Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID

Orvis' premier fly-fishing lodge on The South Fork of the Snake River The alarm clock buzzes but you are already up. Sunlight passes through the barn wood window of your private streamside cabin and the faint sound of rippling water makes its way through. Another day of angling the South Fork of the Snake tempts you to forego checking phone messages from the night before, even from the wife. Feverishly grabbing your rod and searching through the fly box for the superstar of yesterday, visions of orange slabs sipping in riffles makes you even forget your coffee as you make your way to the dining room and the Cowboy Bar at the Lodge at Palisades Creek, because this is South Fork fly fishing at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
4.972 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
5 stars
173
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
177 of 177(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Review 1 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge,
May 27, 2015
By: Chewy972
from Denver, CO, USA
"This is my 3rd year visiting the lodge and because of Justin, Rayna and the guides, this will be at the very least a yearly event. The staff at TLAPC is the best!! They run a very efficient lodge and you always feel welcomed and part of the family. The fishing guides Jaason, Rollie, Cole and Josh are fantastic. We didn't have great weather and they still just put us on the fish. We caught a ton of huge fish! Great people and a wonderful experience. This year I get the pleasure of going to the Lodge twice. Once with "the boys" and in June I am taking my 17 year old son, to start the tradition with him. I just left and can't wait to get back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome trip,
July 26, 2015
By: bingo1
"My third trip to the lodge. Everyone is
very friendly and accommodating. The food is fabulous, The fishing and scenery are amazing. Cole Sutheimer is wonderful guide. He is very knowledgeable about the river. Friends who traveled to the lodge for their first time totally enjoyed the experience.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Lodge Ever,
July 23, 2015
By: MannyA
from Altadena, CA, USA
"Another great year at TLAPC. The guides are outstanding, they put you on great fish no matter the conditions. They also mix things up - big dries, little dries, nymphs, pocket water, riffles, banks, wading -- to diversify the experience. They are also incredibly enthusiastic, you can't help but have fun. The staff at the Lodge round out the world class experience, with great food, hospitality and fun. We are customers for life!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
superb fly fishing lodge,
July 18, 2015
By: flyfishergolf
from Montgomery, TX, USA
"I have visited The Lodge at Palisades Creek for the past 23 years, and for the last 10 years we have visited twice per year. In all those years the fishing has been good to great to fantastic, and the Lodge has remained a great place to meet new friends, dine well, enjoy the beautiful area, and relax in comfortable rooms. The management and staff are all first rate and ensure that the experience is fun, safe, and memorable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Experience!,
July 18, 2015
By: Buffaloflyfisher1234
from Buffalo, NY
"World class! The fishing, lodging, and staff were outstanding. Justin Hayes ensures a fantastic experience is had by all. What a true host and professional. I can't wait to come back...and bring a few friends as well. Looking forward to my next adventure at TLPC!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful time at the Palisades,
July 16, 2015
By: JBFish
from NY State
"Our recent visit to the lodge was wonderful. Our cabin facing the river was charming and very comfortable. It was great that the lodge has a fully equipped fly fishing shop on site where we could purchase our fishing licenses.The staff from Justin, Rayna, Sun and Shayde and everyone else was amazing, We felt like family from the minute we arrived. The food from breakfast at the 'Cowboy Bar" to lunch on the river to choices of main courses at dinner was wonderful. Enjoyed cocktails and appetizers while chatting with other guests about our day on the river prior to dinner. Our guide was hard working, knowledgable and very friendly. We enjoyed every day on the river with him. We caught beautiful cutthroat and brown as well as a few rainbow trout. The scenery was amazing.Hard decision, check out the scenery or keep an eye on the fly line! If the lodge ever thinks of replacing the bath towels I would recommend a larger size.I am a woman size 8/10 and would prefer a towel that wraps all the way around me."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Outstanding,
July 16, 2015
By: Sherico
from Dallas area
"I have been coming to the lodge for 20+ years and it is always an outstanding experience. The fishing and food are consistently excellent and the entire staff does everything they can to make your stay memorable. The guides are knowledgeable , friendly and they work hard to put you on fish. Just an overall first class operation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Lodge, amazing river and even better guide!,
July 16, 2015
By: KevinG
"My father and I were planning a first class fishing trip to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had fly fished in Alaska in the past and were looking for a location in the lower 48 that would be easier to get to but still had great fishing. The Lodge at Palisades Creek was an excellent choice. It was a great balance of easy to get to, first class fishing and service with nice, private and rustic accommodation right off the river. We keep the windows open every night to hear the river.
Cole, the guide that we had for 3 days was excellent. He grew up on the river and and became a guide as soon as he turned 18. He has been guiding for 16 years and knows all the spots on the river. He was a great coach and view us a part of the time trying to catch as many fish as possible. He wanted us to take risks and if we lost some flies along the way that was worth the opportunity to get in close to the fish. Very positive feedback throughout the whole day. The lodge could not have paired us with a better guide.
I would recommend this lodge to anyone interested in fly fishing. We have a great time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Experience,
July 16, 2015
By: CGflyfishing
from GA
"TLAPC continues to excel. Service, accommodations, food, & most importantly the Fishing - Top Notch! Best Dry Fly fishing in the West. Guides dominate on the South Fork. You will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best,
July 15, 2015
By: whyisthis
from Malibu, CA, USA
"The South Fork is one of the great cutthroat territories there is. The natural beauty of the river is breathtaking.
The Lodge is the best. It is exceedingly well-managed and provides guests with the true lodge experience. Meeting with wonderful people over gourmet meals is just grand.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
July 15, 2015
By: bumpskiers
"It is amazing how TLAPC can always serve such good food with a five month operation. My plan is to find a way to steal their chef for our country club. Seriously, they are most accommodating and helpful in all aspects of the fishing, hotel/lodge amenities, booking and follow-up activities. We have been going there for 20 years and will continue to do so."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another Great Trip,
July 15, 2015
By: DuPape
from Houston area
"Really good Brown and Cutthroat fishing mostly on large drys along banks and smaller drys in pools and riffles; experienced, hard-working guides; friendly, capable staff and talented chefs; good facilities in a scenic location. Our tenth year and already signed up for more."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome fishing!,
July 15, 2015
By: DavidB1
from Washington, DC
"The lodge was wonderful with great staff, tasty food and easy access to the the South Fork. The guides were experts, but approachable and accommodating of individual requests (ie..more dry flies). Will be going back with my family."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Fly Fishing Lodge in 50 States,
July 15, 2015
By: WStewart
from Woodside, CA
"I've been going to The Lodge at Palisades Creek for over 20 years and typically 3~4 times a fishing season and it only gets better every visit. In today's world tremendous credit has to be given to consistency and TLAPC is consistently one of the best, if not the best."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fishing.,
July 12, 2015
By: Pistoldis
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:He really knows how to train and help
"Everything has been thought out. Entrance assignments and plans are set with ease and are always executed flawlessly. Amazingly, ALL personnel are happy friendly and one is always at ease under all circumstances. Guides are disciplined, courteous and very helpful and knowledgeable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Palisades,
July 11, 2015
By: texask
from Texas, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Palisades Lodge provides
an exceptional experience. We have been coming for 10 years and are amazed how
they up there game each year. Every detail is taken care of from booking to check out.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Trip,
June 26, 2015
By: CAToID
"I could not have had a better time at the Lodge. The food was great and the fishing was better. For a first time flyfisherman i could not believe how many fish i caught, this is totally because the guides i was with were very good teachers (and patient)."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Staff,
June 23, 2015
By: TCLAWCDM
from Snake River Idaho
"This was our first trip to the Lodge at Palisades Creek - Our friends had been numerous times and insisted with go with them - The Place is beautiful and the location on the River is perfect - The best part of the stay was the staff and the food - They will go out of their way to accommodate your every request - I highly recommend the lodge to all - you will not be disappointed"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kung Fu Fighting,
June 11, 2015
By: pepperman
from scottsdale az
"Fish are like Kung Fu Warriors!
The guides are Samaris taking you into battle! And if you feel additional support in battle, it's guarenteed, Superman, Ninga Turtles or some other superhero will arrive by lunch time!
So exciting, so much fun!!!!
The Palisaides is wonderful! We haven't stopped talking about it!
The staff and guides are top notch and pay every attention to each individual client. So nice to have our individual cabin. Even better were the guests we met. A great mix of couples. Everyone so laid back and fun. We met new friends fast. Can't wait to return!!!!!!!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for The Lodge at Palisades Creek, ID
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Fly Fishing Experience,
June 6, 2015
By: Alabama13913
from Lodge at Palisades Creek Irwin ID
"Best experience we've EVER had anywhere!!!
People were sincerely friendly.
Food was 5 star
Accommodations were 5 star
Location was special
Snake River was beautiful, uniquely peaceful!
Fly Fishing guide was knowledgeable and helpful, making our trip down the river memorable!
In summary, perfect experience!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes