Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
209
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
208 of 209(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with Patrick Fulkrod,
April 28, 2015
By: xrayfisher
from Holston River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is an excellent guide. We had a great day on the South Holston in late April and lost count of the healthy, beautiful browns and rainbows we caught thanks to Patrick's attention to detail, teaching, and expertise. I learned many new tricks from Patrick that have improved my fishing, which in my opinion is the most important outcome from a day of guided fishing. Patrick is also a joy to be with on the water. I look forward to fishing with Patrick again soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Day on the water with Patrick Fulkrod,
April 28, 2015
By: jackrabbit1946
from Holston River, Tennessee, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I had probably the most fun with any guide we've ever had with Patrick on April 27, 2015. Patrick is a professinal with such a pleasant attitude he a joy to be with. He was constantly atttentive for our safety and treated us with respect. His attention to detail is noteworthy. He constantly imparted his knowledge of angling to us with such flair and devotion it was impossible not to learn from him. We recommend Patrick with enthusiasm."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guiding experience,
April 27, 2015
By: Bartlett
from Naperville, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick Fulkrod is an incredible guide. He may well be the hardest working guide I have ever had the pleasure to work with. He is thorough in his stream preparation and put us on fish throughout the day. His personality is perfect for a full day of great conversation and teaching."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
surprised,
April 21, 2015
By: pisces1
from Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Going to TN for fly fishing for the first time was an experience we were looking forward to but with no idea what we were getting ourselves into.
It turned out to be a perfect 3 days thanks to Patrick's knowledge and personality. We will go back which is the best way to describe our experience.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing trip ever,
April 21, 2015
By: Greatfishing
from Coral Gables Fl.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The best
"I couldn't of had a greater fishing trip than this one.Patrick was a great guide knowing all the fishing holes which gave us all the excitement of fishing.He is the MAN"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tons of fun and fish,
April 20, 2015
By: mrbilly
from Bristol, TN, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick provides a great fishing experience whether you are a rookie like myself or a veteran. You will want for nothing and catch plenty of fish! Fantastic day on the water!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip with Patrick,
April 19, 2015
By: TerryDickson
from Bluff City, TN, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Have fished with Patrick many times and he always puts us on fish and more importantly takes great care of us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Day with the Best Guide Ever,
April 16, 2015
By: fishfree
from Hamilton, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my 3rd trip with, and my 3rd review of, Patrick Fulkrod who in my humble opinion is simply the best guide ever. I get it-everyone who has a good experience with a guide probably feels the same way, but even without the many trout caught (~ 35-40) and my personal best Rainbow (~ 22 inches /4 pounds) Patrick is such a class guy, it is just a privilege to be on the water with him. I've said it before, his knowledge of the water, his mentoring and coaching skills, his humor and his humility set him apart from other guides I know. Simply stated Patrick is Best in class, as his current and previous guide of the year nominations and his 2014 Guide of the Year status bears out. If you are ever interested in fishing the tremendous Tail Waters of East Tn. I strongly recommend you book with Patrick. You will not be disappointed"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another EPIC Day w/Patrick!,
April 10, 2015
By: HugeOrvisFan
from Northern VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Simple, efficient, and effective!
"I've been spoiled; spoiled by Patrick Fulkrod--easily the GREATEST fly fishing guide currently inhabiting planet earth. I've only fished with two guides in my life: Patrick and one other gentleman that I met before I was introduced to Patrick four years ago. Since then, I've only fished with Patrick (and I have enjoyed that privilege many times since our first trip). As I said before, I've been spoiled by Patrick--once you fish with the best, there's no "going back." I doubt I'll ever fish with another guide in my life. It was no surprise to me at all when Patrick was voted the #1 Orvis-endorsed Guide of the Year in 2014. I suspect 2014 won't be the only time he captures that title!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
delighted,
April 9, 2015
By: leelan93
from Holston River, Tennessee, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Never been fly fishing. I was in Patrick's hands. A few instructions and what do ya know, I was catching fish! Awful weather and still had a blast! Amazing experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well deserved, guide of the year,
April 8, 2015
By: clintwaddell
from bristol, va
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is not only an excellent guide and teacher, but he's an excellent communicator and make you feel very welcome and comfortable.
Patrick took my wife and I out for her first experience flyfishing and she landed four fish in our first twenty minutes on the water.
The weather was horrible, but seeing the excitement on her face will be what I remember.
Patrick is deserving of being considered guide of the year again this year, if you want my opinion.
I'd highly recommend Patrick to everyone from beginners to experts. He's a real class act, who is an expert in his field.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick is incredible...,
April 7, 2015
By: Jim1951
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I had a wonderful time and I can't wiat to do it again.
"I recently had the good fortune of spending a day on the South Holston River with Patrick. It was a remarkable day spent with a remarkable young man. Patrick is a consummate professional with a wonderful sense of humor. Oh, and we caught a bunch of trout..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Day of Fishing,
April 3, 2015
By: Doug1999
from Abingdon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A1 individual with great knowledge of river
"A wet day on the SoHo but still outstanding fishing and catching with George Owens and Orvis guide Patrick Fulkrod. Great conversation, great lunch on the water, and great outdoors experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great return to the River,
April 2, 2015
By: RustyHook2015
from Virgina
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding!!!
"Great day on the river! Beautiful day with outstanding service and plenty of Fish On! I could not have asked for a better experience as this was my first return to fly fishing after a decade long sabbatical. Patrick was very patient and helpful as I was trying to knock off the rust. I would recommend Patrick without hesitation and plan to fish more with him as soon as my schedule allows."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Ultimate Fly Fishing Experience,
March 31, 2015
By: Emmette1
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:we will never forget this day, hadn't had this much fun in a long, long time
"What an awesome day with our guide Patrick, not more than 20 minutes into the water we were catching fish. We were plenty busy But in addition,the learning experience was outstanding we learned a tremendous amount as Patrick shared a ton of knowledge with us and really made it easy. We couldn't have been more more pleased. The only complaint we had was that the time flew by too fast , we will definitely make this trip again, hopefully real soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water,
March 24, 2015
By: SoHO
from Bluff City, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Called Mountain Sports last minute had a friend who had recently lost his right leg below the knee. We needed to get him in a boat to catch fish Patrick saved the day! Something I will never for get neither will my buddy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best day ever,
March 24, 2015
By: GolfGump
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been all over the US and North America fly fishing with and without guides. Job relocation has sent me to central NC where local fly fishing is non-existant. Needing to feed an urge I went to the closest tail waters to me and googled the rivers of TN. To my surprise there was an Orvis endorsed guide in the area, but even more so the 2014 GUIDE OF THE YEAR was there!!! I booked Patty as soon as he was available and had the best day. I took a good friend who has recently lost a leg, and Patrick was a champ with him and his novice fly skills and recent handicap. I was so impressed with not only the fishing ability of Pat but the way he handles clients is the best I've seen.
We can't wait to get back and fish again with Patty, perhaps share a meal of waffles and blueberries out on the river! Your the best dude!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
March 22, 2015
By: Jsnfournier
from Arlington, VA 23310, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Well, I have recently joined the amputee world in that my right leg below my knee was taken. Today was my first day fishing with my prosthesis. Patrick couldn't have been more accommodating! It was a tremendous experience that I went into with a little apprehension, that was quickly erased. I am greatly looking forward to my next trip with Pat!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoHo,
March 13, 2015
By: JOWPAC
from Dayton, Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is a great fly fishing guide. He has an uncanny nack of making me feel like I am a better caster and fisherman than I am. This is my second trip with him. Can't wait until May for the third trip!
Jim Willey
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Fulkrod Diaries,
March 9, 2015
By: amesfly
from Dayton, OH, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from three days on the South Holston/Watauga rivers in Bristol TN. Weather was cold and storms had just passed through leaving the water questionable with some mud coming in from the creeks. Fished with Orvis Guide Patrick Fulkrod. What a great experience. Patrick put my friend Jimbo and I on some beautiful water and we had exception fishing. Caught rainbows and browns on Nymphs, Dries and Droppers. On a day that we thought about scrapping, we ended up having a banner day. I enjoyed the fact that Patrick's comfortable and expert style of guiding made me feel like I had more talent for fly fishing than I have thus far developed. Lots of fish and lots of laughs."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes