Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA

Mountain Sports is a locally owned business that has been in operation since 1981. At Mountain Sports Ltd., the guide service is provided by veteran guide Patrick Fulkrod. Patrick is a local to Bristol and has been fly fishing since he was 10 years old. Patrick brings a lineup of credentials and accomplishments to his resume including: national recognition as a 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year Finalist, graduate of the Western Rivers Professional Guide School (2006), Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide since 2007, and a Clackacraft Pro Staff Member.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (265 reviews)
5 stars
265
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
264 of 265(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Review 1 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expect the Best,
August 25, 2015
By: SteveBontell
from Bristol, VA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had been planning this trip for some time. The South Holston is one of the best tailwaters in the country. We wanted the best guide in the area. We got him in Patrick Fulkrod, but we also got a lot more. This guy is one of the kindest, smartest, and passionate human beings you'll ever meet. We caught tons of fish including a 22.5 in 5lb brown! The fishing was great but honestly, Patrick was even better. He listened, coached, and motivated us not just with his words, but his actions. Very few days in our lives do we wish would never end. This was one of them. There's a reason Patrick Fulkrod is the Orvis 2014 Guide of the Year. And we experienced it firsthand. Thank you Patrick. You and Orvis rock!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick is always the best.,
August 23, 2015
By: markfh
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is an exceptional guide in all aspects. He is a true professional, puts you on the fish and always makes you feel good about what you are doing. The best guide I use."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing trip ever,
August 23, 2015
By: Crimsontider1
from Bristol, TN, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick was phenomenal. This was my first time ever to fly fish and Patrick made it a day to treasure forever. He is incredibly knowledgeable which is why He guided me to a 22.5 inch and 5 pound brown. Patrick is also very personal and encouraging all the way. He makes you feel like a fishing champion. He is the best in the business!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a day!!!,
August 21, 2015
By: Duckbuster
from Holston River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick had us on fish all morning. The crowning achievement at the end of the trip was his suggestion for one more drift before we headed in. On the last drift, I hook and landed a beautiful 26 inch brown on a #20 midge! It doesnt get any better than that. Thanks Patrick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Day,
August 20, 2015
By: Pdwilliams
from Holston River, Tennessee
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A-1-A. The best
"What a day on the river. Patrick knew where the fish where and what they were feeding on. He was constantly helping us with our presentation, telling us to adjust fly depth, etc. hard to imagine a better day could be had then the one we experienced. And to land the BIG fish at the end of the day was the icing on the cake."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
South Holston,
August 18, 2015
By: Kburg928
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My trip today with Patrick was by far the best guided trip of my life and one of best days on the water I've ever had. He's by far one of the most genuine guides I've had the pleasure of knowing. In the first couple of cast it was fish on and within the first half hour we landed the largest (24") brown trout of my life. I'll be booking another trip with Patrick in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Trip for my Wife,
August 16, 2015
By: BNoon
from Greenville, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was looking for a special guide for my wife's first fly fishing trip. I didn't think she would even like fly fishing but when she signed up for the Orvis 101 and then 201 I was a happy man.
So the task now was to find a guide that would treat my wife to the ultimate float trip. I found Patrick Fulkrod and heard from some reviews that he was knowledgeable and Guide of the Year 2014. So I went with the advise and reviews.
This was the best trip I have been on for myself, the personal touch that Patrick put into this trip was exceptional. Patrick helped my wife and never judged her skill. I told Patrick from the first conversation with him that this trip was all about my wife. Patrick met those expectations and went beyond them. My wife caught the big fish of the day which made me very happy. With Patrick's coaching my wife has no learned how to catch a 18" Brown Trout. Of course you have to use a guide that knows where the fish are and that's what Patrick does.
We broke the ice with Patrick within the first two hours and it seemed that Patrick had been friends for a long time. And the fun continued for the rest of the day. Laughing and catching beautiful fish... I don't think it gets any better than that?
If you are looking to fish the South Holston River, Patrick Fulkrod is your guide. I just hope he still has time for us. There is a not enough to be said for this trip, I look forward to the next trip with this awesome guide soon.
Thank you Patrick for helping me fulfill a dream to have my wife learn a sport that we love."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day of Fishing Ever,
August 16, 2015
By: PastorOnTheFly
from Lake Toxaway, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Until this trip I had never fished with a guide. If I ever fish with a guide again I must say, the bar has been set incredibly high. I do not really remember a time in my life where I wasn't a fisher man and the full day we spent with Patrick was the best day of fishing I have ever had.
Patrick put us on fish immediately. There were two of us fishing with him that day and we both doubled up on the first cast. I think we probably doubled up between 8-10 times throughout the day. I honestly have no idea how many fish we caught during the duration of the day. I landed my new personal best with a 20'' wild Brown Trout. I was even given the fly I landed the fish on as a keepsake.
Patrick did a phenomenal job of coaching and encouraging without ever being overbearing. When the fish weren't being as cooperative as we would have liked he quickly and effectively adapted and had us on fish again quickly. He was always checking our tippets and tending our flies so that we didn't miss any opportunity of landing fish.
His professional nature on the boat was superb. All of the gears and flies were top notch. I cannot express enough what a wonderful experience our day on the water was. I don't know many people who work for themselves on the water nearly as hard as Patrick worked for us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Trip,
August 15, 2015
By: NCFlyFlinger
from Greensboro, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I contacted Patrick after hearing him on the Orvis Fly Fishing Guide Podcast with hopes of getting some advice for a DIY wade trip to the South Holston and ended up booking him for a full day trip (he had a cancellation which just so happened to coincide with one of the days I was going to be in the area).
This was my first ever experience hiring a guide and I feel bad for every other guide I contact in the future because Patrick has set the bar incredibly high. This man worked his butt off putting us on fish and had a smile on his face the entire time. Not only did I have the best day of fishing I've ever experienced, I got to do it with one heck of a nice guy. If you have the chance to go out with Patrick, do not think twice, book him!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another great day,
August 10, 2015
By: RobertfromFL
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Another great day with Patrick. He is so hardworking...we fished the South Holston in the morning, and because he predicted (correctly) that the action would shut down around 1, we fished the Watauga in the mid to late afternoon. Had a great day, caught dozens of trout, including a beautiful 22" brown in the South Holston, which we caught thanks to ten minutes of Patrick rowing the boat away from obstructions and coaching. Patrick is the most patient guide I've ever fished with. For you ladies out there wanting to try fly fishing, you should fish with Patrick--I promise he won't yell at you, and if you turn the end of your line into a hopeless bird's nest, he'll just smile, untangle the mess, and tell you that's his job security. For those of you who want to catch a bunch of trout and have great company all day, Patrick is the guide for you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Different Type of Guide,
August 5, 2015
By: BillCA
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Most guides use 3x and float a river. Patrick uses 6x and really works a portion of the river.
He's great to work with and we had a great time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mama Bears First Drift Boat Trip,
August 3, 2015
By: amesfly
from Dayton, OH, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very knowledgeable, great fisherman, very attentive to his clients and great sense of humor.
"So, My husband Don (papa bear) has been fly fishing for some time, and a day dream of his is that I would join him on this venture. Well I've been doing a little practicing at home. And now that the last of our 5 kids is off at college we are able to travel a bit and scheduled my first drift boat trip with Patrick Fulkrod in Bristol. I was a bit nervous, but did not need to be.
Patrick made my trip so much fun and I learned so much. Out fished my husband and caught the biggest fish ( so they say). It was a wonderful day, and I plan on a repeat performance. I would highly recommend Patrick as your next fly fishing guide.
p.s. we also had a great lunch in a shady patch on the river.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance,
August 3, 2015
By: figgby
from New Canton, Va.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The best
"Patrick, wow,what a guide. Just the best, cheerful, prepared, extremely good at what he does. Living his dream.
We had the best time, again, and will be back. We caught lots of very nice wild trout of good size including a 21 inch brown for me and another of the same size for my son. We had a great time and even if we had not caught any fish, never happen. It is always nice to see Patrick and renew friendships.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 3, 2015
By: Wtaylor
from Kingsport, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It had been 18 years since I held a fly rod in my hand. My friend had book an excursion with Patrick and his guest back out at the last second and I got the invite. Glad I did!!! The whole experience was wonderful and Patrick our guide is awesome."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
20+ inch Brown on SoHo!,
July 31, 2015
By: TheReelTurner
from Bristol, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick Fulkrod showed us an amazing day on the South Holston. He put me on the largest brown I've ever brought to hand. I've fished with a ton of guides across the country over the years and have had a lot of great experiences. I really can't think of many bad ones. But I would say with little doubt that Patrick is the best guide I've had the pleasure of fishing with. He has a phenomenal attitude, super friendly disposition, works really hard, and knows his water as well as anyone I've met."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome afternoon,
July 30, 2015
By: Flyfishinggrandmother
from Holston River, Tennessee, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Loves his job.
"I have been fly fishing with my husband for45 years. Patrick was so relaxed, knowledgeable and proficent that it was like doing this for the first time. He shared my excitement with each catch. I had one of my best days dry fly fishing ever! The hatches were like a religious experience! Awesome Afternoon! Loved every minute."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Tennessee Trout,
July 30, 2015
By: AussieLee
from Elizabethton, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patrick offered advice and encouragement at all times. His pleasant personality and extensive local knowledge, made for a great day !
"Floating down the Watauga River
Patrick, the Orvis guide and giver,
Fine tuned my cast
I set the hook right at last,
Hoping for a strike - a real winner.
Checking terrain near the bridge
Anchoring up by a ledge
Amid high 5's and shrieks
Several trout caught and released
Swam away, they were no longer dinner !
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GO FISHING WITH PATRICK!!!,
July 29, 2015
By: Bud71
from Bristol, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you ever have the opportunity to fish with Patrick, it will quickly become apparent why he was awarded Orvis Endorsed Guide of the Year. His professionalism, enthusiasm, and knowledge of fly fishing are unparalleled to any other guide/outfitter I have ever fished with before. It was a great day on the river and I am looking forward to many more repeat trips with Patrick in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Patrick / Orvis float trip,
July 28, 2015
By: bigdhog1
from Dandridge, TN 37725 USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:would make a great fishing mate
"My wife and I spent time on the Watauga River, Eastern TN as part of Orvis Fly Fishing course work. I have fished quite a bit before, but this was my first float trip, and it was a pleasure to be on the river with Patrick. He both knew the river and understood just which fishing techniques were best for the conditions of that day.
My wife is only new to fly fishing, and Patrick's skill and patience was just what she needed. Not only did she come away with her own set of skills but he managed to turn her into a real fly fishing advocate. At the same time he was able to impart to me lots of sound advice, guidance and great tips and lore so that I also felt a better fisher at the end of the day.
I am sure all guides are proficient fishermen in their own right, but it takes someone special to cater to all who come along looking for enrichment of their fishing experience. In this regard I would highly recommend Patrick Fulkrod as their choice for the one to lead the way, skipper their boat or to stand next to for a day on the water
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Mountain Sports (Patrick Fulkrod), VA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish Slayers,
July 26, 2015
By: Ptaylor1
from Asheville, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Patrick is the best! I caught so any fish my arms hurt.....he is patient and very competent!
I would recommend Pat and will definitely book again soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes