Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Angler's Covey, CO

At Angler's Covey, we design a quality fly fishing experience with your needs in mind, whether you're a beginner or advanced fly fisher. Join us on the South Platte River, the epitome of the beauty and adventure of our Colorado mountains, 60 minutes from Denver or Colorado Springs. We offer full-day, half-day, private water, corporate, and custom guide trips to suit your needs. We have been serving fly fishing enthusiasts for over 30 years and were recognized as the Orvis Endorsed Outfitter of the year in 2012. We look forward to getting you out on the water - let the adventure begin!
Average Customer Rating:
4.971 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
103 of 103(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angler's Covey, CO
Review 1 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eleven Mile Adventure,
April 14, 2014
By: FloridaBoy55
from Monument, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What a learning experience! From the moment we stepped out of the truck near the top of Eleven Mile Canyon, until we returned to the shop in the afternoon, Scott was teaching me about high-mountain fly fishing!
I'm an avid salt-water fly fisherman that has ended up in the beautiful mountains of Colorado. I always try to find a guide when I'm in a new area so that I can learn as much as possible before I head out on my own. About the only thing similar between the Flats where I've 'cut my teeth' and the waters we fished on Friday - water and fish!! Everything else is different and a new adventure for me. From reading the water, to fly selection, learning about the 'hatch' and the fascinating things that occur with these 'bugs', learning to mend line, and proper stream etiquette, Scott provided all that anyone could want. Besides all of this, he was a pleasure to hang-out with!! Nothing worse than hiring a guide that's a Prima Donna or a horse's butt when you are trying to enjoy some fishing and Scott was neither of those. Just a solid, down to earth fellow with a great attitude!! (an excellent guide)
If you judge or measure a trip by the numbers of fish you catch (you need a different hobby), this wasn't the best trip. But if you enjoy fly fishing like I do (not just catching), then the trip was a tremendous success. There were lots of very nice fish in the water and we were sight-fishing them all day. Strikes - too many to count, just not very aggressive, and for a novice like me, not surprised that I missed the ones I did. Also, I did not want to "nymph fish" only dry fly fishing so that made things more difficult since the fish weren't 'rising' very much at all.
I could write pages but most folks don't have the time to read them! I would go back in a heartbeat and gladly use Scott again. From what I've seen and heard, all of the guides at Angler's Covey are top-notch so you can't go wrong taking a trip with them!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing experience,
March 17, 2014
By: Cfsoudek
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My boyfriend and I were in Colorado Springs to enjoy part of our spring break. We did a half day of fishing (4 hours) with a guide. We had SO much fun! I had very very minimal finishing experience and caught 3 fish. Our guide, Greg, could not have been more helpful, and his dog was great company as well. Greg even printed off a picture of me with one of the fish I caught and gave it to me in a frame to have before we left. We had such a fun time, and definitely recommend trying this experience!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
February 18, 2014
By: JohnnyUtah
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Juan took me and my parents out for a half day on the South Platte (the Dream Stream section). Despite going out at a tough time of year, Juan put all 3 of us on fish. We had a great time and would use him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the water!!!,
December 30, 2013
By: AaronPark
from Dallas, Tx
"I am here on business for a few months. From Texas and I have never gotten into fly fishing. I went into Anglers Covey looking to get a bit of information on the local fishing. Within seconds I was greeted by a friendly staff member and lured into a 6 hour guided trip. Being December I didn't have the highest of hopes but i figured id try my luck. Greg Blessing was a top notch guide and I had the time of my life. Not only did we get on the fish when NO ONE i repeat NO ONE else on the river was, Greg ended the day with giving me a bit of time to myself to practice what i had learned to see how i could do. I didnt have any luck but when i made it up to the truck he had lunch setup with his famous chicken tortilla soup accompanied by a framed picture already of me and my catch from earlier in the day. Anglers Covey and Greg just went the extra mile. Awesome day on the water! Thanks guys, i'll see you soon!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best fishing days of my Life!,
December 5, 2013
By: NKFFTom
from Northern Kentucky
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I wans't in the shop all that long but they were freindly.
"I hired Anglers Covey for 4 hour guided trip and couldn't have made a better choice. Kevin put me onto some of the best fishing I have ever experienced. He help me adjust my mending technique to put the fly over the fish, the result, a beautiful 19" Rainbow. Thanks.
T
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streamers Fly Tying Class 201,
November 25, 2013
By: photopro2000
from Colorado Springs, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having never fished streamers before (other than wooly buggers) nor having tied any I signed up for the streamers class at Angler's Covey. They could not have picked a better instructor than Shea Gunkel. Shea is an extremely talented fly tier and very experienced streamer fisherman. Not only was I able to tie a couple of useable streamers but I gained knowledge as to how to fish them. Kudos to Angler's Covey and Shea Gunkel."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrestrial Fly Tying 201 Class,
November 24, 2013
By: photopro2000
from Colorado Springs, CO
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Being relatively new to the Colorado fly fishing scene I wanted to take some fly tying classes to familiarize myself with the terrestrial fly patterns used in our area. The class was fun and informative and I learned a few new techniques and patterns to make the class well worth the time and the expense. Juan Ramirez is a fine fly designer and instructor whose patience with the students is to be appreciated. Thank you for a fine experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day!,
October 22, 2013
By: Rick1020
from Darien, CT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Misunderstood questions above, we did not go into fly shop
"My daughter and I wanted to learn to fly fish as well as get a chance to fish. We booked a half day and Greg was our guide (along with his dog Sage). He has been doing this a long time and did a great job giving us on the job training. He made the call in the morning to head to Pueblo since it was very cold north of Colorado Springs. It was a great call. We had so much fun and caught fish! Thanks to Greg and Angler's Covey!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
October 21, 2013
By: Jtth
from Glendora, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would like to thank Paul for an absolutely amazing day. He was so patient and informative in teaching my son and I.
His knowledge and attention to detail made our day one for the history books. We will definitely be fishing with Paul again.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great half-day guided tour,
October 14, 2013
By: duck44
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steve G was suberb in every respect.
Taught me more than I expected -- a great experience.
Thanks much!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kokanee on the Fly,
October 14, 2013
By: Krebly
from South Platte River, Colorado, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Most local streams were very low, so I was looking for an alternative to share with a friend visiting from Taiwan. I booked through Angler's Covey in Colorado Springs, my favorite store anywhere. Period. Guide John Klies suggested Kokanee fishing on the S. Platte. My friend got the first fish - his first salmon, and it was pretty much constant action until the South Park wind picked up and we went to have lunch. We both received expert instruction. although I have fished fly fished for 35 years, there is always something to learn, and John Klies was an expert instructor. Even if you fish 40+ days per year as I do, a good guide can teach you to be a better fisherman!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
October 9, 2013
By: JeffMcL
from Colorado Springs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Angler's Covey worked with me to create a fly fishing experience for a group of men, most who had never fished before. They were overwhelmingly impressed by the care and patience of the staff and guides during our time together -- both the teaching time and our experience on the river in Eleven Mile Canyon. It was a GREAT experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the S. Platt,
October 8, 2013
By: Fairview
from Orange County, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A fine organization
"Spent a fine late September day up in South Park with
Guide Jon Easdon and the experience was excellent. Jon is a professional guide of vast experience and a great instructor.
The fishing was great; I enjoyed the outing and came away with greater knowledge of exploring the "technical water" with methods that will enhance my fishing experiences for years to come.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth it,
October 5, 2013
By: MOfishguy
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Arranged a trip with Anglers Covey for some free time I had on a business retreat in Colorado Springs. Juan Ramirez was our guide. I've hired several guides in my fly fishing experience. Juan was probably the best. Great scenery, great fishing. I misplayed several large fish and didn't bring them to net. All in all, a great day. Will use Anglers Covey and Juan again without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RMA 2013 Fly Fishing Trip,
October 4, 2013
By: RockyMountainAPPA
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Neil L. and the other Guides were great!
"Angler's Covey was awesome to work with from day one of planning of our trip. We started 10 months out planning a trip for 20 people and man did they deliver! Great Customer Service! Great Guides! Excellent job all around. Thanks Lisa"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time,
September 24, 2013
By: occasionalfishr
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Steve was excellent. In our full day trip he took us to two different spots. In one, we used nymphs and in the other dry flies. In both locations and with both methods we caught several. Steve was patient and skilled. Great job!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
September 18, 2013
By: Berkeley1
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brother-in-law was visiting from the east coast and wanted to do some fly fishing. I'm a relatively new beginner and he was a first timer, so we got a guide through Anglers Covey. Greg Blessing made it a fantastic day. He is a great teacher, using a mixture of humor and years of experience to make the day alot of fun and a great learning experience. On top of that, and just as importantly, he put us on fish all day. To put a great cap on everything, we finished it all off with streamside buffalo burgers and cheesecake. All in all, a great day and Greg can add a couple more converts to the sport thanks to his efforts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What A Blast!,
September 17, 2013
By: libra1955
from Salina, Ks
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For my husband's wedding anniversary gift and my son's birthday present, I sent them fly fishing with Angler's Covey, CO. for a half day trip. The river was beautiful, the guide was a terrific teacher and the fishing was fantastic. We will definitely book another trip with Angler's Covey."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide, Great Experience,
September 10, 2013
By: flyfishing11milecyn
from Colorado, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Jon is a great guide & photographer
"My husband and I are novices at fly-fishing. Jon is a great teacher in entomology and technique. And - he is a skilled photographer! We learned much to take with us on our own. We look forward to keeping up with him on his blog and newspaper articles. Best of luck to you Jon! Thanks!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Angler's Covey, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Extra Curricular Outing Ever!,
September 9, 2013
By: 80sCrew
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Friendliness of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knowledge of staff in fly shop: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first fly fishing trip and couldn't have asked for a better experience. Scott was more than a guide he makes you learn the sport on so many levels. His enthusiasm and compassion for fishing was absolutely contagious and eye opening to see this sport on a whole other level. I definitely look forward to more trips in the future! Thanks again!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes