Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
177
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
176 of 177(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great day in VA,
October 13, 2014
By: AggieRay
from Fort Worth, TX
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is one of the best guides ever. Not only does he have the expertise and great equipment....he is a great people person. It really makes the day super enjoyable!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day,
October 7, 2014
By: RobertfromFL
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the third time I have fished with Patrick. Every time has been great. This time, my nephew and I fished with him--it was only the second time my nephew had fly fished for trout, though he is an excellent fisherman. We battled tough conditions; the day before had been 80, then a hammer cold front came through, which made the temperature on our day in the low 50s, along with the bane of fly fisherman's existence, strong winds. Patrick found knew the spots where we could get some shelter from the wind, and we ended up fishing both rivers, the Watauga and the South Holston. Ended up with 50 or so trout...9 double-headers, where Patrick demonstrated his skill netting my nephew's fish, then my fish, or vice-versa.
Patrick is the most patient, hard working guide I know. I can't over-recommend him.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Brown Trout,
October 7, 2014
By: abingdonangler
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:None
"Patrick is an outstanding guide. He has a great knowledge of where trout are holding in the South Fork of the Holston River, how to present the fly to them, and how to bring them to the net. My friend (on his first time fly fishing for trout) caught a 20+ inch, 4.5 pound, beautiful brown trout under Patrick's tutelage. We also caught many other smaller brown trout on that day on the River."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on S Holston,
October 5, 2014
By: markfh
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide.
"Had a tremendous day out on the South Holston with Patrick. I am not an advanced fly fisher so having an experienced guide that could teach, and put me on fish was a great experience. Caught a bunch of Brown, a few Rainbow. Can't wait to get back out. Thanks Patrick, well done!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
60th Birthday Adventure,
October 5, 2014
By: Carolinamike
from Shady Valley, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I dont know of anyone who represents a brand better than Patrick represents Orvis.
"Wasn't sure if I should celebrate my 60th birthday fishing with Patrick or spend time with my sister. Decided to do both. My sister never fly fished before she only heard my stories on what a great time it always was. I told Patrick my sister would be coming along and had never fished before. Patrick was elated at the chance to introduce someone new to fly fishing. Great day on the South Holston. As a teacher Patrick was great - as a friend even better. There is no one else I would trust my family to when introducing them to fly fishing than Patrick. Bridget had 9 trout for the day including a 16" brown and I had my biggest fish ever. Great way to spend the day with family and friends. I will forever be indebted to Patrick for making my 60th Birthday the most memorable one yet. I'm not sure if its Orvis who makes Patrick such a great guide or Patrick who makes Orvis such a great fly fishing experience, but I'm elated with the pairing. Can't wait till the rest of the family shows up wanting to go fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another awesome day on the SOHO,
October 1, 2014
By: Rasputino
from SOHO
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patrick's patience is unbelievable. He has a way of teaching and correcting that makes it a pleasure to fish. Knows where the fish are and talks you onto them.
"Patrick is the best guide I've fished with. I learn new things every time I'm on the water with him. Thanks for all the pointers. Absolutely the best at guiding and teaching."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day On The Water!,
September 28, 2014
By: Tnflyfisher
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The state of Tennessee may have a new resident after this fishing trip with Patrick! He was able to put a great friend of mine from RI on the trout of his life, a 21 inch SOHO beast! Not to mention around eighty other solid native brown trout. This was without a doubt the best fishing I've ever had, I would recommend Patrick to everyone not only for his vast knowledge on the fisheries in East Tennessee but also for the fact, there is no way to have more fun on the water than with Mr. Fulkrod! Keep it up Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost Ran Out Of Backing!,
September 27, 2014
By: BeardedSlayer
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great time on the river today with Mr. Fulkrod. Very professional in every aspect of the game. Could not have asked for more of a relaxing and enjoyable time not just catching God's fish but being in the outdoors and seeing nature unfold before your eyes. I highly recommend a trip with Patrick to not just enjoy catching beautiful fish but to relax and know your in good hands! The only thing you need to bring is a few jokes and a good memory because you"ll be in for a trip of a life time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing was so/so Guide was great,
September 26, 2014
By: ChrisAndy
from South Holsten, Bristol TN
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We Started in the morning hitting a lot of Browns and it looked like it was going to be a great day. Then the river just died> There were Sulphurs floating down the river and the fish weren't hitting them. Patrick came up with every type of way to put us on fish but they weren't hitting until later in the afternoon. He was innovative, creative and patient and it finally started working towards late afternoon. Highly recommend this guy as he is a super personable and highly skilled guide"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spellbound,
September 26, 2014
By: wadein65
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:see definition of "exquisiteness" and all synonyms intricate and plain.
"A well defined and memorable introduction to the "signature" of Orvis and fly fishing.
Drift and mend have another meaning in my vocabulary and Patrick Fulkrod is to me,"he who casts a spell".
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a blast!,
September 24, 2014
By: BigFish43
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick knows how to customize the fishing experience to his clientele. Very knowledgeable and provides excellent customer service. We had a blast!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another BEST EVER day with Patrick Fulkrod,
August 25, 2014
By: fishfree
from Hamilton, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patrick is beyond First Class he is First in First Class
"I am happy to say I am a two-peat repeat client of Patrick. Frankly I wasn't sure how if at all the second float could top our first trip, but that was answered by another outstanding day on the water. From the early day midge activity to afternoon fish on dry Sulfers , it was the kind of day you dream about and hope you'll get,that is great fish, food, and fun to put in the memory bank to think about when the things aren't so good. Beyond the fishing, which was fantastic, the stories, the hints and tips, the rigging examples, and Patrick's all around great guy personality, it was an absolute blast and Eric and I can't wait for the next trip. My advice is simply to Book this guy before his calendar get's completely full, and it fills up fast -you won't regret it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallies on the New,
August 24, 2014
By: billydanceohio
from Chillicothe, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Despite adverse weather and water conditions, we had an excellent day pulling smallies from the beautiful New River. As always with Patrick, catching great fish was made even better by great company and phenomenal guide service. Thanks Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watauga with Patrick & Doug,
August 19, 2014
By: FishWhispererNo2
from Abingdon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He is a trasure to the fly fishing world.
"Great experience. Had an absolute blast! Patrick is THE best. Despite mediocre fishing conditions, he utilized his know how and set us up so we could catch some beautiful fish. He taught us new fishing techniques we will use for a lifetime. Can't wait to do it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st Trip with Patrick,
August 19, 2014
By: Doug1999
from Abingdon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A+
"I have known Patrick for several years but this was first time I was able to use his skills on a float trip. Great day fishing with him and my best friend on the Watauga River."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick rocks!,
August 15, 2014
By: ESHayden
from NYC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Yesterday my dad and I had our second float with Patrick, this time on the South Holston. Knowing Patrick, we expected another amazing trip and that is exactly what we got.
Patrick knows the South Holston and Watauga rivers down to their every seam and deep cut, so we knew we would catch plenty of nice trout. And we did - to the point of losing count.
But what really elevates Patrick from the rest is his personality and the atmosphere he creates on his boat. His enthusiasm for just being out on the water and enjoying the experience is contagious. He's real encouraging and gives you the direction you need to fish your best, without being overbearing. Not sure how anyone could be that patient with tangle after tangle, snags on rocks, etc, but he handles it all with humor.
Patrick's a great guide and you'll learn a ton, but at the end of the day he's just a really good dude that you want to hang out and fish with.
Highly, highly recommended. A++"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birthday float,
July 30, 2014
By: vinedezine
from Kingsport, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great way to spend my birthday. Not only was it a great fishing adventure but my guide brought lunch and birthday cake! Fishing was good but Patrick Amadeus the trip wonderful. Patrick educated us about the river, the varieties of trout caught, fly fishing protocol etc. patrick is passionate about his profession and loves his office. He handles all personalities with ease. Thanks Patrick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect day,
July 28, 2014
By: JohnH0802
from Watauga River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Amazing guide
"This is my daughter and my second trip with Patrick, and I didn't think he could top the last trip, but he did. An amazing day with some more great memories of family and friendship!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tennessee Fishing,
July 27, 2014
By: Fishlady223
from Pennsylvania
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic
"We had 2 fun days fishing with our guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick, as he was last year was a great guide. He is knowledgable, enthusiastic, a true professional. We had some low water issues but Patrick managed to get us into fish on the South Holston and on the Watauga."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watauga WOW!!!,
July 23, 2014
By: HugeOrvisFan
from Northern VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Five stars aren't nearly enough to describe the experience that patrick Fulkrod is capable of creating for his clients--you need an entire stellar constellation for this guy!
"I recently enjoyed an EPIC day on the Watauga river with Orvis Guide of the Year Patrick Fulkrod. Sure it was a gorgeous day: high pressure delivered a preview of Fall--crisp morning air, cobalt blue sky with just enough white puffy clouds to complement the dark green majesty of the surrounding mountains, BUT the "epic" part of the day was delivered not by Mother Nature, but by Patrick Fulkrod! This guy is PHENOMINAL!!! There simply are not enough superlatives in the English language to adequately describe the experience that Mr. Fulkrod consistently delivers to his clients on the water. Smart, articulate, well-read, and conversant on just about any topic you can imagine, Patrick is a true "Renaissance Man" that makes you feel like you've known him your entire life--within minutes of meeting him for the first time! Oh--and let's not forget that razor sharp wit and terrific sense of humor!!! The hours drift by faster than his ClackaCraft drift boat on a class IV current! I could go on forever, but do yourself a favor: stop reading about MY trip and book one for yourself--I guarantee you too will experience the trip of a lifetime with Patrick! And yes--he will put you on the fish: your arm will get tired of setting the hook!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes