Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Madison Valley Ranch, MT

Situated on the banks of the Madison River just 3 miles north of Ennis, our location offers anglers unparalleled access to all the best blue-ribbon fly fishing in southwestern Montana. A short walk out the back door will find you casting to rising fish in the famous "Channels" section of the Madison, fighting large, feisty trout on our private two acre pond, or stalking Jack Creek as it runs through the property. Daily float trips with professional guides on the varied sections of the Madison River keep experts challenged and novices thrilled. Other excellent fishing opportunities available include the Yellowstone, Big Hole, Beaverhead, Gallatin, and Ruby Rivers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
149
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
149 of 149(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
July 27, 2015
By: Betterluckythanskilled
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my third trip, this time with my brothers, son & nephews. As usual, we were treated like royalty. The day we arrived, Anne stayed out at the pond until 9:00 PM helping my brothers and nephews learn a little bit about casting. You will never find more wonderful people. Oh yeah, we had a good time fishing too. We caught a lot of fish and a few really nice ones. I will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Return Customer,
July 27, 2015
By: ChuckD54
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:They were excellent
"I visited for my third time but this time I included my entire family: wife, daughter and two sons. Everyone had a wonderful time from the first greeting from Elizabeth upon arrival, to the last minute fishing in the pond before we departed. The food was wonderful, the fishing was plentiful and you can't say enough about the views and relaxing atmosphere of the Ranch. Elizabeth and Scott have a fantastic staff that really knows how to make you feel comfortable while you enjoy all that the Ranch has to offer. My real joy came from listening to my family each night sharing their stories of the day and showing pictures of what they caught.
Thanks again to Elizabeth, Scott, their staff and of course the wonderful guides that made catching trout seem easy.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lodge and Fishing Experience,
July 26, 2015
By: Gkour
from Chappaqua, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guide
"Our vacation started at the steps of the lodge. We were graciously greeted by Elizebth, the lodge manager. She was there with a refreshment and information about the lodge and river conditions. That evening we were introduced to other lodge guests. A gourmet meal was expertly prepared by Chef Scott. The next day we rose to a wonderful breakfast. The guides met us to begin a great day of fishing on the river. We highly recommend this lodge and have been visiting it religiously for the last five years. Enjoy!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Terrific,
July 22, 2015
By: SoCalBob
from Southern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide, very experienced and patient. Cared about the experience and provided guidance where needed.
"From the moment of our arrival to the departure, we were absolutely pleased and amazed at the level of service and attention to detail. Elizabeth, Scott and the team were very organized and attentive without being overbearing. The guide, Nate Stavane, was the best instructor I've experienced and knew how to coach us in the art of fly fishing. This was an absolutely fantastic experience and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy the beautiful Montana country and great fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
July 21, 2015
By: bigdave4
from Chester Springs, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I have visited other Orvis endorsed lodges in the past, but found the Madison Valley Ranch unequaled. Accommodations were great and the lodge extremely clean. The staff to guest ratio was very high. We were greeted at our car upon arrival and after fishing each day by a very high energy lodge manager. The manager(s), chef, sous chef, servers, etc. always went out of their way to take care of our needs. The food belongs in a four star restaurant.
In spite of temperatures in the mid nineties the week before we arrived and the lack of snow this past winter, fishing on the Madison was good. Lots of large rainbows and browns. Guides worked extremely hard to find fish and assure that we had a great day.
The Madison Valley Ranch is on our itinerary for one of our future summer fishing trips to Montana."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Trout Adventure,
July 19, 2015
By: Walter4stl
from Greenville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The guides work hard for this. The clients owe much of the experience to them.
"I would like the readers to know, that the Madison Valley Ranch is beyond compare, in terms of caring and professional staff, top shelf private accomodations, five star cuisine and impecable location. I came with no fishing gear and they allowed me to use the latest Orvis models the
entire trip. All guide
coordination was absolutely
effortless on my part. The
guides were of the highest
caliber I have encountered anywhere. If I was looking to go fish the Madison River Valley or other locations nearby, this would be my choice for accomodations. A truely rewarding experience. I hope to find myself there again very soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like visiting old friends,
July 19, 2015
By: RogueRiverFlyFishers
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent accommodations. Great food. Wonderful service by our hostess and all of the staff. As abonus the fishing was outstanding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another amazing experience at MVR,
July 17, 2015
By: JBFish
from NY State
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Amazing accommodations, cuisine, guides and fishing.
"Orvis Lodge of the year 2015, a well deserved award. This was our fourth trip to the MVR. When we arrived we were treated like family. We were enthusiastically greeted by Elizabeth, the lodge manager. She helped us with our luggage to our room, the Big Hole. It was very charming, clean and comfortable. The dishes prepared for meals by chef Scott and sous chef Matt were always very creative and very well presented from appetizers through desserts. Eye candy indeed. We always enjoy chatting with fellow guests about the days fishing at the cocktail hour prior to dinner. Our guides were hard working (despite the unusually hot weather), knowledgeable, and very personable. We have requested these two fantastic men every year we go to MVR. We caught all sizes of fish indicating a healthy Madison River. We were treated to an amazing full moon rise over the mountain range one evening, an amazing photo opportunity! We can't wait for 2016 and a 5th trip to MVR. Great job owners and staff!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The BEST,
July 16, 2015
By: Berg
from Wilmington, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Very simply it could not have been better. If you like to fish and want to be treated wonderfully this the place for you. First day on the water we boated 48 rainbow and brown trout, second day 37.
Then you come back to the ranch and have drink and a great diner!!!!!
COULD NOT BE BETTER.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
July 14, 2015
By: dandjjohnson
from Wallace, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We love MVR! They are outgoing, friendly, helpful, and serve the best food ever, as well all the beer and wine you could want. The fishing at their pond is fun and Elizabeth, the manager, will refresh your fly fishing skills so you can catch those trout. We have been there twice and have already booked a trip for next year. We have gone drift boat fishing on the Madison River both times and have been thrilled. Our guide Tony was very patient with us, as one of us is very much a novice. We caught plenty of fish to our delight. MVR is a wonderful place to stay. It is truly comfortable and so accommodating. Elizabeth and her husband Scott, the chef, have become friends now who we want to go back to see. MVR is a great Orvis lodge!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Perfect Stay at MVR,
July 12, 2015
By: MichaelTS
from Los Angeles
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The old saying "you can't go home again" proves false when visiting the Madison Valley Ranch. My wife and I stayed there this past June after an absolutely wonderful visit in October, 2014. Our June visit was just as wonderful, made even better by the long Montana evenings that allow the amazing MVR happy hour to be held outside on the lodge porch. The first-class selection of warm appetizers and free-flowing wines are an excellent preview of the gourmet meals. At every dinner either Elizabeth or Caitlin sit in at one of the dining tables, a real treat for the guests. If anything, dinners were even better than our first visit. As aside note, portion sizes are perfect. We stayed in a different unit from our earlier visit and the room was very plush as well as quiet. No matter which room you stay in, it will be comfortable. Every need is attended to at MVR including waders so you can travel lighter. The guides at MVR really put out effort for their clients. All gear is available if you do not have rods, etc. MVR provides a sandwich menu every evening at dinner for guests to choose their next day stream lunch. Really a nice touch to have that kind of choice. We have stayed at Western fly fishing lodges since 1990 and none has ever surpassed Madison Valley Lodge. From personal experience I know choosing a lodge can be anxiety provoking. Most of us only get one trip per year. Do yourself a favor - don't sweat this decision, just go to MVR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best experience in 17 years,
July 9, 2015
By: flyfishingatty
from Albany, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:wading trip on the Willow creek was incredible
"I and my friends have been going to the Madison Valley Ranch for about 17 years-our trip in June wa the best in terms of fishing experience,food,and overall treatment-the Ranch deserved its rating as Orvis lodge of the year-we will be back -Ira Mendleson III"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Great,
July 5, 2015
By: regors13
from Placerville, CO 81430, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have been to other Orvis Lodges and find Madison Valley the best we have experienced. Staff and Elizabeth are the greatest. Elizabeth even had a Moose outside the front door for picture taking."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great return trip,
July 3, 2015
By: casper966
from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very knowledgeable with 16 yrs experience, yet with the enthusiasm of a kid in a candy store.
"After a very enjoyable experience here in September 2014,I booked a return in June 2015. I was not disappointed. The only difference was a heightened familiarity and ease of acclimation. This lodge and its staff are top notch-friendly, professional, knowledgeable, and thorough in all that they do. One could not ask for more from them. The accomodations are very comfortable, the staff friendly, the food and beverage delicious, fishing active and productive, and guides accommodating. Nothing was left for want."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch,
June 29, 2015
By: Tgorab
from Denver CO
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Top notch across the board - food, staff, location, accommodations, gear."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
May was great!,
May 18, 2015
By: eBroussard
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"good water...beautiful fresh fish"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
May 18, 2015
By: ELC03
from Fort Worth, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a bucket list, must-do, for trout fishing enthusiasts. The fishing experience is much better than the famous Green River in Utah and the Ranch staff and amenities are top-notch. You leave with lifetime memories and new friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip at MVR,
May 10, 2015
By: Romeflyer
from Rome, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guides
"First trip to MVR with friends. This was our first trip to the Madison River and we all had little to no experience fly fishing. All the gear can be provided if you do not bring your own. The hospitality and services provided are outstanding. Elizabeth made us feel right at home and could help us with any request. Scott and Matt provided great meals which were paired with great wine and local beer. The guides were very helpful and provided us with the instruction we needed to get on the water and have a great time and of course catch plenty of fish! We hope to return soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible as always!,
October 25, 2014
By: EMMitchell
from Cartersville, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Brandon and Gunnar were excellent. We would fish with both again without any hesitation.
"This year was our 7th (or 8th?) trip to Madison Valley Ranch and we have never been disappointed. The quality in all aspects of the ranch experience is consistent and there truly is no area in which it is lacking. Every visit we have had there has been perfect and that is due in no small part to the team of Elizabeth and Scott Warren. Between Elizabeth's energy, friendliness and love for shared fishing stories and Scott's unbelievable meals they make Madison Valley a truly special and unique place to visit. I would highly recommend Madison Valley Ranch to anyone heading to this area of Montana to fish. You absolutely cannot go wrong by choosing MVR!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best lodge ever,
October 17, 2014
By: MichaelTS
from Los Angeles
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:See you in 2015!
"My wife and I have been going to Western fishing lodges since 1990 and MVR is simply the best. A really good lodge excels in so much more than a great river, which the Madison certainly is. MVR provided outstanding service( airport pickup for ex.) top-notch cuisine that rivals LA restaurants, liberal beer/wine of high quality, super comfortable accommodations and perfect guides. Dinner is family style seating which provides a very conversational meal. Each nights menu(printed, of course)was superbly prepared and appropriately portioned. Of course the floating on the Madison is great but one can also wade fish the "braids" in solitude after a 15 minute walk from the lodge. Another great touch: MVR supplies waders so you can leave that bulky item at home! The people who work for the lodge are incredibly upbeat, a real bonus. Our guide (Chris) was so knowledgeable and patient. In summary, MVR provided the best fly fishing lodge experience in 25 years."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes