Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC

Brown Trout Fly Fishing is the Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Company of Brown Hobson. I specialize in guiding and teaching fly fishing for trout and smallmouth in western North Carolina and east Tennessee. Asheville, North Carolina is the epicenter of Southeastern trout fishing and we have more - and more diverse - trout streams within an hour's drive than anywhere around. You will be more than pleased after your fly-fishing trip or lesson and I can cater any trip to fit your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
86 of 86(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Review 1 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Water,
October 8, 2012
By: spartanflyking
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Brown twice and have been more than impressed on both trips. I was excited to have a guide close to my age, mid-twenties, who had enough experience to teach a novice. The first trip I booked was with my younger brother. We both required extensive instruction and he never lost patience. It was a very successful fishing trip and the conversation came easily. He was able to relate to my younger brother in college and never missed a beat. I took my 83 year old grandfather on the second trip and don't think it could have gone any better. We again hit the fish pretty hard. My grandfather has been flyfishing for a while and did not need the same instruction I did. Brown did a good job of handling two different stages of fishermen on the boat. My grandfather was most impressed with Brown's knowledge of the river and surrounding areas. He graduated from Sewanee with a background in geology and environmental studies. It was pretty cool to learn more about the river we were fishing! I definitely recommend booking through him and will certainly be going back. He even keeps a blog with current fishing conditions on his website!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly the best Trout Fly Fishing Experience Ever!,
November 6, 2014
By: Bowlus
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:good instructor!
"Brown, is the perfect guide, responded quickly, accommodating me exactly where my skill level was and taught me so much. Also helped me correct my misconceptions with kindness I might add!! Caught my biggest trout on fly on the first catch of the day !! i've been with guides all over the country..no one is better than Brown in my opinion!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Amazing for a 1st timer,
October 27, 2014
By: Asher172
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first time fly fishing, and I just kind of went with my boyfriend because he loves it, did not think I would like it... and I loved it!! Brown was so patient with me and didn't over complicate the teaching process. He set us up to catch tons of fish. I caught more fish than my boyfriend who has fished in Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, all over. Needless to say that kind of made the exerperience. We fished the West Fork of the Pigeon River, and it was just beautiful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome morning,
October 22, 2014
By: Tiny1954
from West Fork Pigeon River, Pigeon, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was superb in his knowledge and assistance, continually providing opportunities to put us on fish. He was professional and easygoing and worked hard to find what the fish were actively taking. We caught over 20 rainbows and brook trout with one of the rainbows being the largest I have ever caught. It was a phenomenal 1/2 day and if Brown is not the best guide in the area, someone will have to prove that to me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome day on the river,
October 22, 2014
By: BrownsFan81
from Durham, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took my girlfriend out fly fishing for the first time and we both had a blast with Brown. Brown is clearly an experienced guide and was able to help us out a lot on our form and point us to the good water.
We spent a half day on the west fork of the Pigeon River and probably caught 14 or 15 fish.
Highly recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing day on the water!,
October 19, 2014
By: Tanglewood828
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My sister and I floated the Watauga with Brown on a gorgeous fall day. My sister had not fly fished in many years and Brown was wonderful as he helped her regain her skills. As she said "The fishing was awesome. It felt so good to be back on the water again." We just had a wonderful time, caught quantities of beautiful trout, and during all the laughter, created memories that will last forever!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10/5/14 Trip,
October 17, 2014
By: WCO3
from North Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Super personalty
"Trip was excellent. Jake Chiles was our guide. Equipment provided was top notch as well as his expertise. We caught lots of fish including to 18" Rainbows"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time,
October 14, 2014
By: jedding
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently went on a girls' weekend with two friends to Asheville and we decided to try something out of our typical routine and go fly fishing. Being city girls we had no idea what to expect and honestly thought we wouldn't catch a thing. On the contrary, we caught too many fish to keep count! Our guide, Jake, was knowledgeable and such a gentleman - he unhooked all of our fish and put up with our school girl squeals when we caught anything. While we loved everything about the weekend, the fishing trip was definitely the highlight!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day on the Watauga,
October 14, 2014
By: dbyrd
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:knowledgeable, personable, patient
"We are new to fly fishing and Brown was recommended by the local Orvis store. We followed the recommendation to float the Watauga and we caught 40 to 50 trout with the largest around 16" great day and great guide. highly recommended"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Trip,
October 13, 2014
By: Woodyqs89
from Chattanooga, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:both worked very hard to assure us of a good trip
"We spent two days fishing with Brown and Jake and had a great time both days. Both Brown and Jake worked hard to get us fish and see that we had a good time.
The location is very good, the Brown Trout guides are excellent - I highly recommend both!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fishing,
August 28, 2014
By: hottytoddy2014
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an awesome day of fishing with Brown Hobson on the river. It was my first time fly fishing in the mountains and I will be sure to go back! Brown is a great guide and truly knows what he is doing. Be sure to go with Brown!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing With the Best!,
August 28, 2014
By: missleigh123
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband, Dick, and I have fished with Brown about 15 times over the past 4 years. We have never had an unsuccessful trip with him; we always catch plenty of fish. On this trip, we had two of our friends along, and Jake was our second guide. Over the course of two days we must have caught 150 fish between the four of us! By the end of the second day I put my rod down at 4:00 p.m. because my arm was so tired! Our friends, to say the least, were impressed and now understand why we are so impressed with Brown. He is so knowledgeable about fishing, the rivers he fishes and he works harder than any guide I have ever fished with. He is also patient and kind and an excellent teacher. We will always choose to fish with Brown whenever we are in Asheville.
Miss Leigh
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic guide and trip!!,
August 26, 2014
By: Brookej49
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown is an extremely talented and patient teacher. My guest and I were both beginner fly fisherman, and Brown was very good about teaching us his techniques for success and being patient when we had to be reminded :) He packed us a great lunch that we ate by the river, and we were busy catching rainbow and brown trout all day long! Whether you are experienced or new to fly fishing, Brown will surely provide a fantastic experience for you on the river! I highly recommend him for your next fly fishing adventure"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Browne Hobson,
August 25, 2014
By: reddick
from Quincy, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Browne Hobson from Ashville N.C. is an outstanding trout fishing guide.I have fished with him dozens of times. This past weekend we had a party of four fishing. I allowed my wife and two friends fish with Browne over two consecutive days. I fished with Browne's number one man "Jake the snake." The first day we fished I'm certain I caught fifty trout. This was just a warm up! The next day I caught at least sixty. He told me it wasn't likely to catch fish on dry flies in August but I insisted. I caught 3 fish on dries in about ten minutes. He taught me the great importance of the use of #20 and #22 size nymphs and midges. especially Zebras. I have fished with Browne Hobson who lined me up with Jake dozens of times. I was not disappointed. Please see my previous recommendation for Browne. Best trout fishing east of the rocky mountains and, for numbers, anywhere. If Browne is not available or if you have more than 2 anglers don't hesitate to go with Jake.
Hilliard Reddick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brown Trout Fishing,
August 21, 2014
By: nedder
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On July 21 Brown Hobson bravely took on a three generation group of novice trout fisherman and ,along with fellow guide Jake, provided them with a truly memorable experience. We were met promptly at7AM, transported to the Davidson River in western NC, outfitted with clean, perfectly fitted waders and boots, given basic instruction and turned loose. With the guides always readily available, each of the six in our group caught trout, enjoyed the beautiful setting, wolfed down the delicious provided lunch, tolerated without whimper the rain , returned home tired, happy, completely satisfied with our experience. Brown Trout Fly Fishing is enthusiastically recommended.
Ned Bryan"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fishing,
August 20, 2014
By: NedJr
from Greensboro, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guy, and very patient
"My father put this trip together for his children and grandchildren. Ages ranged from 16 to 78. Only one in the group had fly-fished before. We had a really great day on the Davidson River in Brevard. It rained on us most of the day, but the fish didn't seem to mind! We were outfitted with boots and light weight chest waders which kept us warm and dry. Our group split up, with Brown taking 3 and Jake taking the other 3. There is still some discussion as to which group caught the most fish, but I think it was mine! Really a lot of fun, and certainly a beautiful river!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davidson River - August 2014,
August 11, 2014
By: WFish
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Brown took three of us on a fly fishing trip on the Davidson River in August...not exactly prime time to fish. To our great surprise and enjoyment, Brown had us catching fish all morning long. This particular stretch of the river was very heavily fished that day and most anglers were struggling but not us! Two of us landed brown trout in excess of 18". All told we probably caught 30+ fish that day between the 3 of us. If you want to fish in the Eastern NC area and catch fish, BIG fish, call Brown Trout Fly Fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Water,
August 11, 2014
By: YSR1972
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Brown was very knowledgeable and very personable. Davidson river was beautiful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
August 11, 2014
By: Cowart
from Greenville, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad and I just got back from our fourth trip with Brown, and once again we had a great day. Brown is prepared for anything that can be thrown his way. Most importantly, Brown knows where the fish are and how to catch them. His number is the only one you need for fly fishing in the Asheville area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
August 11, 2014
By: ESVAStripers
from Onancock, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was great. Upon meeting we moved quickly to get fishing, despite my best attempt to get my line horribly tangled before leaving the parking lot. Brown remained patient and quickly resolved all the issues that presented themselves. The river was congested that day, but he remained professional and laid back at the same time, and put us right on fish that surpassed in size and fight. Brown's knowledge of everything trout is extensive. He provides easy to follow instructional tips and advice that translates to better fishing down the road. Great trip all around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes