Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Glendorn, PA

Tucked away in Northwestern Pennsylvania, Glendorn is your own step back in time. Enter through the gates and meander along a trout-filled brook to arrive at the all-redwood main lodge. Sleep and dine in a place where past presidents have rested. Explore miles of private brooks and ponds or even venture nearby to float the Clarion River in a drift boat - only to be served the best of shore lunches on a secluded river island. Take a short jaunt to the famed tributaries of Lake Erie to tackle tens of steelhead in a day, knowing that when you arrive back at Glendorn to your private cabin or suite, our staff will be waiting to serve you gourmet cuisine paired with fine wines. Award-winning accommodations, gourmet cuisine and wines topped with the very best fly fishing, shotgun sports, hunting, and exploring brings groups, families, and individuals back again and again to rejuvenate in a truly unique environment. Member of Relais & Chateaux. AAA Four Diamond Award.
Average Customer Rating:
4.973 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Review 1 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Time Visitors,
May 21, 2015
By: RV243
from Dalton, PA. 18414
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great company, knowledgable fisherman
"When I first met my husband he was a frequent fly fisherman. He tied his own flies and taught our three children to tie flies too. As things often go with young families life got busy and the FlyFishing moved to the back burner. Now it's just the two of us again and I wanted to do something special for his birthday. Glendorn is special. A beautiful, well cared for property with a welcoming and attentive staff.
The guided fishing, the fishing on our own with a picnic lunch, the spa massage, and best of all the feeling of privacy made for a very relaxing stay.
We hope to visit again....maybe in the fall to shoot a few birds.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Beautiful Place,
May 11, 2015
By: Robert113
from New York
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"First time visitors - had the great time we read about. Lots of fish, almost more enjoyable to watch them than cast. Shooting guide is a man of great experience, patience and friendliness."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shazam!!!,
April 26, 2015
By: TVLash
from Orchard Park, NY 14127, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:excellent guide and personality! I think he was more excited about our fish than we were!!! Great guy and guide....engaged from minute one until we pulled out of the gate
"WOW! Glendorn was recommended by our friend Adam at the Orvis shop in Williamsville NY...he suggested it was a great getaway that I would enjoy with a multitude of activities...what I found with Glendorn is an adult outdoorsman's Disney World....non-stop entertainment for the fly angler as well as the novice/experienced hunter!!! And the food; oh boy! What a treat this place is...I would recommend this to every one of my friends and colleagues and I can't wait to return! Exceptional staff and caring personalities! A++"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Must Experience!,
March 16, 2015
By: JTB2
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been visiting Glendorn for years and somehow they keep improving on perfection. The staff is attentive and works hard to ensure that everyone has an exceptional experience. Cozy cabins offer privacy with all the amenities. Chef Joe prepares the most wonderful meals - best that I've had anywhere in the world. Winter activities include snowmobile tours, cross country skiing, ice fishing, ice skating, skeet shooting and my personal favorite - curling. Summers are all about world-class fly fishing on miles of private streams, horseback riding, swimming, skeet shooting, hunts, and my personal favorite - scenic hikes. There are also nearby golf courses. If you have time after all that, don't miss the newly remodeled spa. One visit to Glendorn and you'll be hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our favorite place!,
March 3, 2015
By: Kuri4
from Cleveland Ohio
"We travel from Cleveland to Glendorn at least twice a year and each time is more special than before. Sometimes by ourselves and sometimes with our family (12 people) and we love the variety of activities. Our nephews took fly fishing lessons from Shane and Damon and now they love fishing with us! We even tried our hand at ice fishing this Winter! We are so happy we found this magical place and all because we googled Orvis fly fishing locations!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best-Kept Secret in Pennsylvania,
February 27, 2015
By: Glendorn4Me
from Nazareth, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:A place to be benchmarked!
"It was love at first sight when we arrived at Glendorn many years ago. The history, bucolic scenery, accommodations, wonderful food, great outdoor activities, and outstanding staff all combined to make Glendorn the perfect get-away. Needless to say we've returned every year since, sometimes twice a year. Natalia always makes our visit very special. Chef Joe's culinary feats with wine pairing are second to none. The numerous activities offered by Damon and Shane are always lots of fun, ex. fishing, shooting, snowmobiling. And the new spa was a big hit with my wife! I will always look forward to our next trip, as the 5 hour ride is definitely worth it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great escape,
February 27, 2015
By: obrienNYC
from New York, NY, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've had the pleasure of visiting Glendorn a couple of times, and have had an absolute blast each time. The grounds are expansive with plenty to do (snow-mobiling and shooting clays are my favorites). Service at the new spa is second to none. After a long day outdoors or simply relaxing, you can't beat the fire in the main lodge (or your own cabin!). To top it off, the food is on par with any of the 'best' restaurants I've been to in NYC, which was a great surprising considering Glendorn is in Bradford, PA!
The staff are welcoming and knowledgeable, and truly want to make sure guests enjoy themselves to the max.
Nothing beats Glendorn, and the only thing keeping me from going back more often is the distance from NYC!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glendorn Experience,
February 22, 2015
By: Hankopotamus
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've visited Glendorn on numerous occasions and the service has always been excellent. The hospitality and food are fantastic. You can choose from a number of outdoor activities such as horseback riding, skeet shooting, first class trout fishing, hiking and swimming. It's great in the winter as well. I highly recommend it and look forward to my next visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never disappoints!,
February 20, 2015
By: PeaceKK
from Akron, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Both are patient, pleasant, enthusiastic and knowledgable. I always feel at ease with them.
"I have had the great fortune to visit Glendorn several times over the past couple years. I am on first name basis with several of the staff and feel like part of the family, but always treated better. The food and service exceed my expectation each time I stay. No matter the time of year, Glendorn offers a variety of fun and challenging activities and the opportunity to do nothing if you prefer. The setting is peaceful and bucolic. A beautiful dense forest with a crystal trout stream running through its heart. You can make some noise at the trap and skeet range or get lost in the silence by taking a walk amongst the trees or fishing the stream. No matter your preference, Glendorn never disappoints."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
February 20, 2015
By: Hammertime
from Virginia
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Glendorn is a great place to relax. The accommodations, food, activities and staff are all outstanding. They make your stay special each and every time. Whether you go in the summer or winter the scenery is beautiful and the woods are alive."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong,
February 20, 2015
By: Zman60
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great Experience, excellent accommodations, food, activities....
Staff is phenomenal. If you haven't been here - you should go.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winter Wonderland,
February 20, 2015
By: Tylka
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Shane Appleby cannot be left out!
"Wow! Another awesome time at Glendorn. The staff is just wonderful! Joe the chef is out of this world. He comes up with to most amazing entrées. I just can't say enough about the place. If your looking for relaxation or fun in the mountains you have to visit Glendorn!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top of it's class,
February 20, 2015
By: Shep66
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Glendorn exceeds all requirements for service, elegance and enjoyment"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bucket List!,
January 26, 2015
By: Roons
from Bradford, PA 16701, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Awesome grounds, facilities, staff, food and amenities!
Snowmobiling, XC skiing, winter anything! Helpful and ultra friendly staff. A return is a definite"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience at Glendorn - AGAIN,
October 8, 2014
By: ARflyBum
from Arkansas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:First Class
"Great location, great accommodations, great food, great fly fishing, great everything."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fishing Experience Ever,
August 7, 2014
By: Tylka
from Uniontown, PA 15401, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Great Experience
"I just wanted to say that Glendorn is the best place on Earth. Including food, lodging and activities. Secluded in the mountains. I had the best day of fishing in my life there. Damon is an awesome guide. Very knowledgeable and very patient with a beginner. Can't wait to go back next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to get back to Glendorn,
July 29, 2014
By: Vick27
"The Glendorn certainly sets the standard for excellent service - in all aspects. Having said that, the highlight for me was fly fishing with Orvis guide Shane. Not only is he skilled and knowledgeable, he is also patient, enthusiastic, and very personable. With his coaching I managed to hook numerous trout in the various streams and ponds during our stay and have rediscovered a fondness for fly fishing. With this much fun fishing, golf was cancelled!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Fishing,
July 8, 2014
By: PhilAlex
from Bradford, PA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Some of the best mountain stream fishing Ive experienced. Very knowledgable guides who have years of experience fishing their local waters in Northern Pennsylvania. All three days we were immediately put on fish and caught many rainbows and browns in the 20+ inch range in a variety of waters"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great day of fishing,
June 28, 2014
By: dhfly
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great day of fishing on Glendorn streams. Lots of large browns and rainbows. One of the best days of flyfishing ever!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Glendorn, PA
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Guide,
May 8, 2014
By: anthonyp151
from Brackney PA
"I am new to fly fishing and found Glendorn through the Orvis catalogue. The lodge was great, the food excellent, but the highlight for me was my afternoon learning the basics of fly fishing from Shane Appleby on the property. We moved from the lakes to the stream and caught numerous rainbows. He improved my casting and taught me how to rig for nymphing and gave me a simplified approach and tackle suggestions that I can take to waters anywhere. The next day I stayed on property and fished all over by myself using my new found knowledge and was very successful and satisfied that Shane had brought me to a new level of enjoyment for fly fishing. Thank you Shane, I had a ball!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes