Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY

2003 Endorsed Guide of the YearLooking for the ultimate in seclusion, beauty, and a rustic, uncomplicated lifestyle? Join George Hunker's Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions camping trips into the Wind River Range, often called the best fishing in the lower 48. We do horse and llama-supported trips as well as backpack adventures into this spectacular wilderness with thousands of glacial-carved lakes and connecting streams. You can choose between cutthroat, brook, golden, and rainbow trout (not to mention a few browns and mackinaw). We have been taking fly-fishing trips into the Winds since 1977 and golden trout are our specialty. In the Lander, Wyoming area we guide on the small streams of the area, known for hopper fishing and surprisingly large browns. We also specialize is floating the Bighorn River near Thermopolis, Wyoming in the spring and fall. We take pride in our ability to teach to all skill levels, including beginners. Come join us for a rewarding fly-fishing experience in untrammeled water. Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year 2003 and operating continuously since 1977.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 of 27(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Review 1 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Country Cutthroat,
July 27, 2014
By: WindsNut
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What better recommendation than to say this was our sixth packtrip into the Wind River Mountains with guide Jim Ferguson. This trip originated in Pinedale, WY. From there we rode up the west side of the Winds to camp for a week at 10,000 feet near lakes and streams that yielded many beautifully colored cutthroat each day, seldom under 15 inches, several over 20 inches, and usually by sight fishing with dry flies. As usual, Jim ran a great camp with good food and best leave-no-trace practices. Our group of 4 ranged from beginner to very experienced fly fishers, and we all learned a lot from Jim's patient instruction. The 7 hour horseback ride was tough but well worth the scenery and overall experience. Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as it gets,
July 25, 2014
By: Rallyfly
from Edison, WA 98232, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Simply a great adventure! High lake and river fishing in the Wind River Range. Our guides were great in every aspect; environmental stewardship, fishing knowledge and assistance, and master back country cooking."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Country & Big Fish,
July 23, 2014
By: wyflyfish21
from South Dakota, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome Instructors & Guides
"Big country with the potential for nice fish was my expectation. Going with George always yields valuable fly fishing education in casting, mending, fly selection, etc. This fly fishing back pack trip rewarded me with big country, big fish, and huge leaps in my fly fishing skill set. Everything was perfect! AWESOME MEMORIES!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Popo Agie WY Wilderness,
July 22, 2014
By: EdWalsh
from Wheaton, IL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Two friends and I spent the week with George Hunker and one of his most able assistants, Joan. We camped in the Popo Agie Wilderness located in the Shoshone National Forest, WY.
This was my 10th trip with George. His wilderness guiding and fly-fishing wisdom, skills and expertise are second to none. We caught and released literally hundreds of hybrid cutthroat/golden and rainbow/golden trout in the 8 to 18 inch range and up to 3-4 pounds.
The trip was extra special because one member of group has metastatic cancer and the trip was set up especially for him. George and his assistant accommodated my friend in every way in order to allow him to experience the wilderness and its outstanding fishing. George and his assistant made the trip extremely special and memorable for all of us and especially for our member who has special medical/health needs. This was possible only because of the personality, wisdom, skill and expertise of George Hunker."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best trout fishing days ever!,
July 1, 2014
By: JonTF
from Santa Fe, NM, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"In later May 2014 we float-fished the Bighorn River, WY with George and his son Hank. This was one of there best trout fishing days ever! The guides assessed abilities, provided excellent instruction and led us to the big ones! Thanks, Sweetwater- we'll be back. Jonathan & Louise"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Day of Fishing,
June 4, 2014
By: Julia1
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family had a wonderful time floating down the BigHorn river with George and Hank Hunker. We caught many fish and learned important skills."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fish, and I learned a lot...,
September 24, 2013
By: EastCoastDude
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This is my second time out with Hank fishing both on the Big Horn and in Lander. I liked it so much the first time that I had to come back. We floated down two different stretches of the Big Horn for the first two days, wade fished the Big Horn for a half day and spent the rest of the time in Lander. Lots of different kinds of water - all of it beautiful.
I had a great time. We caught fish, and I learned a lot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
August 25, 2013
By: RAMER
from Irvine, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have gone on numerous back country trips with George over the last 15 years. This year I had a buddy join me and we floated for two days on the Big Horn (Wyoming). George was successful in getting us on the fish (nice large fish) and giving us pointers to improve and fine tune our skills. As I have been fishing with George for over 15 years, I would offer that my tenure with his service is testament to both his patience, his professionalism, the service he provides, and ultimately a great person to fish with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional professionalism,
August 22, 2013
By: Miles310
from Riverside Ct
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Superb in every way
"After five years of fishing in the West in a variety of venues I can state , that fishing with Hank Hunker on the Bighorn, Bull Lake Creek and the Popo Haighe {Sp?]is one of the finest experiences you could have. Hank, our guide, was inordinately knowledgable in all aspect of the sport and local environment, patiently exacting for those wishing to learn and a joy to be with. True professionalism in every aspect of guiding and fishing was on display."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
7 or 8 times,
August 19, 2013
By: bigone
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:great team
"7 or 8 times I've made trips with the Hunkers over the last 30 years, each better than the last. My son learned to fly fish on this trip, George and Hank are great teachers, great fishermen, and great people."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big group, great service,
August 11, 2013
By: Nilkew
from Port Clyde, St. George, ME 04860, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:We have had a lot of guides over the years and Hank ranks right up there.
"There were 6 of us for a week of fishing with Hank. We had a great time fishing a variety of waters from walk and wade to float trips. Hank was always on time, knowledgeable, helpful with a good sense of humor.
George Hunker did a great job of preparing maps of locations to fish on days which were unguided."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bighorn Float,
August 2, 2013
By: WindsNut
from New Hampshire
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A day long float with Hank Hunker was excellent, in spite of hot weather that had raised the water temperature. He picked me up on time at 5am for the hour and a half drive to get to the put-in during the coolest part of the day. His instructions, boat handling (nice Klack-a-Craft), lunch, and knowledge of the river where great. We only caught fish on nymphs since fish were down in the hot bright weather, but Hank knew the fishy spots and flies to use, so action was steady all day until take-out at about 5pm. Hank was gentlemanly, patient, fun, and worked hard. I look forward to another trip with him in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with George,
June 30, 2013
By: abucklin
from sf
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"George is wonderful. Funny, interesting, knowledgeable, affable, and a good story teller. He loves the fish and all that contribute to river systems. He's a great teacher - full of encouragement and bits of wisdom. We had a wonderful 2 days with him."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful 2 Days,
June 25, 2013
By: Benitz
from Lander, WY 82520, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"George and Hank streamlined 2 days of fishing on a beautiful river, for my young daughter and myself.
We happenned to hit a mayfly hatch and the fishing was exceptioal.
The guidence they provided to my 13 year old daughter gave her the confidence to catch and release some amazing trout.
My fishing imporoved considerably under their direction.
A fine outfit!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bighorn River Fishing,
June 4, 2013
By: twagner
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I fished with Hank (George's son) on a section of the Bighorn river. The trip far exceeded my expectation for experience, instruction, knowledge and overall great time.
First though. I made the arrangement with a phone call. George and Hank followed up as the date drew near asking if we had any special needs, dietary, health etc. Their level of concern left a feeling of comfort that they cared about our experience. On the day of the trip, Hank picked us up ON TIME and from there took great care of us. Hank had the right flies and put us on fish immediately. We fished until nearly dark which was also quite a surprise.
Sweetwater is a first rate guide service and I highly recommend them.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful day,
December 12, 2012
By: CrackerCaster
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:fantastic
"George is great. I can not wait to fish with him again. He knows how to put you on some fish if you are every in or near Lander, Wyo. He told me it was too hot and too dry but he might know where they were and he did -- only needed one and had nine or ten before lunch.
I had a great day with him. Great person to talk to.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
September Browns,
September 24, 2012
By: LabMan2016
from Clare, MI 48617, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:First Rate Guide
"I have been very fortunate to have fly fished many rivers in the Western states over the last fifteen years.
I have booked trips with several excellent outfitters/guides during those years,
Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions ranks at the very top of my list.
On my trips the last two Septembers, Jim Ferguson has taken me on walk-ins to some great locations. I have fished miles of some of the best trout water I've seen anywhere, with the added bonus of never seeing another fisherman. If your looking for great scenery, excellent fishing "Jim has put me on to some serious Browns the last two years," and working with a guide who treats you like a friend, this is the place for you.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Wind River Range Trip!,
September 19, 2012
By: WindRiverTaxi
from Freeport, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He is worth more than 5 stars as is Anna
"This past August I had a terrific opportunity to accompany some friends on a horse pack trip up the Wind River Range for some trout fishing. The fact that it was to be their fifth/fourth trip and their glowing report certainly wetted my appetite. Now I can see why they are deciples of Sweetwater!!!
Jim Ferguson, our very trusty and most capable guide and his assistant and niece Anna provided us with one of the most memorable fishing trips ever. It was my first foray into horse packing to high elevations for fishing and I am now addicted. Everything was first rate and went seamlessly, starting from the Alan's ranch where we picked up our horses, riding to 10,400' to set up camp, the beyond delicious meals (amazing what Jim does on a Coleman Stove & Ann's knife wielding), my sweet little tent with a breathtaking view of Buffalo Head to the incredible sight fishing for fiesty trout in clear glacier-fed lakes, advetureous hiking/rock climbing, kickboxing spider webs and soaking up Jim's endless knowledge of the area's natural history.
The trip far exceeded my expectations and is one for the books for sure. I am indebted to my friends for sharing such a wonderful adventure.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mountain Experience,
September 1, 2012
By: Texart
from Dallas, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"August 5 -11, 2012
I had a wonderful opportunity to take a packhorse trip into the Wind River area with George Hunker and his son, Hank.
I have always wanted to get into the mountains where other people aren’t. Where you and the elk are the only footprints along the stream. Nine miles and 9,600 ft later we were there.
George made it a really perfect experience. His attention to a diverse group with different levels of fishing skills was impressive. Those who had never fly-fished were catching fish and gathering fish logic. We all benefited from his knowledge and ability to subtly pass it along.
We found our special place. For some it was about the big trout in the high lakes. For others, the golden hybrids in the stream near the camp. And yet others the view from the next mountain. We knew we were special people!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for George H. Hunker, Sweetwater Fishing Expeditions, LLC, WY
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fourth But Not Final First Rate Trip,
August 21, 2012
By: LightningRod
from Wonalancet, NH
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:For the record, the fact the Jim uses and readily shares Orvis equipment was not lost on us. His Helios is the best!
"From August 1-8, 2012, 3 friends and I experienced another indescribable trip into the Winds Wilderness with Jim Ferguson of Sweetwater Fishing. This was my 4th trip with Jim, the 2nd to Buffalo Head. We horse packed in and out and were out 8 days, camped at 10,400. As with the previous 3 trips, this one was extraordinary-- Jim's temperament, his guidance in what to bring and what he provides in the way of equipment; his knowledge of the area; his fishing knowledge and skill-- his "fish finesse" (which he shares in his characteristic generous way, but never overbearing);
his adventurous streak, his savory and healthy cooking, his able assistant, Anna Ferguson; his obvious joy in being in the place with us-- all meld to provide an active and unforgettable escape from every day. The only downside is the inevitable demand to readjust to everyday life when it's over.
A friend asked, "Did you catch many fish?" Indeed, beyond counting-- brookies, rainbows, cutthroat, cutbows... And, lots of sight fishing. We even had a shot at browns and goldens.
I note the rating for Sweetwater Trips is 5- star. That says it all, without exaggeration. Add another "5" for Jim."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes