Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (171 reviews)
5 stars
171
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
170 of 171(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day On The Water!,
September 28, 2014
By: Tnflyfisher
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The state of Tennessee may have a new resident after this fishing trip with Patrick! He was able to put a great friend of mine from RI on the trout of his life, a 21 inch SOHO beast! Not to mention around eighty other solid native brown trout. This was without a doubt the best fishing I've ever had, I would recommend Patrick to everyone not only for his vast knowledge on the fisheries in East Tennessee but also for the fact, there is no way to have more fun on the water than with Mr. Fulkrod! Keep it up Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almost Ran Out Of Backing!,
September 27, 2014
By: BeardedSlayer
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great time on the river today with Mr. Fulkrod. Very professional in every aspect of the game. Could not have asked for more of a relaxing and enjoyable time not just catching God's fish but being in the outdoors and seeing nature unfold before your eyes. I highly recommend a trip with Patrick to not just enjoy catching beautiful fish but to relax and know your in good hands! The only thing you need to bring is a few jokes and a good memory because you"ll be in for a trip of a life time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing was so/so Guide was great,
September 26, 2014
By: ChrisAndy
from South Holsten, Bristol TN
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We Started in the morning hitting a lot of Browns and it looked like it was going to be a great day. Then the river just died> There were Sulphurs floating down the river and the fish weren't hitting them. Patrick came up with every type of way to put us on fish but they weren't hitting until later in the afternoon. He was innovative, creative and patient and it finally started working towards late afternoon. Highly recommend this guy as he is a super personable and highly skilled guide"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spellbound,
September 26, 2014
By: wadein65
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:see definition of "exquisiteness" and all synonyms intricate and plain.
"A well defined and memorable introduction to the "signature" of Orvis and fly fishing.
Drift and mend have another meaning in my vocabulary and Patrick Fulkrod is to me,"he who casts a spell".
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had a blast!,
September 24, 2014
By: BigFish43
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick knows how to customize the fishing experience to his clientele. Very knowledgeable and provides excellent customer service. We had a blast!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another BEST EVER day with Patrick Fulkrod,
August 25, 2014
By: fishfree
from Hamilton, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patrick is beyond First Class he is First in First Class
"I am happy to say I am a two-peat repeat client of Patrick. Frankly I wasn't sure how if at all the second float could top our first trip, but that was answered by another outstanding day on the water. From the early day midge activity to afternoon fish on dry Sulfers , it was the kind of day you dream about and hope you'll get,that is great fish, food, and fun to put in the memory bank to think about when the things aren't so good. Beyond the fishing, which was fantastic, the stories, the hints and tips, the rigging examples, and Patrick's all around great guy personality, it was an absolute blast and Eric and I can't wait for the next trip. My advice is simply to Book this guy before his calendar get's completely full, and it fills up fast -you won't regret it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallies on the New,
August 24, 2014
By: billydanceohio
from Chillicothe, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Despite adverse weather and water conditions, we had an excellent day pulling smallies from the beautiful New River. As always with Patrick, catching great fish was made even better by great company and phenomenal guide service. Thanks Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watauga with Patrick & Doug,
August 19, 2014
By: FishWhispererNo2
from Abingdon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He is a trasure to the fly fishing world.
"Great experience. Had an absolute blast! Patrick is THE best. Despite mediocre fishing conditions, he utilized his know how and set us up so we could catch some beautiful fish. He taught us new fishing techniques we will use for a lifetime. Can't wait to do it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1st Trip with Patrick,
August 19, 2014
By: Doug1999
from Abingdon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A+
"I have known Patrick for several years but this was first time I was able to use his skills on a float trip. Great day fishing with him and my best friend on the Watauga River."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick rocks!,
August 15, 2014
By: ESHayden
from NYC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Yesterday my dad and I had our second float with Patrick, this time on the South Holston. Knowing Patrick, we expected another amazing trip and that is exactly what we got.
Patrick knows the South Holston and Watauga rivers down to their every seam and deep cut, so we knew we would catch plenty of nice trout. And we did - to the point of losing count.
But what really elevates Patrick from the rest is his personality and the atmosphere he creates on his boat. His enthusiasm for just being out on the water and enjoying the experience is contagious. He's real encouraging and gives you the direction you need to fish your best, without being overbearing. Not sure how anyone could be that patient with tangle after tangle, snags on rocks, etc, but he handles it all with humor.
Patrick's a great guide and you'll learn a ton, but at the end of the day he's just a really good dude that you want to hang out and fish with.
Highly, highly recommended. A++"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birthday float,
July 30, 2014
By: vinedezine
from Kingsport, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great way to spend my birthday. Not only was it a great fishing adventure but my guide brought lunch and birthday cake! Fishing was good but Patrick Amadeus the trip wonderful. Patrick educated us about the river, the varieties of trout caught, fly fishing protocol etc. patrick is passionate about his profession and loves his office. He handles all personalities with ease. Thanks Patrick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect day,
July 28, 2014
By: JohnH0802
from Watauga River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Amazing guide
"This is my daughter and my second trip with Patrick, and I didn't think he could top the last trip, but he did. An amazing day with some more great memories of family and friendship!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tennessee Fishing,
July 27, 2014
By: Fishlady223
from Pennsylvania
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Fantastic
"We had 2 fun days fishing with our guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick, as he was last year was a great guide. He is knowledgable, enthusiastic, a true professional. We had some low water issues but Patrick managed to get us into fish on the South Holston and on the Watauga."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watauga WOW!!!,
July 23, 2014
By: HugeOrvisFan
from Northern VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Five stars aren't nearly enough to describe the experience that patrick Fulkrod is capable of creating for his clients--you need an entire stellar constellation for this guy!
"I recently enjoyed an EPIC day on the Watauga river with Orvis Guide of the Year Patrick Fulkrod. Sure it was a gorgeous day: high pressure delivered a preview of Fall--crisp morning air, cobalt blue sky with just enough white puffy clouds to complement the dark green majesty of the surrounding mountains, BUT the "epic" part of the day was delivered not by Mother Nature, but by Patrick Fulkrod! This guy is PHENOMINAL!!! There simply are not enough superlatives in the English language to adequately describe the experience that Mr. Fulkrod consistently delivers to his clients on the water. Smart, articulate, well-read, and conversant on just about any topic you can imagine, Patrick is a true "Renaissance Man" that makes you feel like you've known him your entire life--within minutes of meeting him for the first time! Oh--and let's not forget that razor sharp wit and terrific sense of humor!!! The hours drift by faster than his ClackaCraft drift boat on a class IV current! I could go on forever, but do yourself a favor: stop reading about MY trip and book one for yourself--I guarantee you too will experience the trip of a lifetime with Patrick! And yes--he will put you on the fish: your arm will get tired of setting the hook!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An excellent day trout fishing.,
July 23, 2014
By: Don321
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is an excellent guide. He is very experienced and clearly knows the water and the fish. He is very pleasant company. We had a great day catching lots of trout. Our lunch on the boat was great."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trout guide,
July 19, 2014
By: SwampGuide
from Everglades, Florida
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick Fulkrod is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide on the Tennessee tailwaters. His boat is fully equipped and he bring beautiful and effective flies along for your use."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great day with Patrick!,
July 8, 2014
By: Bristolfishman
from Watauga River
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had another wonderful day fishing the Watauga River with Patrick. We caught too many trout to count, including a couple of very nice browns. He is very knowledgeable, a true gentleman, and fun to fish with. Anyone looking for a guide in east Tennessee should look no further than Patrick Fulkrod!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First guided trip I will never forget!!!,
July 7, 2014
By: jwoody
from Johnson City, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first guided trip from a drift boat and could not ask for a better experience. Was able to spend my birthday fishing with my best friend and the best fishing guide I have ever met. He really knew his stuff and we will def be returning in the bear future"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best experience ever,
July 6, 2014
By: dzimm
from Short Pump, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is an excellent guide. He clearly has mastered the local waters in and around the Bristol, TN (and surrounding areas) and will put you on the fish! Patrick is a true professional at providing instruction and will improve your skills while having a great day on the water. I have fished with Patrick on two occasions and he comes highly recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome day for browns,
July 4, 2014
By: SHYoungJr
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Patrick, is a good friend of mine and have gone on three trips with him. Every trip has been awesome. Today for a friends birthday I treated him to a trip on the Watauga river where we were surrounded by great views and some great fishing. Caught a dozen or so browns about 16-18 inches. We caught about 20-25 browns and rainbows in the 12-15 inch range. Patrick gives you a great experience and is full of knowledge of the sport and surrounding area. So if you want to kick back and escape the fast pace world we live in and catch some great fish in size and quantity, get yourself in Patricks boat! Great young professional with a ton of passion for the sport."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes