Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD

Capt. Tom Hughes is an Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide and guides full time. He has been fishing for over 30 years and guiding the salt since 2000. He specializes in teaching (when needed) how to use fly or light tackle spinning equipment in order to catch striped bass, bluefish, white perch, croaker, and other saltwater species. Convenient to Baltimore, Annapolis, D.C., and Virginia. See website for bio.
Average Customer Rating:
4.97 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 33(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Review 1 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Captain,
April 11, 2014
By: FishingBananas
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have spoken to Capt. Hughes a couple of times over the winter and have found him to be a wealth of knowledge. I know when I see him on the water he is catching even when I am not. I decided to take his class and now I know his secrets ;). He was very informative and knowledgable about the waters he fishes. I not only learned about where I was fishing but learned why I was fishing there."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Locating & Catching Striped Bass,
April 10, 2014
By: GeorgeC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first experience to learn from a pro guide and it was great. The information is practical and gave me a great insight to the things I have been missing.
Tom loves what he is doing and his enthusiasm is carries into how he teaches. In addition to the theory that he teaches he also includes videos of people actually having success with him. Tremendous value. A previous student recommended Tom and I am glad he did."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learning the hot spots,
April 9, 2014
By: Billmaz
from Sparrows Point, Edgemere, MD 21219, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Class was very informative, well worth attending"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Catching more fish now,
January 26, 2014
By: fairfishtackel
"I was amazed buy what I was taught, and how I was able to catch more fish with less boat movement and had more fun on light tackel.
now I've got my grandson doing it and he is HOOKED, and we have fish to eat.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capt. Tom,
November 4, 2013
By: Doublehaul7
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great day fishing with capt Tom Hughes. We caught more than 80 schoolies.
I have fished with tom for about 10 years and cannot wait to fish with him again.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time Fishing with Tom,
November 4, 2013
By: SPAFlyFising
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent a late fall day fishing the Chesapeake with Tom Hughes. Tome was terrific at finding fish, optimizing our time on the water, and sharing his vast knowledge of light tackle fishing on the bay. I could not have been pleased with his willingness to share his skills and local knowledge for when I am fishing alone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Instructions,
October 29, 2013
By: StripedBassHunter
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tom Hughes was our guide and he did an excellent job educating us about fly-fishing. Tom created a great environment to learn and have fun. He is an excellent instructor who can quickly identify what one can improve on. We had a great day with Captain Hughes and I can recommend Tom to anyone interesting in fly-fishing! We will be back.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
October 28, 2013
By: fourCs
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Capt Tom was a fun and knowledgeable guide. He put us on the fish and got excited as we did when we hooked up on both rods. He was patient with me, a beginner saltwater fly fisher, and helped improve my technique."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chesapeak Bay Fly Fishing,
October 22, 2013
By: Bobthemover
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished for 40 years on the Bay.This is the first time with a fly rod.Capt.Tom did a marvelous job of locating the fish so we could cast into the area.My daughters and I thoroughly enjoyed our day on the bay with Capt Tom and look forward to a spring adventure with him"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great trip,
October 16, 2013
By: leesburgh
from Virginia
"Capt. Tom Hughes is a fun guide and he knows where the fish are! My family and I had a really good time and caught a lot of fish. Thanks Tom!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Day!,
August 25, 2013
By: fjsa
from Ellicott City, MD, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Capt. Tom was a pleasure to interact with both on the phone before the actual fishing trip as well as the day of. We had an absolutely beautiful day on the Chesapeake, and he made sure we were always happy-stopping where we wanted to take pictures, etc... I would highly recommend using his services.
Thank you Capt Tom!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bay Light Tackle,
August 20, 2013
By: StanV
from Bembe Beach, Annapolis, MD 21403, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I emailed Capt Tom this spring wanting to learn light tackle techniques and to find some good fishing spots near my home in Annapolis. I am glad I did. I have had a great time fishing with him on my own and with friends and family. Whether jigging for perch or casting at the rock piles for stripers, Capt Tom has always put us on fish and is happy to share his knowledge with a newbie like me. I can't wait for my next trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Chesapeake,
July 21, 2013
By: LannyV
from Davidsville, PA
"We spent the day with Captain Hughes on our boat. He first took us for stripers as the tide was running good. He got us on stripers the first time we anchored. My wife, daughter, son-in-law and myself limited out within an hour of Live lining. While the tide was slack he spent time going over my Lowrance HDS unit showing me how to set it up properly and what to look for. We then broke for lunch. He packs a great lunch. After lunch we tried light tackle for stripers but didn't have much success there. We switch to trolling and within 2 minute of getting all the poles out my wife had a hit. She landed that fish and we continued trolling for about an hour. Then switch to jigging for white perch. In all we caught about 18 Stripers, and about 2 dozen or more white perch. My daughter made the comment that this is really fun. Everyone had a GREAT time and I would recommend Capt. Tom Hughes to anyone interested in learning, how to use your sonar/chart plotter, methods for catching fish all while you are fishing at the same time. I would use Capt. Tom Hughes again without any hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Day,
July 13, 2013
By: Fishingbuddies
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 7 year old son and I had a great day fishing with Capt. Tom for rock fish. Caught so many that we lost count. My son landed several nice keepers and Capt. Tom was great helping him develop his fishing skills. It was our second trip with Capt. Tom and we wll be back. Definitely recommend him if you have younger kids on the trip. Great guy and great lunch that he provides. Highly recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Fish & Historical Visit,
July 12, 2013
By: Anonymous
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We took advantage of winning the bid for the trip around Baltimore harbour that Capt Hughes graciously donated to CCA Northern Virginia. I didn't think the girls would be too interested in fishing, but once Capt Hughes put them on the fish it was a different story. We all had an excellent day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing in the city,
July 2, 2013
By: rockfish
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Good fisherman, good guy to be with.
"We went fishing in the Patapsco estuary - right in the port of Baltimore. We were over fish almost all of the time. How many places can you go fishing, then step out of the boat an be downtown?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Captain Tom is the best,
May 19, 2013
By: LongDukDong
"First of all, what an awesome person CaptainTom is. Glad to have gotten to know him through our interaction setting up the outing and then spending the day with him. I asked Capt Hughes to show me the ropes on my own boat as I learned the Bay. We went out of the South River and he was a perfect guide. Explaining things about my new boat, to helping me use my plotter, to using lures. He plays down his experience and expertise but this man can put you on some fish! We pulled in 3 large Rockfish (our limit for the day). What a memorable experience. AND, he provided great tasting home made sandwiches made by his wonderful wife. It does not get any better than this. Thank you and can't wait until our next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigist fish I ever caught,
January 23, 2013
By: Hooks
from Baltimore Md.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I woukd like to thank Capt Tom Hughes for a great trip out at the C.B.B.T. where I caught a 49.25''
40 lb Striper on light tackle. I can't say enough about Capt Tom he not only teaches you how to fish he also teaches you about the bay, bait fish, birds and most important safety on the water. I would recomend a trip with Capt Tom the first chance you get.
Thanks again Capt Tom.
Hooks
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mid Bay light tackle jigging,
December 4, 2012
By: LTFisher
"Our fishing club has taken an annual fishing trip with Capt. Tom Hughes for the past five years. We can count on Capt. Tom to use his experience and knowledge to provide us with an enjoyable and productive day on the Bay. His boat and equipment are kept in top condition and he is willing to go the extra mile to make the trip success. We are looking forward to fishing with him again next season."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Tom Hughes Guide Service (Capt. Tom Hughes), MD
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tom Hughes MidBay Expert,
November 18, 2012
By: Pursuit4Fish
from Edgewater, MD
"Spent great day 10/23 with Tom Hughes guiding on my boat out of Rhode/West River (Second trip with Tom). He patiently showed us all best spots from Poplar up to Bay Bridge. More importantly he taught us how fish react to current and conditions, best approaches to certain spots, even how to set up my Furuno to read mapping and fish finder same screen. Probably caught over 150 + fish with plenty keeper Rock, Blues and Perch. One lesson was when to move on and not waste time on an unproductive spot! Highly recommend Tom to anyone who wants to learn how to fish the mid-bay (Susquehanna and CBBT also!)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes