Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Ranch, MT

Escape to Montana's historic Firehole Ranch for a rare opportunity to fish the fabled, wild trout waters of the Rocky Mountain West. We fish legendary rivers including the Madison, the Yellowstone, the Henry's Fork of the Snake, the Gallatin, the Ruby, the Firehole and the Lamar, to name just a few. Enjoy absolutely unforgettable fishing in some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. As our guides say, you can fish a different stretch of water every day of the season and never fish the same stretch twice!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 of 34(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch is Awesome,
August 18, 2014
By: TroutmasterInMyDreams
from Pewaukee, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Firehole Ranch exceeded all our expectations! Client service was exceptional from all members of the Firehole staff. Fly fishing with our guide, Allan, on the Madison, Henry's Fork and Yellowstone was productive and lots of fun. Food was gourmet, plentiful, and exceedingly good. Our cabin was comfortable, rustic but luxurious and we enjoyed many nights in front of our woodburning stove. We so enjoyed our stay at Firehole Ranch and hope to return. Thank you, Lyndy, Bruno and everyone at the Firehole Ranch who worked very hard to make our vacation so awesome!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional,
August 3, 2014
By: HLJCPA
from Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great (and patient) guides..
"This was our first trip to Firehole Ranch. The experience was exceptional in every category - professionalism of management, friendliness and level of service of the staff, quality of the fishing guides, dining operation, accomodations, etc. It exceeded our expectations - and our expectations were high! Harry & Mary"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top-Notch Fly Fishing Lodge.,
July 30, 2014
By: SueSue330
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We return to Firehole Ranch year after year. We enjoy the excellent accommodations, wonderful food and the best fly fishing experience in the West. Excellent guides and the wonderful staff anticipates our every need"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rustic Luxury,
July 29, 2014
By: EGAUM
from Madison, WI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The Firehole Lodge exemplifies rustic luxury accommodations and exceptional service. The fly fishing was outstanding. The ranch provided the equipment and paired us up with guides. The guides were super patient and knowledgeable, no matter what our levels of fly fishing skills were. The lodge and cabins sit on a beautiful piece of land along the bank of a lake that bows out of the Madison River. The cabins are comfortably appointed in classic western style. The rooms are stalked with wine, beer, soda, and a coffee maker. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main lodge and the cooking was phenomenal. The cocktails are creative and the wine was well paired and plentiful. I have stayed in several fishing lodges around the world and the Firehole Ranch has been my favorite all around experience. I will plan to return regularly!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A terrific experience,
July 22, 2014
By: Bob3fisherman
from Bonita Springs, FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was a wonderful experience for myself, my son, grandson and nephew. And the added benefit of spending time with Henry Winkler was over the top! We have booked next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expectations Exceeded Again!,
July 19, 2014
By: TenayaCharley
from Winnetka, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We are frequent visitors to the Firehole Ranch. This visit though we brought our entire family which includes 3 teenage boys. In summary, the visit was FANTASTIC. Guides were spectacular working with each of our family member's skill set, we did the Madison, Lamar, Between, Gallatin, etc.
While we may have almost eaten out Bruno's kitchen due to everyone loving the food, there always was just enough. Cabins 7 and 8 are perfect for a family with Mom/Dad in 8 and teenagers in 7."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hospitality, great fishing,
July 11, 2014
By: Beowulff
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Firehole Ranch. The staff, the chefs, the guides and the owner were all wonderful and made for a great experience (despite snow in June).
We plan to return soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 10, 2014
By: BethK1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this was the best vacation possible. The cabins are comfortable, the location beautiful, the food fantastic, the guides knowledgeable and fun, the staff friendly and helpful, the fishing out of this world. The other guests were congenial and Lyndy is a master at matching people at dinner. The week flew by and we look forward to returning next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing experience of a lifetime,
July 4, 2014
By: Brothers
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:They were awesome! Great guides. Great coaches.
"We were looking for the fly fishing experience of a lifetime to celebrate our father's 80th birthday. Our expectations were exceeded in every way. The management team and staff were friendly, helpful and made everything run smoothly. The food was outstanding. The fishing guides took care of our every need. And the fishing was amazing. Thank you for helping to create memories that my father, brothers and I will cherish for the rest of our lives."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantasgtic Firehole,
July 1, 2014
By: FlyFishKen60
from Southwest Harbor, Maine
"Our family, including two teenage granddaughters, had a fantastic fishing experience at Firehole Ranch last week. The guides were outstanding, the fishing was excellent, the food was superb and the friendliness of the staff and the guests made us feel welcome and relaxed. We are going back next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch,
June 30, 2014
By: Dougsocal
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second year at the ranch and i am counting the days until i can get back.
Lynda and her great staff do such a fantastic job, they don't miss a thing and the attention to detail is amazing.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect and Inspiring Experience,
October 11, 2013
By: flyfishingal84
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Best of the best!
"I had a wonderful experience at Firehole Ranch from July 20th through July 23rd. The entire Firehole staff was friendly and accommodating, and made the utmost effort to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Prior to and during our trip Alicia and Rob did a magnificent job in assisting us with our travel plans and tailoring our itinerary so that we were able to experience a wide range of activities during our trip. Angie and I took full advantage of the activities offered at the Ranch. We both very much enjoyed horseback riding and going on an early morning canoe trip around the lake. As a novice fly fisherwoman with a wide spectrum of interests, it was attractive and enjoyable to have activities conveniently available on the Ranch’s premises in addition to the main attraction - fly-fishing.
With the exception of Firehole’s management team (Lyndy, Rob, and Alicia), the Firehole staff members that I had the opportunity to interact with most are Kattie Hamilton, Blakely Hay, and Andrea Rose. In my opinion, each one of these individuals is exceptional ambassadors of Firehole with each truly making the guests’ interests their top priority. During my interactions with each, they not only acted with an exceptional level of professionalism but also displayed a loyalty for the Ranch and a passion their particular role. I can recall specific times when each one of these staff members made it a point to ensure that I was comfortable and enjoying the experience. In addition, some of the most enjoyable conversations that I had during my stay were with these and other staff members.
The evening cocktail hour and dinner was a highlight of the trip. The lodge itself and the format of the evening provided a nice forum to converse with the other guests and the Firehole staff. The food prepared by Bruno and his staff was delectable and unique. We especially enjoyed Bruno’s use of local ingredients when possible.
Our fishing guides Josh Duchateau and Ryan Tomczyk are undoubtedly experts in their field and they truly eat, breath, and sweat fly-fishing. Like the other members of the Firehole staff, both Josh and Ryan were extremely accommodating, knowledgeable, and both were a pleasure to spend time with. The majority of my time fly-fishing was spent with Ryan. It was obvious that he really wanted us to catch some fish! When we caught one, he would be almost as excited as Angie and I. When it comes to fly fishing, our skill level is best described as ‘amateur’. Ryan had an impressive level of patience with us as we continually hooked trees, ourselves, and even him a couple of times! Because of his guidance and advice, I feel as though I am a much more skilled and knowledgeable fly-fisherwoman now than before visiting Firehole.
The minute details are just one of many ways in which Firehole sets itself apart of other resorts. From the handwritten welcome note and bottle of wine to the farewell note and departing gift (as well as everything in between), it was apparent that an emphasis on personal touch is part of Firehole’s unique culture. The old adage of a ‘home away from home’ truly applies when staying at Firehole. The only two regrets I have are that we were not at Firehole on a Wednesday evening in order to experience the BBQ and that we were not able to stay at the ranch longer on this trip. I sincerely hope to be able visit Firehole again in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
September 25, 2013
By: KP62
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the best combination of fly fishing and gourmet eating. The lodge itself is rustily elegant and the staff is top notch. I describe it as the Ritz Carlton of fly fishing lodges in that the staff addressed us by name and made us feel quite at home. Classy, rustic - everything is done right!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
September 11, 2013
By: Hjohnson
from Barrington, Il
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great and fun guide
"Great superb Ranch. Everything is 5 star. Food, lodging staff and guides. Visited last year and this year's was even better. Have already booked next year. The fishing is just fantastic. Can not wait for 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIREHOLE,
September 10, 2013
By: footer4
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our second trip to the Ranch and I hope more to come. This place is first class in every aspect. Don't think twice if you enjoy incredible country, excellent fishing and wonderful food and people. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An exceptional place,
August 16, 2013
By: KayakGuy
from Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our second visit to Firehole Ranch. The facility offers perfect accommodations, great food, knowledgeable guides, scenic locations and a variety of fishing opportunities. This year we asked to focus on dry fly fishing and had one day that we will never forget. Large brown trout and hoppers were the perfect combination. The facility and staff are exceptional. Their commitment to your comfort and fishing experience is second to none. My son and I look forward to our next visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Trip of a Lifetime and Firehole Ranch is Superb,
July 10, 2013
By: hookedon
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The Firehole Ranch in West Yellowstone MT is run so well by Lyndy the owner, and her manager Rob and Alicia. You feel that you are fishing at the Ritz. Personalized service, very accommodating, excellent guides and fishing and delicious food; be prepared to gain weight! The cabins are very comfortable and the cocktail hour and dinner with the other guests are very enjoyable. I was so depressed to leave. My 18 year old son who loves to fish had such a great trip and the time spent there will serve to keep us happy during stressful times now that we're back in the daily grind. We can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June Rush,
June 27, 2013
By: TenayaCharley
from Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All 3 guides ++++++ with my son.
"I was nervous about the fly-fishing in MT/YNP in June, I usually go in July. That said, the fishing this year was excellent - especially with the guides from FHR (including Josh, Chris & Rowan). They were extremely patient with my 11 year old. The goal of the trip was to hook my son on FlyFishing - & we were successful! Of course the FHR was FANTASTIC with food, hospitality & the cabin. We had a 5 star experience and I have & will always recommend this true gem of North America!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Halcyon Days,
June 26, 2013
By: PerfidiousAlbion
from Devon, UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I cannot imagine a more delightful place to fish, eat, be with charming people. The owner and staff are splendid. A jewel."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing But The Best,
September 12, 2012
By: MPCT
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently spent 6 days at the Firehole Ranch with my dad and godfather. From the moment we arrived, I knew I made the right choice for our adventure. The warm welcome from Alicia and Rob, and the smiling faces of Lindsay and April, and Colter told me all I needed to know in the first 2 hours. We came for big fish - and we landed big fish with the help of our expert guides Scotty and Josh. Always accommodating, fun to spend the day with, and genuinely great people made our time on the river and at the ranch way too short. If you are looking for an incredible fishing experience complete with great lodging and culinary experience, the Firehole won't disappoint! Nothing but the best all the way around!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes