Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.967 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
118
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
121 of 121(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resort!,
January 19, 2012
By: Skwala
"I’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Palisades Creek and fishing with their guides twice: once with another guy that is a hard-core fly fisher, and once with my wife who is learning the sport. Both trips were excellent, and the guides were top-notch. I must say that the Lodge is probably the nicest place I’ve found to spend a few days fishing with my spouse. The accommodations are wonderful, the food outrageously good, the staff is great and the fishing is memorable. We’re looking forward to another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodge at Palisades Creek,
July 26, 2014
By: Savage
"I have been fishing at the lodge for 19 years and enjoy the mix of excellent fishing, great food and wine and interesting guests. Over the years I have met and made friends with some of the most interesting people in America, many of whom return year after year. It is always nice to see these old friends again, even if we only get together once a year at the lodge. Last but not least, the cutthroat trout fishing is probably the best in the country with excellent brown and rainbow fishing to match.
Although the lodge has always been a wonderful experience, under it's current manager Justin, it has grown to become world class in every respect.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful staff; delicious food,
July 26, 2014
By: Salalbbr
"We always love staying here. The staff is wonderful; the food is delicious; the fellow guests are always pleasant."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Fourth,
July 21, 2014
By: 6weight
"Our family recently spent an incredible July 4th weekend at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. We have never been to a place where we felt more welcome and special than TLAPC. From the fishing guides to the general manager, everyone is out to exceed your expectation.
Bravo!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps getting better,
July 21, 2014
By: Sherico
from Dallas area
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Due to a sudden illness we had to use more than one guide. All were excellent.
"I have been coming to TLAPC for over 20 years and they just keep getting better.
Great guides, friendly staff and outstanding food. The fishing is the best dry fly fishing I have found anywhere.
If you are looking for a five star trip this is the place to go.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
South fork trip,
July 20, 2014
By: Dommer
from Springfield, MO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had an excellent day on the South Fork with TLAPC guide Tim Smith. I was able to boat a double digit number of cuts and bows in the 16-20 inch range including several on size 18 emergers.
Tim is an excellent guide/communicator and worked hard on the oars to position the boat at a distance appropriate for my casting skill. I will be back and plan to stay at the lodge the next time. I highly recommend TLAPC and Tim Smith.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chillin out at Pasisades Lodge,
July 11, 2014
By: Rainbowhunter
from St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Of course the temperature for what became a 'dream-come-true' vacation was noticeably cooler than what we had come from back home, but then again the hospitality of the lodge staff and wonderfully cordial guests, on the flip side, provided us with an exceptionally warm welcome.
With their experienced guides, the fishing was better than we expected, and certainly worth mentioning as well, Bob and Shawn, their 'chefs extraordinaire', went all out to prepare us a couple of special request "freshly caught" entrees.
We couldn't have asked for a better time, and yes, we're looking forward to 'chillin out' there again in the not so distant future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
July 3, 2014
By: MKEFisherman
from Milwaukee, WI
"My family went to the Lodge each of the last two years and it continues to be exceptional. The guide service is patient and they know every inch of the river. The Lodge staff is incredibly personal, friendly and attentive. The food was great. We can't wait to make it three years in a row."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Trip to The Lodge,
July 1, 2014
By: Jimmy0123
"Had an awesome time my second time coming here. Justin is an awesome host and the same goes for all of the other employees and guides. Can't wait to plan my next trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Lodge, Staff & Guides,
July 1, 2014
By: COCarrie
from Winter Park, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Last week was my second visit to the Lodge at Palisades Creek but my first time fishing. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful, and seem to truly enjoy their jobs. The food is wonderful. The cabins and A-frame are very nicely furnished, close to the water, and have all the amenities you would expect at a fishing retreat. The fly fishing is the best I have experienced and the guides cater to your personality and ability level very well. I caught more fish here than I did in a month at home! This was a wonderful, relaxing experience and I look forward to returning next summer!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Family Vacation,
July 1, 2014
By: ChucknDuck2847
from ANGOLA IN
"Truly the staff and facility make you feel just like home. They are so very attentive friendly and gracious. Everything about the lodge is about the guest."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding As Ever !,
July 1, 2014
By: BMACCALIF
from Southern California
"Once again the Lodge at Palisades Creek continues with their tradition of excellent accommodations, delicious food, outstanding service, hospitality and of course some of the best darn fly fishing that you can find in these United States. A job WELL DONE. This JUNE marked my 7th year visiting the Lodge and I refer to everyone here as our Idaho family. Some of the very best guides in the nation guide here. If you want some one to put you on the money to catch fish these guys will do it. I highly recommend The Lodge at Palisades Creek. In fact, I am taking my youngest son and son-in-law this next year for our 8th season."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Average day below the Palisaides,
June 30, 2014
By: CC123
from McLean , Va
"We came back to the lodge because our first trip 3 years ago was so good. This trip was even better . The staff headed up by Justin is the best . Great food and excellent accommodations . The icing on the cake is the guides. Jason and Cole helped the 3 of us catch over a hundred big fish in 2 days. Unbelievable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extraordinary Value,
June 30, 2014
By: EvanW
from Richmond, Virginia
"This Lodge is blessed to have such an engaged manager that will exceed your expectations at every turn. Justin runs this lodge like it is his own and his enthusiasm for ensuring that your accommodations, food and fishing experience are nothing but first class make this a very special place. My guide Cole was without a doubt the most professional, hard working and dedicated fresh water guide I had ever experienced in my life time. It is quite clear why Orvis rated this lodge at the top of the heap! Keep up the good work!
P.S. - And the fishing was off the charts with quality fish and some Browns exceeding 21 inches!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fly fishing on the South Fork,
June 30, 2014
By: Casper2002
from Denver, CO
"The Lodge at Palisades did a fantastic job of showing our group great hospitality.
The grounds were well manicured and the cabins clean and tidy. The only complaint I have is that we weren't given a great idea of the fishing conditions (good or bad) or enough information about the lodge before we arrived. I was a guest of a group so maybe the lead in our group was given this information, but don't bank on that - the lodge could have gotten my information from my host and then sent me the pre trip planner instead of assuming the host would distribute it. When I called Yellow Dog outfitters to get this information 3 days before the trip, they never returned my multiple phone calls. All in all, not that big of a deal but it could have allowed me to be better prepared.
Thanks for the great service and trip - I will be back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Action,
June 30, 2014
By: PalmettoNorts
from Bluffton, SC
"Great guides and great food along with a crazy volume of fish makes this an annual "must" for us. Throw in a "chaser " of beautiful scenery and army's of eagles and you have a very special place."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iestewmanp2,
June 30, 2014
By: iestewmanp2
from Palisades Creek, Irwin, ID 83428, USA
"No bad days at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. The most professional unbelievable team from the guides to the staff I have ever experience."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worthy of the Award,
June 13, 2014
By: BigEasyBestVet
from New Orleans, LA
"It's easy to see why the Lodge at Palisades Creek was given the "Lodge of the Year Award" by Orvis. Everything is first class - from the accomodations and the fishing to the staff and the cuisine. The hospitality shown to us by everyone on staff was tremendous, and we are eagerly looking forward to our next visit."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great experience!,
March 17, 2014
By: MNfisher
from St. Paul, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I brought our 14 year old out for his first fly fishing trip. We had another trip of a lifetime at The Lodge of Palisades Creek. From the outstanding staff, our guide, the cabin, to the fishing. It was world class. A little more expensive than your typical place but worth every extra dollar. I highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast and Blast,
December 16, 2013
By: Vineman
from Santa Rosa, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three days of fishing and hunting in the most beautiful country ever. The crew at the Lodge at Palisades Creek was exemplary. Knowledgeable, fun and patient. They didn't spare any effort to make our experience extraordinary. And the lodging and food was unsurpassed. We'll be back again and again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes