Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawk Lake Lodge, ON

Welcome to Hawk Lake Lodge, a 2013 and 2015 Orvis Fly Fishing Lodge of the Year finalist with some of the best freshwater fishing in North America. World record catch and release walleye and smallmouth bass as well as pike and lake trout on 19 private lakes in world class accommodations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (88 reviews)
5 stars
85
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
86 of 88(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Review 1 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
July 2, 2015
By: EDryden
from IN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dad, Godfather and 3 boys 10, 6, 5 had a great experience. Really set a standard for future hater son experiences. Highly recommended for father son experiences."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lakin Annual Trip Hawk Lake Lodge,
June 29, 2015
By: TJLSR
from Maineville,Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Since 1999 we have made this trip father and two sons.Ted and Virginia Putnam have taken Hawk Lake Lodge to new levels and each year it gets better.New boats and motors,safe and reliable,quality accommodations,excellent guides,consistent high quality food and lets not forget unbelievable fishing. Even when weather conditions make for slow results you always can count on some of the largest Smallmouth Bass,Walleye and Northern Pike you will ever catch on fly rod or spin casting.In our case it has become a family tradition where father and sons can spend time together doing what we truly love to do.We are not customers at Hawk Lake Lodge we are part of the family.It sure is nice that there are still people in business that treat customers like friends and employees like assets not expenses. Already looking forward to 2016. Tom Lakin Sr"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
cordial staff,
June 26, 2015
By: fishtrip
from wisconsin
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Food and staff service were above average . Facilities were ok, but generally not as nice as advertised , although boats were very nice. Difficult fishing. Primarily wanted smallmouth . Arrived with good conditions with water temp's at 60 degrees in late May. Poor success along with most of the guests. ( Did catch one large trophy walleye .)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 4 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Awesome fishery,
June 15, 2015
By: bthomas3333
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My father and I spent 5 days at HLL for the walleye opener. Despite very cold water and several nasty storms we had a fantastic time. The lodge is very nice. The cabins are very functional and best of all the fishing for trophy sized walleye is everything we hoped for. We netted 3 walleyes 29+ despite the weather issues. We also had several 18+ inch Small Mouths and several more 26 to 27 inch walleyes. We wanted a shot at a trophy and we both got one!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Super Experience!!,
June 15, 2015
By: CTFISHING15
from Woodbury, CT
"If I could rate our experience above a "5"; I would. Excellant staff (I would rate them a 10 on a scale of 5; superb meals; great venu and the monster fish are as advertised. I think a family tradition has been born. RDS"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smallmouth Bass Fishing,
June 15, 2015
By: lazyike
from Ava,Mo
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"Best trip ever. People at the lodge were very helpful. Cannot wait until next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Canadian Resort,
June 14, 2015
By: TedStuart
from Missouri
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is the finest fishing resort in Ontario. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our short time at Hawk Lake lodge. Everyone was very helpful and very considerate. The food was excellent. The fishing was better than that. The whole trip was top shelf."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trophy Fish Destination,
June 14, 2015
By: Jonnos
from Wisconsin
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:NA
"After 10 years of trips to HLL, the bass and walleye populations continue to show increases in size due to the unique catch and release policy that owner Ted Putman promotes on all his lakes. I know of no other lodge that has the diversity of fishing opportunities for numbers of trophy fish that exist at HLL. Smallmouth Bass in the 18 -20 inch range are common and walleye over 30 inches are taken every year by many guests."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
29 Years,
June 14, 2015
By: LarryJohn
from Coon Rapids MN
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have been visiting Hawk Lake Lodge for 29 years. It is still the best experience around. It is a trophy fishing experience in a wilderness setting. The accommodations, meals, staff and equipment are top notch. Over everything is the attention of everyone to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience. Next year we will be back for our 30th year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unexpected Grandeur,
June 14, 2015
By: Davidz2490
from Elgin, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Janet, our chef prepared quality food but also was very guest friendly!
"With 3 days notice, I was asked to substitute for a friend on a Hawk Lake Lodge fishing trip. What an unexpected and over the top total experience. From the solid fight of the good size smallmouth, the lake trout in shallow water and the large pike that clobbered my top water bait, the fishing was more than I ever expected. The overall accommodations and personal attention to detail, including the quality chef prepared meals were awesome! And finally seeing God's creation of lakes, wilderness, birds and animals, with inspiring sunrises and sunsets, in such a private setting was a true gift! Smiles!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Again,
June 13, 2015
By: DrWalleye
from Lafayette, IN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All guides are helpful with discussion each day.
"I just returned from my 13th trip to Hawk Lake Lodge. Once again, the Lodge, the staff and the lake exceeded our expectations. Ted and Virginia Putnam offer an outstanding experience and make you feel important every minute of your stay. Hawk Lake is the world's best smallmouth and trophy walleye fishery and we caught multiple fish in the 8-10 lb. range every day. I can't wait for trip no. 14!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First fishing trip ever....,
June 13, 2015
By: Dealem
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Andrew was first class in every regard!!!
"After 8 years following Hawk Lake Lodge two of my friends and I decided this is were we should make our "first coming out Canadian fishing trip".
We weren't disappointed. We fished for 5 days in late May, which was the beginning of the season, so we were taking a chance. Our guides put us on the fish, but unfortunately we didn't land any monsters, but other guests did, just our bad luck.
Ted Putnam and his staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy and did everything they could to accommodate us the service was nothing less than outstanding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawk Lake Lodge Rocks,
June 12, 2015
By: SteveDeGeorge
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our group of four returned to Hawk Lake Lodge May 30 - June 3, 2015. As always, Ted Putnam and his team delivered a first-rate experience in every respect. The cabins and lodge are excellent facilities, and the food is spectacular. Ted's staff goes out of its way to make every guest comfortable and content. Of course, fishing is the main attraction of Hawk Lake Lodge. Our four-person group caught and released 18 walleye over 25", including a very stocky 30" beauty. We also caught and released a large number of very nice smallies, although we did not keep count. We have already booked our 2016 visit to Hawk Lake Lodge. A little piece of heaven on earth."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
June 12, 2015
By: RobMark
from Indiana, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our 11th trip to Hawk Lake. We started going when my son was 10 years old. This year we went in late May,the earliest we have ever gone. The second day there we landed a 31 and 41 inch Pike. I would have to say that this years food was the best ever, and it has always been good. Hawk Lake will always be on our summer itinerary."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aother great visit to Hawk Lake Lodge,
October 14, 2014
By: HLLsince1998
from IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A friend of mine and I have visited HLL every year since 1998. While the condition of the lodge and equipment in 2013 and prior years was far better than most, Ted and Virginia keep on proving the cabins and equipment. Remodeled bathrooms, upgrade toiletries, better fishing boats on both the main and portage lakes. It is a special place in the hands of great stewards who are doing a little more each year to make things better for their guests. Their guides and dock crew add much to the services. And the food service is par excellence. Oh yeah, I forgot. The fishing is great also!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steady as she goes,
October 10, 2014
By: Jlea
from Greenville, SC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My third year at Hawk Lake Lodge was just like my first two with the exception that there continues to be steady pace of small but notable improvements to various aspects of HLL. The fishing remains the strong point but it is also a comfortable , clean and well serviced lodge that I look forward to keeping on my calendar."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond our Expectations,
October 9, 2014
By: CapitolCityFishing
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dad and I spent 5 days fishing at the Hawk Lake Lodge in early to mid August of 2014. Everything about our trip exceeded our expectations. The fishing, boats and equipment, accommodations, food, service, and all around experience were world class. If there is anything that makes the Hawk Lake Lodge stand out, besides the giant smallies and walleye, is the exclusivity of it all. There is almost no other place anywhere that fisherman can expect to fish a number of different lakes filled with huge fish - thanks to catch and release policies dating back to the 80s - all providing unique experiences, and literally be the only boat on the water. All the staff and guides are attentive to your needs, and Lodge owner Ted Putnam previewed our experience and provided his personal advice for the lake we were fishing every morning before we went out. I really can't say enough great things about the Hawk Lake Lodge. It was a trip my dad and I will never forget and we can't wait to go back soon. Thanks so much to Ted and the rest of his team for everything they do to manage this amazing fishery and share it with those who are lucky enough to make it to the Hawk Lake Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
still crazy,
October 8, 2014
By: smalliefun
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took two trips to Hawk Lake this year, my 24th and 25th and all I can say is the fishing is still crazy after all these years! It is complemented greatly by Ted and his staff, all top notch. Looking forward to many more!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding lodge,
October 5, 2014
By: treeg3
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My group has been coming up to HLL since 2005. Back then, it was a nice lodge with outstanding fishing. Under Ted Putnam's ownership, the fishing for multiple species remains outstanding, the difference is that the lodge is now a world-class property. Ted has consistently put money back into the lodge so that the facilities are first-rate and the service is impeccable. Book a trip, you will not be disappointed!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Hawk Lake Lodge, ON
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many trips to HawkLake,
October 5, 2014
By: JWilliamsVA
from Fairfax, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been going to Hawk Lake since 2005. Since Ted and Virginia have taken over ownership of the lodge,everything has improved significantly. From the food to the equipment and all facilities. This past year my two daughters 11 and 14 accompanied me for the 2nd time and we had a blast. There were several other families there and the atmosphere was so great. The fishing was excellent especially the Walleye and Bass. The boats are all well equipped and fast on the main lake We all caught Walleye over 25" on this trip and many many bass. We will be back next year..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes