Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA

Fly fish with Capt. Kalil Boghdan, 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year, for striped bass from May through September on the Essex River, originating in Essex, Massachusetts. Fish the beautiful tidal salt marshes and the sand flats of the Essex River, Crane Beach, and Plum Island Sound.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
87
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
87 of 87(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Review 1 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exciting,
July 8, 2012
By: Loulou1
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kind, patient, knowlegeable, happy
"I gave my husband a fishing trip as a Christmas present many years ago. The guide was Kalil Boghdan. My husband raved about the fishing and how much fun he had so I decided to go. As a young girl I summered in Maine and would go deep sea fishing with my dad and I loved it (in between getting sea sick).
The first thing that I enjoyed was the calmness of the river and open ocean around Crane Beach in Ipswich, MA. The next was the breathtaking scenery and wildlife that Kalil pointed out. He has an incredible appreciation and respect for the beauty of the area we fish in and the environment.
Last but not least is the fishing. He's an excellent teacher. I understood his direction. He's also very patient. As a guide Kalil treats us like we're the most important customers. He's always happy and upbeat. One more thing; the trips are so much fun. I went with my best friend and in between casting and catching we laughed. It's a wonderful release from work and stress. We have recommended Kalil to many friends and family.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a lifetime,
January 30, 2014
By: GarrettK
from Leominster, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Best in his class
"My father had given me a fishing trip with Captain Kalil for my 21st birthday over the summer. Kalil is a 1st class fishing guide and captain. He had brought our party to elite fishing spots where we were pulling in 6-7 good size striped bass per hour. His knowledge on using lures was second to none. Kalil also brings an excellent personality to the boat, making your day of fishing much more enjoyable. Lunch and breakfast were provided. For a great memorable experience Kalil is the guide for you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Fishing Experience,
January 11, 2014
By: bcpierce11
from Marblehead, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was fortunate enough to fish with Capt. Kalil and my Dad twice last season. We had a wonderful experience. Seeing that I hadn't been fishing much in the last few years because of school and military service, Capt. Kalil was kind enough to give me expert pointers on how to fish for stripers. After a little practice I got the knack of casting back. Capt. Kalil took us to numerous hotspots in and around the Essex River and we got many fish. He was very knowledgeable about the area and all the wildlife. And on top of the wonderful fishing he provided great sandwiches, hot and cold drinks, fruit and snacks. I was quite impressed, to say the least! Can't wait for the Spring to get here so we can get back out there again. I highly recommend a day on the water with Capt. Kalil."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2013,
January 6, 2014
By: MM50
from Mass
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the third year in a row I had the pleasure of spending at least two days with Capt. Kalil Boghdan. As always, the trips were successful and fun. Not only did we catch beautiful striped bass, we also saw wonderful scenery. Kalil did a great job of getting to fish and getting us hooked up. He also made the trip enjoyable with his banter and knowledge of the local environment. I would recommend Kalil to any angler looking for a great day fishing for striped bass!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hihglight of my season for, many season!,
December 26, 2013
By: EsquireJMac
from Essex, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spend several days a season fishing with Kalil. They are by far my most favorite days. I take my dad and on other select days I take a close friend. The memories I have built with my dad over the years are some of my most cherished. All of us look forward to these dates as the highlights of our season.
Kalil is the best, he really gets it! He is fun personable and professional. Over the years he has far surpassed his obvious role of guide and has become a friend and part of my family.
These are by far the best trips of our season. The fishing is always good and Kalil puts great efforts to ensure the refreshments are great and he always hits the mark.
I can't stress enough, everyone needs to go fishing with Kalil. The location is top notch and very beautiful.
I'm already looking forward to my next trip.
John McAuley, Esq."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Derby,
December 19, 2013
By: SoftTouch
from Beverly, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:No
"Captain Kalil's reputation as an expert on the Essex River was evident on our trip. It didn't take him long to guide us to a quiet grassy spot where we got into a lively school of striped bass. It turned out to be a bit of a fishing derby. It truly was a memorable event. Captain Kalil's hospitality is legendary and on this trip it was as you'd expect, plenty of hot coffee and sandwiches. The Essex River is my favorite waterway in New England and I can't think of a better person to guide it than Captain Kalil. I highly recommend Downriver Charters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once again,
December 11, 2013
By: Wjduncan
from Essex Ma.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"There was no surprise when Captain Boghdan won the 2012 “Orvis Guide of the Year” award, he is an outstanding guide! I have gone out with him at least twice a year for the past four years, each and every time I had a fantastic time on the water. He has a real knack for finding the fish and at the same time making it feel like you are out on the water with a close friend of 30 years or family. I will book trips with him as long as he continues to charters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another fine day,
December 6, 2013
By: 4444144442444434444
from Marblehead, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:a joy to fish with
"The Essex River/Crane beach area is beutiful,and the fishing can be spectacular.The best part of the trip is being with Kalil.Kalil's knowlage as a guide is second to non.I have fished with many guides through the years,and can say Kalil is the BEST guide i've ever fished with.Kalil as a person is even better,a great man and friend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Fishing Trip,
December 6, 2013
By: Irish8881
from Essex, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Capt. Kalil is an excellent Capt and host. Extremely knowledgeable and very personable. GREAT overall experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
December 5, 2013
By: Nathaniel
from Newburyport, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second season going out with Kalil, and this time I brought along two friends. One was an experienced fly fisherman and one with little experience. Kalil kept us in fish all day, with hookups at several different places. Kalil's knowledge of the waters is so extensive that every trip is a new adventure! He has a great presence in the boat, and makes it a fun challenge for exprienced fisherman and a great learning experience for newer anglers."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming Home,
December 3, 2013
By: EvilFrank
from Grantham, NH, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Kalil is like coming home to a comfortable place. I've been fishing with Kalil for the past five years and each new trip is like visiting an old friend. His warmth and friendship make the day a pleasure independent of the fishing action. On the fishing front, he knows where to find them and he works very hard to find the fish on slow days. My only problem is with my fishing buddy, "The Good Frank", who always manages to leave his checkbook home."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capt Kalil Boghdan,
December 2, 2013
By: Carl1234
from Burlington, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Once again Captain Kalil has provided us with yet another very memorable charter that we will never forget. We are already looking forward to our 2014 dates with him. Thank you Kalil! Carl"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Two of my best summer days,
November 29, 2013
By: GoodFrank
from Winchester, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Captain Kalil is full of adventure and laughs. I've never ran across a more experienced guide, whether knowledge about the fish areas, about species, about fish behavior, about tackle gear, as well as a keen knowledge and concern about the environment. He tracks fish by watching bird behavior, radio contacting fellow guides, or just instinct. Most enjoyable is his sense of humor. He offsets my boring fish buddy, the Evil Frank. This is a top notch operation and Captain Kalil is a topnotch gentleman."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gentleman, scholar and wonderful guide,
November 27, 2013
By: cubalibre
from Fredonia, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As a fly fishing guide myself, I was very careful selecting a professional to guide my 12 year old son and me. Kalil is a rare individual in that he is truly wonderful person who is also a great guide. I have not reservation about having him guide us again in the near future and look forward to spending another day together."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best days each year,
November 26, 2013
By: RookieTB
from Rhode Island
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm not a regular fisher, but really enjoy the days on the water with Kalil. Even when they're not biting, we just have a really great time! When they are biting, he finds 'em, and watch out! I only go out once or twice a year, with a friend, and look forward to it every time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Perfect Guide,
November 20, 2013
By: KGM87
from Hancock, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:None---he is the best
"I have fished from the Bahamas to Labrador to Alaska and have never met a guide that created a better fishing experience that Kalil. I began fishing with him about 20 some odd years ago and I still look forward to every outing, which are several trips per year. Each time on the water, I learn something...be it about the fish, casting refinements, weather, new gear from Orvis etc. The trips I take are the highlight of my summer. I cannot recommend him more highly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stripper Fishing with Matt Pierce,
November 20, 2013
By: Lally3278
from Burlington, VT, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This trip was amazing. I was fortunate enough to make the secondary cut after Matts father in law was unable to go on the trip. It was a solid reunion for us fellas that use to bartend together back in the day. Capt. Kalil was amazing. Brought us to all the hot spots and we pulled in over 30 strippers this day. He had an icredible knowledge of the Essex River and angling in general. I 100% will be booking another trip in the future and would recommend it to any fisherman interested in a great, stress free, fish filled, experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Make it a tradition,
November 19, 2013
By: Dazzle
from Leominster, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was my third outing with Kalil and my brother Jim. What struck this time is how tirelessly Kalil works to get you into fish. He knows a vast number of relatively small pockets. As the boat slows into position, he gets his anglers ready. And then jokes, “Gentleman, unleash the fury.” He carefully maneuvers the boat on a perfect course while adjusting for wind and tide. If we hook a fish or two, we slide expertly through the hole again. Kalil's philosophy is that if his anglers don't catch a fish in a dozen casts or so, the fish aren’t there. And he motors quickly to the next spot, while keeping a sharp eye for birds diving for bait fish. The man doesn’t get a moments rest.
Kalil’s fishing grounds are exquisitely beautiful. Go to Google Maps and search on “Essex Bay Essex MA.” Follow the river northeast to Essex Bay. This is where the real fun begins. Then cruise north to Castle Hill, Little Neck, and Sandy Point State Reservation. What you’re seeing in this satellite image is an incredible variety of scenery. You’ll fish next to eclectic house boats, sandy beaches, dunes, summer cottages—even a golf course. You’ll cruise intimate salt marsh estuaries.
I’ve lived just over an hour from this area all my life and never realized what a gem it is. It’s no wonder people travel from across the country to fish here. My brother and I have made it an annual tradition. And we can’t wait for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Day with Captain Kalil,
November 12, 2013
By: wadefisherman2013
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I first encountered Captain Kalil at the December 2012 meeting of the New England Saltwater Fly Rodders where he was the featured guest speaker discussing the status of striper fishing on the Essex and Ipswich Estuary Fisheries. His was among the best of the presentations that year so I got in touch with him after the meeting and made a reservation for a June striper fishing trip with my son. Captain Kalil did not disappoint.
His guiding philosophy seems to be based on the marketing principle “delight the customer”. Before the trip even starts he is interested in what the clients’ goals are for the trip and then tries to meet those goals. The client is greeted by coffee and pastries which hit the spot early in the morning. The luncheon sandwiches are terrific. He is on the water most every day of the week so knows his fishing territory well as well as what flies are catching the fish and targets the areas with the best chance of success. He is supportive but also coaches to improve casting and line stripping skills. If the action slows, he gets in touch with a guide colleague to try and locate active fish. Time on the water is not a fixed variable and we fished well over the time length for a half day trip. All during the trip he takes photos which he loads onto a disk and mails to the client after the trip.
On our trip we fished the Essex River Estuary, The Crane Beach oceanfront and Plum Island Sound covering around thirty nautical miles on the trip. Each of these waters have different tidal, wind and topographical features which present different fishing opportunities as well as fantastic coastal scenic views. On our trip, we were fishing near the mouth of the Essex River when the wind became strong making it difficult to cast so Captain Kalil motored over to Plum Island Sound which is more protected by coastal land until the wind subsided. Over the course of the trip we fished each of these fisheries as Captain Kalil followed the feeding birds and put us over fish in known hot spots. In total we boated about twenty-five stripers of varying sizes (but no hogs) and missed a fair number of strikes for one reason or another.
Finally, if you are looking for a fun day of striper fishing with an experienced professional guide on world class striper waters, Captain Kalil is your man. We had so much fun we wanted to go again this year but he was booked for the rest of the season. You will need to book early to reserve a date for 2014. My son and I have already done so and are looking forward to fishing with Captain Kalil again in 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent experience,
November 11, 2013
By: MITFisher
from Belmont, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the good fortune to have three days with Kalil Bogdhan during the past summer fly fishing for stripers. I spent two days with him, one with an expert and one with a novice, and both were outstanding experiences. His abilities as a guide are unsurpassed, as are his personal qualities and interpersonal skills. Unfortunately, he had to cancel one day because of an emergency in Kalil's family. On short notice, he was able to find an alternative guide who was equally skilled who saved the day for a novice fly fisher. In short, I can't wait to schedule additional trips with him next season."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes