Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Glendorn, PA

Tucked away in Northwestern Pennsylvania, Glendorn is your own step back in time. Enter through the gates and meander along a trout-filled brook to arrive at the all-redwood main lodge. Sleep and dine in a place where past presidents have rested. Explore miles of private brooks and ponds or even venture nearby to float the Clarion River in a drift boat - only to be served the best of shore lunches on a secluded river island. Take a short jaunt to the famed tributaries of Lake Erie to tackle tens of steelhead in a day, knowing that when you arrive back at Glendorn to your private cabin or suite, our staff will be waiting to serve you gourmet cuisine paired with fine wines. Award-winning accommodations, gourmet cuisine and wines topped with the very best fly fishing, shotgun sports, hunting, and exploring brings groups, families, and individuals back again and again to rejuvenate in a truly unique environment. Member of Relais & Chateaux. AAA Four Diamond Award.
Average Customer Rating:
4.955 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Review 1 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Experience Ever,
August 7, 2014
By: Tylka
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great Experience
"I just wanted to say that Glendorn is the best place on Earth. Including food, lodging and activities. Secluded in the mountains. I had the best day of fishing in my life there. Damon is an awesome guide. Very knowledgeable and very patient with a beginner. Can't wait to go back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to get back to Glendorn,
July 29, 2014
By: Vick27
"The Glendorn certainly sets the standard for excellent service - in all aspects. Having said that, the highlight for me was fly fishing with Orvis guide Shane. Not only is he skilled and knowledgeable, he is also patient, enthusiastic, and very personable. With his coaching I managed to hook numerous trout in the various streams and ponds during our stay and have rediscovered a fondness for fly fishing. With this much fun fishing, golf was cancelled!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fishing,
July 8, 2014
By: PhilAlex
from Bradford, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Some of the best mountain stream fishing Ive experienced. Very knowledgable guides who have years of experience fishing their local waters in Northern Pennsylvania. All three days we were immediately put on fish and caught many rainbows and browns in the 20+ inch range in a variety of waters"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day of fishing,
June 28, 2014
By: dhfly
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great day of fishing on Glendorn streams. Lots of large browns and rainbows. One of the best days of flyfishing ever!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Guide,
May 8, 2014
By: anthonyp151
from Brackney PA
"I am new to fly fishing and found Glendorn through the Orvis catalogue. The lodge was great, the food excellent, but the highlight for me was my afternoon learning the basics of fly fishing from Shane Appleby on the property. We moved from the lakes to the stream and caught numerous rainbows. He improved my casting and taught me how to rig for nymphing and gave me a simplified approach and tackle suggestions that I can take to waters anywhere. The next day I stayed on property and fished all over by myself using my new found knowledge and was very successful and satisfied that Shane had brought me to a new level of enjoyment for fly fishing. Thank you Shane, I had a ball!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great from start to finish,
March 10, 2014
By: rlw1988
from Lynchburg, Va
"Shane was excellent!! Knowledgeable/patient/engaging, the list goes on. He made a wonderful experience at Glendorn lodge even better. We will be back and hopefully more experienced at trap and skeet shooting. 5 out of 5 was an easy selection."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific fly fishing guide,
September 21, 2013
By: TED47
from Chicago, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Shane Appleby is a consummate professional: knowledgeable, energetic, and engaging. He was a pleasure to be with. Go Shane!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glendorn,
September 9, 2013
By: PaulJR
from Bradford, PA 16701, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"An Oasis in the Allegany Mountains! A spectacular piece of property complete with streams, lakes and ponds for fishing on the premise, and a variety of fishing outings within 45 minutes, to trap and skeet ranges, and hiking trails all while enjoying first class accommodations. The cabins and the main lodge are immaculate and ordained with incredible woodwork. From the second we arrived were treated as if we owned the place. The customer service was phenomenal, there was nothing left wanting. The meals were incredible as Executive Chef Joe Schafer overwhelmed us with a dinner served in our cabin featuring a melody of fresh vegetables from their garden ,crab cakes and a melt in your mouth filet mignon. Incredible lunches either streamside, backpacked or a full grill, your dining options are limitless.
We fished the tail waters of the Clarion with 2wt and 3wt rods and within minutes of wading into the stream began catching brooks and rainbows, the rainbows were 12 -14 inches and full of gymnastics. My highlight was a 12 inch Brook trout that had not missed any meals!
A fantastic 30th anniversary AND an experience we will be repeating
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Gem" Tucked Away in PA...,
September 3, 2013
By: RKJ33333
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:"Gem" Tucked Away in PA...
""Many thanks to all at the Lodge at Glendorn, PA. We spent four fabulous days there fly fishing, shooting, hiking and overall just enjoying the resort amenities. Special thanks to Damon and Shane who were amazing guides. They were patient, encouraging and full of energy. Also, Natalia and her team were so welcoming at dinner and did a wonderful job serving us fabulous dinners cooked by the chef. The grounds are full of streams and lakes, and the lodge is beyond stunning. We had a great time and look forward to our next visit. This place is truly beautiful!""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glendorn Great Experience,
July 1, 2013
By: BFVMichigander
from Bloomfield Village, MI
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The food and setting were great. We went with another couple (very dear friends who we have fished and vacationed with in the past) and all four of us had a wonderful time. We got exceptional instruction in fly fishing and shooting (Shane and Damon were patient and informative), and everyone was kind and caring from the moment we arrived very late one evening, to our checkout. The facility is wonderful (including the streams, fireplaces, and ponds). Great work, thank you!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing the Clarion,
June 21, 2013
By: Jimmyjoe
from Shelocta, PA 15774, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Just a great place
"My trip to Glendorn was a gift from a friend, and "WHAT A GIFT". My wife and I had a wonderfull weekend. Besides just "taking it easy", I fished the small stream at the lodge one evening just to relax. I had my 3 weight, 9 foot rod and the brookies were a blast. The next day I did the float trip on the Clarion (one of the best kept secrets in PA). Shane was my guide. I have fly fished and floated with guides at lodges from Cold Bay, Alaska for silver salmon and artic char to Abaco Island in the Bahamas for bonefish and including the Black Canyon of the Gunnison in Colorado. I could not have imagined that my trip with Shane on the Clarion could have been so great. The fishing was very good. The "shore lunch" of filet mignon and the professionalim of the guides could not be beat. While I was fishing, my wife went to the spa. WE WILL BE BACK."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent guide,
June 19, 2013
By: anglertim
from wilson,wy
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I recently finished a 3 night stay at Glendorn on a road trip between Connecticut and Wyoming. It was our first visit to this property. The property was very nice, the staff friendly and helpful and the food outstanding. The most impressive aspect of our visit though was our guide Damon Newpher. The weather did not cooperate during our visit resulting in high river levels and off color water. Despite this we spent two days fishing with Damon on their Spring Creek section of river about one hour from the Lodge and on Tuna creek at the Lodge on one day and the East Branch of the Clarion River the next day. The day we waded the East Branch of the Clarion with Damon was superb. Both the scenery and the wading were spectacular catching numerous healthy rainbows and a few brookies. Damon is a true professional who goes the extra distance to find productive fishable water when mother nature is being ornery. We have fished all over the world and Damon ranks right up there with the best guides we have ever fished with. We make the trip between CT and WY on a regular basis and will be sure to include Glendorn as a stop on that trip in the future in order to fish with Damon."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Fishing, Fellowship, and Food,
June 18, 2013
By: Commuter
from Zionsville, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Best guides I with which we have fished.
"June 18, 2013
My wife and I just left Glendorn. The most wonderful fishing and hospitality experience we have ever enjoyed. Our fishing guides were a wonderful combination of expert fishing guides, drift boat captains, biologists, local historians, and river chefs. When we executed our guides' instructions we were rewarded with fish!
The Glendorn staff, guides, dining, kitchen, and lodge made us feel cared for in a most luxurious manner.
We enjoyed both the service provided and the conversations we had with staff members. Such wonderful people!
The shooting instruction we received made "target dusters" out of all us."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVED IT!,
May 24, 2013
By: noviceflier
from CORTLAND, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was our second trip to Glendorn and it didn't disappoint! We spent a perfect day on the Clarion with Shane. One of us is an experienced FFer the other a novice and both of us had a great day! Shane couldn't have been more helpful, encouraging, patient or upbeat. Lunch was a smashing success and unexpectedly charming. We will return in a few months and request another day with Shane. The novice is now hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
May 21, 2013
By: Charlie1964
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My guide was Damon Newpher from Glendorn. We started at 11a.m. and did not get off the Clarion until 8:45p.m. I am convinced that Damon would have stayed on the river till midnight if there was still light. And I would have been there right with him!. What a trip for a guy who just didn't want to fish but learn the fun involved in fly fishing. I can't begin to tell you all I experienced because of Damon's expertise and desire to teach. He observed my casting technique and gave lessons. He showed me what to look for on the water and how to read it. I would say we didn't fish but rather "stalked" them from the moment of spotting them rising, to slowly getting out of the boat and slowly approaching. It was great fun and a great learning experience. Two examples must suffice. First, I was casting to a rising fish that would not take the dry fly. Damon said the fly is probably too big. We changed to a smaller one and I got him on the next cast! What a learning experience. Second example: Damon pulled off a Caddisfly off the wate to check the color to see how close it matched our fly. The final experience which happened because of Damon's knowldge was to experience a Caddis hatch. And man did I experience it. Unbelievable. If you opened your mouth you would not have to eat dinner!
O yes and I got fish but to be honest it was the experience with him as teacher that was the high point. I will return for my next lesson.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Filet,
May 21, 2013
By: chuckroast
from Glendorn Drive, Bradford, PA 16701, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Even if you don't get a bite you get to eat a charcoal grilled filet mignon for lunch, no kidding! The hibachi got fired up and we pulled off to stop, in minutes there was a table for 6 set in the woods and lunch was served.
The fishing a guiding were also great. The Clarion river was very approachable although low water conditions, but fish were there and some were willing to play.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second time even better,
May 19, 2013
By: JimboH
from Roswell, GA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My second stay at Glendorn was better than first which was hard to beat. Shane Appleby, a true guide, taught me some new tricks, we caught most fish on dry flies and nymphs. I now have a new appreciation for dry flies. The food is excellent, the staff great, Dave and Tanya were fantastic. Will be back next year in May."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing escape,
May 15, 2013
By: Fishfriend
from Floorida
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We visited Glendorn last June with friends and we absolutely loved it! The fishing was spectacular, great guides, equipment and total fishing experieince. the food and accommodations were also outstanding. We will definitely be back and have reccommended it to our friends."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best of times!,
May 13, 2013
By: Docfish
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The Glendorn as a whole was the high point of a 13 day trip
"My wife and I celebrated our 25th with a float down the Clarion River; guided by Shane Appleby...a man with boundless energy and love for his profession and the river. We notched up our dry fly technique by at least 200% and, by the way, caught fish! The entire Orvis team at Glendorn deserves the highest praise. We will be back in the Fall."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learning the Art!,
May 6, 2013
By: Novice70
from pa.
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Would like to have more FISH on menu
"Fly Fishing is an art! It is a Landscape... of serenity!
The Line Presentation in the many Fly forms was amazingly less complicated coming from the professionalism of Shane. I felt so attached to the living world of nymphs, Caddis & the beauty of Trout! Will put my Glendorn schooled knowledge to the test this week! Thankyou so much! I AM the Novice 70!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes