Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.971 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
5 stars
100
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
102 of 102(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Resort!,
January 19, 2012
By: Skwala
"I’ve had the pleasure of staying at the Lodge at Palisades Creek and fishing with their guides twice: once with another guy that is a hard-core fly fisher, and once with my wife who is learning the sport. Both trips were excellent, and the guides were top-notch. I must say that the Lodge is probably the nicest place I’ve found to spend a few days fishing with my spouse. The accommodations are wonderful, the food outrageously good, the staff is great and the fishing is memorable. We’re looking forward to another trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another great experience!,
March 17, 2014
By: MNfisher
from St. Paul, MN
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I brought our 14 year old out for his first fly fishing trip. We had another trip of a lifetime at The Lodge of Palisades Creek. From the outstanding staff, our guide, the cabin, to the fishing. It was world class. A little more expensive than your typical place but worth every extra dollar. I highly recommend it."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast and Blast,
December 16, 2013
By: Vineman
from Santa Rosa, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Three days of fishing and hunting in the most beautiful country ever. The crew at the Lodge at Palisades Creek was exemplary. Knowledgeable, fun and patient. They didn't spare any effort to make our experience extraordinary. And the lodging and food was unsurpassed. We'll be back again and again."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A gift from a friend,
November 18, 2013
By: GreatBlueHeron
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:exceptional guide and food
"A good friend put us up at the Lodge at Palisades Creek for four nights. As I normally fish out of a van this was a real treat. Everything there is first class from the cabins, fly shop, and especially the staff. You cannot find a more friendly and helpful bunch of people. Cheers to Chef Bob who made the dining exceptional. Jason is an exceptional guide who loves the river and the fish. He was great with my novice fishing friend. The Swan Valley is beautiful and Palisades is a special place to return to, hopefully in the spring."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Friends in the Swan Valley,
November 17, 2013
By: GreatBlueHeron
from on the road in my van
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:knows the river like the back of his hand
"The park was shut down, panic setting in, where to take my good friend Burt fishing. Burt solved the conundrum by putting us up at the Lodge at Palisades on the South Fork. The water was significantly down so we could float or get out and wade fish.
Our guide Jason knew where the fish were and was great with Burt whose casting skills needed some work. The fishing was great but more than that the friendship at the lodge was unbeatable. Chef Bob is top-notch and everything from breakfast to stream-side lunch to dinners were great. Beautiful valley, great cabins, good fishing, complete fly shop and super people. Burt says we should come back in the spring. I agree
The Great Blue Heron
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best trip ever,
November 12, 2013
By: ScottTarter
from Bronxville, NY
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Wish we lived closer
"No finer place than the Lodge at Palisades Creek for a fishing trip. Second time there and will be back each year. The lodge has clean freestanding cottages along the river banks, first class food and drink and an attentive first class staff. The shop and guides are second to none. Fished for 4 days on the river and it just got better and better each day. The guides know the water as well as the fish do, perhaps even better! Days started with real breakfast in the lodge then onto the river. Spectacular scenery and fish after fish hook ups then lunch along the riverbank. Drift the afternoon for more fishing and back to the lodge for dinner and drinks in the “Liars Lounge.” This was a three generation Grandfather, Son, Grandson trip and we will be back again every year. This lodge, the fishing and more importantly their staff are what all others should be measured against. Thank you for a great trip!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast and Blast at the Lodge,
October 21, 2013
By: Castman
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:all were excellent
"What a great fishing and hunting experience we had while staying at the lodge. Booked several days to hunt ducks and geese along with some fishing for Browns, Cut Throat and Rainbows.
We were greeted by Justin, the GM and Reyna. They reviewed the billing process, Justin showed us around the beautiful property and eventually our cabin. A perfect setting on the river. The lodge has an excellent chef, our breakfasts and dinners were excellent . Items were well prepared and presented nicely. This place understands guest service all of the staff were attentive, courteous, helpful and professional. There is an excellent culture at the lodge that encourages a great guest experience , a love for the outdoors and a desire to provide you with an exciting fishing and hunting experience. The guides were from the area and very experienced as well demonstrating patience with those of us who are still mastering the art of fly fishing. Jaason and his team were excellent, they provided us with a great hunting experience and were more than willing to share and teach us as we fished and hunted ....We found the ducks and some beautiful and nicely sized rainbows and cut throat!
Our rooms were very well done from a decor standpoint and the beds were particularly comfortable. The house keeping staff was there daily to clean and freshen our cabin.
This lodge is well run with an enthusiastic and knowledgeable GM and staff, if you have an opportunity check this lodge out. Beautifully located in Swan Valley, a great staff and fishing is some of the best I've experienced.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast and Blast,
October 20, 2013
By: Garibaldi1
from Minnesota
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just completed four days at P. Creek during their inaugural Cast and Blast weekend for the waterfowl opener. We hunted the back channels on the Snake and limited on ducks in a wild and wooly morning. In the afternoon, during the Blue Wing Olive hatch we caught Cutties and Bows on streamers and dry flies.
As always, the food was superb, the company brilliant and the staff warm and gracious.
This place is 5-star, and the guides are superlative. We had a BLAST!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Group Gathering,
September 24, 2013
By: FastLane
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We have a group of 12 guys from around North America who gather once a year to fly fish. The Lodge at Palisades Creek proved to be a perfect location. The setting was beautiful, the accommodations outstanding and the food spectacular. The "Liars Den" was a perfect gathering spot for post dinner activities (playing pool, telling stories, etc). We ended up with a couple of honorary guests to our group by the end of the weekend who were a great addition.
The South Fork of the Snake is a beautiful stretch of river filled with wildlife, and some great fish.
The guides did a great job and were very committed to us having the best possible experience.
The fly shop was very complete and I bought my Orvis rod and reel there during our stay.
You can't go wrong!
Tight lines.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great South Fork experience,
September 23, 2013
By: fuchsia
from Swan Valley, ID, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Outstanding accommodations, food, service, staff and fishing. First class experience"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Way over the top,
September 23, 2013
By: Esclamr
from Durham, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Justin and his crew provided an outstanding experience. Everything was top notch. When we impulsively asked for a bonfire, there it was! Really made extra effort and it showed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Total Package Magnifique,
September 23, 2013
By: Dropper
from Palisades Creek, Idaho, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Rolle was ok but not of the caliber of Josh and Buck
"The staff, lodge accommodations, scenery, food and fishing were all wonderful. We meet as a group every year and out of the past 4 years this trip was the best! We will definitely return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great trip,
September 23, 2013
By: MissHawaii
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent experience. The staff were welcoming and made us feel at home. Great, friendly service. The guides were excellent. Helpful advice and support."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
September 9, 2013
By: Chuck22
from Lutz, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All fantasic and top notch......
"MY forth year returning.. gets more incredible everytime....absolutely the best!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent trip to TLAPC,
September 6, 2013
By: ColoradoFlyFishers
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at The Lodge at Palisades Creek and had a very positive experience with the on site Orvis Shop. We floated the South Fork of the Snake and had a memorable experience. Our guide was perfect for us. He was knowledgeable, experienced on the river and had a warm and friendly, yet professional demeanor. We enjoyed the scenery, landed several nice trout and even had two doubles. The folks in the shop were courteous and helpful. We plan on returning to this shop for future floats."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Utopia,
September 5, 2013
By: mahlon
from Waco, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:great guide
"The Lodge at Palisades creek provided not only great fishing, but service next to none. The staff was adept at anticipating your needs and making sure things were done in advance. The food was fantastic and was worth the trip. A great location, super staff, and good fishing resutled in a trip to remember.
Thanks,
John
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top shelf Lodge, Guides and Food,
September 1, 2013
By: Treecatcher
from Charleston, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All were fantastic
"We had a wonderful time. The Lodge and Cabins are perfect. The food was beyond compare and the guides were the best I've ever fished with."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lifetime best,
September 1, 2013
By: alwaysgoingsomewhere
from Mn
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Josh is always watching to be certain that you are successful
"What do I look for in a great trip:
1. The guides that actually teach and try to make sure you have a great trip.
2. Food that is worthy of eating
3. Accommodations that are clean and well maintained, comfortable beds too.
4. Great fishing!
This lodge has it all."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It can't get better...but it does,
August 30, 2013
By: oyezman
from Evanston, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This was my first fishing experience in 30 years and no prior fly fishing at all. Our guide was Josh Jablow and he had the magic to make this a trip of a lifetime. His simple directions made casting and mending a pleasure. And when I invariably messed up, he was not one to criticize. Positive reenforcement was the message and he delivered it whenever I made a good cast. I knew to repeat those moves and it paid off. I soon landed my first first, a small rainbow. But then I hit the jackpot: two on the same line (a dry floater and a nymph). Then came the big one: a 16-17 inch brown trout. What a day! The next day never reached the excitement of Day One, but it was still outstanding. I'm still high on the experience days after my visit. What can I say? It doesn't get better than this!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another amazing trip,
August 30, 2013
By: Sage1
from Charleston, SC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Justin and his team continue exceed our expectations. The facilities are incredible, the service is second to none and they know how to put you on fish - period."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes