Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada

Welcome to Hawk Lake Lodge, a 2013 Orvis Fly Fishing Lodge of the Year finalist with some of the best freshwater fishing in North America. World record catch and release walleye and smallmouth bass as well as pike and lake trout on 19 private lakes in world class accommodations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.965 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
56
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 58(98%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Review 1 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend this lodge!,
July 13, 2014
By: Popperfan
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 21 year old son and I are avid fly fisherman and after seeing a fishing segment on Hawk Lake Lodge and the topwater small mouth bass fly fishing available there, we booked a trip. We were very happy with the vast fishing options available, the quality of the lodge, food, staff, equipment and fishing experience. There was a sincere dedication to the guest experience and successful fishing. While we were there another guest landed a 24 1/2" smallmouth, tying the world record. Great people, great lodge, great fishing. This place has it all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canada's Finest Lodge,
July 5, 2014
By: DrWalleye
from Lafayette, IN
"I just returned from my 15th trip to Hawk lake Lodge. Ted and Virginia continue to make the improvements needed to keep it the best lodge in Canada. The fishing is second to none as we caught 42 walleyes over 8 lbs. The accomodations, the staff, the food, the boats and the overall atmosphere are the best in the business. Hawk lake is lovely and the surrounding portage lakes offer terrific options. Put Hawk Lake Lodge at the top of your list!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fishing,
July 4, 2014
By: KurtK
from New Jersey
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great fishing at Hawk Lake Lodge. Ted is very knowledgeable, pointing out locations, top and bottom, etc. 12-15 lakes to choose from for you and a buddy for a great day. Equipment available; best boats anywhere. Good camaraderie at supper. Decent lodges and food. We had tough weather for part of the time, but just another learning experience. Good time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performance,
July 3, 2014
By: Texfish
from Ontario, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great
"A very well run Lodge with good populations of good size smallmouth bass (17-20 inches). We were too early in the season to get much surface action(June 7-14), but the guides helped us catch good numbers using Leeches and other sub-surface flies. Great accommodations and the best food I have ever experienced in 50 years of "Lodges"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawk Lake 2014,
July 2, 2014
By: thermosjr
from New York, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Continual improvements to the lodge are ongoing. New beds in cabins. New boats with higher HP motors. New boats on the larger out lakes. More options for tackle and clothing. As always the food, fishing and staff were excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great as Always,
July 1, 2014
By: HLLsince1998
from IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have visited HLL annually since 1998. The Putnams, the current owners, have improved the services and facilities each year in both large and small ways that are noticeable. The fishing varies with the weather. For example, this year we had nearly the best day and worst day ever only a day or so apart from one another. Food and accommodations are always great and getting better each year. The boats on the main lake and portage lakes are nearly all upgraded and are kept in great running order. The staff is great. I will likely continue to visit the lodge annually until I am physically unable to do so."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawk Lake Lodge 2014,
July 1, 2014
By: TJLSR
from Maineville,Ohio
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All did a great job.
"This was our 15th year at the Lodge and as usual we had a great time. Ted Putnam and his wife Virginia have done an excellent job recruiting and retaining excellent key staff. The high quality of food,service and equipment(boats and motors) reflects the attention ownership pays to details. The fishing is the best I have ever experienced from Alaska to Florida. My sons and I use this annual trip to reconnect with our love for fishing and each other. The Putnams make us feel like part of their family and we feel the same about them. We have booked our 16th trip for next year and can't wait! TJL"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 years of trophy fishing,
July 1, 2014
By: Troutlady
from Minneapolis, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:we fish without a guide
"Friends ask why we continue to vacation in the same place for 28 years. Hawk Lake is the answer. Many trophy bass, pike, walleye and lake trout are caught and released every year. The Putnams have embraced and fostered stewardship of the pristine Hawk Lake wilderness. All we need to do is fish and relax; all else is taken care of. Excellent facilities and amenities, as well as a creative 5-star nightly table, make this a relaxing experience as well."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip!!!,
July 1, 2014
By: HawkLakeLifer
from Chicago and Denver
"We've been visiting Hawk Lake for over 20 years and it's just getting better and better. Improvements to boats and equipment, and accomodations, helped make our visit a month ago real special. Walleye, Lake Trout, Smallmouth and Pike all solid and stout and healthy. The food was the best we've ever had at the lodge.
Two of us are heading back in early September for our 2nd trip this year. Can't wait. Only 1,500 hours away."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Class,
July 1, 2014
By: IndyRick
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A first class lodge for smallmouth, northern, lake trout and trophy walleye. There is not a first class detail left out from the cabins, food, boats and most importantly the fishing. To have a main lake plus all the portage lakes gives any fisherman an abundance of choice of techniques and species to target. Not sure of anywhere else where 29” plus walleye are common place. The only way the lodge could get better is to have a dock right in front of our cabin."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip to HLL,
July 1, 2014
By: pobert21
from Cincinnati, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We have been visiting HLL since 1999 and this year was no different, spectacular. Ted and Virginia continue to exceed expectations and it's not bad that the fishing is great as well. I can't imagine a better place to spend father / brother / son bonding."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip to Hawk Lake Lodge,
June 30, 2014
By: Matt3
from St. Augustine, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I recently spent a week (June 21-27,2014) at Hawk Lake Lodge. I have spent over 20 weeks at this lodge over the past 20 years, but this was my first trip in the past 5 years and with the new owners, Ted and Virginia Putnam. They are doing a great job with the lodge, the fishing continues to be outstanding. our group of 4 caught 20 to 30 walleye each day averaging in the mid 20 inches rage with the largest being 32 inches. We caught all the smallmouth bass we wanted with the largest going 20 inches. The northern pike was a little slow but we did not spend much time targeting them. The boats and motors were great, the cabins are comfortable and clean, the food was very good, as I gained 10 lbs. I look forward to returning next year, hopefully for more than a week."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Small mouth mayhem,
June 30, 2014
By: Oscar49
from Utah, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meals: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great time, smallmouth fishing was unreal. Ted & Virginia and the rest of the staff, particularly the deck hands were awesome. If I lived closer I'd be back every year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Review 14 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prepare to be amazed!,
June 7, 2014
By: MikeEnloe
from El Dorado, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:While we were self guided, Ted, Matthew, Sam and Colin gave us tons of great advice.
"In my opinion you cannot have a better fresh-water fishing experience in North America. Wonderful people, incredible accommodations, and treatment like royalty. And fishing so good it will wear you out - no kidding - if it was any better your arm would fall off! We caught a ton of fish, and even the small ones were large by other standards - all this while they kept apologizing that the strong walleye bite was yet to come! Our best two each were her 35" laker and 20" smallie, and my 44' northern and. 23" smallie. I'm very stingy with praise like this - these folks exceeded all my expectations."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent traditon contiues,
October 7, 2013
By: smalliefun
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Hawk Lake lodge continues to amaze me. I went two times this year and the fishing is as good now as it was my first trip in 1995. The Putnam's are excellent hosts and the entire staff very attentive and helpful. Excellent fishing, wonderful accommodations and great food. A very special place indeed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My 4 Favorite Days,
October 1, 2013
By: Jlea
from Greenville, SC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Returned from Hawk Lake as it was closing at end of first week in September ; me from my 2nd visit my traveling companion from his 23rd. I have enjoyed other Orvis endorsed properties in the US and Europe and would put Hawk Lake up against any of them. The fishing and the quality of the experience are top notch. Ted, the new owner and operator is omnipresent and is amending the lodge to suit a broader base of clientele. While it still suits the hard core fisherman it is increasingly welcoming to more novice anglers, fly only fisherman and one day might even be appropriate for wives. The addition of a pontoon boat, new lake boats on both the main lake and the out lakes and other amenities were possibly not necessary, they are though very welcome. I assume that the trend will continue ; we have already booked for next year and if Ted were taking reservations for 2015 , we would have made them already. I sometimes wish there were more time and opportunities to socialize but one can do that at home when the fish aren't biting. It is truly 4 of my favorite days of the year no matter the weather , etc."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Again,
September 9, 2013
By: BigTube
from Dale Hollow Lake, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been going to Hawk Lake Lodge for the past 18 years. Ted and Virginia are making Hawk Lake Lodge the place to go for great fishing, accomodations, food, equipment, and friends. The lakes are easy to fish (I do not use a guide) and the portages are easy to traverse. The fishing is so good on the main lake my wife asks me why we go to the portage lakes. Hey! Its Canada fishing! (But she's right)"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawk Lake Lodge,
September 9, 2013
By: mikeintennessee
from Nashville Tn.
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:none
"I have been going to Hawk Lake for probably 15 years and it is a phenominal fishery. Ted and Virginia have it back to it's finest in both food and accomidations. great place to go. Mike"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
24th year,
September 7, 2013
By: dssiii
from Nashville, TN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We've returned to HLL for our vacation of choice each year since 1990. We love topwater smallmouth fishing in this wonderful place where all is taken care of for us. Never had a guide and continue to learn more about the lakes and patterns each year.Attracts a wonderful assortment of guests many of whom have become good friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUR TRIP,
August 28, 2013
By: Deltatg
from Mississippi
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:N/A
"OUR TRIP ... 5 STAR ALL THE WAY! Susan and I were overwhelmed with the accommodations, the hospitality, the service, the cuisine and the fishing. As I told you, I've been smallmouth fishing all over Ontario for 28 years and Hawk Lake Lodge is by far the best for a total fishing experience.
Tommy Gregory, Jr., 2013"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes