone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
June 3, 2014
By: Tailwaterman
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My best older fishing buddy, from Dallas, and I recently fished South Platte/Deckers area, out of Anglers Covey, with Steve Gossage, our guide. Steve was waiting for us in his roomy, clean, fishing rig, when we arrived at the fly shop 15 mins early. Conditions were tough with unexpected heavy flows, and murky water, however Steve worked very hard and put us on fish, in spite of tough conditions. Steve is very neat, organized and has a generous assortment of flies and gear. In fact, we used a few flies I have never seen before, which is always interesting. My old friend and I have hired many hunting and fishing guides over the past 30 years, and we found Steve's professionalism to be among the very best. If you are fishing in our area, you could not do better than to use Anglers Covey and take a well organized trip with with head guide, Steve Gossage."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable Experience,
May 29, 2014
By: AliSuzanne
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Booking my trip was insanely easy and the person helping me was SO helpful - thank you for that.
"I got my boyfriend a 1/2 day fly fishing guided trip from Angler's as a Christmas present. Let's just say this may have been the best present of all time.
Simply put - the trip was above and beyond what we expected. We were first time fly-fishers but we are adventurous people so we wanted a hands-on experience with the immediate opportunity to actually fish. We wanted to learn as we went and get help along the way. Well, we got exactly what we wanted.
John was our guide and I will forever recommend him to anyone doing any sort of fly fishing in Colorado. He was SO knowledgeable, he was SO instructional, he was SO fun, and we got to be in the water fishing the entire time. Literally, within 5 minutes of getting there we were in the water with poles in our hands. He let us learn as we went and helped us along the way. We netted 4 fish in just the few hours we were out there!! We technically caught 10 fish but a few of them got away. It was a pretty incredible experience - one that I will recommend forever!
Thank you to both Angler's and John - the best fly fishing instructor of all time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Made Our Trip,
May 29, 2014
By: PN56
from Rockton, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First I would like to say that Angler's Covey is a top notch business with professionals that are curtious and always helpful. Now to our trip with my wife. We booked a 4 hour walk and wade trip on 5/27 at the office. Steve at the office told us that our guide would contact us the next day to make arragements for our trip. Our guide Jon Kleis contacted us and he went over the entire trip making sure of our experience and knowlege of fly fishing so he could tailor the trip and make it a learning and enjoyable experience. Jon met us at the store and fitted us with our gear and we were off on our journey. On the way there Jon was explaining where we were going and what to expect again until we arrived at our destination the South Platte River. Jon was teaching right from the start and he was so helpful but most of all patient. We are not the most experienced and Jon was the "Best" guide that we ever had and we had many. We learned so much from Jon in 4 hours than I learned in so many other trips. The other thing was we caught fish with the new technique's that we will be able to use going forward. Not only did Jon help us with fishing but he also was taking quality pictures while we were on the water in different senario's which we will be able to look at for years. If you want to catch fish but also have a guide that is passionate about his profession and will teach you technique's that you will take away then book a trip with Jon Kleis."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highlight of My Colorado Vacation,
May 28, 2014
By: TXAG96
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Earl couldn't have made this trip any easier or more fun. Excellent, excellent guide
"This was my first fly fishing experience, and it could not have been any better. Earl Hacker took me and a buddy out to Elevenmile Canyon. My buddy was an experienced fly fisherman, and Earl gave him a few data points about the location that helped him land at least a half dozen trout. I expected my success to be something less than that. I was wrong. Earl taught me two different casts, and I pulled in 6 fish. Several were 14" to 15". I didn't do everything perfect (not even close), but Earl patiently taught and encouraged me. The water was crystal clear. The surroundings were pristine. The fishing was active and fun. It was by far the best part of my vacation, and that's competing against some excellent hiking and whitewater rafting. I'd recommend this trip to anyone, and the cost of having a guide was minimal compared to the quality of the experience. Everything was set up for me. I just showed up, followed some instructions, and started catching fish. I learned a ton by asking questions. Earl even showed me what the fish were eating but suctioning out one of my catch's last few meals. Sure enough, it was a dozen nymphs, which were exactly what Earl had me casting. He was a great guide. One incredible story, and I'm done. I was casting and doing pretty well. Then I looked down and found 3 trout swimming around my feet. Earl laughed and told me about these local "bootlckers". He kiced them away, and one promptly swam out and hit my line. I set the hook and told Earl he'd just earned a nice tip by kicking a fish onto my hook!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great first Colorado trip,
May 9, 2014
By: GrandRapidsMike
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I hired Juan Ramirez to fish Colorado for the first time recently, and he was the perfect choice. We settled on 11 Mile Canyon, on his recommendation, and caught fish there in every spot we tried. Juan is a great teacher and a fabulous fly tier. His patterns worked on some very tough fish. On top of that he was attentive (especially to Bev) and great to talk to. We'll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the river,
May 8, 2014
By: flyfishing001
from Deckers, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Juan of Angler's Covey was our guide -- friendly, experienced, an able teacher and guide. Made our half-day trip enjoyable. Thank you!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oustanding experience,
May 8, 2014
By: Yankeefishermen27
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our guide Jon is a total star - knowledgeable, skilled, patient, fun. He put us in great, beautiful water and put us on many more fish than we could catch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day at Spinney with Jon Kleis!,
May 8, 2014
By: JKRoth78
from Spinney Mountain Reservoir, Colorado 80827, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I met Jon Kleis a few years back at the Angler's Covey. I think it was at a fly tying night but can't remember for sure when I first met Jon. Sometimes you run into people and you instantly know you are on the same wavelength. Jon and I got along right off the bat. There are a few areas that we line up perfectly on. Fishing is an obvious first. Not just fishing in general but our thoughts on the sport like why we enjoy it, why we fish flies that catch fish, why we like to keep the BS to a minimum, etc, etc, etc. List just seems to go on and on.
We finally got our chance to go fishing this past Sunday at Spinney Mountain Reservoir. It took all of 5 minutes to get the first take which I got caught sleeping on. John had us rigged up at a perfect depth so that our trailing fly was just barely catching some underwater vegetation every now and then. That really kept us on our toes (after the first miss :-)) because ticking the bottom and some of the takes we got were identical. Fly selection was not as I expected which was good. We fished a two fly nymph rig and fish were biting on both flies. We were using...... ah, gotcha on that one..... Sorry but for that juicy tidbit you'll have to hit Jon up! Ben and I both caught fish and we even had doubles. I can't ever remember getting a picture of two fish in the net. What a blast! We were just getting settled in when the wind showed up.
I starting casting and mending against the wind like a mad man to keep my flies in the water. That is where our Guide made all the difference. Jon stepped in and showed me how to work with the wind and waves and not against them. Totally counter intuitive for a guy who has spent years keeping his line mended on rivers. I was basically getting a drift on a lake! Totally opened my eyes to stillwater possibilities.
The wind really picked things up. We had the right rig, flies, and technique and we really started to hit them. The takes in the morning were pretty subtle but when you have two foot white caps and a trout grabs your fly, your indicator goes under! This was unbelievably fun. It felt like hooking up on the swing at the end of a river drift. Every cast was ripe with anticipation and for good reason. We spent the rest of the morning into the early afternoon landing one fatty after another. It was a mixed bag of hens and bucks. All of the boys had kypes. It was really fun fighting and landing fish in waves. I can imagine that surf fishing feels a lot like what we were doing in the middle of Colorado! I can't even describe what it's like to see a trout fight waves on it's way back out to "sea" after the release. Unreal... Great trip and I whole heartedly recommend Jon Kleiss to beginners and advanced fly fishers alike!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guiding,
April 30, 2014
By: MikePeggy
from Georgia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Guide Jon Easdon did an excellent job of coaching on the techniques necessary to catch fish in the challenging Colorado waters we fished. Patience and constructive, I doubt we would have caught any fish without his guidance. He was also very aware of our physical limitations (65 & 75 years old) as he found accessible locations to land some very nice Browns and Rainbows. It was a great two-day experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes