Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Madison Valley Ranch, MT

Situated on the banks of the Madison River just 3 miles north of Ennis, our location offers anglers unparalleled access to all the best blue-ribbon fly fishing in southwestern Montana. A short walk out the back door will find you casting to rising fish in the famous "Channels" section of the Madison, fighting large, feisty trout on our private two acre pond, or stalking Jack Creek as it runs through the property. Daily float trips with professional guides on the varied sections of the Madison River keep experts challenged and novices thrilled. Other excellent fishing opportunities available include the Yellowstone, Big Hole, Beaverhead, Gallatin, and Ruby Rivers.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
96 of 96(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best lodge experience,
July 20, 2014
By: greatwhiteadventures
from texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Madison valley ranch has it all, great lodging, great fishing, great food, great staff, great guides.
Convenient access through Bozeman, easy shuttle service.
Wildlife, bald and golden eagles, osprey, pronghorn antelope, white tail deer, elk
Montana skies, and pleasant weather
Bring your own or try their Orvis gear.
Nothing is left out, total attention to detail.
a first class, high class experience
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 star Fishing, Food & Accommodations,
July 20, 2014
By: FlyRodgers
from Dallas, tx
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Very experienced and helpful for first timers
"Amazing stay. Elizabeth and her team were fantastic!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW - it does not get any better!,
July 19, 2014
By: shealy
from Wilmington, DE
"OMG - it really does NOT get any better than MVR. From the very first online inquiry to the end of my trip, no detail was overlooked. Elizabeth, Scott, Ann - the entire MVR staff attend to every detail of every guest - always with infectious enthusiasm and a genuine desire to make your stay at MRV unforgettable. The food is amazing - do not miss trying everything - especially dessert!! You'll be a member of the "clean plate" club - promise! The guides from Eaton Outfitters were superb. Having never fly fished before, I was a little nervous about the trip. Julie & Dave were awesome - very patient, knew the river well and where the fish were. I learned a lot and caught a ton of fish! This was the first of many trips I'll make to MVR."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a trip !!!!!!!!!,
July 19, 2014
By: Coalhog1
from Apollo Pa
"My son Adam and I booked this trip, really not knowing what to expect. We did expect to catch fish, but what we found at MVR was so much more than just fishing !! The staff from Elizabeth, Anne, Scott, Matt and all the others made this the trip of a lifetime for a father and son. We sincerely thank them all for a great trip,"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven,
July 14, 2014
By: JV54
from Shavertown, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great
"If Madison Valley Ranch is not Heaven it is a close second. Our week there was perfect and I would not change a thing. The service and food were fantastic. Elizabeth, Scott and the entire MVR team are great. Also, the fishing was off the charts with 60-70 fish days. The guides from Eaton Outfitters, Chris, Brandon, Joe, Scott and the entire team are the best in the world. There is no doubt we will return to MVR and they get my vote for Lodge of the year 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coming Home,
July 12, 2014
By: BeaverBeliever
from Eugene, OR, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"IF there is one thin I look forward to every spring is our annual visit to Madison Valley Ranch. The accomodations, the excellent food and the finest fishing around bring us back every year. THe host Elizabeth Warren is the epitome of what a host should be. Personable, energetic, thorough, great fun are just a few of the adjectives that describe her. She attends to every detail for every guest. She truly makes you feel like you are coming home. If you want big active hungry trout, a wonderful place to relax and meals beyond compare, Madison Valley Ranch is truly home!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely world class!,
July 11, 2014
By: hollywood1266
from Boston MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:not Chris Eaton, then other Chris. World class and a pleasure to be around.
"Can't possibly say enough good things about MVR. As an Orvis endorsed lodge, we arrived with high expectations as it was. Those expectations, on every single facet of the trip, were completely blown out of the water. From the second of our arrival, when Elizabeth sprinted out the door to greet us, to the sad day we had to pack up to go home, Madison Valley Ranch was perfect. Spending 4 days and 5 nights anywhere you would always expect something to not go right, or not be as expected. At MVR? Not a single complaint. Not one. The accommodation, the scenery, the food, the unbelievable 4 course meals every night, and the camaraderie at those meals;everything was perfect. And then there was the fishing. Two complete novices at fly-fishing, and between Elizabeth and our guide Chris we were catching fish within minutes. The most beautiful fish, in the most perfect location. If you're reading reviews of the different lodges, trying to decide where to go, then stop now and call Elizabeth. You won't regret it...GUARANTEED! Elizabeth, Scott and team..thank you for a perfect amazing vacation - absolutely ZERO doubt in my mind that we'll be back - I just need to work out how I can swing it at home without waiting a full year till next summer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What are you waiting for?,
July 11, 2014
By: AnglingToReturn
from New Jersey
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Chris was great, first rate
"Where to start? Everything about Madison Valley Ranch is almost beyond description. From the natural beauty of the Madison Valley to the graciousness of the staff to the excitement of pulling out rainbows and browns from the river to the excellence of each meal to the knowledge of the river guides, everything seems to yell out “COME BACK AGAIN!” The day begins at 6:30 (if you don’t sleep in) for hot coffee in the spacious yet cozy ranch house. Be sure and catch the sun as it crests over the mountains. Even the deer in the nearby field seem to be excited to start the day. A five star breakfast is at 7:30. The pastry is fresh and the bacon is thick and crisp. Have an extra Eggs Benedict…the sauce is extraordinary. Your guide arrives shortly thereafter and you’re good to go. Either Anne or Elizabeth (more about her later) will see you off, wishing you luck and distributing cameras so that you are able to capture the day in fish for pictures in the lodge at cocktail hour. When we hit the river in our boat, I swear that our guide Chris C. had an extra set of eyes and hands for what he was able to accomplish. Swapping out flies, keeping a rainbow trout alive in the water until we could take a picture, control the boat so that our lines fell perfectly (not an easy feat since I had never fly fished before), reminding us to “mend” our lines and (I swear) being able to see the fish before it even knows it’s hungry for our fly. And he’d been guiding for ten years so he knew every inch of the river. His demeanor was patient and encouraging throughout. I would say we had more fun than fish out on the river…and we caught a lot of fish!
Lunch was a ½ sandwich of our choosing, plus cookies and a drink and a granola bar and an apple, etc. – far too much, but always looked forward to and enjoyed. Chris was able to identify every animal either in the air (saw a couple of bald eagles) or on the river bank as well as give us a quick course in the life of the salmon fly that helped us understand why we were using the flies he suggested. (His stories of his winters guiding men into the mountains on horseback and mule to hunt elk is stuff out of a Jack London novel.) Truly amazing guy. Couldn’t have asked for better.
More about the fish. If you are unexperienced as I was, you’ll be up to speed in no time. You’ll soon get a feel for what type of fish you have on your line by the amount of fight it has in it. Out guide was as excited as we were to pull in the gorgeous rainbow and brown trout, always patiently giving us tips to get the fish near the boat so that he could easily net it. Quite often it was necessary to celebrate with a cigar when a really big one was brought on board. Don’t forget to look up every now and then to witness the grandeur of Big Sky Country as you go down river. The beauty of the scenery was a revelation to this Jersey Boy.
After fishing we returned to the ranch mid-afternoon to a welcoming Elizabeth who greeted us on the porch with a beaming “How’d you guys do today?” Her enthusiasm and excitement was truly one of the high points of the day. If you find someone better suited to their job in this world, I’d like to meet them. She has a natural warmth and curiosity that make her the perfect hostess. She’ll offer you a beer or wine from the amply stocked fridges and listen to your fish tales. It was like swapping stories with the prettiest tom-boy who was highly knowledgeable because she has fished the same river.
Cocktail hour and the stories and wine flowed freely. Everyone met new friends from around the country and everyone either had a picture to show or a story of the “one that got away.” No one came away from the day empty handed, though. You bragged about how many fish you pulled into your boat and someone will top you.
And on to dinner… I think it was the four course menu that convinced my wife that I had to go to Madison Valley Ranch. Each course that Scott prepared was the perfect portion and the taste was as astonishing as the seemingly painted sky outside the lodge as dusk slowly approached. The local produce and perfectly prepared duck and fish would not have been out of place at any high-end NYC restaurant. I thought to myself, “I get to fish all day and have an extraordinary meal?” Life is good…and the desserts were great. Of course, Elizabeth saw to our every need including wine, beer, coffee, etc. as we chatted and laughed the meal away.
Conversations were carried on after dinner over cigars and libations on the porch. Be sure and check out the purple mountains majesty on the Fan mountains as night lays restfully into Madison Valley. (A side note…One evening early into dinner as the rain passed out of the valley, the most astonishing double rainbow appeared a field or two over from us. A perfect double rainbow that I swear had three times the amount of colors one normally sees. Well, maybe it was the beer that increased my enjoyment of it.) There’s a river running behind the ranch for late afternoon/dusk fishing as well as a nicely sized stocked pond in front for practicing your cast for the next day. The short sleeve weather in late June made meandering around the property the perfect end to a perfect day.
I’m sure that I’m only mentioning about 50% of what we did and experienced each day. The rooms are neat and tastefully decorated, plenty of hot water, and the amenities all around are first rate. I would heartily recommend scheduling some “r and r” at Madison Valley Ranch. Come for the fish, stay for everything else!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A unique experience!!!,
July 10, 2014
By: calflyfisher
from Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide and teacher
"We make flyfishing lodge visits to Montana a yearly event, and the Madison Valley Ranch does not disappoint. The lead team of Elizabeth and Scott Warren, although quite different personalities, bring excellence to the MVR operating team. Elizabeth is vocal and welcoming from the start and her vibrant personality never rests. Scott is an excellent cook that consistently puts good fare on the table. The surroundings are excellent with fishable waters on the ranch and many guideable rivers and streams close by. MVR ranks in our bood right up there with the best Orvis fishing lodges. We definitely look forward to our next visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Give them 10 stars!,
July 6, 2014
By: JBFish
from Ithaca, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The guides are the best!
"Another amazing trip to the Madison Valley Ranch! If we could give them 10 stars we would. The addition of Matt (the sous chef) and Anne (the assistant manager) was an excellent move on the part of the owners. Elizabeth (the manager) is a bundle of energy, and she and Anne have such attention to detail, nothing slips by these two! They greet you as you arrive at the ranch and again each day as you return from an amazing day of fishing on the Madison River. We love the little touches like the digital cameras the guides take with them from the ranch, and the pictures we get to share over appetizers and drinks. It is like family reunion time. Scott (the most amazing chef) is very creative with all the preparations coming from his kitchen. The food is incredibly delicious and the serving sizes are perfect. The guides are hard working, very personable, as well as very knowledgeable about the rivers and the history of the area. They are also very entertaining with many funny stories. We can't wait to make our reservations for our 2015 trip! We expect to see theMadison Valley Lodge voted as the top ranked Orvis endorsed lodge in 2015, they certainly deserve this honor."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's the people; it's always the people,
July 3, 2014
By: jbf1213
from East Dennis, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our first trip to Wyoming and Montana. MVR was sandwiched between YNP and GNP. We only looked for Orvis endorsed lodges and decided on MVR largely because of the location. We expected great food, accommodations and service; no disappointments there. What we didn't expect was the effusive hospitality of the staff starting with Elizabeth. Warm, open, conversive, engaging, all. We found that to be true of the other guests also. The fishing was well beyond expectations. We caught so many fish that at times it seemed silly. A testament to the river and Gunnar, our guide. He is a difference maker. Attentive to my novice flyfishing wife, skilled in all the fishing tactics and techniques, and a rock solid oarsman with a easy demeanor that softens the intensity of the fishing. MVR was the highlight of our western experience. We can't stop grinning."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pure Excellence,
July 1, 2014
By: Nickajack
from Atlanta, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is my happy place. I have been to the lodge about 10 times. I have come with groups, my wife, clients and by myself. I am bringing my family next year. This place is so wonderful and continues to get better every year which I did not think was possible. The addition of Anne to the staff is wonderful. I will see you guys again in August!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of the Best!!,
June 30, 2014
By: blazerfan
from Oregon
"If your looking for a trip you'll talk about for years to come, look no further than MVR.
Whether your entertaining your your best customers or spending quality time with a family member, MVR offers the perfect one, two punch of outstanding fishing and customer service.
Before you even park your car, Elizabeth Warren is running out to greet you by name, review your special requests and show you around the ranch. Appetizer's start at 6:30 followed by a 4 course meal that is to die for.
The next morning starts with a fresh pot of coffee and killer breakfast prepared by Scott Warren (yup, its Elizabeth's husband). You meet your guides for the day who are all more excited about catching fish than you are. Then your off to the river for a day of catching Brown & Rainbow trout only breaking for Lunch river side that Elizabeth arrrange the night before.
We just returned from our 6th annual trip hosting a dozen of our best customers. Like every other year the most common question is "how much do I need to sell this year to get back to MVR next year?"
Tight lines!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+ all the way,
June 29, 2014
By: joemojoejoe
from Los Angeles
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"What a great way to experience Montana. Truly a 5 star experience. Great food, amazing accommodations, helpful hostess, very welcoming and beautiful. Highly recommend."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even Better Than Described,
May 27, 2014
By: grammaandgrampa
from Santa Monica, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Madison Valley Ranch is fabulous! We had a wonderful time even though the weather did not cooperate as well as we had hoped. The lodge and rooms are well decorated - cozy, clean and inviting. The pond was a favorite spot before and after the guided day trip. There are some huge fish in there that were exciting to catch. The food was exceptional including four course gourmet dinners, bountiful breakfasts and lunches, wines and hors d'oeuvres. Scott is a master chef par excellence! We fished for five days with three different guides and they were all wonderful. They really knew the river and guided us to some incredible catches. Elizabeth is a gem. She is enthusiastic, warm, welcoming and personable. Her energy is amazing. She attends to every detail, providing excellent care for her guests. She wanted each day to be the best it could be and worked to make that happen for each person. The Madison Valley Ranch sets a very high standard for any other lodge we may visit in the future. Our week there was a memory maker we will cherish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best,
May 20, 2014
By: ASANT
from Sudbury, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first trip to the Madison Valley Ranch and I hope its not my last. The setting, the service, the food, the accommodations were all top notch, especially the team. The fishing guides are outstanding. They are patient, customer focused and extremely knowledgable. We returned each evening to exceptional food and drink, and good laughs about our day on the river."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent visit on all dimensions,
May 18, 2014
By: kirkk
from Seattle
"This was my first trip to MVR and I enjoyed every moment of it. I fished the Madison and was fortunate to consistently land 18-19 inch Browns and Rainbows. Charlie was an enthusiastic guide who knew the river well, was great at positively pointing out how I could improve my technique, and overall a pleasure to spend a few afternoons with. I'd fish with him again in a second. The lodge itself was great - clean, quiet, great western feel, and very low key. It was great to be able to hang out in the main lodge area, grab a beer, and relax after fishing. The food was phenomenal – Scott does a great job preparing healthy, local, and very tasty meals. You certainly do not go hungry. And the final highlight is Elizabeth, the lodge manager. She’s simply awesome – enthusiastic, incredibly well organized, response in all our communications, and makes you feel right at home at the lodge. I’ve been to a number of these lodges for fishing and hunting and would place MVR at the top of the list for an all-around incredible experience – can’t wait to come back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Gets Tired,
May 18, 2014
By: TheOneThatGotAway
from Lake Bluff, Illinois
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Best darned guide on the Madison
"Where to start?
Elizabeth, the best host in North America, meets you at the driveway.
The accomodations are fantastic. And the hot water comes on immediately. That's big.
Scott is in the kitchen cooking food that would elbow out any in Chicago or New York.
The guides - and I won't tell you my favorite for fear he'll get scheduled out from under me - are superb. They work HARD to get you to the fish.
And at the end of the day a hot tub awaits or a good cigar and wine.
And they get it. There is television in the main lodge. For God's sake man, you can't miss the NHL play-offs!
I've been four or five times. I lose track. I'm going back this August with my son.
I hope to keep going back and may ask to have a grave plot out on the back of the property.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How Great it WAS!,
May 15, 2014
By: MartyL
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Nicely done gentleman.
"We took a chance on an early spring trip to our favorite lodge destination, it was great. A number of nice fish were caught and the guides worked so hard with some heavy winds and even snow. The elements did not deter us from fishing the Madison and I am so glad we did.
We met some nice folks who were at the lodge which was a pleasure. But without a doubt, it is the staff, food and lodging that make this such a great place to visit. Although, once again, Scott fed us way to much food ;-) the calories in did not balance with the calories out. Thanks to Elizabeth and Ann for taking care of us, can't wait to come back to MVR. I think I will bring my wife next time. She does not fish, however, I know she would enjoy herself.
Marty
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Madison Valley Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second vist to MVR,
May 12, 2014
By: Betterluckythanskilled
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm not really a die-hard fisherman, but fishing on the Madison is the most fun fishing I've ever had. You really catch fish! Some large trout! The guides are the most patient people you will ever meet. They treat you according to your skills, and are good people. Visiting the Ranch is like coming home. Even if you haven't seen them in a long time, it feels like you haven't missed a beat. Elizabeth, Scott, Anne, and the rest of the crew are warm, friendly people. Oh, and by the way, the food is incredible! Scott is a first rate chef. We had some very exotic dishes.
I am going to try to return next year with some of my own family; this time I was with a couple of close friends.
Try it; you will be glad you did."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes