Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (127 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
127 of 127(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the South Holston,
April 19, 2014
By: FredDudley
from Greeneville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a day! If you haven't fished with Patrick Fulkrod then you're missing out. A great guy with a great attitude. He really knows this river like the back of his hand. He's an expert entomologists and an extremely patient guide with a great sense of humor. I would say that I easily caught over 40 trout with the largest of the day at 20". Some guides aren't very enthusiastic about photo opportunities but Patrick stays on top of it. If you want some great pictures of your trip Patrick will get them. I will definitely re-book with Patrick."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father Son Day,
April 14, 2014
By: SoHO
from Bluff City, TN
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son turned 10 and had never caught a fish don't think he really cared. I told him the plan not really interested in that either. Until the day came and we signed him out of school for an appointment with Dr. Brown and Dr. Rainbow and Patrick Fulkrod the best guide in the world. My son has caught his first fish and is now more than interested in fishing Patrick thanks for helping me find a new fishing partner. I can never repay you for what you have given me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
April 14, 2014
By: GFBII
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first trip with Patrick Fulkrod and it was fantastic experience. Patrick is technically proficient and a delight to spend a day with on the water. Looking forward to my next trip with Patrick. G. F. "Jeff" Bradley"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the river,
April 13, 2014
By: Jebusna
from Blacksburg, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick did a terrific job of giving us a memorable day on the South Holston. Patrick's ability to put you at ease is fantastic. Lunch was great but the best part was his ability to put us in the best position to catch fish. We caught about 50 trout on this trip. A great day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip of My Life!,
March 17, 2014
By: Carpguy77
"Patrick did a great job, within five minutes of getting in the boat, both me and my father had hooked one of the largest rainbow trout of our lives! We then were put on some serious smallmouth bass action that we still haven't stopped talking about, I will definitely be booking multiple trips with Patrick in the future! As a guide, I could have not asked for any better, from the top notch gear to the great conversations it was all great. Keep it up Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2-22, Fishing with Patrick,
March 3, 2014
By: GAFLYGUY
from Atlanta, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Once again, had a great time fishing with South Holston guide, Patrick Fulkrod and had an fantastic time. On the fifth cast of the morning, Patrick put me on a 22" brown which definitely tested my 5wt line. Later in the day he knew where to hook me up with a beautiful 18" rainbow. Looking forward to the next trip when Patrick shows my daughter the enjoyment of fly fishing. Will make me happier than eating hot french fries on the boardwalk!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun in the sun,
February 24, 2014
By: Gallagher
from Mountain City, TN 37683, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my second trip out with Patrick the weather was great but the water was cloudy never the less Patrick said don't worry he put us on the fish first 15 min caught 7 had an outstanding time Patrick is so full of energy great fishing with great Conversation !!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide Trip Ever,
February 22, 2014
By: AnglingEsquire
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have tried a number of guides, but Patrick is hands down the best. All guides know their water, but Patrick's attentiveness, pleasantness, and professionalism stands out. If you want a guide talking in his cell phone, go somewhere else. If you want a guide who will take a swim to make sure you land your fish, call Patrick. Did I mention the pro quality photos?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Fishing,
February 20, 2014
By: truther1
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Had an epic day on the water this morning. We put four 14"+ Browns in the boat. Could not have asked for more. Would Highly recommend a trip with Patrick to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the best,
February 19, 2014
By: Rhblanton
from Bristol, TN
"Patrick is the best guide you can ask for. He knows everything there is to know about his home waters and can put you on some serious fish. He's a great guide and a great guy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Co-owner of Blue Quill Angler,
February 4, 2014
By: Tailwaterjunkie
from Evergreen, Colorado
"Patrick Fulkrod is simply one of the finest guides I have ever had the pleasure to fish with. I have fished with guides all over the country....and believe me...he is among the very best. From start to finish...the trip was a joy. From the moment I met Patrick, I knew he was a passionate guide and loved his job. I will strongly recommend him to all my friends. My friends from South Carolina will be contacting him soon for a guided trip to learn more about the South Holston. Patrick, keep up the good work!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Rampage,
January 21, 2014
By: RD2Russ
from Kingsport, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My son and I had a great trip with Patrick Fulkrod. We floated from the Weir Dam at South Holston about half way to Bluff City - around six miles on January 20, 2014. My son caught a nice 17" rainbow to start the day. At times the fishing was sporadic, but it picked up strongly later in the day. We landed about 20 rainbows, lost about 10 more that were hooked, and missed a couple dozen other strikes. Overall, it was a very fun fishing experience.
Patrick is very patient, a good instructor, an excellent conversationalist, and a great boat handler. We really enjoyed floating with him, and we laughed a lot. He had some very nice Orvis fly rods that he let us use. They had a great feel.
I strongly recommend Patrick as a guide. His demeanor, knowledge, and encouragement would certainly enable anyone to have a great day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best guide,
December 31, 2013
By: flyfisher26
from Elizabethton, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We started the morning really slow with tons of leaves on the water. As the day progressed Patrick did what he does best. Put us on the fish and not that many numbers but the quailty of the fish was awsome. Great Guide thats why I take atleast one trip a year with him. If you are reading this and Thinking about a trip in this area Patrick is by far the best guide in the area. I promise you will not be disapointed in your choice."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Guide,
December 9, 2013
By: abingdonangler
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding young guide and man!
"Patrick is an outstanding guide. He knows and does it all: his float boat and how to maneuver it for his angler's best casting and approach to a fish; where the fish are most likely to lie; the best fly for the fishing conditions and season of the year; various casting techniques to position the fly near a fish; and how to play and land a fish once hooked. Best of all, however, he is a great personality with whom it is a pleasure to spend a day on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day away from the office,
December 7, 2013
By: Dan24210
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My law partner and I had a great afternoon fishing with Patrick Fulkrod. We caught some nice fish and Patrick even ordered up nice weather for us, a plus in early December. Patrick makes the fishing fun, which is what it's supposed to be. Great trip!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick is a great guide and terrific instructor,
December 2, 2013
By: clacka1
from Bristol, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been on the water with Patrick several times and its always been a learning experience with every trip. Not just with casting or landing fish but he has showed me different rowing techniques and has taught me a lot about fish management. He's a very knowledgeable person when it comes to the water and fishing in general. You can really tell he's spent a lot time on the water by his knowledge and how he helps out the different levels of anglers on every trip. I'm looking forward to the next trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
November 26, 2013
By: jwhall
from McKee, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guy
"It was a great day on the water, enjoyed it. The guide was great. Plan to visit again next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly fishing guide,
November 25, 2013
By: rlraymond
from Bristol, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick does it all. He makes average fly fishermen look like experts. The best two days I've had on the water in years. Thanks Patrick!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide Trip with Patrick Fulkrod,
November 20, 2013
By: DonPTN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have taken a few guide trips with Patrick in East TN. He knows the rivers well and has patterns and methods that have always produced fish. He is very good to work with me to help improve my fly fishing skills. He always provides a trip that I enjoy and highly recommend him for any guide trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Guide of the Year 2014,
November 19, 2013
By: Troutgod
from Pa
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've gone with Patrick on several trips and each time he surprises me with more knowledge and always puts us on fish. Hands down, one of the best if not the best in the industry. Can't get a nicer and more outgoing person then mr.fulkrod!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes