Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Ranch, MT

Escape to Montana's historic Firehole Ranch for a rare opportunity to fish the fabled, wild trout waters of the Rocky Mountain West. We fish legendary rivers including the Madison, the Yellowstone, the Henry's Fork of the Snake, the Gallatin, the Ruby, the Firehole and the Lamar, to name just a few. Enjoy absolutely unforgettable fishing in some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. As our guides say, you can fish a different stretch of water every day of the season and never fish the same stretch twice!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect and Inspiring Experience,
October 11, 2013
By: flyfishingal84
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Best of the best!
"I had a wonderful experience at Firehole Ranch from July 20th through July 23rd. The entire Firehole staff was friendly and accommodating, and made the utmost effort to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. Prior to and during our trip Alicia and Rob did a magnificent job in assisting us with our travel plans and tailoring our itinerary so that we were able to experience a wide range of activities during our trip. Angie and I took full advantage of the activities offered at the Ranch. We both very much enjoyed horseback riding and going on an early morning canoe trip around the lake. As a novice fly fisherwoman with a wide spectrum of interests, it was attractive and enjoyable to have activities conveniently available on the Ranch’s premises in addition to the main attraction - fly-fishing.
With the exception of Firehole’s management team (Lyndy, Rob, and Alicia), the Firehole staff members that I had the opportunity to interact with most are Kattie Hamilton, Blakely Hay, and Andrea Rose. In my opinion, each one of these individuals is exceptional ambassadors of Firehole with each truly making the guests’ interests their top priority. During my interactions with each, they not only acted with an exceptional level of professionalism but also displayed a loyalty for the Ranch and a passion their particular role. I can recall specific times when each one of these staff members made it a point to ensure that I was comfortable and enjoying the experience. In addition, some of the most enjoyable conversations that I had during my stay were with these and other staff members.
The evening cocktail hour and dinner was a highlight of the trip. The lodge itself and the format of the evening provided a nice forum to converse with the other guests and the Firehole staff. The food prepared by Bruno and his staff was delectable and unique. We especially enjoyed Bruno’s use of local ingredients when possible.
Our fishing guides Josh Duchateau and Ryan Tomczyk are undoubtedly experts in their field and they truly eat, breath, and sweat fly-fishing. Like the other members of the Firehole staff, both Josh and Ryan were extremely accommodating, knowledgeable, and both were a pleasure to spend time with. The majority of my time fly-fishing was spent with Ryan. It was obvious that he really wanted us to catch some fish! When we caught one, he would be almost as excited as Angie and I. When it comes to fly fishing, our skill level is best described as ‘amateur’. Ryan had an impressive level of patience with us as we continually hooked trees, ourselves, and even him a couple of times! Because of his guidance and advice, I feel as though I am a much more skilled and knowledgeable fly-fisherwoman now than before visiting Firehole.
The minute details are just one of many ways in which Firehole sets itself apart of other resorts. From the handwritten welcome note and bottle of wine to the farewell note and departing gift (as well as everything in between), it was apparent that an emphasis on personal touch is part of Firehole’s unique culture. The old adage of a ‘home away from home’ truly applies when staying at Firehole. The only two regrets I have are that we were not at Firehole on a Wednesday evening in order to experience the BBQ and that we were not able to stay at the ranch longer on this trip. I sincerely hope to be able visit Firehole again in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Getaway,
September 25, 2013
By: KP62
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was the best combination of fly fishing and gourmet eating. The lodge itself is rustily elegant and the staff is top notch. I describe it as the Ritz Carlton of fly fishing lodges in that the staff addressed us by name and made us feel quite at home. Classy, rustic - everything is done right!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
September 11, 2013
By: Hjohnson
from Barrington, Il
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great and fun guide
"Great superb Ranch. Everything is 5 star. Food, lodging staff and guides. Visited last year and this year's was even better. Have already booked next year. The fishing is just fantastic. Can not wait for 2014."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIREHOLE,
September 10, 2013
By: footer4
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our second trip to the Ranch and I hope more to come. This place is first class in every aspect. Don't think twice if you enjoy incredible country, excellent fishing and wonderful food and people. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An exceptional place,
August 16, 2013
By: KayakGuy
from Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Our second visit to Firehole Ranch. The facility offers perfect accommodations, great food, knowledgeable guides, scenic locations and a variety of fishing opportunities. This year we asked to focus on dry fly fishing and had one day that we will never forget. Large brown trout and hoppers were the perfect combination. The facility and staff are exceptional. Their commitment to your comfort and fishing experience is second to none. My son and I look forward to our next visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Trip of a Lifetime and Firehole Ranch is Superb,
July 10, 2013
By: hookedon
from West Yellowstone, MT 59758, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"The Firehole Ranch in West Yellowstone MT is run so well by Lyndy the owner, and her manager Rob and Alicia. You feel that you are fishing at the Ritz. Personalized service, very accommodating, excellent guides and fishing and delicious food; be prepared to gain weight! The cabins are very comfortable and the cocktail hour and dinner with the other guests are very enjoyable. I was so depressed to leave. My 18 year old son who loves to fish had such a great trip and the time spent there will serve to keep us happy during stressful times now that we're back in the daily grind. We can't wait to go back!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June Rush,
June 27, 2013
By: TenayaCharley
from Chicago, IL
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All 3 guides ++++++ with my son.
"I was nervous about the fly-fishing in MT/YNP in June, I usually go in July. That said, the fishing this year was excellent - especially with the guides from FHR (including Josh, Chris & Rowan). They were extremely patient with my 11 year old. The goal of the trip was to hook my son on FlyFishing - & we were successful! Of course the FHR was FANTASTIC with food, hospitality & the cabin. We had a 5 star experience and I have & will always recommend this true gem of North America!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Halcyon Days,
June 26, 2013
By: PerfidiousAlbion
from Devon, UK
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I cannot imagine a more delightful place to fish, eat, be with charming people. The owner and staff are splendid. A jewel."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nothing But The Best,
September 12, 2012
By: MPCT
from Connecticut, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I recently spent 6 days at the Firehole Ranch with my dad and godfather. From the moment we arrived, I knew I made the right choice for our adventure. The warm welcome from Alicia and Rob, and the smiling faces of Lindsay and April, and Colter told me all I needed to know in the first 2 hours. We came for big fish - and we landed big fish with the help of our expert guides Scotty and Josh. Always accommodating, fun to spend the day with, and genuinely great people made our time on the river and at the ranch way too short. If you are looking for an incredible fishing experience complete with great lodging and culinary experience, the Firehole won't disappoint! Nothing but the best all the way around!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fishing, breathtaking views,
September 10, 2012
By: nickkinkaid
from San Jose, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My parents and I spent a long four days at Firehole Ranch in July and had a spectacular time. Lindy, Alicia, Trey, and Bruno all conspired to create what was probably the best vacation experience we have ever had. The food was amazing, the company of new friends enjoyable, and our fishing guide Trey knew all the best spots. You wouldn't believe the number of fish we caught. Our day trip to Lamar Valley in Yellowstone Park will always remain in my memory, watching my dad walk down the stream fighting the biggest trout of the day. Smiles all around!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW,WHAT A PLACE!,
September 5, 2012
By: KPF10
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"To celebrate my 60th birthday I wanted to do something special while sharing it with my sons and my two best lifetime buddies and their sons. We are all fishermen, but the south Louisiana kind, in other words, spin casting for speckled trout and red fish.
After much research I decided let's try fly fishing in Montana at the Firehole Ranch. I got in touch with Alicia White, the lodges point person, and everything was arranged by her painlessly and without hassle.
We all arrived a bit apprehensive having very little fly fishing experience and not knowing exactly what to expect. We quickly discovered any fears were needless. We were greeted like long lost friends by Alicia and Lyndy, owner of the Firehole, by dinner the incredible entire staff knew all of us by name. We also discovered that first night the food prepared by Chef Bruno was world class.
Now for the reason we travalled so far, the fishing. The Firehole supplied us with everything we needed equipment wise and the guides were patient and great teachers, in short they were outstanding. We drift fished, wade fished and sight cast for large rainbows and browns on still waters. All of this done in a setting as spectacular as you will ever find.
In short, the Firehole provided all of us with memories we will carry for a lifetime. This is a place you will never forget!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our favorite,
September 4, 2012
By: BlueHeron1
from Columbus, OH, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Firehole is absolutely our favorite fishing spot! For years, we explored different Orvis-endorsed lodges for our annual fishing trip... until we found Firehole! The fishing, the service, the food, the accomodations - all are unmatched. It truly is a special place and one we will continue to visit for years to come."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Trip of a Lifetime!,
August 25, 2012
By: mjmre2
from New York
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Experts!
"My dream has always been to fly fish on the Madison River and my dream came true at Firehole Ranch! Expert guides, five star cuisine, beautiful accomodations, an incredible staff who can't do enough for you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Back and Can't Wait For Next Year,
August 22, 2012
By: Anonymous
from Southern California
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He was more excited when we caught fish than we were!
"Just returned from Firehole Ranch and our trip was as pleasurable and memorable as the previous year. Have already booked our reservation for next year. Wouldn't miss it for anything except my children's wedding! The top notch friendly service, food, accomodations and guide service was beyond exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastc Firehole,
July 26, 2012
By: BulletBob
from Midland, TX, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The fact that many of the guests at Firehole Ranch are repeat customers speaks volumes. A fly fisherman's paradise. The staff is efficient and genuine, yet not in-your-face or over-the-top. Be prepared for world class fishing, a beautiful setting, great food and fun people. We're hooked!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Ever!,
February 3, 2012
By: FishingCouple
"Firehole Ranch is one of our favorite places to relax and unwind while enjoying phenomenal fishing, food and friends. The hosts, guides and chefs are among the best we have found anywhere. We are looking forward to our fourth trip to Firehole ranch this summer - it will not be the last!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't wait to get back to the Ranch,
January 31, 2012
By: Cardinal
from Pepper Pike, Ohio
"We've just scheduled our trip to the Firehole Ranch for this summer and look forward to the excellent care, awesome fishing guides, and fabulous food. This will be our 5th trip to the ranch, and we can't wait to get back, see old friends, make new ones, and catch some big fish!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven on Earth!,
December 4, 2011
By: Familyof4
from West Yellowstone, MT
"If you are looking for the most beautiful, relaxing, secluded, peaceful place to visit on vacation, look no further than the Firehole Ranch. The staff there, combined with the pristine wilderness and impeccable food, make it a little slice of heaven on Earth. The fact that you can spend the day with world class guides fishing the legendary waters of Big Sky Country OR just stay and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Ranch is priceless. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, yet professional, and they pamper you every moment you are there. I always leave feeling 10 years younger and like all the cares of the world have left me. If you appreciate fabulous food, great fishing or majestic beauty, then the Firehole Ranch will become your favorite vacation spot also!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Trip,
November 30, 2011
By: LifeExperiences
"Our experience at Firehole Ranch was wonderful. Being fly fishing novices we found the perfect place to experience a new adventure. Dedicated, friendly staff provided exemplary service to meet our every need. A beautiful setting, phenomenal food, a helpful guide....could not have asked for more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spectacular in Every Respect,
November 8, 2011
By: FishingFamily
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"As a world traveller, I wondered if Firehole Ranch would live up to its reputation. We were pleasantly surprised it was everything we hoped for, and more. Spectacular setting, friendly staff, assortment of rivers to choose from, easy access to Yellowstone, exquisite food, and a remote place to escape from it all.
Firehole is a rare gem and truly the great outdoors experience for the whole family. Our trip was a life-long memory that has enriched our lives."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes