Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada

Welcome to Hawk Lake Lodge, a 2013 Orvis Fly Fishing Lodge of the Year finalist with some of the best freshwater fishing in North America. World record catch and release walleye and smallmouth bass as well as pike and lake trout on 19 private lakes in world class accommodations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.973 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
73 of 74(99%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Review 1 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aother great visit to Hawk Lake Lodge,
October 14, 2014
By: HLLsince1998
from IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A friend of mine and I have visited HLL every year since 1998. While the condition of the lodge and equipment in 2013 and prior years was far better than most, Ted and Virginia keep on proving the cabins and equipment. Remodeled bathrooms, upgrade toiletries, better fishing boats on both the main and portage lakes. It is a special place in the hands of great stewards who are doing a little more each year to make things better for their guests. Their guides and dock crew add much to the services. And the food service is par excellence. Oh yeah, I forgot. The fishing is great also!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steady as she goes,
October 10, 2014
By: Jlea
from Greenville, SC
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My third year at Hawk Lake Lodge was just like my first two with the exception that there continues to be steady pace of small but notable improvements to various aspects of HLL. The fishing remains the strong point but it is also a comfortable , clean and well serviced lodge that I look forward to keeping on my calendar."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond our Expectations,
October 9, 2014
By: CapitolCityFishing
from Washington, DC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Dad and I spent 5 days fishing at the Hawk Lake Lodge in early to mid August of 2014. Everything about our trip exceeded our expectations. The fishing, boats and equipment, accommodations, food, service, and all around experience were world class. If there is anything that makes the Hawk Lake Lodge stand out, besides the giant smallies and walleye, is the exclusivity of it all. There is almost no other place anywhere that fisherman can expect to fish a number of different lakes filled with huge fish - thanks to catch and release policies dating back to the 80s - all providing unique experiences, and literally be the only boat on the water. All the staff and guides are attentive to your needs, and Lodge owner Ted Putnam previewed our experience and provided his personal advice for the lake we were fishing every morning before we went out. I really can't say enough great things about the Hawk Lake Lodge. It was a trip my dad and I will never forget and we can't wait to go back soon. Thanks so much to Ted and the rest of his team for everything they do to manage this amazing fishery and share it with those who are lucky enough to make it to the Hawk Lake Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
still crazy,
October 8, 2014
By: smalliefun
from South Carolina, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I took two trips to Hawk Lake this year, my 24th and 25th and all I can say is the fishing is still crazy after all these years! It is complemented greatly by Ted and his staff, all top notch. Looking forward to many more!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding lodge,
October 5, 2014
By: treeg3
from The Woodlands, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My group has been coming up to HLL since 2005. Back then, it was a nice lodge with outstanding fishing. Under Ted Putnam's ownership, the fishing for multiple species remains outstanding, the difference is that the lodge is now a world-class property. Ted has consistently put money back into the lodge so that the facilities are first-rate and the service is impeccable. Book a trip, you will not be disappointed!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many trips to HawkLake,
October 5, 2014
By: JWilliamsVA
from Fairfax, VA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been going to Hawk Lake since 2005. Since Ted and Virginia have taken over ownership of the lodge,everything has improved significantly. From the food to the equipment and all facilities. This past year my two daughters 11 and 14 accompanied me for the 2nd time and we had a blast. There were several other families there and the atmosphere was so great. The fishing was excellent especially the Walleye and Bass. The boats are all well equipped and fast on the main lake We all caught Walleye over 25" on this trip and many many bass. We will be back next year..."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another memorable week at Hawk Lake Lodge,
September 3, 2014
By: BigTube
from Dale Hollow Lake, TN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 19th year going to Hawk Lake Lodge. I think that says it all. Home lake is Dale Hollow home of the world record smallmouth and we travel to Hawk Lake Lodge to catch smallmouth on topwater. Ted and Virginia are great hosts and their staff is top flight. Great lodging, food, and equipment."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hawk lake,
September 3, 2014
By: nosned
from tn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"probably been 20 times over the years.great food and facilities and better fishing.had a great time and look forward to next year.Ted Putnam has done a wonderful job at the lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome !!!!!,
August 31, 2014
By: SRQJake
from Sarasota FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"As Florida and Washington DC fishing guides , we came to HLL with high expectations and the Lodge, Ted and family , and the fishing far exceeded every expectation. We would return to HLL tomorrow ! The accommodations were superb with beautiful scenery, the lodge and dining were fabulous and the fishing was wonderful. Ted, Virginia and the whole staff went above and beyond every expectation to make our stay and fishing terrific ! We have never caught so many trophy sized fish anywhere in our fishing travels . For example ,at one point my son caught quality Smallies on 13 consecutive casts on a Fly Rod ! Thanks to the personal advice and knowledge provided by Ted and the guides the fishing was made easy for everyone. Catching Smallmouth to 20" and literally a hundred over 16" along with Walleye to 29" was an experience we will never forget. The boats were first rate, fly fishing equipment A++++ , Spinning rods of the highest quality , and the advice by Ted and guides as to how and where to fish was unbelievable. Again , we would promptly pack and return to HLL tomorrow."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Trip,
August 25, 2014
By: CurtMcQ
from New Braunfels, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Had a great first trip to Canada thanks to Ted, Virginia and the rest of the Hawk Lake Lodge staff. The accommodations and hospitality were top notch. We were able to maximize our time on the water through the staff packing us early bird breakfasts and picnic lunches everyday and averaged over twelve hours actually fishing each day. Had a blast and definitely hope to return soon!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Trip,
August 24, 2014
By: huskertp
from Dunlap, IL 61525, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"First trip ever to Canada and my buddy and I had a blast. While the fishing was a little slow at times, the food, equipment, accommodations were fabulous. While quantities may have been slow, size was great! Biggest walleye in my life and can't ever complain about a 18.5 inch smallie."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10 years and counting,
August 12, 2014
By: Stepper1953
from Greensboro, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My son and I have been coming back almost every year for 10 years. We look forward to it every year. Nowhere else can we be guaranteed to catch trophy size fish. We make memories that last a lifetime. First class accommodations, food, equipment and fishing! What more could you ask for?"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket List,
August 12, 2014
By: FatherandSons
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you are freshwater fisherman, this destination has to be at the top of your list. My two sons and I have visited four times over the last decade, and each time the experience gets better. Ted and Virginia have transformed a unique property into a unique experience. The fishing is without peer and the hospitality could not be more warm. No matter how long your stay, you will wish you had made it longer"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience!,
August 11, 2014
By: RickG60
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just returned from 5 days at Hawk Lake Lodge and can't say enough about the experience that my group had. I have been to many other Canadian lodges and none compare to Hawk Lake. Every staff member - from the owners of the lodge, on down to the guys at the dock - went out of their way to make our trip successful. No request was left unanswered as Ted and Virginia went out of their way to accommodate our group.
We're now spoiled and won't consider going anywhere else in Canada!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 Stars All The Way ... Again,
August 8, 2014
By: Deltatg
from Mississippi
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I'm a long time customer and as usual, Ted, Virginia and the staff provided a 5 star experience ... fishing, accommodations, service,cuisine and hospitality."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first time trip,
August 2, 2014
By: jacksnow
from Terre Haute, IN.
"First time i have been to Canada, what a site. Very impressed with the facilities at Hawk Lake Lodge. Nothing but the best as soon as you arrive, and until you leave. Great people, great food, and awesome fishing. You will not be disappointed!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommend this lodge!,
July 13, 2014
By: Popperfan
from Minneapolis, MN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My 21 year old son and I are avid fly fisherman and after seeing a fishing segment on Hawk Lake Lodge and the topwater small mouth bass fly fishing available there, we booked a trip. We were very happy with the vast fishing options available, the quality of the lodge, food, staff, equipment and fishing experience. There was a sincere dedication to the guest experience and successful fishing. While we were there another guest landed a 24 1/2" smallmouth, tying the world record. Great people, great lodge, great fishing. This place has it all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Canada's Finest Lodge,
July 5, 2014
By: DrWalleye
from Lafayette, IN
"I just returned from my 15th trip to Hawk lake Lodge. Ted and Virginia continue to make the improvements needed to keep it the best lodge in Canada. The fishing is second to none as we caught 42 walleyes over 8 lbs. The accomodations, the staff, the food, the boats and the overall atmosphere are the best in the business. Hawk lake is lovely and the surrounding portage lakes offer terrific options. Put Hawk Lake Lodge at the top of your list!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Fishing,
July 4, 2014
By: KurtK
from New Jersey
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great fishing at Hawk Lake Lodge. Ted is very knowledgeable, pointing out locations, top and bottom, etc. 12-15 lakes to choose from for you and a buddy for a great day. Equipment available; best boats anywhere. Good camaraderie at supper. Decent lodges and food. We had tough weather for part of the time, but just another learning experience. Good time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Hawk Lake Lodge, Canada
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid performance,
July 3, 2014
By: Texfish
from Ontario, Canada
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great
"A very well run Lodge with good populations of good size smallmouth bass (17-20 inches). We were too early in the season to get much surface action(June 7-14), but the guides helped us catch good numbers using Leeches and other sub-surface flies. Great accommodations and the best food I have ever experienced in 50 years of "Lodges"."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes