Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David Hise, NC

Dave has nearly 15 miles of private water access, where he guides for trophy rainbow trout in the mountain streams of southwestern Virginia and northwestern North Carolina. Experience fly fishing at its best: Dave was named one of 4 finalists for the Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He provides 32 years of fly-fishing experience and 26 years of guide/instructor experience. Book now!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
94 of 94(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Hise, NC
Review 1 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't stop smiling,
October 14, 2012
By: Archangel54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Once, maybe twice in a lifetime, if you are fortunate, you'll find yourself in the presence of someone so truly gifted at their craft that the word "awe" seems pitifully inadequate when searching for a proper descriptive of you're experiencing. Last Friday I spent the day on a stream in southwest Virginia with Dave Hise. The day was more and better than I ever expected.
From the time we first approached the stream that morning, when Dave started pointing to fish and directing my casts so that my drifts would stand the best chance of success, until late that afternoon when I looked over at Dave and, exhausted, said "Let's call it," Dave was the consummate professional, guide, mentor, chef and friend.
Anyone who knows Dave will say that he knows trout, their behavior and their feeding habits. He is a masterfully innovative tier and creator of flies, a gifted and infinitely patient teacher, and most importantly a good man. He gives 100% of himself 100% of the time to give his clients the most successful, memorable day possible.
By any account, we had an epic day. The weather was perfect and the water was low and clear. Even with my meager skills, the number of trout that came to the net approached 20 with a few more that fought hard and were released a little earlier than planned.
Listen to what Dave tells you and you'll end the day with a wealth of knowledge you didn't begin the day with. I'm already looking forward to the next day with my friend Dave - and the day after that.
If you ever have a chance to book a day on the water with Dave, do yourself a huge favor and get to know this guy in his element. You won't have any regrets.
Thanks again Dave!
Oh yeah, I'm still smiling"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great trip,
March 23, 2014
By: john54
from Hickory, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Hise is a super guide, and can make the day super for anglers of all levels. His knowledge is amazing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Fails to Deliver,
February 13, 2014
By: Hookjaw
from Hickory, NC, USA
"I have been on the water with Dave a couple of times and each time I have come away hugely enriched. My last trip I did with Dave was to put some "polish" on my skills before I departed for an intense trip to Patagonia. I struggled to get into a rythm but Hise was awesome, got me refocused, corrected my faults in a manner that made me feel as though the "correction" was my own idea. We had arranged that Dave would fish as well so I could get the gist of some techniques we had discussed. What a treat to see the master at work...briefly before he had me adapt. For anyone who feels that they want to develop and hone their skill's, I can only recomend Dave. His knowledge of "stuff" always astounds me. The guy should be a therapsit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with Dave,
December 7, 2013
By: DrKovacich
from Sparta, NC 28675, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding
"Such a great treat.Dave is the ultimate professional.Regardless of the ups and downs of fishing he never shows any dismay over break-offs,tree fish or any other calamity.His stream knowledge always shines through.I have fished with Dave double digit outings and am always brought forward in my own stream skills."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip!,
November 22, 2013
By: MikeJ803
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First fly fishing trip, second cast, hooked up to my first trout. Dave put me on the fish all day long, and showed how a true pro guides. Dave shared his knowledge freely. His instructions were easy to understand and most importantly worked. Thanks Dave for a great trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time to remember,
November 16, 2013
By: Jayv10
from NC
"I was given a guided fly fishing trip with Dave for my birthday. I've got to say that it was a great gift that I will never forget. It was my first time fly fishing, so I didn't really know what I was doing. By the time I left, I had caught more, and bigger fish than I had ever caught in one trip. Dave was more than patient with me all the times I got caught up in a tree and he took the time to teach me how to cast properly. I would highly recommend Dave to anyone who wants learn how to fly fish and have fun while doing so. It was definitely a day I will always remember. Thank you Dave!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Book Your Trip,
November 12, 2013
By: Danny1957
from Matthews, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding Guide
"I have never been in more fish and I'm talking huge fish in my life.I hate to say it but by the end of the day I was wore out.At times we all had fish on at the same time.If you get a chance hook up with Dave,you won't be sorry.I also received a lot of help full tips from Dave.The equipment provided was top notch .Thanks again Dave"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Fishing,
November 12, 2013
By: Jeffnc59
from Charlotte, N.C.
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:knowledgable, great skill
"What can I say? Only that the day spent with Dave was a Day to remember forever! I took my son and friend to fly fish. After hearing and talking to Dave Hise, I knew he would be the guy. We took us to a great stream, with trophies in the water. Although the water was low and clear, we spent the day, with Dave's help, catching fish after fish. Many big fish were caught, all day long. It was amazing. Dave has great knowledge, skill, patience and will help you make a day on the water, a day to remember for a long time. If you ever have 1 day to fly fish for trout, I will always recommend Dave as you will never be disappointed. Whether you are new to flyfishing or a long time fly rodder, you will learn something new as he has years of experience and it shows. I look forward to another day on the water in the future. We all had a great day! It was amazing and left everyone talking of it all the way home. Dave went above and beyond, to make sure that we had an exceptional day. Thank you so much Dave Hise."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trophy Rainbows,
November 6, 2013
By: FJSIII513
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave put us on the largest and most populated stream of Rainbows I have ever seen. The location was very private and clean and I look forward to returning as soon as I can book the next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishin' and Grinnin',
October 23, 2013
By: Troutmouth
from Taylorsville, NC 28681, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dave is a GREAT guide!
"What an experience!
Dave took me to a private stream in Virginia, and from the beginning till the end Dave made sure I had a great time and caught BIG fish.
Dave is a great guy to take a fishing trip with, his enthusiasm is infectious and his knowledge of sport is to be revered. Dave gave me a wealth of knowledge and helped me with my technique all while putting me on big fish, Dave is truly a master at his craft.
I must also mention the stream side lunch. A gourmet meal on the side of a trout stream, what else could a man ask for?
Thank you Dave. I had a great day of fishing, honestly my face hurts from grinning all day. I look forward to doing it again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outsanding Day with Dave,
October 22, 2013
By: DriestFly
from Hickory, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"While it had been some time since I'd had the pleasure of fishing with Dave, we were able to get out last week for an amazing day of big fish. Thanks Dave for the fun, expertise and the warm welcome to Bill and I. Outstanding Outing!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Day,
October 21, 2013
By: Archangel54
from Southwest Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently spent the day on a beautiful stream in southwest Virginia with my friend and guide Dave Hise.
The water was low, slow and gin clear. Dave quickly developed a game plan, talked to me briefly about how to best approach the fish and make an effective presentation. This process was repeated throughout the day as we moved from place to place on the stream.
We had an enormously successful and enjoyable day. A lot of fish came to the net - in large part due to Dave's coaching and encouragement. As a fly fishing coach and mentor, I truly believe that Dave has few equals. Each time I fish with Dave I pick up a few more gems to put back and use when I fish by myself. My confidence as a fly fisher has grown exponentially since I began fishing with Dave.
Lunch by the stream was excellent. The chicken satay, Thai green beans and salad were amazing. It's apparent that Dave puts his heart and soul into everything he does.
Whether you are an experienced fly fisher or an absolute novice, spending a day (or two or three) on a stream with Dave Hise will make you a better angler and place you in the company of the best guides in the business.
I'll be booking my next trip shortly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hog Hunt,
October 12, 2013
By: Sidestep
from Hickory, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the opportunity to fish with Dave again on the private water in Virginia and it was unbelievable. We caught fish nearly all day long, big fish. Sight casting to large trout is something you just have to experience for yourself. Not only is he a great guy he will take time to explain why certain techniques are working.
PS The stream side grilled steak is worth the trip itself."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing ever,
October 2, 2013
By: drcdk
from HIckory, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am a pure novice at fly fishing but Dave has maintained his patience and taught me an amazing amount. Not once did he lose his cool because I did the same stupid thing 3 times, he showed me how to do things better so that I could enjoy my fishing more. The bottom line is do you catch fish and have a good time? Hands down the best fishing experience I have ever had. Thanks Dave, I hope to get the opportunity to do this again with you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's true!,
October 2, 2013
By: ToeJam
from hickory,NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had heard from several friends that Dave was the best fly fishing guide anywhere. When I decided to learn how to fly fish, a friend made a trout fishing trip with Dave possible. It was outstanding! I have been with many guides hunting, fishing, photography, etc. He knew his habitat, his prey, his science, and he has the experience and the passion to make it successful. Everyone was happy and we all caught big wild stream rainbows (one 12#!). Don't know how we could have improved it (although it could have been free, I guess?!)."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lots of big trout,
September 30, 2013
By: Smilimg
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Did another trip with Dave... As always it was quite successful... This time a new reason for the success became apparent (Dave's modesty keeps him from pointing these things out). Dave is not fly tier of the year for nothing... His array of new patterns seems to keep the trout fooled, giving the angler something to look forward to. Instead of the indifferent glance from the trout I am used to as my selection floats by, more often than not you will see the trout suck in what Dave has dreamed up, tied, and put ont he end of your line."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super day with super Dave,
September 28, 2013
By: Hkykboy
from Hickory
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great day with Dave. Unbelievable fishing, great water, great weather and tons of big fish.
Dave is a first class guide, very patient and knows his craft. I would highly recommend Dave to anyone looking for a great fly fishing experience with a professional guide.
Oh yea, the steak was perfect too, we needed time for our arms to rest!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect day,
September 16, 2013
By: moore028
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I had a wonderful experience with Dave. His knowledge of the sport supersedes anyone else we have fished with. Dave's professionalism is also above the rest. We look forward to our yearly trip to the Carolina's and fishing with the best fly fisherman we have had the privilege of knowing. Oh, the curb side, river lunch was the cherry on top of the sundae...delicious."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Trip with Tenacious Guide,
September 13, 2013
By: GoodDoc
from Northern IL
"Most years I treat myself to one guided fishing trip. I suppose that’s a bit of a burden to put on one guide. Dave Hise was up to that.
I booked the trip in early spring for late August when I expected to be in the Carolinas for a family event. Dave could not guarantee anything because I would be there preseason, when it would ordinarily be too hot to fish, but he thought we could manage an early morning of mountain fishing, which is exactly what I wanted to do.
Instead of the usual hot summer in North Carolina, it was cool, but it also rained every day for months, so that by the time I arrived the streams where too blown out to fish. Dave found a private, still-clear headwater stream, then that became unavailable. Finally, he found a private stream in Virginia, three hours away from Hickory. He drove me there and back, and guided all day. The point is that he is tenacious and puts in a monster amount of work for his client.
And, I caught fish, too. About a dozen huge trout and two smallmouth, one of which was the biggest I’ve seen, and I’ve caught a lot of smallies.
Good day all around
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wish fulfilled,
September 11, 2013
By: HSurpris
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave came highly recommended and he lived up to every expectation and more. It has been a long time wish to fly fish and I'm glad that I had the opportunity to fulfill my experience under Dave's guidance. On my first trip out I caught a brown trout -- how great is that? But that was the icing on the cake. The day was phenomenal. Dave is extremely knowledgeable about his craft, professional and understands the dynamics of working with his customers. Dave is passionate and enjoys what he does and it's infectious."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes