Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.97 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
132
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
135 of 135(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resort!,
January 19, 2012
By: Skwala
"I’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Palisades Creek and fishing with their guides twice: once with another guy that is a hard-core fly fisher, and once with my wife who is learning the sport. Both trips were excellent, and the guides were top-notch. I must say that the Lodge is probably the nicest place I’ve found to spend a few days fishing with my spouse. The accommodations are wonderful, the food outrageously good, the staff is great and the fishing is memorable. We’re looking forward to another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It keeps getting better,
September 4, 2014
By: Rollbar
from Birmingham, AL
"Just when you think there is no way TLAPC experience can get any better, it does. Every aspect of their already outstanding offering has stepped up a notch. The food and service are over the top. And the guides remain the very best around. One would think that after a long season of guiding, the guides would welcome ways to short-cut their days, but in truth it is just the opposite. They go out of their way to insure that each guests enjoys the best possible experience on the South Fork of the Snake. I can't imagine a better place to enjoy fly-fishing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Trip Ever,
September 1, 2014
By: Troutman2027
from Baton Rouge, La
"The fishing, guide service, food and hospitality was the best I have ever experienced."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent in all respects,
August 30, 2014
By: Mississippiflyfishr
from Oxford, MS
"Great lodge, great people, great service, great guide created a once in a lifetime trip for my son and me celebrating his graduation from college. Josh Jablow was a fantastic guide providing great coaching and excellent fishing and hospitality. This was my third trip to tlapc and it has always been terrific but this year was exceptional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Epic Stay The Lodge at Palisades Creek,
August 19, 2014
By: BobbyMSL
from Bristol, VA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"What can I say about our experience with The Lodge at Palisades Creek, it was truly excellent in all aspects. Every night my wife and I experienced delicious appetizers and then a five course meal prepared by the Lodges excellent staff. The log cabins we stayed in were very comfortable and located right on the river. Our guide Tanner was awesome! This was my wife's first time fly fishing and he had her casting, mending the line and actually caught her first fish on our first morning on the river. After 3 days on the river we boated plenty of big fat happy Cutthroats, viewed Bald Eagles every day and also saw other wildlife like Moose and Deer. This is a trip that my wife and I plan to repeat again in the future. Thanks again to the staff at the Lodge for an awesome experience!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodge at Palisades Creek,
August 17, 2014
By: Dave7002
from Swan Valley, ID
"Great team at The Lodge from general manager to dining staff. Begins in the morning with a great breakfast, continuing through the evening with a fantastic dinner. The guides are the best and every day a much anticipated adventure. Always enjoy the morning at the great Fly Shop interacting with the guides."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible TIme,
August 12, 2014
By: Gmanis57
from Los Angeles, CA
"We had an incredible time! We used this venue as a coming together, business meetings, and fly fishing release no pun intended. But we did release in many ways. Thank youto the staff and guides that really took care of us! Great Food, Great Accomodations and Great Service!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Monster Paradise,
August 11, 2014
By: Girlonthefly
from Oklahoma City, OK
"The lodge and the fishing experience are fantastic. Enthusiastic, experienced, and fun guides, great food, and wonderful comraderie among the guests. We're already signed up for next year!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doesn't get better than this,
August 9, 2014
By: whyisthis
from Malibu, CA, USA
"Great fishing, great food, great accommodations, great staff and great guides. It just does not get better than this. Every day on a fantastically productive river with exceedingly knowledgeable guides one gets to come back and enjoy the camaraderie with interesting guests and gourmet meals. Justin, as a former restaurant manager and South Fork guide knows how to manage and balance all pieces of a fishing lodge. Well done indeed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love to Fish,
August 7, 2014
By: MAPlvtofish
from Irwin, Idaho
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Delightful cabins with just the
right appointments that are
carefully attended by the staff
The food is abundant and can meet
most anyone's tastes and preferences
Staff - the ladies - cannot do enough
to help the guests; all with smiles on
their faces
Guides - focused on finding fish and they find fish; terrific fishing on
a beautiful river. Browns, Cutthroats,
Hybrids, and Bows (with an occasional white fish) of significant size and beauty
Lodge Manager - Justin goes out
of his way to accommodate guest
preferences. He is terrific with staff
which makes for a positive lodge experience.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just keeps getting better,
August 3, 2014
By: PEP1
from New Mexico
"This is my 7th year at the Lodge. It's always been great fishing and a fun experience. But over the past few years it's become world class. Manager Justin Hays and his staff have upgraded the facilities even further, the service is excellent and the food terrific as well. They have the best and most experienced group of guides on the South Fork. I spent 5 days on the river, and had an awesome experience. Already have signed up for next year, and can't wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greatest Lodge Ever,
July 29, 2014
By: MannyA
from Altadena, CA, USA
"TLAPC is the best fly fishing lodge I have ever visited and I have been to several. Have been going with a group of friends to TLAPC for the last 4 years. First and foremost, the fishing on the Snake is incredible, large fish on the dry most of the summer. The TLAPC has outstanding guides that know the river very well and have been fishing it for years. They will put you on fish. They also great guys to be with, and offer helpful instruction and guidance. I have been fishing for many years yet I still learn a lot from the guides every year. Everything else about the Lodge is also first rate, the food, accommodations, service, people are all outstanding. Plus, the Lodge is right on the river and you can even fish after dinner, in fact, the fishing is great in the evening. Can't say enough good things about this place, have been going for years and will keep going until someone tells me I can't fish anymore. Thanks to Justin, Rayna and all of the people at the Lodge for so many years of great times."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fly fishing trip ever!,
July 29, 2014
By: TuckerE
from Williamsburg, VA
"The Lodge at Palisades Creek is a spectacular place. The facilities are excellent and the fishing is off the charts, but the most important aspect of the Lodge is the staff. They are completely focused on making everyone's time with them unique, easy and thoroughly enjoyable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lodge at Palisades Creek,
July 26, 2014
By: Savage
"I have been fishing at the lodge for 19 years and enjoy the mix of excellent fishing, great food and wine and interesting guests. Over the years I have met and made friends with some of the most interesting people in America, many of whom return year after year. It is always nice to see these old friends again, even if we only get together once a year at the lodge. Last but not least, the cutthroat trout fishing is probably the best in the country with excellent brown and rainbow fishing to match.
Although the lodge has always been a wonderful experience, under it's current manager Justin, it has grown to become world class in every respect.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful staff; delicious food,
July 26, 2014
By: Salalbbr
"We always love staying here. The staff is wonderful; the food is delicious; the fellow guests are always pleasant."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Fourth,
July 21, 2014
By: 6weight
"Our family recently spent an incredible July 4th weekend at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. We have never been to a place where we felt more welcome and special than TLAPC. From the fishing guides to the general manager, everyone is out to exceed your expectation.
Bravo!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps getting better,
July 21, 2014
By: Sherico
from Dallas area
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Due to a sudden illness we had to use more than one guide. All were excellent.
"I have been coming to TLAPC for over 20 years and they just keep getting better.
Great guides, friendly staff and outstanding food. The fishing is the best dry fly fishing I have found anywhere.
If you are looking for a five star trip this is the place to go.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
South fork trip,
July 20, 2014
By: Dommer
from Springfield, MO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had an excellent day on the South Fork with TLAPC guide Tim Smith. I was able to boat a double digit number of cuts and bows in the 16-20 inch range including several on size 18 emergers.
Tim is an excellent guide/communicator and worked hard on the oars to position the boat at a distance appropriate for my casting skill. I will be back and plan to stay at the lodge the next time. I highly recommend TLAPC and Tim Smith.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chillin out at Pasisades Lodge,
July 11, 2014
By: Rainbowhunter
from St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Of course the temperature for what became a 'dream-come-true' vacation was noticeably cooler than what we had come from back home, but then again the hospitality of the lodge staff and wonderfully cordial guests, on the flip side, provided us with an exceptionally warm welcome.
With their experienced guides, the fishing was better than we expected, and certainly worth mentioning as well, Bob and Shawn, their 'chefs extraordinaire', went all out to prepare us a couple of special request "freshly caught" entrees.
We couldn't have asked for a better time, and yes, we're looking forward to 'chillin out' there again in the not so distant future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great trip,
July 3, 2014
By: MKEFisherman
from Milwaukee, WI
"My family went to the Lodge each of the last two years and it continues to be exceptional. The guide service is patient and they know every inch of the river. The Lodge staff is incredibly personal, friendly and attentive. The food was great. We can't wait to make it three years in a row."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes