Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Angler's Covey, CO

At Angler's Covey, we design a quality fly fishing experience with your needs in mind, whether you're a beginner or advanced fly fisher. Join us on the South Platte River, the epitome of the beauty and adventure of our Colorado mountains, 60 minutes from Denver or Colorado Springs. We offer full-day, half-day, private water, corporate, and custom guide trips to suit your needs. We have been serving fly fishing enthusiasts for over 30 years and were recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the year in 2012. We look forward to getting you out on the water - let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.97 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (164 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
164 of 164(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angler's Covey, CO
Review 1 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
August 26, 2015
By: Opalwhiteley
from South Platte River, CO
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first fishing experience and I netted three trout and had the time of my life! Great guides, gorgeous scenery, lovely experience. Highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'll be back!,
August 19, 2015
By: PastorZ
from Chambersburg, PA
"I had a great experience with Angler's Covey. Jon Kleis took me to Eleven Mile Canyon for a full day of fishing fun. Jon treated me with respect, patience and great kindness as he instructed me in the finer art of fly-fishing. For Jon it was an "old dog, new tricks" experience. In spite of me, the wind, the weather, marauding geese and intruding fishermen, I still caught trout!! I hit the "trout trifecta," catching rainbow, brown and cutthroat. I think Jon took great pleasure in his client catching trout when intruding fishermen did not! Thank you Jon for a great experience! I will see you again. Also, special thanks to Julie Sprinkle for setting me up with some boots and flies the day before my trip so I could do some exploring. The folks at Angler's Covey are the real deal!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
August 17, 2015
By: CodyinTexas
from Midland, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:In the shop, Scott helped me piece together a rod / reel combo after the trip. He was very helpful.
"Earl took my Dad and I on a great trip. This was my first fly fishing experience, and I had a blast. Despite my total lack of experience, Earl had me placing the fly in the right spot in no time. It was a blast, and I intend on returning and requesting him as our guide in the future!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish On,
August 13, 2015
By: FishKisser
from Plano, TX, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent the last 3 days fishing with Jon Kleis on the So. Platte and had an absolute blast. This was the second year in a row for my 2 buddies and I to fish with him. Jon is so knowledgeable of the great sport of fly fishing. He is patient, encouraging, and simply makes fishing so much fun. Jon caters to his clients and helps each one to improve their skill. You cannot go wrong with Jon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kenny Romero,
August 12, 2015
By: JSmith219
from Austin, TX
"My brother and I went on a Sunday trip with Kenny Romero who was absolutely outstanding. On very short notice Kenny was able to take us out for a 1/2 day trip and did an excellent job throughout the trip. His attitude was very positive and encouraging which made it extremely enjoyable for us. He had a wealth of knowledge that he freely shared with us beginners and knew the river very well. I look forward to the next opportunity to fish with Kenny again hopefully in the near future. I would highly recommend Kenny to anyone out there looking for a good fun day of fishing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST FLY FISHING GUIDE,
August 10, 2015
By: mattmeier
from Lake Saint Louis, MO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I and my two sons recently came there and went fly fishing for basically the first time. We had a great time, and our guide, Kenny Romero was great. He worked with all of us and didnt mind that we were a novice, He even had my twelve year old casting and catching fish. He worked so hard to ensure that he had a great time, and learned while we were doing, I would strongly recommend using Kenny, at least for the first few days of a trip. We cant wait to get back out and go again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great 1st time experience,
August 10, 2015
By: JDish
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished w John & Juan & the overall experience was really good from being fitted at the shop, a very informative drive to the river, & a wonderful 1/2 day fishing. Both of these guys know their business & couldn't be more pleasant, patient, & full of knowledge and ideas."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coolest experience I've had in awhile,
August 8, 2015
By: Mr2cent
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Killer time on the water with Earl, he showed me a lot of new ways to try and fly fish, I caught my first fish on a fly rod today! So that just made the experience even better. Very knowledgeable and eager to share that knowledge with a beginner."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
11 Mile Canyon Fantastic Fishing!!,
August 3, 2015
By: DRfly
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kenny Romero was a spectacular Fly-Fishing guide! He put us right on the 20" trout all day. His knowledge of the river was incredible, throughout the day he was swapping fly's and knew exactly what the fish were hitting on at any particular time of day. As well as his knowledge of the river, Kenny also taught us many intermediate/advanced casting techniques and was very eager to give us as many pointers as we could handle. All and all it was a great day of fishing in very difficult fishing conditions and we still landed Rainbows and Browns all day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rewarding experience with guides,
July 31, 2015
By: JIStone
from Arlington, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was part of a corporate excursion. I rode with Gary Karbouski to the river and he guided me in the river to learn fly fishing. He chose a fish populated portion of the river and our team caught fish besides catching the joy of fly fishing. Gary and a friend of his were patient with each of us. They were there for us. I always felt I could ask them questions, laugh with them and build a friendship with them. Gary is a world traveled fisherman who knows the trade and loves the fish, loves the out of doors and enjoys meeting and serving people."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW... What a great time.,
July 28, 2015
By: JL777
from 11 Mile Canyon (Colorado)
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My girlfriend and I had the best time ever. Jon Easdon was super friendly, knowledgeable, and a lot of fun."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful experience!!,
July 26, 2015
By: Frantztx
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our family booked a trip with Jon and Anthony in May and it was an amazing experience! We had a mixed group of fishermen with experience, some with sporadic experience and myself who had never gone fly fishing before. Jon and Anthony were able to expertly attend to all of us. Jon was particularly adept at helping along the newbie while ensuring that those with experience were also getting attention and enjoying themselves. His skills at providing instruction, interjecting humor, and adapting to situations as required (e.g., waiting out some falling hail) were impressive and made the entire trip run smoothly and enjoyably. And the incredibly delicious lunch and beautiful photos were an exceptional bonus to the trip! Everyone had such fun and we are looking forward to booking our next trip with Jon & Anthony!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guided Fishing Trip,
July 22, 2015
By: AMLMHL
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Earl did a great job teaching us the basics of fly fishing in a low-stress and humorous manner that was in tune with the gorgeous surroundings and awesome trout."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zach Tovach,
July 20, 2015
By: EHarbin
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Me and a friend booked a trip with Anglers covey and went out with Zach. Exceptional guide. I would recommend booking a trip with this gentlemen to anyone. Never fly fished before. Zach was extremely patient. Zach took us to a spot where we spent the entire day catching fish. We caught somewhere in the neighborhood of 80 fish. We also just enjoyed visiting with him. I cannot express enough of how good of an experience it was. I look forward to book him again and taking my daughter fishing. Just an overall good experience. Thanks Zach."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SHOCKINGLY WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!,
July 20, 2015
By: Judymooreiwata
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Julie was extremely knowledgeable and an absolute delight to be with
"My husband has been a avid fly fisherman for years, and I always resisted joining him because it sounded way too boring. I like to be on the move! But a good friend of mine suggested we do a lesson together, and I absolutely LOVED my first experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with Earl and A.C. !,
July 12, 2015
By: PLFTX
from Austin, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My pregnant wife and I recently went up to the North Catamount with Early Hecker. Earl is a gentleman and a great instructor who took two folks with fishing experience, but zero fly fishing experience and gave us an understanding of the fundamentals and an appreciation for fly fishing. We caught a few fish under less than ideal wind conditions when no one else was catching a thing! Earl was patient personable and professional and we can't wait to go out with him again and catch some big trout when they run in the fall.
Also have to say that Angler's Covey is one of the finest fishing outfitters I have ever seen with a great staff and selection. I will be buying my fly fishing gear my next visit.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catch of the Day,
June 26, 2015
By: KrisMasaracchio
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anthony and I had communication for weeks prior to the trip involving details about getting to know each other, what to expect, and information on what we needed to bring along on the trip. Anthony went above and beyond to make sure that the trip was in best interest for my family and I. We had the pleasure of also working with Gary. Gary was very good with instructing my family and very friendly overall. My kids and I had an amazing time and shared amazing memories. The experience was outstanding and the scenery was beautiful. Anthony and Gary were determined in helping each one of us catch our own fish. We were all successful in learning to fly fish and had a great time doing it. We would highly recommend not only Anglers Covey but also Anthony and Gary if your trip includes a guided tour."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travis,
June 25, 2015
By: Rich49
from Palmer, Alaska
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I spoke to several staff members while gathering information on my trip. While in Colorado Springs I stopped into the shop 3 days before my trip, and the day after my trip. I spoke to 8 different people during all my conversations. The knowledge of the staff was amazing. Knowing that each staff member told me the same thing about the area and fishing was very refreshing and reassuring.
"I fished Rosemont Reservoir. I was looking for the Colorado experience. Travis took me on a expedition that included an unbelievable view up the mountain to 12,000 feet, that included a hike to the Reservoir. This truly was a bucket list item for me. Travis did an awesome job and very knowledgable of the area and what was fishing and what was not. He kept me updated on the conditions as we got close to our fishing date. I will be back with my son do this trip again. Amazing, just amazing!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Who knew?,
June 24, 2015
By: Dakotamaya
from Muskegon michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Welcomed to Colorado Springs by a record torrent of spring rain, we were chased away from the gold medal waters touted by the area. Our guide John Kleis, none the less, took us as newbies to the sport for an experience of still water fishing on the north slope of Pikes peak. With John's incredible patience we got into fish having multiple takes and over ten fish to the net in our half day excursion. Would look forward to the river experience with this company and with John another season!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Trip,
June 17, 2015
By: StillwaterBear
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went with Kenny Romero to Spinney for a half day of great fishing. This was the first time I have fished with a guide. Kenny was very patient and his knowledge of the lake, its various and changing conditions, and insects was amazing. I learned a lot in a short time and had a lot of fun doing it. Caught the biggest fish I have ever caught. I will recommend Kenny to my fishing friends. I would definitely go out with him again when I have a chance. Thanks Kenny!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes