Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Capt. Dave Hunt, FL

Ever dream of standing on the bow of a flats boat, fly rod in hand, ghosting over the shallow, crystal-clear flats of South Florida, stalking redfish, snook, tarpon, bonefish, permit, or sharks? If so, you've found the right Miami fly-fishing guide! A Miami, Florida native, Capt. Dave has been fishing South Florida's waters for more than 40 years. He is an Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Guide operating a backcountry charter service in Miami's Biscayne Bay, Everglades National Park, and the Florida Keys.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Review 1 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fishing,
June 16, 2014
By: MartinR
from Switzerland
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure to fish with Dave for 4 days in May. The fishing was really difficult sometimes but we still managed to hook and land a few nice fish. Thanks again Dave for the enjoyable days on the water."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brook Trout of Biscayne Bay,
May 15, 2014
By: ProductEvaluator
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I boarded Dave’s skiff just before 9pm. 15-20 kt winds. Choppy seas. Threat of rain, but comfortably warm. While I have only been in the fly fishing game for a bit more than 4 years, I’ve been around the block with freshwater fishing. Trout in the Sierra Nevadas, Yellowstone, and the Scotland lochs. Pike in the NW Territories and Jasper NP. Heck, even the whitebass run in Indiana. But saltwater was something new to me, and heading out into the darkness of the bay was truly different.
Up ahead, Dave pointed to the lighted corner of a distant seawall with a caddis hatch that was attracting occasional brook trout rises. But as we approached, these were neither caddis nor brook trout. They were shrimp feeding near the lighted surface and ghosts of 20-40 lb tarpon sliding out from the shadows. Dave recommended starting with my lightweight 9 and tied on a shrimp pattern. He also cautioned on the likelihood of breaking the rod. Repeated casts produced nothing but rejections. We moved down the seawall to another lighted location with similar surface action. A few casts later, I got a savage hit and a quick reprimand from Dave for raising the rod tip and missing the fish. I knew better. We made another pass and I cast into the shadows. A slow strip back produced an explosive strike. While I went through the motion of a strip set, doing so triggered a split-second 10-20’ run that printed a line-burn on my hand. As soon as I went into “hold-on” mode, the fish jumped 4 ft out of the water onto the seawall. May have been a record for landing a 40 lb tarpon within 5 seconds. Youtube worthy for sure! I kept fighting it (really just trying to pull it off the seawall), but the hook soon came out. It took about 20 more seconds flopping to find its way back in the water. Wow. I asked Dave what I should have done better. He said “I don’t know. That’s never happened before.”
Time for Dave’s heavyweight 12. We headed a couple miles down the bay to a lighted bridge with a strong current and known for larger fish. Dave instructed a cast slightly cross-current and then allowing the fly to swing into the shadow. Huge hit! No strip-set required. I just held on. Solid hook-up. Dave steered toward open water for the fight and gave repeated instructions. “Pull hard!” “Reel!” “Pull right!” “Keep the tip down!” “Reel!” “Pull left!” “Relax tension during the jumps!” “Reel!” “Don’t let him rest!” Several visits to the boat were followed by long runs into the backing. EXHAUSTING 35 minute fight that produced a four foot 60 lb tarpon and a trophy four inch bruise from having the fighting butt planted in my hip. Exciting is an understatement! I was also relieved that the fish gave up shortly before I did.
We took a rest, had a drink, and Dave tied on another fly. Deep breath. Two casts later, I got another massive strike and hookup. Easy four footer, but it quickly broke-off. On our way back, we passed by the seawall and it yielded several more bites, and a brief hookup. Amazing action given that many on-line reports speak of anglers getting little more than a one shot at a tarpon in a week."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giant Tarpon Glittering in Miami's Night Skyline,
March 24, 2014
By: BillinDurham
from Biscayne Bay, Florida, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Looking for some fly fishing excitement on very short notice with a very limited window, I looked up Dave Hunt on a Sunday afternoon and gave him a call. He sized the situation up and gave me the fishing experience of my new saltwater life. He suggested a 3:30am launch into Biscayne Bay for Tarpon. He promised the timing was perfect, we would catch fish and that we wouldn't see another fisherman. Six bites and five hookups later I cried 'uncle' and was able to return at sunrise with my first Tarpon experience. The first fish battled he estimated to be a 150 pounder, the largest he had ever hooked up on that particular boat. Fortunately, Dave had setup a 12wt for that battle after giving me some pointers using a 10wt. Nonetheless, after 30 or 40 minutes, the battle ended without touching the leader though the monster soaked us with a head shaking jump 20 feet from the boat. I've never seen a fish that size anywhere. Asking for mercy, I suggested that we look for smaller fish (!!!). Dave changed locations and pattern as we sight casted my 8wt to visible fish around a sea wall. It was like dry fly fishing for trout. They'll take it right at the surface, jump like crazy, but the 8wt isn't enough for the little 40 pounders we got into. What a night!
Dave is enthusiastic and energetic. He works hard to make you successful and is just plain fun to be on the boat with.
Night fishing for Tarpon in Biscayne Bay is not really as dark as one might think. Lights from highways, docks and that beautiful Miami skyline make it a game of shadows and glitter. We maneuvered around cruise ships, tugs, shrimpers and celebrity yachts. Despite the traffic and the urban settings, we were the only sport fishermen out there. As Dave said, most guides won't come out for the right tides when they come at 4:00 in the morning. Dave will do it and did do it and I'm awfully glad I did too.
Share a boat with Capt Dave Hunt and let him share with you the respect and enthusiasm he has for the fish and the fishery."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Guide,
March 18, 2014
By: VanessaOR
from Portland, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the second time out with Dave for 2 days each trip (I went with him last year by myself and this year with my husband).
Dave is one of the best guides I ever had. Not only is he very knowledgeable in terms of fishing and the tides, he is also an ecological and birding guide and I learned tons about the area in regards to fish (and everything else). Dave is friendly and an all around pleasure to be around.
He is also an avid fly fisherman (some guides aren't) and knows his way around many waters.
Highly recommended!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stalking Predators in the Dark,
December 24, 2013
By: IdahoZeke
from Boise, ID
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went out with Dave on short notice, in difficult conditions (VERY WINDY), and we still had a blast. Found a tarpon (my 2nd on the fly), and I had a smile on all day. Thanks to Dave for his accommodation, knowledge, and flexibility in getting me some much-needed fishing time after a long stint of nothing but work! I can't wait to join him on the water again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing,
May 15, 2013
By: MartinR
from Switzerland
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure to fish with Dave for 3 days. Even the weather was horrible Dave managed to put me on some interesting fishing for many different species. Dave knows every single fishing spot in the Biscayne bay and the Everglades and he is able to find the fish even in the worst weather conditions. I have never seen a fishing guide so good equipped as Dave, top end reels, rods and lines and all well balanced which helps a lot when casting all day long.
I had a fantastic time fishing the bay and the glades and I hope that I can do another fly fishing trip with Dave in the future.
Thanks again
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing in Florida,
May 7, 2013
By: Gazza1967
from London, England
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Anyone thinking of using Captain Dave should not have any hesitation.
He is a fly fishermans dream guide. He has a wealth of experience and local knowledge of locations, tides and methods. He works tirelessly to locate fish, never clock watching or concerned about costs
He makes it possible for you to optimise your chances of catching by providing a selection of rods, lines/reels and flies, often making the necessary changes which make the difference between catching or not.
If you like your fly fishing in Florida, he’s your captain"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Biscayne Bay Trip,
May 6, 2013
By: ARfly
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Had a short time in Miami but was able to get a day on the water. I found Dave and leading up to the trip he was always open for questions. Although I didn't land anything it was a great day, especially for my first time on the flats. We found some bones (one huge one), I had one chase my fly but he didn't eat it. Found a cool cow fish. We looked for tarpon but only saw two way out on the flat. If I make it back I'll definitely use him again. Easy to get along with and super knowledgeable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exciting off-road tarpon,
May 5, 2013
By: Bonecarver
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you don't Hire David Hunt to take you at least on one trip for night time tarpon in Biscayne Bay. You are missing out on a ton of easy fun. David's knowledge experience and equipment are top notch. He is an expert in traditional sight casting and night time fishing for Tarpon. Hands down night time tarpon fishing is the best deal in town with David. Within two casts I had a 55lb Tarpon landed and got smoked by a triple digit "PIG" not 20 minutes later. Thanks David"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly Recommended,
May 3, 2013
By: PRodio
from Everglades, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It is without hesitation that I recommend Captain Dave for anyone thinking of Fly Fishing the Everglades. My buddy and I went fishing with Captain Dave on April 14th. We are avid Trout Fly Fisherman having spent a lot of time in our native Colorado streams. That said, we have never Fly Fished the Everglades for big fish. We found Captain Dave was very excited and eager to help us catch our first Tarpon. He was extremely patient with us and was a great "Teacher". Captain Dave put us on fish time and time again. As the conditions changed throughout the day, he modified the tactics. At one point, he pulled the boat out and we re-launched in another area. I couldn't imagine him trying any harder. He always suggested different tactics and ideas to us, never dictating…he wanted to make sure we were comfortable and that we were enjoying ourselves. The equipment was top notch, top of the line Orvis Helios Rods. Everything was in perfect condition and neatly organized including the boat. In the end, we caught Tarpon, Snook, and various other Salt Water fish. We saw lots of wildlife including crocodiles, Bottlenose Dolphins, manatees...and giant 7' Tarpon! Oh, and make sure you know how to perform a Double Haul Fly Cast. The action happens very fast and you will likely need to cast in some stronger wind. Knowing this cast can make a big difference in your success rate. I will be booking with Captain Dave in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience.,
April 11, 2013
By: JimJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I was first drawn to hire Captain Dave Hunt as a guide by the initial reading of his website. The fact that he is a staunch Tarpon aficionado and dedicated to protecting the sanctity of the fishery was the deciding factor for me, even though we didn’t end up targeting that species. He was extremely honest and I couldn’t have asked for a better guide for the day. The weather was very fickle on the day we scheduled, woke up to unexpected rain and wind. Dave presented me with two options, Meet at the marina and try our luck with the ever changing weather, or go to the Everglades to catch some bass. I just wanted to guarantee some action and new that the everglades was my best bet for the day. When we met up he explained my choice was the correct one and it would have been “stealing” form me if we went out on the flats as the weather/wind was some of the least ideal conditions. Between my brother and I we landed at least 75 large mouth bass in 4 hours, all on top water flies. We also landed a few exotic species including 3 very large Oscars. We also got to share the water with 50+ alligators that day which was exiting in its own right. I am not experienced in taking out guides, however the general way Dave Hunt conducted the trip and the knowledge base he shared has guaranteed a call from me every time I visit the Sunshine state. He is the exact opposite of the “nasty” guides you hear horror stories about and I would recommend Dave to the first time bait fishermen, as well as the most tenured Tarpon fly fishermen chasing that trophy."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Day on the Water,
March 24, 2013
By: BoneFishBoyJack
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've never been with a guide who worked harder to put me on fish than Dave Hunt. He put me into a wide variety of species including the expected -- snook, redfish, tarpon -- and some surprises, such as the mackerel and bluefish (!) busting out of the water as if we were fishing Montauk in October. (No stripers). I landed a small snook, and then missed a shot at a huge snook. It was so close to the boat I couldn't figure out how to drop the fly without spooking it...so I ended up spooking it. A red fish was farther away, and Dave set up the boat to give me a good shot, then did a great job of telling me how to twitch the fly to make it irresistible to the fish. He knew that I really wanted a tarpon, so we tried a bunch of spots, and then we finally found 'em, it was like Heart of Darkness as he poled the boat deeper into the mangroves. Finally hooked one and the knot slipped. He was devastated. We kept fishing until the point where I was at risk of missing my flight.
Also to his credit -- really good equipment. Nice Orvis rods and Tibor reels.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave is the Best!!!,
March 4, 2013
By: Bbendo
from Hamilton, ON, Canada
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:He's the Best!
"I booked a trip with Dave for my husband as a Christmas present.
I spoke with Dave and his wife and they explained my options and we booked an amazing day.
I joined my husband and Dave not expecting to fish or just fish abit.
I had a BLAST!!! My husband had a great day and we learned alot.
Dave came well prepared, the boat was clean,organized and well maintained. Dave was knowledgeable about the fishing areas in the Everglades, the wildlife and history. He even brought us a great lunch and Star fruit which we had never tried before.
We both can't wait till we are back in Miami to book another fishing trip with Dave!!!
Thanks Dave fore an amazing day of fishing!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding guide,
February 27, 2013
By: TarponsRScaredOfMe
from Copenhagen, Denmark
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the pleasure of having Dave Hunt guide me to my first ever tarpon experience. Dave is by far the best US guide I have fished with. He is very knowledgable and a true professional. He put me onto quality fish (despite heavy rain) and I managed to catch a 100 lbs tarpon! (my largest catch ever). Dave has a pleasant personality as well as good taste in Scotch whiskys. Will I fish with Dave again? You bet I will! My only guarantee for another 100 lbs+ tarpon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hire this Guide !,
February 26, 2013
By: JK62
from Biscayne Bay, Florida, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dave Hunt is a professional fishing guide - period. His service was beyond exceptional from my first email to him. He gave me candid updates on the fishing activity in Biscayne Bay right from the start. He included weather reports, water temps, recent fishing experience etc... I had a wonderful day with Dave and I look forward to my next trip with him when I am in Miami."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What Every Flyfishing Guide Should Be,
February 13, 2013
By: ay356c
from Everglades, FL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I flyfished two days with Capt. Dave in the Florida Everglades. Dave is extremely honest and knowledgeable about the fishing options in the area. After considering the tides, the season and the weather forecasts, we opted to fish the park instead of Biscayne Bay, and then pondered the specific areas to fish in this vast wildlife area in search for Tarpon, Redfish, Snook, Sea Trout and other speacies. His indepth knowledge of the geography, the tides, wind direction, water temp, fish behavior, flies, etc. all added up to maximized opportunities and a lot of success on the water. He is also a very encouraging guide and I felt that we always worked great as a team. He is one of the best guides that I have fished with and would recommend him to anyone."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Day Out,
February 4, 2013
By: Neil22
from London, UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Had a really good day out with Capt Dave searching for Bone Fish.
Weather was windy and water choppy with Dave putting in the effort to run the boat to find the best fishing.
Great day and company"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing the night and Flats,
January 27, 2013
By: GP611
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Dave is a true gentleman. He is attentive, knowledgable, and persistent in putting you on fish as well as sharing local knowledge of the waters and wildlife. Seeing Miami from the water was nearly as much fun as catching huge tarpon! Later in the week we went fishing in the Flats of Florida Bay, a spectacular body of water. Effortlessly caught numerous sea trout on streamers and had a couple chances with sharks."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sunset fishing on Biscayne Bay,
January 3, 2013
By: Anonymous
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I went out for an afternoon with Captain Dave on December 27. Since low tide was about 3:30pm that day, we started at 2pm and fished until dark. Dave did a great job putting us on fish and we had several opportunities for bonefish and even a couple of medium size tarpon. I highly recommend Dave and will be fishing with him again the next time I am in South Florida."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Capt. Dave Hunt, FL
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just an absolutely fantastic guide,
November 28, 2012
By: flyfishingdr
from baltimore, md
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have done several trips here with Capt Dave and I have absolutely no reservations recommending using Dave as a guide. The trips are fantastic. He is very knowledgeable and gets me on the fish. Definitely he knows all the spots and all the effects of tide and weather. Now only if I can only figure out how not to get messed up when I see a 50 lb tarpon and tangle my fly line at my feet! He is one of the best guides I have ever worked with if not the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes