Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

David Hise, NC

Dave has access to just over 10 miles of private water access, where he guides for trophy rainbow trout in the mountain streams of southwestern Virginia and northwestern North Carolina. Experience fly fishing at its best: Dave was named one of 4 finalists for the Orvis-Endorsed Guide of the Year in 2011, 2012 and 2013. He provides 32 years of fly-fishing experience and 26 years of guide/instructor experience. Book now!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (119 reviews)
5 stars
119
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
119 of 119(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for David Hise, NC
Review 1 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't stop smiling,
October 14, 2012
By: Archangel54
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Once, maybe twice in a lifetime, if you are fortunate, you'll find yourself in the presence of someone so truly gifted at their craft that the word "awe" seems pitifully inadequate when searching for a proper descriptive of you're experiencing. Last Friday I spent the day on a stream in southwest Virginia with Dave Hise. The day was more and better than I ever expected.
From the time we first approached the stream that morning, when Dave started pointing to fish and directing my casts so that my drifts would stand the best chance of success, until late that afternoon when I looked over at Dave and, exhausted, said "Let's call it," Dave was the consummate professional, guide, mentor, chef and friend.
Anyone who knows Dave will say that he knows trout, their behavior and their feeding habits. He is a masterfully innovative tier and creator of flies, a gifted and infinitely patient teacher, and most importantly a good man. He gives 100% of himself 100% of the time to give his clients the most successful, memorable day possible.
By any account, we had an epic day. The weather was perfect and the water was low and clear. Even with my meager skills, the number of trout that came to the net approached 20 with a few more that fought hard and were released a little earlier than planned.
Listen to what Dave tells you and you'll end the day with a wealth of knowledge you didn't begin the day with. I'm already looking forward to the next day with my friend Dave - and the day after that.
If you ever have a chance to book a day on the water with Dave, do yourself a huge favor and get to know this guy in his element. You won't have any regrets.
Thanks again Dave!
Oh yeah, I'm still smiling"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide,
April 19, 2015
By: Agbaronelaw
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very knowledgable and patient with beginners. Highly recommended"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Large Rainbows.....,
April 15, 2015
By: LesW
from Southwest, Virginia
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I had a super day on a great little stream catching VERY large Rainbows with the help of our guide Dave Hise. Dave is an experienced, thoughtful, and dedicated "success" oriented guide. Spending time with truly nice people doing something you all have a passion for is a good as it gets.....thanks, Dave....."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day,
April 14, 2015
By: Bwyman
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave hosted a full day of great memories and fun which included many tight lines and wondferful meal. If you are looking for a first class experience -Dave delivers. Thanks Dave- looking forward to next visit.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
April 6, 2015
By: AC01
from Lebanon, VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was fortunate enough to receive a guided trip for my son and me as a Christmas present. Dave is amazing! He recommended a hotel close to the river so we would have plenty of time to fish. Met us promptly and had us on the water within 30 minutes. Dave provided all the gear we'd need for the day - including a good-sized net which came in handy for the big fish we caught! Dave worked with both of us on our techniques and ways we could be better: we had our first strikes within minutes of being on the water. He has a great ability to see where corrections can lead to success and I've never seen anyone 'read' water any better - it was amazing! Best of all, we both caught some BIG fish and had an outstanding shoreline lunch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best guide available period!,
March 28, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Seamless
"I just returned from a five day trip to North Carolina and Virginia to fish with several of my friends that live in North Carolina.
I booked a two day excursion with Dave having met him last year through my friends there.
As a certified guide myself from Connecticut, I wanted to have Dave work with me and help me hone my skills as a guide and also have Dave put me on some nice fishing.
He promptly met me exactly on time at our meeting spot and boy did he come prepared.
The water conditions were dicey with cold weather and high waters but Dave systematically picked each and every section of the water we fished like a surgeon. His ability to quickly adapt to different waters and choose his beautiful flies for each specific river we fished. His fly creations are something of a masterpiece that hands down will bring big trout to his net.
On the second day of fishing Dave locked me into the biggest fight I have ever had with a trout in 35 + years of fly fishing. (See picture attached)
Trying to bring a big 12 pound trophy rainbow to the net was thrilling and during our battle, Dave walked me through each and every retrieve to handle this monster. His willingness to guide me correctly and educate me just how to bring in these trophy trout that will put a bend in your rod not to mention a wrestling match to get it into the net. Dave's patience and professional demeanor was instrumental in my landing a trout of a lifetime and learning the what not to do's and what to do's when landing a trout this big.
Once he netted it, he was quickly able to help me to position it safely and take some of the best photographs I've ever seen under very challenging circumstances.
Being a guide myself and always wanting to learn more, my choice with Dave was the best decision I think I've ever made in an instructor.
Using a constructive approach, Dave helped me cast better and more accurately in tight spots and use the dynamics of the rod and line to manipulate the fly rig and avoid hang ups and poor casts. Invaluable instruction for even the most experienced guides.
I took a way a lifetime of knowledge and made a new friend for life.
I would highly recommend that any guide wanting to learn the secrets of big rig fly casting and working the rivers to your advantage to book some time with Dave and you'll come away a much better informed guide and angler.
It's hard-pressed to find a guide like Dave Hise at this level. I also have some dietary restrictions due to my cancer treatments and Dave brought a nutritious and perfectly tasty lunch that he researched ahead of time from medical personnel so that I would have the food that I could tolerate. He went the distance and then some. Wonderful experience and one that I will never forget. Thank you Dave!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Guide Ever,
March 23, 2015
By: DKCASTER
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have only been fly fishing a couple of years but have used a total of 4 guides. Dave Hise is by far the best I have had the occasion to fish with. I learned the most from him and had a great experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unforgetable Experience,
February 10, 2015
By: TaylorC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:IT WAS PERFECT!!
"This was my first fly fishing trip that i have ever been on and have no idea how anyone else could compete with Mr. Hise. The day was packed full of amazing fish and not to mention a life changing encounter with an absolute monster. This trip was so perfect in every aspect. Not only does Dave have access to some of the best water but he is also an amazing cook. After an action packed morning on the water I was able to sit down at the table and endulge in a 5 star meal prepared yards away from the water. I highly recommend this for anyone whether alone, with friends, or a family get away."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pig at the BBQ,
February 9, 2015
By: SisterChristian7
from Lenoir, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My first time fly fishing was with Dave about 6 months ago. From that first trip with him I have formed quite the addiction. Dave has helped me along the entire time and just from time spent in the shop I had heard numerous legendary stories of the Virginia trophy waters. If you enjoy bumping shoulders with numerous other anglers fishing for over pressured fish then I do not recommend this for you. However if a day on amazing waters by yourself with finned beast that have out grown the title of fish sounds appealing then I highly recommend you call him now! Words cannot describe how great the trip was. Some people claim to have seen the Loch Ness monster, but with Dave you get the chance to battle her."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Limitless guide!,
January 13, 2015
By: lespaul
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I met Dave in 2014 when I was invited to fish at rivebound adventures in Lebanon, Virginia. I had met a good friend back in 2011 in Montana that was from North Carolina and had a private membership to this mountain gem lodge nestled in the blue ridge mountains. Having trained as a guide in Montana for several summers, I was excited when I learned about Dave and the fact that he was the primary guide for the same lodge I was staying at in Lebanon, Virginia. After having met him once and exchanging stories, flies and information, I could sense that he was in a league of his own. A master guide and one who other guides like myself can certainly benefit from to have him take me out and help me to become a better guide, angler and as important, fly tyer. Dave's knowledge, professionalism and down to earth demeanor is something every guide or client should experience in their career or fishing adventure. After hearing about his flies that he designed for Orvis, seeing them first hand and using them while there, I was speechless to say the least. Dave's creativity, entomology knowledge and unique fly designs are pieces of art work and at the same time, deadly on all levels. I have the utmost respect for Dave's vast knowledge and have stayed in touch with him to pick his brains whenever I can, he's amazing...
I have recently booked two days for a fishing excursion with Dave in March 2015 so that I can learn many more strategies, catch a ton of big trout and absorb as much as I can from him. A fifty trout day with Dave is not uncommon and that is something you can tell your grand children about someday. A personable guy, great gourmet cook, patient instructor and best of all, a new friend for life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is the Best,
January 8, 2015
By: monjolofus
from Gastonia, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have had the pleasure of being a client of Dave Hise and the experience has been fantastic. The most recent was a few months ago. I have fished with guides many times in the southeast, wyoming, montana and in central and south america. I can say without hesitation that Dave Hise is the best I have been with. He is not only knowledgeable but tenacious and patient. Dave is well equipped and he gets on target quickly with his chose of flys and rods. I have also purchased all of my rods and equipment from Dave which has proven to be the best choice. Dave and Orvis stand behind what they sell and that means a lot. Dave enjoys my successes as much as I do. My experiences with Dave are the highlights of my fishing life. Dave is the best"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chromed up on ice,
January 5, 2015
By: Nikthegreek
from UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:star guide
"You just know how much of a pro Dave was when he meet us at the airport with his casters fly shop wrapped suv.
Although conditions where terrible in the minuses brrrhhhh, Dave put me into several fish and my dreams come true :-)
My nickname for Dave on this trip was "dirty rice Hise"
As he is an excellent riverside chef to boot !!!
( I was expecting foil wrapped sandwiches)
Two great tips too on fast flowing rivers (which I will keep to myself) ;-)
Great guy great and a great ghillie (guide)
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magic,
December 24, 2014
By: ncflyfisher87
from Morganton, NC 28655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"AWESOME! Caught fish all day again and got fat on the gourmet lunch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!!,
December 15, 2014
By: MattD29
from Granite Falls, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! Dave Hise offers an incredible fly fishing experience! With out a doubt the best fishing trip I've ever had! Dave put us right on the fish and gave us plenty of tips to get them into the net. And the lunch he prepared was amazing! Top notch all the way! I'd highly recommend and can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond my Expectations!,
December 13, 2014
By: Dwu10
from Hickory NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This dude is LEGIT! Dave Hise not only put us on the fish of a lifetime but he is a great teacher and ambassador to the sport of fly fishing. I had an experience of a lifetime and I feel like I'm a better angler because of it. If you are into catching big bows and eating like a king stream side..... Then I highly recommend a guided trip with Dave at Casters Fly Shop. Thanks Dave."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More then just catching fish,
December 6, 2014
By: wnctu
from Rutherfordton NC
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I would have to say my day on the water with Dave Hise is my best day of fishing to date. Not only did we land fish of a lifetime, but I also became a better fisherman. Dave took the time to help me improve my casting and all around fishing skills. He taught me how to mend properly and taught me about rivers and where fish should be. Not only was the fishing great, but I had the best meal I have ever had on a fishing trip. I highly recomend a trip with Dave weither you are a beginner or have been fishing your whole life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Day Ever,
December 1, 2014
By: flyfisher207
from Virginia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"One word explains it all- EXCEPTIONAL"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a Great Day,
October 31, 2014
By: peachycheeks
from Charlotte, NC
"Extraordinary. David was totally engaged to ensure an exceptional experience. Caught so many large fish that our arms were getting fatigued at times. Great meal and outstanding fellowship. David is just first class all the way. Looking forward to doing it soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing day,
October 29, 2014
By: Miah
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave did an exceptional job. He kept us in the fish all day and went out of his way to ensure we were having a great time. Dave was very polite and held interesting conversation As well as affording me a few tips along the way by a seasoned pro. Not only is dave a great guide he is also a good cook. We had a wonderful riverside lunch that was hand prepared by dave himself. All in all i must thank him for one of the most epic days of fishing i have had in my many years of doing so. Thanks dave and believe me, we will be back"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for David Hise, NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How to warm up on a 38 degree morning,
October 7, 2014
By: MrFind
from Vale, NC 28168, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Coats? Fire? Hat and gloves? Nope... Posing with trout in hand in front of Dave Hise 5 minutes after your first cast. Even when you make a mistake on the large ones and lose them there will be nothing but encouragement and making sure you learned from it. I invited 2 friends that had always wanted to do a trip with Dave but they had no idea what a true guided fishing trip was all about. All of us were just bowled over with the lessons learned, meal cooked to perfection, and wisdom of the waters that Dave has learned and shares with no hesitation. This is the second time I have been guided by Dave. I was so impressed the first time that my wife gave me this trip for Christmas as she knew she could think of nothing I would enjoy more. Thank you Debi for a great day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes