Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC

Brown Trout Fly Fishing is the Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Company of Brown Hobson. I specialize in guiding and teaching fly fishing for trout and smallmouth in western North Carolina and east Tennessee. Asheville, North Carolina is the epicenter of Southeastern trout fishing and we have more - and more diverse - trout streams within an hour's drive than anywhere around. You will be more than pleased after your fly-fishing trip or lesson and I can cater any trip to fit your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
77
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
77 of 77(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Review 1 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Water,
October 8, 2012
By: spartanflyking
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Brown twice and have been more than impressed on both trips. I was excited to have a guide close to my age, mid-twenties, who had enough experience to teach a novice. The first trip I booked was with my younger brother. We both required extensive instruction and he never lost patience. It was a very successful fishing trip and the conversation came easily. He was able to relate to my younger brother in college and never missed a beat. I took my 83 year old grandfather on the second trip and don't think it could have gone any better. We again hit the fish pretty hard. My grandfather has been flyfishing for a while and did not need the same instruction I did. Brown did a good job of handling two different stages of fishermen on the boat. My grandfather was most impressed with Brown's knowledge of the river and surrounding areas. He graduated from Sewanee with a background in geology and environmental studies. It was pretty cool to learn more about the river we were fishing! I definitely recommend booking through him and will certainly be going back. He even keeps a blog with current fishing conditions on his website!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fishing,
August 28, 2014
By: hottytoddy2014
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had an awesome day of fishing with Brown Hobson on the river. It was my first time fly fishing in the mountains and I will be sure to go back! Brown is a great guide and truly knows what he is doing. Be sure to go with Brown!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing With the Best!,
August 28, 2014
By: missleigh123
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband, Dick, and I have fished with Brown about 15 times over the past 4 years. We have never had an unsuccessful trip with him; we always catch plenty of fish. On this trip, we had two of our friends along, and Jake was our second guide. Over the course of two days we must have caught 150 fish between the four of us! By the end of the second day I put my rod down at 4:00 p.m. because my arm was so tired! Our friends, to say the least, were impressed and now understand why we are so impressed with Brown. He is so knowledgeable about fishing, the rivers he fishes and he works harder than any guide I have ever fished with. He is also patient and kind and an excellent teacher. We will always choose to fish with Brown whenever we are in Asheville.
Miss Leigh
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic guide and trip!!,
August 26, 2014
By: Brookej49
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown is an extremely talented and patient teacher. My guest and I were both beginner fly fisherman, and Brown was very good about teaching us his techniques for success and being patient when we had to be reminded :) He packed us a great lunch that we ate by the river, and we were busy catching rainbow and brown trout all day long! Whether you are experienced or new to fly fishing, Brown will surely provide a fantastic experience for you on the river! I highly recommend him for your next fly fishing adventure"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Browne Hobson,
August 25, 2014
By: reddick
from Quincy, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Browne Hobson from Ashville N.C. is an outstanding trout fishing guide.I have fished with him dozens of times. This past weekend we had a party of four fishing. I allowed my wife and two friends fish with Browne over two consecutive days. I fished with Browne's number one man "Jake the snake." The first day we fished I'm certain I caught fifty trout. This was just a warm up! The next day I caught at least sixty. He told me it wasn't likely to catch fish on dry flies in August but I insisted. I caught 3 fish on dries in about ten minutes. He taught me the great importance of the use of #20 and #22 size nymphs and midges. especially Zebras. I have fished with Browne Hobson who lined me up with Jake dozens of times. I was not disappointed. Please see my previous recommendation for Browne. Best trout fishing east of the rocky mountains and, for numbers, anywhere. If Browne is not available or if you have more than 2 anglers don't hesitate to go with Jake.
Hilliard Reddick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brown Trout Fishing,
August 21, 2014
By: nedder
from Asheville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On July 21 Brown Hobson bravely took on a three generation group of novice trout fisherman and ,along with fellow guide Jake, provided them with a truly memorable experience. We were met promptly at7AM, transported to the Davidson River in western NC, outfitted with clean, perfectly fitted waders and boots, given basic instruction and turned loose. With the guides always readily available, each of the six in our group caught trout, enjoyed the beautiful setting, wolfed down the delicious provided lunch, tolerated without whimper the rain , returned home tired, happy, completely satisfied with our experience. Brown Trout Fly Fishing is enthusiastically recommended.
Ned Bryan"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day of Fishing,
August 20, 2014
By: NedJr
from Greensboro, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guy, and very patient
"My father put this trip together for his children and grandchildren. Ages ranged from 16 to 78. Only one in the group had fly-fished before. We had a really great day on the Davidson River in Brevard. It rained on us most of the day, but the fish didn't seem to mind! We were outfitted with boots and light weight chest waders which kept us warm and dry. Our group split up, with Brown taking 3 and Jake taking the other 3. There is still some discussion as to which group caught the most fish, but I think it was mine! Really a lot of fun, and certainly a beautiful river!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davidson River - August 2014,
August 11, 2014
By: WFish
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Brown took three of us on a fly fishing trip on the Davidson River in August...not exactly prime time to fish. To our great surprise and enjoyment, Brown had us catching fish all morning long. This particular stretch of the river was very heavily fished that day and most anglers were struggling but not us! Two of us landed brown trout in excess of 18". All told we probably caught 30+ fish that day between the 3 of us. If you want to fish in the Eastern NC area and catch fish, BIG fish, call Brown Trout Fly Fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Water,
August 11, 2014
By: YSR1972
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Brown was very knowledgeable and very personable. Davidson river was beautiful."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
August 11, 2014
By: Cowart
from Greenville, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dad and I just got back from our fourth trip with Brown, and once again we had a great day. Brown is prepared for anything that can be thrown his way. Most importantly, Brown knows where the fish are and how to catch them. His number is the only one you need for fly fishing in the Asheville area."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
August 11, 2014
By: ESVAStripers
from Onancock, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was great. Upon meeting we moved quickly to get fishing, despite my best attempt to get my line horribly tangled before leaving the parking lot. Brown remained patient and quickly resolved all the issues that presented themselves. The river was congested that day, but he remained professional and laid back at the same time, and put us right on fish that surpassed in size and fight. Brown's knowledge of everything trout is extensive. He provides easy to follow instructional tips and advice that translates to better fishing down the road. Great trip all around."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great "father-son" experience,
August 4, 2014
By: flys4trout
from Charlotte, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 15 year old son and I spent the day with Brown as our guide/teacher on the Davidson. Not only is he extremely knowledgeable and a patient teacher, he understood the balance of a great father son experience. We walked away with some great catches including some tips that improved our fishing skills. I'd recommend him (and have) to anyone headed his way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing,
July 1, 2014
By: FLGAWV
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a great time with Brown as our guide. Our group was from experienced to never cast a fly. Brown made sure everyone was on the fish. He spread his time and knowledge at the perfect amount needed for each person. His sense of humor and flexibility were superior to most guides. I will definitely book again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Patience & Expertise,
June 30, 2014
By: Morrellionaire
from Washington, DC, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Brown was awesome. He's clearly an expert fly fisherman, but he didn't flaunt it, and when I struggled at times to follow his instructions, he didn't grab the pole and say "this is how it's done," which is probably what I would do. His combination of patience and expertise is incredible, and he's just an easy-going, fun, interesting guy to be around. HIGHLY recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Experience with Brown,
June 16, 2014
By: mREV
"I can't say enough about the excellent experience I had fishing with Brown on the Davidson River. He put us on trout early and often, knowing the exact runs and patterns to fish. In the first two hours with him, I netted more fish than in what I consider to be a productive entire day on the same river by myself.
Brown's professional yet laid back demeanor was awesome as well. He is just the kind of guy you want to spend a day with on the river. His teaching style is easygoing and his knowledge base is immense. I learned techniques from him that helped me catch fish that morning and have helped me catch them since.
All in all, I couldn't have asked for a better guided experience. I commend Brown for facilitating that experience and I commend him to anyone looking for a guide in the Asheville area. He is top tier."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best in the Business,
May 12, 2014
By: Outfitter52
from Monteagle, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I own an outdoor specialty retail store in TN and I have been known to be a little picky about my fishing guides. All I need to say is that Brown Hobson is simply the best in the business. His knowledge, expertise, and customer service are by far and away the best I have encountered."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The First Fish and Many More!,
April 23, 2014
By: VBFly22
from durham, nc
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing with BrownTrout has been the best experience on the river to date. I had my first catch followed by many more within a few hours. The guide was exceptional- wonderful instructor and so positive! I look forward to learning more about this sport with BrownTrout!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic,
April 17, 2014
By: 2525
from Boston, MA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just return from 3 days of fishing with Brown. 2 days floating and 1 wading, I have to say that Brown made the entire experience fantastic. From booking the trip to the actual fishing Brown took care of all of the details. He is a very good instructor and very patient. I caught over 100 fish in 3 days thanks to Brown. I would highly recommend a trip with Brown for anyone at any skill level."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Day on the Davidson River,
April 15, 2014
By: Jerry71
from Davidson River, Brevard, NC 28768, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Expectations were exceeded on a morning trip to the Davidson River in the Pisgah National Forest. Jake Chiles was an excellent guide who was a wealth of information on the area and gave welcome suggestions on technique that were helpful and produced results. It was a rainy and damp day, but Jake was able to find the right combination to make for a successful day. Fish were beautiful, fat and healthy. Strongly recommend Brown Trout Fly Fishing and Jake."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Brown Trout Fly Fishing, LLC., NC
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
watauga April 2014,
April 1, 2014
By: twalk
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fished a solo float on the Watauga all day with Brown. This guy is awesome. I have fly fished all over the country for all kinds of fish, and I learned more today, from simple tips anyone could use to more complicated advice, than in all the other trips combined. Even though the fishing was a little slow, we caught one or two nice fish in every fishable section, netting 25+ for the day. The guy's just a pro and I would recommend him for all skill and age levels."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes