Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David Hise, NC

Dave has access to just over 10 miles of private water access, where he guides for trophy rainbow trout in the mountain streams of southwestern Virginia and northwestern North Carolina. Experience fly fishing at its best: Dave was named one of 4 finalists for the Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He provides 32 years of fly-fishing experience and 26 years of guide/instructor experience. Book now!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
5 stars
128
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
128 of 128(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Hise, NC
Review 1 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't stop smiling,
October 14, 2012
By: Archangel54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Once, maybe twice in a lifetime, if you are fortunate, you'll find yourself in the presence of someone so truly gifted at their craft that the word "awe" seems pitifully inadequate when searching for a proper descriptive of you're experiencing. Last Friday I spent the day on a stream in southwest Virginia with Dave Hise. The day was more and better than I ever expected.
From the time we first approached the stream that morning, when Dave started pointing to fish and directing my casts so that my drifts would stand the best chance of success, until late that afternoon when I looked over at Dave and, exhausted, said "Let's call it," Dave was the consummate professional, guide, mentor, chef and friend.
Anyone who knows Dave will say that he knows trout, their behavior and their feeding habits. He is a masterfully innovative tier and creator of flies, a gifted and infinitely patient teacher, and most importantly a good man. He gives 100% of himself 100% of the time to give his clients the most successful, memorable day possible.
By any account, we had an epic day. The weather was perfect and the water was low and clear. Even with my meager skills, the number of trout that came to the net approached 20 with a few more that fought hard and were released a little earlier than planned.
Listen to what Dave tells you and you'll end the day with a wealth of knowledge you didn't begin the day with. I'm already looking forward to the next day with my friend Dave - and the day after that.
If you ever have a chance to book a day on the water with Dave, do yourself a huge favor and get to know this guy in his element. You won't have any regrets.
Thanks again Dave!
Oh yeah, I'm still smiling"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Guide,
June 15, 2015
By: bigfish182
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave is a wonderful instructor. His expertise, patience, and sense of humor made for a fantastic day of fishing, instruction and company. Would highly recommend to fishers of all levels."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Day of Bests,
May 28, 2015
By: UpperCreekAngler
from Morganton, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I booked a wade trip to the private water that Dave has access to as a graduation gift for my TA. He's been totally enamored with the flies that Dave posts on Instagram and Facebook. He often walks into my office and says "dude, do you think you can tie this?" But due to a rearranging of family plans, Nick wasn't able to go on the day we booked, so a good buddy of mine and I struck off with Dave to Little River in Southwest, VA. Having known Dave for a while as a shop client, I knew we were in for a very special day of fishing. And indeed we were. As a full time English teacher and part-time guide on the weekends and summer, I know what good instruction looks like. Dave is the consummate teacher and guide. A couple of things to note: Dave possesses a perfect blend of several traits that make experiences memorable. He possesses a master's confidence that flows right into his clients. But at the same time, every big fish that eats strikes a spark of contagious excitement. This combination makes for one heck of a day of fishing. Inspired confidence and giddy excitement (all of which pass right on to the angler) make every fish a memorable experience.
The water and fish Dave had us on were both exceptional. I do want to add that, but I don't want the exceptionality of the water to diminish the exceptionality of the man. Dave makes a special place a nearly supernatural place.
When Dave put a mountain of delicious food in front of me, I looked at my friend and said "there's no way on earth I can eat all of that." A few minutes later each morsel of the delicious food was piled into my belly.
Dave Hise is first class all the way. No matter your skill level, there's something you can learn from him. Get on his calendar--TODAY!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great day,
May 27, 2015
By: Raja2506
from Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Many thanks to Dave! He was a patient instructor and could put me on fish consistently. He truly knows his sport and profession. I highly recommend him to any one in the area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations in Every Way,
May 27, 2015
By: FifthDay
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave was an amazing guide who exceeded my expectations in every way. Did we catch a lot of big fish? YES! But that is not the reason for the five star review. He was extremely patient and can instruct you without the feeling of someone talking down to you also. Dave was able to spot fish that I would have never seen and then got us positioned to present flies to these big girls without spooking them. Like several others have mentioned, Dave is a great cook as well and all the food was delicious after a full day on the stream. I would definitely book another trip with Dave!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VA TROUT,
May 27, 2015
By: Jcurran
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time ever fly fishing. Had a great time. David is a great instructor and very patient with beginners"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't stop talking about it!,
May 18, 2015
By: redfishing56
from South, Lebanon
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I did not expect to catch trout that I would be talking about for weeks! Dave Hise was and is the best guide for catching the big ones! I learned so much in such a short amount of time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeftMeWantingMoreBIGBOWS!!!,
May 6, 2015
By: HvilleWillie
from Huntersville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Can't wait to book this trip, with Dave, again soon. Like fishing with a buddy who really cares about nothing else but you catching big fish. And big trout are just FUN! Although, we were on the water for a full day, the time went so quickly due to all the action on the water. Dave placed me in various spots which were fished and unfished and for the most part I was pulling very large trout out from everywhere. When things slowed, Dave was quick to change flies and BOOM!, back in it. Honestly, I wasn't fishing, I was catching. Learned quickly that big bows know how to break off, wrap up and spit the hook. Dave was always there to give just the right amount of advice without making me feel horrible about losing a good fish. I'm torn on recommending Dave to friends...I would in a heart beat, but like a great fishing hole, you want to keep the resource close to the vest. I understand why Dave is considered one of Orvis's elite guides. Might as well look at the calendar now...Let's get back out there!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's every time! any questions?,
May 5, 2015
By: SisterChristian7
from Lenoir, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"At this point I would consider myself a repeat customer when it comes to fishing trips with Dave. Honestly there is no review that can do justice to describe these trips. Whether you go for the food or the fish Dave will not dissappoint. Choosing Dave for a trip is like the Giants head coach choosing Madison Bumgarner to pitch in the World Series. It's a no brainier!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing with Dave,
April 26, 2015
By: BHay
from Conover, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Dave is the best
"I have had the pleasure of fishing with a lot of fishing guides. None could compare to Dave. He has tremendous patience, but that falls way shout of his knowledge. He always knows the right flies to use, when to change them, and most important where to fish them. Dave tells me where to cast and most times I wouldn't have given that water a thought--and I caught big fish. Dave is always more than willing to help, explain, answer questions and is glad to do it. Did I mention stream side lunch. His homemade potato salad is wonderful. I am booked for another trip with Dave soon, and there will be many more. I have made my last trip out west as long as Dave is fishing.. He is the best!,"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide,
April 19, 2015
By: Agbaronelaw
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very knowledgable and patient with beginners. Highly recommended"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Large Rainbows.....,
April 15, 2015
By: LesW
from Southwest, Virginia
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I had a super day on a great little stream catching VERY large Rainbows with the help of our guide Dave Hise. Dave is an experienced, thoughtful, and dedicated "success" oriented guide. Spending time with truly nice people doing something you all have a passion for is a good as it gets.....thanks, Dave....."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day,
April 14, 2015
By: Bwyman
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave hosted a full day of great memories and fun which included many tight lines and wondferful meal. If you are looking for a first class experience -Dave delivers. Thanks Dave- looking forward to next visit.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
April 6, 2015
By: AC01
from Lebanon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was fortunate enough to receive a guided trip for my son and me as a Christmas present. Dave is amazing! He recommended a hotel close to the river so we would have plenty of time to fish. Met us promptly and had us on the water within 30 minutes. Dave provided all the gear we'd need for the day - including a good-sized net which came in handy for the big fish we caught! Dave worked with both of us on our techniques and ways we could be better: we had our first strikes within minutes of being on the water. He has a great ability to see where corrections can lead to success and I've never seen anyone 'read' water any better - it was amazing! Best of all, we both caught some BIG fish and had an outstanding shoreline lunch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best guide available period!,
March 28, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Seamless
"I just returned from a five day trip to North Carolina and Virginia to fish with several of my friends that live in North Carolina.
I booked a two day excursion with Dave having met him last year through my friends there.
As a certified guide myself from Connecticut, I wanted to have Dave work with me and help me hone my skills as a guide and also have Dave put me on some nice fishing.
He promptly met me exactly on time at our meeting spot and boy did he come prepared.
The water conditions were dicey with cold weather and high waters but Dave systematically picked each and every section of the water we fished like a surgeon. His ability to quickly adapt to different waters and choose his beautiful flies for each specific river we fished. His fly creations are something of a masterpiece that hands down will bring big trout to his net.
On the second day of fishing Dave locked me into the biggest fight I have ever had with a trout in 35 + years of fly fishing. (See picture attached)
Trying to bring a big 12 pound trophy rainbow to the net was thrilling and during our battle, Dave walked me through each and every retrieve to handle this monster. His willingness to guide me correctly and educate me just how to bring in these trophy trout that will put a bend in your rod not to mention a wrestling match to get it into the net. Dave's patience and professional demeanor was instrumental in my landing a trout of a lifetime and learning the what not to do's and what to do's when landing a trout this big.
Once he netted it, he was quickly able to help me to position it safely and take some of the best photographs I've ever seen under very challenging circumstances.
Being a guide myself and always wanting to learn more, my choice with Dave was the best decision I think I've ever made in an instructor.
Using a constructive approach, Dave helped me cast better and more accurately in tight spots and use the dynamics of the rod and line to manipulate the fly rig and avoid hang ups and poor casts. Invaluable instruction for even the most experienced guides.
I took a way a lifetime of knowledge and made a new friend for life.
I would highly recommend that any guide wanting to learn the secrets of big rig fly casting and working the rivers to your advantage to book some time with Dave and you'll come away a much better informed guide and angler.
It's hard-pressed to find a guide like Dave Hise at this level. I also have some dietary restrictions due to my cancer treatments and Dave brought a nutritious and perfectly tasty lunch that he researched ahead of time from medical personnel so that I would have the food that I could tolerate. He went the distance and then some. Wonderful experience and one that I will never forget. Thank you Dave!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide Ever,
March 23, 2015
By: DKCASTER
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have only been fly fishing a couple of years but have used a total of 4 guides. Dave Hise is by far the best I have had the occasion to fish with. I learned the most from him and had a great experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgetable Experience,
February 10, 2015
By: TaylorC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:IT WAS PERFECT!!
"This was my first fly fishing trip that i have ever been on and have no idea how anyone else could compete with Mr. Hise. The day was packed full of amazing fish and not to mention a life changing encounter with an absolute monster. This trip was so perfect in every aspect. Not only does Dave have access to some of the best water but he is also an amazing cook. After an action packed morning on the water I was able to sit down at the table and endulge in a 5 star meal prepared yards away from the water. I highly recommend this for anyone whether alone, with friends, or a family get away."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pig at the BBQ,
February 9, 2015
By: SisterChristian7
from Lenoir, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first time fly fishing was with Dave about 6 months ago. From that first trip with him I have formed quite the addiction. Dave has helped me along the entire time and just from time spent in the shop I had heard numerous legendary stories of the Virginia trophy waters. If you enjoy bumping shoulders with numerous other anglers fishing for over pressured fish then I do not recommend this for you. However if a day on amazing waters by yourself with finned beast that have out grown the title of fish sounds appealing then I highly recommend you call him now! Words cannot describe how great the trip was. Some people claim to have seen the Loch Ness monster, but with Dave you get the chance to battle her."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Limitless guide!,
January 13, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I met Dave in 2014 when I was invited to fish at rivebound adventures in Lebanon, Virginia. I had met a good friend back in 2011 in Montana that was from North Carolina and had a private membership to this mountain gem lodge nestled in the blue ridge mountains. Having trained as a guide in Montana for several summers, I was excited when I learned about Dave and the fact that he was the primary guide for the same lodge I was staying at in Lebanon, Virginia. After having met him once and exchanging stories, flies and information, I could sense that he was in a league of his own. A master guide and one who other guides like myself can certainly benefit from to have him take me out and help me to become a better guide, angler and as important, fly tyer. Dave's knowledge, professionalism and down to earth demeanor is something every guide or client should experience in their career or fishing adventure. After hearing about his flies that he designed for Orvis, seeing them first hand and using them while there, I was speechless to say the least. Dave's creativity, entomology knowledge and unique fly designs are pieces of art work and at the same time, deadly on all levels. I have the utmost respect for Dave's vast knowledge and have stayed in touch with him to pick his brains whenever I can, he's amazing...
I have recently booked two days for a fishing excursion with Dave in March 2015 so that I can learn many more strategies, catch a ton of big trout and absorb as much as I can from him. A fifty trout day with Dave is not uncommon and that is something you can tell your grand children about someday. A personable guy, great gourmet cook, patient instructor and best of all, a new friend for life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is the Best,
January 8, 2015
By: monjolofus
from Gastonia, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had the pleasure of being a client of Dave Hise and the experience has been fantastic. The most recent was a few months ago. I have fished with guides many times in the southeast, wyoming, montana and in central and south america. I can say without hesitation that Dave Hise is the best I have been with. He is not only knowledgeable but tenacious and patient. Dave is well equipped and he gets on target quickly with his chose of flys and rods. I have also purchased all of my rods and equipment from Dave which has proven to be the best choice. Dave and Orvis stand behind what they sell and that means a lot. Dave enjoys my successes as much as I do. My experiences with Dave are the highlights of my fishing life. Dave is the best"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes