Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Ranch, MT

Escape to Montana's historic Firehole Ranch for a rare opportunity to fish the fabled, wild trout waters of the Rocky Mountain West. We fish legendary rivers including the Madison, the Yellowstone, the Henry's Fork of the Snake, the Gallatin, the Ruby, the Firehole and the Lamar, to name just a few. Enjoy absolutely unforgettable fishing in some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. As our guides say, you can fish a different stretch of water every day of the season and never fish the same stretch twice!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous fishing trip!,
June 30, 2015
By: Melvilleesq
from Long Island, NY
"The Ranch and the surroundings were spectacular. As a fly fishing rookie I didn't know what to expect. The Ranch and the guides made it all easy. The fishing locations are beyond compare. Dinner at the Ranch is 5 Star, every night. I'd return in a minute, even though I live at the other end of the country!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome experience,
June 29, 2015
By: JDROH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Once again we were treated to an awesome experience this June at the Firehole Ranch. There is no other vacation destination in the world that offers a better experience to their clients/friends. The location is unmatched. We fished in three states on four different stretches of pristine river and caught significant numbers of beautiful trout. We were served by the best most patient and knowledgeable guides in the business. We are always treated like family and fed like royalty. Their staff loves to work at the Firehole Ranch and their main goal in life is to make you comfortable during your stay."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch,
June 29, 2015
By: Pjlill05
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have taken clients to many different locations over the years but Firehole Ranch is definitely one of the most top notch places I have ever been. The facilities were second to none and the service was impeccable! I look forward to the next trip back to Firehole Ranch"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Family Fishing Experience,
June 27, 2015
By: Wiseguyx4
from West Yellowstone, MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Matt and Mike
"My wife, two high school sons, and I had a wonderful experience at the Firehole Ranch. Lyndy, the owner, and her staff took care of everything to perfection. The lodging was very comfortable and clean. The food was outstanding. Bruno, the chef, had prepared a fabulous menu every night. One night he seved the best duck I have ever had.
Then the activities... The fishing was outstanding. We floated the Madison two days and Henry's Fork the third. Wear two guides provided by FHR, Matt and Mike. Both were outstanding. We caught a lot of fish (unfortunately my wife caught the largest and now I have to hear about it) but more importantly they also taught us a lot more about casting and reading the environment. Thanks Matt and Mike!
The last day my wife and older son went for a horseback ride while my ither son and I took a try at the lake My wife and son raved about the ride that Tom took them on. This seems to be an under utilized option which people seem to miss out on. Next time.
Last highlight was the other guests. It was really a great part of the experience. We had a good mix of couples, friends and families.
Thanks Lyndy and staff for a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE,
October 8, 2014
By: RustyS69
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Enjoyed an incredible experience at Firehole Ranch...the rustic yet comfortable cabins, amazing food, exemplary customer service from the entire staff, including owner Lyndy, and world class fishing would be hard to beat. My wife had never fly-fished before but spent three extraordinary days on the rivers...and is "hooked" (no pun intended).
Firehole is a must visit fly fishing vacation site."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Nirvana,
September 17, 2014
By: Clive5
from Tampa, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If I ever tend to drop my rod tip again I will have another session with Brady, a young, enthusiastic and very patient guide at the Ranch. He has set a new standard of excellence against which I will measure my future guided fishing experiences.
The Firehole Ranch continues its tradition of great hospitality. The food at the main lodge is excellent and a range of beverages (all inclusive) that will appeal to the most discriminating palette. However, as with any operation of this nature it is the people who add the icing to the cake - friendly, helpful, accommodating and totally focussed on the guest experience.
The fishing just happened to be really good at most of the locations we fished despite some inclement weather. When Brady told us to get ready because 'this is a really good stretch water' or 'drop a fly 2 - 3 feet off that rock!' we generally hooked into a fish. He really does know the waters in and around Yellowstone.
Call ahead, check the potential, and take a week for some of the best fishing at one of America's great Fly Fishing Lodges."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memorable Father-Son Experience,
September 13, 2014
By: TerryVA
from McLean, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We visited Firehole Ranch to celebrate my son's college graduation. Lyndy and her staff provided a memorable experience from start to finish. Our guide, Allan, provided expert assistance and really helped us to improve our skills. The variety of fishing water was amazing, from the venerable Madison to fishing among a herd of bison on the Lamar. Bruno served up world-class cuisine every evening, and the intimate setting provided an ideal opportunity to make new friends. Alicia, Rob, Meredith and the entire crew made this a week to remember. We look forward to returning next year. Terry and Patrick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch is Awesome,
August 18, 2014
By: TroutmasterInMyDreams
from Pewaukee, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Firehole Ranch exceeded all our expectations! Client service was exceptional from all members of the Firehole staff. Fly fishing with our guide, Allan, on the Madison, Henry's Fork and Yellowstone was productive and lots of fun. Food was gourmet, plentiful, and exceedingly good. Our cabin was comfortable, rustic but luxurious and we enjoyed many nights in front of our woodburning stove. We so enjoyed our stay at Firehole Ranch and hope to return. Thank you, Lyndy, Bruno and everyone at the Firehole Ranch who worked very hard to make our vacation so awesome!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional,
August 3, 2014
By: HLJCPA
from Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great (and patient) guides..
"This was our first trip to Firehole Ranch. The experience was exceptional in every category - professionalism of management, friendliness and level of service of the staff, quality of the fishing guides, dining operation, accomodations, etc. It exceeded our expectations - and our expectations were high! Harry & Mary"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top-Notch Fly Fishing Lodge.,
July 30, 2014
By: SueSue330
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We return to Firehole Ranch year after year. We enjoy the excellent accommodations, wonderful food and the best fly fishing experience in the West. Excellent guides and the wonderful staff anticipates our every need"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rustic Luxury,
July 29, 2014
By: EGAUM
from Madison, WI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The Firehole Lodge exemplifies rustic luxury accommodations and exceptional service. The fly fishing was outstanding. The ranch provided the equipment and paired us up with guides. The guides were super patient and knowledgeable, no matter what our levels of fly fishing skills were. The lodge and cabins sit on a beautiful piece of land along the bank of a lake that bows out of the Madison River. The cabins are comfortably appointed in classic western style. The rooms are stalked with wine, beer, soda, and a coffee maker. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main lodge and the cooking was phenomenal. The cocktails are creative and the wine was well paired and plentiful. I have stayed in several fishing lodges around the world and the Firehole Ranch has been my favorite all around experience. I will plan to return regularly!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A terrific experience,
July 22, 2014
By: Bob3fisherman
from Bonita Springs, FL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"It was a wonderful experience for myself, my son, grandson and nephew. And the added benefit of spending time with Henry Winkler was over the top! We have booked next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Expectations Exceeded Again!,
July 19, 2014
By: TenayaCharley
from Winnetka, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We are frequent visitors to the Firehole Ranch. This visit though we brought our entire family which includes 3 teenage boys. In summary, the visit was FANTASTIC. Guides were spectacular working with each of our family member's skill set, we did the Madison, Lamar, Between, Gallatin, etc.
While we may have almost eaten out Bruno's kitchen due to everyone loving the food, there always was just enough. Cabins 7 and 8 are perfect for a family with Mom/Dad in 8 and teenagers in 7."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great hospitality, great fishing,
July 11, 2014
By: Beowulff
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Firehole Ranch. The staff, the chefs, the guides and the owner were all wonderful and made for a great experience (despite snow in June).
We plan to return soon.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
July 10, 2014
By: BethK1
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"this was the best vacation possible. The cabins are comfortable, the location beautiful, the food fantastic, the guides knowledgeable and fun, the staff friendly and helpful, the fishing out of this world. The other guests were congenial and Lyndy is a master at matching people at dinner. The week flew by and we look forward to returning next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing experience of a lifetime,
July 4, 2014
By: Brothers
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:They were awesome! Great guides. Great coaches.
"We were looking for the fly fishing experience of a lifetime to celebrate our father's 80th birthday. Our expectations were exceeded in every way. The management team and staff were friendly, helpful and made everything run smoothly. The food was outstanding. The fishing guides took care of our every need. And the fishing was amazing. Thank you for helping to create memories that my father, brothers and I will cherish for the rest of our lives."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantasgtic Firehole,
July 1, 2014
By: FlyFishKen60
from Southwest Harbor, Maine
"Our family, including two teenage granddaughters, had a fantastic fishing experience at Firehole Ranch last week. The guides were outstanding, the fishing was excellent, the food was superb and the friendliness of the staff and the guests made us feel welcome and relaxed. We are going back next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch,
June 30, 2014
By: Dougsocal
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my second year at the ranch and i am counting the days until i can get back.
Lynda and her great staff do such a fantastic job, they don't miss a thing and the attention to detail is amazing.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect and Inspiring Experience,
October 11, 2013
By: flyfishingal84
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Best of the best!
"I had a wonderful experience at Firehole Ranch from July 20th through July 23rd. The entire Firehole staff was friendly and accommodating, and made the utmost effort to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Prior to and during our trip Alicia and Rob did a magnificent job in assisting us with our travel plans and tailoring our itinerary so that we were able to experience a wide range of activities during our trip. Angie and I took full advantage of the activities offered at the Ranch. We both very much enjoyed horseback riding and going on an early morning canoe trip around the lake. As a novice fly fisherwoman with a wide spectrum of interests, it was attractive and enjoyable to have activities conveniently available on the Ranch’s premises in addition to the main attraction - fly-fishing.
With the exception of Firehole’s management team (Lyndy, Rob, and Alicia), the Firehole staff members that I had the opportunity to interact with most are Kattie Hamilton, Blakely Hay, and Andrea Rose. In my opinion, each one of these individuals is exceptional ambassadors of Firehole with each truly making the guests’ interests their top priority. During my interactions with each, they not only acted with an exceptional level of professionalism but also displayed a loyalty for the Ranch and a passion their particular role. I can recall specific times when each one of these staff members made it a point to ensure that I was comfortable and enjoying the experience. In addition, some of the most enjoyable conversations that I had during my stay were with these and other staff members.
The evening cocktail hour and dinner was a highlight of the trip. The lodge itself and the format of the evening provided a nice forum to converse with the other guests and the Firehole staff. The food prepared by Bruno and his staff was delectable and unique. We especially enjoyed Bruno’s use of local ingredients when possible.
Our fishing guides Josh Duchateau and Ryan Tomczyk are undoubtedly experts in their field and they truly eat, breath, and sweat fly-fishing. Like the other members of the Firehole staff, both Josh and Ryan were extremely accommodating, knowledgeable, and both were a pleasure to spend time with. The majority of my time fly-fishing was spent with Ryan. It was obvious that he really wanted us to catch some fish! When we caught one, he would be almost as excited as Angie and I. When it comes to fly fishing, our skill level is best described as ‘amateur’. Ryan had an impressive level of patience with us as we continually hooked trees, ourselves, and even him a couple of times! Because of his guidance and advice, I feel as though I am a much more skilled and knowledgeable fly-fisherwoman now than before visiting Firehole.
The minute details are just one of many ways in which Firehole sets itself apart of other resorts. From the handwritten welcome note and bottle of wine to the farewell note and departing gift (as well as everything in between), it was apparent that an emphasis on personal touch is part of Firehole’s unique culture. The old adage of a ‘home away from home’ truly applies when staying at Firehole. The only two regrets I have are that we were not at Firehole on a Wednesday evening in order to experience the BBQ and that we were not able to stay at the ranch longer on this trip. I sincerely hope to be able visit Firehole again in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
September 25, 2013
By: KP62
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the best combination of fly fishing and gourmet eating. The lodge itself is rustily elegant and the staff is top notch. I describe it as the Ritz Carlton of fly fishing lodges in that the staff addressed us by name and made us feel quite at home. Classy, rustic - everything is done right!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes