Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT

Two-time recipient of the "Orvis Lodge of the Year" award including 2008. Perched on its own mountain in the heart of Paradise Valley in Montana, the massive log lodge offers the finest fly fishing, five star cuisine, and beautifully appointed guestrooms with majestic views from the decks. With Merrell Lake--an 85-acre spring fed mountain lake full of trout at the front door, the enchanting Yellowstone River at the back, Montana's famous spring creeks and Yellowstone Park minutes away, it's hard to decide where to fish! Horseback riding on our working cattle ranch, hiking in our mountains among pine forests, and picnics next to our secluded mountain stream await. Our reputation is built on our variety of blue-ribbon trout fishing and 24 years experience.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 31(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Review 1 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2014 Summer Vacation,
July 30, 2014
By: Rick0714
from Chicago
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hubbard’s Yellowstone is a first class ranch all around! The scenery is absolutely amazing, the staff makes you feel like family, the food is incredible and lodging is comfortable and relaxing. What makes this ranch so special is the attention to every detail that makes up the entire vacation experience.
We signed up for a 3 day riding package. On the first day, the wranglers paired us up with a horse that was a match for our riding ability, and we rode for 3 days. In the mornings we moved cattle and in the afternoons we rode to different parts of the mountains where we saw bald eagles, elk, deer and all the amazing scenery you could imagine. Our wrangler, Wraymond, brought us to some of the most remote areas in the mountains that you would never see by car.
In addition to the riding package, we visited Yellowstone for 2 days with our guide, Rachael. She was very knowledgeable and gave us a unique perspective of the park and its history.
This was a truly amazing vacation and we will definitely be back!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely Perfect,
July 29, 2014
By: SETSET
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I don't have my own equipment yet and was thankful Hubbard's provided everything for me.
"Wow- what a place! Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge was a dream come true for my husband and I. We didn't really know what to expect but on the advice of friends went to the lodge to relax and get some guided fly-fishing in (I had recently completed a 2-day Orvis fly-fishing course and was eager to catch some fish!).
From the moment we pulled up to the lodge and Sheree so happily welcomed us and checked us in, we knew we were in for something pretty special. The view of the valley was heart-stopping, with a never-ending view of the Yellowstone River meandering below. Our lakefront room (within a few steps of the main lodge) had a large front porch with a table and chairs where I spent hours reading and relaxing and gazing out onto the lake. The lodge itself is gorgeous- large, inviting, and beautifully furnished, with backgammon, chess, checkers and board games out and ready to be played, not to mention all sorts of homemade treats available throughout the day and night. Guests gathered in the bar area each afternoon to relax, play cards, and compare adventures of the day, and dinner was served outdoors if there was a BBQ scheduled (we had a whole barbecued pig one night) or indoors for fine sit-down gourmet service (but still casual dress which we loved!). The food is spectacular, and the chefs/cooks are all graduates of the finest culinary schools throughout the country. Service was spot-on all the way around and you could tell the staff loved working there.
Our fishing guide Dave Force was the absolute best (I had asked for someone patient and of good humor since I was new to fly-fishing), and we have already booked him for next year when we return. We caught tons of fish both days, and Dave was great at knowing exactly where they liked to hang out. He was so fun, and so patient (I did lose a *few* flies lol), and a great teacher- and having talked to other guests, they were all equally impressed with their guides as well.
It's obvious the Hubbard family takes great pride in their lodge, and their staff, and for good reason. They provide superlative service and experiences for their guests, from fishing to horseback riding to herding cattle to shooting skeet to hiking to playing soccer to letting guests simply be- and they do it always with a genuine smile and warmth in their hearts. It doesn't get any better than that."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!,
July 25, 2014
By: TheGrulers
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"When God made Montana he broke the mold and in that mold had to have been Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge. There really is nothing like it. Do you like to horseback ride? Got it. Do you like to fish, river or lake? Got it. Do you like to hike? Got it. Do you like relaxing while looking over a valley? Got it. Or maybe you want to relax while looking over a private lake. Got that too. Want to try your hand at shooting? Yup. Visiting Yellowstone Park on your bucket list? North entrance is only about 20 miles away. Do you like to eat great food and have top notch accommodations? They have first class chefs along with the friendliest staff I have seen. They worked diligently to make our stay something that we will never forget. I really can't see why anybody would vacation anywhere else. Five stars all the way."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best time ever!,
September 25, 2013
By: Hyde2003
from Raymond & Greenville, Maine
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My spouse and I stayed at Hubbard's for the first time ever this year, in fact, it was our fist Fly Fishing Lodge experience. We were impressed with everything the place had to offer. It was not hard to get our mind off from life's day to day demands and focus on relaxing and having a great time. The meals were exceptional, the lodge and rooms were top notch, and the staff was extremely pleasant and always happy to go out of their way to help with any request. I had the opportunity to do a couple of guided trips that were both amazing and we also managed to do some horseback riding. Both are activities I consider must-do's should you visit Hubbard's. Nancy, Eben, Sheree, Raymond, Dave, and several others were all great hosts! I look forward to returning in the future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montana Hospitality,
July 8, 2013
By: LeslieandSean
from Rolling Hills, CA, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Jim, Nancy, Eben, Sarah, Mike....WOW! You stole our hearts! We had no idea the experience which awaited us in Montana. From breakfast, those homemade waffles...to lunch on the banks of the Yellowstone river with table cloth and china...to that down home cooking on the deck overlooking the river and the most spectacular vista views and starlit skies...to that 4th of July BBQ...whole pig roasting and basting all day long...to the most spectacular fireworks display we have ever experienced!
Your staff and guides were so professional, helpful and well trained!
We promised we'd be back with more family and friends next year and we will!
Thanks for one of the most memorable times of our lives.
Hubbard's does it like it ought to be done...above and beyond!
Thank you Hubbard and Schaefer family!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So Much Fun,
December 5, 2012
By: Appletown
from Emigrant, Mt, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Where else but at Hubbards Yellowstone Lodge would you be served brunch on the banks of the Tom Miner Creek---Jim Hubbard drove us to the site accompanied by a HYL chef. We enjoyed Mimosas, secret recipe cornmeal pancakes, bacon, sausage, and eggs all served on the MacKenzie Childs dishes, with real champagne glasses, and linen table cloth. Later we were invited to a neighbors ranch for cocktails as guests with the Hubbards where we saw first hand a 12 ft tall white polar bear killed in the Antarctic. Awesome!
The last nite at the ranch was spent on the patio watching fireworks from a wild fire in the valley and enjoying the Hubbards great sense of fun and excellent wines. We will be back and bring even more friends next year as we have been promised Brunch on the Bridge...can't wait.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great places,
November 1, 2012
By: rbm31934
from Boise, ID, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Enjoy fishing/ comaraderie
"Myself, sons and friend had our second stay atHubbard's.I felt as though we had returned home.The same magic continueswi with the beauty of the setting,welcoming owners andstaff,good food, fishing and comfort It is truly a memorable experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dream of a life time,
October 19, 2012
By: madison1
from Long Island New York
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Well, were does one begin when you are still on a high two months after our vacation has ended! We were three couples that were nicknamed by the staff as the “Italians” or the “New Yorkers!” We can not say enough as to the enjoyment we had on our vacation at the Yellowstone Lodge! The ranch was just beautiful as well as our accommodations being first class. The staff was the best! Friendly, accommodating, attentive and the camaraderie was wonderful. We had many different guides for all the activities we experienced (and each one was great), Fly Fishing (with some of us catching our first trout), Yellow Stone Park (with special thanks to our guide and new friend Rachel), horse back riding and cattle round up! YES! even hiking. The only thing we would change if it were within ones power would be to stay forever! We can not wait to come back!
The “Italians” from New York"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing,
September 29, 2012
By: kerrfish
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:An excellent, excellent guide who should be kept on the staff for as long as he wants to be.
"My wife and I had a most memorable vacation at HYL. We did the 5 day guided "immersion" fly fishing experience with a most competent and patient guide-David Force. We were on fish every day in some beautiful off-the-beaten-trail fishing spots in "the park." The lodge exceeded our expectations. The entire staff was attentive to our needs. The food was 5-star cuisine. Our room, "F", was the best in the house. The other guests were like long lost friends. But the truly crowning experience was the treatment shown to us by the owner, Jim Hubbard and his wife Judy. They were so elegant and accommodating to us and made us feel very much at home. This was our first trip to HYL and we look forward to many more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip Ever,
September 27, 2012
By: sizemorecrew
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had a wonderful time like we always to every year. This year was no different, the only thing was we had our 6 month old son with us. The time that we had there was fantastic we had a great trip into the park and saw so many more things that we did not see last year when we were there. The food was outstanding as it is every time we come, also the beds are so incredibly comfortable. The shooting range was so much fun to target practice on. The variety of things to see and do their fishing, hiking, trips to the park, the shooting range, to counting cows. This trip we saw more wildlife than last year, elk, deer, bears, wolves etc. We can't wait to come back next year!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge,
September 25, 2012
By: Nateski
from Springfield VA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my seventh trip to Hubbard's and may have been my best. The hospitality, the food and the fishing combined to make this an excellent trip and one I will continue to make."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply, the Best,
September 24, 2012
By: ripconsult
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our fourth consecutive year at Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge. Each year is more and more enjoyable. The hospitality, 5 star rustic accomodations, 5 star cuisine, friendly, unusually interesting fellow guests, fishing on the Yellowstone River, visiting Yellowstone Park...all combine to make our visits enjoyable & exciting. Several of our friends have joined us over the years. They also keep coming back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Total Fly Fishing Experience,
September 20, 2012
By: DonR
from Denver, CO
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:I shall return with the entire family, including grandkids--horses, cattle and sightseeing for the non fishers.
"Whatever your skill level or fly fishing desire, Hubbards has it all and more. From the streams of Yellowstone Park, the Yellowstone River, the extremely technical Depuy Spring Creek or a trophy still water fishery in the front yard, Hubbards Yellowstone Lodge is incomparable. Everything including gourmet food, five star room accomodations, freindly staff, super guides and thoughtful management are all first rate--probably the best in the west, and in my top three fly fishing destinations worldwide. Also, they have good internet acces that actually works!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great experience,
September 19, 2012
By: Zach1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great lodge, with very friendly staff, great food and great guides. The setting is beautiful, overlooking Paradise Valley and the Yellowstone River.
The fly fishing opportunities are diverse and could not possibly be explored even in several trips. My guide, Dave was knowledgable, interesting and best of all, knew "the secret spots", the flies and the techniques. Next trip, I will try Merrill Lake if I can rest up enough from hauling them in off the rivers during the day. Saw others on the lake with some great action in the evenings.
The food and food service were excellent as was the social hour before dinner. A great time to talk with other guests and staff too. The Wednesday night barbeque was a real "spread".
If you want a taste of real western hospitality and great fishing, this is the place."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
six out of 5 stars,
September 17, 2012
By: krauseb
from Mountain Home Ar.
"After reading all the other review, what's left to say. I live very close to world class fishing but told my friends that they should try Hubbards
if they wanted to be pampered.
My only regret was that my wife is no longer with us and she would have loved being there with me.
Thanks to the whole crew.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blown away! Best Family Bonding Trip Ever!,
September 10, 2012
By: docmike
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All guides were different personalities, but all were highly knowledgable. Next trip we will book the guide who best fits personality wise with my family, ahead of time.
"My family and I are very fortunate that we are able to take a lot of vacations -- and we do. We have been to Hawaii, beaches of California, New York City, Chicago, Deer Valley, Utah , Arizona, Colorado Northern Wisconsin and Minnesota; but no trip compares to Hubbard's Lodge and Yellowstone. This place has everyhting--awesome fly-fishing in their own lake, their own creek or in the Yellowstone River itself, Horseback riding, gourmet meals, the best beds,pillows and linens to sleep on and a super friendly energetic young staff. Not to mention you are located at the north entrance of Yellowstone Park--we did white water river rafting, hiking, horseback riding, shooting and toured through Yellowstone with a guide from Hubbard's. She made the day trip through the park just very efficient and awesome. We hit all the important spots and even witnessed two wolf packs fighting over a buffalo carcass--right up until when a Grizzly bear came out of the woods and took over the kill--just like you would see on the Animal Planet channel!!
The best part of the whole experience was that my two sons(13, 11) said it was the best trip we have ever taken. My non outdoorsy wife even agreed ,as did I. It was truly a family bonding adventure that I am already saving up for for next summer. Don't delay call Hubbard's today!!!!!!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Weekend with Son,
September 9, 2012
By: nickname900
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:This place is just top notch.
"Had the opportunity to spend a long weekend with the Hubbard's and my son over the summer. My son's love of fishing brought us here. I'm not much of a fisherman. There were plenty of things for both of us. Patrick loved the fishing, horseback riding, and the sightseeing. I loved the great meals, beautiful scenery, and the Hubbard's and Schafer's company. Also, found flyfishing to be a great deal of fun as well. It was a great father-son weekend. We intend to make this an annual experience for us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
one of the best experiencies ever,
September 4, 2012
By: leecat
from Costa Mesa ca
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My Sister and Brother in Law have been going to Hubbards for 11 years and have been telling us how great it is.
so after spending 5days/4 nights at Hubbard's with them I would rate the entire experience as one of our best ever. The accommodations were excellent, the food was wonderful and my guide Dave was the best.
(he put me on water that ensured large fish and we had a great time). What sets Hubbard's apart are the Owners and their great staff. Jim and his wife Judy were the greatest and the personal attention not only given to my wife & I but to all of the guests. The staff was always there to insure that our expectations were met. By the way my wife doesn't fish & she had a wonderful time just relaxing. We will be back next year and for as many years as possible.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Honeymoon in Montana,
September 3, 2012
By: Salvationaimee
from NY, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I spent our 1st leg of our honeymoon at Hubbard's and it was hands down the best vacation that we have ever had. We horseback rode, fly fished, visited Yellowstone, and drank and ate like we were in NYC. The staff and all the guests were so nice and normal and made you feel like part of the group. We can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Hubbard's Yellowstone Lodge, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Something For Everyone,
August 31, 2012
By: DanandCathy
from Madison, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We've just returned from our 8th trip to Hubbard's. The other reviews mention the beautiful location, the quality of service, the excellent food and lodging - we certainly agree with those comments. In our opinion the unique thing about Hubbard's is the fact that for those couples and families that include both dedicated fisherpeople, and those who are a bit less enthusiastic - everyone will have a wonderful experience.
The fishing program is excellent. The guides are uniformly competent and hard working. Many of them have been with the Hubbards for a long time (always a good sign). The lake is a real asset. It's a bug factory, and the trout grow quickly. They are beautiful and healthy - many of them are in the 3-4 lb range. There is no natural reproduction, but they are planted as fingerlings (as small as possible), and are totally adapted to the lake. Jim Hubbard stocks an equal number of Brown and Rainbow fingerlings each year, even though the big Browns probably eat quite a few of his fingerlings. Thanks, Jim. Hubbard's guests also fish the Yellowstone, the Livingston spring creeks, and the northern Park rivers on a regular basis.
The great thing about Hubbard's is the availability of quality activities for those guests who don't want to fish, fish, fish. Their riding program is excellent, even for beginning and/or timid riders. The ranch is truly beautiful, for bird watchers and hikers. The Park is only a short drive away. Livingston is an interesting day trip. In recent years, many artists and craftsmen have relocated from Bozeman to Livingston, due to higher real estate costs in Bozeman. Fianlly, the lodge is a very comfortable place to spend the day, if you just want to relax and read a book."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes