Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Firehole Ranch, MT

Escape to Montana's historic Firehole Ranch for a rare opportunity to fish the fabled, wild trout waters of the Rocky Mountain West. We fish legendary rivers including the Madison, the Yellowstone, the Henry's Fork of the Snake, the Gallatin, the Ruby, the Firehole and the Lamar, to name just a few. Enjoy absolutely unforgettable fishing in some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. As our guides say, you can fish a different stretch of water every day of the season and never fish the same stretch twice!
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Firehole Ranch, MT
Review 1 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Take your cub fishing,
August 29, 2015
By: FamilyAngler
from New York, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Jeremy and Maggie at Orvis did a great job and the staff at the Ranch lived up to and exceeded all our expectations.
"My teenage son and I just spent a most extraordinary week at the Firehole Ranch and I cannot recommend it highly enough for sharing the best of the West with a kid. The guiding was as much about teaching as catching fish and that transformed our experience from one of sport to divine inspiration! My kid now offers me advice! What could be better! We both look forward to returning to this beautifully conserved site to which the owner has cheerfully dedicated her life. The lodging and food are beyond compare. And the staff-pros and students-rises to the challenge of a very high standard at every turn. You cannot, in my opinion, enjoy Western fishing more with your family than at the Firehole Ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
August 18, 2015
By: Melsh
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a fantastic place to visit for the new or experienced fly fisherman. We've been twice and enjoyed it immensely both times. The scenery is spectacular, the fishing is first rate, and the lodge itself is A plus."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 17, 2015
By: Muls
from Winchester MA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Third time guest at the Firehole Ranch, and better than ever. The graciousness of the staff and Lindy (owner) is superb, as is the cuisine of chef Bruno. The guided fishing on wonderful rivers was highly successful, and great fun. I highly recommend the Firehole Ranch for the perfect blend of fishing, dining, comfortable ambience to relax with fine guests and staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unbelievable!,
August 2, 2015
By: Trokay
from Truckee, CA 96161, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife gave me my first guided trip for Christmas. After reading all of the previous reviews we chose Firehole and could not have had a better experience. Lyndy has hired the most amazing staff who make you feel like family and attend to your every need. The food is top notch whether you are eating in the dining room or on the river. We were lucky enough to have their head guide Josh as our guide. Not only did he seem to find every fish in which ever river we were on, he was a great person to spend time with. He was able to have my wife who never fly-fished catching fish like a pro. This trip was going to be a one time bucket list trip and now we can't wait to book our return visit. Thank you Lyndy and all of your staff!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Truly Wonderful,
August 1, 2015
By: FishingEnthusiast
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a very special lodge, set in a beautiful area, that provides wonderful fishing, accommodations and food. My wife and I have returned many times - the Firehole never disappoints."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why I Return to Firehole Ranch Every Summer,
July 31, 2015
By: DoctorTrout
from Potomac, MD, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Having just returned from my sixth trip to Firehole Ranch, I have already booked for next summer. The fishing experience is extraordinary, with 20+ quality trout possible in one day. The culinary experience is epicurean, and the staff and guests are warm, friendly, and most interesting. Having fly fished in Patagonia several times, I am nonetheless equally excited about returning to Firehole Ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a great time,
July 25, 2015
By: agile1
from Houston, texas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As per previous years our stay was wonderful. Lyndy is such a wonderful hostess and her staff is exceptional. We love our accommodations in Little Moose. The food as always is superb and in fact I requested half lunches because I wouldn't be able to walk away if I ate all that was offered. It is truly 5 star. The fishing for me was exceptional in that I fished the Slide several days and had an unreal time. Our guide Chris is top notch and am looking forward to fishing with him next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Five Star Experience,
July 17, 2015
By: GayleS
from Park City, UT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband and I have enjoyed many trips to the Firehole Ranch and we always look forward to returning. We love the variety of fishing, the guides, the food and wine and importantly have met so many interesting people. Thanks Lyndy for so much attention to detail!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge,
July 3, 2015
By: TwoSeattleAnglers
from Seattle, WA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Firehole Ranch is extraordinary from A to Z. Fishing options are fabulous for any angler, as Josh knows every water within reasonable proximity exceptionally well. The entire staff goes out of their way for you (behind the scenes), and of course the food is phenomenal!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In a Heartbeat,
July 3, 2015
By: Kitchenguy
from Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Fishing was great. Madison, Henry's Fork, Jefferson, Beaverhead and Ruby. Rowan and Scotty put us into lots of fish and were wonderful company in and on the water. Lyndy and the staff did a superlative job in making our stay memorable. Courtney was an excellent riding companion for my wife. Do it again? In a heartbeat. If fact, we are booked for next year."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pristine Paradise,
July 3, 2015
By: StuartGrover
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He was excellent, helpful, knew the river and provided helpful tips on fishing
"We enjoyed impeccable hospitality, superb food, gracious accommodations, splendid fishing and riding, a customized tour of parts of Yellowstone relatively unpeopled, and lively and engaging fellow guests. We cannot imagine a better escape from everyday cares or a place that combined natural beauty with human kindness more perfectly.
Before we visited, we heard an acquaintance characterize Firehole as 'magical,' and we felt that magic every moment we stayed at the Ranch. We have traveled to many exotic and luxurious places, but have never found one that better melded sense of place with such attentive people."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous fishing trip!,
June 30, 2015
By: Melvilleesq
from Long Island, NY
"The Ranch and the surroundings were spectacular. As a fly fishing rookie I didn't know what to expect. The Ranch and the guides made it all easy. The fishing locations are beyond compare. Dinner at the Ranch is 5 Star, every night. I'd return in a minute, even though I live at the other end of the country!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome experience,
June 29, 2015
By: JDROH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Once again we were treated to an awesome experience this June at the Firehole Ranch. There is no other vacation destination in the world that offers a better experience to their clients/friends. The location is unmatched. We fished in three states on four different stretches of pristine river and caught significant numbers of beautiful trout. We were served by the best most patient and knowledgeable guides in the business. We are always treated like family and fed like royalty. Their staff loves to work at the Firehole Ranch and their main goal in life is to make you comfortable during your stay."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch,
June 29, 2015
By: Pjlill05
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have taken clients to many different locations over the years but Firehole Ranch is definitely one of the most top notch places I have ever been. The facilities were second to none and the service was impeccable! I look forward to the next trip back to Firehole Ranch"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Family Fishing Experience,
June 27, 2015
By: Wiseguyx4
from West Yellowstone, MT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Matt and Mike
"My wife, two high school sons, and I had a wonderful experience at the Firehole Ranch. Lyndy, the owner, and her staff took care of everything to perfection. The lodging was very comfortable and clean. The food was outstanding. Bruno, the chef, had prepared a fabulous menu every night. One night he seved the best duck I have ever had.
Then the activities... The fishing was outstanding. We floated the Madison two days and Henry's Fork the third. Wear two guides provided by FHR, Matt and Mike. Both were outstanding. We caught a lot of fish (unfortunately my wife caught the largest and now I have to hear about it) but more importantly they also taught us a lot more about casting and reading the environment. Thanks Matt and Mike!
The last day my wife and older son went for a horseback ride while my ither son and I took a try at the lake My wife and son raved about the ride that Tom took them on. This seems to be an under utilized option which people seem to miss out on. Next time.
Last highlight was the other guests. It was really a great part of the experience. We had a good mix of couples, friends and families.
Thanks Lyndy and staff for a great experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE,
October 8, 2014
By: RustyS69
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Enjoyed an incredible experience at Firehole Ranch...the rustic yet comfortable cabins, amazing food, exemplary customer service from the entire staff, including owner Lyndy, and world class fishing would be hard to beat. My wife had never fly-fished before but spent three extraordinary days on the rivers...and is "hooked" (no pun intended).
Firehole is a must visit fly fishing vacation site."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishing Nirvana,
September 17, 2014
By: Clive5
from Tampa, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If I ever tend to drop my rod tip again I will have another session with Brady, a young, enthusiastic and very patient guide at the Ranch. He has set a new standard of excellence against which I will measure my future guided fishing experiences.
The Firehole Ranch continues its tradition of great hospitality. The food at the main lodge is excellent and a range of beverages (all inclusive) that will appeal to the most discriminating palette. However, as with any operation of this nature it is the people who add the icing to the cake - friendly, helpful, accommodating and totally focussed on the guest experience.
The fishing just happened to be really good at most of the locations we fished despite some inclement weather. When Brady told us to get ready because 'this is a really good stretch water' or 'drop a fly 2 - 3 feet off that rock!' we generally hooked into a fish. He really does know the waters in and around Yellowstone.
Call ahead, check the potential, and take a week for some of the best fishing at one of America's great Fly Fishing Lodges."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memorable Father-Son Experience,
September 13, 2014
By: TerryVA
from McLean, VA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We visited Firehole Ranch to celebrate my son's college graduation. Lyndy and her staff provided a memorable experience from start to finish. Our guide, Allan, provided expert assistance and really helped us to improve our skills. The variety of fishing water was amazing, from the venerable Madison to fishing among a herd of bison on the Lamar. Bruno served up world-class cuisine every evening, and the intimate setting provided an ideal opportunity to make new friends. Alicia, Rob, Meredith and the entire crew made this a week to remember. We look forward to returning next year. Terry and Patrick"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firehole Ranch is Awesome,
August 18, 2014
By: TroutmasterInMyDreams
from Pewaukee, WI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Firehole Ranch exceeded all our expectations! Client service was exceptional from all members of the Firehole staff. Fly fishing with our guide, Allan, on the Madison, Henry's Fork and Yellowstone was productive and lots of fun. Food was gourmet, plentiful, and exceedingly good. Our cabin was comfortable, rustic but luxurious and we enjoyed many nights in front of our woodburning stove. We so enjoyed our stay at Firehole Ranch and hope to return. Thank you, Lyndy, Bruno and everyone at the Firehole Ranch who worked very hard to make our vacation so awesome!!!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Firehole Ranch, MT
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional,
August 3, 2014
By: HLJCPA
from Mount Pleasant, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Great (and patient) guides..
"This was our first trip to Firehole Ranch. The experience was exceptional in every category - professionalism of management, friendliness and level of service of the staff, quality of the fishing guides, dining operation, accomodations, etc. It exceeded our expectations - and our expectations were high! Harry & Mary"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes