Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (193 reviews)
5 stars
193
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
192 of 193(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water,
March 24, 2015
By: SoHO
from Bluff City, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Called Mountain Sports last minute had a friend who had recently lost his right leg below the knee. We needed to get him in a boat to catch fish Patrick saved the day! Something I will never for get neither will my buddy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best day ever,
March 24, 2015
By: GolfGump
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been all over the US and North America fly fishing with and without guides. Job relocation has sent me to central NC where local fly fishing is non-existant. Needing to feed an urge I went to the closest tail waters to me and googled the rivers of TN. To my surprise there was an Orvis endorsed guide in the area, but even more so the 2014 GUIDE OF THE YEAR was there!!! I booked Patty as soon as he was available and had the best day. I took a good friend who has recently lost a leg, and Patrick was a champ with him and his novice fly skills and recent handicap. I was so impressed with not only the fishing ability of Pat but the way he handles clients is the best I've seen.
We can't wait to get back and fish again with Patty, perhaps share a meal of waffles and blueberries out on the river! Your the best dude!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
March 22, 2015
By: Jsnfournier
from Arlington, VA 23310, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Well, I have recently joined the amputee world in that my right leg below my knee was taken. Today was my first day fishing with my prosthesis. Patrick couldn't have been more accommodating! It was a tremendous experience that I went into with a little apprehension, that was quickly erased. I am greatly looking forward to my next trip with Pat!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoHo,
March 13, 2015
By: JOWPAC
from Dayton, Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is a great fly fishing guide. He has an uncanny nack of making me feel like I am a better caster and fisherman than I am. This is my second trip with him. Can't wait until May for the third trip!
Jim Willey
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Fulkrod Diaries,
March 9, 2015
By: amesfly
from Dayton, OH, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from three days on the South Holston/Watauga rivers in Bristol TN. Weather was cold and storms had just passed through leaving the water questionable with some mud coming in from the creeks. Fished with Orvis Guide Patrick Fulkrod. What a great experience. Patrick put my friend Jimbo and I on some beautiful water and we had exception fishing. Caught rainbows and browns on Nymphs, Dries and Droppers. On a day that we thought about scrapping, we ended up having a banner day. I enjoyed the fact that Patrick's comfortable and expert style of guiding made me feel like I had more talent for fly fishing than I have thus far developed. Lots of fish and lots of laughs."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best guide I've ever fished with,
January 19, 2015
By: AdamGoodman21
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is the best guide I've ever fished with. He makes it feel like you have been fishing with him for years. We had a cold and windy day on the South Holeston and Patrick was always extremely positive and worked his butt off to keep me in the fish all day. I highly recommend Patrick and I look forward to fishing with him again soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spectacular Day with Patrick Fulkrod,
December 28, 2014
By: EdAmax
from Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son (11 years old) and I had high expectations of trout fishing in Tennessee with Patrick Fulkrod - our expectations were far exceeded! Patrick is a true professional who knows trout fishing! We learned a lot and caught numerous trout including Brown and Rainbows. Truly a spectacular day that we will never forget - a sincere THANK YOU to Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanksgiving week 2014,
December 5, 2014
By: S2Ranger
from Florida Gulf Coast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished with Patrick 4 days over thanksgiving week in some very challanging, conditions, high winds, cold, and snow .Thanksgiving day was a down day with a inch of snow.
We averaged 35-45, loosing count, of trout in the net, browns and rainbows each day. Caugh a number of large trout both browns and rainbows. Fished 3 different rods bepending on the conditions, two were orvis and one was a custom bamboo in 2, 4 and 5wt with 7X tippet.
The 2wt-8' orvis super fine touch was a chalange and thrill on large trout but managed to bring all to the net."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful day on the water,
November 20, 2014
By: FishWhispererNo2
from Abingdon, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The BEST, period!!!!!
"The only thing better than the great weather and wonderful fishing was spending time with two great guys - my best friend Doug and the best guide there is - Patrick Fulkrod. As usual Doug out fished me and Patrick was a delight to be with. His knowledge of the Holston and Watauga Rivers is unsurpassed. Patrick is the kind of person who makes you feel you have known him all of your life and the trip is all about the fish and the friendship. Can't wait to go again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide I've Ever Had,
November 17, 2014
By: EmLoerke
from Louisville, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Over the last three years my best friend Molly and I been lucky enough to have been guided on some of the best rivers such as the San Juan, Deschutes, and Davidson. Our experience with Patrick blew these out of the water!!! When we found out Patrick was "Orvis' Guide of the Year" we were intrigued. He truly exceeded any and all expectations we had. He showed up on time, with a smile on his face, had all rods ready to go, hot coffee in thermoses, and offered us extra jackets and hand warmers since the high was just below freezing. Our first stop was the Watauga River. We knew it was going to be an epic day when we had caught over a dozen wild rainbows, were eating snickers and drinking IPA before noon. Throughout the day Patrick never once said anything negative, and every time we got tangled he would respond with "Hey, it's okay." We ended up finding a pretty sweet honey hole where we caught over 40 wild browns and rainbows. He even jumped in the cold river to net Molly's 23" brown! We were also able to fish awhile on the South Holston and catch an additional dozen fish which was a great way to end the day. Overall, Patrick was the best guide we've ever had. He was easy to be around, taught us about different indicators, how to identify a wild trout from a stocked trout, and improved our casts. Both Molly and I would highly recommend anyone (experience or beginner) booking Patrick as their guide. It will truly be your best day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Blast!,
November 13, 2014
By: Andy10000
from Watauga River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome time!
"Awesome afternoon fishing with classmate Brady and Patrick our Guide. I will hire this guide in the future,an expert in his field, great attitude and fun to be around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide Ever,
November 11, 2014
By: Doug1999
from Abingdon, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would recommend Patrick, whether a novice or experienced angler, in this humbling sport of fly fishing. What patience and knowledge he gives to you. First class all the way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SOHO with Patrick,
November 5, 2014
By: AdamWilson
from Blacksburg, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad and I have just gotten into fly fishing in the last couple years and our day on the SOHO with Patrick was definitely our best fly fishing day to date! Patrick did a great job putting us on some fish (including one 20"+ brown) and giving good instruction. More than anything, we just enjoyed getting to know Patrick and his personable nature makes you feel like you are just out with another fishing buddy (who knows a lot more about fishing than you do). From working hard to put us on fish, to home-made chicken salad, to basically diving in the water to net a big fish, I would and already have recommended Patrick to others."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Experience,
October 31, 2014
By: BradB
from East Tennessee
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The trip could not have been better. Patrick practically rolls out a red carpet for anyone he guides. A wonderful and fun experience. And of course I caught plenty of beautiful brown trout!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Wonders of the Watauga,
October 27, 2014
By: kobayeshi
from Asheville, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Expert, attentive and a joy to spend a day with on the water.
"With Patrick Fulkrod's expert guidance a friend and I experienced a day on the Watauga River of Tennessee beyond our high expectations. Patrick works hard to transfer skills, share stories and assure plenty of opportunity to land fish. Thanks to Patrick Fulkrod we enjoyed a productive day, landing more than fifty trout on our one day float. Thanks Patrick, until next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Guide You Must Experience,
October 26, 2014
By: Shugah
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick Fulkrod exceeded all expectations and set a bar that will be hard for future guides to meet. We caught tons of fish, were served a great lunch, had many laughs, and his creative photography with an outstanding camera served as the exclamation point. Can't wait to take my son with Patrick next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great day in VA,
October 13, 2014
By: AggieRay
from Fort Worth, TX
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is one of the best guides ever. Not only does he have the expertise and great equipment....he is a great people person. It really makes the day super enjoyable!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day,
October 7, 2014
By: RobertfromFL
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the third time I have fished with Patrick. Every time has been great. This time, my nephew and I fished with him--it was only the second time my nephew had fly fished for trout, though he is an excellent fisherman. We battled tough conditions; the day before had been 80, then a hammer cold front came through, which made the temperature on our day in the low 50s, along with the bane of fly fisherman's existence, strong winds. Patrick found knew the spots where we could get some shelter from the wind, and we ended up fishing both rivers, the Watauga and the South Holston. Ended up with 50 or so trout...9 double-headers, where Patrick demonstrated his skill netting my nephew's fish, then my fish, or vice-versa.
Patrick is the most patient, hard working guide I know. I can't over-recommend him.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Brown Trout,
October 7, 2014
By: abingdonangler
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:None
"Patrick is an outstanding guide. He has a great knowledge of where trout are holding in the South Fork of the Holston River, how to present the fly to them, and how to bring them to the net. My friend (on his first time fly fishing for trout) caught a 20+ inch, 4.5 pound, beautiful brown trout under Patrick's tutelage. We also caught many other smaller brown trout on that day on the River."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on S Holston,
October 5, 2014
By: markfh
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide.
"Had a tremendous day out on the South Holston with Patrick. I am not an advanced fly fisher so having an experienced guide that could teach, and put me on fish was a great experience. Caught a bunch of Brown, a few Rainbow. Can't wait to get back out. Thanks Patrick, well done!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes