Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC

Brown Trout Fly Fishing is the Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Company of Brown Hobson. I specialize in guiding and teaching fly fishing for trout and smallmouth in western North Carolina and east Tennessee. Asheville, North Carolina is the epicenter of Southeastern trout fishing and we have more - and more diverse - trout streams within an hour's drive than anywhere around. You will be more than pleased after your fly-fishing trip or lesson and I can cater any trip to fit your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
66 of 66(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Review 1 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Water,
October 8, 2012
By: spartanflyking
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Brown twice and have been more than impressed on both trips. I was excited to have a guide close to my age, mid-twenties, who had enough experience to teach a novice. The first trip I booked was with my younger brother. We both required extensive instruction and he never lost patience. It was a very successful fishing trip and the conversation came easily. He was able to relate to my younger brother in college and never missed a beat. I took my 83 year old grandfather on the second trip and don't think it could have gone any better. We again hit the fish pretty hard. My grandfather has been flyfishing for a while and did not need the same instruction I did. Brown did a good job of handling two different stages of fishermen on the boat. My grandfather was most impressed with Brown's knowledge of the river and surrounding areas. He graduated from Sewanee with a background in geology and environmental studies. It was pretty cool to learn more about the river we were fishing! I definitely recommend booking through him and will certainly be going back. He even keeps a blog with current fishing conditions on his website!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
July 1, 2014
By: FLGAWV
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great time with Brown as our guide. Our group was from experienced to never cast a fly. Brown made sure everyone was on the fish. He spread his time and knowledge at the perfect amount needed for each person. His sense of humor and flexibility were superior to most guides. I will definitely book again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Patience & Expertise,
June 30, 2014
By: Morrellionaire
from Washington, DC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was awesome. He's clearly an expert fly fisherman, but he didn't flaunt it, and when I struggled at times to follow his instructions, he didn't grab the pole and say "this is how it's done," which is probably what I would do. His combination of patience and expertise is incredible, and he's just an easy-going, fun, interesting guy to be around. HIGHLY recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience with Brown,
June 16, 2014
By: mREV
"I can't say enough about the excellent experience I had fishing with Brown on the Davidson River. He put us on trout early and often, knowing the exact runs and patterns to fish. In the first two hours with him, I netted more fish than in what I consider to be a productive entire day on the same river by myself.
Brown's professional yet laid back demeanor was awesome as well. He is just the kind of guy you want to spend a day with on the river. His teaching style is easygoing and his knowledge base is immense. I learned techniques from him that helped me catch fish that morning and have helped me catch them since.
All in all, I couldn't have asked for a better guided experience. I commend Brown for facilitating that experience and I commend him to anyone looking for a guide in the Asheville area. He is top tier."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in the Business,
May 12, 2014
By: Outfitter52
from Monteagle, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own an outdoor specialty retail store in TN and I have been known to be a little picky about my fishing guides. All I need to say is that Brown Hobson is simply the best in the business. His knowledge, expertise, and customer service are by far and away the best I have encountered."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The First Fish and Many More!,
April 23, 2014
By: VBFly22
from durham, nc
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with BrownTrout has been the best experience on the river to date. I had my first catch followed by many more within a few hours. The guide was exceptional- wonderful instructor and so positive! I look forward to learning more about this sport with BrownTrout!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
April 17, 2014
By: 2525
from Boston, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just return from 3 days of fishing with Brown. 2 days floating and 1 wading, I have to say that Brown made the entire experience fantastic. From booking the trip to the actual fishing Brown took care of all of the details. He is a very good instructor and very patient. I caught over 100 fish in 3 days thanks to Brown. I would highly recommend a trip with Brown for anyone at any skill level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Davidson River,
April 15, 2014
By: Jerry71
from Davidson River, Brevard, NC 28768, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Expectations were exceeded on a morning trip to the Davidson River in the Pisgah National Forest. Jake Chiles was an excellent guide who was a wealth of information on the area and gave welcome suggestions on technique that were helpful and produced results. It was a rainy and damp day, but Jake was able to find the right combination to make for a successful day. Fish were beautiful, fat and healthy. Strongly recommend Brown Trout Fly Fishing and Jake."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watauga April 2014,
April 1, 2014
By: twalk
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished a solo float on the Watauga all day with Brown. This guy is awesome. I have fly fished all over the country for all kinds of fish, and I learned more today, from simple tips anyone could use to more complicated advice, than in all the other trips combined. Even though the fishing was a little slow, we caught one or two nice fish in every fishable section, netting 25+ for the day. The guy's just a pro and I would recommend him for all skill and age levels."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Ever,
March 25, 2014
By: catdoc
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family and I had a great time fly fishing with Brown. I had never fly fished before. Brown gave great instruction to a beginner and also fine tuned more advanced fishing with my son. We had such a great time the first day, we scheduled another full day of fishing. Brown's experience with the local rivers brought us great return. We caught brown, rainbow and brook trout. My son got his largest ever rainbow at over 20 inches. We will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the West Fork!,
March 9, 2014
By: TommyBatewell
from Fort Mill, SC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I'd highly recommend a guided fly fishing trip with Brown Trout Fly Fishing if you are visiting Western NC. As a Christmas gift I got my son Ryley a guided trip with Brown and it was a great day on the West Fork of the Pigeon River outside Asheville, NC this past Saturday. Brown is very knowledgeable and spent quality time showing Ry advanced fly fishing techniques. Ry probably caught 40 trout during the trip including a memorable rainbow trout. Thanks Brown for making Ry's trip one he will remember for a long time!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day,
February 27, 2014
By: MarkBennett
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Awesome
"I'm from Colorado and have fished around the country. This was a day that I will never forget. Brown is a GREAT guide. Don't miss a chance. The fishing is great in Feb. when there are a few nice days."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just the ticket.,
February 26, 2014
By: Hippshott
from Saluda, NC 28773, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This trip provided the guide experience I was looking for. Nice guy, personable, & willing to lend a hand to help an old man climb the steep slopes of some of the small rivers we fished.
We had a good day, I learned some new techniques, we exchanged fishing stories, (I'm way older than Brown so more experience w/stretching the truth), and he was clearly only interested in seeing that I had a good time. The only time he put a fly in the water all day was when I asked him to demonstrate a new type of cast to me. My criteria for measuring how a trip went is how long did the day seem. If it seems to take forever for 5:00 to get there, it's not a good trip. This day flew by and it was time to go home before I knew it. Thanks to Brown for a really nice day on the water.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hooked on Fly Fishing,
November 12, 2013
By: djcoot
"Great all day wading trip with Brown Hobson at West Fork Pigeon River.
First experience for my son an dI. We are hooked now. Brown is a great instructor. Can't wait for the next trip.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful day on the Watauga,
October 25, 2013
By: MyFishingDaywithBrown
"Brown Hobson guided us on the Watauga River in east Tennessee and what a day it was. Brown is very knowledgeable, patient and focused both on catching fish and having his clients enjoy a wonderful outing. He is very knowledgeable about where to find fish, what to fish with and what it takes for his customers to have a wonderful experience. He is very patient, always coaching and teaching to improve customer technique. Besides his general and comprehensive knowledge of fish, fish feeding habits and the natural setting he knew where to find fish. Through his coaching I landed a magnificent 20 inch rainbow and many smaller ones. With his customer focus Brown had packed us a wonderful lunch making the day all the more fun. Great guy, great experience and i would highly recommend anyone young or old going with him. My only advice is that you book early as it is hard to get on his schedule."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ultimate fishing experience!,
October 19, 2013
By: mattc130
from Louisville, KY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our guide went to extreme efforts to make sure that we had a memorable and fun time catching trout. We had an inexperience angler with us that had never fly fished. Brown has the patience and expertise to educate to make an outing fun and exciting. You will always catch fish and large trout with Brown. He is well educated and has a passion for making sure his guests receive the personal attention for their trip. You will not be disappointed for money will spent. Experienced anglers will definitely learn to fine tune this angling abilities. He is a must guide to have fishing in the North Carolina area.
I went on this trip not only to have fun, but to have an open mind to learn and hone my fishing skills.
One can really appreciate fishing with Brown; after learning that he recently finished 16th in the USA National Fly Fishing Competition. Kudos to you Brown !
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
October 18, 2013
By: remyfish
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was an excellent guide. My wife and I had no experience fly fishing, but he taught us how and had us catching a lot of fish by the end of the day. I hope to come back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible trip!,
October 14, 2013
By: Bobdun
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown, thank you for a fantastic trout fishing trip on the Watauga River this past September. Being a novice and not having used a fly rod for over 20 years proved to be no problem with your patience and teaching skills. The boat and equipment was first class, the fishing was fantastic, the lunch was great and most of all I enjoyed being with you. I look forward to our next trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip Ever,
October 11, 2013
By: Fisherman22
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We were lucky to have Brown Hobson as our guide and we caught lots of trout! The equipment was first class, Brown's knowledge and instruction was outstanding and our lunch was fantastic. The trip was better than a recent fly fishing trip in Colorado! We will return again rather than heading out West. Fishing with Brown Trout Fly Fishing was the best experience ever!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Watauga River float trip,
September 27, 2013
By: Finznfeatherz
from Salisbury, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Phenomenal float trip on the Watauga river. Caught many rainbows and browns including the biggest brown I have ever caught! Brown will put you on the fish and gives great instruction!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes