Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.966 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
145
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
149 of 149(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resort!,
January 19, 2012
By: Skwala
"I’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Palisades Creek and fishing with their guides twice: once with another guy that is a hard-core fly fisher, and once with my wife who is learning the sport. Both trips were excellent, and the guides were top-notch. I must say that the Lodge is probably the nicest place I’ve found to spend a few days fishing with my spouse. The accommodations are wonderful, the food outrageously good, the staff is great and the fishing is memorable. We’re looking forward to another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
November 4, 2014
By: bigbrowns15
from TLAPC, Irwin, Idaho
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is outstanding for a total fly fishing experience. Justin Hayes, GM, leads a wonderful staff of friendly , service focused folks who make the entire experience top shelf. This Orvis Lodge of the Year ( 2014) also has the best guides in the area. Jason Pruett is the head guide, and he is fabulous. He and his team of guides know every inch of the South Fork of the Snake River, and they live for their profession.
We did a Blast and Cast in October--- duck hunting in the morning and fly fishing in the afternoon. What a great way to spend 3-4 days. Jason and his fellow guides love doing it all. We have also been at the Lodge for the past four or five summers for fly fishing--these guys know their bugs ! We recommend the experience--- fly fishing novice or professional angler, these guides can teach anyone new tricks, and the staff at the Lodge will be waiting to make your evenings relaxing, with great wine, great food, and excellent service.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The lodge at palisades creek,
October 18, 2014
By: Cloyd
"The lodge is very nice, the TV rec room is a plus. The staff is outstanding. When we were there it rained they knew exactly what we needed to be comfortable fishing. The fishing guide Cole was excellent. The meals were good. The room was a bit small for the price.
In the excellent category would be service. Good was the meals and average would be the room
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience,
October 17, 2014
By: MSFlyer
from Mississippi
"TLAPC provided a world-class fly fishing trip. Located on the South Fork of the Snake River, you can't beat the scenery! The lodge took care of our every want and need. The guides were excellent and put us on trophy fish day after day. We can't wait to schedule our trip for next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another fantastic trip,
September 24, 2014
By: JoshDrifts
from Avon CT
"This was another great year with the team at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. As a repeat visitor I'm always impressed with the continuous improvements at the Lodge. The fishing, lodging, guides and staff have always been great. This year they managed to step up on all fronts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An amazing experience!,
September 23, 2014
By: CRice
from Princeton, NJ
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is fantastic! The entire staff provides first-class service. Everyone you meet wants to make sure you have a sensational experience: the waitresses serving the excellent food, the fishing guides (whether it is your first time fly fishing or you are expert), and the management of the Lodge who have created a culture of hospitality. My guide was a great teacher and expert about the Snake River which is likely the most beautiful place on the planet."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLAPC Continues to Exceed Expectations,
September 23, 2014
By: Sage1
from Charleston, SC, USA
"I am fortunate enough to spend several days each August at TLAPC. This year, like years passed, was an incredible experience. The fishing alone is enough to add this place to any anglers "must do" list. But it is the constant attention to details from the owners, management, staff and guides that distinguishes TLAPC from other fly fishing lodges. My only regret is the sunsets come too quickly while i am there and too slowly as a await to return. Hats off to Justin and crew for making our trip a resounding success!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First fishing trip,
September 23, 2014
By: birdie33
from Burley Id
"I entered into this trip with some trepidation, having had no previous experience Fly Fishing. I was immediately relaxed by the warm friendly welcome and the assurances that this was going to be a great enjoyable experience. the facilities were excellent and all the equipment and coaching we fabulous. The trip was successful, the setting was stunningly beautiful and our guide ( Tanner ) was incredibly knowledgeable, informative and accomodating. All in all a great two days, wonderful countryside, excellent accomodation and super food, thank you."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
September 23, 2014
By: AdamKC
from Kansas City
"Had a great time on our sixth visit to TLAPC. Justin and his staff are super friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious and we enjoyed meeting new friends. We had great luck on the river with our guide Josh J. We'll be back next year for sure!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Escape,
September 23, 2014
By: Jefethefryguy
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is as an ideal spot as one can imagine. Located next to the South Fork of the Snake River it is an ideal location to escape from the routine and reset. The South Fork is a world class fishing river and the guides know it very well. The weather was great, the fishing was great and the hospitality was excellent."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
September 23, 2014
By: Steve39
"Awesome scenery and fishing. Our guide did a great job teaching a couple of novices and putting us on the fish! The Lodge, the meals, and the interaction with other guests made for a super trip. Would definetely do this one again!
Thanks!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome experience in my own backyard,
September 22, 2014
By: MikeDfromCanada
from Burley, ID
"Invited on a first-time guided fishing trip. I knew to expect a first class experience and my expectations were surpassed. We were welcomed as old friends upon arrival and served with friendly enthusiasm (and patience!) for two days of fishing and a night of stories, food, lies, and drinks! service is paramount, attention to detail is perfect, and the fishing was excellent too. Highly recommended to all!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge Ever,
September 22, 2014
By: Treecatcher
from Charleston, SC, USA
"Returned for our 6th trip to The Lodge and again it was fantastic. Everything was perfect from the accommodations, the guides and the fishing. Highly recommend anyone who enjoys good fishing and great people to check this Lodge out."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful two days,
September 17, 2014
By: fishingizzy
"Warm and friendly staff, great food. Cabins are clean and cozy, I loved falling asleep to the sound of the river outside my door and dreamed of big fish on my line the next day! The Lodge provided excellent fishing guides and it was nice to come back to a warm fire, good food, and attentive staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a week!,
September 16, 2014
By: fishinggrammie
from Tetonia, Idaho
"On Thursday, I participated in Stripping for a Cure, and my friend Carole and I had a wonderful river experience with Scott, even though the weather was inclement. Carole and I stayed at the lodge during the event, and everything was top drawer, from housekeeping, to food service, to Rayna in the shop. On Saturday, my husband and I fished with another couple, an annual event, and again, a wonderful river experience, this time with Josh and Buck. The lodge has the absolute best guides on the Southfork, and to be an overnight guest at the lodge is a special treat. Kudos on your Orvis award, you all deserve it!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It keeps getting better,
September 4, 2014
By: Rollbar
from Birmingham, AL
"Just when you think there is no way TLAPC experience can get any better, it does. Every aspect of their already outstanding offering has stepped up a notch. The food and service are over the top. And the guides remain the very best around. One would think that after a long season of guiding, the guides would welcome ways to short-cut their days, but in truth it is just the opposite. They go out of their way to insure that each guests enjoys the best possible experience on the South Fork of the Snake. I can't imagine a better place to enjoy fly-fishing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip Ever,
September 1, 2014
By: Troutman2027
from Baton Rouge, La
"The fishing, guide service, food and hospitality was the best I have ever experienced."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent in all respects,
August 30, 2014
By: Mississippiflyfishr
from Oxford, MS
"Great lodge, great people, great service, great guide created a once in a lifetime trip for my son and me celebrating his graduation from college. Josh Jablow was a fantastic guide providing great coaching and excellent fishing and hospitality. This was my third trip to tlapc and it has always been terrific but this year was exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Stay The Lodge at Palisades Creek,
August 19, 2014
By: BobbyMSL
from Bristol, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What can I say about our experience with The Lodge at Palisades Creek, it was truly excellent in all aspects. Every night my wife and I experienced delicious appetizers and then a five course meal prepared by the Lodges excellent staff. The log cabins we stayed in were very comfortable and located right on the river. Our guide Tanner was awesome! This was my wife's first time fly fishing and he had her casting, mending the line and actually caught her first fish on our first morning on the river. After 3 days on the river we boated plenty of big fat happy Cutthroats, viewed Bald Eagles every day and also saw other wildlife like Moose and Deer. This is a trip that my wife and I plan to repeat again in the future. Thanks again to the staff at the Lodge for an awesome experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodge at Palisades Creek,
August 17, 2014
By: Dave7002
from Swan Valley, ID
"Great team at The Lodge from general manager to dining staff. Begins in the morning with a great breakfast, continuing through the evening with a fantastic dinner. The guides are the best and every day a much anticipated adventure. Always enjoy the morning at the great Fly Shop interacting with the guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes