Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.968 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (156 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
156 of 156(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resort!,
January 19, 2012
By: Skwala
"I’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Palisades Creek and fishing with their guides twice: once with another guy that is a hard-core fly fisher, and once with my wife who is learning the sport. Both trips were excellent, and the guides were top-notch. I must say that the Lodge is probably the nicest place I’ve found to spend a few days fishing with my spouse. The accommodations are wonderful, the food outrageously good, the staff is great and the fishing is memorable. We’re looking forward to another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge,
May 27, 2015
By: Chewy972
from Denver, CO, USA
"This is my 3rd year visiting the lodge and because of Justin, Rayna and the guides, this will be at the very least a yearly event. The staff at TLAPC is the best!! They run a very efficient lodge and you always feel welcomed and part of the family. The fishing guides Jaason, Rollie, Cole and Josh are fantastic. We didn't have great weather and they still just put us on the fish. We caught a ton of huge fish! Great people and a wonderful experience. This year I get the pleasure of going to the Lodge twice. Once with "the boys" and in June I am taking my 17 year old son, to start the tradition with him. I just left and can't wait to get back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
May 26, 2015
By: jccross5
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
"May was my 6th trip up to the Lodge and was Excellent as always. Any request we may have Justin and Rena always reply with no problems and follow through. We have the same guides every year (Jason, Josh, Rolly and Cole) and they work their butts off to find us fish. We are known to everybody up there as the Vegas Boys and treat us like gold."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodge at Palisades Creek,
May 26, 2015
By: JimFlyFishing
from Irwin, Idaho
"We've been coming here for 8 years and the staff is second to none. Awesome people who really care about doing their best to make our trip first rate. Highly recommend The Lodge @ Palisades Creek in Idaho."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great experience,
May 25, 2015
By: jack72
from Palisades Creek, Irwin, ID 83428, USA
"Justin always does great. This is my 4th year. Great place great people and great guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!!,
May 25, 2015
By: SCOTFASCO
from Las Vegas, Nv
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is the
the BEST!! Great fishing, Great food, Great accommodations, and the BEST guides on the planet. Justin and his staff really know how to make your stay special!! Looking forward to next year!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WORTHY OF THE TITLE!!!,
May 12, 2015
By: tgz1
from Ohio
"We decided to go fishing in the west and wanted to have a great experience. I researched off of the Orvis page and found the Lodge at Palisades Creek. We booked the first week of May. This place is amazing. I have never had a better and a more personal experience staying away from home in my life. The staff is phenomenal and the service was tremendous. The food was amazing and the drinks as plentiful as you wanted. Our day started off with a made to order breakfast that was fantastic. We then proceeded to the fly shop to meet guides. We then launched the boats about 10 minutes from the lodge. We all had caught fish within the first 30 minutes of being in the boat and then just continued all day. We had everything we needed on the river: gear, food, drinks, whatever we wanted. The day ended with us being dropped off at the cabin and then we headed to the lodge for dinner. It is a unique menu each night with all fabulous items. Every night two items looked great so i was given portions of each. They had a fully stocked bar and plenty of help. After dinner we headed down to the private, on-site bar for more of the same. The owner has cigars stocked and pool table available. We then turned in, got up, and did it all over again. The lodge can only hold 24 guests, so only an intimate experience can be had here. I would be happy and delighted to answer any questions about the place from other potential lodgers. We will be going back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing trip,
May 12, 2015
By: loganstritzke
from Boise, Idaho
"We had an exceptional all around experience at the lodge. Jaason Pruett was the best fishing guide I have ever worked with. His positivity and enthusiasm were matched only by his knowledge of the river. Overall, an unreal experience and I can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 4, 2014
By: bigbrowns15
from TLAPC, Irwin, Idaho
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is outstanding for a total fly fishing experience. Justin Hayes, GM, leads a wonderful staff of friendly , service focused folks who make the entire experience top shelf. This Orvis Lodge of the Year ( 2014) also has the best guides in the area. Jason Pruett is the head guide, and he is fabulous. He and his team of guides know every inch of the South Fork of the Snake River, and they live for their profession.
We did a Blast and Cast in October--- duck hunting in the morning and fly fishing in the afternoon. What a great way to spend 3-4 days. Jason and his fellow guides love doing it all. We have also been at the Lodge for the past four or five summers for fly fishing--these guys know their bugs ! We recommend the experience--- fly fishing novice or professional angler, these guides can teach anyone new tricks, and the staff at the Lodge will be waiting to make your evenings relaxing, with great wine, great food, and excellent service.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The lodge at palisades creek,
October 18, 2014
By: Cloyd
"The lodge is very nice, the TV rec room is a plus. The staff is outstanding. When we were there it rained they knew exactly what we needed to be comfortable fishing. The fishing guide Cole was excellent. The meals were good. The room was a bit small for the price.
In the excellent category would be service. Good was the meals and average would be the room
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience,
October 17, 2014
By: MSFlyer
from Mississippi
"TLAPC provided a world-class fly fishing trip. Located on the South Fork of the Snake River, you can't beat the scenery! The lodge took care of our every want and need. The guides were excellent and put us on trophy fish day after day. We can't wait to schedule our trip for next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another fantastic trip,
September 24, 2014
By: JoshDrifts
from Avon CT
"This was another great year with the team at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. As a repeat visitor I'm always impressed with the continuous improvements at the Lodge. The fishing, lodging, guides and staff have always been great. This year they managed to step up on all fronts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing experience!,
September 23, 2014
By: CRice
from Princeton, NJ
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is fantastic! The entire staff provides first-class service. Everyone you meet wants to make sure you have a sensational experience: the waitresses serving the excellent food, the fishing guides (whether it is your first time fly fishing or you are expert), and the management of the Lodge who have created a culture of hospitality. My guide was a great teacher and expert about the Snake River which is likely the most beautiful place on the planet."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLAPC Continues to Exceed Expectations,
September 23, 2014
By: Sage1
from Charleston, SC, USA
"I am fortunate enough to spend several days each August at TLAPC. This year, like years passed, was an incredible experience. The fishing alone is enough to add this place to any anglers "must do" list. But it is the constant attention to details from the owners, management, staff and guides that distinguishes TLAPC from other fly fishing lodges. My only regret is the sunsets come too quickly while i am there and too slowly as a await to return. Hats off to Justin and crew for making our trip a resounding success!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First fishing trip,
September 23, 2014
By: birdie33
from Burley Id
"I entered into this trip with some trepidation, having had no previous experience Fly Fishing. I was immediately relaxed by the warm friendly welcome and the assurances that this was going to be a great enjoyable experience. the facilities were excellent and all the equipment and coaching we fabulous. The trip was successful, the setting was stunningly beautiful and our guide ( Tanner ) was incredibly knowledgeable, informative and accomodating. All in all a great two days, wonderful countryside, excellent accomodation and super food, thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
September 23, 2014
By: AdamKC
from Kansas City
"Had a great time on our sixth visit to TLAPC. Justin and his staff are super friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and we enjoyed meeting new friends. We had great luck on the river with our guide Josh J. We'll be back next year for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Escape,
September 23, 2014
By: Jefethefryguy
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is as an ideal spot as one can imagine. Located next to the South Fork of the Snake River it is an ideal location to escape from the routine and reset. The South Fork is a world class fishing river and the guides know it very well. The weather was great, the fishing was great and the hospitality was excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
September 23, 2014
By: Steve39
"Awesome scenery and fishing. Our guide did a great job teaching a couple of novices and putting us on the fish! The Lodge, the meals, and the interaction with other guests made for a super trip. Would definetely do this one again!
Thanks!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome experience in my own backyard,
September 22, 2014
By: MikeDfromCanada
from Burley, ID
"Invited on a first-time guided fishing trip. I knew to expect a first class experience and my expectations were surpassed. We were welcomed as old friends upon arrival and served with friendly enthusiasm (and patience!) for two days of fishing and a night of stories, food, lies, and drinks! service is paramount, attention to detail is perfect, and the fishing was excellent too. Highly recommended to all!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge Ever,
September 22, 2014
By: Treecatcher
from Charleston, SC, USA
"Returned for our 6th trip to The Lodge and again it was fantastic. Everything was perfect from the accommodations, the guides and the fishing. Highly recommend anyone who enjoys good fishing and great people to check this Lodge out."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes