Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA

Fly fish with Capt. Kalil Boghdan, 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year, for striped bass from May through September on the Essex River, originating in Essex, Massachusetts. Fish the beautiful tidal salt marshes and the sand flats of the Essex River, Crane Beach, and Plum Island Sound.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
135
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
135 of 135(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Review 1 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exciting,
July 8, 2012
By: Loulou1
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kind, patient, knowlegeable, happy
"I gave my husband a fishing trip as a Christmas present many years ago. The guide was Kalil Boghdan. My husband raved about the fishing and how much fun he had so I decided to go. As a young girl I summered in Maine and would go deep sea fishing with my dad and I loved it (in between getting sea sick).
The first thing that I enjoyed was the calmness of the river and open ocean around Crane Beach in Ipswich, MA. The next was the breathtaking scenery and wildlife that Kalil pointed out. He has an incredible appreciation and respect for the beauty of the area we fish in and the environment.
Last but not least is the fishing. He's an excellent teacher. I understood his direction. He's also very patient. As a guide Kalil treats us like we're the most important customers. He's always happy and upbeat. One more thing; the trips are so much fun. I went with my best friend and in between casting and catching we laughed. It's a wonderful release from work and stress. We have recommended Kalil to many friends and family.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Beat This Guide,
June 10, 2015
By: taugher
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We flyfish all over the world and spend a bunch of time and effort on stripers. Kalil Boghdan is just the best! He knows the local fishery better than anybody, he knows and has all the flies needed, he will loan you some of those great Orvis rods, reels and lines and he serves terrific lunches and snacks. He has a great sense of humor and is a figure of great respect in the Essex community, reflected in the number of guides who seek advice or pass on information to him. His prices are great. You wil end up with a great trip and a friend to boot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capt. Kalil Boghdan,
April 23, 2015
By: A3flyfish
from Ipswich Bay, Massachusetts, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having fished with Capt. Boghdan on multiple occasions, no guide I have ever fished with offers greater value. He focuses totally on your having fun and is completely selfless. He will work hard, often well past the planned return time, to keep you on or find fish. His food offerings are nothing less than generous. He sets the standards other guides should look to."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
April 13, 2015
By: TigFish3
from Ipswich, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A fantastic Guide!
"I spent the day with my son Andrew, and of course Kalil. The trip was a trip we won in a raffle at a local charity event, and so one never knows what to expect...what we experienced was a wonderful day on the water in the Essex River system. Kalil was gracious, a blast to fish with, provided a wealth of knowledge and the always extra tip on how to get an additional 10 + feet on those casts. He put us on fish first thing, and worked very hard to keep it moving. Unfortunately the fish didn't totally cooperate, but Kalil more than made up for it with his quick wit, humor, and wonderful demeanor. Anyone seeking a great day on the water fly fishing for Striped Bass would enjoy the day with Kalil whether the fish were cooperating or not..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Downriver Charters Delight,
April 12, 2015
By: wadefisherman2013
from Concord,MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"2014 I fished four times with Kalil. Although striper fishing was not at its best last year. Kalil never failed to work hard to make each trip productive and entertaining even if the fish were not cooperating. He has a prodigious knowledge of the Essex River Estuary and nearby fishing areas from his years of guiding so he can easily motor to nearby hot spots to take advantage of changing fishing conditions. Kalil is also a great teacher and I never fail to learn something new to improve my fishing skills. All equipment and flies are provided, not to mention the wonderful pastries and sandwiches. If you are looking for a fun fishing experience in a scenic New England coastal area with a real fishing professional as your guide, this is a charter for you. I highly recommend Captain Kalil Boghdan. I am already booked for 2015."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful morning,
April 10, 2015
By: GranpaH2015
from Concord,MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"went out on iffy weather with high winds.Despite this captain took us on fascinating tour of coast with full discussion of landscape and bass ecology.Unfortunately,tried but could not control boat to allow much fishing and fishing aborted.Great morning anyway with charming host.Will try to do it again with better weather.Although not expected ,captain waived all fees."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Striper Hunt,
April 10, 2015
By: SoftTouch
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Book early if you want a space
"What can you say about a guide whose been doing this longer than you've been alive. Well not really but Kalil's vast experience on the Essex River and adjacent waterways maybe the best part of going out with him. This is my favorite area of New Engkand and never tire of being on the Essex River. Kalil's passion for conservation and knowledge of make a day out a great experience on top of catching stripers.
He's the consummate host making sure all the details and comforts are available. It doesn't hurt having a chance to try out the latest Orvis tackle either. He out stock a couple of Helios Ross and reels, probably could sell them on board!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time, Rain or Shine,
April 10, 2015
By: clarkmw
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Top of the list guide, knowledgeable and just fun to be around!
"My brother, nephew and I spent a day on the water with Capt. Kalil Boghdan and it was the best fishing adventure ever! My brother wanted to learn how to fly fish, and with the skilled instruction, encouragement and occasional humor by Kalil, he was casting with confidence and pretty good distance and accuracy by the end of the day. My nephew wanted to catch fish and even though the fish had not been biting very well he hooked up and landed a few fish with a big smile on his face! I was manly there to view the beautiful shoreline marshes, flats and ocean and catch up with my high school biology teacher from 34 years prior. The day was mostly overcast with the few rays of sun that had poked through the clouds early fading fast. By afternoon the rain was coming down in buckets, but we kept on it and enjoyed a most memorable day on the water that we plan to do again at the earliest opportunity."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Make it a tradition,
April 5, 2015
By: Dazzle
from Leominster, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Kalil is a beloved tradition for my brother and I. On our last trip there were not too many fish around, probably due to the unusually warm water. But no matter. When you combine spectacular scenery with Kalil’s infectious good nature, charm and wit, catching fish is a bonus.
Kalil is a conservationist who is dedicated to bringing back the striper fishery. So his is a catch and release boat."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every day a great day,
March 12, 2015
By: FishingChief
from Hamilton, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent
"I fish with Captain Kalil quite often and each and every day is a great experience.
His knowledge of fishing and of the Essex River is amazing.
I highly recommend his trips.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with the best,
March 2, 2015
By: jhfkljryue6dkytyedt
from Marblehead, MA,
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:most knowladgeable guide in the area
"Kalil is by far the best guide I have ever had the pleasure to fish with. On a scale of 1 to 10, Kalil as a guide is a 11, as a person a 15! Kalil makes the whole day just great, cannot say enough about the whole experience"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best guide northeast,
February 27, 2015
By: Wduncan
from New Hampshire, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Guaranteed a fantastic day every time out on the water. Fish or no fish, that is why I book with the captin for the last 5 years"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
February 25, 2015
By: GoodFrank
from Winchester, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you want the most knowledgable fishing guide in Northeastern MA, Kalil is your guy. He's a born teacher, and lot's of fun. He has a great sense of where the fish are."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly exceptional guide,
February 25, 2015
By: MITFisher
from Belmont, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Highest recommendation
"I have been fly fishing for stripers with Kalil Bogdhan many times and have had nothing but outstanding experiences. Kalil is a real professional in every sense and fishing with him is a pleasure whether the fish cooperate or not."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another perfect day.,
February 25, 2015
By: bigfishjim
from Litchfield NH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Once again another great day on the water with Kalil and by brother, he's very knowledgeable with all the gear and equipment. I feel very safe with Kalil. cant wait till summer for the next trip. Thanks for the great memories Kalil."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional Guiding,
February 24, 2015
By: PondDr
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kalil provides an exceptional guiding experience, combining, knowledge of local waters, fly-fishing for stripers, casting technique/instruction, quality gear, concern for boating safety, and excellent, no-skimp food and beverages. Kalil is a real gentlemen and its a pleasure to spend time on the water with him. Should I mention that my boat-mate and I caught 100+ stripers in one day last June?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with a Master!,
February 24, 2015
By: Eitsock
from Needham, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fly fishing with Captain Kalil for the last 7 years. He is the perfect gentleman, an amazing and patient teacher of his craft and our trips are always productive. My Dad and I have so many fond memories of trips through the Essex River listening to Kalil's guidance on location, presentation and techniques that produce fish as well as lifetime memories. There is no one better!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Overall Experience,
February 24, 2015
By: ethews1
from Boston, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kalil is hands down the best guide I have ever been with. Fresh or salt water. Not only does he put you on fish, but he is highly knowledgable about the history and surroundings of his fishery. I always catch fish and learn new information when I fish with him. Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST. Period,
February 24, 2015
By: KGM87
from Hancock, NH, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished with guides all over the world and will continue to fish with Kalil as long as I can hold a rod. Everytime we set out, I learn something new. Be it about the fishery, casting, local history or local ecology. Many guides are all about "the fish" and don't get me wrong Kalil will find the fish, but Kalil is about the experience. He is an excellent teacher, a strong advocate of the fishery and of the Orvis company. IF you have the chance, I urge you to get on the water with him, you will learn, laugh and love the outdors more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best guide ever,
December 8, 2014
By: Speckledtroutrt
from Essex, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kalil is most definitely worthy of being an Orvis guide of the year
"I have hunted and fished on five continents and have never had a guide that works as hard or is as personable as Kalil. He is a perfect guide and deserving of the designation of Orvis guide of the year. I have never had a more honest guide or one that is more fun. We left MA thinking of Kakil as a very close friend that would do anything to help us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes