Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN

The Upper Midwest Premier Smallmouth Destination! Wildwood Float Trips is located on the banks of the Upper Mississippi River. We offer the finest guided float trips in the Upper Midwest. Wildwood floats the Upper Mississippi, St.Croix, Rum, Kettle, and the St. Louis Rivers, from the comfort and ease of a Clackacraft drift boat.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Review 1 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muskie Orvis School 2014,
October 23, 2014
By: Jaybraaten
from Blooming Prairie, MN 55917, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was new to flyfishing when I came to the flyfishing for Muskie school. I have experience fishing for muskie on regular gear but wanted to experience a new way to Hunt for muskies. Our guide the first day was Kip. I could not have been more impressed with his knowledge of the water, location, and presentation we were using to trigger Muskies. Being from the area like Kip is... he has a great understanding of the habitat, feeding windows, and presentation of fly's that Muskies go crazy for. In the first two hours our float landed a 45 inch muskie that any angler would be happy to hang on their wall. He than put our float on another Muskie about an hour later. Later, my fishing partner landed a 21 inch smallmouth that probably weighed just under seven pounds. Kip landed my fishing partner two Wall-Hanging fish in a half a day of fishing. He has a great sense of the time of year and where the fish will be located. Lastly, I will be calling Kip for a future trip for sure. Besides his fishing knowledge..what a great guy to be on the water with for the day!!! I have hired guides in the past and Kip is at the top of the list. If you want to fish Minnesota/Wisconsin waters, have a great time, and catch fish...Call Kip!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 years in a row,
September 28, 2014
By: streamernd
from North Dakota, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip is a very straight forward and pleasant guide to spend a day in the boat with. We have fished with him 2 years in a row now and plan to continue to fish with Kip. Being western trout people, he has opened our eyes to a lot of midwest fly fishing excitement. Musky and small mouth OH MY!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A day with Kip,
September 17, 2014
By: MuskyFlyGuy
from Minnesota
"The only problem about fishing a day with Kip is how quickly it goes. It is not a short day, but rather a day that goes by very quickly. His interests are my interests and we talk about fishing for bass or muskies, fly tying, fly patterns, reading water, hatches, equipment, fly casting, our gardens, and most importantly, our families. You quickly get to a point where you regard him as a friend and look forward to sharing these days with him. As a guide, he is exceptional! When you are in the boat with him, you quickly realize that you are the focus of his attention for the day. He answers all questions in an honest and forthright manner. He is a highly ethical fishing personality, who helps you learn and enjoy, but also works very hard to protect the resource. Whether it is bass or muskies, he knows how to put you in a position where you have the opportunity to catch fish.
On an extremely hot day where we were pounding down water and the fish were pounding poppers, Kip directed me to an obstruction towards the end of the day. A great 20 inch smallie was brought to the net and safely released and we still had over 300 yards of water to fish before the take-out spot. As I sat down and enjoyed the rest of the float, Kip asked if I was still going to fish. I asked him, how many times can you catch a fish like that on your last cast? It was an amazing experience and is the reason why I always look forward to fishing with Kip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great smallmouth guide,
September 2, 2014
By: Bob822
from Madison, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've fished with Kip at least once a year for the past 10 years. i have always found Kip to be knowledgable, professional and a great fishing companion. He knows the rivers we fish intimately and knows how to put smallmouth in the boat including some real trophy fish. A great guide and a fine person."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy client for 10 years.,
August 30, 2014
By: Octave
from Eden Prairie, MN
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip was one of the first guides to offer drift boat floats here in canoe and jonboat country, and having grown up and fished a lifetime in the west, I appreciate the ease of fishing from a well-handled drift boat. I make it a point to try to do at least one Mississippi smallmouth float a year with him. Not only does he know every inch of the water at all levels, but a day on the water with Kip is more like fishing with a buddy than a guide. He makes suggestions if you want them, but knows better than to try to correct my casting technique errors of a lifetime. We always catch fish, and It is always a fine day, with a shared appreciation for the beauty of the scenery and wildlife. And the hardest-fighting fish that swims—the smallmouth. As close as the upper Mississippi is to the cities, sometimes you can spend the whole day and see only deer and eagles, and not another boat. And it’s an easy drive home in time for supper."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 Years in a row,
August 27, 2014
By: Fishng4Fun
from Illinois, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Four years ago I booked a trip with Kip and have made it an annual event ever since. Within the first hour in the boat Kip's guidance and knowledge added an additional 15-20 feet of casting distance and all but eliminated the pile at the end. This alone has help put more fish in the boat.
This year I was able to fish the Mississippi for 3 days in a row. The weather rolled in on the second day and rianed all day making it a hard day of fishing. On the third day the weather cleared up and the big fish came out to play. I was able to catch my personal best smallmouth and many more.
I was looking forward to next years trip on the way home from this one!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Experiences,
August 20, 2014
By: Murrdog88
from Chanhassen, MN USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad and I were introduced to Kip several years ago. We have gone on numerous trips where we have boated 35-50 fish or more in a day, and missed alot more as well. We have caught photographed and released a 20 lb and 35 lb musky. We have been fortuneate enough to catch, walleye, rock bass, pike and catfish as well. There are several things that seperate Kip from other guides. One, the quality of the smallmouth bass that we catch is amazing. We consistently catch and release smallmouth that are 16-20 inches in length, healthy, and fat. Two, Kip pays close attention to your fishing techniques and is able to provide recommendations that improve your ability to catch more fish. Finally, Kip will fish as long as you want."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding fishing trip,
August 17, 2014
By: L123
from Minneapolis, MN
"Our day on the upper Mississippi with Kip was completely fabulous. He expertly guided us to great fishing, knew exactly where the big smallmouth would be. He enjoyed providing pointers in working each specific fly, encouraged us when casts were short, shared in our pleasure at those that were right on target and especially in the many fish we caught."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting for Christ,
August 15, 2014
By: JH23
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My pal Bob and I had a wonderful day on the Miss River with Kip. I chose him as my guide because of his character, integrity, honesty, and values as a Christian man. AND...he is the best guide I have ever had, anywhere. His mild but bold "coaching' is always right on....to make me better and catch more fish...., and his knowledge of what to use and how to fish is based on many years of proven success. I hope anyone who wants a great fishing experience for smallmouth bass with a fly rod, while having a really healthy,joyful day on Gods great river....DO IT With KIP!!!
Peace
Jim aka Troutdaddy
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Day,
August 15, 2014
By: BobbyBassBum
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip knows the river really well, every rock,every spot, and his boat is really nice to fish out of. This is the only way to go if you want to get these beauties. He put us on quality fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip- Great guide!,
July 30, 2014
By: SmallieChaser
from Oakland, CA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great trip on the Upper Mississippi due to Kip's knowledge of the river and fish. At a time when other guides on other rivers were not very effective Kip consistently put us in areas that produced feisty and large smallmouth. He was also really on top of which patterns and flies would be most effective - and he was consistently right.
Also, as others have found out and commented on he is a great guy to fish with. He brings the right balance of a clear focus on fishing well - and a light and friendly energy that makes the day both fun and productive.
We would highly recommend him.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All Star Day,
July 16, 2014
By: BMac123ghlin
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"While the All Star game was happening in the city, only an hour away, we were enjoying the beauty of the St. Croix with a terrific host. Given a cold front, expectations were in check, but we knew the "stadium"wouldn't disappoint. Kip was a great coach and my partner and I both caught nice fish. We'll make this All Star trip an annual event."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IT DON'T GET ANY BETTER,
July 9, 2014
By: Woody2014
from Warner Robins, GA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great fisherman & Great person
"WOW!!! The most enjoyable trip I have ever experienced.Not only did I catch fish by I engoyed the company of a great guy. Made me feel like we had known each other for years.
Thanks Kip. I'll never forget this trip.I need a small "goldie" lol..I've been tryint to tie one..no sucess yet..Hope we can do this again. May the spirit always guide you. lol
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great guide,
June 23, 2014
By: IRBasser
from Hawkinsville, GA 31036, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Kip is a knowledgable and pleasant guide that is enjoyable to fish with. He has great water for smallmouth. All together a great combination that won't disappoint."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great River Fishing,
June 15, 2014
By: Muskiehunting
from Minneapolis
"We've been fishing with Kip for about 5 years and look forward to many more. He consistently puts us into nice fish and lots of them! Smallies, Northerns, Muskies - it doesn't seem to matter - Kip knows where they hide. Kips a lot of fun and makes each trip a great experience!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Graet Guide,
June 14, 2014
By: Samoan
from Chicago ,Illinois
"Kip is easily the best guide in the area. He's prepared and knows exactly where to go. You will learn and catch a lot of fish .
Kip is always will to share his vast knowledge of flyfishing with you .
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High water on the Saint Croix River,
June 11, 2014
By: Sully8282
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A business associate and I booked a full day's trip for early June. Kip Vieth and Wildwood Float Trips guide service came highly recommended. Once the trip was booked - I received a confirmation via e-mail and prior to the actual trip - details were shared as to where to meet and what to expect. Kip even called the night prior to our trip advising us that the water on the St. Croix was unusually high and that it may affect our fishing. After deciding to push forward - we met at the agreed upon location and put the boat in. With-in a half hour down river - my associate landed the biggest small mouth bass he had ever caught - 21"!
Between the two of us - we caught and released over twenty nice sized smallies. Kip knew where the exact spots would be for best results and we loved every minute of it.
My fishing expertise is not high - but with the equipment provided and the advise offered - I held my own quite nicely.
I highly recommend Kip's expertise as a fishing guide and will soon book another trip on the St. Croix with my oldest son."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A day well spent!,
June 9, 2014
By: GPFarls
from Saint Paul, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been blessed to use my fly rod the world over and have hired guides frequently. Of all the guides I have known, Kip is one of the best.
His attention to detail and is "fishiness" is second-to-none. I have used his guiding skills with friends, family and clients and he never disappoints -- even if the fish do! Kip is excellent with beginners as well.
I couldn't more highly recommend Kip for your next fishing adventure."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Guide!,
April 17, 2013
By: Wandrews789
from Minnesota
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I’ve been a trout fisherman for decades but only occasionally fished for smallmouth bass and musky here in the Midwest. That is until I found Kip several years ago. He turned me on to the terrific rivers we have here in Minnesota and Wisconsin.
On my first trip with Kip, my brother-in-law--a staunch trout flyfisher from Montana--and I caught SEVERAL smallies in the +20” range and a bunch in the upper teens. My BIL couldn’t believe it. Now, whenever he comes through town, he insists that we call Kip for a trip.
It’s clear to see why. Kip is a pro. He’s an expert rower (often the downfall of lesser guides) and knows how to catch fish. He can teach beginners and even teach stubborn experienced flyfishers like me new tricks.
But most of all, Kip is a blast to spend time with. I hire several guides every year and the good ones not only know their craft inside and out, but also make it fun. Kip is that kind of guide."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Kip Vieth, Wildwood Float Trips, MN
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Times,
April 16, 2013
By: MudShark7
from Minnesota
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Kip is easily the best guide in the area. In addition to being prepared and knowing exactly where to go, he is so friendly and it felt like I was fishing with my best friend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes