Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA

Guiding float and wading trips, focusing on wild fish in their native environments. Fishing options include Puget Sound wading trips for sea-run cutthroat and seasonal salmon and float trips on Washington's best trout and cutthroat fisheries - focusing on the Yakima River, 100 miles east of Seattle. Coastal drainage rivers, including the Snoqualmie and Skykomish, are great local options for trout, several species of cutthroat, and steelhead. Year-round guide service and your experience will be with Derek Young, the 2011 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year. Derek has been guiding for the last 4 years and fly fishing for 17. Clients frequently reflect and comment on his patience, ability to instruct all levels and ages, and professionalism. He makes a great riverside lunch as well.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 of 25(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Review 1 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drifting the Yakima,
September 15, 2014
By: Makaha
from Michigan
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I did a full-day float trip on the Yakima with Derek in September 2014. Derek’s boat is very effective for drifting the Yakima, and he’s skilled on the oars. I caught lots of fish, mostly cutthroats and rainbows, many in spots that would be challenging to access wading or to find without knowing the river well. Derek is enthusiastic, and enjoys sharing his knowledge of his home waters. It’s easy to see why he was the Orvis Endorsed Guide of the Year a few years ago. I had an awesome day of fishing, and highly recommend Derek."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dry Fly Heaven,
August 1, 2014
By: cptxkirk
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I booked Derek for my dad and I to share a float down the Yak in late July. Derek with all his knowledge of the river decided to do a late afternoon into evening float, in hopes of some great hopper and caddis fishing. Derek's knowledge of the fish and river led to a full afternoon of Derek spotting the rising fish, maneuvering the boat and giving my dad and I the perfect shot at these beautiful fish.
I lost track of how many fish were caught, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching the interactions between my dad and Derek. Great day on the river, great fishing, awesome stream side lunch, and phenomenal guide. This will be a yearly trip for my father and I, and I will use no-one else. Thanks Derek!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishin' the Yak,
July 24, 2014
By: hootontheyak
from Cle Elum, WA 98922, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Derek Young was awesome with his knowledge and patience with a first time fly fisherman. His teaching heart is a comfort to someone like myself that was eager to learn the art of fly fishing. To get let's of hits your first time out was exceptional"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Adventure Fishing Trip,
July 22, 2014
By: EBADVENTRUE
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Derek and Mike took me and my friends out for the day for an "Adventure Fishing Trip". We had a blast! We could not stop laughing! Both Derek & Mike were so knowledgeable and experienced.
They were so patient with us and great teachers. Each had their own style and it was such fun. Both had such a love for the sport and such respect for the fish. I want them to take us out again. They make it easy to catch fish! All of us caught some good ones and just had an amazing enjoyable time. I highly recommend Derek and Mike if you want to learn the tricks of the trade and enjoy yourself. Thank you guys! You rock! You definitely have the spirit of mother nature in you! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot and Sunny on the Yakima,
June 2, 2014
By: CalFishininWA
from WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an amazing June1st on the Yakima with Derek and my nephew. It was hot and sunny so we fished deep with no indicators. Derek is extremely knowledgeable and has a great style of teaching. We intended on taking a little trip and getting some guidance. What we got was an awesome day on the Yakima, a great foundation to build off of , and some cutthroat, steelhead, and rainbows. Couldn't have asked for a better trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
November 10, 2013
By: Harley304
from Yakima
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I highly recommend Emerging Rivers Guide service and Derek. I had a great day fishing the Yakima River. Derek is very knowledge and will put you on the fish!. He is also very personable as well as a good teacher. I had to knock off some rust on my casting and he was very helpful.
Again I highly recommend Derek and his guide service"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd trip with Derek,
October 12, 2013
By: JFVtieflys
from Bellevue, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:excellent, professional guide, easy to spend a day with
"This Oct. trip was really good, nice weather and three spectacular cut-throat, one that broke the line.Derek is a really excellent guide who knows the river backwards and share insights and fishing tips readily. A good companion for a day on the Yakima. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a day on the Yakima!!!,
August 22, 2013
By: TTIPP
from L'ville GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What can I say about Derek that hasn't already been said with the other posts? Derek was the consummate professional in every regard. My son Matthew and I were traveling out west to climb Mt. Saint Helen and decided while we were out there we wanted to try fly-fishing for the first time in our lives. We searched the web over but really felt like most guides were giving nothing but sales jobs; having fished all my life in the Gulf of Mexico I knew not everyone was able to deliver the goods as promised. Because this was truly a once in a lifetime trip before Matthew headed off to college I wanted it to be special. A friend recommended I use ORVIS as a means of locating a reputable guide; turns out to be one of the best pieces of “fishing” advise we’ve ever gotten. From my very first email Derek came across as professional, genuine and sincere in his desire to give us a first class experience. We decided on a trip and booked it for Friday July 19th. From the moment we met Derek for the ride out to the Yakima (I requested a remote section of the river) he made us feel welcomed and reassured us despite our lack of experience that we would have a good day on the river. Derek patiently answered every question we asked, gave us a history of the area as well as an education on the entomology surrounding the fisheries that would make any college professor envious. As we were launching the boat (talk about a nice set up) we happened to look over into the field next to us and saw elk grazing. What a great start to a fantastic day! As we got on the river we got a little more focused on the fishing aspects of the trip and it wasn’t long before we caught our first fish, a beautiful little rainbow. After a morning on the river Derek provided us with a nice gourmet lunch there on the banks of the Yakima, tablecloth and all… Talk about first class! After lunch my son simply put me to shame catching fish, I don’t think we broke any state records but my son hooked an absolutely beautiful cutthroat from under a rock cliff hanging out over the water. After being hooked this fish acted like no other fish we caught all day, this thing went absolutely crazy!!! As the fish tired he tried to swim around several logs to break us off, unfortunately for him Derek was on to him. Derek immediately threw the anchor, literally jumped out of the boat, ran down the bank of the river and netted the fish before he had a chance to get off. We got some great photos of the fish thanks to Derek’s efforts! On the way home Derek had a little surprise for us, he was able to pull over and take our picture with “Matthew’s” cliff in the background, talk about a special memory…. I will forever be grateful to Derek for a great day on the river with my son! If you are seriously contemplating a fly-fishing trip you will not find a more professional and qualified guide than Derek. I have already referred a friend of mine to Derek and I can’t wait to here about their adventure later this month. Sorry for the lengthy write-up, I got a bit excited reliving the trip in my mind; hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a GREAT day on the Yakima River!,
August 13, 2013
By: davem1
from New Albany, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Derek was simply outstanding! He has a winning personality, and provides the perfect mix of information and instruction.
""If I was to have a better day fishing, I don't know what it would look like. Derek is a tremendous guide, providing the perfect mix of information regarding the river and its characteristics, along with the right amount of instruction to improve any fly-fisherman's abilities. I landed numerous fish on the Yakima River, and quite possibly the most beautiful cutthroat trout I will ever see (both in size and color). I would not hesitate to recommend Derek to anyone interested a guided trip, regardless of their abilities. You will not be disappointed!""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best trip of my life,
August 13, 2013
By: flfrankieboy
from Cape Coral, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have used many fly fishing guides before, but Derek is by far the most professional and knowledgable! My trip was both exciting and fun. He put me on to some great fishing and wildlife sighting. Would highly recommend his services if you are in the area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blindman's Buddy - Trip of a lifetime,
July 25, 2013
By: Woodie47
from Mercer Island, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the good fortune of being the fellow to accompany my blind friend on a fly fishing float trip on the Yakima River. My friend and I had high hopes this adventure would be a once in a lifetime "bucket list event". Derek delivered on all accounts! Derek is an exceptionally skilled guide, coach, mentor and teacher... and now a friend. I look forward to many more years of fly fishing adventures with Derek. Derek is simply OUTSTANDING in terms of his craft. It is easy to understand why Derek has been previously chosen as an Orvis Endorsed Guide of the Year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An eye opening experience,
July 19, 2013
By: Blindman1
from Kirkland, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:An outstanding guide
"Being totally blind, I wasn't sure what to expect on this fly-fishing adventure. Derek took the time to meet with me and my buddy prior to our trip so he could learn what my expectations were. The day of the trip With Derek's experience as a guide and teacher, my experience out on the river exceeded anything I could imagine. His patience, experience, and communication skills made this old blind guy not only feel the fish strike, but see the whole thing unfold. Derek has this ability to describe the birds, what insects were hatching, and the scenery on the river so I was able to visualize all of it. I started the day on the river with an incredible guide and I ended the day with an incredible friend. I'm already looking at my calendar for a Sept. trip. Thank you, Derek, for a day I'll never forget."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Trip on the Yakima,
June 24, 2013
By: cptxkirk
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Derek is the man! I fished a very technical section of the Yakima River, and he picked this water based on my style of fishing. We nymphed and threw streamers all day long, and if it weren't for my poor reaction time, I would have landed a lot of fish. He knows the bugs, and river like the back of his hand, and it is everything I was looking for in a guide. Derek has earned a customer for life, and I hope to float with him a couple times a year. Thanks Derek."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day on The Yakima River,
June 15, 2013
By: Sakana65
from Renton, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Guide of the year
"Derek is an excellent but an exceptional teacher. I learned so much about nymph fishing and man talk about a lot of strikes, Derek put me on the fish! One of best guides I hired."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
April 13, 2013
By: SeanD12345
from Yakima River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My Dad and I had an excellent time on the river with Derek. He was incredibly knowledgable in all aspects of fly fishing and entomology. Derek was able to match the hatch perfectly. I have fished with many guides and I have to say that Derek has been the best so far. I would definitely recommend to beginners and experts alike. Look forward to fishing with Derek again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish on!,
October 28, 2012
By: Ranger81
from Cle Elum, WA 98922, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We booked Derek based on the fact that he was an Orvis-endorsed guide and the positive reviews he had received. We were in Seattle for a wedding and had an extra day to squeeze in some fishing. Based on Derek's recommendation, we floated the Yakima River. The forecast was for rain, but, we started off with a cloudless sky and had a great day on the river. When the rain finally hit, it did not dampen our experience. My wife did not fish, but she enjoyed the rafting and Derek taught both of us a lot about "matching the hatch". I caught some beautiful rainbow and a couple of amazing Cutthroat that left me with a sore shoulder! It was a real treat to get to use the Helios rod. We were impressed with Derek's patience, professionalism, knowledge and respect of nature and the environment. I have used several guides in the past and this was by far the best experience I have ever had."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Guide,
October 4, 2012
By: SkysoldierWWF
from Western Washington
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I booked my first guided trip with Derek after receiving several recommendations from fellow fly fishermen and it was truly an amazing day! From introduction to the end of our trip it was like being on the water with a good friend and not someone I had just met a few weeks prior. Derek’s knowledge of the river and fly fishing tactics are phenomenal and he imparts this knowledge in such a way that you can’t help but learn from him and at the same time feel like you are learning from a trusted friend. Overall it was a fantastic day, with many beautiful Cutthroat and Rainbow caught, an awesome lunch and a one of a kind guide…….I can’t recommend Derek highly enough and am already looking at dates for next season."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
October 1, 2012
By: talvey
from Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've done my fair share of fly fishing over the years, but rarely with a guide.
Hooking up with a guide like Derek, away from my home waters, made it a real treat for me. Not only knowledgeable about the river, the fish, and the surroundings, Derek has the unusual ability of expressing his knowledge well.
Also, I have to say, this was the least effort I've ever had to exert for a fishing trip - Derek took care of everything. All I had to do was remember to set the hook.
So, I caught some good fish, learned some new techniques, and generally had a very pleasant day. Thanks Derek!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day.,
September 26, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Ellensburg, WA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I joined a friend for a day on the upper Yakima with Derek. We had a phenomenal time. Derek knows every hole (every rock)and the best approach. He's also a lot of fun. Can't recommend highly enough."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Emerging Rivers Guide Service (Derek Young), WA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like That Knowledgeable Buddy Who Makes It Fun,
August 13, 2012
By: PatrickK
from Benicia, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I first met Derek about two years ago. I was going to be in Washington and wanted to expand my “fly fishing wings” with a float trip down the Yakima River, while allowing my father to experience the hobby I enjoy so much. I was immediately struck by Derek’s easy-going approach, but that approach belies a deep appreciation for fish, and nature in general. I’ve been on a few trips that involved boats, and I was impressed with the time Derek took to make sure there was a clear understanding of safety without diminishing the fact that we’d be out to enjoy ourselves.
Two years later I was once again meeting up with Derek, this time to wade-fish with my brother, who only a year previous cast his first fly. Our goals were twofold: get my brother onto fish in local waters, and find my first west slope cutthroat. Derek came up with an accommodating plan that met and exceeded both goals. Like he did with my father, Derek took time to coach my brother, stepping back when not needed, commenting on the well-executed cast, and offering encouragement and advice as needed. During this most recent trip, fishing with Derek was often more akin to enjoying the water with that fun buddy who knows more than you. In the end, my brother was inspired so much that he and I fished a local creek on our own a following day to much success.
As long as Derek is guiding, I hope in the years ahead to tap his expertise in an exploration of other waters, species and tactics in Washington State."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes