Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Muskegon River Lodge, MI

Imagine your own private, full log walkout chalet nestled on 12.5 acres of secluded woodlands with 400' of Muskegon River frontage, replete with brown and rainbow trout, Pacific salmon, and steelhead holding right out front. It's the Muskegon River Lodge on western Michigan's Muskegon River.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
83
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
83 of 83(100%)customers would recommend this to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Review 1 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Soul Just Reached Another Level of Contentment!,
November 20, 2014
By: YoungMasterWill
from Huntersville, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Do it, you won't regret it!
"The Muskegon Lodge along with its staff provided our group with a wonderfully memorable steelhead experience. Mother nature provided lake-effect scenery and challenges which made out trip unique, to say the least. Since arriving home, I find it difficult to not let my mind wander back. I could not have asked for a better first steelhead experience. I consider our guide, Steven to be the most patient man on earth. He stuck with me for two days and helped me bring in my first Steel during the toughest of conditions. 24° 21mph winds out of the south, total cloud cover with heavy snow. An experience I will never forget. All this after my boat-mate landed two the day before. I will be back next year if not sooner. If not for the fishing than for the amenities and Chef Jennifer's cuisine. Top Notch and true to the values of Orvis."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 2 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip of a lifetime,
November 20, 2014
By: ScottLaster
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow, hard to put into words what this trip was like. Steve was my guide and was just awesome, as was all the staff. The meals were amazing and the fishing? Well the pictures Steve took say it all. Heavy snow and 15 degrees never dampened our spirits and made the experience that much rewarding. The accomodations were great and what can you say about the man cave!! I will be back and have already told friends they need to go see Steve and Dave at the Muskegon River Lodge!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 3 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fishing not Catching but still Great,
November 19, 2014
By: CAS820
from York, PA, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"The Muskegon can be a tough river when the bite isn't on, but you still have a great time at the lodge - don't stay there without having dinner on site - amazing! Steve & Dave do a great job and are truly pros. If you get the opportunity to get out on the Muskegon with these guys do it. I did manage to catch a nice Steelhead with Steve"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 4 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always a great stay!,
November 4, 2014
By: ReimersJ
from Libertyville, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This was my 5th trip to the lodge and fishing the river with Captain Steve. As always, the stay was fantastic. The lodge, man cave and gourmet prepared dinner are all part of the experience. Fishing wasn't bad either!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 5 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
enjoy the creation,
October 26, 2014
By: nimrod7
from Overland Park, KS
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Excellent facilities, equipment, teaching, and attention to detail. From the reservation to the river everything was professionally cared for. Sumptuous shore lunches fit for a king. Diligent work by Jay. Superb teaching skills. And oh, by the way, excellent fishing."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 6 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
October 4, 2014
By: Boblo
from Newaygo, MI 49337, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Another great evening at the Muskegon River Lodge and fishing with Riverquest charters. Capt. Steve put our group of fly fishing rookies on some world-class salmon. The dinner at the lodge was some of the best flavor this "foodie" has ever experienced."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 7 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spey casting school,
September 22, 2014
By: gibsteel
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"If you ever get the opportunity to attend a school at Muskegon River Lodge I highly recommend. food, Lodging and instruction was first class. Steve is a excellent host and you will feel right at home, except it is even better."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 8 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Experience,
September 21, 2014
By: Maxodena
from Newaygo, MI 49337, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I attended a two day beginning spey casting class. The facilities and staff were fantastic and I learned more than I could have hoped. The food was also top notch."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 9 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Speytastic weekend!,
September 21, 2014
By: Woodwizard55
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I just returned from the most enjoyable weekend learning the skills to Spey cast from patient professional guides on the Muskegon River.
Beginning with an overview in a class setting, our group of five students and two instructors quickly descended on the river to begin a two day casting experience. The challenging weather seemed unnoticeable as we focused on building the repeatable muscle memory necessary to consistently cast with accuracy and distance I considered impossible.
The accommodations at the Lodge and the gourmet dining provided was unexpectedly beautiful and delicious.
I absolutely feel this will be a wonderfully remembered experience I will carry with me for years.
Steve and Pete have something special here and they have a program that will certainly enhance your ability to be a better fisherman!
Thanks for everything!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 10 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Time @ Muskegon River Lodge,
July 3, 2014
By: DryFly45140
from Loveland, OH
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Very friendly, knowlegeable, congenial.
"My wife and I visited the Muskegon River Lodge last week and had a great time! The hospitality and fishing was excellent and the lodge is first class. Steven, our host and guide, really knows the river and does a great job putting you on fish. He also whips up amazingly wonderful shoreline meals. He is a very good, patient, and unobtrusive instructor. My wife enjoyed the coaching on making reach casts and getting good drifts and I enjoyed learning about the river's bug population. Highly recommend you try this destination!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 11 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
June 17 Steelhead? Yes!!,
June 22, 2014
By: Commuter
from Zionsville, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Jay is a great guide and better person.
"My wife and I select Orvis lodges for fly fishing, because we have never been disappointed. The Muskegon River Lodge was another wonderful experience. The food, fishing, facility, and hospitality were the best. Heather, the lodge's chef, is greatly talented and creates wonderful meals. The guides are helpful and work hard to keep you on fish with the best possible flys and tactics. We asked for coaching and got a lot of it! We learned much and left with new skills. You must try this Orvis destination."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 12 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Muskegon River Lodge,
June 14, 2014
By: MelMeyers36
Billing / Reservation: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great people from management to guide.
Facility is excellent.
We have been back three years now.
River offfers many options for both dry and wet fishing. Plenty of fish with several over 15". Landed a 20" BT this year.
We'll be back in 2015!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 13 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exceeded Expectations,
May 9, 2014
By: BigFish42
from Detroit, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Excellent Teachers
"I just returned from hosting a corporate event at the Lodge. I had read about the Lodge but this was my first visit. Wow, what a great experience! I was throughly impressed as if they anticipated what I would request and had already taken care of it. The Loge was clean and very comfortable. The Man Cave was in great shape and set for cards, pool or just watching the game on TV. We needed 3 guides and they all put us on fish. Steve, Dave and Don were great and did I mention they put us on fish all day!! We had Chef Heather come in and the meals were suberb. This entire trip exceeded my expectations. I cant wait to go back and do it again! Thanks RiverQuest Charters and Muskegon Lodge."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 14 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Decade of Fish Stories,
May 1, 2014
By: BuckandHen
from Zeeland, MI 49464, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Additional Thoughts:Professional
"Back in 1998 a supplier from NY was coming to town and wanted to fly fish the Muskegon River. Somehow my partner found River Quest Charters and we have been fishing with Steve and his crew ever since. These guys are not only great fishermen, they are great host, teachers, cooks and friends. I have never taken someone along that didn't want to come back and many of those have become repeat customers as well. Can't go wrong on the MO with River Quest Charters."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 15 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring sales meeting,
April 28, 2014
By: actfab04
from Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We recently held our semi-annual sales meeting at the lodge with 15 people, and had a wonderful time. Chef Heather did a fantastic job once again with a great meal and the lodge is the perfect place to hang out for a night, and also get a little business done. The following day our entire group, with all the Riverquest guides, spent a full day on the river enjoying great fishing with a guide staff second to none. Thanks again Riverquest team - we look forward to a return trip in the fall!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 16 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ridiculous,
April 28, 2014
By: FrayedKnot
from GR MI
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The guides at the Muskegon River Lodge have so much time on this body of water, that they can find fish blindfolded...which is what took place on my recent trip out with them. Only one week after record flooding, the water was Sumatra brown with a tinge of half-and-half. Steve pulled the boat in to spot after spot on the river. His directions were clear, "Cast to the red bush and drift to just past the stump". The fish could not be seen, only sensed. I brought 8 Steelhead to the net that day. I can't say enough about these guys and the service the service they offer."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 17 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better and Better,
April 23, 2014
By: DartHart
from Frankfort, IL, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have been fishing with Steve now for about 5 years. Each year has been a different but great experience.Staying at the lodge enhances the whole trip and makes me look forward to our next venture."
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 18 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spring Break,
April 19, 2014
By: IndianHiller
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My son Patrick and I have made the trip to Newaygo now for two seasons in a row and we are never disappointed. The River Lodge is a great experience, always very clean and ready for our arrival. The Man Cave is great and allows for some great times in the evening with the pool and foosball! Of course the fishing is always fun and Steve and his guides know just where to go and how to catch them. I highly recommend a 2-3 night trip to relax in the Lodge and enjoy some good fishing!"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 19 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Spring Break Adventure,
April 14, 2014
By: lbrueckmann
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"What a positive, enjoyable
experience! This was my first time fly fishing, and I walked away feeling successful and happy! Our guide, Steve, was SO patient and gave such clear direction. The area was beautiful, the lodge straight out of a picture book. The end of March is not supposed bring sub-zero temps, but that is what we got, and yet it was still such fun. The lunch was delicious--the steak rivaled those from famous steak houses. My husband is still talking about it a month later, showing pictures to anyone who will look! I am one to enjoy first class experiences, from shopping to beaches, and this adventure definitely fit the bill!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes
Review 20 for Muskegon River Lodge, MI
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steelhead Fishing,
December 9, 2013
By: Peslar
from Birmingham, MI, USA
Billing / Reservation: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meals: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trip service: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on knowledge of the sport or activity:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on his/her ability to instruct and communicate:: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please Rate your Guide/Instructor/Host on overall enthusiasm and personality:: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Just got back from an early December, first visit to the Muskegon River Lodge. On all counts it was a WOW!, experience. The two handed spay rod was new to us but articulate and patient guides got us all into the game quickly. The stretch of river we fished was gorgeous and a fishing Mecca. Cold weather rewarded us with breath taking large flakes of snow and only a rare reminder that we were actually sharing this beautiful space. Boats and equipment were spacious and top notch to the extent we needed none of our own equipment and stepped from boat to bank completely dry. Both of our guides skill with the equipment and fishing instinct was immpecable.
The food was prepared by an excellent chef who was cheerful,timely, comfortable with special requests and possessed of a great sense for food parings.
Book a visit to this magnificent timbered lodge soon and start planning your next trip too!
"
Would you recommend this experience or trip to a friend? Yes