Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN

2015 Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide of the Year FinalistThe Upper Midwest Premier Smallmouth Destination! Wildwood Float Trips is located on the banks of the Upper Mississippi River. We offer the finest guided float trips in the Upper Midwest. Wildwood floats the Upper Mississippi, St.Croix, Rum, Kettle, and the St. Louis Rivers, from the comfort and ease of a Clackacraft drift boat.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
39 of 39(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Review 1 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Last Minute AWESOMENESS,
June 18, 2015
By: therailers
from Nashville, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brother and I are in a national touring band, so we spend a lot of time away from home. When we found ourselves with a free afternoon a friend recommended we call Wildwood for a great day on the Mississippi. What a day it turned out to be! Kip had us on fish within 10 minutes, including my first 18" feisty smallmouth on a popper. We had steady bites all day and enjoyed some great conversation. Highly recommended! We'll be back :-)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the Mississippi,
June 18, 2015
By: Barrybda
from Texas
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time on the Mississippi. Very impressed with the quality and numbers of the smallies. Nick my guide was very knowledgeable. Enjoyable two days. Will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Bass Day Ever,
June 6, 2015
By: tightlinesMN
from Independence, MN 55779, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Terrific day today with Kip and the smallies. Kip does a terrific job from start to finish. We boated about 15 fish from 17-21 inches- All on a 4 weight rod and line with poppers. Could not ask for a better day, better guide or better fishing. :) I would recommend Kip to any serious fisherman who wants to skip flies across the rivers of Minnesota."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day with Kip,
June 6, 2015
By: Tejasfly
from McKinney, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While in town for work I had booked a day with Kip. Had a great day, and we caught fish! He was very patient and gave great instruction. Trying to find a weekend to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A day on the St Croix,
May 28, 2015
By: kencanoe
from Saint Croix River
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I purchased a trip with Kip at a Small Mouth Alliance auction in Madison Wisconsin. Kip had graciously donated a full day trip to the Group. My son-in-law and I spent a full day on the St. Croix with Kip. That man can really handle a drift boat and put you in a position to catch small mouth bass. We probably caught around 40 bass with the largest being 20 1/4 inches long. If you enjoy small mouth bass fishing , I would highly recommend a trip with Kip. I know that I am going to go again. It was worth every penny."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Day on the Water with Kip,
May 14, 2015
By: DryFlyGuy999
from Chaska, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The most important part of a successful day on the water with a fishing guide is the guide's attitude and approach. We caught some nice smallmouth and pike with Kip, but most importantly he is a pleasure to fish with. Client comes first, with no hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip/Awesome Guide,
April 13, 2015
By: pswens
from Mpls,mn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip Vieth is an excellent guide and a great guy. If you are looking to spend a great day on the water I would highly recommend Kip. Whether you are chasing stream trout, smallies or musky he is the guy you want to talk to. Thanks for the memorable day!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Smallie fishing on the St. Croix,
March 15, 2015
By: MadisonMike
from Verona, WI
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I’ve fished with Kip Vieth for the past 11 years and have this year’s weekend booked. I enjoy fishing the St. Croix River with him and my friends every July. His knowledge of the river and what the fish are doing at that time are invaluable. I’ve gotten to know Kip pretty well over the years and it’s truly a weekend I look forward to each summer. This fishing, the fun, the camaraderie!
Kip has also been a long time supporter of the Wisconsin Smallmouth Bass Alliance, LTD. Without people like him we wouldn’t experience the success we’ve enjoyed. When our club members head to the St. Croix or Upper Mississippi we look no further than Kip. Thanks Kip for your support and the great times on the river! Book a Kip trip and you won’t regret it.
Wishin’ I was Fishin!
Madison Mike
Treasurer and founding member of WSA, Ltd.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic smallmouth with kip,
November 26, 2014
By: Dryfly44
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anyone looking for a fantastic smallmouth fishing should get a hold of Kip. Only an hour from Minneapolis to being on the water. Great top water action and some large a smallies . Three different rivers and still "undiscovered" can fish all day and see few if any other fishermen.
Have fished with kip for over 5 years, you cannot find a better guide. Only issue is kip gets booked to often!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always looking forward to the next one....,
November 24, 2014
By: guitarjunkie01
from Minneapolis, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fishing with Kip a number of times, and it's always a blast! He knows his rivers, he knows where to throw, he knows what to use and he's a great guy to be around. I book my trip in advance every year and I'm continually a satisfied customer. He will always come highly recommend from me!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muskies,
November 22, 2014
By: DJIowa
from Cedar Rapids, IA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have had several trips with Kip--Muskies and smallies. Kip knows the waters he guides and is a pleasure to spend a day with. The proximity to the Twin Cities and the beautiful rivers are hard to beat. Give yourself a treat and give Kip a shot. You will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trophy Guide/Trophy Smallmouth,
November 20, 2014
By: gmike
from Kansas City, MO
"I have fished with Kip on 5-6 occasions over the last 2-3 years. Previous to those trips I have fished for smallmouth in many other lakes and rivers but have never consistently caught trophy smallmouth like I have on the waters that Kip floats. He is a hard worker and a great boat companion. No need for endless trips to get to the fish. With Kip it is an easy journey with urban amenities nearby."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
November 12, 2014
By: MontanaHack
from Missoula, MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip exceeded all expectations for our fall muskie trip. Neither of us had any previous experience with chasing muskie on the fly and Kip provided all the gear, instruction, and local knowledge to line us up for four shots at good fish on our first day out. He is patient, professional, and everything you'd look for in a fishing guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Misssissippi Surprise,
November 4, 2014
By: Bobbass
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
""We could not have picked a better day to float down the Mississippi in a river boat. Bass fishing is Kip’s specialty and his professionalism really rang true. With his knowledge of the river, his ability to locate areas along the shorelines where the bass would be in hiding and his expertise in maneuvering his river boat with nothing but oars, my wife and I experienced the best bass fishing imaginable.
We have fished many lakes in northern Minnesota and Wisconsin, including the Boundary Waters, in search of small mouths but for the number of fish caught and their size, we now know that river fishing is where it’s at. If you love bass fishing, this trip is a must.
The picture of Gail holding her 19 ½” smallie was taken at the same time I was battling an 18” one. Smallies, all day long, cast after cast. We hold fond memories of our day on the river an look forward to seeing you again next year".
Thanks Kip.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Real Deal,
November 2, 2014
By: jerryfromaz
from Tucson Arizona
"I fished with Kip as part of the Orvis 2014 Muskie School. Kip has a great knowlege of the local water, where the fish are and how to catch them. He wants to put you on fish and works hard to make that happen. He has a great down to earth personality and has enough interesting stories to make the time between strikes fly by. The day just seemed to end too soon.
I had the trip of a lifetime with Kip, two muskies, one 45 inches, and a 21 inch smallmouth on my first day!
I have already booked a smallmouth trip with Kip for August and am considering another Orvis Muskie School in October.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great fly fishing guides,
October 30, 2014
By: DanielMex
from Mexico City, Federal District, Mexico
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went with the guides from Wildwood float trips last month first to fish for smallmouth and then for the Orvis Musky School. In both cases, my experiences with them were great. The smallmouth fishing with Nick was great, we landed several even when this was not the peak time of the year. I also learned a lot in the Musky school, and I notices that Kip and all the guides will do everything possible to make the fishing trip fully enjoyable. I will definitely go back to fish with them sometime soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One Great Fishing Experience,
October 29, 2014
By: jerryfromaz
from Tucson Arizona
"I fished with Wildwood Float Trips as part of an Orvis Muskie School taught by Peter Kutzer.
I fished with Kip Vieth (the owner of Wildwood Float Trips) one day and another of his guides, Bob White, the second day.
I have never fished with a 10wt. fly rod casting heavy 10+ inch flies before. Peter Kip and Bob made the experience easy and enjoyable.
The equipment was first class. Both Kip and Bob have a passion for fishing and a real desire to put their customers on fish. When we boated a 45 inch muskie I honestly believe Kip was more excited than I was. We also had enough common interests and stories to make the conservation enjoyable between fish. The time seemed to fly by.
I had a trip of a lifetime, at the end of two days I caught a 45 and 36 inch muskie, lost a mid to high 30's muskie and caught a 21 inch smallmouth bass.
I have already booked a three day smallmouth bass trip for August next year and am considering another muskie trip in October.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muskie Orvis School 2014,
October 23, 2014
By: Jaybraaten
from Blooming Prairie, MN 55917, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was new to flyfishing when I came to the flyfishing for Muskie school. I have experience fishing for muskie on regular gear but wanted to experience a new way to Hunt for muskies. Our guide the first day was Kip. I could not have been more impressed with his knowledge of the water, location, and presentation we were using to trigger Muskies. Being from the area like Kip is... he has a great understanding of the habitat, feeding windows, and presentation of fly's that Muskies go crazy for. In the first two hours our float landed a 45 inch muskie that any angler would be happy to hang on their wall. He than put our float on another Muskie about an hour later. Later, my fishing partner landed a 21 inch smallmouth that probably weighed just under seven pounds. Kip landed my fishing partner two Wall-Hanging fish in a half a day of fishing. He has a great sense of the time of year and where the fish will be located. Lastly, I will be calling Kip for a future trip for sure. Besides his fishing knowledge..what a great guy to be on the water with for the day!!! I have hired guides in the past and Kip is at the top of the list. If you want to fish Minnesota/Wisconsin waters, have a great time, and catch fish...Call Kip!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 years in a row,
September 28, 2014
By: streamernd
from North Dakota, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip is a very straight forward and pleasant guide to spend a day in the boat with. We have fished with him 2 years in a row now and plan to continue to fish with Kip. Being western trout people, he has opened our eyes to a lot of midwest fly fishing excitement. Musky and small mouth OH MY!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A day with Kip,
September 17, 2014
By: MuskyFlyGuy
from Minnesota
"The only problem about fishing a day with Kip is how quickly it goes. It is not a short day, but rather a day that goes by very quickly. His interests are my interests and we talk about fishing for bass or muskies, fly tying, fly patterns, reading water, hatches, equipment, fly casting, our gardens, and most importantly, our families. You quickly get to a point where you regard him as a friend and look forward to sharing these days with him. As a guide, he is exceptional! When you are in the boat with him, you quickly realize that you are the focus of his attention for the day. He answers all questions in an honest and forthright manner. He is a highly ethical fishing personality, who helps you learn and enjoy, but also works very hard to protect the resource. Whether it is bass or muskies, he knows how to put you in a position where you have the opportunity to catch fish.
On an extremely hot day where we were pounding down water and the fish were pounding poppers, Kip directed me to an obstruction towards the end of the day. A great 20 inch smallie was brought to the net and safely released and we still had over 300 yards of water to fish before the take-out spot. As I sat down and enjoyed the rest of the float, Kip asked if I was still going to fish. I asked him, how many times can you catch a fish like that on your last cast? It was an amazing experience and is the reason why I always look forward to fishing with Kip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes