Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.956 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (205 reviews)
5 stars
200
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
204 of 205(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge,
May 27, 2015
By: Chewy972
from Denver, CO, USA
"This is my 3rd year visiting the lodge and because of Justin, Rayna and the guides, this will be at the very least a yearly event. The staff at TLAPC is the best!! They run a very efficient lodge and you always feel welcomed and part of the family. The fishing guides Jaason, Rollie, Cole and Josh are fantastic. We didn't have great weather and they still just put us on the fish. We caught a ton of huge fish! Great people and a wonderful experience. This year I get the pleasure of going to the Lodge twice. Once with "the boys" and in June I am taking my 17 year old son, to start the tradition with him. I just left and can't wait to get back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven on earth,
September 2, 2015
By: SCH39
"This is truly a trip of a lifetime. As a friend of mine put it, image playing golf for your first time in Augusta...now transcend to staying at the Lodge at Pallisades Creek and fishing the Snake River. Everything here is first class, from the people, the guides, the food and overall atmosphere. This truly is a unique experience. Fishing is world class and the crew could not be more accommodating. They make you feel like family from the moment you arrive and the experience provides memories for a lifetime. Can't say enough good things."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
September 1, 2015
By: Chritty117
from Swan Valley, Idaho
"This lodge is the absolute best. From the staff to the fishing everything is a blast and I truly enjoyed everything about TLAPC. My only complaint is not spending more time there!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
August 30, 2015
By: MGD2
from Big Sky, Montana
"I love the South Fork and return often.
The "Creek" is such a fine place that I am reluctant to mention it.
The accommodations are located and outfitted to provide privacy and convenience. Proper thread count and all the amenities a tired angler needs. The food is outstanding.
The guides.....culled from the best anywhere. The place if full of returning guests. Many have been coming for decades.
The staff is friendly, engaged, well trained and empowered to do what it takes to insure everything works. And it does.
I can't wait to go back. MGD
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
most disappointing and shocking fishing trip ever!,
August 27, 2015
By: Flyaway1
from Bonita Springs, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"After 24 years and literally hundreds of days staying and fishing with the folks at The Lodge at Palisades Creek, we were approached by the Lodge manager and informed that it would be okay for us to cancel our reservations for 1 week in September 2015 and the 2 weeks already reserved in June and September 2016. Obviously we were stunned as I was clearly the longest tenured continuously visiting guest they had ever had and had, I thought, excellent relations with all the Lodge staff and guides, one of whom I had used for every day fishing for the past 12 years. When we inquired about the reasoning, we were informed that we were "difficult" guests. After pressing for more clarity, the most we could determine was that, after firing the South Fork for over 30 years, I still shouldn't be questioning the program of our guide, who somehow felt he wasn't sufficiently appreciated by U.S. This is after inviting him to my home in Florida every year for the past 6 or 7 years to stay and flyfish for snook and redfish during the winter. Also, we have, for the past 12 years given him daily tips from 25% to 40% greater than what the average guides were getting. We considered him both a first rate guide and a FRIEND! What a mistake.
We have cancelled all our previously scheduled trips and will never return to the Lodge again. We were made to feel insignificant, obviously un appreciated and unwelcome. And to think I have personally recommended and sent over twenty people to the lodge and this doesn't count employees and customers that I have taken there over the years!
If you plan to go there, be careful what you ask for and don't ever suggest to you guide that you think a different fly might work better!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? No
Response from Orvis:By Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing OperationsSeptember 2, 2015
The Lodge at Palisades Creek provided the following response to this review:

“The review from Flyaway1 is very disheartening for everyone at the lodge. By no means was our intention ever to imply that he was not welcome back to the lodge. Under some difficult circumstances, we did our very best to accommodate his wishes as we take great pride in our customer service and the expertise among our guide staff. We hope that he looks back fondly on the many years he visited the lodge and we wish him all the best of luck on his future fishing adventures. Sincerely, lodge ownership, management, and staff.”
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW! ORVIS GOT IT RIGHT !,
August 25, 2015
By: ManTrip
from Sugar Land, TX.
"My son and I recently visited the Lodge at Palisades Creek ( TLAPC) in Irwin Idaho. While this was our first visit I am praying it will be the first of many to come.
I wanted to communicate to ORVIS just how much we appreciated the hospitality and first class service we experienced at the TLAPC. The ORViS recognition of TLAPC as the 2014 "Best fly fishing lodge" coupled with TLAPC's incredible web site and phone conversations with ORVIS specialists and the incredible team at The Lodge at Palisades Creek assured a novice like me that it was precisely what we were looking for in a fly fishing adventure. “. Our visit to The Lodge @ Palisades Creek will be a cherished memory. Tanner, our fishing guide for the 2 day adventure was amazing! The "5 Star" accommodations, the staff's hospitality and personal commitment to anticipate, meet, and exceed our every need, the incredible food and the delightful attitude and enthusiasm of the entire team at TLAPC are to be celebrated.
Thanks ORVIS you are the "BEST" when it comes to guidance for outdoor adventure!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly fishing at its best!!,
August 22, 2015
By: Gobber
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
"I made three trips to The Lodge at Palisades Creek this summer. One with my family over the forth of July weekend and two with clients. Each time I go is like coming home. The lodge staff does an exceptional job. The food and wine are always first class. I have fished with most of the guides and they are all great but Buck Leonard is my favorite. They all have a good knowledge of the river.The fishing is always spectacular and the scenery is great. I highly recommend fishing section three the canyon. Justin and I look forward to having a Moscow Mule with you when I return!!!
I highly recommend this lodge and plan to return in the near future."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 days at Palisades,
August 13, 2015
By: sabehan
from Newport RI
"We were at the Lodge at Palisades Creek in late July. We have already booked a return trip for next year! We have been to many lodges and found Palisades to be perfect: low-key yet the food and lodging were perfect in every way. The fellow lodgers were fun and friendly and we didn't leave as strangers. It is obvious that Palisades take their fishing seriously. We were especially fortunate to have Tanner Lewis as our guide for 2 days. He was perfect, and I am a tough critic! He
was energetic, experienced and flexible: the three keys to being a great guide, in my opinion. I caught 3 fish before lunch. As a woman and barely out of my novice stage I appreciated his patience . My companion is an expert as well as a former guide and he was duly impressed with his knowledge and skill. Thanks Palisades and Tanner!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Spot,
August 10, 2015
By: DGeorge
from CT
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The River is amazing. Great drifting, wading etc. A lot of terrain to cover in 4 sections and the guides know what they are doing and what flies to toss. The lodge is well run and the food is excellent. No hassle and very easy. Great fishing and great company, can't ask for much more than that."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great getaway,
August 10, 2015
By: Monsterriverl
from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
"Started fishing three years ago at The Lodge at Palisades Creek . Five of us have made it a girls trip and we all have a great time. Everyone at the lodge truly make us welcome. Cabins are quaint and very clean. The guides are excellent and really know how to get around the snake river. After fishing we get cleaned up and have cocktails with the other guests at the lodge. We enjoy a wonderful meal."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Experience,
August 10, 2015
By: BrentSavage
from Cypress, Texas
"I have been coming to the Lodge for 15 years and each year gets better!
The staff is World Class and provide excellent service!
The fishing is outstanding and the guides are a blast!
I highly recommend it to everyone!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Year!!,
August 10, 2015
By: DMWalker720
"Justin and TLAPC crew are simply outstanding (which is why we've returned for 16 consecutive years)!!! TLAPC combines a virtual stable of world-class guides (Jaason has assembled a great team) on a prolific stretch of river, with the A+ service of Lodge personnel (special thanks to Rayna), with pristine accommodations and a 5-star restaurant. Thanks again for another great year!!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highlight of the Summer,
August 9, 2015
By: Jaybird62
from Cypress,TX
"Food-fantastic
Staff-superb
Guides-Godawful great
Accommodations-A-1"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad's 70th Birthday,
August 8, 2015
By: JeffMyers
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Jason was a fabulous guide. He worked extremely hard to make sure that we had the best experience possible and we greatly appreciated that. He was knowledgeable, personable and I really felt like he truly wanted to make sure we had a great time.
"We had an absolutely fabulous experience at The Lodge at Palisades Creek. All of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is five star and the sure do give you plenty of it!! From the time we were picked up from the airport by Guy, we felt like we were celebrity guests. Our guide for our trip was Jaason Pruett. He was very knowledgeable and patient and was very helpful. I would highly recommend the Lodge at Palisades Creek to anyone looking to have the fly fishing trip of their lives!!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad's Thimble list!,
August 6, 2015
By: Scottcutthroat
from Swan valley idaho
"My 78 year old father, had a thimble list and one was to go back to idaho fish the south fork and catch a cutthroat! He grew up in Montana ad idaho area when he was younger, settling in Kansas. We were greeted warmly at the lodge met our guide Scott Reimer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience,
August 5, 2015
By: rbailey
from Buffalo, NY
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"On July 8, 2015, a good friend and I arrived at The Lodge at Palisades Creek, excited about the day of fishing the following day promised. Before we even got to the water, we were both blown away by the facilities, the staff, and the food at Palisades Creek.
The following day (after an amazing breakfast and some time in the fly shop browsing and meeting several of the guides), we found ourselves on the South Fork with Justin Hays, the general manager of The Lodge at Palisades Creek. The rest of the day only improved our already enthusiastic expectations of the place. Justin kept us on fish (and usually big fish) all day long. He was as excited as we were both = when we hooked up and when we brought the beautiful fish to the boat.
This was not only my first time fishing the South Fork, but also my first time fishing from a drift boat. I know I'll do both again, but I have a hard time believing that this first experience can be duplicated. I'm glad that Justin and the rest of the staff at The Lodge at Palisades Creek will be around to help me try to do so, though."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just loved it,
August 3, 2015
By: lorin
"From the warm staff, to the incredibly patient and kind guide to the great accommodations and fantastic food, and beautiful scenery this place is just heavenly."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 3, 2015
By: DavidLAPC
"The LAPC is the finest lodge with the best guides and fishing I have found in the continental US"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLAPC,
August 3, 2015
By: DDN2015
"It keeps getting better! Every year we are excited to return for fishing and fun at The Lodge. Great fishing, guides, food and staff. Justin and his great team are gracious hosts."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
without equal,
August 3, 2015
By: Dick0738
from ABQ. NM
"TLAPC provides an excellent fishing experience. the guides are professional, extremely helpful and knowledgeable.
The lodge is terrific and the personnel are very helpful and personable.
The kitchen far exceeds expectations.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes