Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rawah Ranch, CO

Named for the rugged and majestic snow-capped peaks that rise above it and the untouched wilderness that surrounds it, Northern Colorado's Historic Rawah Ranch is located in one of the west's most scenic, unspoiled, and "yet to be discovered" valleys in North America."
Average Customer Rating:
4.952 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rawah Ranch, CO
Review 1 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding experience,
March 1, 2012
By: RainbowT
from The Heartland
"I was at the Ranch last October with a group of customers. As soon as we arrived we had the feeling that we had all been going there for years. Great hospitality. Great food. Great guides. Great fishing. Great location. Everyone is willing to bend over backwards to make your visit what you want it to be. I can't wait to return."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Time spent way to short,
September 26, 2014
By: Llewguy
from Atlanta, GA
"Pat and Mel and the entire staff will provide you with an experience you will never forget. Everything is so easy at The Rawah, just ask them and they will make it happen for you. My daughter and I (yes there were 3 separate groups of fathers and daughters - isn't that great!) went there to fly fish which was absoulutely top notch, lot's of big fish. We did so much more than we planned though. The accomadations were very comfortable and the staff was unbelieveable, especially with my daughter. Been thinking about this place every day since i got back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heaven,
July 7, 2014
By: lfranklin
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:All whip smart and helpful
"If I could write a book about my experience at Rawah Ranch, I would. So many amazing people there. Every member of the Rawah family is knowledgeable and helpful and caring. The property is heaven. The fishing amazing, the horseback riding, best anywhere, hiking, beyond beautiful. Everyone wants to make sure you do exactly what you want, when you want and wants you to be happy and comfortable. Each specific guide was extremely well-versed in their area of expertise. Everyone caught fish who wanted to. Everyone rode horses at their comfort level, and everyone hiked as much as their legs would allow! I would go back tomorrow if I could! I miss Mel, Danny, Jessie, Patty, Jessica, Courtney, Claire, Thad, Jonathan, Dylan and Ian! The entire staff made the week. Can't wait to meet Pat and the kids someday!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Father,s Day Weekend,
December 18, 2013
By: grandpaDavid
from Oak Brook, Illinois
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The four of us, including one who never fly fished before, had a spectacular, full, and accommodating time. Perfect."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic destination,
August 17, 2013
By: Shapester
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"A great fly fishing vacation for the whole family. I took my two sons, who had never fly fished before. The guides were patient, expert, and friendly. The lodge and cabins truly luxurious classic western outdoor accommodations. Outstanding food, service, scenery. A true family atmosphere. The Timmins' are terrific, knowledgeable hosts. Chef Bobby and his hearty cuisine is a key attribute. A key attribute is world class trout fishing steps away from the lodge. Thanks for the memories."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Experience,
August 4, 2013
By: Billyfish
from Houston, TX, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Extremely knowledegable about river and fishing conditions.
"Second time at Rawah. My wife and I had great experiences both times. Very professional guides who put you on the fish, help with your skills, and are fun to spend the day with. The Laramie is a small river at Rawah with large fish. Caught only 18"-24" fish, but there are much larger bows and browns in the river. Food, lodging, and staff are outstanding with a 4-star chef who prepares 3 meals a day. Country is beautiful, an experience not to missed."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing doesn't describe.....,
July 22, 2013
By: TroutLuv713
from Scottsdale, AZ
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"....the fishing, location, and service at Rawah. From the second you arrive and meet Pat, you know you are in for a special treat. Am lucky to know a few fishing friends who set up this trip and can't say how incredible it all was. First of all, the service- impeccable. From Pat and his true cowboy nature, to his wife Melanie and their two beautiful children, to their wonderful staff in the lodge, to their horse wranglers, and finally their fishing guides - all are considerate, warm, friendly, personable, and beyond professional. To give you an idea of just how much detail they pay attention to - I made coffee the first morning with one of the staff members, Patty. I use raw sugar and cream. Every single morning thereafter, when Patty or any other staff member saw me arrive for breakfast, coffee was prepared just as I would prepare it. I have family members who don't do that! Now on to the fishing- varied, plentiful, challenging, and all out fun. Fished the home waters on the ranch and could not believe the size and health of the rainbows and browns. Then hit 2 high altitude lakes, one by horseback (thank you Danny for an amazing and safe day on the trails), and hooked plentiful cutthroats and brookies with colors more vibrant than any I have ever seen. Finally, got to fish a neighboring patch of the Big Laramie River, and had a field day with wild brown trout chasing streamers. And cant forget the food, from breakfast to dinner, all stellar thanks to Chef Bobby and his crew. Make sure you try the "Rawah Special" sandwich, officially now my go-to lunch for any day of fly fishing. All in all, my favorite trip, and have taken several thru Orvis. Cheers to Pat and Melanie and their entire operation. Truly a little piece of heaven, and cannot wait to set dates for the next trip there."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A trip of a life time,
July 11, 2013
By: Crewchief
from Louisville, Colorado
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I had the privilege to fish at the ranch, and it will one the finest experiences of my life. The top notch fishing. The guides, lodging, food and felt like family. I would rank the ranch as one of the finest Orvis that that I have been at. Pat and crew thank you what a great time."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just An Outstanding Experience/Vacation,
June 5, 2013
By: dwwb
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"From the scenic drive up the valley following the Big Laramie River until you pull into the property and meet Pat and all the crew... you will know that you are in for one of the finest experiences of a lifetime. It is more like visiting good friends and enjoying what Colorado ranches used to be like but with a level of service and facilities that cannot be found elsewhere. The whole family can have a great time partaking in a variety of daily activities. Fishing on the Laramie was outstanding! The river runs right through the property. And it was good to know that if that water was not super active..there were other options from valley lakes to mountain hideaways.
The lodging,Pat and the family, the staff,the food and the whole experience will continue to draw us back to Rawah time and again. My wife and I would rank this location as one of the finest Orvis lodges.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First trip 2013 May,
May 22, 2013
By: Mitchell4May2013
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Killer food & killer service.
"I planned our annual fly fishing trip w/ old buds from college this year at the Rawah Ranch 2013. Wow! Best trip ever. We all 4 had wonderful days w/ Pat and his guides. Big fish, great water and even better people and setting. Each guide and sections of water gave us a great fly fishing opportunity for the "Fish of the Day"! I'm taking my wife back in July. Cheers everyone at Rawah Ranch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We'll be Back,
July 31, 2012
By: TexasFishermen
from Houston, TX
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Everything about Rawah is top notch-the fishing, the guides, lodging, food and hospitality. While the fishing was challenging(big fish, lightweight line), we both felt we progressed with our skills and had a fantastic time.
We're already planning our next trip.
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Trip,
July 18, 2012
By: DewBdw
from Wichita, KS, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:The Best I have fished with
"My 16 yr old daughter and I just returned from Rawah Ranch. Outstanding fishery, with great guides, friendly staff, and beautiful setting. Ideal for beginner or experienced fisherman. From the first day we felt "like family". The trip far exceeded expectations and we are already planning a return trip."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extraordinary,
June 6, 2012
By: wElway
from Fort Collins, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My experience at Rawah Ranch was unlike any other. No detail is left untouched at this extraordinarily beautiful place. From the fishing to the food, accommodations, hospitality and scenery, Rawah Ranch is about my favorite place on earth. I strongly recommend Rawah to anyone interested in wrestling a native monster Trout on the end of a fly line, amongst the most impressive views and wildlife Colorado has to offer. Rawah's expert fishing guides put me on big fish, time after time. I simply cannot wait to go back."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazed,
May 20, 2012
By: adam0381
from fort collins, co
"my brother and i were fortunate enough to experience rawah last friday and saturday. we were blown away with the incredible hospitality and insight of the staff and guides at rawah. the location is absolutely breath taking with the local wild life and the scenery. amazing fishing with expert guides. great for beginners all the way up to extremely experienced fisherman. the lodge and cabins are amazing and extremely well kept. these people meet you with a smile on their face, and leave it on throughout the trip. needless to say, we were extremely pleased and will continue to visit rawah again and again. thank you to pat and all of the staff. adam."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Ranch Fishing Adventure,
March 24, 2012
By: HookedOnHorses
from Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Great fishing gets my heart racing and puts a big grin on my face. I couldn't contain either during my four day stay at Rawah. The ranch's private water on the Big Laramie River holds enormous, healthy, feisty rainbows, browns and brookies that kept me busy trying to perfect my casting, drifting and striking techniques (with competent direction from my guides). When everything worked for me the river provided a perfect reward: BIG, beautiful trout! What a thrill! The short drive and hike to Agnes Lake was equally rewarding with plentiful greenback cutthroat trout in full spawning colors so striking you’d swear they’d been dipped in a bucket of red paint.
Rawah is a great home-style ranch and lodge that provides the best of everything with excellent attention to detail and distinctive western flare. My cabin accommodations were very comfortable, complete with fluffy comforters, stone fireplace, a big couch and a rocking chair. The meals were beautifully prepared and presented, and delicious. And it was always worth it to save room for dessert! As a woman, traveling solo, I felt safe and worry-free; like one of the family. And when my wading boots blew out, there was a perfect pair of loaners available.
I am so glad I didn’t pass up the all-day horseback ride on my last day. Juan was a perfect gentleman of a horse who didn’t fault me for my inexperience as a rider (although I’m sure he knew!), but responded gently to my instruction and moved easily from walk to trot to lope. It was definitely worth doing as the trail opened up to reveal the vast beauty of the valley, with stunning vistas of the Colorado mountains on one end to distant snow-dotted peaks of Wyoming on the other.
This was an excellent vacation! I had a blast! My only regret is that I couldn’t stay longer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i hate big fish,
March 16, 2012
By: LightWeightTippet
from Phoenix, Az
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Are you kidding? Our own cabin, world class service, great cooked to order food, unbelievable wildlife (moose at the river edge!) great family run facility, horses in the pasture, turkeys in the front yard, our own personal fishing guide, world class moderate size river with world class size trout ( 22" is average). Please don't ask me to come back! PS Ask Pat about the Grayling and the Greenback Cutthroat trout in the 11,000 foot remote lake!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Experience,
March 7, 2012
By: TroutCaster
"The hospitality was terrific, the accomodations clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food and service outstanding. And then there is the fishing! Wow! We caught 4 species in 3 days with the biggest rainbows just 100 yards down stream from the ranch house. Jim, our guide was knowledgeable on all things "trout" and above all patient. Overall a memorable vacation that I'm sure we will repeat in the future. Highly recommended, you won't be disapointed!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Pool",
January 20, 2012
By: Meathead
from Manhattan Beach
"I was absolutely surprised. Some of the biggest fish I've ever seen including Alaska. Stumbled into one of the famed pools only to land a 28" rainbow that had broken me off the day before.
The family takes a sincere interest in their clients and it becomes a destination. Great place to hunt for big fish..
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Fishing Experience,
January 17, 2012
By: CindaH
from Scottsdale, AZ
"Great trip whether you are with another angler or bringing the family. The fish are big, healthy, and strong."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Rawah Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best fly fishing trip ever,
December 8, 2011
By: Johnny7
from Sautee-Nacoochee, GA
"This vacation was the trip of a lifetime. I have made several trips to different fly fishing destinations, and on a scale on 1 to 5, I'd give give this one a high five. Our guide put us on fish every day. We caught brookies, browns, grayling, cutthroat, and the biggest, meanest, rainbows I've ever seen. My buddy and I lost count of how many bows over 20" we caught. The food and accommodations were outstanding. This is a quality operation with exceptional guides and an outstanding staff."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes