Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David Hise, NC

Dave has access to just over 10 miles of private water access, where he guides for trophy rainbow trout in the mountain streams of southwestern Virginia and northwestern North Carolina. Experience fly fishing at its best: Dave was named one of 4 finalists for the Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He provides 32 years of fly-fishing experience and 26 years of guide/instructor experience. Book now!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
111 of 111(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Hise, NC
Review 1 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't stop smiling,
October 14, 2012
By: Archangel54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Once, maybe twice in a lifetime, if you are fortunate, you'll find yourself in the presence of someone so truly gifted at their craft that the word "awe" seems pitifully inadequate when searching for a proper descriptive of you're experiencing. Last Friday I spent the day on a stream in southwest Virginia with Dave Hise. The day was more and better than I ever expected.
From the time we first approached the stream that morning, when Dave started pointing to fish and directing my casts so that my drifts would stand the best chance of success, until late that afternoon when I looked over at Dave and, exhausted, said "Let's call it," Dave was the consummate professional, guide, mentor, chef and friend.
Anyone who knows Dave will say that he knows trout, their behavior and their feeding habits. He is a masterfully innovative tier and creator of flies, a gifted and infinitely patient teacher, and most importantly a good man. He gives 100% of himself 100% of the time to give his clients the most successful, memorable day possible.
By any account, we had an epic day. The weather was perfect and the water was low and clear. Even with my meager skills, the number of trout that came to the net approached 20 with a few more that fought hard and were released a little earlier than planned.
Listen to what Dave tells you and you'll end the day with a wealth of knowledge you didn't begin the day with. I'm already looking forward to the next day with my friend Dave - and the day after that.
If you ever have a chance to book a day on the water with Dave, do yourself a huge favor and get to know this guy in his element. You won't have any regrets.
Thanks again Dave!
Oh yeah, I'm still smiling"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Limitless guide!,
January 13, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I met Dave in 2014 when I was invited to fish at rivebound adventures in Lebanon, Virginia. I had met a good friend back in 2011 in Montana that was from North Carolina and had a private membership to this mountain gem lodge nestled in the blue ridge mountains. Having trained as a guide in Montana for several summers, I was excited when I learned about Dave and the fact that he was the primary guide for the same lodge I was staying at in Lebanon, Virginia. After having met him once and exchanging stories, flies and information, I could sense that he was in a league of his own. A master guide and one who other guides like myself can certainly benefit from to have him take me out and help me to become a better guide, angler and as important, fly tyer. Dave's knowledge, professionalism and down to earth demeanor is something every guide or client should experience in their career or fishing adventure. After hearing about his flies that he designed for Orvis, seeing them first hand and using them while there, I was speechless to say the least. Dave's creativity, entomology knowledge and unique fly designs are pieces of art work and at the same time, deadly on all levels. I have the utmost respect for Dave's vast knowledge and have stayed in touch with him to pick his brains whenever I can, he's amazing...
I have recently booked two days for a fishing excursion with Dave in March 2015 so that I can learn many more strategies, catch a ton of big trout and absorb as much as I can from him. A fifty trout day with Dave is not uncommon and that is something you can tell your grand children about someday. A personable guy, great gourmet cook, patient instructor and best of all, a new friend for life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is the Best,
January 8, 2015
By: monjolofus
from Gastonia, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had the pleasure of being a client of Dave Hise and the experience has been fantastic. The most recent was a few months ago. I have fished with guides many times in the southeast, wyoming, montana and in central and south america. I can say without hesitation that Dave Hise is the best I have been with. He is not only knowledgeable but tenacious and patient. Dave is well equipped and he gets on target quickly with his chose of flys and rods. I have also purchased all of my rods and equipment from Dave which has proven to be the best choice. Dave and Orvis stand behind what they sell and that means a lot. Dave enjoys my successes as much as I do. My experiences with Dave are the highlights of my fishing life. Dave is the best"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chromed up on ice,
January 5, 2015
By: Nikthegreek
from UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:star guide
"You just know how much of a pro Dave was when he meet us at the airport with his casters fly shop wrapped suv.
Although conditions where terrible in the minuses brrrhhhh, Dave put me into several fish and my dreams come true :-)
My nickname for Dave on this trip was "dirty rice Hise"
As he is an excellent riverside chef to boot !!!
( I was expecting foil wrapped sandwiches)
Two great tips too on fast flowing rivers (which I will keep to myself) ;-)
Great guy great and a great ghillie (guide)
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magic,
December 24, 2014
By: ncflyfisher87
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"AWESOME! Caught fish all day again and got fat on the gourmet lunch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!!,
December 15, 2014
By: MattD29
from Granite Falls, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! Dave Hise offers an incredible fly fishing experience! With out a doubt the best fishing trip I've ever had! Dave put us right on the fish and gave us plenty of tips to get them into the net. And the lunch he prepared was amazing! Top notch all the way! I'd highly recommend and can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond my Expectations!,
December 13, 2014
By: Dwu10
from Hickory NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This dude is LEGIT! Dave Hise not only put us on the fish of a lifetime but he is a great teacher and ambassador to the sport of fly fishing. I had an experience of a lifetime and I feel like I'm a better angler because of it. If you are into catching big bows and eating like a king stream side..... Then I highly recommend a guided trip with Dave at Casters Fly Shop. Thanks Dave."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More then just catching fish,
December 6, 2014
By: wnctu
from Rutherfordton NC
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would have to say my day on the water with Dave Hise is my best day of fishing to date. Not only did we land fish of a lifetime, but I also became a better fisherman. Dave took the time to help me improve my casting and all around fishing skills. He taught me how to mend properly and taught me about rivers and where fish should be. Not only was the fishing great, but I had the best meal I have ever had on a fishing trip. I highly recomend a trip with Dave weither you are a beginner or have been fishing your whole life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Ever,
December 1, 2014
By: flyfisher207
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"One word explains it all- EXCEPTIONAL"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Day,
October 31, 2014
By: peachycheeks
from Charlotte, NC
"Extraordinary. David was totally engaged to ensure an exceptional experience. Caught so many large fish that our arms were getting fatigued at times. Great meal and outstanding fellowship. David is just first class all the way. Looking forward to doing it soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing day,
October 29, 2014
By: Miah
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave did an exceptional job. He kept us in the fish all day and went out of his way to ensure we were having a great time. Dave was very polite and held interesting conversation As well as affording me a few tips along the way by a seasoned pro. Not only is dave a great guide he is also a good cook. We had a wonderful riverside lunch that was hand prepared by dave himself. All in all i must thank him for one of the most epic days of fishing i have had in my many years of doing so. Thanks dave and believe me, we will be back"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to warm up on a 38 degree morning,
October 7, 2014
By: MrFind
from Vale, NC 28168, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Coats? Fire? Hat and gloves? Nope... Posing with trout in hand in front of Dave Hise 5 minutes after your first cast. Even when you make a mistake on the large ones and lose them there will be nothing but encouragement and making sure you learned from it. I invited 2 friends that had always wanted to do a trip with Dave but they had no idea what a true guided fishing trip was all about. All of us were just bowled over with the lessons learned, meal cooked to perfection, and wisdom of the waters that Dave has learned and shares with no hesitation. This is the second time I have been guided by Dave. I was so impressed the first time that my wife gave me this trip for Christmas as she knew she could think of nothing I would enjoy more. Thank you Debi for a great day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monster Rainbows ON Fly Rods,
October 6, 2014
By: PDK1
from Catawba, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:World class Angler..
"Fly fishing in October with Dave Hise on the Big Cedar Creek is as good as it gets...Never seen so many Monster fish that were constantly bitting his artificial lures. Dave is an incredible guide and assisted us in having the time of our lives. Most pleasurable day trip ever in Lebanon Virginia..Bucket List Check YES!!!!!!!!!!Thank you Awesome.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Fish in VA,
October 5, 2014
By: JohnL46
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My expectations were pretty well set by stories of fishing this particular stream. They were exceeded in several ways. First, the fish were much larger than anticipated...I mean MUCH Larger!! Second, having Dave as our guide added a whole other level of enjoyment and learning to the experience. Dave was patient and always ready to explain some of the finer points of pursuit for this particular terrain and fish. He helped me time and again in getting the attention of several "trophy" fish...I do not believe I would have brought them to the net without Dave's direction. I've fished Alaska and other locales...had good guides...Dave ranks right up there with the top 1-3. Great experience all around!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reel Deal,
August 5, 2014
By: SisterChristian7
from Lenoir, NC
"I finally was able to have my first Fly Fishing adventure. So i decided i would go the recommended route and get a guided trip. This has to be one of the best decisions I have ever made. Dave was able to minimize all the intricate details of fly fishing and present them in a way that isn't over whelming for my first time out. However at the end of the day the bottom line would be that Dave Hise produces. It blew my mind his ability to read the runs, suggest the flies, and time after time put me on fish. It was an absolutely amazing trip and i absolutely cannot wait to book another adventure and get back on the water with the "Trout Guru" ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day of fishing,
June 19, 2014
By: Billbatman
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave put my son and I on the trout. We are avid fishermen,but trout fishing very new to us. Dave is is not only a great guide, but also a great teacher. We caught some fish and learned a lot.
I would recommend Dave for anyone wanting to experience fishing with a real pro who can really help you learn the skills you need to catch the elusive trout."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishin' and Grinnin' Part 2,
May 12, 2014
By: Troutmouth
from Taylorsville, NC 28681, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Everything was Perfect!
"Wow! Another great day on the river with Dave.
The location was pristine, the trout were huge, and feisty. It was a GREAT day.
As always Dave was a consummate professional, always there to lend a hand and happy to share advice when it counts (in my case often). He has wealth of knowledge and a treasure trove of trout insight. He has really helped me with my fishing game.
It was a great day, a great trip, and I have many great memories.
Thanks Dave I look forward to doing it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best. Trip. Ever.,
May 5, 2014
By: Peter11
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent 40-50 hours on the Orvis website reviewing each of their sponsored guides and lodges. I contacted 8-10 of them and stuck on Dave Hise. There just wasn't any other possible choice. With the trip behind me, I had some time to reflect on a few reason why Dave is just so sought after. They are as follows:
#1 Private waters. They're amazing
#2 Knowledge. He is a great teacher
#3 Food. It's delicious
#4 Atmosphere. He's great company
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great trip,
March 23, 2014
By: john54
from Hickory, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Hise is a super guide, and can make the day super for anglers of all levels. His knowledge is amazing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Fails to Deliver,
February 13, 2014
By: Hookjaw
from Hickory, NC, USA
"I have been on the water with Dave a couple of times and each time I have come away hugely enriched. My last trip I did with Dave was to put some "polish" on my skills before I departed for an intense trip to Patagonia. I struggled to get into a rythm but Hise was awesome, got me refocused, corrected my faults in a manner that made me feel as though the "correction" was my own idea. We had arranged that Dave would fish as well so I could get the gist of some techniques we had discussed. What a treat to see the master at work...briefly before he had me adapt. For anyone who feels that they want to develop and hone their skill's, I can only recomend Dave. His knowledge of "stuff" always astounds me. The guy should be a therapsit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes