Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Libby Sporting Camps, ME

Libby's has been catering to fly-fishermen in the North Maine Woods region of Maine since 1890. Libby's is sandwiched between Baxter State Park and the Allagash Wilderness Waterway, at the headwaters of three of the finest fly-fishing rivers in Maine, the Allagash, Aroostook, and the Penobscot. We are in close proximity to over 40 of the 300 native trout waters in the State of Maine.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
83 of 83(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Review 1 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best of the Best,
July 17, 2014
By: Flyboy1
from Villa Rica, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our 10th year. The total experience - the fish, the guides, the accomodations, the food, the Libby's. As good as it gets!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional All Around,
July 15, 2014
By: TimMurnane
from Marblehead, MA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Amazing as always
"I have been going to Libby's for over seven years with the same group of friends for some serious fly fishing. Not only is the fly fishing worldclass, the hospitality of the Libby family and staff is worldclass. Later this summer I am taking my family to Libby's because my wife and children have heard me glowabout where I have been. Cheers to Libby Camps...."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Father-Son Trip,
July 14, 2014
By: icastflies
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"21 years ago my father took me to Libby Camps in Maine where we learned to fly fish. It was our first father-son fly fishing trip.(My own son was just 6 months old at the time). It was an unbelievable fishing experience: Great guides, great fishing, and great food. Matt Libby (Sr) really hooked me on fly fishing! And I have continued to fly fish around the world.
This year, almost exactly 21 years later, I booked a father-son trip to Libby's as a 21st birthday present for my own son. As the trip approached, I could not help but wonder if the experience could live up to the stories I still tell about the trip 21 years ago...
Upon arrival it was quickly apparent that little had changed in this beautiful and remote part of Maine. It is still run by the Libby Family. (Now the 5th generation). Libby Camps still had great guides, great fishing, and great food. It is not just one thing that makes a place special, but the right combination of exactly the right ingredients in the right amounts. The Libby family has brought that to trout fishing in New England. Rain and shine in the beautiful wilderness of Maine, we had great days of fishing rivers and ponds, with guides who were knowledgeable and were invested in our experience. And every day started and ending with fantastic home cooked meals.
It does not sound complicated but to still be getting it right 21 years after my first visit is no easy feat. I tip my fly rod to Matt Jr and his wife Jess for a wonderful 4 days I had with my son. It is not often that a repeat experience can live up to and actually exceed those of our memories! The Libby family has kept the traditions of trout fishing in the ME wilderness strong and exciting. I smile at the thought of my son one day taking his own son to this camp for a father's day fishing trip! I have no doubt that Libby Camps in ME will still be the same great place for fly fishing for trout!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Experience,
July 14, 2014
By: Scotchdouble
from Vermont, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Tremendous service, great fishing, and some of the most remote country in the Northeast. You can't beat Libby's for a welcoming, homestyle, north woods experience. Hearty food, exceptional pilots, an ice-house full of ice cut from the lake. Libby's is truly amazing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just as Polly said it would be.,
July 14, 2014
By: JAFish4U
from Lewiston, ME, USA
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Being the daughter & assistant of the master taxidermist, David A. Footer and the late, Polly Footer, I've been given the opportunity to meet many owners of Outdoor Sporting Camps & Outfitting businesses over the years. I'm not sure how many times my parents made the trip to Libby Camps together but I do know they made the trip together at least once. Upon their returning they both had so many wonderful things to say about the Libby's, their place and the guides. They loved it. Mother passed away four years ago next week but her words describing the experience of going to Libby Camps are alive in my heart and ring true to my own experience so I'll share them with you "If you ever have the opportunity to take a trip up to The Northwoods and go to Libby Camps, don't miss it". It truly was a Wonder-full experience; Matt flew us over to Little Pleasant Pond on the morning of our first day fishing, the sky was clear, everything below green and lovely, the mountains or hills in the distance as far as the eyes could see, Loveliness. "If this is what our home on Earth looks like, imagine what Heaven is going to be" kept sounding in my heart. At times, I laid my fly rod down in the canoe, and sat still listening to the song birds, watching the moose along the shore, hearing the breeze softly move the water and lap the sides of the canoe, watch as the clouds formed and floated by or the sun broke through and shimmered across the water, all very good medicine for the soul it being filled to overflowing with Joy, Awe and Wonder. What great gifts He has given us. The Master Artist, and Creator. The fishing was icing on the Cake for me. Thank you Libbys!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch All Around,
July 12, 2014
By: im4gtru2
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Took 3 generations to Libby Camps for the first time and couldn't be more pleased with the experience. We've been to many outposts around the world and have to say that Libby Camps is absolutely tops in terms of camp staff, guides, pilots, amenities, food and lodging... and especially the outdoor experience! Matt, Jess and the whole extended family made us feel 100% at home the whole time and will truly do anything to present you with a great time. We look forward to our next opportunity to go back again soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best East of the Madison,
July 11, 2014
By: landlockeddoctor
from United States
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"April fishing, five days after 'ice out' and a joy. Two youngsters battled three matures for bragging rights at one of the best run lodges we have been to. And that includes the Firehole and Langara. Matt and Jess have a wonderful arrangement, 100's of thousands North Woods streams and ponds, two fly-in Cessnas, great guides in Toby and Scott and the best meals one could hope for. This is great Eastern fishing for Brook Trout and salmon, a wonderful meeting with nature and splendid food and wine. Heavenly even for children and wonderful learning or fishing. I learned the use of a 'depth charge line'-with great exitement."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At Home Away from Home,
July 11, 2014
By: Sluggo4862
from New Hampshire
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Terrible joke teller!!
"Fire going in the camp when you come in from a rainy day of great trout fishing, terrific food and great service....My home away from home. They are what the Orvis Brand is all about."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This,
July 11, 2014
By: Jim65
from St Petersburg, Florida
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding
"I plan to come back to Libby's for as long as I can.
The guiding, fishing, camp, accomodations, food, Libby family and staff are all outstanding.
It was my third trip up there and every one gets better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FAMILY,
July 11, 2014
By: mike108
from st albans vt
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Kindness, courtest, and concern makes anything good better.
"It started many years ago with one Libby Camps guest- me. Then came a total family of 10 children followed by 19 grandchildren.
2014 in May we sat 17 at table in Libbys where such an event has become a family highlight drawing from as far as Berkley, CA and as close as Kennebunk, ME.
2014 highlight was a 9 year old grandson catching 3 salmon, 5 large trout, and an uncounted number of smaller trout in one day.
Problem - how to explain to a 9 year old that there is another side to that coin and still have a fisherman as a work in progress.
As a family we do many things together but Libby Camps seems to come with the most smiles, adrenalin, and harmony.
mike plaisted"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five years in a row,
July 11, 2014
By: FlyFisherBob
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We just returned from our fifth annual trip to Libby Camps and it was one of the best ever. We have been experimenting with different times of the year and each is different, with both positives and negatives. But the one continuing positive is the consistency of this facilities service, food and accommodations.
We have already booked again for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
get away,
July 11, 2014
By: Jliberty
from Brasher Falls, Brasher Falls-Winthrop, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My father, Brother and I spent two nights at the Libby's camp. It was a nice relaxing time spent with family and nice people. We caught quite a handful of nice fish and were over fed by excellent cooking. I would recommend this to anyone. Great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
70th Birthday,
November 2, 2013
By: BigAl389
from Sharon, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Well run organization
"As a 70th birthday present, my children sent me and a friend on a four day adventure to Libby Camps. It was my friend's first time fly-fishing. The location of Libby Camps is superb --- west facing the lake with beautiful sunsets. The accommodations were fantastic -- comfortable cabins and a great main lodge. Meals were excellent and were complemented with friendly service. As for the fishing -- our guide was knowledgeable and enjoyed sharing his techniques with us. Since my friend was a "rookie" the guide focused his attention on him to ensure he was productive and enjoyed the experience. Consequently, we both had a wonderful time and have many stories to share with friends and some great memories to share with each other. The highlight of our trip was the two fly outs we took to remote fishing locations. From the air one gets a true appreciation of the vast wilderness of Maine. Thank you Libby Camps!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Time!,
November 1, 2013
By: jab5187
from Hillsboro, WV, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patient,Good instructor, Works hard for his clients
"Food was great!
Libbys family was wonderful
Guide service is exemplary and the scenery was unforgetable! We will be going back next year!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Fall Classic,
October 30, 2013
By: flygirl2
from Upland, CA, USA
"Libby Camps has become our "Fall Classic" fishing get-away spending our 8th fishing trip to Libby's in Maine. We are greeted with family friendly employees and a welcoming bunch of Brittany hunting dogs. The log cabins are always cozy and comfortable. Having our scrumptious home cooked meals in the lodge is always a treat as well as hearing the latest fishing tales of where the big ones were caught during the day. We have had experience with all of the guides at Libbys, all very experienced and will do almost anything to make sure you are having the time of your life. The last week of September is our Libby Camps week in the north woods of Maine and look forward to it every year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
13th trip...really!,
October 29, 2013
By: Marty767
from Palm Beach Gardens FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We of the "never go anywhere twice" philosophy have just enjoyed our 13th wonderful Libby camps getaway. We practically cry when leaving and we mark every passing year with a late Sept stay. Not sure if our fly fishing is improving or if the fish are growing but, the fishing was great 9/2013. Everything....atmosphere, service, dining, fishing guidance..is stellar but in such an understated way....just the way we like it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fish-Fly Fishing,
October 29, 2013
By: Lee2013
from Halifax, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Interesting talented guides
"Exceptional experience for me and my son. Beautiful part of the world, great people, interesting patient guides, great dogs, will be back soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+,
August 30, 2013
By: MMBay
from Maine
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Libby Camps is a family affair in the best sense. Run by a dedicated and caring family and for families who want to make the most of a very special outing to a very special part of the world. The fishing is excellent, and so is the catching ;) The setting is gorgeous. The camps comfortable. The food outstanding. The guides are great. A+ !!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience, Class Act,
August 12, 2013
By: dpanddev
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I had an exceptional trip to Libby Camps. The wholesome and natural settings made every second a joy. The whole Libby family fostered a sense of sportsmanship, hospitality, and family atmosphere. Extremely well organized, activities were spot on. The guides were tremendous in skill, attitude, and instruction to make for a great time and a most successful trip of catching the great brook trout. Would recommend this experience for all. My son and I had a great time together and look forward to our next trip at Libby Camps."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
August 8, 2013
By: martheo
from St. Charles, MI 48655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We (my wife and I) had a great time at the Libby camp. Lots to offer with the beautiful Northern Maine scenery, wildlife and fishing opportunities. Very nice people who care about the value they deliver to their guests. Really felt welcome and at home.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes