Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR

Mac was fortunate to learn fly fishing as a small boy and has fly fished for decades. He discovered steelhead 30 years ago and has guided for steelhead, trout, smallmouth, and bull trout for the past 25 years. He is a wildlife biologist and enjoys sharing flora, fauna, and geology observations with guests during the day.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Review 1 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Day Trip,
June 18, 2015
By: KSN47
from Moscow, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Grande Ronde was the lovely setting for a day trip I took with my husband last week. Mac was delightful company for both of us. We had wonderful conversations about the river and wildlife and history. I was a companion on the trip and was not fishing, and Mac found us a great place to stop and swim in the hot afternoon. My husband caught a lot of fish too! We thank Mac for his thoughtfulness and knowledge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent!,
June 18, 2015
By: RLee
from Moscow, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Mac took us on a guided float on the Grande Ronde, the smallmouth bass fishing was very good with several in the 3 pound range (not all landed due to client error). But best of all was the guided experience. Mac put together a well rounded, full trip with a combination of natural history, fishing expertise, philosophy, and genuine interest in his clients."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent steelhead fishing trip on Grande Ronde,
January 14, 2015
By: SMcLean
from Baker City, OR 97814, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great day of steelhead fishing with Mac out of Boggans on the Grande Ronde river. We hooked appr. 12-14 steelhead and landed 10 using jigs & bobbers, with 3 over 28 inches. I normally drift fish with yarn & corkies and had not tried bobbers & jigs. Great experience!! Hope I can get away again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
remarkable steelhead trip,
December 25, 2014
By: DZboston
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Mac was a great guide and very personable and professional. Mac is very knowledgable, patient and he gave me the guidance i needed to land my first steelhead. Further, when i told him i planned to spend a few days bird hunting on my own, he went out of his way to show me state land where i could find birds--his advice was invaluable and very much appreciated."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent,
December 24, 2014
By: jefmd1
from New York, NY
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A fly fisherman for 7 years, this was my first steelhead experience. Mac made 2 handed casting easy. He has a firm but pleasant teaching style. He is flexible and friendly. He has extensive knowledge of fish and his environs. He is a real pleasure to be with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grand Ronde Steelhead,
October 16, 2014
By: WomanofSteel
from Portland, OR
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I’m female and have mostly fly fished for trout. This was my second guided trip for steelhead (first trip with Mac), so I am still a relative newcomer to fly fishing for steelhead and to swinging a spey rod. Mac, however, helped me with my presentation, and explained the fine intricacies of hooking and landing such a large, powerful fish. Mac also has encyclopedic information about the area’s flora and fauna, its geology, and a wealth of experience with the outdoors. Even had I not landed a steelhead, the trip itself was worthwhile, for we got to see elk, deer, river otters, and eagles and munch on edible berries!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day fishing,
November 3, 2013
By: CRCO
from Denver, CO
"Our recent trip with Mac on the Grande Ronde was a great day from start to finish. Mac is a skilled angler and an excellent teacher. A fishing trip with Mac is a great choice, whether you prefer to fish two-handed rods, single-handers, or gear. You will learn a lot and have a fun day with Mac."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time,
December 5, 2012
By: Bisgard
from Grande Ronde River, Oregon, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My father and I have been fishing with Mac for you years. The trip in November 2012 was Mac's standard top-notch, fun trip with multiple fish. Great Trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
November 9, 2012
By: dewholliday
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Mac was great. Very patient even when he put us on fish and we couldn't seem to hook them up."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Eagle Cap Fishing Guides (Mac Huff), OR
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
October 25, 2012
By: 0848
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished the Grande Ronde in SE Washington with Mac of Eagle Cap Fishing. Mac's a great guide & coach for someone with little or no experience for steelhead. He knows the water and where the fish lay. Wouldn't hesitate to book him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes