Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Madison Valley Ranch, MT

Situated on the banks of the Madison River just 3 miles north of Ennis, our location offers anglers unparalleled access to all the best blue-ribbon fly fishing in southwestern Montana. A short walk out the back door will find you casting to rising fish in the famous "Channels" section of the Madison, fighting large, feisty trout on our private two acre pond, or stalking Jack Creek as it runs through the property. Daily float trips with professional guides on the varied sections of the Madison River keep experts challenged and novices thrilled. Other excellent fishing opportunities available include the Yellowstone, Big Hole, Beaverhead, Gallatin, and Ruby Rivers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
121
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
121 of 121(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madison Memories,
September 15, 2014
By: SwimmingSven
from Encinitas, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"MVR is the finest trophy lodge trout fishing experience of my half century life! The lodge staff and fishing guides are superlative--you will not find better attention to detail, kindness, patience and ear to ear smiles west of the Mississippi..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Managed Fishing Lodge,
September 15, 2014
By: Web54
from Delafield, WI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very experienced and committed to meeting our needs
"Each year my son and I go on a fly fishing trip together. This year was our sixth tripand we chose Madison Valley Ranch. It has been by far the best lodge experience we have had in all our trips. The fishing was also fantastic but the attention to detail and friendliness of Elizabeth and the rest of the lodge personnel was extrodinary.The opportunity to meet other lodge guest really made our vacation special and the day fishing complete. The guide service was also outstanding with great attention paid to our specific needs. The beauty of the Madison River and Yellowstone river was second to none. All in all we will defintely return to this location in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing!,
September 14, 2014
By: SReddy
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The ranch was all that was promised and more. The facilities and staff are top notch. Fishing was excellent. My only complaint is that the food and wine were so good I gained about 10lbs.
Can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of the list...,
September 12, 2014
By: KCflyfish
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just returned from my fourth trip at MVR and it was as spectacular as ever! Great accomodations, great food, great atmosphere and of course, great fishing. Elizabeth and Scott are without equal and go to great lengths to ensure a first class experience...can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great first experience,
September 10, 2014
By: cnmf
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the first fly fishing experience. My son and I could not have picked a better spot than the Madison Valley Ranch. The lodging, service and food are first rate and Elizabeth's enthusiasm and attention to all details truly make this place special."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The finest lodge in the world,
September 7, 2014
By: Tobyjr
from Rome, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:From MVR you can fish the Madison, Yellowstone, Big Hole, Beaverhead, Ruby, Jefferson, and the spring creeks near Livingston.
"I have fished in Alaska, Canada, Brazil, Argentina, and all over Montana but MVR is home and my favorite place to fish. The lodge is well placed next to the Madison River, the food is excellent, the fellow fishermen are always interesting, but most of all Elizabeth and Scott Warren make me and my family feel at home. They have become family. No other place can compare."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great father/son trip,
September 6, 2014
By: Bill234
from Sacramento
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 16 year old son and I traveled to the Madison Valley Ranch near Ennis Montana in mid-July, 2014. We were sold on MVR based on its reviews and on our initial phone discussions with the lodge manager, Elizabeth Warren.
Upon arrival, we were even more impressed -- the lodge is on a beautiful piece of property, very close to the "Channels" section of the Madison River, which you should wade fish if you can. It's beautiful in there. There is also a pond on the property with very large trout -- the perfect place to practice.
The lodge itself is clean and well-maintained. The beds are comfortable, and the service is perfect. The dining room serves 20 plus, and the kitchen next door, run by Elizabeth's husband Scott, turns out incredibly delicious breakfasts and dinners.
Now to the fishing: It was amazing. We were on a drift boat for four days, fishing different sections of the Madison each time, with some sections overlapping with portions of others. Each sectioned offered unique turns and waters on the Madison. Our favorite guides were Brandon, Charlie and Joe. On one day, with Joe, we brought 58 fish into the boat, with numerous beautiful rainbows and browns in the 16-20 inch range. But every day was great and we learned a lot about fly fishing while working this world famous trout fishery. We also enjoyed stopping by the Bear Tooth Fly Shop on our way out every morning.
But no review of the MVR would be complete without highlighting the energy and enthusiasm of lodge manager Elizabeth Warren. She's terrific. Her entire focus is on making sure you are happy. If there is anything she can do to improve your experience, she's on it, and she mingles with guests in the evening, handing out drinks and delivering food as she goes.
All in all, this is simply a great lodge in a great part of our country on a world famous trout river. You should go. We can't wait to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly exceptional experience,
September 6, 2014
By: Pedah3
from Gig harbor, WA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 2nd trip to Madison Valley Ranch. This time brought my wife for her first fly fishing experience.
Even though I've only been once, my wife and I were greeted as if we were life long friends.
Can't adequately describe how truly amazing the entire trip was. From the GREAT staff, wonderful food, very patient guides :-), and incredible natural scenery.
We will both absolutely return to MVR!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family trip to MVR,
August 31, 2014
By: suburbanangler
from Princeton, NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:All guides we had were excellent.
"Took my wife and 3 sons (ages 9-14) to MVR for 3 nights, as part of a weeklong trip to MT. Fantastic time! Fished the Madison for two days, in two boats. Fishing was excellent, guides were great and very patient with the kids. The boys enjoyed fishing on the lodge's trout pond for practice. The lodge is very comfortable, the food excellent, and best of all is the service. Elizabeth, the lodge manager, is great, super friendly and very knowledgeable about the fishing opportunities and other activities available. Something for everyone here - my wife was out for her morning run prior to breakfast. Very close to Ennis to walk around town. The kids were asking when we could return to Montana after our arrival home. Would return to MVR without hesitation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fishing lodge,
August 22, 2014
By: flyfishingatty
from Albany, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My group of 6 has been coming to the Madison Valley Ranch each year for many years and would wholeheartedly recommend it to fisherpersons of all ability and experience-the entire staff and all of our guides are the best and the fishing on the Madison and other rivers is the best in the West-try it,you'll love it !"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madison Valley Ranch,
August 17, 2014
By: bbell123
from Springfield, MO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Joe was great would ask for him
"This is the perfect place to experience Montana fly fishing. The guides are excellent and the services are tremendous. Gourmet food, served in a congenial setting.
Each evening deer file into surrounding fields. Geese and sandhill cranes flock into the same fields. My wife an I spotted moose twice. It was like a game preserve. The staff there is super.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Resort,
August 17, 2014
By: WildPaddler
"Far better than I ever expected! 5-Star staff, food, service, accommodations, and fishing. Great river, big feisty fish, terrific guides, beautiful country. Plenty of wildlife, including a bull moose. Wade fishing the channels in solitude. Wife & I are already planning a stay for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What an experience!!,
August 10, 2014
By: tmossg
from Winston Salem, NC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Classy guys
"I traveled to Madison Valley Ranch with our two sons. They had grown up fly fishing our small N C and Virginia trout streams, but we had never fished big water. Our experience at MVR was wonderful. The staff and amenities were absolutely delightful. The accommodations were first class, and the food was fabulous (you can't believe how good it was); and the fishing - wow. The river (Madison) was beautiful, and it was full of the fattest, hardest fighting trout you can imagine. I could have never conjured up a better experience in my wildest dreams."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Times at Madison Valley Ranch,
August 9, 2014
By: PhxAngler
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Madison Valley Ranch and a glorious two days on the Madison River with a guide. We caught so many fish and our guide Chris was very good.
Elizabeth and the staff at the Ranch always provided top notch service and made us feel very much at home. The accommodations and the food were excellent.
We look forward to coming back.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding!,
August 7, 2014
By: WAMMD
from Kalispell, MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Superb
"As experienced fishermen, my colleague and I anticipated a good time. However, we had a fantastic experience!! The lodging, meals, settings and fellowship exceeded our highest expectations. The "added value" was our guide. Yes, he guided and he rowed; he also taught and mentored and he demonstrated incredible patience! The entire adventure was a 5-star event!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Times,
August 4, 2014
By: SMZ1
from Orange County, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My brother and I took my dad on his bucket list fishing trip to the Madison Valley Ranch. This was our first time fly fishing and the experience was top notch. The food was excellent, the service even better and the fishing was great. All of us had the time of our lives."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Wonderful Trip!,
August 4, 2014
By: RipSomeLips
from Denver
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Both guides were fantastic. Charlie 's love for the sport is infectious. On both days my son and I caught close to 40 fish in the drift boat!
"Wow...just came back from MVR and what a wonderful time. My son and I have been coming here for our annual summer fishing trip for 4 years. The gourmet cuisine, warm hospitality and exciting fishing keeps us coming back. My son is an avid fly fisherman, and even started tying his own flies...and MVR is the place that got him started."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This must be what heaven is like!,
August 3, 2014
By: Gkour
from Chappaqua, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He is fabulous. I request him every year.
"Who would have thought that the Madison Valley Ranch could improve on perfection, but they keep on impressing us. This was our fourth year at the Ranch. We’re addicted! In fact, we book for the following year within a month of returning back to our home in New York. It offers top notch fishing in the Madison River, impressive accommodations and an exceptionally talented kitchen staff. All are quite hard to duplicate. Elizabeth and Anne make you feel like you’re “coming home” when you arrive. This staff makes a Herculean job appear easy! A heavenly vacation!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Experience I've Had,
August 3, 2014
By: JayZ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Madison Valley Ranch is the best lodge that I have experienced. Elizabeth and her staff are definitely earned and delivered 5 Stars. Everyone made you feel welcomed, the food and fishing was noting less than awesome, the accommodations and guests were all great. Lastly, all the guides that Elizabeth lined up were top notch.
Montana and the Madison Valley Ranch are great and I know that I will be booking another trip.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wet your line here and you'll be hooked for life!,
August 1, 2014
By: BLStokes
from Auburn, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:I have fished throughout the United States, Mexico & Canada ... on Blue Ribbon waters all over .... this is the one place I will return to with my son as well as my clients.
"Madison Valley Ranch is by far the premier fly fishing destination. Whether it's your first time with a rod in hand or an avid caster, this experience is world class. The guides ( hand-picked by lodge manger Elizabeth ) know the water, can tailor to any angler's ability and they deliver big fish ... in numbers! I have had the good fortune to spend time at MVR with friends as well as family, the staff & the kitchen, cater to your every need. Guests are treated to cuisine prepared by a renowned Chef (Scott Warren) and you are never left wanting your favorite glass of wine or cold beer as Elizabeth knows your preference even before you arrive. If you are looking for the fishing adventure of a lifetime with accommodations fit for royalty ... come to the Madison Valley Ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes