Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Angler's Covey, CO

At Angler's Covey, we design a quality fly fishing experience with your needs in mind, whether you're a beginner or advanced fly fisher. Join us on the South Platte River, the epitome of the beauty and adventure of our Colorado mountains, 60 minutes from Denver or Colorado Springs. We offer full-day, half-day, private water, corporate, and custom guide trips to suit your needs. We have been serving fly fishing enthusiasts for over 30 years and were recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the year in 2012. We look forward to getting you out on the water - let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.964 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
139 of 139(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angler's Covey, CO
Review 1 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific trip,
May 26, 2015
By: SWK1
from Leawood, KS, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I spent three days fishing with head guide John Easdon. This is our second trip with John and both have beed superb experiences. Our trip fell right in the middle of tremendous rains in the front range. We fished flows uo to 1000 CFS. Needless to say this was quite challenging. John's guidance was technically excellent and also patient and encouraging. We caught many great fish and improved in our fly fishing abilities. More importantly we had great fun and made great memories for a life time, in large part thanks to John."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldn't have asked for more,
May 19, 2015
By: Eric131313
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went out with guide Jon Kleis in May. I'm a novice, my friend had never been fly fishing before. He was super knowledgeable and a great teacher. Both of use caught double digit fish, and had many more on the line. Was very accommodating to what we were looking for, put us on beautiful water that was easy for us to fish. Lunch was great too!! I learned so much, definitely a much better fly fisherman after this great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Day,
May 19, 2015
By: tspaulding
from Grand Rapids, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished Eleven Mile Canyon with Earl. Great weather and awesome day even though the fish were a little stubborn. Got fish to the net and learned a lot. Earl was extremely helpful both prior to the trip(getting to know my Dad and I) and during the trip. Was not overwhelming but put us on fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Trout Were Calling,
May 18, 2015
By: GigEm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Jon Kleis is an excellent guide.
My son and I started using Anglers Covey guide services in the summer of 2013. We used a couple of their guides before being hooked up with Jon Kleis in May of 2014. My son, my brother, and I have enjoyed several guided trips with Jon. We have learned much about Colorado fly fishing from him. He is an excellent teacher. I am also impressed by his clean language, calm demeanor, no yelling, superb family values, and lack of pets on fishing trips.
It has been my privilege to have him instruct my wife early in her fly fishing career - she picked up her first fly rod in late June of last year. This May he introduced my daughter to the sport. Now we are a fly fishing family of 7 (me and my wife, our daughter and her husband, our son and his wife, and my brother). Waiting in the wings for Jon to teach him fly fishing is our 6 year old grandson.
Caught lots of fish during our three day trip. Experienced weather extreme from sleeting/hailing to rain to sunshine - all in the same day.
As our fly fishing family has grown, Jon has enlisted guide Anthony Surage to join us on our fly fishing adventures. He is a welcomed addition to our group.
We look forward to many more trips with Jon in the future"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zack is awesome,
May 18, 2015
By: Steve6649
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Had limited contact with staff at fly shop.
"Zack is an awesome guide. He knows the rivers he guides on. He picked the best river to fish for my trip. River conditions were less then idea on other rivers in the area. We started our trip at an ideal location as I was quickly into good size fish. He is a patient teacher as he tries to correct bad habits. We moved about several times to find bigger and more challenging fish. Which we did. He carefully explained things, such as why we were using tiny nymphs, how to hook, play and land big wild trout. I caught quite a few big trout; Brown's,Cutbows, and Rainbows. Overall I had a very memorable experience with Zack.
www.orvis.com/anglerscovey"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Earl Hecker was awesome!,
May 11, 2015
By: dandbmclean
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Earl Hecker provided stellar service as our fly fishing guide. My husband and I chose a half-day fly fishing experience. Earl confirmed a few times prior to our arrival. He asked questions to be sure he understood what our preferences were and what we might like to experience. He was also very adept at managing our expectations as well. AS a novice, I particularly appreciated Earl's thorough and easy to understand instructions. He was also able to give my husband some more challenging instruction to improve his fishing skills.
Earl was positive and patient and always encouraging. We would return again and will recommend Earl to our friends!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rainbow Falls with Earl Heckler,
May 9, 2015
By: Burb
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Amazing area, picturesque and private. Earl was fantastic. Patient, knowledgable, enthusiastic, and engaging. He helped me work out some kinks in my cast that made all the difference in the world. It was a luxury to have someone else sort out my wind knots (and in about 1/20th of the time I might add). He expertly selected the right flies, and shared a great deal of his knowledge rather than being a "I know it and you don't and I'm not going to tell you" kind of guide. I learned tips and tricks that helped me catch fish the very next day on a very difficult stretch of water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greg Blessing and Sage were Great!,
May 8, 2015
By: anthonyp151
from Brackney PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I booked online but went to the shop after to get some items so I could go again myself. Steve was very helpful
"I booked a full day with Greg and had the bonus of having his dog Sage out there with us. Greg was great fun and very knowledgeable. As a beginner he identified my issues right away and made getting better possible, no pressure, and fun. I caught fish and hooked even more that got away from this newbie despite his best efforts:). I had a ball watching Sage go right along with us, guide us to the next hole, spot rises and jump in the water when we netted a fish. He was never in the way and quieter in the river than me. I had so much fun I ended up going back by myself two days later and caught fish using what Greg taught me. Greg provides a great meal, a surprise memento, lots of education and a great experience. I'll definitely go out with him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Guide Justin Brenner,
May 5, 2015
By: DennisScott
from Colorado Springs, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Just a great shop
"This was the first time I have ever used a guide. Justin was knowledgeable and very willing to share. He was more like Fishing with a friend than a high and mighty fly fishing god. I caught some great looking and chubby still water trout. I will not forget one particular bit of advice that will stay with me aand help me land more fish "let the reel do the work". As an added bonus he also makes an awesome sandwich though like little kid we did not want to take time away from fishing to eat."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Trout,
December 26, 2014
By: AnotherTexan
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I went out with Earl Hecker a few days before Christmas. Cold water, cold air, but lots of fish. He worked with us through some last minute changes, made sure we were prepared for the weather and provided excellent gear for the trip. Fish are never guaranteed but he put us on them anyway and provided a fantastic day of dry fly fishing in mid-december. He was an excellent teacher for my wife and got her casting and on fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Slam Fishing Trip,
October 11, 2014
By: TXEric
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What can I say that hasn't already been said about Earl Hecker. What an amazing guide. Very passionate about his job and truly enjoys teaching and helping us newbie fly fishers land fish! Earl is a U.S. Army veteran and his professionalism is reflected directly upon that. He called in advance and explained the whole trip, that way I would be well prepared. Once on the water, Earl had me on a fish after the third cast!! It was exhilarating! Earl walked me through all the basics and before long I was feeling like a pro. He would spot a fish and because of his teaching skills, I was able to cast and deliberately catch a targeted fish. I had such a blast and memories I'll never forget (thanks to Earl for constantly taking pictures of me and my catches). Overall A++++ service and if you're thinking of booking a fishing trip, I highly recommend Earl Hecker as your guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
October 3, 2014
By: JenaW
from Eleven Mile Canyon, Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:extremely knowledgeable and passionate about fly fishing
"Hello, I took my husband fly fishing and we went through Anglers Covey in Colorado Springs. Our guide was Earl Hecker. He took us out to Eleven Mile Canyon and the whole day was amazing! Earl was a great guide, the location was beautiful. We caught so many fish both with both types of flys. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone who was interested in trying fly fishing - it definitely made me want to continue going! Everyone we met at Anglers Covey was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about fly fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Total Break from Reality,
August 25, 2014
By: CrappieGal
from Germantown, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I spent the afternoon at Deckers with Guide Earl Hecker. He called a few weeks prior to introduce himself and get general information from me. That was such a nice touch since this was our first fly fishing adventure. Earl was a great instructor--patient and kind. He has a great regard for the outdoors and for humanity in general. The fish were not biting but we were blessed by the river and the beauty of God's creation. I recommend Earl to anyone!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the River -11 mile; 8/14/14,
August 20, 2014
By: GopherSports
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Earl Hecker was great—perfect spot selection for my 2 boys. Excellent trip planning--called 2 weeks before and then 2 days before.
They loved it. He did a great job with bringing jackets for the rain and bouncing between the 3 of us as we got fish, lost fish, got us better at reading strikes and setting, finding pools, landed fish, and got us un-stuck on rocks or branches. He was great about changing flies when water conditions changed a lot from rain to clear.
Will definitely plan another trip for several days in the area with Anglers Covey.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water,
August 9, 2014
By: HowellPartyOfTwo
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We had an amazing time out on the water today. Our guide, Jon Kleis was awesome! He was very knowledgable and extremely patient with us. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. We highly recommend Jon and hope to one day make it back for another trip. We'll cherish his awesome photographs of our trip forever! Thanks again Jon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip, great guide!,
August 3, 2014
By: KCase
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Friendliness is very important and the staff seemed genuinely interested in helping us.
"I waited for several years to take this trip with my 2 sons. I wanted them to be old enough to get out on their own and be able to enjoy fly fishing. I booked the trip through Phil Benton and was kept informed as time went on through their updates and website. Our guide, Anthony Surage, contacted me a few weeks in advance to find out what we were interested in and to learn about our skill level (beginners) as well as any goals we might have. Anthony maintained great contact with me leading up to the trip. We met at our prearranged location and over the course of the next week, Anthony took us to various spots around the Colorado Springs area. He constantly worked with each of us, improving our ability and making it so much fun. Catching fish was secondary to the good times and laughs we had with Anthony. He was able to make the entire trip so much fun and a real learning experience for my boys and I. Anthony was a master guide and with his help, we dramatically improved our skills by the end of the week. We laughed to ourselves because it seemed whenever Anthony would walk over near one of us, that person would catch a fish. He is the "trout whisperer!" We will definitely be going back to spend some more time with Anthony. And . . . the fishing was fantastic!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Ever!,
July 28, 2014
By: cbullar
from Fort Smith, AR
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Thank You Angler Covey for partnering with such professional guides like Jon Easdon. Jon & I met early at the shop and headed off to fish the Cheesman canyon. This is a beautiful piece of water that I recommend to any fly fisherman that love technical, challenging, adventures. It is a bit of a hike in and out, but OH SO Worth the burn!
Jon admits himself to be a little OCD about checking and changing flies, till you get action. Because of his experience, his patients, and his tenacity, He will put you on the fish. I had several hook ups brought to hand, and several more very large fish that I wasn't as successful to land.
I will be remembering this trip for a very long time thanks to my great guide.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trout fishing,
July 26, 2014
By: OpieTheFlyFisher
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent! I'm quite impressed with the staff. We were treated very well. The guide was very patient with us as well as demonstrating the best knowledge of fishing potential. Lunch was fantastic."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guided fishing trip,
July 25, 2014
By: GGH2
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a day's fishing with guide Greg Blessing through Angler's
Covey. This is the 2nd year my buddy and I have gone with Greg, and he is great. Very knowledgeable and extremely patient with a couple of guys who are not the best fly fishermen (and that is putting it mildly). I cannot recommend this guide enough.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Drift,
July 24, 2014
By: TCTS
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:good advice
"My son and I had an excellent time on private water on the South Plate. The fishing was with double nymph rigs. We caught plenty of large fish in 400+ csf and landed about 60% of them. Our guide was excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes