Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT

Challenge the Battenkill and other area streams in southern Vermont and nearby eastern New York. I offer walk and wade fishing trips 4-, 6-, or 8 hours in length. I specialize in on-stream instruction with all equipment provided. In addition, I offer seasonal opportunities to fish for steelhead in Michigan and the eastern Lake Ontario region of New York.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Review 1 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter Basta: Orvis Guide Vermont,
June 14, 2014
By: barryn
from Manchester, VT
"Just went fishing as a beginner for two eight-hour days with a friend and Peter as our guide in Vermont. He is a terrific, patient instructor who taught us a great deal about casting techniques, reading rivers or streams, choosing our flies, and lots more. I especially liked the opportunity to learn about fishing in different situations: upstream, downstream, wide or narrow rivers. Very informative and lots of fun to boot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
June 13, 2014
By: Peterfromnj
from Manchester vt
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow what can I say a teaching learning and fishing nirvana .peter is the professionals professional. He could make you catch fish in a pothole full of water. You casts get critiqued in a positive way to make you understand the proper technique and what you are doing right and wrong and how to improve your skill. You get challenged to make better casts which makes you catch more and better fish.lunch a shore meal is always well prepared and the conversation is engaging a real pleasure and a needed rest after hours of hard wadding and fishing.the equipment is top shelf clean and always available for use. A very enjoyable two days I would recommend peter to anyone who wants to enjoy the sport of fly fishing"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best guide,
June 9, 2014
By: pisces1
from manchester,vt
"I have been fly fishing all around the USA and other countries, always with a guide. I have been fishing with Peter going on 3 years because I think he is the best guide I have had. The reasons are; he knows where to fish, how to fish, he gives clear instructions when required. and spending 8 hours with anyone could be a problem but not with Peter"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter is a great guide!,
May 30, 2014
By: MassFlyFishBen
"My Dad, Brother, and I have been fishing with Peter in Vermont and New York for many years. I started at a young age and learned how to fly fish under his tutelage. I now love fly fishing and am always very excited when I get to go back up to Vermont to fish (we live in Massachusetts). We have been fishing with Peter for 10+ years.
Having grown up around the area, Peter knows the streams and always takes us to the best spots given the conditions. We have caught wild rainbow, brown, and brook trout as well as stocked trout in the spring. Peter is always thinking about how to make his clients' trip the best possible. On his off days he takes the time to scout out new spots or to see how things changed over the winter. Not to mention the delicious lunches (burgers, potatoes, and more).
We don't only enjoy fishing with in Vermont/NY -- all three of us made the trek to Michigan to go steelhead fishing in April with Peter as our guide.
I'm sure that if fish with Peter you will have a great time too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent guiding!,
July 8, 2013
By: BostonFisher
from Manchester, VT, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I've gone with Peter twice this summer and he's been fantastic. I've got a little bit of experience so he was good to build on that; he is quite good at teaching, both casting and fishing techniques, but he also is a wealth of knowledge on the local terrain and ecosystem.
My wife and I went out with Peter last weekend and he was great and very patient. My wife has a little less enthusiasm and experience with fishing and she loved it too!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The total fishing package,
June 6, 2013
By: Peterfromnj
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow!!!! Another great time with Peter Basta.... Three days of fishing, fun, laughs and learning..... The learning is subtle to the point and never negative always a positive reinforced point that helps you grow. As we all know any day of fishing can be slow, but with Peter a slow day is never a bad day. conversation never lags, scenery is always beautiful and river side meals are top flight. I have fished with guides whose only care was moving beads just working on numbers not teaching and interacting . Peters commitment has even gotten my wife in waders put her on fish and taught her that fly fishing is not just a sport about catching fish ....it is a complete package of conservation,entertainment , enjoyment and of course respect for our prey . These are just a few words written by someone who admits he can't write but wanted to share kind words about a guide who has become a friend .... Thank you to any one who took the time to read this"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No Fish but Very Happy,
May 15, 2013
By: Anonymous
from North Hero, VT, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am a rookie and asked Pete Basta to introduce me to the Battenkill River. The day (weather) was pretty awful -- cold, windy just after a huge change in temperatures. Pete warned me about the possibility of no fish. "No problem" was my reaction, "let's learn stuff." Pete spent the next 4.5 hours filling me with tons of skills, information, tips, suggestions, and general knowledge. I couldn't have been happier with the day. He was right, no fish. But I came away with skills and knowledge plus an high appreciation for Pete's professionalism and skills as a guide. Thanks Pete."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Peter Basta Guide Service & Outfitter, VT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best!,
September 5, 2012
By: Fish14
from Manchester, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I just started to fly fish this summer in June after attending the Orvis school. I hired Peter Basta to help me further my knowledge of fishing and to have him show me more places to fish in my area. He exceeded my expectations in all ways. He met me on time and has been very professional. He has taught me many different ways to fish and the results have proven themselves. He is VERY knowledgeable about the local waters around the Vt. And NY area. I fish most days and catch trout almost every time out. I will continue to hire him so I can continue to learn more all the time about this sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes