Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA

Fly fish with Capt. Kalil Boghdan, 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year, for striped bass from May through September on the Essex River, originating in Essex, Massachusetts. Fish the beautiful tidal salt marshes and the sand flats of the Essex River, Crane Beach, and Plum Island Sound.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
144
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
144 of 144(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Review 1 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exciting,
July 8, 2012
By: Loulou1
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kind, patient, knowlegeable, happy
"I gave my husband a fishing trip as a Christmas present many years ago. The guide was Kalil Boghdan. My husband raved about the fishing and how much fun he had so I decided to go. As a young girl I summered in Maine and would go deep sea fishing with my dad and I loved it (in between getting sea sick).
The first thing that I enjoyed was the calmness of the river and open ocean around Crane Beach in Ipswich, MA. The next was the breathtaking scenery and wildlife that Kalil pointed out. He has an incredible appreciation and respect for the beauty of the area we fish in and the environment.
Last but not least is the fishing. He's an excellent teacher. I understood his direction. He's also very patient. As a guide Kalil treats us like we're the most important customers. He's always happy and upbeat. One more thing; the trips are so much fun. I went with my best friend and in between casting and catching we laughed. It's a wonderful release from work and stress. We have recommended Kalil to many friends and family.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
August 22, 2015
By: showeq
from Essex, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:none
"Kalil once again came through with another fine and fun day on the water, the only day I could schedule with him. Khalil continued to impress and amuse us two throughout a generous half-day with his knowledge of the area and his stories, as well as his gentle tips on casting. I count Kalil after these several years as a good friend and mentor."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The King of Essex,
August 20, 2015
By: ejfceo
from Lexington, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've fished with Captain Kalil many times over the past 5 years and every trip has been exceptional -regardless of the weather or the catch. Kalil is the most skilled and knowledgeable guide on the North Shore and he treats you like royalty every time you enter his kingdom. My casting has also improved greatly under Kalil's thoughtful instruction. I've fished with many guides over the years, but in my opinion - Kalil is King."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience as Usual,
August 16, 2015
By: OnTheOtherLine
from Reading, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been going fishing with Kalil for many years now. I look forward to the day each year for many reasons. While I really enjoy the fishing, Kalil is great company and makes everyday a great one. Even if the fishing is slow, Kalil is just a great guide to spend the day with. As every other time I have been with him, he brings out great food and this time he went the extra, extra mile. My wife came along for the ride and is vegetarian. He picked up all kinds of great food for here to eat which she thoroughly enjoyed.
I happened to catch the biggest Striper that I have ever caught. This was fun and exiting but Kalil is the one that makes the day great. I look forward to continuing to fish with him in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome trip with great guide,
August 13, 2015
By: SEMcQ
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My sister and I bought a fishing trip with Kalil for our Dad's Christmas present and it was a great time. Kalil was very knowledgable and provided the fun bonding experience we were hoping for. I would highly recommend booking Kalil for your next fishing trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Striper fishing at it's finest,
August 9, 2015
By: BTork
from Beverly, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Capt. Kalil is the best. From the fishing equipment to the areas fished to the food he supplies to the anglers. Everything was great. To top it all off this trip included some great weather and some good sized fish. Thanks Kalil."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the water.,
August 9, 2015
By: chaz88
from Essex, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was truly an exceptional fly fishing experience. Kalil shared with my fishing buddy David and myself his tremendous knowledge of the Essex Bay environment along with casting and fly fishing tips.His experience as an educator was apparent in the way he directed us and answered our questions throughout the day.All with a terrific sense of humor. We had the opportunity to use premium Orvis rod and reels. Kalil was a wonderful host providing coffee and pastry in the morning and delicious sandwiches etc. later in the day. The fishing was consistent - our guide knew where to find them and the proper fly to use. We are both looking forward to our next trip with Kalil."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 ADDITIONAL FEET,
August 7, 2015
By: DUNC007REYNOLDS
from Georgia, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"MY FIRST OPPORTUNITY AT SALT WATER FLY FISHING AND 9 WT GEAR. A MAJOR CHANGE FROM YEARS OF 4 & 6 WT BUT KALIL WAS EXCEPTIONAL IN HIS INSTRUCTION PROCESS/ GUIDANCE.
IT WAS APPARENT THAT HE HAD DONE HIS HOMEWORK IN LOCATING STRIPERS PRIOR TO THAT TRIP. NEVER DID WE FEEL WE WERE ON A JOY RIDE / WE WERE ON FISH FOR THE ENTIRE VISIT.
CATCH AND RELEASE IS THE RULE OF THE DAY AS WELL IT SHOULD BE.
KALIL IS AN EXCELLENT STEWART OF THESE RESOURCES AND IT WAS APPARENT.
SAFTEY WAS FOREFRONT THROUGH OUT THE TRIP AND ALL PRECAUTIONS AND PROCEDURES WERE WELL DEFINED.
ALREADY LOOKING FORWARD TO NEXT YEARS TRIP (S).
GREAT VALUE FOR THE EXPENSE.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
August 6, 2015
By: EmilyMJuly15
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My sister and I took my dad out with Kalil as a belated Christmas present and had a wonderful experience. We met him early in the morning and went out on the Essex river, he greeted us with coffee, and delicious breakfast pastries for our trip to the mouth of the river. Starting out he provided great guidance and instruction for both traditional and fly fishing. Over the course of the day we caught three stripers and had a fabulous time. Kalil continually helped us improve our casts while providing entertaining and educational banter. It was a really great experience, I couldn't recommend him more highly as a guide. It was a truly memorable trip, and one we hope to repeat soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woinderful day on the water with Kalil,
August 6, 2015
By: farr50
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It is not always about the fishing when your guide (in this case Kalil Boghdan) points out all the interesting sites to behold while on his boat in the Essex River system as well on Cranes Beach. Birds, history of the area such as Cross Island. By the way, the fishing in May was outstanding!! Great person and wonderful guide. 5 Stars for sure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Beat This Guide,
June 10, 2015
By: taugher
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We flyfish all over the world and spend a bunch of time and effort on stripers. Kalil Boghdan is just the best! He knows the local fishery better than anybody, he knows and has all the flies needed, he will loan you some of those great Orvis rods, reels and lines and he serves terrific lunches and snacks. He has a great sense of humor and is a figure of great respect in the Essex community, reflected in the number of guides who seek advice or pass on information to him. His prices are great. You wil end up with a great trip and a friend to boot."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Capt. Kalil Boghdan,
April 23, 2015
By: A3flyfish
from Ipswich Bay, Massachusetts, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having fished with Capt. Boghdan on multiple occasions, no guide I have ever fished with offers greater value. He focuses totally on your having fun and is completely selfless. He will work hard, often well past the planned return time, to keep you on or find fish. His food offerings are nothing less than generous. He sets the standards other guides should look to."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful,
April 13, 2015
By: TigFish3
from Ipswich, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A fantastic Guide!
"I spent the day with my son Andrew, and of course Kalil. The trip was a trip we won in a raffle at a local charity event, and so one never knows what to expect...what we experienced was a wonderful day on the water in the Essex River system. Kalil was gracious, a blast to fish with, provided a wealth of knowledge and the always extra tip on how to get an additional 10 + feet on those casts. He put us on fish first thing, and worked very hard to keep it moving. Unfortunately the fish didn't totally cooperate, but Kalil more than made up for it with his quick wit, humor, and wonderful demeanor. Anyone seeking a great day on the water fly fishing for Striped Bass would enjoy the day with Kalil whether the fish were cooperating or not..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Downriver Charters Delight,
April 12, 2015
By: wadefisherman2013
from Concord,MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"2014 I fished four times with Kalil. Although striper fishing was not at its best last year. Kalil never failed to work hard to make each trip productive and entertaining even if the fish were not cooperating. He has a prodigious knowledge of the Essex River Estuary and nearby fishing areas from his years of guiding so he can easily motor to nearby hot spots to take advantage of changing fishing conditions. Kalil is also a great teacher and I never fail to learn something new to improve my fishing skills. All equipment and flies are provided, not to mention the wonderful pastries and sandwiches. If you are looking for a fun fishing experience in a scenic New England coastal area with a real fishing professional as your guide, this is a charter for you. I highly recommend Captain Kalil Boghdan. I am already booked for 2015."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
beautiful morning,
April 10, 2015
By: GranpaH2015
from Concord,MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"went out on iffy weather with high winds.Despite this captain took us on fascinating tour of coast with full discussion of landscape and bass ecology.Unfortunately,tried but could not control boat to allow much fishing and fishing aborted.Great morning anyway with charming host.Will try to do it again with better weather.Although not expected ,captain waived all fees."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Striper Hunt,
April 10, 2015
By: SoftTouch
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Book early if you want a space
"What can you say about a guide whose been doing this longer than you've been alive. Well not really but Kalil's vast experience on the Essex River and adjacent waterways maybe the best part of going out with him. This is my favorite area of New Engkand and never tire of being on the Essex River. Kalil's passion for conservation and knowledge of make a day out a great experience on top of catching stripers.
He's the consummate host making sure all the details and comforts are available. It doesn't hurt having a chance to try out the latest Orvis tackle either. He out stock a couple of Helios Ross and reels, probably could sell them on board!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time, Rain or Shine,
April 10, 2015
By: clarkmw
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Top of the list guide, knowledgeable and just fun to be around!
"My brother, nephew and I spent a day on the water with Capt. Kalil Boghdan and it was the best fishing adventure ever! My brother wanted to learn how to fly fish, and with the skilled instruction, encouragement and occasional humor by Kalil, he was casting with confidence and pretty good distance and accuracy by the end of the day. My nephew wanted to catch fish and even though the fish had not been biting very well he hooked up and landed a few fish with a big smile on his face! I was manly there to view the beautiful shoreline marshes, flats and ocean and catch up with my high school biology teacher from 34 years prior. The day was mostly overcast with the few rays of sun that had poked through the clouds early fading fast. By afternoon the rain was coming down in buckets, but we kept on it and enjoyed a most memorable day on the water that we plan to do again at the earliest opportunity."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Make it a tradition,
April 5, 2015
By: Dazzle
from Leominster, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with Kalil is a beloved tradition for my brother and I. On our last trip there were not too many fish around, probably due to the unusually warm water. But no matter. When you combine spectacular scenery with Kalil’s infectious good nature, charm and wit, catching fish is a bonus.
Kalil is a conservationist who is dedicated to bringing back the striper fishery. So his is a catch and release boat."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Every day a great day,
March 12, 2015
By: FishingChief
from Hamilton, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent
"I fish with Captain Kalil quite often and each and every day is a great experience.
His knowledge of fishing and of the Essex River is amazing.
I highly recommend his trips.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with the best,
March 2, 2015
By: jhfkljryue6dkytyedt
from Marblehead, MA,
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:most knowladgeable guide in the area
"Kalil is by far the best guide I have ever had the pleasure to fish with. On a scale of 1 to 10, Kalil as a guide is a 11, as a person a 15! Kalil makes the whole day just great, cannot say enough about the whole experience"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes