Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI

Fly fishing and light tackle, from Newport to Watch Hill, to include beautiful Block Island. Fish onboard my 21-foot Mako, and let me show you my favorite places. Charter operation for 9 years with over 30 years saltwater fishing experience. I started fishing as a youth and enjoy introducing others to the sport. I believe in conservation to ensure the fishing for our children and theirs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Review 1 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great time,
June 25, 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Used Orvis outfits. I got to cast the Helios H2 which was great.
"Second trip with Rene and will definitely be doing a third (and more). Everything you want in a guide - he works hard to put you on fish, very knowledgable and is a very nice guy. I would highly recommend him to anyone planning on fishing in RI waters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stripers Busting,
June 13, 2014
By: Fahey
from Newport, RI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Rene, has great knowlegde of the Rhode Island waters and has always put us on fish.Fly fishing for Stripers in and around the bays is Rene strong point.He also is a great guy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great day!,
October 3, 2013
By: Spike2
from Hamburg, MI
"I have fished with Rene for six years in mostly crummy conditions (wind, rain, cold) but the trip to day had to be the best great weather & Rene found fish -- double digits! He is type of person/guide that you really enjoy spending the day with -- he knows the Bay & surrounding and he is a patient and competent teacher. area like the back of his hand. I have fished with many guides over the years and without a doubt, Rene is hardest working guides I have fished with. My highest recommendation for new, experienced, fly, spin fishers. Can't wait for next Fall."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great day on the water,
October 3, 2013
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"I had a great trip with Rene. Conditions were less than ideal, but he worked hard to put me on fish. He is really nice guy. He encouraged me to try a fly my 5 year old son made and took a video of me catching a schollie on it so I could show him when I got home. I also got to try the Helios and Helios2 rods he uses - Very nice bonus. Will definitely book with him again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
September 24, 2013
By: FishingLonghorn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great fishing with Rene. He worked hard to find fish (when other boats weren't), taught us new techniques, and shared insights on fishing locations for us explore the next day. Most of all, he was fun to be with for the day. Will definitely fish with Rene again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Educational Experience,
August 19, 2013
By: JD2222
from Jamestown, RI, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having moved to Jamestown within the past year, we called up Rene to see if he could show is some of the local spots off Newport. He came and picked us up from our own dock, and we were on the water before sunrise. During the day we caught quite a few decent size stripers as Rene gave us advice on exactly how to fish the area. Rene was a great guide, and I would recommend him highly to anyone new to the area, or just trying to have a great day on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money,
August 13, 2013
By: Anonymous
from Newport, RI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Good, well cared for boat with no frills
"Captain Rene obviously loves what he does. He quickly had my novice fiancée casting like a pro and bringing in the stripers. It was my first time casting a fly rod and he gently pushed me in the right direction until I was casting proficiently enough to bring in 3 nice striped Bass. He's easygoing and possesses A1 knowledge of Rhode Island fisheries. We will be back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide,
June 6, 2013
By: JoeAm
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Capt. Rene is an excellent guide. He put me in great spots during a time when the fishing was not very productive and I ended up pulling out double digit Striped Bass. He helped me improve my cast along the way and was able to get the boat close to some excellent holes and coastal water. He knows the waters he fished like the back of his hand, he understands when and how to fish certain spots. He is very professional and fun to be on the boat with all day."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First stripper,
May 11, 2013
By: Matt1961
from Wayne, NJ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went out today with Rene in tough conditions. Big front, rain, wind but we soldiered on. Rene got me on a small batch of bait fish and I was able to put his casting coaching to good use and scored a 25" beauty.
Rene is a great guide and his good humor and excellent teaching made my day. I am now dedicated to catching my next stripper. The next time I am in Newport I will book another trip with Rene."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the Rocks,
October 5, 2012
By: JGrandchamp
from Adams, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Went fishing with Rene for the secnd time. Great guide, great fishing! Does all the things you want from a guide: works hard, knowledgable, teacher, good sense of humor- and yeah he finds fish. Albies, stipers and blues. A good day on the water! Particularly for my spin fishing friend who landed his first fish: 10 albies and an assortment of blues and stripers!
I will be back with Capt Rene
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for On the Rocks Charters (Capt. Rene L. Letourneau), RI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Albies,
September 17, 2012
By: carpin
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Went on my first trip for Albies with Capt. Rene last weekend. He was incredibly professional and did a fantastic job of putting me on fish. He coached me through the fight, including a huge run that nearly spooled me and I had a blast. Would definitely go fishing with him again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes