Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Madison Valley Ranch, MT

Situated on the banks of the Madison River just 3 miles north of Ennis, our location offers anglers unparalleled access to all the best blue-ribbon fly fishing in southwestern Montana. A short walk out the back door will find you casting to rising fish in the famous "Channels" section of the Madison, fighting large, feisty trout on our private two acre pond, or stalking Jack Creek as it runs through the property. Daily float trips with professional guides on the varied sections of the Madison River keep experts challenged and novices thrilled. Other excellent fishing opportunities available include the Yellowstone, Big Hole, Beaverhead, Gallatin, and Ruby Rivers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
76
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
76 of 76(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memories for a Lifetime,
March 4, 2014
By: JRDLBD
from Boulder, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been returning to the Madison Valley Ranch for many years and decided to take our whole family on a week long trip to the Ranch over the 4th of July. Our family had a trip of a lifetime thanks to the never ending impeccable service by the Lodge Manager Elizabeth, the exquisite cuisine by Chef Scott, and the forever teaching and energetic guide Chris Knott (gentle giant). Chris by far the best guide I have ever had the pleasure of fishing with. The whole week spent over the 4th of July holiday as a family is spoken of frequently and will be forever cherished in our families memories. In fact, our experience was so wonderful that I decided to surprise my family with another week long trip to the Ranch this summer. The tranquil beauty of the Madison Valley and the epic fishing coupled with wonderful guests and service make this place truly one of a kind. I can not speak highly enough of how highly I regard this very special place. Yes, we even named our daughter, Madison, after the river and all that is represents in life."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
November 21, 2013
By: BMItchell
from Cartersville, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Experience,
November 20, 2013
By: AbacoBahamas
from The Bahamas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:The Best!
"Hi: Liz
This is what I wrote to Brian @ MA
I fly fish everywhere we travel and I can without any reservations say that the Madison Valley Ranch and our guide Bill from Montana Anglers were outstanding, an epic 4 day trip!!!!
GM Liz & chef Scott along with Ann and Ashley thought of our needs before we did, outstanding food with pampered service.
My dreams of catching that big brown came true! Thanks again Bill
I do know that " Walter" does exist!!
Live on " Walter " !!
Hope to visit again soon for another epic experience!
Surfer Dude
Bahamas
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps geeting better,
November 16, 2013
By: GR8fishing
from California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow! My third trip to MVR in two years and it just keeps getting better! The pond; fish! Jack Creek; fish! The Channels: fish! The Madison River non-stop fish! Great guides Chris E., Chris C., and Charlie G. My son even broke his rod tip with a fish-on, thank goodness it was an Orvis rod, replaced in a week! Another first class experience with energetic Elizabeth and staff and superb cuisine as usual. Truly a welcoming and warming experience once again. We’ll be back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MVR -Great Experience,
November 13, 2013
By: jbanj
from NJ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The accommodations, the food and wine, the staff, the guides they arrange - none could possibly be any better. A great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 8, 2013
By: MT1stTimer
from Washington, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Fishing, Great Guides, Scott is an amazing chef and Elizabeth is a ball of energy and a lot of fun!!...We will definitely be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat,
October 15, 2013
By: huntfishwork
from Texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Brandon has become a great friend.
"Absolutely everything has been taken into consideration to make this lodge exceptional. Elizabeth and Scott work for an amazing team and are fabulous hosts. The family style meals make me feel as if i am with my family. The scenery can only be found in Montana. The guides are fun and friendly. Superb!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding trip,
October 14, 2013
By: Skull
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Chris Eaton and Gunnar Folsom are hands down two of the best guides out there.
"I first visited MVR in 2006 and after fly fishing all over North America since MVR and it's entire team remain the best lodge and operation I have experienced. If you are looking for the best all around fly fishing experience look no farther than Madison Valley Ranch. I've fished with a lot of guides and no one is better than Chris Eaton and Gunnar Folsom. In addition to the great fishing the company of Elizabeth and culinary magic of chef Scott Warren make the trip all the more exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Fabulous Experience at MVR,
October 13, 2013
By: CinciFlyFishermen
from Cincinnati, OH & Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the 2nd year my son and I vacationed at MVR. Our experience this year was equal to our exceptional experience last year. In addition to great fishing, even though the weather was sometimes a challenge, the staff of MVR continues to be attentive. Elizabeth Warren adds a personal dimension that is unparalled. Her husband, Scott, continues to prepare exceptional culinary selections. And our guide, Rob Kessler, not only showed us the locations where fish are biting, but also patiently took time to help perfect our casting skills. All in all, a fabulous vacation that will provide memories for the rest of the year.
Henry Alder
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fly fishing experience,
October 8, 2013
By: kentuckytroutbum
from Dallas, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This September was our 2nd visit to MVR in a year. The rainbow & brown trout fishing was hot, hot, hot! We fished for 3 days with our guide in a drift boat. Elizabeth & Scott perform an outstanding job taking care of their client, and their chef prepared meals are memorable! We will return again to MVR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Very Best Experience Ever,
September 30, 2013
By: Salmo708
from Hamden, CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:differnt people - all first class
"With my wife, Anne, I spent 1 week at MVR in early September of 2013. Both of us are over 80, and have fished together for Atlantic salmon and trout in Chile, BC, Quebec and all over Montana for many years. We've seen lot of Lodges and a lot of guides. From a facilities, service, and personnel point of view , this was easily the best. It didn't hurt that the fishing was also as good as it gets."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First and best experience in Montana,
September 30, 2013
By: TroutSlayer2013
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent, very understanding
"My wife and I have made many trips to Montana over the years, but this was the first trout fishing trip where we stayed at the first class Madison Valley Ranch. We knew from the first contact with the manager Elizabeth Warren it would be a winner; first impressions were and will be lasting. Elizabeth certianly knows what first class service means, and how important it is to ensure the repeat client. From the facilities, the five-star cuisine (prepared by her husband, Scott), the courtesy and professionalism of the staff, the surroundings, the quality of everything, and certainly the views; there is nothing more to ask or expect. Our guides were different each day, and that was a plus; they were all experts on the river. And all of the guests were made to feel welcome and received the same first class service. This will continue to be our favorite place to stay and visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannot wait to return!,
September 30, 2013
By: Pinkceleste
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The lodge, the food, and the fish! This more than exceeded our expectations. It really was the most wonderful vacation we have ever had. Elizabeth is a fabulous host and Charlie Graham the best teaching guide ever."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MVR - The Best,
September 29, 2013
By: PSguv
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Simply "the best". The MVR's attention to guest is superb, the staff is terrific and the entire experience jsut outstanding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love MVR,
September 28, 2013
By: lovethemadison
from Georgia, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our sixth visit to Madison Valley Ranch. It was as perfect as the previous five; it never disappoints. Elizabeth Warren is very gifted at welcoming guests and assimilating them into the group. She is excited about everyone's fishing experience. We always look forward to being with her. Scott Warren's excellent gourmet breakfasts and dinners are innovative and absolutely delicious. Dave Evans is an outstanding guide and patient fly fishing instructor; he is the guide we have had all six years we have been there. Our accomodations are homey and comfortable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience All-around,
September 27, 2013
By: Motorcyclemaniac
from Lawrenceburg, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our 1st trip to Madison Valley Ranch exceeded our expectations in all areas- food, accommodations, friendliness, location, fishing, guides scenery, fellow guests, etc. We don't know how the experience could have been any better!
Elizabeth is a delightful and very capable hostess and it is obvious she married Scott for his cooking. They make a great team. High marks to MVR in all areas!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven on Earth,
September 24, 2013
By: Tobyjr
from Rome, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Definitely 5 star in all categories
"This was our sixth trip to MVR and was the best. Fishing is always great and well organized, but meeting new/delightful and interesting people makes this lodge very special and unique. Everyone is friendly and relaxed. The food is to die for, even the lunches on the river. Elizabeth and Scott are like members of our family. What a privilege to experience the joys of MVR. We have already made reservations for another week next year which gives us something to look forward to for 12 months."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madison Valley Ranch,
September 18, 2013
By: JBFish
from Ithaca, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was our second visit to the Madison Valley Ranch. Elizabeth is a most gracious and enthusiastic hostess. She was there to greet us warmly when we arrived at the ranch and every day when we returned from our fishing trips. Scott, her husband is the ranches chef. The food was exceptional at every meal. The breakfasts had enough variety to suit everyone. Dinners are a 4 course meal, with amazing creativity and presentation. Various wines are offered with each course. You leave the table very comfortable and satisfied. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. So busy fishing we never had time to use the hot tub!
The guides are outstanding. They ask what type of fishing you want to do (quantity vs quality), and wet vs dry fly. They not only guide but they instruct. It does not matter how long you have been fly fishing, you always learn something new! The guides bring digital cameras from the lodge on every trip. When we return from a day of fishing Elizabeth prints up some pictures of all guests daily experiences. The pictures are available for all the guests to view during the evening cocktail hour. It really brings the guests together as we discuss our fishing experiences of the day. It is like a family reunion, sharing tales of the day.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why We Return,
August 30, 2013
By: Gangofsix
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:See Review
"Nothing renews our spirits like returning to the Madison Valley Ranch. Our first trip was four years ago and we were immediately taken with the location, serenity and beauty of the Ranch. The Madison River is magnificent and the fly fishing experience a privilege.
The Ranch itself is amazing. Starting with Elizabeth Warren, Lodge Manager and Scott Warren, Executive Chef, the staff at the Ranch goes the extra mile to accomodate our every need. Elizabeth is the perfect hostess making us feel welcomed, comfortable and relaxed. Scott is the consumate professional providing incredible cuisine while addressing every dietary restriction imaginable. Together they make sure that no detail is overlooked. From the social gatherings before dinner, to the deluxe accomodations, to the manicured grounds everything is just as it should be. Being at the Ranch allows us to enjoy a first class facility in perfect surroundings.
This year we fished the Madison with five different guides. Each one was better than the next. Over the years, they have become friends. Without exception, they are knowledgeable, top notch, fish-catching professionals.
We also enjyed becoming reacquainted with other returning guests. Obviously, we are not the only ones who think the Madison Valley Ranch is indeed a special place. We recommend it highly!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great time,
August 29, 2013
By: rivermanrife
from cape cod ma.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"GREAT FISHING
GREAT HOSPITALITY
GREAT FOOD
GREAT LODGING
GREAT GUIDE
PLENTY OF WINE
WILL DO IT AGAIN"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes