Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Libby Sporting Camps, ME

Libby's has been catering to fly-fishermen in the North Maine Woods region of Maine since 1890. Libby's is sandwiched between Baxter State Park and the Allagash Wilderness Waterway, at the headwaters of three of the finest fly-fishing rivers in Maine, the Allagash, Aroostook, and the Penobscot. We are in close proximity to over 40 of the 300 native trout waters in the State of Maine.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
71 of 71(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Review 1 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
70th Birthday,
November 2, 2013
By: BigAl389
from Sharon, VT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Well run organization
"As a 70th birthday present, my children sent me and a friend on a four day adventure to Libby Camps. It was my friend's first time fly-fishing. The location of Libby Camps is superb --- west facing the lake with beautiful sunsets. The accommodations were fantastic -- comfortable cabins and a great main lodge. Meals were excellent and were complemented with friendly service. As for the fishing -- our guide was knowledgeable and enjoyed sharing his techniques with us. Since my friend was a "rookie" the guide focused his attention on him to ensure he was productive and enjoyed the experience. Consequently, we both had a wonderful time and have many stories to share with friends and some great memories to share with each other. The highlight of our trip was the two fly outs we took to remote fishing locations. From the air one gets a true appreciation of the vast wilderness of Maine. Thank you Libby Camps!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Time!,
November 1, 2013
By: jab5187
from Hillsboro, WV, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Patient,Good instructor, Works hard for his clients
"Food was great!
Libbys family was wonderful
Guide service is exemplary and the scenery was unforgetable! We will be going back next year!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Fall Classic,
October 30, 2013
By: flygirl2
from Upland, CA, USA
"Libby Camps has become our "Fall Classic" fishing get-away spending our 8th fishing trip to Libby's in Maine. We are greeted with family friendly employees and a welcoming bunch of Brittany hunting dogs. The log cabins are always cozy and comfortable. Having our scrumptious home cooked meals in the lodge is always a treat as well as hearing the latest fishing tales of where the big ones were caught during the day. We have had experience with all of the guides at Libbys, all very experienced and will do almost anything to make sure you are having the time of your life. The last week of September is our Libby Camps week in the north woods of Maine and look forward to it every year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
13th trip...really!,
October 29, 2013
By: Marty767
from Palm Beach Gardens FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We of the "never go anywhere twice" philosophy have just enjoyed our 13th wonderful Libby camps getaway. We practically cry when leaving and we mark every passing year with a late Sept stay. Not sure if our fly fishing is improving or if the fish are growing but, the fishing was great 9/2013. Everything....atmosphere, service, dining, fishing guidance..is stellar but in such an understated way....just the way we like it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Fish-Fly Fishing,
October 29, 2013
By: Lee2013
from Halifax, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Interesting talented guides
"Exceptional experience for me and my son. Beautiful part of the world, great people, interesting patient guides, great dogs, will be back soon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A+,
August 30, 2013
By: MMBay
from Maine
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Libby Camps is a family affair in the best sense. Run by a dedicated and caring family and for families who want to make the most of a very special outing to a very special part of the world. The fishing is excellent, and so is the catching ;) The setting is gorgeous. The camps comfortable. The food outstanding. The guides are great. A+ !!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience, Class Act,
August 12, 2013
By: dpanddev
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I had an exceptional trip to Libby Camps. The wholesome and natural settings made every second a joy. The whole Libby family fostered a sense of sportsmanship, hospitality, and family atmosphere. Extremely well organized, activities were spot on. The guides were tremendous in skill, attitude, and instruction to make for a great time and a most successful trip of catching the great brook trout. Would recommend this experience for all. My son and I had a great time together and look forward to our next trip at Libby Camps."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great experience,
August 8, 2013
By: martheo
from St. Charles, MI 48655, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We (my wife and I) had a great time at the Libby camp. Lots to offer with the beautiful Northern Maine scenery, wildlife and fishing opportunities. Very nice people who care about the value they deliver to their guests. Really felt welcome and at home.."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience Every Time,
August 6, 2013
By: biskit123
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:5 stars are not enough for meals...Jess rocks the kitchen!
"Not only does Libby Camps offer guests breathtaking views of nature, Matt and Jess always make us feel like part of the Libby family each time we visit! When our visit comes to a close we are already trying to figure out when we can get back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Much Needed Fishing Trip,
August 1, 2013
By: ntothed
from Lewiston, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"After my first trip to Libby Camps, the following May trip could not come fast enough. With Fantastic views, limited connection to any technology, and the best fishing Maine has to offer makes this an annual trip for me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolute Charm, Comfort and Relaxation,
July 26, 2013
By: Rocky58
from New Gloucester
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Intelligent, knowlegeable and helpful guides
"In a nutshell my experience with the Libby Camp experience was one of complete satisfaction in a fabulous north woods setting. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and responsible, the food incredible and the camps clean and inviting. My Libby Camp experience will be cherished for a long time and I can't wait to come back in the very near future!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paradise Found,
July 24, 2013
By: OscarMom
from Boston, MA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Funny, informative, easy-going, helpful. I could really trust his knowledge and expertise, and he made me feel like a friend.
"It is difficult to know where to begin as each aspect of the experience was better than the rest. Here's a list:
People: The staff at Libby's are warm, intelligent, hard-working, and deeply invested in ensuring each guest has an excellent stay.
Facilities: Pristine, comfortable, authentic, unique. Each cabin is different, each detail perfect, and everything is spotlessly clean. Having all of the modern conveniences in the middle of the wilderness is exceptional.
Activities: Having the Great North Woods at your doorstep creates deep wonder and a stillness I have not reached in many other places. All of the resources the Libby's provided (canoe, kyack, guides, etc.) were perfect for the adventures we had.
Food: I have a number of dietary limitations and the Libby's go out of their way to ensure I have a safe and delicious menu. And they never made me feel embarassed about asking for special treatment - just another level of their service and hospitality. And everything is DELICIOUS! What a treat.
All in all the charm and impact of Libby's is due to the genuine warmth, hard work, attention to detail,and authenticity of their way of life. Thanks for all that give and do to help your guests have an unforgettable vacation. I am deeply grateful and will reap the benefits for months to come!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Fly Fisher,
July 23, 2013
By: 1sttimeflyfisher
from North Stonington, CT, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As my first time fly fishing the experiance was unbelievable. The guides instructions and encouragement were outstanding. The lodging was nice and the food was great. In addition all staff were very friendly and professional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Excellent!,
July 22, 2013
By: MPLSFisher
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have now made 2 voyages out with Libby and they have been nothing short of fantastic on both trips! Driving out to locations is good but the flying is amazing. The entire area is gorgeous and even if you came along as a hiker or just to experience the outdoors you would not be disappointed in any way. The guides are fun and knowledgeable. The terrain is fabulous. The camp itself and the comfort afforded are both exceptional. You will likely be a bit tired but when dinner rolls around you will have zero complaints and the breakfast cooked to order is leaps and bounds above what many or any expect."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring 2013,
July 22, 2013
By: MonmouthFlyFishn
from Monmouth, ME, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the good fortune of being able to fish twice at Libby Camps this spring. The first time with some customers and my sales team and the second with my two sons. Both trips were amazing. We caught good fish each day. The guides were helpful, knowledgeable, eager to teach flyfishing to beginners, and just fun. The staff was no different and the kitchen certainly lived up to its reputation for GREAT food! I am not sure what was better the fishing, the food,the flyins, comparing stories at the end of the day, or joking with the guides... My customers, sales team, sons, and I had a wonderful time and look forward to our next visit at Libby Camp"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Place!,
July 19, 2013
By: BkwhtWhze
from Columbus, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great guide. He knew so much about the Maine North Woods and its fishing, flora and fauna
"This was our first time to the North Maine Woods. What a wonderful place...solitude, scenery and animals. The camp was a wonderful place and the hosts and hostesses were superb. The fly in option is a must! Beautiful area of the country."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Second Time Around,
July 19, 2013
By: Jim65
from St Petersburg, Florida
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Outstanding Guide
"I had my second one week vacation at Libby Camps just a little while ago. It was even better than the first trip last year, which was outstanding. The ownership, management, guides and staff were all fantastic. In retirement, I have found the perfect fly fishing destination. I'll be back for as long as I'm able. Thank you so much. It does not get any better than this!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the Best,
July 19, 2013
By: NJFlyfisher
from New Jersey
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great place
"Our second visit to Libby Camps
Much easier to light the propane lamps
Wonderful landlocked salmon and brook trout abound
At camp you never know which Brittanys will be around
The outpost experience like nothing else I have done
An outhouse to which you can walk not run
The food out of Jess's kitchen can't be beat
The strawberry rhubarb pie is the ultimate treat
If you go, be sure to use a guide
You won't regret the water you'll see by his side
Everything about this trip was five star
So go there, whether by plane, boat or car
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Experience!,
July 2, 2013
By: ambw644
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my first trip to the North Maine Woods (let alone, north of Orono) and my first time fly fishing. I was lucky enough to have this experience at one of the best places in Maine. Libby Camps is a true gem, and I feel so fortunate that I was able to spend a family weekend there. Not to mention, the food is amazing, and Matt and Jess are wonderful hosts!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Libby Sporting Camps, ME
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fished worldwide,
June 27, 2013
By: McJam
from dentist
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I am returning in the fall for a cast and blast
"I am a 54 year old avid fly fisherman and hve fished throughout the States and Europe. Libby's is by far the best camp I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The food is first class as is the fishing,however,the best part of fishing Libby's are the people. They have a way of making you feel like a part of their wonderful family. I look forward to fishing the rest of my years at Libby's."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes