Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David Hise, NC

Dave has access to just over 10 miles of private water access, where he guides for trophy rainbow trout in the mountain streams of southwestern Virginia and northwestern North Carolina. Experience fly fishing at its best: Dave was named one of 4 finalists for the Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He provides 32 years of fly-fishing experience and 26 years of guide/instructor experience. Book now!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
101
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
101 of 101(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Hise, NC
Review 1 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't stop smiling,
October 14, 2012
By: Archangel54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Once, maybe twice in a lifetime, if you are fortunate, you'll find yourself in the presence of someone so truly gifted at their craft that the word "awe" seems pitifully inadequate when searching for a proper descriptive of you're experiencing. Last Friday I spent the day on a stream in southwest Virginia with Dave Hise. The day was more and better than I ever expected.
From the time we first approached the stream that morning, when Dave started pointing to fish and directing my casts so that my drifts would stand the best chance of success, until late that afternoon when I looked over at Dave and, exhausted, said "Let's call it," Dave was the consummate professional, guide, mentor, chef and friend.
Anyone who knows Dave will say that he knows trout, their behavior and their feeding habits. He is a masterfully innovative tier and creator of flies, a gifted and infinitely patient teacher, and most importantly a good man. He gives 100% of himself 100% of the time to give his clients the most successful, memorable day possible.
By any account, we had an epic day. The weather was perfect and the water was low and clear. Even with my meager skills, the number of trout that came to the net approached 20 with a few more that fought hard and were released a little earlier than planned.
Listen to what Dave tells you and you'll end the day with a wealth of knowledge you didn't begin the day with. I'm already looking forward to the next day with my friend Dave - and the day after that.
If you ever have a chance to book a day on the water with Dave, do yourself a huge favor and get to know this guy in his element. You won't have any regrets.
Thanks again Dave!
Oh yeah, I'm still smiling"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to warm up on a 38 degree morning,
October 7, 2014
By: MrFind
from Vale, NC 28168, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Coats? Fire? Hat and gloves? Nope... Posing with trout in hand in front of Dave Hise 5 minutes after your first cast. Even when you make a mistake on the large ones and lose them there will be nothing but encouragement and making sure you learned from it. I invited 2 friends that had always wanted to do a trip with Dave but they had no idea what a true guided fishing trip was all about. All of us were just bowled over with the lessons learned, meal cooked to perfection, and wisdom of the waters that Dave has learned and shares with no hesitation. This is the second time I have been guided by Dave. I was so impressed the first time that my wife gave me this trip for Christmas as she knew she could think of nothing I would enjoy more. Thank you Debi for a great day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Monster Rainbows ON Fly Rods,
October 6, 2014
By: PDK1
from Catawba, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:World class Angler..
"Fly fishing in October with Dave Hise on the Big Cedar Creek is as good as it gets...Never seen so many Monster fish that were constantly bitting his artificial lures. Dave is an incredible guide and assisted us in having the time of our lives. Most pleasurable day trip ever in Lebanon Virginia..Bucket List Check YES!!!!!!!!!!Thank you Awesome.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big Fish in VA,
October 5, 2014
By: JohnL46
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My expectations were pretty well set by stories of fishing this particular stream. They were exceeded in several ways. First, the fish were much larger than anticipated...I mean MUCH Larger!! Second, having Dave as our guide added a whole other level of enjoyment and learning to the experience. Dave was patient and always ready to explain some of the finer points of pursuit for this particular terrain and fish. He helped me time and again in getting the attention of several "trophy" fish...I do not believe I would have brought them to the net without Dave's direction. I've fished Alaska and other locales...had good guides...Dave ranks right up there with the top 1-3. Great experience all around!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reel Deal,
August 5, 2014
By: SisterChristian7
from Lenoir, NC
"I finally was able to have my first Fly Fishing adventure. So i decided i would go the recommended route and get a guided trip. This has to be one of the best decisions I have ever made. Dave was able to minimize all the intricate details of fly fishing and present them in a way that isn't over whelming for my first time out. However at the end of the day the bottom line would be that Dave Hise produces. It blew my mind his ability to read the runs, suggest the flies, and time after time put me on fish. It was an absolutely amazing trip and i absolutely cannot wait to book another adventure and get back on the water with the "Trout Guru" ."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day of fishing,
June 19, 2014
By: Billbatman
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave put my son and I on the trout. We are avid fishermen,but trout fishing very new to us. Dave is is not only a great guide, but also a great teacher. We caught some fish and learned a lot.
I would recommend Dave for anyone wanting to experience fishing with a real pro who can really help you learn the skills you need to catch the elusive trout."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishin' and Grinnin' Part 2,
May 12, 2014
By: Troutmouth
from Taylorsville, NC 28681, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Everything was Perfect!
"Wow! Another great day on the river with Dave.
The location was pristine, the trout were huge, and feisty. It was a GREAT day.
As always Dave was a consummate professional, always there to lend a hand and happy to share advice when it counts (in my case often). He has wealth of knowledge and a treasure trove of trout insight. He has really helped me with my fishing game.
It was a great day, a great trip, and I have many great memories.
Thanks Dave I look forward to doing it again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best. Trip. Ever.,
May 5, 2014
By: Peter11
from Abingdon, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I spent 40-50 hours on the Orvis website reviewing each of their sponsored guides and lodges. I contacted 8-10 of them and stuck on Dave Hise. There just wasn't any other possible choice. With the trip behind me, I had some time to reflect on a few reason why Dave is just so sought after. They are as follows:
#1 Private waters. They're amazing
#2 Knowledge. He is a great teacher
#3 Food. It's delicious
#4 Atmosphere. He's great company
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great trip,
March 23, 2014
By: john54
from Hickory, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Hise is a super guide, and can make the day super for anglers of all levels. His knowledge is amazing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Fails to Deliver,
February 13, 2014
By: Hookjaw
from Hickory, NC, USA
"I have been on the water with Dave a couple of times and each time I have come away hugely enriched. My last trip I did with Dave was to put some "polish" on my skills before I departed for an intense trip to Patagonia. I struggled to get into a rythm but Hise was awesome, got me refocused, corrected my faults in a manner that made me feel as though the "correction" was my own idea. We had arranged that Dave would fish as well so I could get the gist of some techniques we had discussed. What a treat to see the master at work...briefly before he had me adapt. For anyone who feels that they want to develop and hone their skill's, I can only recomend Dave. His knowledge of "stuff" always astounds me. The guy should be a therapsit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish with Dave,
December 7, 2013
By: DrKovacich
from Sparta, NC 28675, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding
"Such a great treat.Dave is the ultimate professional.Regardless of the ups and downs of fishing he never shows any dismay over break-offs,tree fish or any other calamity.His stream knowledge always shines through.I have fished with Dave double digit outings and am always brought forward in my own stream skills."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip!,
November 22, 2013
By: MikeJ803
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First fly fishing trip, second cast, hooked up to my first trout. Dave put me on the fish all day long, and showed how a true pro guides. Dave shared his knowledge freely. His instructions were easy to understand and most importantly worked. Thanks Dave for a great trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time to remember,
November 16, 2013
By: Jayv10
from NC
"I was given a guided fly fishing trip with Dave for my birthday. I've got to say that it was a great gift that I will never forget. It was my first time fly fishing, so I didn't really know what I was doing. By the time I left, I had caught more, and bigger fish than I had ever caught in one trip. Dave was more than patient with me all the times I got caught up in a tree and he took the time to teach me how to cast properly. I would highly recommend Dave to anyone who wants learn how to fly fish and have fun while doing so. It was definitely a day I will always remember. Thank you Dave!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Book Your Trip,
November 12, 2013
By: Danny1957
from Matthews, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding Guide
"I have never been in more fish and I'm talking huge fish in my life.I hate to say it but by the end of the day I was wore out.At times we all had fish on at the same time.If you get a chance hook up with Dave,you won't be sorry.I also received a lot of help full tips from Dave.The equipment provided was top notch .Thanks again Dave"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Fishing,
November 12, 2013
By: Jeffnc59
from Charlotte, N.C.
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:knowledgable, great skill
"What can I say? Only that the day spent with Dave was a Day to remember forever! I took my son and friend to fly fish. After hearing and talking to Dave Hise, I knew he would be the guy. We took us to a great stream, with trophies in the water. Although the water was low and clear, we spent the day, with Dave's help, catching fish after fish. Many big fish were caught, all day long. It was amazing. Dave has great knowledge, skill, patience and will help you make a day on the water, a day to remember for a long time. If you ever have 1 day to fly fish for trout, I will always recommend Dave as you will never be disappointed. Whether you are new to flyfishing or a long time fly rodder, you will learn something new as he has years of experience and it shows. I look forward to another day on the water in the future. We all had a great day! It was amazing and left everyone talking of it all the way home. Dave went above and beyond, to make sure that we had an exceptional day. Thank you so much Dave Hise."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trophy Rainbows,
November 6, 2013
By: FJSIII513
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave put us on the largest and most populated stream of Rainbows I have ever seen. The location was very private and clean and I look forward to returning as soon as I can book the next trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishin' and Grinnin',
October 23, 2013
By: Troutmouth
from Taylorsville, NC 28681, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dave is a GREAT guide!
"What an experience!
Dave took me to a private stream in Virginia, and from the beginning till the end Dave made sure I had a great time and caught BIG fish.
Dave is a great guy to take a fishing trip with, his enthusiasm is infectious and his knowledge of sport is to be revered. Dave gave me a wealth of knowledge and helped me with my technique all while putting me on big fish, Dave is truly a master at his craft.
I must also mention the stream side lunch. A gourmet meal on the side of a trout stream, what else could a man ask for?
Thank you Dave. I had a great day of fishing, honestly my face hurts from grinning all day. I look forward to doing it again!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outsanding Day with Dave,
October 22, 2013
By: DriestFly
from Hickory, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"While it had been some time since I'd had the pleasure of fishing with Dave, we were able to get out last week for an amazing day of big fish. Thanks Dave for the fun, expertise and the warm welcome to Bill and I. Outstanding Outing!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible Day,
October 21, 2013
By: Archangel54
from Southwest Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently spent the day on a beautiful stream in southwest Virginia with my friend and guide Dave Hise.
The water was low, slow and gin clear. Dave quickly developed a game plan, talked to me briefly about how to best approach the fish and make an effective presentation. This process was repeated throughout the day as we moved from place to place on the stream.
We had an enormously successful and enjoyable day. A lot of fish came to the net - in large part due to Dave's coaching and encouragement. As a fly fishing coach and mentor, I truly believe that Dave has few equals. Each time I fish with Dave I pick up a few more gems to put back and use when I fish by myself. My confidence as a fly fisher has grown exponentially since I began fishing with Dave.
Lunch by the stream was excellent. The chicken satay, Thai green beans and salad were amazing. It's apparent that Dave puts his heart and soul into everything he does.
Whether you are an experienced fly fisher or an absolute novice, spending a day (or two or three) on a stream with Dave Hise will make you a better angler and place you in the company of the best guides in the business.
I'll be booking my next trip shortly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hog Hunt,
October 12, 2013
By: Sidestep
from Hickory, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the opportunity to fish with Dave again on the private water in Virginia and it was unbelievable. We caught fish nearly all day long, big fish. Sight casting to large trout is something you just have to experience for yourself. Not only is he a great guy he will take time to explain why certain techniques are working.
PS The stream side grilled steak is worth the trip itself."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes