Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

North Fork Ranch, CO

The North Fork Ranch is an Orvis Endorsed fly fishing lodge situated in a picturesque setting in the mountains of Colorado. We have been a dude ranch for 30 years and a fishing lodge for over 10 years. The North Fork Ranch legend begins with our unique combination of ambiance, world class fishing, and unsurpassed hospitably. Take a minute to read through our reviews.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for North Fork Ranch, CO
Review 1 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Dream Spot in the Rockies,
January 5, 2014
By: TheSportsAnnouncer
from Kansas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:This is a piece of heaven on earth.
"My wife and I visited North Fork, twice this past year. It was abundantly clear from the first time we set foot on the ranch that Dean and Karen work so hard to create and peaceful yet exciting ranch experience, second to none. They succeeded. The accommodations are elegant, yet rustic. The fishing...Wow...the best! The food and service...wonderful is an understatement. This a a dream spot in the Rockies. Thank you! We'll be back soon.
Meg and A. L. Haizlip, The Sports Announcer"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Fly Fishing in Colorado.,
November 19, 2013
By: Peggy877
from Shawnee, CO 80475, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Jeff is a great guide and gives the right amount of instruction for catching BIG fish!
"An unforgettable day fishing with the North Fork Ranch Guide Service. Jeff Poole and Monroe Coleman have dedicated themselves to this beautiful stretch of the S. Platte River. I caught the biggest fish of my life here and couldn't have done it without the kindness and patience of these wonderful guides. They are true professionals and I enjoyed every minute of my day! I would highly recommend fishing with Jeff or Monroe to anglers of any ability."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT experience,
November 18, 2013
By: DennisK
from Stuttgart, Germany
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:Jeff is THE man!
"I absolutely loved my flyfishing experience with Jeff Poole. We started our day early and drove out to North Fork from Denver. As we drove down the Driveway from up the hill I could not believe how beautifull that place is... You just don't expect to find some peacefull and so well maintained Ranch just around the corner from Denver. The Main-House delivers such a warm atmosphere that you almost don not want to leave it. The Fireplace with super comfi Lounge Chairs and a smell from Nature and wood in your nose... Absolutely fantastic.
Jeff took me into his flyfishing hut and hooked me up with everything I need to hook some big ones.
That being done we jumped right into the river which is so picturesque just flowing by the ranch... I hooked and landed several Fish which was such a great experience. Jeff being the nicest guy was guiding me all morning. He knows his water so well... It's like knows all his fish.
We had lunch after 3h ours of flyfishing with sandwiches, soup, salad and more.
Got to meet some of the staff who are absolutely the nicest people...
I can only hope you get a chance to visit this beautifull ranch with all its Perfectness some day soon.
Best regards and all the best from Germany,
Dennis
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Trip!,
November 13, 2013
By: wild101
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am not an avid fisherman but was completely surprised by the how much I truly enjoyed fishing at the North Fork Ranch! Jeff was able to cater to both my experienced friend and myself, a novice who has never really enjoyed fly fishing. We both caught an abundance of fish and by the end of the day I was having the time of my life! I would recommend North Fork to anyone of any skill level!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Fork Ranch Guide Service,
November 8, 2013
By: Taztaz
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My family includes experienced fly fishermen and novices. Jeff was great in teaching my sons and was a very accomplished guide for those of us who are experienced. He really knows the river. We caught a lot of fish."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredibly Awesome!,
November 7, 2013
By: WColby
from Littleton, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
""Wow! What an experience this last summer. I have been fishing 2-3 times per year @ the Northfork ranch. Every trip has been sensational; however, last summer is one that I will never forget. The facilities are impecable, the food is unbelievably good, & the fishing...Absolutely Awesome. Expert guide service, quality fishing habitat; one of the most exceptional angling experiencies that I have ever had! Huge fish & great times!!! Can't wait to go back next season!""
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First time fishing, I am hooked!,
November 7, 2013
By: Pusz
from Shawnee, CO 80475, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Just perfect
"Superb, the location is perfect, the meals are top rate, and the guide was so attentive and professional."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruined My CO Fishing Expectations,
November 6, 2013
By: COFisher
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I went to North Fork Ranch with Jeff early in the fishing season. I caught successive monster after monster trout. My final one is now on the background of most of my screens. However, all fish caught in Colorado for the rest of this season have been sorely disappointing. An unfortunately glorious situation."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wow!,
November 5, 2013
By: alltimefan
from Centennial, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"my husband and I have always talked about flyfishing as a fun retirement adventure we could both enjoy. The opportunity to go to the Northfork came up and we jumped at the chance. Our guide Jeff made sure we newbies had plenty of fun and learned at the same time. Great day on the river, fabulous time at the rang!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW,
November 5, 2013
By: oates
from Shawnee, CO 80475, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:GREAT PERSONALITY - VERY ACCOMADATING - KNEW WHERE ALL THE FISH WERE - BEST PART WAS THE SAFTEY ASPECT - HE DID EVERY THING ACCEPT HOOK THE FISH AND REEL IT IN - NETTED THE FISH - TOOK PICTURES , WHAT A GREAT EXPERIENCE
"WHAT A BEAUTIFUL PLACE WITH THE STAFF ANF GUIDES TO BACK IT UP - FISHING , FOOD AND ATMOSPHERE WERE GREAT . I HAVE BEEN TO OTHER ORVIS PROPERTIES BUT THIS ONE IS THE BEST"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Weekend Get Away,
November 4, 2013
By: bmcewen
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Guide
"I have never done any fly fishing and thought my wife and I might enjoy an afternoon on the river. It was a great time. Our guide Jeff did a fantastic job with us as we were beginners. We also stayed 2 nights and can say the food was 5 star. This was one of the best weekends we have had in years. We now plan to make this a yearly trip"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceptional experience,
October 30, 2013
By: rubytuesday30
from Denver, CO
"I recently treated myself to a day of fishing at the North Fork Ranch, and boy what a treat it was! My guide, Jeff was exceptional as was the fishing and hospitality of Dean and Karen and their entire staff. Be sure to take time to refuel and enjoy the excellent lunch.....you'll need it after a morning of catching the fish at the ranch! Thanks for a memorable experience. I will be treating myself again next year....."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unreal,
October 29, 2013
By: SlobSlayer
from Michigan, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I usually go on one or two guided fishing trips/year and I can say hands down that this was the best one yet! Besides the fact that the food, hospitality and setting were amazing, the fishing was even better. The guide staff was great and very knowledgeable and worked hard to put you on fish. If you want to hit big trout in a great setting and lodge North Fork Ranch is a must go. My last day I landed a 10 lber, 12 lber and a astonishing 15 lb rainbow....truly unreal!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Sister's 60th,
October 27, 2013
By: Peggy877
from Shawnee, CO 80475, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:True Professionals.
"We had an incredible time on the river with Jeff Poole and Monroe Coleman. There were 5 of us. Three had never fished before. Our guides were patient and kind and loads of fun! At the end of the day, we had all caught fish. The anglers and non anglers were excited to fish again! This is an impeccably run organization with true professionals!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NFR Fly fishing "first experience",
October 26, 2013
By: mipigfarmer
from Michigan, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Additional Thoughts:and John
"North Fork Ranch is a beautiful place with excellent accommodations and great people. Dean and Karen are friendly and invite guests in as if they were family.
We went to learn fly fishing and could not have had a better experience - the guides were top notch, constantly teaching and explaining the techniques. The fishing was excellent and the fish were abundant.
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Place to Relax!,
October 23, 2013
By: JorgeMas
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Northfork Ranch is about as beautiful as you can imagine and when I think of the beauty of Colorado, Northfork Ranch is what I picture.
The sound of the rush of the river lends authenticity to the views and surroundings.
The fishing was exciting, the food was great and it seemed that everyone was in a great mood and quite friendly (guests and staff included)."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Get-Away,
October 21, 2013
By: MaestroFisherman
from Berlin, CT
"We had heard nothing but incredible things about the North Fork Ranch and we found that it more than lived up to it's reputation for it's wonderful hospitality, accomodations, quality food and tranquility. The cabin we stayed in was beautiful and the stone fireplace that stretched the height of lofty cabin already had wood in it ready to be lit. To our surprise, we had the added bonus of fishing in the well-stocked trout pond during the afternoon of our arrival which was a warm-up to the trophy sized fish we would catch the next day. Our guide was fantastic and made for a truly productive day of fishing. Looking forward to coming back next year. Many thanks to Dean, Karen, Jeff and Roger for making this trip memorable."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spectacular day at NFR,
October 21, 2013
By: COcutthroat
from Arvada, CO, USA
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Fished NFR on Saturday, 10/19 with Monroe as our guide. Water was very low and the fishing was fantastic. It is always a pleasure to spend time with Monroe on the river. He is a professional & a gentleman."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best guide on earth,
October 18, 2013
By: psl1
from Denver, CO, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Going back as often as I can
"I have fished Alaska, New Zealand, and everywhere in between. This is the best trout fishing, and Jeff Poole is the best trout guide on the planet."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for North Fork Ranch, CO
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
North Fork Ranch and Jeff Poole Rock!,
October 18, 2013
By: JoeFlyFisher
from Littleton, CO
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Recently, I took a day off of work and had the wonderful opportunity to fish North Fork Ranch in pefect Colorado fall weather with my brother and a good friend. The Ranch and accomodations are perfect, Dean runs a great and welcoming resort. The food was delicous and plentiful. Jeff, our fishing guide was as good as it gets and I have fished many streams with many guides. Jeff is well informed, comunicates well, makes sure you are having the time of your life on their beautiful river and creates a full day of fun and learnng while encouraging your spirit to refresh. All good - highly recommended."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes