Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA

Fly fish with Capt. Kalil Boghdan, 2012 Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year, for striped bass from May through September on the Essex River, originating in Essex, Massachusetts. Fish the beautiful tidal salt marshes and the sand flats of the Essex River, Crane Beach, and Plum Island Sound.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
99
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
99 of 99(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Review 1 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exciting,
July 8, 2012
By: Loulou1
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kind, patient, knowlegeable, happy
"I gave my husband a fishing trip as a Christmas present many years ago. The guide was Kalil Boghdan. My husband raved about the fishing and how much fun he had so I decided to go. As a young girl I summered in Maine and would go deep sea fishing with my dad and I loved it (in between getting sea sick).
The first thing that I enjoyed was the calmness of the river and open ocean around Crane Beach in Ipswich, MA. The next was the breathtaking scenery and wildlife that Kalil pointed out. He has an incredible appreciation and respect for the beauty of the area we fish in and the environment.
Last but not least is the fishing. He's an excellent teacher. I understood his direction. He's also very patient. As a guide Kalil treats us like we're the most important customers. He's always happy and upbeat. One more thing; the trips are so much fun. I went with my best friend and in between casting and catching we laughed. It's a wonderful release from work and stress. We have recommended Kalil to many friends and family.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time with Kalil,
October 22, 2014
By: AugustF
from Cambridge, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have heard a lot of great things about fishing with Kalil and they are all true. We didn't have the best weather conditions out there but it was still a great time to be out on the water. He is an expert on the area and an excellent teacher. I will definitely be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Day of Fun,
October 21, 2014
By: ultraroger
from Topsfield Ma
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great day with Captain Kalil was had by my son and myself. We were treated to a great day of food,fishing and good weather. The boat was well stocked with Orvis rods and reels. I would highly recommend Captain Kalil to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best There Is,
October 20, 2014
By: ejfceo
from Lexington, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have fished with many, many guides over many, many years and in my opinion, Kalil is the best there is - He earns this praise not only for working as hard as he can to get you into fish, but also by virtue of his hospitality, his in depth knowledge of the fishery, his sincerity and his uncanny sense of humor. I've fished 4 times with Kalil and on some trips have caught more fish than others, but despite the size or number of fish I've caught, - the fishing has been outstanding every time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Year,
October 19, 2014
By: C1pierce
from Beverly, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Capt. Boghdan is the most dedicated outdoorsman, sportsman and crusader for the environment that I have ever met.
"Another striped bass season has ended and after 14 years of fishing with Capt. Kalil Boghdan, the experience still truly amazes me. I booked 19 trips this year with Capt. Boghdan and I loved every one of them. There were epic days of fishing and then there were the slow days also but that doesn't matter because each and every trip is a new experience. It just never gets old. Capt. Boghdan is a great instructor in the art of flyfishing and is just as adept at explaining the environment and the changes we have seen from year to year. He is very passionate and protective of the ecosystem that we fish within.
Capt. Boghdan provides plenty of food and drink on each trip and makes sure to check with each client prior to the trip to see if they have any special food requests. Orvis gear is always available in abundance on board. In fact, on one trip this year I was utterly shocked when I accidentally broke a Helios rod. Capt. Boghdan was very quick to let me know not to worry because of the Orvis warranty on this rod. Wow, was I relieved!
It is a long seven months before I will be able to hire Downriver Charters for my fifteenth season. I can't wait!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Above and beyond our expectations,
October 19, 2014
By: KingfishDave
from Harpswell, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I fished with Kalil earlier this year along with my brother and a close friend. While we didn't catch large fish we did catch a lot of fish and and had a great time with lots of laughs. Kalil worked very hard to find us fish and keep us entertained and certainly well fed. I found him to be a terrific guide as well as a generous host. Looking forward to fishing again with Kalil and enjoying the hospitality and beauty of Essex."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Top Nothc Operation,
October 19, 2014
By: dhaul
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Capt. Kalil can help with lodgeing...........very nice....anbd a short hop from the marina. The Capt. Communicates well while setting up your trip.
"There is nothing I could suggest to imprve this operation. Capt. Kalil is knowledgeable, professional, polite, experienced.....and just dang fun to be around. We fished for several days in June of 14.....caught fish.........and had fun. We were all happy but Capt Kalil felt there should have been larger and more fish. He works hard for you. We (the clients) were all very happy with the trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with an old friend,
October 17, 2014
By: EvilFrank
from Grantham, NH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Capt. Kalil Boghdan
"I have been fishing with Captain Kalil for over 6 years and it always feels like I'm fishing with an old friend. He knows the Essex Bay/Cranes Beach area like the back of his hand and almost always finds fish. His sense of humor makes the slow fishing periods enjoyable. His fishing tackle is top grade and he will give you fly casting lessons if you want. If you are interested in fishing the North Shore of Massachusetts, Captain Kalil is your man."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As good as it gets,
October 17, 2014
By: Larryc75
from Littleton, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:looking forward to next year
"Capt. Boghdan experience,local knowledge and personality makes for a great outing--never mind the food! This year was a tough one for consistently finding fish. Whereas his goal is to provide a satisfying fishing experience for the customer,he suggested that we postpone our scheduled date to a later time when the fishing was more predictable. A pleasurable boat ride,friendly banter and more food than you need would have made for a nice day,but the prospect of catching a fish would have rounded it off. We did reschedule and were rewarded by his judgement. That makes for a great captain."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tops,
October 17, 2014
By: PondDr
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kalil, is one of a kind - guide, teacher, biologist who knows every inch of the fishery. Combine that with an outgoing, friendly disposition and you can't ask for a better day on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
October 17, 2014
By: JCHs
from New York, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As they say, the fishing was good; it was the catching that was bad. We worked hard to put 5 fish in the boat, but as with every trip with Kalil, it was a great day nonetheless. There's a reason he's known all over - he's a great guy and a great guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Outing,
October 17, 2014
By: blackdogs2
from North Shore, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:the best of what Orvis has to offer.
"Fishing the Essex River Estuary with Captain Kalil is an experience not to be missed. The beauty of the fishery is only surpassed by Kalil's knowledge , service and complete attention to making sure his anglers maximize their day on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 trips with Kalil Boghdan,
September 8, 2014
By: farr50
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We covered most of the summer months fishing with Kalil and Downriver Charters. The fishing was wonderful. The catching not so much. No matter as the sights in the Essex River, Cranes Beach area are outstanding as is Kalil's knowledge of the history of the area. We were able to take 2 new fishing folks with us this year who really got into the work at hand. Wonderful times on the water but I must say I have some concerns for the Stripper fishing stocks as there seems to be something wrong going on with the low numbers of fish. Having fished thru the 70's, 80's and 90's I have seen ups and downs but the last few years have not been good for numbers of fish in our area's. Sorry to go off of my review. Kalil, as always works very hard to get you on fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a lifetime,
January 30, 2014
By: GarrettK
from Leominster, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Best in his class
"My father had given me a fishing trip with Captain Kalil for my 21st birthday over the summer. Kalil is a 1st class fishing guide and captain. He had brought our party to elite fishing spots where we were pulling in 6-7 good size striped bass per hour. His knowledge on using lures was second to none. Kalil also brings an excellent personality to the boat, making your day of fishing much more enjoyable. Lunch and breakfast were provided. For a great memorable experience Kalil is the guide for you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Fishing Experience,
January 11, 2014
By: bcpierce11
from Marblehead, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was fortunate enough to fish with Capt. Kalil and my Dad twice last season. We had a wonderful experience. Seeing that I hadn't been fishing much in the last few years because of school and military service, Capt. Kalil was kind enough to give me expert pointers on how to fish for stripers. After a little practice I got the knack of casting back. Capt. Kalil took us to numerous hotspots in and around the Essex River and we got many fish. He was very knowledgeable about the area and all the wildlife. And on top of the wonderful fishing he provided great sandwiches, hot and cold drinks, fruit and snacks. I was quite impressed, to say the least! Can't wait for the Spring to get here so we can get back out there again. I highly recommend a day on the water with Capt. Kalil."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2013,
January 6, 2014
By: MM50
from Mass
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"For the third year in a row I had the pleasure of spending at least two days with Capt. Kalil Boghdan. As always, the trips were successful and fun. Not only did we catch beautiful striped bass, we also saw wonderful scenery. Kalil did a great job of getting to fish and getting us hooked up. He also made the trip enjoyable with his banter and knowledge of the local environment. I would recommend Kalil to any angler looking for a great day fishing for striped bass!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The hihglight of my season for, many season!,
December 26, 2013
By: EsquireJMac
from Essex, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spend several days a season fishing with Kalil. They are by far my most favorite days. I take my dad and on other select days I take a close friend. The memories I have built with my dad over the years are some of my most cherished. All of us look forward to these dates as the highlights of our season.
Kalil is the best, he really gets it! He is fun personable and professional. Over the years he has far surpassed his obvious role of guide and has become a friend and part of my family.
These are by far the best trips of our season. The fishing is always good and Kalil puts great efforts to ensure the refreshments are great and he always hits the mark.
I can't stress enough, everyone needs to go fishing with Kalil. The location is top notch and very beautiful.
I'm already looking forward to my next trip.
John McAuley, Esq."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing Derby,
December 19, 2013
By: SoftTouch
from Beverly, MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:No
"Captain Kalil's reputation as an expert on the Essex River was evident on our trip. It didn't take him long to guide us to a quiet grassy spot where we got into a lively school of striped bass. It turned out to be a bit of a fishing derby. It truly was a memorable event. Captain Kalil's hospitality is legendary and on this trip it was as you'd expect, plenty of hot coffee and sandwiches. The Essex River is my favorite waterway in New England and I can't think of a better person to guide it than Captain Kalil. I highly recommend Downriver Charters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Once again,
December 11, 2013
By: Wjduncan
from Essex Ma.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"There was no surprise when Captain Boghdan won the 2012 “Orvis Guide of the Year” award, he is an outstanding guide! I have gone out with him at least twice a year for the past four years, each and every time I had a fantastic time on the water. He has a real knack for finding the fish and at the same time making it feel like you are out on the water with a close friend of 30 years or family. I will book trips with him as long as he continues to charters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Downriver Charters (Capt. Kalil Boghdan), MA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
another fine day,
December 6, 2013
By: 4444144442444434444
from Marblehead, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:a joy to fish with
"The Essex River/Crane beach area is beutiful,and the fishing can be spectacular.The best part of the trip is being with Kalil.Kalil's knowlage as a guide is second to non.I have fished with many guides through the years,and can say Kalil is the BEST guide i've ever fished with.Kalil as a person is even better,a great man and friend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes